View Full Version : Do you live in a Dodgy Area?
delirious1
18 Apr 2008, 20:34
Im a belmont boy(Rivervale actually), working in Midland, im used to living in average suburbs, when you know you shouldnt walk down "that" street, or have a drunken stumble at 2.30 AM.
Did you grow up/live in any less then desirable area's? or are you a rich boy?
Carn Hawkas
18 Apr 2008, 20:41
I live in Rowville. It's scary going outside when it gets dark.
Gilbert_Hodge
18 Apr 2008, 20:45
Ferntree Gully...... You make your own mind up!
RustyHawk
18 Apr 2008, 22:26
So do I. City side of the Maccas on Stud Road.
Gilbert_Hodge
18 Apr 2008, 22:55
So do I. City side of the Maccas on Stud Road.
Ah I know where you live now! Watch out Rusty ;)
ViperV10
18 Apr 2008, 23:06
Greensborough here....not a terrible area. Plenty of stumble home jobs after drinking at the Cricket Club without any deros attacking me.
The TACHawks
18 Apr 2008, 23:07
Ha, I'm a short walk from Windy Hill...the smell here is gross! Last year I had the opportunity to run over Dustin Fletcher the day before the scum were to play us. It was so tempting!!
Roberiquez
18 Apr 2008, 23:17
Greensborough here....not a terrible area. Plenty of stumble home jobs after drinking at the Cricket Club without any deros attacking me.
Montmorency. Just off para road. I'm a *safe* stumble away from The Lower
vanders
19 Apr 2008, 12:38
I'm in Glen Iris, I walk around the streets in the middle of the night and don't feel scared at all! :D
I live in an inner city scumhole called Hawthorn :P
Surrey Hills.
I sleep on train tracks. :)
Roughie
19 Apr 2008, 13:08
I live in a suburb of Darwin called Karama, its a pretty shit house suburb, I am just blessed to live on a court tucked away in the suburb and not down the main roads.
Cheeseman
19 Apr 2008, 14:21
I live in Blackburn, Laburnum station's train platform is literally within spitting distance from my garage door.
I get to see all sorts of rabble wander down from the platform at all hours of the night, plenty of footy fans included.
The upside is, I'm a brisk 2 minute walk from City Oval, and 20 paces away from a train ride to the phone box. :thumbsu:
Fraser_45
21 Apr 2008, 18:47
I'm in Glen Iris and I can walk around at night without problems.
Easy to walk home from glen iris or gardiner station, even while wasted
and easy to walk home from camberwell
Ringwood here bad at night ok at day
Big Ronnie
26 Apr 2008, 21:05
I'm in Glen Iris, I walk around the streets in the middle of the night and don't feel scared at all! :D
I'm in Glen Iris and I can walk around at night without problems.
Easy to walk home from glen iris or gardiner station, even while wasted
and easy to walk home from camberwell
I live in Ramsay street with my dog bouncer and I hang out with Scott,charlene and Mike. and always wish I could get in to
Daphnes leotards!
Hawthorn East 500 metres from where H2F works (er..smokes out the back:o;))
I live in Parkville, probabably the most unscarey place on earth.
But i used to live in New Zealand in a suburb with alot of Maoris when i was a teenager. You dont want to be spotted by yourself walking at night by a group of Teenaged pissed Maori boys. You will walk home in just your boxers.
Checkers
6 May 2008, 23:08
Yeah me too.
Im a chick so wouldnt be walking around at night by myself anyway but i have quite a few friends who have been bashed and stuff at night.
Gilbert_Hodge
6 May 2008, 23:13
Yeah me too.
Im a chick so wouldnt be walking around at night by myself anyway but i have quite a few friends who have been bashed and stuff at night.
Come to the Pool Room one night! :p
Checkers
6 May 2008, 23:18
Come to the Pool Room one night! :p
Hah, the pool room.
Bad memories from that place.
Gilbert_Hodge
6 May 2008, 23:24
Hah, the pool room.
Bad memories from that place.
Really? I've had nothing but good memories..... Oh wait.... Yeah many bad memories. Stammo on a Friday night isn't much better! And don't get me started on the Irish at Knox!
Checkers
7 May 2008, 18:54
Really? I've had nothing but good memories..... Oh wait.... Yeah many bad memories. Stammo on a Friday night isn't much better! And don't get me started on the Irish at Knox!
I was underage using a fake id and saw my older brother there:o
OneEyedHawk
7 May 2008, 21:25
I live in a very dodgy area...but probably in a different way than the OP intended. I moved to Toorak (Glenferrie Rd) about 6 months ago, great location but full of pretentious wankers.
Gilbert_Hodge
7 May 2008, 21:49
I was underage using a fake id and saw my older brother there:o
Hahaha quality. surely you could've picked a better place to use your fake I.D!
Checkers
7 May 2008, 22:14
Hahaha quality. surely you could've picked a better place to use your fake I.D!
Not much else to do in our area on a thurs night
Alabama Hot Pocket
7 May 2008, 23:41
The mighty Surrey Hills,
Unless your scared of underage drunk kids sitting in Surrey Gardens you will never have a problem. What do we all think is the most dangerous suburb in melbourne?
Gilbert_Hodge
8 May 2008, 11:25
The mighty Surrey Hills,
Unless your scared of underage drunk kids sitting in Surrey Gardens you will never have a problem. What do we all think is the most dangerous suburb in melbourne?
Frankston / Belgrave
Gilbert_Hodge
8 May 2008, 11:26
Not much else to do in our area on a thurs night
Lou Lou's at Knox ;)
The mighty Surrey Hills,
That's where I live.
The Silencer
8 May 2008, 11:39
Montmorency. Just off para road. I'm a *safe* stumble away from The Lower
I'm an Eltham boy - so not far from there.
Not too bad around here, you get a few teenage scum hanging at the station, otherwise all good.
Carson_Kressley
8 May 2008, 11:42
i live in kwinana , got a high number of indiginous people that hang around the phone boxes at the shops near my house. they cause a few dramas but nothing a baseball bat won't fix. after hitting a few home runs with my bat there starting to hang elsewhere. :cool:
Roberiquez
14 May 2008, 12:37
I'm an Eltham boy - so not far from there.
Not too bad around here, you get a few teenage scum hanging at the station, otherwise all good.
They play classical music through the speakers at monty trainstation after 8pm so the local scumbags dont hang out at there anymore... :)
Has the eltham pub got the afl? will they show the hawks game?
Neville Bartos
14 May 2008, 13:11
Surrey Hills.
I live in Surrey Hills too. There's way too many families here, and no excitement for a 23 year old with a slight addiction to alcohol and big nights. I'd rather live somewhere dodgy to make things more interesting.
Lots of Hawk supporters in SH though
boozeDragon
14 May 2008, 13:31
I'm living in Tanjong Pagar, the red light district of Singapore :o
Hail back in Melbourne from Middle Park and gosh do I miss it.
Mervyn Beasley
14 May 2008, 15:24
Surrey Hills.
As i suspected!!
I'm in Kingsville, which is wedged b/w Seddon, Yarraville, and West Footscray.
Has become a bit gentrified over the last 5-10 years. Still a lot of dodgy feckers about though. But largely just lots of good honest down to earth folk. I love it.
When I say gentrified, I'm not talking Surrey Hills gentrified, I'm talking like Fitzroy before it became completely yupped up.
delirious1
14 May 2008, 15:37
i live in kwinana , got a high number of indiginous people that hang around the phone boxes at the shops near my house. they cause a few dramas but nothing a baseball bat won't fix. after hitting a few home runs with my bat there starting to hang elsewhere. :cool:
Ah. good old kwinana, got a few mates that live there, my experiance is heaps of aborigionals, but ive never been given any trouble, ive heard some shocking stories however
magpieking
1 Jun 2008, 18:46
i live in Blackburn. Pretty safe to walk around about at night as a 15 y.o. girl
deathevocation
1 Jun 2008, 18:50
I live in Surrey Hills too. There's way too many families here, and no excitement for a 23 year old with a slight addiction to alcohol and big nights. I'd rather live somewhere dodgy to make things more interesting.
Box Hill South. Use SH station daily. Nice area, just moved here from East Ivanhoe (nice also).
hawka187
1 Jun 2008, 19:15
Broadmeadows, enough said
buddylove_23
3 Jun 2008, 23:37
I've just moved to boronia from croydon...not sure yet how safe it is.
Big Ronnie
3 Jun 2008, 23:42
I'm in Glen Iris, I walk around the streets in the middle of the night and don't feel scared at all! :DNaked?
I live in an inner city scumhole called Hawthorn :PExcuse me?
I live in a very dodgy area...but probably in a different way than the OP intended. I moved to Toorak (Glenferrie Rd) about 6 months ago, great location but full of pretentious wankers.Around the corner from you near Auburn South Primary:thumbsu:
I live in Surrey Hills too. There's way too many families here, and no excitement for a 23 year old with a slight addiction to alcohol and big nights. I'd rather live somewhere dodgy to make things more interesting.Nev, its time to move out of home:o
Thaihawk
4 Jun 2008, 11:42
I live in Bangsaen. On the eastern coast of Thailand. The beach isn't the best, but you can enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner for two and get change from ten bucks. I lived in Hawthorn for the first 28 years of my life. A great place to live, ten minutes walk to the footy.
Gilbert_Hodge
4 Jun 2008, 11:58
I've just moved to boronia from croydon...not sure yet how safe it is.
Just don't goto the station or the Boronia Mall after dark.
buddylove_23
5 Jun 2008, 13:32
Just don't goto the station or the Boronia Mall after dark.
Yeah i have noticed that...it seems to be alright during the day though.
Gilbert_Hodge
5 Jun 2008, 15:33
Yeah i have noticed that...it seems to be alright during the day though.
Yeah during the day it's alright. Never had any trouble there. It's just when the sun goes down that the trouble there begins.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
9 Jun 2008, 21:00
No, the most affluent area of Bendigo apparently, or so I thought until I read this;
http://bendigo.yourguide.com.au/news/local/news/general/accused-dog-killer-faces-court/784287.aspx
Accused dog killer faces court
6/06/2008 10:36:00 AM
A MANDURANG man accused of stealing and killing up to a dozen dogs from the central Victorian region appeared in Bendigo Magistrates Court yesterday.
Barry Patrick Rochford, 47, of Nankervis Road, Mandurang, was arrested by police on Wednesday morning and later charged with 13 offences including two counts of theft relating to five Irish wolfhounds allegedly stolen from properties at Neilborough and Buninyong in April, 2007, and November, 2007.
Rochford has also been charged with one count of arson, six counts of animal cruelty, two counts of wilful trespass, one count of obtaining property by deception and one charge relating to the alleged possession of articles for criminal damage.
Rochford appeared in court yesterday afternoon before Magistrate Richard Wright seeking bail.
Under questioning by police prosecutor Senior-Constable Dave Somerton, Detective-Sergeant Brendon Murphy told the court he had “very real concerns” for the safety of witnesses, should Rochford be granted bail.
He told the court potential prosecution witnesses were “concerned about retribution.”
“I can assure you, this person causes me as much concern as any of the persons I have charged in the last 20 years Sir, that’s how I view Mr Rochford,” Det-Sgt Murphy told Mr Wright.
He described Rochford as “vindictive,” and said the alleged crimes were “pre-meditated to get back at people.”
Opposing the bail application, Sen-Constable Somerton told the court the nature of charges Rochford faced, and the way they were allegedly committed, painted a very different picture of the man who had previously been on bail for arson and assorted firearms charges.
Det-Sgt Murphy told the court Rochford had a longstanding career in the dog world, working at times as a breeder, owner and transporter.
When asked by Sen-Constable Somerton what dog breeds Rochford was involved with, Det-Sgt Murphy replied quickly.
‘‘You name it, I think he’s done it.’’ Det-Sgt Murphy alleged Rochford was involved in the theft of an adult Irish wolfhound and two pups from a Neilborough property on April 1, 2007.
Two of the animals were transported to Bathurst where one was sold for $1500 and the other kept for attempted breeding.
He said the third dog was kept at a chicken farm on the outskirts of Melbourne until it was returned to Mandurang and subsequently killed, later found with blue hayband around its neck.
One of the two Irish wolfhounds allegedly stolen from a property in Buninyong in November, 2007, was found tied to a tree in isolated forest near Lake Eppalock, south-east of Bendigo, on Christmas Day last year in ‘‘an advanced state of decomposition.’’
Det-Sgt Murphy said the animal had earlier been tethered in a way with a distinctive yellow leash that prevented her from moving, leaving it to die a slow and agonising death in cruel circumstances.
Det-Sgt Murphy alleged Rochford had previously been involved in a civil proceeding over the ownership and possession of the Irish wolfhounds housed on the Buninyong property, and that a person fitting his description had been spotted near the property at about 5.30 am on November 12, 2007, the day the dogs were allegedly stolen.
The court also heard that two puppies discovered in bushland not far from Rochford’s Nankervis Road property on August 4, 2007, had extensive head injuries, including skull fractures, most likely inflicted by a blunt, heavy object.
One puppy survived, while officers were forced to euthanase the other animal.
The court heard over following days, others dogs were found dead not far away.
All had blue hayband tied around their necks.
While Det-Sgt Murphy claimed Rochford’s continued involvement with dogs since he was granted bail on arson and firearms charges was of concern, Mr Wright said this was not in breach of the earlier bail conditions set down in April.
Defence barrister Megan Aumair told the court Rochford had undergone counselling since his arrest in April and had adhered to the strict conditions of his bail, including residing at his brother’s Bendigo home and not visiting the Mandurang district.
She told the court Rochford would strenuously deny the charges he was facing.
‘‘These are very serious allegations that my client will be defending vigorously,’’ she said.
Mr Wright granted Rochford bail and ordered him to appear again at Bendigo Magistrates Court on July 17. He also ordered that a suppression order previously imposed on matters heard in Rochford’s earlier court appearances, the subject of challenges by The Advertiser, be completely lifted.
Anyhow, it's come to light that as part of his bail this sick ____ is living with his brother around the corner from me.
Guess whose dog will now be housebound for the next six weeks and never out of my sight. I will have to wear that but my thing is;
Their is no notification process - only the rumour mill through someone who doesn't live in the area who discovered it.
There are two houses for people with disabilities in the street and many residents are elderly and could not defend themselves.
What are the judges thinking by releasing people like this back into the community? Would they be just as daring if the person had to live around the corner from them?
The allegations are he set fire to one property twice on consecutive days amongst others and has strung 12 dogs up from trees to die a slow and painful death.
The allegations alone should see him forfeit his right to be a part of society until his trial.
Bendigo has an affluent area.. lol?
crawf_legend
10 Jun 2008, 00:52
I live in hawthorn of course! Nah.. i live in an eastern suburb.
That narrows it down...