View Full Version : 23

efcboy
14 Apr 2008, 20:22
with myers a chance to debut in the next few weeks was just thinking who would be the best essendon player to regularly wear no.23?

the most recent one with some ability was cransberg. anyone with a memory for numbers recall? (i'm thinking vaguely maybe ken fletcher wore it?)

rainman06
14 Apr 2008, 20:25
Bolts!!!

The Dustbin
14 Apr 2008, 20:29
with myers a chance to debut in the next few weeks was just thinking who would be the best essendon player to regularly wear no.23?

the most recent one with some ability was cransberg. anyone with a memory for numbers recall? (i'm thinking vaguely maybe ken fletcher wore it?)

Did Rene Kink wear 23 when he crossed from Coll?

bomber69
14 Apr 2008, 20:45
They may not be Essendon but there are a few stars in the comp that wear #23

Lance "Buddy" Franklin
Andrew McLeod
Nathan Thompson
Justin Koschitzke
Darren Glass

Spikey
14 Apr 2008, 20:48
They may not be Essendon but there are a few stars in the comp that wear #23

Lance "Buddy" Franklin
Andrew McLeod
Nathan Thompson
Justin Koschitzke
Darren Glass

Plus the amazingy under-rated James McDonald.

efcboy
14 Apr 2008, 20:50
i can think of plenty of great no.23s for other clubs but am i overlooking an old great for the dons?

otherwise we're due!

Lad of the Manor
14 Apr 2008, 20:54
Michael Jordan would be better than most

Hirdman
14 Apr 2008, 21:01
Trevor Spencer.......

My cousin from Tassie came to Melbourne to watch the footy one weekend and I told him to watch out for the Big Fish and number 23 Trevor Spencer dominated......

efcboy
14 Apr 2008, 21:04
i reckon spencer and cransberg were about par.

anyone do better than these guys?

Ludwig van Bertstare
14 Apr 2008, 21:06
How can you forget about our champion CHF Ken Fraser?

efcboy
14 Apr 2008, 21:14
How can you forget about our champion CHF Ken Fraser?

before my time but yeah thought that there was one - like ken fletcher or ken fraser. wasn't sure if ken wore no.30 as when his son mark came over he wore that no.

Ludwig van Bertstare
14 Apr 2008, 21:47
Ken Fletcher wore #21.

micool
14 Apr 2008, 23:40
warrrrnnnnneeeeyyyyyy

Grey Smith Bar
15 Apr 2008, 09:54
And didn't Warney choose it because of Stewie Loewe?

Lance Uppercut
15 Apr 2008, 12:09

maybe, I was under the impression he chose it because of the whole Michael Jordan / Nike / Shane Warne nexus

16flags
15 Apr 2008, 13:00
Looks like #23 has been having a rather bad run in attracting quality players since Bill Brittingham (172 games, 1943-1952) and Ken Fraser (198 games, 1958-1968). Following Ken Fraser's retirement we've had the following players wearing #23; Les Stillman, Peter Hickmott, Grant Fowler, Rene Kink, Trevor Spencer, Peter Cransburg and Mark Bolton. Good ordinary players at best. Hopefully David Myers will develop into a quality player

CarlosHernandez
15 Apr 2008, 15:27
Michael Jordan would be better than most

His left foot was shithouse.

Barts
16 Apr 2008, 00:21

It was the number he wore for St Kilda U19s I think.

Kong
16 Apr 2008, 00:59
His left foot was shithouse.

hahaha. zing!

silk
17 Apr 2008, 17:51
I look at it this way,
2 + 3 = 5

5 is hirdy's number.

Myers will go fine :thumbsu: