View Full Version : Superjoint Ritual

CowboyFromHell
6 Aug 2002, 00:36
I know most won't bother to get this as it's a Phil side project and dare any of you venture there, but this album is nothing short of awesome.

Just pure no frills metal. None of this Nu-Metal stuff - this is the best metal album you will hear all year. Move outside your comfort zone and get the damn CD - you won't be disappointed.

Carlos
6 Aug 2002, 00:41
Are we talking Phil from Pantera?

If so, then i reckon i might take your advice there mate. I've been on a massive Pantera trip the last coupla weeks. I own every studio album, but i finally got around to picking up the "101 PROOF" live album and it has gotten me right back into that band again. I have been rocking up to work ready to run through walls every day as a result!

CowboyFromHell
6 Aug 2002, 00:45
Originally posted by Carlos
Are we talking Phil from Pantera?

If so, then i reckon i might take your advice there mate. I've been on a massive Pantera trip the last coupla weeks. I own every studio album, but i finally got around to picking up the "101 PROOF" live album and it has gotten me right back into that band again. I have been rocking up to work ready to run through walls every day as a result!

We certainly are mate! :)

This is different from Pantera, with no solos or anything like that. The songs are shorter, but they are quick and awesome. Phil is screaming his guts out too, something I havent' heard him do properly since TGSTK. Trust me, you won't de disappointed. Try JB HI-FI for it, as places like Sanity won't have it as it's not a mainstream.

For something else, try Down and Down II. Not as heavy, but again, another great two CD's from Phil and his side projects! :)

Carlos
6 Aug 2002, 00:52
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
We certainly are mate! :)

This is different from Pantera, with no solos or anything like that. The songs are shorter, but they are quick and awesome. Phil is screaming his guts out too, something I havent' heard him do properly since TGSTK. Trust me, you won't de disappointed. Try JB HI-FI for it, as places like Sanity won't have it as it's not a mainstream.

For something else, try Down and Down II. Not as heavy, but again, another great two CD's from Phil and his side projects! :)
Cheera CFH!

My ex-gf ****ing has my Down (1) album! Heard it twice and had time for it, but then went splitsville and stupidly lent it to her! Thats was roughly 2 years ago!! :mad:

And i wouldnt go to Sanity or the like for anything dude!

CowboyFromHell
6 Aug 2002, 00:55

Cheera CFH!

My ex-gf ****ing has my Down (1) album! Heard it twice and had time for it, but then went splitsville and stupidly lent it to her! Thats was roughly 2 years ago!! :mad:

And i wouldnt go to Sanity or the like for anything dude!

Good to hear you actually HAD the Down (1) album in the first place! Quite chuffed you knew about it and actually got it. Down II won't disappoint either.

Sanity is crap. I should have known you would have known that already! :D

Good luck finding the album (JB has it!) and there are one or two more side projects to come before Pantera go back into the studio late this year/early next! :D

Carlos
8 Aug 2002, 01:13
Thought I'd let you know CBH that i was in JB tonite and picked up Down II for $12!! They had it on sale and i was stoked! Pricks didnt have the first one though, but i'm sure i'll find it.

Also picked up that rare Fear Factory album - Concrete, which is apparenty their debut. Production is a disgrace so its kinda hard to get a vibe for it, but its certainly ****ing brutal!

Had a look for Superjoint Ritual but they didnt have it in, but the chick ordered it for me. Strangely for JB, its $30, but i'm not big on the whole download thing, and much prefer to have the actual cd in my collection so $30 it was! I'll have to wait till next week when it comes in tough...

CowboyFromHell
8 Aug 2002, 01:16
Thought I'd let you know CBH that i was in JB tonite and picked up Down II for $12!! They had it on sale and i was stoked! Pricks didnt have the first one though, but i'm sure i'll find it.

Also picked up that rare Fear Factory album - Concrete, which is apparenty their debut. Production is a disgrace so its kinda hard to get a vibe for it, but its certainly ****ing brutal!

Had a look for Superjoint Ritual but they didnt have it in, but the chick ordered it for me. Strangely for JB, its $30, but i'm not big on the whole download thing, and much prefer to have the actual cd in my collection so $30 it was! I'll have to wait till next week when it comes in tough...

Great stuff mate! What did ya think of Down II?

With SJR - It's probably 30 bucks due to it being an import. I can recall Phil saying that he was only going to release it through his website, but then decided to release this one to the public. Other side projects are only available from the net, which is a shame.

IMO, it's worth the money (I paid $31). 18 tracks, including two bonus (although poor quality). They are not overly long songs, but brutal stuff with Phil at his best! :D

Carlos
8 Aug 2002, 01:25
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

Great stuff mate! What did ya think of Down II?

With SJR - It's probably 30 bucks due to it being an import. I can recall Phil saying that he was only going to release it through his website, but then decided to release this one to the public. Other side projects are only available from the net, which is a shame.

IMO, it's worth the money (I paid $31). 18 tracks, including two bonus (although poor quality). They are not overly long songs, but brutal stuff with Phil at his best! :D
Mate i bought 6 cd's and then the Kanga Radio show was on 927 at 11 so havent had a chance to listen to it just yet, but it'll take me into work tomorrow morning as i'm stuck in traffic and i'm sure will get a fair seeing to over the next few days.

CowboyFromHell
8 Aug 2002, 01:30

Mate i bought 6 cd's and then the Kanga Radio show was on 927 at 11 so havent had a chance to listen to it just yet, but it'll take me into work tomorrow morning as i'm stuck in traffic and i'm sure will get a fair seeing to over the next few days.

No worries! Awesome tracks....

Stained Glass Cross
Ghots Along the Mississippi
Beautifully Depressed
Dog Tired in the Fast Lane
Landing on the Mountains of Meggido.

Really, all the tracks are great, but those are the ones I like! Let me know what you thought of it when you can! :)