East Point
Melton
Lake Wendouree

Sunbury
Darley
Bacchus Marsh
Sebas
Nth City

That said, I'd not be greatly surprised if one or two finish four places higher or lower than that.

sniper5
13th April 2008, 12:55
Redan
Ballarat
Lake Wendouree
Melton
East Point

Melton South
Sunbury
Darley
Sebastopol
North City
B.Marsh

GREENMAN
13th April 2008, 16:14
Redan
Ballarat
Melton Sth
East Point
Melton

Sunbury
Sebastopol
Darley
Lakers
B.Marsh

Oldschool86
14th April 2008, 10:04
Lake Wendouree - Added plenty of depth although intresting to see if loss of Paul Mac will hurt them, from all reports flying
Melton South - Forward line added another weapon. McMahon, Sutton, Grenfell...Very big chance if they gel well together and finish of Reardons career in style
Redan - Will be similar to South....Unsure on how new coach will go
Ballarat - Well Coached and Super fit team, still not enough winners for mine as shown in finals last year
Darley - Added some more depth and by all reports the kids are flying at the Devils. Edwards going to be the measuring stick...He plays well they will also
East Point - Solid as always, Jordan to kick another 100

Melton - Loss of too many players and height as well will hurt the bloods this year
Sunbury - Didn't know where to put the Lions will be a down year as they aim to re-build...Unless libba can ring in what respect he has left in Footy circles and get some stars to the Eastern Lions
Nth City - Plenty of Tallent...A few years away yet
Bacchus Marsh - Added a FF cabable of kicking a bag every week...Can they stop there oppisition...Must win all home games as they play Maddingly better than anyone
Sebas - Cant see them going any higher...When will they find some talent and hold on to it

I cant put much between the Top 6 as i think anyone of them could win the flag on any given day.

chambo333
14th April 2008, 10:51
I think Redan and Ballarat are definitely going to be the two sides to beat for 2008. I still don't think Melton South are going to quite have the midfield to feed the forward line, however i must admit Dane Grenfell will be handy to add a quality midsized forward that will kick goals, midfield and defence still a worry though??

I wouldn't count out Sunbury too early either, although they lost plenty of name players i think they still have a very strong spine of key players, There reserves and under 18's have been strong for years so the players to make the step up won't be too bad, and apparantly they went pretty well against a very strong Bundoora team.

Where did Paul McMahon go?

chambo333
14th April 2008, 10:54
North Ballarat City... No chance?... Any big names there?

Oldschool86
14th April 2008, 14:10
I think Redan and Ballarat are definitely going to be the two sides to beat for 2008. I still don't think Melton South are going to quite have the midfield to feed the forward line, however i must admit Dane Grenfell will be handy to add a quality midsized forward that will kick goals, midfield and defence still a worry though??

I wouldn't count out Sunbury too early either, although they lost plenty of name players i think they still have a very strong spine of key players, There reserves and under 18's have been strong for years so the players to make the step up won't be too bad, and apparantly they went pretty well against a very strong Bundoora team.

Where did Paul McMahon go?

Playing for North Ballarat i heard on another post

WeHateTheDrummer
14th April 2008, 14:36
Ballarat
Melton Sth
Redan
Darley
East Point / Sunbury / Lakers

Creeker35
15th April 2008, 09:29
Melton South
Redan
Ballarat
East Point
Sunbury
Lake Wendouree

Melton
Darley
North City
Bacchus Marsh
Sebastopol

pistons son
16th April 2008, 17:42
some of you guys are serisously over estimating the talent at the Lakers. They wont finish in the top 6, no chance. The biggest drop will definately come from sunbury. The biggest move will probably come from Bacchus Marsh, which may only be 3 spots but no one else will move up 3 spots. Pretty much the same as last year. Darley have been spruiking up there chances saying who they beat pre season matches which were false. They were claiming wins when they got smacked. Anyway, all teasm seem to be pumping up there chances so we'll have to wait to see who are the real deals and who are the floggers.

chumpy
17th April 2008, 12:45
1. Darley to make finals
2. Sunbury to miss finals
3. DJ to kick more goals for the year than Bacchus Marsh
4. Hendo winner to come from Eastern side
5. East Point to choke and go out in straight sets AGAIN
6. Redan to dominate league
7. South thinking they are a chance of doing something, but are kidding themselves
8. No one to give a rats about North City
9. Crowds still to be very low
10. Melton South canteen to still have best hotdogs

Kings Army
17th April 2008, 13:52
Lake Wendouree - Added plenty of depth although intresting to see if loss of Paul Mac will hurt them, from all reports flying
Melton South - Forward line added another weapon. McMahon, Sutton, Grenfell...Very big chance if they gel well together and finish of Reardons career in style
Redan - Will be similar to South....Unsure on how new coach will go
Ballarat - Well Coached and Super fit team, still not enough winners for mine as shown in finals last year
Darley - Added some more depth and by all reports the kids are flying at the Devils. Edwards going to be the measuring stick...He plays well they will also
East Point - Solid as always, Jordan to kick another 100

Melton - Loss of too many players and height as well will hurt the bloods this year
Sunbury - Didn't know where to put the Lions will be a down year as they aim to re-build...Unless libba can ring in what respect he has left in Footy circles and get some stars to the Eastern Lions
Nth City - Plenty of Tallent...A few years away yet
Bacchus Marsh - Added a FF cabable of kicking a bag every week...Can they stop there oppisition...Must win all home games as they play Maddingly better than anyone
Sebas - Cant see them going any higher...When will they find some talent and hold on to it

I cant put much between the Top 6 as i think anyone of them could win the flag on any given day.

No chance in hell Lakers will finish on top.

WeHateTheDrummer
18th April 2008, 16:19
1. Darley to make finals
7. South thinking they are a chance of doing something, but are kidding themselves

Maybe the Ballarat league can take note of this and make going to watch the footy cheaper or even follow north ballarats lead and offer a gold coin donation for a paricular round (maybe rivalry round). I know clubs won't want it but more people means more people eating and drinking and creates a much better atmosphere, and could benefit your club alot more.

darren melton
18th April 2008, 23:24
1. Darley to make finals
whats the hype bout south grenfell will struggle up 4ward on small ground sutts the man theregrenfell needs space and not much at sths ground if fit dane would be better suited in back half hope he goes well and sutts to but south to miss again :D

malkovich
19th April 2008, 08:40
whats the hype bout south grenfell will struggle up 4ward on small ground sutts the man theregrenfell needs space and not much at sths ground if fit dane would be better suited in back half hope he goes well and sutts to but south to miss again :D

South are no hope. You cant have a team with 15 ego's. McMahon, Sutton, Grenfell and that other little gymp that plays up forward are all individuals and Sikorski, Mcleod and Watkins are all unintellegent people and footballers. It cant work. We all seen what happened at East the last few years with ego filled sides (and they are 10 goals better on potential than this side). Remember they also play on a ground that is about 90 metres long and they have to fit all of these players in that- shit they will have trouble just fitting Leggets left leg in their back half this year

TigerTank
20th April 2008, 17:21
No chance in hell Lakers will finish on top.

I didn't think so either until today.

Maybe not top but gee they looked good.

riggers21
21st April 2008, 17:03
some of you guys are serisously over estimating the talent at the Lakers. They wont finish in the top 6, no chance. The biggest drop will definately come from sunbury. The biggest move will probably come from Bacchus Marsh, which may only be 3 spots but no one else will move up 3 spots. Pretty much the same as last year. Darley have been spruiking up there chances saying who they beat pre season matches which were false. They were claiming wins when they got smacked. Anyway, all teasm seem to be pumping up there chances so we'll have to wait to see who are the real deals and who are the floggers.

serious over estimation of lakers you think mate? well you've been shown havent you as lakers ran all over the reigning premiers who were at full strength according to their coach snibbo, and lakers have more to come back in including previous league leading goal kicker brad maxwell and captain gavin webb. why wouldnt you rate a team which has picked up players of the quality of chris mcguigan, mick foster, batistello and vic country rep dan weymouth to name a few of the top quality signings.. saying they have no chance of a top 6 finish shows that you probably dont have the knowledge or intelligence to be commenting on teams chances in the bfl this year.

pistons son
28th April 2008, 09:38
serious over estimation of lakers you think mate? well you've been shown havent you as lakers ran all over the reigning premiers who were at full strength according to their coach snibbo, and lakers have more to come back in including previous league leading goal kicker brad maxwell and captain gavin webb. why wouldnt you rate a team which has picked up players of the quality of chris mcguigan, mick foster, batistello and vic country rep dan weymouth to name a few of the top quality signings.. saying they have no chance of a top 6 finish shows that you probably dont have the knowledge or intelligence to be commenting on teams chances in the bfl this year.

gee, they clearly showed how good they were on the weekend. beating marsh by 5 goals. 3 were in the last 5 minutes when marsh lost the plot. Lakers got 3 in a row, umpire awarding 3 frees in a row before the ball got back to the centre. The Marsh's Captain and best defender weren't even playing.As i said earlier Lakers no chance. As for yor guns, batistello is a hang out. Don't even mention foster. Did he play? Giving foster 3rd best last week was a token gesture. Also hanging your hat on beating Redan round 1. How did they go on the weekend? I rest my case. Clearly it is you that obviously doesn't have the knowledge or intellegence to be commenting on the BFL this year!!
No doubt you'll beat sebast next week but as soon as you play some good opposition like Darley, East, South, Ballarat then come back and stake your claim. You've got no idea champ.......

TigerTank
28th April 2008, 21:54
Lakers need to win just six more games to play finals and still play Sebas twice! They've also got a couple against North City and another against Bacchus Marsh so they only need to pinch a couple here and there and they've made it.

And who knows? The closeness of the Lakers-Marsh game might actually be a reflection of the Marsh's improvement too.

Honestly, I don't think there's much difference between nine of the 11 clubs.

pistons son
29th April 2008, 12:06
Lakers need to win just six more games to play finals and still play Sebas twice! They've also got a couple against North City and another against Bacchus Marsh so they only need to pinch a couple here and there and they've made it.

And who knows? The closeness of the Lakers-Marsh game might actually be a reflection of the Marsh's improvement too.

Yeah, fair call then. I'm sure one of those teams will upset the lakers once during the year. After seeing the lakers on saturday I still believe that teams to finish above them will be Darley, East, Ballarat, South, Sunbury and Redan.

Hotdog32
29th April 2008, 12:15
Yeah, fair call then. I'm sure one of those teams will upset the lakers once during the year. After seeing the lakers on saturday I still believe that teams to finish above them will be Darley, East, Ballarat, South, Sunbury and Redan.
I'm not too sure about South everyone has been pumpimg them up, the next 3 games will tell us if they are the real deal they have Melton away, East home and Ballarat away and i believe Sutton and McMahon are both injured.

pistons son
30th April 2008, 13:03
Round 3 predictions: Just thought I'd throw it in there

Bacchus to beat Darley by 1 point
East to beat Sunbury 6 goals
Ballarat to beat Redan 2 goals
Lakers to beat sebast 8 goals
South to beat melton 3 goals
Nth city 4 points

Kings Army
30th April 2008, 13:26

No doubt Lakers have been under estimated. I think a lot of clubs have improved as well. Most thought South were stonger than they have turned out to be. Sunbury have not dropped away to a terrible standard.

Not sure East and Redan are playing at 100%. After finishing on top the last 2 years East may have taken on the Redan approach to try finish 3rd. The thing is they both can't finish 3rd and they both would not want to slip to 4th. What are the chances of 2 non finalist from 2007 finishing 1 - 2 in 2008. Only early but Lakers and Darley are on the move. Still Redan for me but the most even comp in a long time. East, South, Lakers, Darley, Sunbury and even maybe Melton could play in the Grand Final.

wceagles
30th April 2008, 13:48
No doubt Lakers have been under estimated. I think a lot of clubs have improved as well. Most thought South were stonger than they have turned out to be. Sunbury have not dropped away to a terrible standard.

Not sure East and Redan are playing at 100%. After finishing on top the last 2 years East may have taken on the Redan approach to try finish 3rd. The thing is they both can't finish 3rd and they both would not want to slip to 4th. What are the chances of 2 non finalist from 2007 finishing 1 - 2 in 2008. Only early but Lakers and Darley are on the move. Still Redan for me but the most even comp in a long time. East, South, Lakers, Darley, Sunbury and even maybe Melton could play in the Grand Final.

NO WHERE NEAR THE APOLOGY YOU PROMISED , BUT ATLEAST YOU HAVE LEARNT SOME MANNERS AND HOPEFULLY SHOW THE DEVILS A BIT MORE RESPECT NOW , AFTER OUR LAST CONVERSATION

TigerTank
1st May 2008, 20:47

Not sure East and Redan are playing at 100%.

Redan looks unfit and South have had some very unhelpful injuries. Bad luck with Jason Watkins, and no Sutton and McMahon on the weekend was bound to hurt.

riggers21
2nd May 2008, 22:34
gee, they clearly showed how good they were on the weekend. beating marsh by 5 goals. 3 were in the last 5 minutes when marsh lost the plot. Lakers got 3 in a row, umpire awarding 3 frees in a row before the ball got back to the centre. The Marsh's Captain and best defender weren't even playing.As i said earlier Lakers no chance. As for yor guns, batistello is a hang out. Don't even mention foster. Did he play? Giving foster 3rd best last week was a token gesture. Also hanging your hat on beating Redan round 1. How did they go on the weekend? I rest my case. Clearly it is you that obviously doesn't have the knowledge or intellegence to be commenting on the BFL this year!!
No doubt you'll beat sebast next week but as soon as you play some good opposition like Darley, East, South, Ballarat then come back and stake your claim. You've got no idea champ.......

marsh have heavily recruited and it was pooring down all game and was terrible conditions im sure most teams would take a 5 goal win in those conditons anyway! hey if bacchus marsh wanna go around venting their frustration when the game is getting away from them by punching our good players then im sure any team will take it mate and you think their missing good players, we had roosters listed murnane out, captain gav webb and maxwell and also dan weymouth who i guarentee you will see is one of the better players in the competition, to name a few.. even if battistello is a hang out is there a reason why he's a numerous league rep and leading the courier league votes this season and polled so well last season? i think you have got to appreciate the role he plays and how well he executes it and mick fosters kicking skill tore redan apart as he always hits targets and never turns it over and he has already acheived ten times as much in footy than you ever would im sure mate.. yes we will see how lakers go against stronger teams wont we but how can you think you know anything about bfl football by not considering redan a quality team, they are the reigning premiers you idiot dont go bagging them down too early haha.. you will notice i never said lakers will be an awesome force this year to flog all the top teams i just said for someone like you to say they are absolutely no chance of making finals would be bias and stupid to make calls like that and so far they are showing you how little of an idea you have are'nt they, champ.

chumpy
2nd May 2008, 23:23
marsh have heavily recruited and it was pooring down all game and was terrible conditions im sure most teams would take a 5 goal win in those conditons anyway! hey if bacchus marsh wanna go around venting their frustration when the game is getting away from them by punching our good players then im sure any team will take it mate and you think their missing good players, we had roosters listed murnane out, captain gav webb and maxwell and also dan weymouth who i guarentee you will see is one of the better players in the competition, to name a few.. even if battistello is a hang out is there a reason why he's a numerous league rep and leading the courier league votes this season and polled so well last season? i think you have got to appreciate the role he plays and how well he executes it and mick fosters kicking skill tore redan apart as he always hits targets and never turns it over and he has already acheived ten times as much in footy than you ever would im sure mate.. yes we will see how lakers go against stronger teams wont we but how can you think you know anything about bfl football by not considering redan a quality team, they are the reigning premiers you idiot dont go bagging them down too early haha.. you will notice i never said lakers will be an awesome force this year to flog all the top teams i just said for someone like you to say they are absolutely no chance of making finals would be bias and stupid to make calls like that and so far they are showing you how little of an idea you have are'nt they, champ.
Any chance of a full stop in that dribble

darren melton
4th May 2008, 20:56

Not sure East and Redan are playing at 100%. After finishing on top the last 2 years East may have taken on the Redan approach to try finish 3rd. The thing is they both can't finish 3rd and they both would not want to slip to 4th. What are the chances of 2 non finalist from 2007 finishing 1 - 2 in 2008. Only early but Lakers and Darley are on the move. Still Redan for me but the most even comp in a long time. East, South, Lakers, Darley, Sunbury and even maybe Melton could play in the Grand Final.watch melton and meltn sth today they cannot play a part in finals mite make it but sure with south having p sproule in side lol cant win melton bunch of kids need time on rite track tho ? cant believe how much the footy has dropped off any one want to comment???????????

TigerTank
4th May 2008, 21:30
There wasn't much of a drop-off at East Point v Sunbury and (apparently) Lakers v Sebas. But the Melton Derby was an anticlimax for sure.

pistons son
7th May 2008, 10:45
[quote=riggers21;10890289]
"pooring down all game"
Do I have to explain?

"by punching our good players"
Remonstrating for the king hit McGuigan did. The investigation is happening this week. How many weeks will he miss? I'm guessing 4 to 6.

"we had roosters listed murnane out"
Who?

"mick fosters kicking skill tore redan apart as he always hits targets and never turns it over and he has already acheived ten times as much in footy than you ever would im sure mate"
Not saying he can't hit a target, he obviously can. As for the achievements, it's more like the other way round. I can assure you of that! Trust me. I know where he has played. By the way a few of the Marsh players reckon he's a top bloke so I'll leave that one alone!

How do you rate Sebast?

You obviously think they're travelling O.k?

Like I said, Sebast, City, Melton, Marsh, one of these teams will knock them off this year, maybe 2 of them. Maybe I'll be proved wrong at the end of the home and away season, but I still think that it will go down to the wire if they make finals.

Darley paying $4.75 for flag. Get on them. As a marsh suporter and non fan of the devil's it hurts to say but they are the best team this year. Unfortunately..

Hotdog32
7th May 2008, 11:46
watch melton and meltn sth today they cannot play a part in finals mite make it but sure with south having p sproule in side lol cant win melton bunch of kids need time on rite track tho ? cant believe how much the footy has dropped off any one want to comment???????????
Was at the game i agree a lot off skill errors but in defence off the players it was pretty windy. Seemed to me both sides had a lot off kids out there, just guessing South had 8 - 10 kids 21 or under, Melton probably 6 - 8.

darren melton
8th May 2008, 23:23
Was at the game i agree a lot off skill errors but in defence off the players it was pretty windy. Seemed to me both sides had a lot off kids out there, just guessing South had 8 - 10 kids 21 or under, Melton probably 6 - 8.good to see kids the future 4 both clubs only one ? p sproule ?thats funny must be a kid to take hes spot couldnt play ten yrs ago?????

pistons son
11th May 2008, 21:31

No apology needed champ!!

back slapper
9th July 2008, 20:11
Few predictions gone wrong there. Fancy leaving two of the best performed sides in the last decade out of the top six. South will self-destruct soon anyway so that will make it a two horse race in the end.

back slapper
9th July 2008, 20:16
No apology needed champ!!
Ran over the reigning premiers!!!! Big deal.....and look where they are now. Yeah that's definitely a great indication of how Lakers are going. When they have been up against the truly good sides they are found wanting, and sixth or below is their right spot. Don't worry about Battistello etc, Elder is holding them together at the moment.....a kid.