Matthew Stokes
pretty simple
who would u rather???
betterthanu
16 Apr 2008, 19:59
Didak by 50 miles
Kaiser Powser
16 Apr 2008, 20:14
Probably Didak. Stokes is a little gem, but great teams have the ability of making players seem like they are better than they are. If he played for the Dees he may well be an inknown IMO.
Team Mo'
16 Apr 2008, 20:24
pretty simple..didak...
robertg22
16 Apr 2008, 21:04
Thread is insulting to Didak.... closer would be Davis vs Stokes and Stokes is still behind in that one too.
Metallica_Man
16 Apr 2008, 21:44
Thread is insulting to Didak.... closer would be Davis vs Stokes and Stokes is still behind in that one too.
Lol...:)
TRAVCLOKE#32
16 Apr 2008, 21:47
Can't go past the man with the smartest feet in the AFL
Pie In Da Sky
16 Apr 2008, 21:48
its like saying who would u rather... sav rocca or gary ablett come on mate be serious
Metallica_Man
16 Apr 2008, 21:49
Can't go past the man with the smartest feet in the AFL
Steve Johnson not in this poll though?:confused:
delirious1
16 Apr 2008, 22:01
closer would be Davis vs Stokes and Stokes is still behind in that one too.
Didak>>>Stokes>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>(and them some more
>>>Davis
didak just.
stokes is a bloody good player but.
didak04
16 Apr 2008, 22:07
better question would be didak or steve johnson. Didak is ahead of stokes currently, Stokes' game has gone up a level this season though
lamaros
16 Apr 2008, 22:17
Didak is way overrated, but he's still better than Stokes. Stokes is your classic average player who's made to look much better by being surrounded by stars.
fevalenko
16 Apr 2008, 23:31
its like saying who would u rather... sav rocca or gary ablett come on mate be serious
man u need 2 get a grip on life
it is a simple thread
no need 2 b a wanker about the situation
didak or stokes... id take didak easily but i put this poll up 2 shut up some ______ mate of mine
BABYBOMBERS2007
18 Apr 2008, 21:30
Didak is easily better. He is an AA.
geelong_crazy26
19 Apr 2008, 02:45
stokes by a long way ,champion premiership player that kicked 3 goals in the first quarter of last years preliminary final. didak is not in the same league as stokes.
scottydeewah
19 Apr 2008, 07:22
Didak, but he hasnt become the player he threatened too before his injury.
AA 2 years ago. Recovered from a knee reco and took most of last season to find form and then was very close to our best player in the finals. Has been close to our best player this year along with shaw and swan and IMO in career best form(better than the year he got AA)
I'd say he is now the player he threatened too be and will probably get better.
Magpie Magic
19 Apr 2008, 12:52
Didak is a level above stokes imo. Although I do think Stokes is a good solid player.
Jeremias
19 Apr 2008, 13:24
Both are good players, but Didak is clearly better.
Even though I hate the ____er, at his best, he is much better than Stokes.
Metallica_Man
19 Apr 2008, 19:02
Stokes today: 14 kicks, 7 handballs, 21 touches, 8 marks, 4 goals
Chaz Pendlebury
19 Apr 2008, 20:10
stokes by a long way ,champion premiership player that kicked 3 goals in the first quarter of last years preliminary final. didak is not in the same league as stokes.
Yep, checks out. He's crazy
Stokes today: 14 kicks, 7 handballs, 21 touches, 8 marks, 4 goals
not bad from Stokesy. Had a good game a couple of weeks back against Essendon too - 31 touches, 13 marks, 2 goals.
Didak for me, but it is interesting comparing their stats averages...
Didak (08)
Disposals 22.2, Marks 6.6, Tackles 1.4, Goals 1.4
Stokes (08)
Disposals 20.4, Marks 8.4, Tackles 1.0, Goals 2.4
Didak (Career)
Disposals 12.9, Marks 4.0, Tackles 1.6, Goals 1.4
Stokes (Career)
Disposals 16.4, Marks 5.8, Tackles 2.5, Goals 1.5
smiddaz123
20 Apr 2008, 02:33
If Didak played for Geelong he'd be dominating more than Stokes.
jonesy86
20 Apr 2008, 11:58
it's too early to tell how good Stokes is as he is playing in one of the best teams of the past 25yrs...for all we know he could be another Des Headland
Didak this year has stepped up into the midfield and is back to career best form
geelong_crazy26
20 Apr 2008, 14:32
If Didak played for Geelong he'd be dominating more than Stokes.
if didak played for geelong they wouldnt be as good a side, and collingwood would be a better side because they have stokes.
hellfire
20 Apr 2008, 19:32
if didak played for geelong they wouldnt be as good a side, and collingwood would be a better side because they have stokes.
...Wow. I laughed pretty hard at that.
Gyroscope_182
20 Apr 2008, 19:41
Stokes is a premiership player.
He is better than Nathan Buckley, Robert Harvey, Scott West and Bob Skilton
tin can sam
21 Apr 2008, 12:05
Stokes is a premiership player.
He is better than Nathan Buckley, Robert Harvey, Scott West and Bob Skilton
and Gary Ablett
(thought I'd get in before somebody else did)
Whos the better player???
Alan Didak
or
Matthew Stokes
pretty simple
who would u rather???
2 different questions.
Didak is currently the better player. (has more ability to tear the game apart single handed than stokes)
I would probably rather stokes though as I think does more of the team things and displays a better attitude while also getting plenty of it.
smiddaz123
21 Apr 2008, 18:05
2 different questions.
Didak is currently the better player. (has more ability to tear the game apart single handed than stokes)
I would probably rather stokes though as I think does more of the team things and displays a better attitude while also getting plenty of it.
You're just spouting random facts and hoping they're true.
Didak's been one of the top for goal assists in recent years. What are you basing it on that he doesn't do team things?
lynchy23
21 Apr 2008, 18:14
ur a moron, watch a geelong game this year seriously! MORON!
lynchy23
21 Apr 2008, 18:18
stokes gets alot of the footy for a team that has alot of bigger name type players. ur not a good player just becuase u play for a good side lol shannon byrnes for example
geelong_crazy26
21 Apr 2008, 21:05
stokes gets alot of the footy for a team that has alot of bigger name type players. ur not a good player just becuase u play for a good side lol shannon byrnes for example
I agree, people on this site take that playing in the best side thing to far.The reason why geelong is the best is because they have the best players.How good have geelong made byrnes look ?
hellfire
21 Apr 2008, 23:00
ur a moron, watch a geelong game this year seriously! MORON!
Stokes is a very good player, but I think Davis is a better comparison too. Maybe if you watched Collingwood this year, you would realise how good HE has been.
Didak by a mile. Stokes has played great this year, (his set shots are pretty damn good), but his a good player in a bad side, and from what i've seen, he'll be a bad player in a bad side. If he was playing at Melbourne or Essendon at the moment he would touch the ball 3-5 times and would be dropped in a week.
Didak is a star, but you shouldn't rate them coz of the age difference.
Lunchlady Doris
22 Apr 2008, 09:30
Didak by a mile. Stokes has played great this year, (his set shots are pretty damn good), but his a good player in a bad side, and from what i've seen, he'll be a bad player in a bad side. If he was playing at Melbourne or Essendon at the moment he would touch the ball 3-5 times and would be dropped in a week.
Completely baseless drivel.
Claude Balls
22 Apr 2008, 09:50
Stokes is a very good player, but I think Davis is a better comparison too. Maybe if you watched Collingwood this year, you would realise how good HE has been.
Davis has certainly been good this year, however the other Collingwood supporter was some way off the mark with his assertion that Stokes trails him, in addition to Didak.
Didak is a more complete than Stokes at this point, given that he is a more accomplished midfielder, though I'm not convinced that he could play Stokes' role as a forward and pinch hitting midfielder any better than Stokes himself, even if he played for Geelong.
Whatever, I concede that Didak is better in the general sense of the word.
It is a shame ill considered halfwits like this are so prevalent on BigFooty. The proportion of intelligent, measured posters seems almost to dwindle by the week. If Stokes was playing at Melbourne, he would be your best performed player this year. The common conception that good players are only thus because they play in a good team is complete bullshit.
hellfire
22 Apr 2008, 11:45
Davis has certainly been good this year, however the other Collingwood supporter was some way off the mark with his assertion that Stokes trails him, in addition to Didak.
Didak is a more complete than Stokes at this point, given that he is a more accomplished midfielder, though I'm not convinced that he could play Stokes' role as a forward and pinch hitting midfielder any better than Stokes himself, even if he played for Geelong.
Yeah Stokes would probably slightly ahead of Davis in 2008. Looking at their stats - Stokes averages 4.2 more disposals, 0.8 more goals, 4.6 more marks.
Davis averages 0.8 more tackles, 0.8 more 1%ers, 2.2 less errors, 2.8 more clearances.
The prowess ranking (which takes into account "context of the game and the result") on pro-stats has Davis ahead by 0.2, which is basically negligible. So from that we could say they're even. Didak is about 3 points above them both, which is interesting, because last week he was on 59, which means he's dropped 3 after what was arguably a BOG performance (save for his brain-fade shot on goal).
Comparing Didak and Stokes this year:
Didak averages 2.4 more disposals, 0.8 more first possessions, 3.2 more clearances, 1.8 more inside 50s, 1.2 more 1%ers.
Stokes averages 2.2 more marks, 1.2 more tackles, 1 more goal, 1.2 more rebound 50s.
It's pretty clear from that stats the Didak spent a bit more time in the engine room, as has Davis, but Stokes has been better on the scoreboard than both.
I'm of the opinion that playing in a very good team is a very slight advantage, because generally the delivery is better, AND given the amount of times Geelong handballs, there are easy disposals available. However, you could also argue that given the greater quality around the players, it may reduce how much they get the ball. Tough to say.
lynchy23
23 Apr 2008, 15:17
dont shame essendon supporters anymore please
lynchy23
23 Apr 2008, 15:18
sorry double message read below
lynchy23
23 Apr 2008, 15:19
i have buddy, i watch 6 games a week. i miss out on 1 on sat night and 1 sunday arvo. stokes better player this year by a mile. he ability to find space in a magnicifent team is awesome
robertg22
23 Apr 2008, 17:50
Yeah look you're right about Davis v Stokes. Leon's development over the last two seasons has been phenomenal - I am happy to concede that there's not a great deal between him and Stokes, if not slightly in favour of Stokes.
It is close though, as much as the well informed Essendon supporter wouldn't like to think so.
Didak's clearly better than Stokes though, he's now starting to become a midfielder in the true sense of the word (rotating on the HFF but his endurance is improving). He's leading the competition in kicks & I can only see him getting better.
lynchy23
23 Apr 2008, 17:59
Yeah look you're right about Davis v Stokes. Leon's development over the last two seasons has been phenomenal - I am happy to concede that there's not a great deal between him and Stokes, if not slightly in favour of Stokes.
It is close though, as much as the well informed Essendon supporter wouldn't like to think so.
Didak's clearly better than Stokes though, he's now starting to become a midfielder in the true sense of the word (rotating on the HFF but his endurance is improving). He's leading the competition in kicks & I can only see him getting better.
have u watch a cats game this year?
croady_fan24
23 Apr 2008, 21:04
Didak.
hellfire
24 Apr 2008, 11:02
Have you watched a Pies game without your tainted glasses on?
The poll speaks for itself.
robertg22
24 Apr 2008, 11:37
Sydney, St Kilda, Essendon & Port Games.. didnt bother with the Melbourne game.
Didak.
Stokes is a very good player but just not the same class as Didak.
Stokes has lifted his game to another level but so has Didak this year. He would be close to averaging Mid to Low 20 touches a game this season along with slotting some important goals.
hellfire
29 Apr 2008, 12:00
Didak is leading the league in kicks and 8th in the league for clearances. He's clearly a midfielder this year, so the comparison is hardly valid anymore.
Palmer Stoat
30 Apr 2008, 19:01
Didak by a loooooong way.