View Full Version : Scott Welsh against Richmond
Just wondering if any of you have records showing how many goals Scott Welsh has kicked when he's played Richmond.
I'm looking at taking him for the Highest goal kicker for the round, and was just trying to do a bit of research.
Thanks for your help.
Crowman32
17 Apr 2008, 12:52
I know he kicked 8 goals against Richmond a few years ago at the Telstra Dome.
RoosterLad
17 Apr 2008, 12:54
I think he kicked 5 or something at Footy Park last year, 4 in the last quarter I think in that terrible win for the Crows.
relapse
17 Apr 2008, 13:34
Just wondering if any of you have records showing how many goals Scott Welsh has kicked when he's played Richmond.
I'm looking at taking him for the Highest goal kicker for the round, and was just trying to do a bit of research.
Thanks for your help.
I find the whole overrating of Welsh by Bullies supporters interesting maybe after a year or two they will realise that games like the one he had against St Kilda will be common occurances every fortnight.
Vic Crow
17 Apr 2008, 13:43
While playing for Adelaide Welsh kicked 4, 2, 2, 4, 8 and 5 goals against Richmond.
Here's a link (http://www.finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=672) to his stats on FinalSiren.com.
According to that site, he's played 8 matches against Richmond. His total against them stands at 29 goals 9 behinds.
jenny61_99
18 Apr 2008, 13:34
And of course he had a different mid-field feeding him and different forward structure. Read into that what you can.
Thanks for all your help.
Except for you relapse.
relapse
19 Apr 2008, 10:09
Thanks for all your help.
Except for you relapse.
ROFL no problem
#1 Dogs Fan
19 Apr 2008, 19:39
I find the whole overrating of Welsh by Bullies supporters interesting maybe after a year or two they will realise that games like the one he had against St Kilda will be common occurances every fortnight.
You were not saying this when he was at the crows.
Mate as far as im concerned he is doing his job each week and on target for a 40+ goal season. That to me is very good and he brings heaps to the table thank you very much :thumbsu:
crows98
19 Apr 2008, 22:59
Mate as far as im concerned he is doing his job each week and on target for a 40+ goal season. That to me is very good and he brings heaps to the table thank you very much :thumbsu:
Come back and say the same when you have just lost a final and he hasn’t got a kick.
He may kick 40 goals and look like the superstar forward you have been crying out for but if 85% of those goals are against bottom 8 sides; this stat becomes a non factor in finals football.
Ferris_rules
20 Apr 2008, 00:28
Come back and say the same when you have just lost a final and he hasn’t got a kick.
He may kick 40 goals and look like the superstar forward you have been crying out for but if 85% of those goals are against bottom 8 sides; this stat becomes a non factor in finals football.
I think losing Welsh has been a blessing in disguise in other ways.
Although I still believe he would have been in our best 22 as a crumbing forward or off the bench.
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 00:40
who cares how many goals he kicks
Scotty kicks roo many soft goals
DirrtyBee
20 Apr 2008, 17:47
He kicked 0 today didn't he?
Dandy_GO
20 Apr 2008, 17:50
He kicked 0 today didn't he?
Well, he kicked 5/6ths of a goal.
I see you weren't around here last year, then.
Anthony_
20 Apr 2008, 18:10
Cost us a win today
Campbell's Chunky
20 Apr 2008, 19:18
LOL.
I wonder if he will come back now.
RoosterLad
20 Apr 2008, 19:46
I didn't see the game, what did Welsh do wrong?
Campbell's Chunky
20 Apr 2008, 19:47
I didn't see the game, what did Welsh do wrong?
0.5 in a draw.
showdownhero
20 Apr 2008, 20:14
0.5 in a draw.
Not just that
5 Kicks 5 Marks 5 Points
Massive performance well worth the 5 year contract they gave him.
Geoffa32
20 Apr 2008, 20:39
Welsh was the best forward in the worst forward line. He would not get a game with us this year.
Baron Winds
20 Apr 2008, 20:47
5 Kicks 5 Marks 5 Points
Sounds like the Scotty Welsh we know all too well
Vic Crow
20 Apr 2008, 21:39
Sounds like the Scotty Welsh we know all too well
Not really. Accuracy was never really a knock on him. He's a beautiful kick of the ball. The whole five kicks thing is what we had come to expect though.
showdownhero
20 Apr 2008, 22:23
Not just that
5 Kicks 5 Marks 5 Points
Massive performance well worth the 5 year contract they gave him.
Sorry it was 8 Kicks 6 Marks 5 Points. Still I think the point stands.
Plus Cooney and Welsh were the only players not to register a tackle. Not a great stat.
relapse
20 Apr 2008, 22:37
Why make a comment like that off the cuff like that without knowing whether I actually was saying it or not ???
For your information I was critical of Welsh even when he was at Adelaide. Welsh on his day is good, but its usually his day when the team is going well or has a habit of kicking goals in junk time once the game was iced, it was very Welsh like to struggle during the game and once the game is more or less over that Welsh would pop up for 2 or 3 goals late in the game. I have never thought of him as a guy that you can rely on to win games off his own boot and as u have seen today his goal kicking can be erratic at times, if he misses the first shot he tends to struggle for the rest of the day.
If the guy had of listened to me and not put the bet on he would have done the smart thing. At the end of the day, he is a good forward, not great, if he was all that and then some like the bullies fans seem to think he is then Adelaide would have kept him because it was because of the bad offer by the crows that made him take the offer at the bulldogs.
At the end of the day I wish him best of luck, I honestly do. I dont dislike him and I also have no illfeelings toward him just because he isnt at Adelaide anymore. To me it just that there were people totally over hyping him and there was even some bulldogs fan claiming welsh early in the season to be the best set shot kick in the AFL. There was a lot of hoohah over a guy that averages 2 goals a game and can go missing when you need him, just because of a couple of games of football.
As I said before give him until the end of the year and you will see what I was trying to say.
To be fair you have a top shelf ruckman in Huddo.