View Full Version : Our line-up for the future
daddy_4_eyes
15 Apr 2008, 10:20
Enough of this doom & gloom. Lets get excited by our youngsters & what the future holds for the eagles.
How's this for a young side with plenty of potential:
FB: S.Selwood - Glass - Staker
HB:B.Jones - Spangher - A.Selwood
C: Ebert - Masten - Waters
HF: Embley - Kennedy - Hurn
FF: McKinley - Lynch - Le Cras
R: Cox - Priddis - Kerr
Bench:Seaby, Stenglein, Brown, Butler
What an exciting & young line-up that is. By 2010 that will be a gun side.
Notable omissions:
Wirrpanda (ret)
Fletch (ret)
Braun (ret?)
Hansen (inj)
Hunter
JMac - couldn't squeeze him in
Rosa - works hard, but has little impact.
I'm excited!
;)
West Coast 06
15 Apr 2008, 11:26
Rosa will take over from Embley IMO. He is already playing better than Embers is this year.
Did anyone take any notice of Worsfolds little dig at Sydney in the paper yesterday?
So you're positive with where you're at rather than dirty with the size of the losses?
We're very, very positive going forward and where we are heading....(blah, blah about young players)....One example. Matt Spangher playing on one of the unbelievable champions of the game in O'Loughlin. You would expect that O'Loughlin would have a bit of footy smarts over Spangher at the moment and a little bit more strength, but I know who is more likely to play in an AFL premiership right at this point.
I laughed when I read this! Considering Sydney is fourth and we are fourteenth and just got a belting from them, I thought it was a bit cheeky.:D
By 2010, I think Embers will be past his peak, so I would put Rosa on the wing and put Waters up on the half forward flank IMO.
The forgotten soldier. Mitch Brown. Best KPP talent at our club. Dont forget it. Put him in the team now or ill whoop your ass
beatlesmith
15 Apr 2008, 13:03
The forgotten soldier. Mitch Brown. Best KPP talent at our club. Dont forget it. Put him in the team now or ill whoop your ass
agreed. I think hunter will struggle to hold his place by 2010 as i don't think he is good enough as a pure backmen to hold his place. Put Brown in the team and then him and staker could rotate forward and back. And don't forget to factor in the inclusion of rich/yarran. That centre square is WAY too inside. Priddis, Masten and kerr pretty much have the same playing style so we would need someone like yarran or rich to add class and pace.
This team still lacks a dedicated crumber and the talents of J-mac, notte, schofield, rosa, brown and mackenzie are still out of the team. I think we may need to start trading some players out so we don't have such a surplus of young quality players who can't get a game.
Crimson King
15 Apr 2008, 14:14
I am pretty sure Yarran will be our player by then.
So my line-up would be:
B: S.Selwood - Glass - Hunter
HF: McKinley- Brown - Lecca
FF: Kennedy - Lynch - Yarran
Bench:Seaby, Stenglein, Hurn, Butler
Unlucky:
Staker
Rosa
Now obviously if we recruit a gun midfielder he would be in there before Priddis.
rowanjonesy
15 Apr 2008, 14:31
I am pretty sure Yarran will be our player by then.
So my line-up would be:
B: S.Selwood - Glass - Hunter
HF: McKinley- Brown - Lecca
FF: Kennedy - Lynch - Yarran
Bench:Seaby, Stenglein, Hurn, Butler
Unlucky:
Staker
Rosa
Now obviously if we recruit a gun midfielder he would be in there before Priddis.
dumbest thing i have read. Priddis is a gun midfielder.
Crimson King
15 Apr 2008, 14:40
Bahahahahahahaahaha!:D
You are a deadset tool mate, this year's draft is as strong as they come, and if we get a midfielder with our first-round pick or second round pick, he will be better than Priddis.
Priddis is no more than a B grader, I think its fair to say an A grader would take his spot, no?:rolleyes:
Panther Pete
15 Apr 2008, 14:47
Tim Houilhan close for a game?
rowanjonesy
15 Apr 2008, 15:12
You are a deadset tool mate, this year's draft is as strong as they come, and if we get a midfielder with our first-round pick or second round pick, he will be better than Priddis.
Priddis is no more than a B grader, I think its fair to say an A grader would take his spot, no?:rolleyes:
Priddis B grader ha!
Even if we happen to get a player like rich do u really think priddis would be the first midfileder to miss out??
Flymaster
15 Apr 2008, 15:19
Rosa will take over from Embley IMO. He is already playing better than Embers is this year.
Did anyone take any notice of Worsfolds little dig at Sydney in the paper yesterday?
So you're positive with where you're at rather than dirty with the size of the losses?
We're very, very positive going forward and where we are heading....(blah, blah about young players)....One example. Matt Spangher playing on one of the unbelievable champions of the game in O'Loughlin. You would expect that O'Loughlin would have a bit of footy smarts over Spangher at the moment and a little bit more strength, but I know who is more likely to play in an AFL premiership right at this point.
I laughed when I read this! Considering Sydney is fourth and we are fourteenth and just got a belting from them, I thought it was a bit cheeky.:D
Lol, yes I read that and thought the same thing. But he is probably right. Also, I seem to recall Worsfold was getting a bit of heat following our poor start to the year in 2004 but we finished that year really strongly and that set us up beautifully for 2005 and 2006. Worsfold was very positive back then too and he has enormous self-belief and resilience. I will back him to turn things around again but it will take a little bit of time.
rowanjonesy
15 Apr 2008, 15:38
Lol, yes I read that and thought the same thing. But he is probably right. Also, I seem to recall Worsfold was getting a bit of heat following our poor start to the year in 2004 but we finished that year really strongly and that set us up beautifully for 2005 and 2006. Worsfold was very positive back then too and he has enormous self-belief and resilience. I will back him to turn things around again but it will take a little bit of time.
im pretty sure he was referring to oloughlin vs spangher. Not syd vs WC
WestCoastFeller
15 Apr 2008, 15:40
Disgraceful post OP.
How could you possibly consider omitting the bright and agile Rosa? This young man is a bliss to watch, as he curves paths through swathes of onlookers. He is the future of our club, when all else is, has and will fail, Rosa shall be there standing fancy free and strident, with a ball cupped in his left, fist ready and waiting on the right, like the olden day football card images that freshened my kindred childhood. Oh, how I remember the smell of the newly opened packets of card and gum. Special treats for good little boys in my time.
So basically, to conclude, I feel disheartened and troubled that people of this club would consider Rosa as a failed entity. This truly makes me feel dirty and wasted.
juddy_Like
15 Apr 2008, 15:50
Says who?
Surely your taking the piss.
juddy_Like
15 Apr 2008, 15:51
Oh you blokes are seriously underating Eric McKenzie.
You guys shouldnt be foooled by the fact others have played more games than him.
I think Timmy Houlihan will be on a wing by the end of the year or next.
Oh and Tony Notte is the best KPP talent at the club, not Brown.
Enough of this doom & gloom. Lets get excited by our youngsters & what the future holds for the eagles.
How's this for a young side with plenty of potential:
FF: McKinley - Lynch - Le Cras
What an exciting & young line-up that is. By 2010 that will be a gun side.
Notable omissions:
Wirrpanda (ret)
Fletch (ret)
Braun (ret?)
Hansen (inj)
Hunter
JMac - couldn't squeeze him in
Rosa - works hard, but has little impact.
I'm excited!
;)
haha
humourous!
Crimson King
15 Apr 2008, 16:12
Says who?
Surely your taking the piss.
I dont know about you, but an A grader for me is the likes of Voss, Goodes, Judd, Cousins, Kerr and yadada.
Priddis doesnt fall into that category does he? Well that's just me though and my ratings.
BTW rowanjonesy we were talking about '10 not right now. Rich by 2010 would be in our top 6-7.
rowanjonesy
15 Apr 2008, 16:39
Oh you blokes are seriously underating Eric McKenzie.
You guys shouldnt be foooled by the fact others have played more games than him.
He is good. Really needs to bulk up if he is going to play key position. Had a shocking run with injuries. His knee still isnt 100% and has only just returned to the WAFL. Had 4 or 5 kicked on him in the wafl
rowanjonesy
15 Apr 2008, 16:40
I dont know about you, but an A grader for me is the likes of Voss, Goodes, Judd, Cousins, Kerr and yadada.
Priddis doesnt fall into that category does he? Well that's just me though and my ratings.
BTW rowanjonesy we were talking about '10 not right now. Rich by 2010 would be in our top 6-7.
I agree but i think priddis would still be in the team regardless of rich
swingdog
15 Apr 2008, 16:44
Where's Notte in that line-up?
Dunn - Well Done
15 Apr 2008, 16:44
yeh eagles have drafted real well and last year was no exception. Masten was always gonna go to the eagles but it was S.Selwood who was touted as the best selwood then dropped from top 10 to 22 and also Ebert was predicted as a top 4 or 5 draftee earlier that year and was SA's best by a mile he can play as a 3rd tall forward or as a big bodied midfielder and could remind me of Goodwin in the modern game or Hird/Riccuto in the past game. Big impact player for the future will need to bulk up to do this though. Masten is the best runner in the country and will love SUBI and also enjoy the way the game is now played
Crimson King
15 Apr 2008, 16:48
Well I had him at FF instead of Lynch, but then would he have developed a decent body by then?
hmm dont really see a point to this thread. years ago they were saying how mcdougall will be in the team etc. lots can change, its silly to try and name a team for a few years time.
how about naming next weeks side, seems hard enough.
yeh eagles have drafted real well and last year was no exception. Masten was always gonna go to the eagles but it was S.Selwood who was touted as the best selwood then dropped from top 10 to 22 and also Ebert was predicted as a top 4 or 5 draftee earlier that year and was SA's best by a mile he can play as a 3rd tall forward or as a big bodied midfielder and could remind me of Goodwin in the modern game or Hird/Riccuto in the past game. Big impact player for the future will need to bulk up to do this though. Masten is the best runner in the country and will love SUBI and also enjoy the way the game is now played
Not sure where you got that from. Always considered a good, solid player. Not the best Selwood.
hmm dont really see a point to this thread. years ago they were saying how mcdougall will be in the team etc. lots can change, its silly to try and name a team for a few years time.
You don`t have to see a point in this thread, it`s just people shooting the breeze with idle speculation. If you don`t see any purpose to it - don`t join in. Pretty simple (or perhaps not in your particular case)
I`m sure there already is another ins and outs thread up and running somplace on this board.
hawk-boy
15 Apr 2008, 19:33
FF: McKinley - Notte - Le Cras
by 2010 we will have notte way ahead of lynch
Completly agree with this team, especially with Notte for Lynch.
I will kick your teeth in.
Just harmless fun anti, a deflection from a gloomy season that is at hand brother. :thumbsu:
Still eating.
Crimson King
15 Apr 2008, 20:12
That comment wasnt supposed to be seen by you Big Man.:p
plays tall 1
15 Apr 2008, 21:58
A guy we haven't seen (I think he's injured) is McGinnity. He did some great shut down jobs in the National Champs before getting drafted. He may come into calculations by 2010.
I think we need to develop someone with the discipline to play that role. Stenglein was once a good tagger. He seems to have either been instructed to play a different role. Either that or he's just not tagging effectively any more.
eagledream
15 Apr 2008, 22:02
I'm so ____in excited to see Notte in action. There's no doubt he'll be given a year or 3 in the WAFL and a free hungry jacks card to fatten him up before he gets a gig in the AFL but i'm stoked that he's on our list and at the moment he seems to be doing all the right things. Hopefully he can continue to develop and kick goals and put some weight on and i'm sure he'll be a big part of our future. I'll admit we're not looking sensational for this season but there is ALOT of light at the end of the tunnel. We'll be challenging in 2009 i reckon. GO YOU EAGLES!
WestCoastFeller
16 Apr 2008, 12:18
Absolutely nothing on our list that excites me for the future to be brutally honest. The odd player with potential scattered around, but very little in the way of Judd's, Cousins', Kerr's etc... or anyone that looks like taking our club to the pinnacle of success, where we may lay on the precipice as brothers and sisters...comrades as such.
Compare Mastens stats with Kerrs etc. first up. Masten showed more in hist first game then those 3. Your just ignoring it because all guys like you remember is the first half. You would of switched it off after the game was won.
23 and under side atm
FB: S.Selwood McKenzie Schofield
HB: Staker Spangher Davis
C: Rosa Masten Ebert
HF: Notte Kennedy Waters
FF: McKinley Brown LeCras
R: Seaby Priddis A.Selwood
I/C: Houlihan Butler Thompson Hurn
daddy_4_eyes
16 Apr 2008, 12:42
I disagree.
Masten looks like the next Simon Black.
Brown showed a lot last year, and if the development of his twin brother is anything to go by, we have a 200 game defender on our hands.
Waters has passion & commitment few AFL players possess. 250 game player who will be revered like Woosha was in his playing days.
That's three guys who I can see becoming stars for us in the Cox/Glass/Kerr level.
While there's a lot of guys on our list who will be above average players on the Hunter/Stenglein/Embley level.
I disagree.
Brown showed a lot last year, and if the development of his twin brother is anything to go by, we have a 200 game defender on our hands.
Waters has passion & commitment few AFL players possess. 250 game player who will be revered like Woosha was in his playing days.
That's three guys who I can see becoming stars for us in the Cox/Glass/Kerr level.
While there's a lot of guys on our list who will be above average players on the Hunter/Stenglein/Embley level.
He also forgets that stars like Cox and Kerr have another 6-7 years of AFL footy left in them too. Id also like to remind everyone about Mark LeCras. Its not a coincidence our forward line went from meh against Brisbane to complete garbage with his omission.
greennick
16 Apr 2008, 13:16
A guy we haven't seen (I think he's injured) is McGinnity. He did some great shut down jobs in the National Champs before getting drafted. He may come into calculations by 2010.
I think we need to develop someone with the discipline to play that role. Stenglein was once a good tagger. He seems to have either been instructed to play a different role. Either that or he's just not tagging effectively any more.
McGinnity debuted on the weekend for the Tigers in the seniors. Played average, but positioned himself well a few times, so hopefully he will improve. I wouldn't start putting him in the team just yet.
Coming back from hip and badly broken ribs is a thing that takes a while to do. I wanna see how he goes in a months time
WestCoastFeller
16 Apr 2008, 14:14
I disagree.
Sir,
Masten has played but one game. My failed young bronx Sampi, was viewed as the next Chris Lewis. Brown is not his twin brother and Waters looked as revering as Laurel and Hardy in a wash tub on the weekend, when that sickening brute Barry Hall shook him like a wolf to a rag doll. Potential and innuendo do not brighten my naff bag. The yearly fair of the premiership cup is all that will quench my thirst for satisfaction.
EagleMan87
16 Apr 2008, 15:04
Compare Mastens stats with Kerrs etc. first up. Masten showed more in hist first game then those 3. Your just ignoring it because all guys like you remember is the first half. You would of switched it off after the game was won.
23 and under side atm
FB: S.Selwood McKenzie Schofield
HB: Staker Spangher Davis
C: Rosa Masten Ebert
HF: Notte Kennedy Waters
FF: McKinley Brown LeCras
R: Seaby Priddis A.Selwood
I/C: Houlihan Butler Thompson Hurn
Good side, here's mine.
FB: A. Selwood, Wilkes, Schofield
HB: Hurn, Spangher, Davis
C: Rosa, Priddis, Houlihan
HF: McKinley, Brown, Ebert
FF: LeCras, Notte, Waters
R: Seaby, Masten, Butler
INT: Sullivan,Staker, McNamara, McKenzie
EMG: Thomson, Kennedy, S. Selwood
Sir,
Masten has played but one game. My failed young bronx Sampi, was viewed as the next Chris Lewis. Brown is not his twin brother and Waters looked as revering as Laurel and Hardy in a wash tub on the weekend, when that sickening brute Barry Hall shook him like a wolf to a rag doll. Potential and innuendo do not brighten my naff bag. The yearly fair of the premiership cup is all that will quench my thirst for satisfaction.
Masten has played 2 games.
Carry on.
PS: Your thirst wont be quenched for 2-3 yrs I would assume, better jump ship. :thumbsu:
peterss
16 Apr 2008, 16:45
My side for the future assuming players like Cox, Kerr, etc arent around
FB: S. Selwood - Wilkes - McKenzie
HB: Hurn - Spangher - Davis
C: Schofield - Priddis - Butler
HF: Rosa - Brown - Ebert
FF: LeCras - Notte - McKinley
RR: Seaby - Masten - Waters
INT: Sullivan - Kennedy - Houlihan - Mcnamara
EMG: McGinnity - Thomson - Arrowsmith
Crimson King
16 Apr 2008, 16:48
Bahahahaha, doesnt excite you? Bahahaha! I am so excited about our future, I would like to buy a time machine and fast forward it to 2010. Anyone got one? :o
EagleMan87
16 Apr 2008, 17:03
Bahahahaha, doesnt excite you? Bahahaha! I am so excited about our future, I would like to buy a time machine and fast forward it to 2010. Anyone got one? :o
I do.
You can't have it though:D
Crimson King
16 Apr 2008, 17:06
:mad:
You're no fun, 87!:(
Oh I already love Masten.:D:thumbsu:
EagleMan87
16 Apr 2008, 17:13
:mad:
You're no fun, 87!:(
Oh I already love Masten.:D:thumbsu:
Same. Was much improved from the game against Adelaide, in amoungst it and getting out shitloads of handballs, quick too.
Spangher is gonna be special as well.
And if I let you use the time machine all of existance would cease to be. So you gotta ask yourself: "Do I feel lucky?"
Crimson King
16 Apr 2008, 17:21
My big tip watch out for Masten this week, going to kill Kane Cornes.:thumbsu: I figure he will play even better with the home crowd behind him and not against him.
As for the time machine, if you put it that way, dont want to risk anything.:)
bigburger
16 Apr 2008, 17:28
I think Mitch Brown is a backmen and Kennedy is a better Centre Half Forward than him.
Crimson King
16 Apr 2008, 18:40
I'm afraid if you use the words Mitch Brown and backmen in the same sentence again, I will have to kill you bb!:mad:
Let the boy run havoc in the forward line.:thumbsu:
I'm afraid if you use the words Mitch Brown and backmen in the same sentence again, I will have to kill you bb!:mad:
Let the boy run havoc in the forward line.:thumbsu:
Looks great in the backline though.
Oh wait thats his brother.
Carry on.....
WestCoastFeller
16 Apr 2008, 23:46
Masten has played 2 games.
Carry on.
PS: Your thirst wont be quenched for 2-3 yrs I would assume, better jump ship. :thumbsu:
My deepest and sincerest apologies. I guess this means that he is up to Judd or Cousins level and we are going to be exceptionally fine.
Can you see past your own nose?
Because your post dont provide that bit of info.
Did you sit through 00/01 at all?
If not I guess you wont last long watching us struggle.
You have pranced around about comrades in arm and other type of bullshit but display a different tone here.
Theres a name you have been called on this forum already and I am beginning to agree with that particular name.
Heres a hint
http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee72/ropes2007/troll.jpg
See you when we become a premiership threat again, I guess. :thumbsu:
archiemoses
17 Apr 2008, 01:00
By the time these players get good they will want to leave to go to carlton :p
Well...
Notte DID support Carlton IIRC.
WestCoastFeller
17 Apr 2008, 13:18
http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee72/ropes2007/troll.jpg
See you when we become a premiership threat again, I guess. :thumbsu:
Sir, it seems that you are the troll through and through. I believe the term goes along the lines of, "Go sit under a bridge..."?
larrikin
17 Apr 2008, 13:34
Sir, it seems that you are the troll through and through. I believe the term goes along the lines of, "Go sit under a bridge..."?
Wow, that was a good one
DockerNJL
17 Apr 2008, 13:48
Good to see a couple of you guy's have Wilkes in the team. :thumbsu:
Been in the best players in the paper for Claremont all year and looks to be relishing an injury free year down back so far.
With the punt to give him one more year on the rookie list he now comes into calculations to be given a senior spot with the unfortunate brown injury.
WestCoastFeller
17 Apr 2008, 14:00
Wow, that was a good one
Thank you.
I do not see why I must constantly defend myself time and time again, from these ill-bred assaults on my integrity. I shall be taking this up with an administrator. I am trying to discuss the topic, while others are too busy pandering around with hollow and often vulgar comments.
larrikin
17 Apr 2008, 14:17
Thank you.
I do not see why I must constantly defend myself time and time again, from these ill-bred assaults on my integrity. I shall be taking this up with an administrator. I am trying to discuss the topic, while others are too busy pandering around with hollow and often vulgar comments.
Vulgar hey? Must've missed that one
The people you'll want to speak to are Mr Eagle, or Goldenblue. I'm sure they will have equal interest in the attacks on your vestige.
WestCoastFeller
17 Apr 2008, 14:36
Vulgar hey? Must've missed that one
The people you'll want to speak to are Mr Eagle, or Goldenblue. I'm sure they will have equal interest in the attacks on your vestige.
Thank you for your consideration to this issue, though after some of the nasty comments that have emanated from your filthy fingers, I am not interested in what you have to say. Please dispose of yourself in an environmentally friendly way.
Larri we should know better.
Dont feed the trolls.
Laugh a minute this one, "vestige" and all.
WestCoastFeller
17 Apr 2008, 16:22
Larri we should know better.
Dont feed the trolls.
Laugh a minute this one, "vestige" and all.
I'm sorry if you were never taught the meaning of the word. I'm thankful that you are not my grandson.
Scotland
17 Apr 2008, 16:24
Wonder if GentlemanJeff's little green light is on right now?
Some one mentioned in one of the earliest threads that their were way to many inside mids in a team. fancy trading one out to Essendon maybe in exchange for say an Andrew Lovett. Lotta speculation about Lovvet and West Coast, not sure if its just rumors or things may happen this year.
dynamite_kid
19 Apr 2008, 02:18
I'm sorry if you were never taught the meaning of the word. I'm thankful that you are not my grandson.
Maybe he is...
*Twilight Zone Music*