View Full Version : Behaviour at the footy
Worst thing you've done
Nothing too severe - probably use of the magic 'c' word at high volume.
Worst thing you've seen
A few punch-ups back in the day (early 90s). I witnessed a Collingwood thug get in the face of an elderly North Melbourne supporting woman at Telstra Dome a few seasons ago when we were getting flogged.
Was impressed that she didn't even flinch. Hard as.
giantroo
14 Apr 2008, 18:51
Worst thing you've done
Swearing
Worst thing you've seen
Nothing yet.
Mr Reliable
14 Apr 2008, 19:03
Worst thing you've done
Took a loudmouthed Geelong supporter to Arden St, stood in a pro-North section and got into a blue protecting him after he called Keith Greig a bad name at the top of his voice. Another big fight started right near us between two North supporters (over beer spillage during our blue) and one decked the other. The cops made the decker go and stand over the other side near the famous hot dog stand. I felt so bad about all the fighting it was the last time I ever invited him to Arden St when we played the Cats.
Worst thing you've seen
One of our own supporters spitting right in a WCE player's face and hurling the ball at him at close range at the 'G one afternoon. The supporter was sitting on the fence and caught the ball when it went OOB. He spat and hurled the footy as if it was the natural thing to do.
theduckfan
14 Apr 2008, 20:40
Worst thing you've done
Swearing
Worst thing you've seen
Nothing yet.
Same....
theduckfan
14 Apr 2008, 21:16
I said 'shit' once.
Did you get thrown out?
I took matters into my own hands.
But worst thing I think is on the eve of the 1996 grand final I went to a friends 30th birthday and had a blinder, I mean she had to wake me at 11 to get to the GF or else I would have slept through.
Anyhoo got to the game and made a mad dash from my seat to the toilets, but fell a few yards short and ended up chucking up outside one of the food outlets.
Security came to throw me out (can you imagine, thrown out before the GF?) I argued that I was ill and not due to alcohol, but I reckon they could have smelt it 5k's away.
Got to see the game, but preceeded to throw up sunday morning and monday morning at work. What a weekend.
I was that pissed on sat night the tattooist wouldnt tattoo blue and white stripes on my ankle
numchuks
14 Apr 2008, 21:29
Worst thing you've done
Not much. Broken one of those plastic bins outside TD after a bad loss.
Almost got into a punch on at the final in Adelaide last year.
About it though.
Worst thing you've seen
Probably at the Essendon game in 05.
Saw some bloke grab another bloke and hold him up against the railing on lvl 3. Looked like he might throw him off the edge for a second, but then a few other people stepped in and broke them up.
Worst thing you've done
Took a loudmouthed Geelong supporter to Arden St, stood in a pro-North section and got into a blue protecting him after he called Keith Greig a bad name at the top of his voice. Another big fight started right near us between two North supporters (over beer spillage during our blue) and one decked the other. The cops made the decker go and stand over the other side near the famous hot dog stand. I felt so bad about all the fighting it was the last time I ever invited him to Arden St when we played the Cats.
[.
Oh for those Non PC days when the coppers just shifted fans - could you imagine that happening these days?
Fancy a Geelong supporter calling Greig a bad name when they had that ex-Geelong Grammar boy playing for them in white boots with blonde tips in his hair.
FYI I'm a perfect lady at the footy;)
Oneout Oneback
14 Apr 2008, 22:00
[quote=hilly;10665843]Worst thing you've done
Barracked / Loudly cheered for Hawthorn in the Eagles member's area, at Subi Oval, as an invited corporate guest.
Worst thing you've seen
Peter Spencer (East Perth) being tackled and dislocating his elbow. Not a good look.
Twinkletoes
15 Apr 2008, 16:06
Worst thing you've done
Hmmmmm.......
Hard to split between two things:
1. When in 1982, as a horny 14yr old, I picked up a 17yr old chick from the Richmond cheersquad and "pashed" in the stairwell of the old Olympic Stand. I mean, RICHMOND??????:eek:
2. Ahhhhhhhhh, well I've been in a few dust ups (back in the day) in objecting to shyte being said towards our players, and went a bit Barry Hall in a couple of them :o
Worst thing you've seen
Refer to point 2 above. Not good.
T'toes
Mr Reliable
15 Apr 2008, 17:21
Worst thing you've done
Hmmmmm.......
1. When in 1982, as a horny 14yr old, I picked up a 17yr old chick from the Richmond cheersquad and "pashed" in the stairwell of the old Olympic Stand. I mean, RICHMOND??????:eek:
2. Ahhhhhhhhh, well I've been in a few dust ups (back in the day) in objecting to shyte being said towards our players, and went a bit Barry Hall in a couple of them :o
Worst thing you've seen
T'toes
Any teeth, TT?
Worst thing you've done
Hmmmmm.......
Worst thing you've seen
T'toes
UUUUUUUUU TT how could you - pash 1) a Richmond person and 2) in the stairwell of the Olympic stand in '82 - I don't know what's grottier..:eek:
So, did you slip the tongue in???:)
Mr Reliable
15 Apr 2008, 17:27
[quote=hilly;10665843]Worst thing you've done
Barracked / Loudly cheered for Hawthorn in the Eagles member's area, at Subi Oval, as an invited corporate guest.
Worst thing you've seen
Peter Spencer (East Perth) being tackled and dislocating his elbow. Not a good look.
I stopped giving/accepting corporate hospitality when North were playing. Much better to sit in the outer with your fellow North supporters. Getting shitty with a host or invited guest in a corporate box or room is not the done thing [and you wouldn't believe how dumb some of the comments are that these corporate knobs make].
Great place to be when you couldn't care who wins though. Yes, I will have another one. Don't mind if I do. The Red please.
Oneout Oneback
15 Apr 2008, 19:05
[quote=Oneout Oneback;10668864]
I stopped giving/accepting corporate hospitality when North were playing. Much better to sit in the outer with your fellow North supporters. Getting shitty with a host or invited guest in a corporate box or room is not the done thing [and you wouldn't believe how dumb some of the comments are that these corporate knobs make].
Great place to be when you couldn't care who wins though. Yes, I will have another one. Don't mind if I do. The Red please.
Plenty of red.
Just got an invite WCE V Carlton. Should be interesting seeing the response when I start barracking for Carlton.
salamander
15 Apr 2008, 20:05
I said 'shit' once.
Don't forget you once smuggled alcohol into Telstra Dome!
Oh dear yes, 3 times.
Couldnt walk properly for weeks.
NorthBhoy
15 Apr 2008, 20:29
This year, I have said about two words. Got angry maybe once in the Essendon game. Laughed through last week. Completely passive V Richmond. Shook my head during the last quarter V Hawthorn. Many, many times.
Last year saw some incidents that were perhaps a little stupid. Nothing like sitting at a game in Melbourne thinking it might be one of your last to make spanners even more infuriating.
A good 12th man reference at the footy always gets a few laughs. Especially when the resident know-it-all yells some absolute tripe at the top of his lungs...just wait a few seconds...
"Comments from the supercoach" :thumbsu:
Twinkletoes
16 Apr 2008, 12:04
Any teeth, TT?
One up top, and one down below, both gold capped. They went well with her facial stubble! She said she kept those two so she could still take bites out of a lamington through the cage she's kept in at home! :eek:
T'toes
Twinkletoes
16 Apr 2008, 12:09
UUUUUUUUU TT how could you - pash 1) a Richmond person and 2) in the stairwell of the Olympic stand in '82 - I don't know what's grottier..:eek:
So, did you slip the tongue in???:)
I was only 14 so yeah, but it was like that scene from "There's Something About Mary" when the old prune faced chick kisses her dog :eek:...........like pushing two "swirlon's" together! It wouldn't have made the pages of "The Sensuous Man". It was like Sir David Attenbrough pashing one of those seals on the beach the other night, only the seal's breath would've been far more alluring than the Richmond chick's natural air pollutant breath!
T'toes
I was only 14 so yeah, but it was like that scene from "There's Something About Mary" when the old prune faced chick kisses her dog :eek:...........like pushing two "swirlon's" together! It wouldn't have made the pages of "The Sensuous Man". It was like Sir David Attenbrough pashing one of those seals on the beach the other night, only the seal's breath would've been far more alluring than the Richmond chick's natural air pollutant breath!
T'toes
But you got the job done anyway....I like your style.
Twinkletoes
16 Apr 2008, 14:45
But you got the job done anyway....I like your style.
Of course ;)
T'toes
giantroo
16 Apr 2008, 23:32
Can you classify calling umpires Maggots one bad thing? I think it is because you will eventually get kicked out. Anyone been kicked out under the new rules?
I did place my hands in the back of someone at the pie queue last week, but didnt get kicked out.
Mr Reliable
17 Apr 2008, 13:22
Umpire abuse at AFL level, where they carry on like prancing prima donnas and get very well paid, is perfectly acceptable, I reckon. Calling an umpire a maggot won't get you evicted will it?
No abuse at the local level though. They're doing their best there and deserve to be supported and protected.
[Never thought I'd post something positive about umpires]
Mr Reliable
17 Apr 2008, 13:40
Speaking of umpires I took a seemingly mild mannered, Carlton barracking friend of the family to the MCC the Friday(?) night Essendon played Carlton. It was after Sir James had unleashed on the umpires and copped a fine, mowed Scott McClaren's lawns and delivered a mawkish apology.
We sat front row, balcony down in the forward pocket which was the temporary members' area while the new stand was being built. As it turned out it, McClaren was umpiring the game. (I think that's why I went along after work)
It was a close game until the third 1/4, IIRC, when Essendon seemed to get a miraculous run of decisions from young Scotty and his partners. Well, my guest began to turn 'feral'. That's fine, nobody minds some passion in its supporters.
However, imagine my horror when out of the blue my guest shaped to throw an almost full water bottle at Scotty's head as he ran backwards below us, probably with a smirk on his face as he dished out another soft free or a 50 metre penalty in favour of the Bombers close to goal.
I was horrified on several counts, including:
1. that he had bought a bottle of water at the MCG
2. that he might get me hauled before the Disciplinary Committee
3. that he might have been carted away by the cops
4. that he might have connected (no matter how bad they are, I draw the line at physical violence).
Fortunately, he did what Basher Hall should have done and 'held back' but it was a very close call.
Just recalled one of the Worst Things I've Seen At The Footy
Myself and co North fans were at Waverley for the Ansett Cup GF '98 - Roos v St Kilda.
This Feral St K Dad and his 2 Feral St K boys - around 12 to 14 sat in front of us. These 2 little "charmers" swore like drunken sailors, that's not too bad considering , what nearly made us lose our pies was watching them licking the back of the seat in front of them on and off ALL NIGHT!!! My North footy pal bellowed out "Yurck how disgusting" but to no avail. Dear old St K dad was too busy scoffing down his beer to check them. :eek:
Glad I was able to offer them the experience of my "dulcet" tones in the last qtr when our Number 18 turned it on and we got up and won.
roobear
17 Apr 2008, 21:46
I did place my hands in the back of someone at the pie queue last week, but didnt get kicked out.
That is ridiculously good.
Thanks mate. I laughed, that's all that matters.
Oneout Oneback
3 May 2008, 01:33
[quote=Mr Reliable;10678113]
Plenty of red.
Just got an invite WCE V Carlton. Should be interesting seeing the response when I start barracking for Carlton.
What a boring game. Shocking everything. Thank goodness for cab sav. BOG.
Damien Evans
7 May 2008, 14:05
Worst I've done was get in an argument with Brendan Fevola while one of his teammates was lining up for goal, back in that match where Wells kicked the matchwinner. I was in the front row, just left of the cheer squad and myself and my cousin decided to have a go at him, we said he looked like a mop, etc. (this was back when he had dreadlocks) and after a few runs of this he'd had enough, turned around and not so politely asked if I wanted a fight. I told him I would, provided he paid my fine. We both shut up after that, as I wasn't all that keen on ending up in hospital.
Thank god he didnt pi_s on ya !!!
LOL :D:D:D:D - or make off with your missus.
Worst thing you've done
Sheesh.. have mellowed down a tad but it usually HARD CORE banter that grates the opposition supporters no end. :D Last real profanity unleashed relentlessly with those adoring 'c' & 'f' words was @ John Barnes (Geel) ..umps only get 25% of that these days. Have had threats with belts, loaded beer cans thrown at me, security .. never evicted and never physically harmed.. if you exclude the time we lost to ______ Melbourne (13th) and I was seething like hell, came out of the 'G... copped a flying footy in my face and then grabbed the footy and booted it into the Railway yards @ the Punt Rd end in all the rage that night. **imagine rampaging micky martyn with a thundering kick**
Worst thing you've seen
As a kid, first visit to Moorabbin, brawl in the outer as we were leaving..very frightening I recall.. bloodied faces, swinging fists, bodies.. messy.
After a Coll game @ the G' about 10 years ago?? a brawl behind the City end goals that had cowardly young ferals (17-19) laying into a huddle of pie supporters... kicks in the face.. repeated body blows.. 'life suspension stuff if was on the field' ...lasted 40 seconds. A circular surrounding crowd watched in shock! I yelled out "hit him!!" as I walked by. Guy in a North beanie was accumulating alot of cheap body points on the Pies fan who probably deserved it anyway. :p