View Full Version : Round 7 - Victory or Death!!!!

Obeanie1
16 Apr 2008, 20:37
So who confident about round 7 versus the Tankers?

Will this game be the one to spark the boys to lift or will we wilt?

I think we won't know until the final siren. We really should get Kennedy in this week and give him two games to warm up before playing him against his old club IMO.

It will be a sad day if we go down to Carlton, but then again it will be two more games they will need to tank to get a lower pick than us.:o

Cuzz09
16 Apr 2008, 20:39
It would be nice to beat Port this week first! :rolleyes:

MaxHunt
16 Apr 2008, 20:59
i know we are playing really poorly but in perspective... we have lost to 2 very good teams away from home and against a team that when they play us, set themselves like they would for a grand final. Our team is young and riddled with injuries at the moment.

The next 2-3 weeks will be a better indication on how we will go when judd returns.

Cuzz09
16 Apr 2008, 21:07
i know we are playing really poorly but in perspective... we have lost to 2 very good teams away from home and against a team that when they play us, set themselves like they would for a grand final. Our team is young and riddled with injuries at the moment.

The next 2-3 weeks will be a better indication on how we will go when judd returns.

Realistically we "should" win 2 of our next 3 games.

POrt @ Subi - should win.
Dogs @ Dome - no
Blues at Subi - should win.

At this stage Id take 3-4 after Round 7.

FiveStrings
16 Apr 2008, 21:11

Dogs @ Dome - no

I would too.

I wouldn't write us off against the Dogs (we did beat them by 14 goals last time we played them in Melbourne), but I'm not that confident against Port. They have a history of giving us pastings and we're down on confidence at the moment.

Quinz
16 Apr 2008, 21:14
Victory >>> Death, death is overrated and can't kick.

I think we'll win our next three.

Port are struggling and we will be at home with a few players back in. Bulldogs away will be tough but we have had the better of them the last few years and I think we might be able to get over the line, and Carlton at home should be a win as well, but at the moment you can't really pencil anything in.

Jimbob
16 Apr 2008, 21:22
Bulldogs away will be tough but we have had the better of them the last few years and I think we might be able to get over the line, and Carlton at home should be a win as well, but at the moment you can't really pencil anything in.

Having the wood over someone counts for zip in a new season! It didn't help against Adelaide and won't help against the doggies!

Cuzz09
16 Apr 2008, 21:24

Port are struggling and we will be at home with a few players back in. Bulldogs away will be tough but we have had the better of them the last few years and I think we might be able to get over the line, and Carlton at home should be a win as well, but at the moment you can't really pencil anything in.

That would be awesome.

Im not thinking about finals unless we square the ledger (wins and losses the same)

Flymaster
16 Apr 2008, 21:28

I tend to agree. I also agree with the earlier poster about the teams that we have lost to have been pretty good which may not be giving a true indication of where we are at. Every year early in a season the media etc make all sorts of extrapolations and forecasts based on the first 2 or 3 games but it really takes until about round 7 or 8 to get a good feel of where some teams sit.

The real test is whether or not we win the bulk of our home games. In 2000-2001 we lost more than 50% of our homes games. At the moment we have only lost to Freo and they are always our hardest opponent at Subi for obvious reasons - that home game is effectively cancelled out anyway with our "away" game against them later in the year. It would make alot of people reassess if we were 4-3 after Round 7. On the contrary, if we were 1-6 (meaning that we lose to Port and Carlton at home) then we are in for a long year. Until then I am cautiously optimistic that we could still have a 10-12 win season.

larrikin
16 Apr 2008, 21:28

I agree.

I'm actually less confident about Port than the Dogs, which is ironic looking at their respective records.

Lach72
16 Apr 2008, 22:11
Port have played some good footy despite being 0-4.

Carlton have too, but still show signs of hot/cold...have I seen that before somewhere?

Mop
16 Apr 2008, 22:12
I agree.

I'm actually less confident about Port than the Dogs, which is ironic looking at their respective records.
The Dogs have been a team in which we've matched up on really well.
Judd and Cousins being gone shouldn't matter.

As other posters have said, I'm more confident against the Dogs than with Port.

MaxHunt
16 Apr 2008, 22:21
im quietly confident for the port game. i think our back line will be able to hold ports' and should be able to rebound nicely. We should break even in the middle. As long as we can have some kind of stucture in our forward line we should be able to kick enough goals.

Prem87
16 Apr 2008, 23:19
This was posted on the Port Board

"Reported on Channel 9 that Adam Thomson will come in for Matt Thomas, and Pearce is likely to be dropped also that Westhoff and Ebert and under scrutiny"

I hope Pearce is out because he normally tears it up against us. If one or both of Westhoff or Ebert are cut as well it will make our task of winning much easier.

Black Thunder
16 Apr 2008, 23:32

Dogs @ Dome - no

its not our win-loss record at this stage that is the concern. with the draw we were given, 2-2 was perfectly ok.

but the fact is that we were completely thrashed in the two games away from home, fairly outplayed in the other loss, and and unconvincing in our victory over a team we should be pretty comfortable against. the actual performances have bee most concerning.

Cuzz09
16 Apr 2008, 23:44
its not our win-loss record at this stage that is the concern. with the draw we were given, 2-2 was perfectly ok.

but the fact is that we were completely thrashed in the two games away from home, fairly outplayed in the other loss, and and unconvincing in our victory over a team we should be pretty comfortable against. the actual performances have bee most concerning.

Exactly!

Its not the fact we are losing but the way we lose. There arent too many positives to take out of any of the losses.

240volt
16 Apr 2008, 23:59
I think you guys will win easy 50 points plus. we are rock bottom right now , if we win this week your season its totally gone.

MaxHunt
17 Apr 2008, 00:00
you dont think taking bartel (cuz), ablett(judd) and corey(priddis for one game) out and scarlett (glass) and ottens(cox) playing injured would impact geelong? not to mention steve johnson (embley) playing with a energy sapping virus.

if u sit back and think about it they are huge loses. and the players coming in are new to the team will need time to adapt to the game plan and structure (what there is of it). I'm as dissappointed as the next guy, but i will give this team a few more games before i get too carried away.

Cuzz09
17 Apr 2008, 00:31
I think you guys will win easy 50 points plus. we are rock bottom right now , if we win this week your season its totally gone.

HaHaHa Mate we have to kick 50 points first! If we win it will be by under 3 goals.

SO are we mate, so are we - but at least you can kick a decent score.

Agreed! But Id say so is yours.

larrikin
17 Apr 2008, 00:41
HaHaHa Mate we have to kick 50 points first! If we win it will be by under 3 goals.

SO are we mate, so are we - but at least you can kick a decent score.

Agreed! But Id say so is yours.
God ol' optimist Cuzz

pilot89
18 Apr 2008, 13:40
Yes I agree, who give's a toot about our records, i dont think that really matters this yr. Our game plan and players have been the problem, and a 14 goal thrash agaisnt the dogs LAST yr isnt going to help this year....

MAG87
18 Apr 2008, 13:44
if we win our next 3 il be extremely happy with that. however if we lose against carlton ill be trully devastated.

bigburger
21 Apr 2008, 12:13
Just got my tickets. Schweet.

Isandula
21 Apr 2008, 21:45
This is one game I really wont to end in a win (a massive one if possible). For obvious reasons and so the annoying Carlton fans I so happen to unfortunately know and live with can get a bagging. Have coped it the last 2 weeks coz oh wait Carlton have won games :rolleyes:

Cuzz09
21 Apr 2008, 21:51
Can we stop Fev, Judd, Stevens etc....?

50/50 game.

Suma
21 Apr 2008, 22:18
The possible image of Judd celebrating a Carlton win at Subiaco is so horrendous it defies words. We must win at all costs. The more I think about it, the more his treachory becomes even more unbelievable.

Cuzz09
21 Apr 2008, 22:38
The possible image of Judd celebrating a Carlton win at Subiaco is so horrendous it defies words. We must win at all costs. The more I think about it, the more his treachory becomes even more unbelievable.

treachory and skullduggery me hearties.... Arrr.... :p

Crimson King
21 Apr 2008, 22:42
Why do I get the feeling that we will win by 10+ goals?:eek:

I just think we have a certain point to prove.

Cuzz09
21 Apr 2008, 23:13
Why do I get the feeling that we will win by 10+ goals?:eek:

I just think we have a certain point to prove.

Mate, we were saying that this time last week as well.

If we win it will be by 2-3 goals.

Carlton are playing good footy.

We are playing ordinary footy.

But, a win against the odds this week would help :thumbsu:

Crimson King
21 Apr 2008, 23:22
Meh, I will stick with my 10+ goals prediction, thank you very much Mr.Cuzzy..:p

4Kerr4
21 Apr 2008, 23:24
Mate, we were saying that this time last week as well.

If we win it will be by 2-3 goals.

Carlton are playing good footy.

We are playing ordinary footy.

But, a win against the odds this week would help :thumbsu:

How good would a win against the odds be this week - right before the Carlton game.

It would be an understatement to say where due for an Eagle like win.

Cuzz09
22 Apr 2008, 00:00
Meh, I will stick with my 10+ goals prediction, thank you very much Mr.Cuzzy..:p

No worries, I hope you are right :thumbsu:

How good would a win against the odds be this week - right before the Carlton game.

It would be an understatement to say where due for an Eagle like win.

Oh man we are so due for the boys to all switch on in the same game and destroy a team - I hope its this week as I will be at the Dome :D