View Full Version : Geelong - the shocking arrogance flows from the top.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
19 Apr 2008, 02:55
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23560164-19742,00.html
SUCH is Geelong's confidence, coach Mark Thompson says the club is already focused on developing the next batch of potential premiership stars.
The Cats have shown no signs of a premiership hangover this year, continuing to work as a cohesive unit and have clinically beaten four sides this year.
And in an ominous warning to the rest of the competition, Thompson said there were another half-dozen players outside the current line-up ready to play senior football.
Thompson said the emphasis is now on working with the squad's lesser lights in a bid to create a Cats dynasty.
"We've already got 22 players experienced enough and we don't put a lot of time into them but we've got 20 out the back (behind them) that are going to have to play one day and we've got to find whether they're good enough," he said.
"And there's also the level of education and knowledge you give your players when you play a team every week.
"Our output, from the assistant coaches and the whole football club is exceptional and we strive to be better and better and better at our preparation so, as far as coaching goes, there's still lot of work to do."
Geez, this coaching caper must be so easy when you can say OK - we've got the next few in the bag - let's spend our time on the blokes who aren't good enough to get a game. I mean, shit, it took us 44 years to win one but now we know how - it's a piece of piss. 5 in a row.
I can imagine the same confidence when he was telling Kent Kingsley's ex-missus that unprotected sex wouldn't get her pregnant because most of his shots sprayed out over the boundary line.
I'll grant you this text but am severly in sexual limbo if this is the norm. Could leave me paranoid but shall muster up, voice that is, and say that the Op, twita is where we depart.
G'long are good. And will give you a run plus for money.
Mr Magoo
19 Apr 2008, 05:56
http://blogs.news.com.au/adelaidenow/afl/fanforce/index.php/adelaidenow/comments/softly_softly_and_maybe_we_can_skin_a_cat
Softly Softly, and maybe we can Skin a Cat
Blood Blister, Sydney Swans
Friday, April 18, 2008 at 05:59pm
I HAVE tried to ignore the whiff of complacency blowing out of Geelong for the past six months or so, but it is now becoming the stench of arrogance.
Someone needs to beat the Cats, sooner rather than later, so why don’t the Swans do the rest of the league a favour and just get on with the business at Skilled Stadium this weekend?
It’s not so much the Geelong club, coach Mark Thompson or even the players that have become a bit too full of themselves - it’s the fans.
Seriously, on certain footy chat sites this week, the condescending rubbish coming from a lot of Geelong fans (and even a few fans of other teams who simply, obviously, hate the Swans), as they contemplate Saturday’s clash with Sydney, had me gagging.
It seems their thinking is that we had no chance anyway, the match being on their home turf where we don’t have a real flash recent record, but now that Barry Hall is hanging from some yardarm somewhere, there’s this vague feeling that maybe we shouldn’t even bother sending a team.
One Cats fan claimed that with no Hall, Sydney would struggle to kick goals, and that he/she felt sorry for Mick O’Loughlin having to play on Matthew Scarlett.
Oh, oh, ohhhh how I now long to see Micky O pull out a few of his special magic tricks and maybe stitch up Scarlett AND these cocky supporters.
Of course, not ALL Geelong fans are so sure of their superiority, but it’s this automatic dismissal of ANY chance Sydney might have in the game that has me a bit steamed up. In one discussion on the mere possibility of Sydney scoring an upset win, another Geelong supporter swatted it away with the patronisingly throwaway comment: “This is foolish talk. Geelong comfortable (sic).”
Hey Catters, SOMEONE will beat you this season. Maybe it won’t be the Swannies in round 5, but you lot need to acknowledge that you’re the hunted, no longer the hunter, and every player in every other team will be primed and ready to bring you down.
One of the biggest challenges facing the reigning premiers is the sheer weight of expectation of their fans, balanced against the desire of every other team to knock them off.
A lot of the Geelong faithful need to look back only 12 months, to the confident statements coming out of the West Coast camp of multiple flags, dynasties and comparisons with the greatest teams of past eras.
Like the Weagles, this current Cats team has won ONE flag. It has a lot of work to do, a lot of hills to climb, before it’s even in a position to win a second one in September.
One of those hills, however small it is in the minds of Geelong fans, is against the rejuvenated, tough-tackling Sydney Swans.
I am not here to declare that we’ll beat Geelong at Skilled Stadium, but I’m excited about the game, I’m excited to see how young Kieren Jack does if he’s sent to mind Gary Ablett from the opening bounce, and I’m excited because there IS a reason for Sydney to turn up and have a crack at the defending champs.
Pride comes before a fall, and there’s a few down Geelong way who should keep that in mind.
Hodge2Franklin
19 Apr 2008, 07:15
I absolutely believe 100% as impossible and as ridiculous as it is that the Geelong Football Club won the premiership last year because the players got so fed up with the terrible coaching of Thompson that they put their fingers in their ears and collectively decided as a reaction to just win the thing.
If Thompson is somehow finding a way to have an effect on this group again I am very confident that it will sabotage any chance they have of dual premierships.
This is why I thought they would choke and they didn't. I mean when was the last time a team won the flag with no coach?
And_ROOS
19 Apr 2008, 07:41
http://blogs.news.com.au/adelaidenow/afl/fanforce/index.php/adelaidenow/comments/softly_softly_and_maybe_we_can_skin_a_cat
I HAVE tried to ignore the whiff of complacency blowing out of Geelong for the past six months or so, but it is now becoming the stench of arrogance.
Someone needs to beat the Cats, sooner rather than later, so why don’t the Swans do the rest of the league a favour and just get on with the business at Skilled Stadium this weekend?
It’s not so much the Geelong club, coach Mark Thompson or even the players that have become a bit too full of themselves - it’s the fans.
Seriously, on certain footy chat sites this week, the condescending rubbish coming from a lot of Geelong fans (and even a few fans of other teams who simply, obviously, hate the Swans), as they contemplate Saturday’s clash with Sydney, had me gagging.
It seems their thinking is that we had no chance anyway, the match being on their home turf where we don’t have a real flash recent record, but now that Barry Hall is hanging from some yardarm somewhere, there’s this vague feeling that maybe we shouldn’t even bother sending a team.
One Cats fan claimed that with no Hall, Sydney would struggle to kick goals, and that he/she felt sorry for Mick O’Loughlin having to play on Matthew Scarlett.
Oh, oh, ohhhh how I now long to see Micky O pull out a few of his special magic tricks and maybe stitch up Scarlett AND these cocky supporters.
Of course, not ALL Geelong fans are so sure of their superiority, but it’s this automatic dismissal of ANY chance Sydney might have in the game that has me a bit steamed up. In one discussion on the mere possibility of Sydney scoring an upset win, another Geelong supporter swatted it away with the patronisingly throwaway comment: “This is foolish talk. Geelong comfortable (sic).”
Hey Catters, SOMEONE will beat you this season. Maybe it won’t be the Swannies in round 5, but you lot need to acknowledge that you’re the hunted, no longer the hunter, and every player in every other team will be primed and ready to bring you down.
One of the biggest challenges facing the reigning premiers is the sheer weight of expectation of their fans, balanced against the desire of every other team to knock them off.
A lot of the Geelong faithful need to look back only 12 months, to the confident statements coming out of the West Coast camp of multiple flags, dynasties and comparisons with the greatest teams of past eras.
Like the Weagles, this current Cats team has won ONE flag. It has a lot of work to do, a lot of hills to climb, before it’s even in a position to win a second one in September.
One of those hills, however small it is in the minds of Geelong fans, is against the rejuvenated, tough-tackling Sydney Swans.
I am not here to declare that we’ll beat Geelong at Skilled Stadium, but I’m excited about the game, I’m excited to see how young Kieren Jack does if he’s sent to mind Gary Ablett from the opening bounce, and I’m excited because there IS a reason for Sydney to turn up and have a crack at the defending champs.
Pride comes before a fall, and there’s a few down Geelong way who should keep that in mind.
Oh gee whizz what an einstein. You know last time i checked NOONE from Geelong who either plays, supports or follows the club has said we will be undefeated all year. We also havent said we will win the premiership.
The club is just following the protocol from last year. Which is keeping everyone fit and following the game plan and letting the results follow. Dont mistake confidence with arrogance, which is what the media is doing. We are confident of winning every game we play, but not arrogant enough to think it will just happen without the hard work put it.
SweetLeftFoot
19 Apr 2008, 08:28
Geelong doesn't have misplaced arrogance. They won the flag at a canter last year and looking very good again this year.
There's other teams acting like they have achieved something when in reality they haven't. Not naming any names.
Lunchlady Doris
19 Apr 2008, 09:27
____ me, you guys are dersperate for ammo :o
ChunkyDuckling
19 Apr 2008, 09:35
Geelong doesn't have misplaced arrogance. They won the flag at a canter last year and looking very good again this year.
For once I agree with you, it shits me too but its their prerogative, they won the flag, they are undefeated and face it, they are the yardstick of the competition right now.
There's other teams acting like they have achieved something when in reality they haven't. Not naming any names.
I think I know who you mean ;), but there is nothing wrong with enjoying a win, or four. :)
PoidaCat
19 Apr 2008, 10:05
Desperation stemming from anxiety and fear.
Ruddeger07
19 Apr 2008, 10:29
Just more obsession from our little Tassie Hawk supporting trolls who haven't seen their crappy team taste success for 17 years.
catsgirl17
19 Apr 2008, 10:30
If you think we haven't realised that by now you're underestimating us.
We realised that after the final siren on September 28, 2007.
smelly cat
19 Apr 2008, 10:38
it's a wonder that some hawthorn supporters get anything productive done during their 9 to 5 (come to think of it, I don't have any proof that you do) considering the massive chip on their shoulders over the recent success of the Geelong footy club.
It just reminds me of some petulant 5 year old kid at his own birthday party who didn't win pass-the-parcel and is now all stroppy because someone else is getting the attention. The majority of Hawk fans are pretty reasonable, but there's a few of you that just need to Harden the F$ck Up.
And seriously, to waste your time pasting an article as in the OP and try to suggest that it conveys arrogance is drawing such a long bow it smacks of desperation. Run a poll and see if other fans think it is arrogant- they wont. it's what we at Geelong call a long term plan. You need one to be successful. It's not arrogance, its intelligence. You have one too at your club.
Only you call it arrogance because you have some sort DSM-V listed delusional disorder combined with an inability to derive any sustained pleasure from your own club so long as the GFC remains successful. In other words when the hawks win, you get happy. But if the cats win also, you allow that joy to be taken away from you and you get bitter and obsessive and spend your time creating threads that express your fantasies about the fall of the GFC. Freud would have a field day with you.
You obviously love your footy, but I reckon you'd enjoy it a whole lot more if you were able to stop your obsession. Don't stress about the cats, focus on the hawks, they are bloody exciting and I'd be pumped if they were my own team.
chicachow
19 Apr 2008, 10:51
You obviously love your footy, but I reckon you'd enjoy it a whole lot more if you were able to stop your obsession. Don't stress about the cats, focus on the hawks, they are bloody exciting and I'd be pumped if they were my own team.
And the truth shall set you free!
Hoffy95
19 Apr 2008, 10:54
SUCH is Geelong's confidence, coach Mark Thompson says the club is already focused on developing the next batch of potential premiership stars.
The Cats have shown no signs of a premiership hangover this year, continuing to work as a cohesive unit and have clinically beaten four sides this year.
And in an ominous warning to the rest of the competition, Thompson said there were another half-dozen players outside the current line-up ready to play senior football.
Thompson said the emphasis is now on working with the squad's lesser lights in a bid to create a Cats dynasty.
"We've already got 22 players experienced enough and we don't put a lot of time into them but we've got 20 out the back (behind them) that are going to have to play one day and we've got to find whether they're good enough," he said.
"And there's also the level of education and knowledge you give your players when you play a team every week.
"Our output, from the assistant coaches and the whole football club is exceptional and we strive to be better and better and better at our preparation so, as far as coaching goes, there's still lot of work to do."
Geez, this coaching caper must be so easy when you can say OK - we've got the next few in the bag - let's spend our time on the blokes who aren't good enough to get a game. I mean, shit, it took us 44 years to win one but now we know how - it's a piece of piss. 5 in a row.
Thompson essentially says we need to continue to develop and test out our list's depth and states that our club is continually striving to do things better.
How is that arrogant? Is that not what you'd expect from your own club?
I see what you've tried to do and quite like it, but there's a stark difference between Thompson's comments and those of the person writing the article trying to spice things up.
You got a few going though, so nice try.
Cheshire Cat
19 Apr 2008, 11:06
Every club coach says something along the lines of 'we're developing the next group of premiership players'. What are they coaching for if they aren't aiming for premierships? (Wallace excepted)
cats2rise
19 Apr 2008, 11:10
You'd be arrogant if you had won 23 of your past 24 too. or something like that.
Likedthe Kent Kingsley call too :)
LongBomb
19 Apr 2008, 11:35
So where exactly is the arrogance shown in that article?
Do not mistake confidence for arrogance.
For a great example of arrogance - check out some of the posts from the team that finished 6th last year.
AblettsInTheAir
19 Apr 2008, 11:41
This thread must be canned and the poster booted off.
He made reference to a rumour that was deleted last year for legal reasons.
The poster and thread should be deleted immediately.
geelong16
19 Apr 2008, 11:48
Arrogance is defined as having exaggerated self-opinion, we dont have exaggerated self opinion, we know we are the best because we are the best right now. nothing wrong with that.
I love this threads by hawks supporters, your so worried about us, take a chill pill or take up barracking for geelong so you can enjoy going to games relaxed knowing that you will nearly always win them, feels good.
EasternTiger
19 Apr 2008, 13:19
I absolutely believe 100% as impossible and as ridiculous as it is that the Geelong Football Club won the premiership last year because the players got so fed up with the terrible coaching of Thompson that they put their fingers in their ears and collectively decided as a reaction to just win the thing.
If there are any Richmond players lurking on this board...please read this and do likewise.
takeabowtredders
19 Apr 2008, 20:30
The confidence bit came from Connoly's mouth, not Thompsons's. In fact, this is the same coach that kept the lid on and didn't talk his club up for an entire year. Remember that no one in that club was even allowed to talk premierships all year.
catburr
19 Apr 2008, 21:50
Oh my god how jealous are you, better put the green eyed monster to bed mate and chill out, worry about your own team
If Thompson is somehow finding a way to have an effect on this group again I am very confident that it will sabotage any chance they have of dual premierships.
This is why I thought they would choke and they didn't. I mean when was the last time a team won the flag with no coach?
More verbal diarrhea since your 'comeback'.
passthebottle
19 Apr 2008, 22:46
Thompson has always been an arrogant prick.
You can sign here if you want him sacked.sack him now (http://www.wedontgiveashitwearethereigeningpremiers.com.au)
LifeSpan-Void
20 Apr 2008, 00:42
You can sign here if you want him sacked.sack him now (http://www.wedontgiveashitwearethereigeningpremiers.com.au)
link does not deliver :(
And_ROOS
20 Apr 2008, 03:52
Arrogance is defined as having exaggerated self-opinion, we dont have exaggerated self opinion, we know we are the best because we are the best right now. nothing wrong with that.
I love this threads by hawks supporters, your so worried about us, take a chill pill or take up barracking for geelong so you can enjoy going to games relaxed knowing that you will nearly always win them, feels good.
Exactly, all these threads on how we should be concerned by their team, yet its a club that bottomed out, loaded up on low picks and is now winning as a result. They have accomplished nothing. Last time they were on the big stage they failed.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
20 Apr 2008, 11:00
Exactly, all these threads on how we should be concerned by their team, yet its a club that bottomed out, loaded up on low picks and is now winning as a result. They have accomplished nothing. Last time they were on the big stage they failed.
The excuses are flowing already,
Scraping over Collingwood by 5 points to get to the GF = canter?
cats2rise
20 Apr 2008, 11:34
Least we got to the Prelim Final. And the Grand Final. And won it.
What did you do?
haywood jablome
20 Apr 2008, 11:59
Least we got to the Prelim Final. And the Grand Final. And won it.
What did you do?
Managed to lose to North Melbourne :eek:
pocketROCKET
20 Apr 2008, 12:11
Evidently there is no intellectual conversation coming from those in Brown and Gold, thus I am more than happy to let the footy do the talking. Until the day comes when we are no longer the best team in the competition; we deserve some respect. I assure you that both I and my fellow Geelong supporters will be graciously humbled by what we have achieved once our reign is over; but until that day comes, all those HFC supporters who are caught up celebrating mediocrity should be silent and just admire the workings of the team that they seek to emulate.
Talk about taking journalistic licence. I see nothing wrong, or arrogant, with anything Bomber had to say.
Baby Duck
20 Apr 2008, 13:18
Talk about taking journalistic licence. I see nothing wrong, or arrogant, with anything Bomber had to say.
You have realise that the Hawthorn trolls will try to put a spin just about anything to make us look bad. More often than not the end result is a thread like this; total rubbish.
PoidaCat
20 Apr 2008, 13:22
Geelong = can be arrogant.
Tassie = only in front of Richmond/Freo in terms of patheticness (made that word up).
didak04
20 Apr 2008, 14:04
Have to laugh at hawks fans here. What is Thompson supposed to do? Just sit back for the next few years whilst the current batch dominates and let the youngsters at the club wallow in the vfl and put no work into them. The older players will one day retire, and it is common sense to develop younger players so it all doesn't go to shit when this day comes. I think arrogance and common sense are being confused here.
Lunchlady Doris
20 Apr 2008, 18:13
Have to laugh at hawks fans here. What is Thompson supposed to do? Just sit back for the next few years whilst the current batch dominates and let the youngsters at the club wallow in the vfl and put no work into them. The older players will one day retire, and it is common sense to develop younger players so it all doesn't go to shit when this day comes. I think arrogance and common sense are being confused here.
Hawthorn prefer the method where you ignore development, then spend a couple of years stinking up the bottom of the ladder to score good draft picks.
swansrule100
20 Apr 2008, 18:25
dont confuse being confident with being arrogant
Skeppersap
20 Apr 2008, 19:01
Seems like a great thread Thatswhatimtalkingabout!
Everyone else agree with your sentiments.
By the way, when will I be hearing from your lawyers which you told me would be happening. My parents want to finally rest easy again, and know for sure whether they will be losing their house.
Matt Murder
20 Apr 2008, 19:30
Hawthorn prefer the method where you ignore development, then spend a couple of years stinking up the bottom of the ladder to score good draft picks.
Cyril Rioli not a bad pick and Sewell , Campbell , Osborne promoted from rookie list. Shows a complete ignorance of development.
SweetLeftFoot
21 Apr 2008, 00:59
I think I know who you mean ;), but there is nothing wrong with enjoying a win, or four. :)
Or five even ... but it is April after all.
And_ROOS
21 Apr 2008, 01:19
The April premiers are back ;)
SweetLeftFoot
21 Apr 2008, 01:29
Aye. You wonder what would happen to them if FRanklin did a knee. (Hope to God he doesn't, great talent)
Would they have the manpower like North did in 96 when Longmire did his knee to cover?
someday-somehow
21 Apr 2008, 09:52
Geez we really can't win can we, on one hand we smack of arrogance if a few fans suggest we will easily dispose of the swans (which we didn't) but on the other hand if we don't show some bravado then the trolls on this board reckon we're sh1t-scared and they can smell the fear.
Maybe we are just enjoying some bloody good football by our own team and have something to boast about eh?
haywood jablome
21 Apr 2008, 10:03
Aye. You wonder what would happen to them if FRanklin did a knee. (Hope to God he doesn't, great talent)
Would they have the manpower like North did in 96 when Longmire did his knee to cover?
Haha they may as well give up if they lose Franklin. He has won them nearly every game this season.
IzzaConda
21 Apr 2008, 10:03
Jealous are we? ha ha ha :p
IzzaConda
21 Apr 2008, 10:07
losing the welfare kangaroos the week prior = hilarious.......you Hawks fans are a laugh, its like you all have small man syndrome
Scraping over Collingwood by 5 points to get to the GF = canter?
ChunkyDuckling
22 Apr 2008, 01:19
No idea or a shit troll. :rolleyes:
I suppose arrogance means you dont feel the need to know anyhing about anyone elses list. :rolleyes:
Arrogance doesn't bother me when you are reigning champs. Blanket statements about a team which are clearly not true do.
ChunkyDuckling
22 Apr 2008, 01:23
Yes you are correct, since I posted that it is now five.
I dont get the tone of your post though, are you saying Cats or Hawk fans shouldn't be pleased/slightly arrogant with a 5-0 start??
Isnt enjoying their success the point of following a sports team??? :confused:
SweetLeftFoot
22 Apr 2008, 03:27
I'm saying it is only April and flags aren't won then.
I see you are in Edinburgh too.
estibador
22 Apr 2008, 05:29
Well according to your impeccable logic - Geelong last year.
Copernicus
22 Apr 2008, 06:30
All I can say is read my sig.
Just says it all ;)
Lunchlady Doris
22 Apr 2008, 08:51
No idea or a shit troll. :rolleyes:
Well I got several responses, so obviously it was a good troll :rolleyes:
Mcchawk
22 Apr 2008, 09:00
H2F still hookem :thumbsu:
Lunchlady Doris
22 Apr 2008, 09:53
H2F still hookem :thumbsu:
So twita is an alias of H2F's? There's only 3 actual Hawks posters on this board, isn't there.
Mcchawk
22 Apr 2008, 09:59
So twita is an alias of H2F's? There's only 3 actual Hawks posters on this board, isn't there.
Oh truckstop how many premierships have you seen again. Yes raise that middle finger and look in the mirror :rolleyes:
Carson_Kressley
22 Apr 2008, 10:04
geelong are good . there aint a side in the afl at this present moment that can even get close to beating them. i can understand there cockiness.
Oh truckstop how many premierships have you seen again. Yes raise that middle finger and look in the mirror :rolleyes:
You admit defeat by diverting from the subject at hand.
Hodge2Franklin
22 Apr 2008, 12:19
You admit defeat by diverting from the subject at hand.
We are bagging the Roos this morning Coze... Go back to sleepy Hollow until we call you.
Lunchlady Doris
22 Apr 2008, 13:35
We are bagging the Roos this morning Coze... Go back to sleepy Hollow until we call you.
You can handle us both at the same time H :D
'We' as in, you and your many slavering lacqueys?
I doubt the Roos have much to worry about.
ChunkyDuckling
22 Apr 2008, 22:05
I'm saying it is only April and flags aren't won then.
I agree, I'm just saying that there is nothing wrong with fans enjoying current success right now... :thumbsu:
I see you are in Edinburgh too.
Aye and its killing me!! :o
Lived in Melb and went every week from 2000-2006!! Now we are decent I'm bloody miles away!
SweetLeftFoot
22 Apr 2008, 23:03
We should catch up for a beer and watch some footy down the Oz bar sometime.
Maximus76
22 Apr 2008, 23:44
I think Richmond are still topping up on the 1980 preimership side.....just need to top a few more hacks up and they will be sweet