View Full Version : Round 5 Faceoff: Adelaide vs Fremantle

Dandy_GO
17 Apr 2008, 04:16
My turn this week. Sorry about the slight delay, everybody.
Round 5
Adelaide vs Fremantle
Saturday, April 19
AAMI Stadium 2:40 PM
Forecast: Fine, Sunny, 27.

Last week:
Losing to the Hawks came as no shock to most Crows supporters, but few expected the margin to be quite so large, despite the relatively inexperienced team fielded. Hawthorn's pressure around the ground was first class and allowed them to dominate play, despite Adelaide, surprisingly, being on top in the ruck and clearance count. Lance Franklin was unstoppable up forward, whilst Clinton Young and Brent Guerra were allowed to pick up a ridiculous amount of the ball on the half back flank, allowing the Hawks to build up their attacks from defence effectively. While Adelaide did force their way back into the game at stages, generally Hawthorn worked a heck of a lot harder, and came out deserved 44 point victors.
Over the last few years, Fremantle have ruined any chance of me winning my work's footy pool. More so than any other team, they lose when they shouldn't. As such, they've earned a tag of being perennial under performers. Against Richmond, they did nothing to lose this tag. Despite not beating Freo at Subi since 2001, cellar-dwellers Richmond won by 64 points. Matthew Richardson started up the ground, but tormented the Dockers' defence running forward from the wing, whilst even the much criticised Richard Tambling stepped up to the plate with an impressive performance. Fremantle had far too many passengers, with only the reliable Matthew Pavlich and Peter Bell putting in strong performances. Much like Adelaide, Fremantle were beaten by a side that was clearly working a lot harder.

The missing:
Adelaide are still without first choice midfielders Chris Knights and Brent Reilly. Utility Kris Massie is still probably a week away, whilst inexperienced midfielder Bryce Campbell picked up an ankle injury against the Hawks, and is unlikely to play. Tall timber Nick Gill and Brad Moran are all still a fortnight away.
Fremantle could well be without match winner Des Headland, with important midfielder Heath Black ruled out at this stage. Paul Hasleby is out for the season. Michael Johnson is a strong chance to play, whilst defender Steven Dodd has been cleared to play by the match review panel.

The Ins and Outs
Adelaide are unlikely to make too many changes, mostly because the cupboards are bare. First year players Patrick “I'm not even living in Adelaide” Dangerfield and Jarrhan “Titch” Jacky were emergencies last week, showing just how little we have to choose from, and are a chance to debut this week. Ivan Maric has been showing strong form for the Port Adelaide Magpies, and is a big chance to replace Campbell.
Mark Harvey has suggested that Fremantle may well make 3 or 4 changes based on both form and injury. Experienced campaigners Matthew Carr and Shaun McManus are both chances to come in, along with a few youngsters, such as Garrick “born at the renaissance fair” Ibbotson. A few Dockers may find themselves playing WAFL next week thanks to poor form. Brett Peake and Scott Thornton loom as the most likely to sit this one out.

The key matchups/areas
Pavlich vs Rutten
One of the problems with having a quality CHB and a quality FB is choosing which one gets to stand the opposition's best forward. As we saw against Hawthorn, it is important to get these type of matchups right early on. Pavlich has ripped us apart before, most notably last season when he kicked 5, and in late 2005 when he almost won the game single-handedly with an 8 goal haul, 7 of which (from memory) were kicked in the last half. Whilst Pav is more inclined to play up the ground than many power forwards, making Bock the obvious choice, I'd prefer to see Rutten line up with him, as Bock's ability to run off his man is valuable asset made impossible against elite opposition.
Burton vs Dodd
The last time an Adelaide player copped a suspension, that I can recall at least, was when Burton punched Dodd. While Burton has the ability to kick a bag out of nowhere, he also has the ability to lose his cool when an opponent outplays him. Dodd is the type of player who has shown he can stay with Burton, and beat him. It will be interesting to see how the Birdman performs this week, and if he punches anyone.
Tarrant vs Bassett
Call me crazy, but I'm worried about Tarrant. The stage is set for him to have a BIG game after all the criticism he's copped. Bassett is a big chance to play on him, but is somewhat out of form after a limited pre season and a knock against Port. Would love to have Massie in the team for this matchup, but unfortunately he's still recovering.
Johncock vs Hayden
Last time the sides met, star back pocket Roger Hayden was thrown forward to stop Johncock's rebound. It turned out to be an excellent move, and worked perfectly. Will we see the same thing again this time around?
The midfields
Both sides are fielding weakened midfields. Fremantle are without stars Heath Black and Paul Hasleby, with Headland a chance not to play, whilst Adelaide are missing Knights and Reilly, and require Goodwin and Edwards elsewhere on the field. Thompson/Van Berlo/Porplyzia/Vince vs Bell/Palmer/Josh Carr/Crowley look to be reasonably evenly matched. Should be an exciting battle.
Sandilands/Warnock vs Griffin/Maric(I hope)/Tippett
Despite winning the majority of ruck contests against the Hawks, we all know that the ruck division is Adelaide's weakness. Sandilands cops a lot of flak for not doing enough around the ground and basically being a massive unco, but you can count on him to get first hands on the ball. Warnock is a handy youngster, who looks a likely type, but I'd back in the slightly more mature Griffin and Maric at this stage against him. Freo will be hoping that Sandilands can play a blinder against our relatively inexperienced combo, and help their weakened midfield get first use of the ball, whilst Adelaide will be hoping that Griffin in particular can negate Sandilands' ability to be the size of a giraffe.
Where's Tippett?
Many Adelaide fans have been crying out for the inclusion of ruckman Ivan Maric to allow exciting youngster Kurt Tippett to play a full game up forward. With big Ivan dominating in the SANFL last week, could this be the right time to try it? Kurt looms as a handy target for Adelaide's midfielders, and, with his height and ability to take a pack mark, could well be a nightmare matchup for the Fremantle defence.

Form Guide
Freo have a surprisingly good record against Adelaide in recent times mostly thanks to them taking home the points both times the sides met last year. Unfortunately for Adelaide, the circumstances for the latter of the two games seems similar to those going into Saturday's clash. The week before, Fremantle had lost to the Kangaroos at Subiaco in a performance that brought them much criticism. As they have developed a habit of doing, The Dockers bounced back. They ended up comprehensively outplaying Adelaide at AAMI, with Pavlich and Bell amongst the best. In the our other clash last year, Fremantle won by a point, which really sucked balls from my point of view.
Last 5
2007 R16 Adelaide 3.7 6.8 12.8 15.11 (101) lost to Fremantle 5.0 10.2 16.2 20.6 (126) AAMI Stadium
2007 R5 Fremantle 2.3 3.7 5.13 7.16 (58) dftd Adelaide 3.0 4.2 6.5 8.9 (57) Subiaco
2006 QF Adelaide 1.3 3.8 5.12 10.16 (76) dftd Fremantle 4.2 5.2 7.4 7.4 (46) AAMI Stadium
2006 R19 Adelaide 2.3 5.10 10.14 10.20 (80) lost to Fremantle 3.6 8.10 10.11 13.17 (95) AAMI Stadium
2006 R4 Fremantle 1.1 3.3 6.3 9.5 (59) lost to Adelaide 3.3 7.7 8.11 9.16 (70) Subiaco

Outcome
It basically all depends on which Fremantle turns up. Both sides suffered losses last round, following physical encounters in rivalry round, but should hopefully be fresh and ready to go by Saturday, and eager to get back into winning form. Whilst Fremantle have good form over Adelaide over the last couple of seasons, Adelaide have probably been in superior form so far this season. Fremantle, however, have something to prove, after a weeks worth of criticism, drawn from the Richmond loss. I fully expect to see a VERY different Fremantle on Saturday. Adelaide will be hoping that their forwardline can provide more pressure than last week, preventing Fremantle from building attacks from defence, whilst Fremantle will be hoping to see more pressure on the half back line, in order to stop Goodwin and Burton from having too much of an influence on the game. I'm going to tip Adelaide, however, thanks to the home ground advantage, by 24 points.

http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/6031/tippettht0.gif
Kurt Tippett marks despite the best attempts of 3 Fremantle defenders (artists impression)

Vader
17 Apr 2008, 09:42
Originally posted by dominguez.
Adelaide v Fremantle
AAMI Stadium Saturday 19th of April 2008

On face value it's hard to make a case for Fremantle. I'm sure very, very few neutrals will be tipping us this week in their respective tipping competitions and on recent form no one can blame them. But the Dockers have a good recent record against Adelaide at AAMI, winning the last two home and away games and everyone knows that the only reason the Crows won the final there in 2006 was the zany Adelaide weather.

Both teams were disappointing last week and will be looking to make amends. I know it's only round 5 but this really is a must win game for Fremantle. With the Dockers facing the all conquering Cats next week a loss to the Crows could see our season essentially over at the first bye.

What To Expect

At The Selection Table
Fremantle will probably select a smaller side than last week. After being over ran by Richmond and facing an Adelaide forward line with a lot of pace but not much height it makes a lot of sense. Headland and Hayden are both under a cloub but expected to play

Early On
After playing shithouse last week and having the blowtorch applied by the media the Dockers will be looking to get a good start. I'm sure most of the spotlight in SA has been on Port, but the Crows certainly won't be happy with a 2 and 3 record after playing so well in the first 3 rounds so will be keen to get out of the blocks too. With that in mind I don't expect a lot of scoring early.

Out Of The MiddleExpect Aaron Sandilands to dominate the hit outs but for the Crows to win a majority of the clearances. If their mids are allowed to get goal side like Richmond did then it could be a blow out. If Fremantle can break even out of the centre we give ourselves a very good chance of winning.

Apart from Peter Bell, who rarely really hurts the opposition, and Rhys Palmer, who has played 3 AFL games, the Fremantle midfield have been playing poorly. Headland, Carr and Crowley desperately need to play well Saturday.

Adelaide often play a bit of a midfield flood against us which forces us to go sideways and chip the ball around, this plays right into their hands so this tactic is quite possible this week.

The Richmond runners made Fremantle look extremely slow last week. The Adelaide mids and running backs would be full of confidence after watching the tape, so expect them to really back themselves in. The Fremantle players need to be switched on and I'm sure we'll be more accountable this week.

Forwards And BacksThe Adelaide forwards will try to play an open forward line allowing their zippy forwards to lead into and at the other end they'll get the third man up against Pavlich as much as possible.

Key Match Ups

Dodd has played well on Burton in the past and should get the job again.

Assuming Thornton stays in the side he looks the best match up on McLeod, either as a defensive forward on McLeod at half back or more likely in defence since McLeod has been spending time forward of centre lately.

Where McPharlin starts depends largely on if Tarrant plays. I assume he will, and expect McPharlin to start back on Robert Roy McGregor. If McPharlin starts forward Grover will get McGregor but Grover looks a better match up for Goodwin.

Johncock will probably get Farmer, and The Wiz needs to get some early possessions to keep Stiffy honest. The rest of the Adelaide defenders will hold hands and form a circle around Pavlich because he has been our only avenue to goal lately.

Crowley looks the best match up for Thompson, assuming Matt Carr remains in the WAFL.

I'd like to see Headland and Van Berlo go head to head on the wing.

The Verdict
With a fine day forecast Fremantle have no excuses. We'll know by midway through the first quarter if Fremantle have turned up to play or whether Pav and Belly will be left to carry the can again.

I expect Josh Carr and Jeff Farmer to improve significantly on recent form, but 4 goals from The Wiz won't be enough and the Crows will get up by 12 points. I hope I'm wrong.

Vader
17 Apr 2008, 10:03
Thanks to both Dandy_Go and dominguez for their outstanding efforts with this week's previews.

Adelaide board members are encouraged to visit the Freo board and their Game Analysis (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=434529) thread, which parallels the FaceOff thread.

The usual rules (no trolling) apply.

Sir Vlado
17 Apr 2008, 10:19
Great analysis there Dandy_Go :thumbsu:

I had a dream that the Crows won by 30-odd points and Birdman kicked 7 goals. :)

noddy
17 Apr 2008, 10:51
I know the Dockers have a good recent record against us & they are well & truly under the pump but jeez if we lose this one whats next ?

ting tong
17 Apr 2008, 11:30
Vader said it beautifully in the write up.. depends which Freo turns up. you will know in the first minute is its going to be a blow out or a tight contest.

every game me and my mate look at each other after the first passage of play and can prettty reliably call the result.... take last week.. first 30 seconds Richmond too quick out of the middle.. kicked a goal and the alarms bells started going off for me.

interested in the weather for the game as can have a large impact on how we play there.. any chance of rain or wind?

Rave Slave
17 Apr 2008, 11:34
http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/6031/tippettht0.gif
Kurt Tippett marks despite the best attempts of 3 Fremantle defenders (artists impression)

That's up there with the best I've seen on this site :D

Gilmore (Girl) Grover and SOLOMAN (Solomon) stand no chance

Vader
17 Apr 2008, 11:39
Vader said it beautifully in the write up.. depends which Freo turns up. you will know in the first minute is its going to be a blow out or a tight contest.

every game me and my mate look at each other after the first passage of play and can prettty reliably call the result.... take last week.. first 30 seconds Richmond too quick out of the middle.. kicked a goal and the alarms bells started going off for me.

interested in the weather for the game as can have a large impact on how we play there.. any chance of rain or wind?

Can't take credit for work which is not my own. Dandy_Go and dominguez were the authors of this week's previews.

Allefgib
17 Apr 2008, 12:07
In reading the freo post (cheers dominguez) it seems Freo supporters want their side to go smaller and faster.

Many of us crows supporters would love to see Maric come in so Tippett can stay forward the whole game...

Could cause some matchup problems.. love to see how that would pan out!

Bradesmaen
17 Apr 2008, 12:58
I doubt it would cause Matchup problems. If McPharlin plays downback he would easily have Tippett covered, if not I'm hoping Marcus Drum can get a game and he can cover! (36 possies on the weekend in the reserves - cause his team wasn't playing)

Dandy_GO
17 Apr 2008, 13:02

Fine and sunny, 27. :thumbsu:
Will add that to the OP.

Eagles 4 Mine
17 Apr 2008, 14:21
Cmon Crows smash Freo going to the game in corporate box.:D

NiGHTFuRY
17 Apr 2008, 14:27
^^^West Coast supporters... Obsessed lot..^^^

I'm just hoping for a better showing by my team this week and hopefully not get flogged. We can win at AMMI Stdium, we can win when our back is up against the wall, but I couldn't tell you which Freo' outfit will turn up at AAMI.
Fremantle team selections should be interesting considering Harvey has threatened to swing the axe.
Thats about it. The effortless effort against the Tigers was a heartbreaker for Horde fans. I would think the team is looking to rebound in some way.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
17 Apr 2008, 14:28
Cmon Crows smash Freo going to the game in corporate box.:D
Oh dont you worry.
We will, we will:)

YESSSSSS Scott Thornton is not playing thank the lord for that.
I hate him.
i dont know why.
he makes me sick

Great work by Danny-GO BTW. Love the pic there:thumbsu:

Avid_Avenger
17 Apr 2008, 14:29
Great analysis by both :thumbsu:

Because Adelaide have changed their game plan and list so dramatically tho its hard to see how past history will affect this game. It will, I guess, give Freo a bit of confidence that we can win at the ground tho. However we will have to be far more clinical moving into the forward 50 if we are going to kick a winning score. Our ball movement forward of centre has been diabolical this year!

I'm expecting (well, hoping), that we come out breathing fire this week. Whether that results in a string of free kicks and wayward disposals or some hard nosed, hard running footy is yet to be known. Adelaide showed against Port that the physical stuff won't stop them so we have to be prepared to run and tackle ALL day, not just when an opponent stumbles into one of our players arms.

AND we need to be prepared to break their zone defence - if AAMI is a windbowl like it often is, confidence will plummet in this regard.

But if we can keep guys like Johncock and McLeod from having a huge influence we will go pretty close to snatching this one. Typically when we let these guys run riot we get done - like most teams I guess.

Tipping Tarrant to have an impact this week and keen to see what selections and de-selections Harves makes this week.

Hoping to see the back of: Peake and Thornton. Maybe even Schammer and Warnock (coz of our lack of run).

I'm hoping to see inclusions: Mi Johnson, Drum, Ibbo, Head or Hinkley.

Brock O'Briend, Foster and Browne are still a week or two away.

Anthony_
17 Apr 2008, 14:37
Good to see you Crows boys using the Face Off thread idea :thumbsu:

Lach72
17 Apr 2008, 19:04
FREMANTLE
B: Steven Dodd, Antoni Grover, Roger Hayden
HB: Ryan Crowley, Luke McPharlin, Scott Thornton
C: David Mundy, Rhys Palmer, Clayton Hinkley
HF: Chris Mayne, Michael Johnson, Dean Solomon
F: Peter Bell, Matthew Pavlich, Jeff Farmer
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Byron Schammer, Shaun McManus
I/C: Marcus Drum, Daniel Gilmore, Josh Carr, Matthew Carr
EMG: Brock O’Brien, Garrick Ibbotson, Ryan Murphy

In: Johnson, M Carr, McManus, Drum, Hinkley
Out: Des Headland (knee), Chris Tarrant, Robert Warnock, Paul Duffield, Brett Peake

New: Clayton Hinkley (North Ballarat)

Some more youngsters to have a crack...Hopefully Brock comes in for McManus...

fightingdreamer88
17 Apr 2008, 20:16
Who will stop Bernie Vince, the new Brownlow Medal favourite?

Carl Spackler
17 Apr 2008, 22:45
On Fox League Teams it said that Tarrant was out due to personal reasons. Can anyone shed any light on this? Also, what is the story with Ryan Murphy? Can't seem to get a game at the moment even with Tarrant out.

Fremantle have enough players up forward to worry us - Pavlich, McPharlin and Farmer, when in form, will certainly give us trouble. Our best opportunity is simply to take charge in the midfield from the first bounce. Surely we have enough quality in the midfield to handle Bell, Carr and Schammer.

Puddy
17 Apr 2008, 22:52
When you look at Fremantle's list, their forward line looks very scary, but they have not been scoring well. Adelaide's defense is the best in the competition in my opinion and will keep all of Freo's forwards fairly quiet.

I'm predicting Adelaide comfortably by 40 points.

-CG-
17 Apr 2008, 22:58
On Fox League Teams it said that Tarrant was out due to personal reasons. Can anyone shed any light on this? Also, what is the story with Ryan Murphy? Can't seem to get a game at the moment even with Tarrant out.

I believe the word around is that a family member is ill.

legitimatic
18 Apr 2008, 04:07
Oh dont you worry.
We will, we will:)

YESSSSSS Scott Thornton is not playing thank the lord for that.
I hate him.
i dont know why.
he makes me sick

Great work by Danny-GO BTW. Love the pic there:thumbsu:

lolza cuz he int as hotz as porpz LOL

Looking foward to the usual Johncock Farmer matchup, and think Bock would be a more suitable option to take Pavlich, has the speed and athleticism to go with the Pav.

Should be a decent match and am expecting a fairly tight close game.

Either that or a huge Crows win, whatever.

poshman
18 Apr 2008, 14:08
Apparently Hinkley is lightning fast, hope he has the licence to run, he should be more effective than peake.

Hopefully harvey's swift dropping of underperforming players will see a desperate freo turn up to play. I think however they will lose by 5 points.

prattsta
18 Apr 2008, 18:53
With McPharlin starting up forward these days it'll be interesting to see where Drum lines up, he's a defender but he kicked 4 goals in the Adelaide game last year. McPharlin possibly to start down back, Drum could play the defensive forward role on McLeod. Fair bit to ask of a guy with less than 10 games under his belt though.

Farmer didn't play in either of our meetings last season so will be a bit of an unknown. Peter German has been critical of him publicly so he may be fired up. Whether that means he'll get 20 touches and kick six goals, or just start a fight we won't know until Saturday.

Either way it's going to be won and lost in the middle, unfortunately I really cant see Big Carr, Little Carr, Macca, Bell and STOP! Schammer time, getting it done. Heaps of other blokes will have stints in the middle, Solly, Mundy, Hayden, Farmer, Pav (pretty much everyone at some point) but it's just more of the same old. Our best clearance player is out for the season, our second best is 211cm tall.

Ibbo is a chance to be Harvey's stock standard late change this week. He is young and fast so according to all the footy experts that should be enough to get us over the line...

Anyways best of luck to all you Adelaide folk, win, lose or draw hopefully both our sides put on a better display than last week.

crowsup
18 Apr 2008, 22:09
Anyways best of luck to all you Adelaide folk, win, lose or draw hopefully both our sides put on a better display than last week.

AMEN to that!:thumbsu::)

KingsCrow
19 Apr 2008, 00:50
Is it just me, but whenever we play Fremantle it just feels, well it doesn't feel like a normal game. I just don't get as passionate about playing Fremantle.

I just find them boring. And thats with Pav.

James_37
19 Apr 2008, 01:36
Is it just me, but whenever we play Fremantle it just feels, well it doesn't feel like a normal game. I just don't get as passionate about playing Fremantle.

I just find them boring. And thats with Pav.

I think that after the highs that were WC and Port and then the rather big build up to the Hawthorn game, only for us to dish up a shocking brand of footy was a big let down. Now we have Freo who could dish up absolutely anything and we're very wary of this and hence are kind of reluctant to get too involved if we get let down again like last week, makes the pain easier to take... a bit. Still think we will win, but yeah, not gettin too passionate about this one at the moment.