View Full Version : Hawthorn - The reality starts to sink in

Lambys Tent
19 Apr 2008, 13:49
Attention Hawthorn

Dont get angry because your team is starting to peak at the wrong time, I mean it must suck to sit back and watch your current mob get close but in the back of your mind you know the cats are always going to be just that bit better over the next 3 years. Then it will be too late and the next crop will come in and push us both out.

You should have tanked for one more year and traded Hodge then you could have had it all.

Thrawn
19 Apr 2008, 13:51
Poor effort, that.

Go back to your tent please.

oogac
19 Apr 2008, 13:55
Poor effort, that.

Go back to your tent please.

Hahaha:thumbsu::thumbsu:

TigerGlory
19 Apr 2008, 13:56
Attention Hawthorn

Dont get angry because your team is starting to peak at the wrong time, I mean it must suck to sit back and watch your current mob get close but in the back of your mind you know the cats are always going to be just that bit better over the next 3 years. Then it will be too late and the next crop will come in and push us both out.

You should have tanked for one more year and traded Hodge then you could have had it all.

What would trading Hodge have gotten them? :confused:

Dermott Franklin
19 Apr 2008, 14:03
Pfffftt!!
Weak as piss effort!
Shame though, that you can't atleast afford a rusty caravan like your upper-class geelong friends.
Q) What's the most expencive thing in geelong??
A) The '07 Premiership Cup.
You might have to sell it to support the future generations!

Carn Hawkas
19 Apr 2008, 14:22
Trading Hodge would be one of the dumbest things we could ever do.

sunnyTEE
19 Apr 2008, 14:27
Pfffftt!!
Weak as piss effort!
Shame though, that you can't atleast afford a rusty caravan like your upper-class geelong friends.
Q) What's the most expencive thing in geelong??
A) The '07 Premiership Cup.
You might have to sell it to support the future generations!

I fear you.

haywood jablome
19 Apr 2008, 14:31
Note to Dawks - Premierships aren't won in April. Choked extremely hard in the finals last year to North Melbourne - couldn't handle finals pressure and cracked like the eggs they are. They will win a few more games this year; except like last year they will fall flat on their faces when the big time comes and players like Hodge crack.

TigerGlory
19 Apr 2008, 14:50
Note to Dawks - Premierships aren't won in April. Choked extremely hard in the finals last year to North Melbourne - couldn't handle finals pressure and cracked like the eggs they are. They will win a few more games this year; except like last year they will fall flat on their faces when the big time comes and players like Hodge crack.

Didnt they win what was arguably the second best finals game of the series? :confused:

Braun_2_B_Wild
19 Apr 2008, 14:57
Yup.. Geelong supporters are shit scared :D Rightfully so... they almost choked to Collingwood and got one of the easiest finals path in the history of the AFL to win their flag. They know they are about to be shown up as a fluke :D

Mr Lizard
19 Apr 2008, 15:06
The reality starts to sink in: Cyril Rioli slipped to pick 12, and we snared him. Bargain.

Thanks all for letting him get to Hawthorn.:thumbsu:

haywood jablome
19 Apr 2008, 15:10
Didnt they win what was arguably the second best finals game of the series? :confused:
Woopdy do. What good is it to win one final and then turn in an absolutely dreadful performance against North Melbourne when the pressure is stepped up. They cracked like eggs. You telling me that North Melbourne were a better side than Hawthorn last year? No. Hawthorn just choked.

crawf_legend
19 Apr 2008, 15:11
Are you trying to pull off a Geelong_crazy attack because you only made us all laugh by posting this thread.
Bit scared we will whoop your arses this year?

haywood jablome
19 Apr 2008, 15:13
Yup.. Geelong supporters are shit scared :D Rightfully so... they almost choked to Collingwood and got one of the easiest finals path in the history of the AFL to win their flag. They know they are about to be shown up as a fluke :D
Hahaha this kids back; poor old West Coke aren't doing too well huh.

Hawkers Hero
19 Apr 2008, 15:15
Woopdy do. What good is it to win one final and then turn in an absolutely dreadful performance against North Melbourne when the pressure is stepped up. They cracked like eggs. You telling me that North Melbourne were a better side than Hawthorn last year? No. Hawthorn just choked.

Not too be too logical but Adelaide was the first final for all but 3 players in our team :rolleyes:

They got a bit ahead of themselves and just thought the kangas win would happen - Can guarantee you that that attitude wont exist come September.

HAWKS HEROES
19 Apr 2008, 15:38
Attention Hawthorn

we have never tanked you ***** we taught you guys how to win unfortunately !

kolchak
19 Apr 2008, 16:39

Haywood mate, we are still developing, just smashing excuses for AFL teams on the way, that's all.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
19 Apr 2008, 17:18
GC_26 and Poida can you speak to your growing bandwagon of anti-Hawthorn trolls and get them to pick up their game? To jump on a bandwagon says something about the quality of a person, but to follow it up with this sort of tired, simplistic drivel, isn't even fit for this board.

davey_magik
19 Apr 2008, 17:27
So aren't Geelong peaking right now as well?
This is a poor effort.

haywood jablome
19 Apr 2008, 18:49
So aren't Geelong peaking right now as well?
Not even close.

hawks_legends
19 Apr 2008, 19:06
Is it just me or does every thread a Geelong supporter makes about Hawthorn get more ridiculous?

:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Archie Jnr
19 Apr 2008, 19:23
Is it just me or does every thread a Geelong supporter makes about Hawthorn get more ridiculous?

No it's just you.

Pessimistic
19 Apr 2008, 20:35
Attention Hawthorn

So what are geelong doing right now ?

In the end you cats might be thinking you were lucky to get a flag in before our dynasty...

haywood jablome
19 Apr 2008, 20:45

In the end you cats might be thinking you were lucky to get a flag in before our dynasty...
Start talking when you actually achieve something; like a premiership. Until then you are a team that bombed out in the most recent finals to North Melbourne.

Kittenish
19 Apr 2008, 20:47

What Dynasty? You guys have to step up and win a premiership to even consider a Dynasty.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
19 Apr 2008, 21:28

It seems that way.

Have never been on the Geelong board, but assume they spend their time betting their dole cheques that they can out perform each other in a 'most ridiculous anti-Hawthorn post' competition.

winty
19 Apr 2008, 21:37
The reality starts to sink in: Cyril Rioli slipped to pick 12, and we snared him. Bargain.

And we'll extend the same graditude to everyone for allowing us to pick up Harry Taylor. :thumbsu:

winty
19 Apr 2008, 21:40
It seems that way.

Have never been on the Geelong board, but assume they spend their time betting their dole cheques that they can out perform each other in a 'most ridiculous anti-Hawthorn post' competition.

Of course all the anti-Geelong threads started by Hawks fans are just the pinnacle of quality, aren't they? :rolleyes:

Well, maybe they were the first time they were thought up, but they don't have the same impact the third time around. Have to applaud your recycling efforts, but stick to cans, bottles and paper in future.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
20 Apr 2008, 00:27
Of course all the anti-Geelong threads started by Hawks fans are just the pinnacle of quality, aren't they? :rolleyes:

Well, maybe they were the first time they were thought up, but they don't have the same impact the third time around. Have to applaud your recycling efforts, but stick to cans, bottles and paper in future.

Not sure what boards you're looking at. There aren't too many anti-Geelong posts from Hawk supporters, as we're pretty focussed on what we have in our club. Look at the list of the anti-Tassie, anti-Buddy, anti-Hodge threads and you'll realise you have no idea what you're talking about. I guess you've been told that before though haven't you?

;)

Archie Jnr
20 Apr 2008, 00:32
Not sure what boards you're looking at. There aren't too many anti-Geelong posts from Hawk supporters, as we're pretty focussed on what we have in our club. Look at the list of the anti-Tassie, anti-Buddy, anti-Hodge threads and you'll realise you have no idea what you're talking about. I guess you've been told that before though haven't you?

;)

You must have missed all of hodge2franklin & thatswhatimtalkingabout tripe then ?

winty
20 Apr 2008, 01:56

;)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=435104
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=434506
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=435215
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=356508
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=434792
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=434147

And that's just on the first couple of pages. :rolleyes:

Rik E Boy
20 Apr 2008, 02:00

LMAO. Now there's a recommendation Hawks fans. This geniear5e spent months last year gleefully predicting our downfall. We all know who choked against Collingwood in last years finals don't we Braunie?

The Hawks play great footy and I hope they are 16-0 when we meet them in Round 17.

regards,

REB

celtic_pride
20 Apr 2008, 02:22
Bookmark this post - Tassie won't make the GF this year ...

It will be a handbags vs Swannetts GF IMHO in 2008 and I'm never wrong :D

boncer34
20 Apr 2008, 02:44

Very arguable that one.

Personally enjoyed the WCE Pies game (Extra time), Geelong Pies (Spot in the GF) and PA WCE game (Home Prelim) more then the elim.

bOmBeR_BoY1
20 Apr 2008, 03:11
With someone of the calibre of Lance Franklin in this team - it's totally capable of doing anything, including beating Geelong when it counts later in the season.

He is just a "words cannot describe" talent. Not many players can win a game off their own boot, but he can. There is outstanding talent in Mooney, Johnson, Ablett down in Geelong - but Franklin is a once in a decade type of player, and if he fires against the Cats they will be beaten.

Rockford
20 Apr 2008, 03:19
With someone of the calibre of Lance Franklin in this team - it's totally capable of doing anything, including beating Geelong when it counts later in the season.

He is just a "words cannot describe" talent. Not many players can win a game off their own boot, but he can. There is outstanding talent in Mooney, Johnson, Ablett down in Geelong - but Franklin is a once in a decade type of player, and if he fires against the Cats they will be beaten.

Franklin is a gun, no doubt. The Hawks were on fire tonight, but came perilously close to losing a shoot out against the Lions. Even if Buddy does fire the Hawks need a defensive structure that can shut out the likes of Brisbane if they're going to win the flag. Ruck depth would also help.

dapto
20 Apr 2008, 03:35
your welcome
And we'll extend the same graditude to everyone for allowing us to pick up Harry Taylor. :thumbsu:
your welcome

Celtic you really have redsigned the keyboard into a flagellation device.

bOmBeR_BoY1
20 Apr 2008, 03:38
Franklin is a gun, no doubt. The Hawks were on fire tonight, but came perilously close to losing a shoot out against the Lions. Even if Buddy does fire the Hawks need a defensive structure that can shut out the likes of Brisbane if they're going to win the flag. Ruck depth would also help.

Tend to disagree a little bit, the Hawks seemed in control of the game for most of the second half (not sure how much of the time - % wise that Brisbane were in front during the second half, but it wouldn't of been much at all, if any). The Lions did extremely well to finish that close to the Hawks, so all credit to them for hanging in there.

Any win on the road is a worthy achievement, especially against a team that has given the Hawks' many headaches in recent seasons. Not easy to say as a Bomber supporter, but am very impressed with this group.

Rockford
20 Apr 2008, 03:42
Tend to disagree a little bit, the Hawks seemed in control of the game for most of the second half (not sure how much of the time - % wise that Brisbane were in front during the second half, but it wouldn't of been much at all, if any). The Lions did extremely well to finish that close to the Hawks, so all credit to them for hanging in there.

Any win on the road is a worthy achievement, especially against a team that has given the Hawks' many headaches in recent seasons. Not easy to say as a Bomber supporter, but am very impressed with this group.

The Lions took it to the Hawks, it was a very entertaining match, I don't think the Lions were 'hanging in there', they attacked the game and if they make finals this year they could go quite far IMO. If they'd kicked a bit straighter late in the 4th they could've won/drawn the game.

Hodge2Franklin
20 Apr 2008, 03:43
WLUlJj0cqdM

DESTRUKTOR
20 Apr 2008, 03:51

Yeah, Blake and West are depth HAHAHA
Ottens injured, Bailey injured (I assure you, once fit, he is better than Blake and West combined)
Get a real argument.
Fraser/Wood, Cox/Seaby.
Bulldogs have rucks, but whatever rocks your boat mate...

Rockford
20 Apr 2008, 03:54
Ottens injured, Bailey injured (I assure you, once fit, he is better than Blake and West combined)
Get a real argument.
Fraser/Wood, Cox/Seaby.

Blake's been doing well enough filling in for Ottens. I wasn't comparing the Hawks shortfalls to any issues the Cats might have, simply an observation.

My argument incidentally was the likelihood of the Hawks C grade defense letting down their A grade forward line in matches that matter.

c0ze
20 Apr 2008, 04:05
Get a real argument.
Fraser/Wood, Cox/Seaby.

Actually they are. West has played 5 games now, and Blake improves nearly every game he has played this year (second for hitouts so far this year).

You spew forth garbage.

But whatever rocks your jocks, mate.

DESTRUKTOR
20 Apr 2008, 04:12
Actually they are. West has played 5 games now, and Blake improves nearly every game he has played this year (second for hitouts so far this year).

You spew forth garbage.

But whatever rocks your jocks, mate.

5 average games=depth. A defeat in an argument, I will shut up, but 5 average games does not warrant depth. Put ya bib on, hold on to hope, and wait.....

I would rather Rioli's 5 games of "Depth".

c0ze
20 Apr 2008, 04:22
5 average games=depth. A defeat in an argument, I will shut up, but 5 average games does not warrant depth. Put ya bib on, hold on to hope, and wait.....

I would rather Rioli's 5 games of "Depth".

Sorry, but did you miss that little fact I quoted?

Here it is again, in bold to help you out.

SECOND BEST FOR HITOUTS SO FAR THIS YEAR.

This for a backup ruckman replacing one of the best in the business.

The big shoes are filling nicely.

DESTRUKTOR
20 Apr 2008, 04:29
Sorry, but did you miss that little fact I quoted?

Here it is again, in bold to help you out.

SECOND BEST FOR HITOUTS SO FAR THIS YEAR.

This for a backup ruckman replacing one of the best in the business.

The big shoes are filling nicely.

You can re-quote all you want! But do you hear the bronx cheer when he does anything more than a tap??? Do you remember the funny side of him kicking a goal last year. I live in geelong, and could not believe it? It made the back page. HAHAHAHA.

I have come across him, he is a nice bloke, yes NICE!!!! Intimidating? Damaging? Elite? NO!!!

c0ze
20 Apr 2008, 04:34
You can re-quote all you want! But do you hear the bronx cheer when he does anything more than a tap??? Do you remember the funny side of him kicking a goal last year. I live in geelong, and could not believe it? It made the back page. HAHAHAHA.

I have come across him, he is a nice bloke, yes NICE!!!! Intimidating? Damaging? Elite? NO!!!

I was at the same school as him. He was a smartarse that never really made any sense. Fairly run of the mill I suppose.

But anyway, getting back to football. A ruckmans main priority is rucking, yes?

It appears that he is doing that quite well at the moment. Not to mention the 3 goals he has already kicked.

DESTRUKTOR
20 Apr 2008, 04:38
I was at the same school as him. He was a smartarse that never really made any sense. Fairly run of the mill I suppose.

But anyway, getting back to football. A ruckmans main priority is rucking, yes?

It appears that he is doing that quite well at the moment. Not to mention the 3 goals he has already kicked.

Woohoo, 3 goals, book him in for the Coleman!!!
Fraser done that in one night, plus 1 more. Who cares!!
The last impression I got of him was not a smartarse. Still holding grudges from high school days are we?? Move on, and toughen the $%^& up!!! I almost have.:D

c0ze
20 Apr 2008, 04:46
Woohoo, 3 goals, book him in for the Coleman!!!
Fraser done that in one night, plus 1 more. Who cares!!
The last impression I got of him was not a smartarse. Still holding grudges from high school days are we?? Move on, and toughen the $%^& up!!! I almost have.:D

Actually I was older than him and laughed in his face.

But anyway, it's footy we are talking about I hear.

The goals he has kicked are significant considering this is effectively his second year of AFL footy.

DESTRUKTOR
20 Apr 2008, 04:53
Would you laugh in his face now?? You must be a tough guy, being older and all that??

DESTRUKTOR
20 Apr 2008, 04:58
Crap, I have the hiccoughs. I am going to bed, see you tomorrow darl....

c0ze
20 Apr 2008, 04:59
Would you laugh in his face now?? You must be a tough guy, being older and all that??

No I wouldn't. For one, I am more mature than I was 9 years ago (thankfully). I respect him far too much for that now anyway.

Also, generally, the older years are 'tougher' at school.

Satchmo
20 Apr 2008, 08:51
The fact you are posting a thread like this...show's me you are crapping your pants we're coming....and you my son are getting a little nervous.

:eek:

tazhawk
20 Apr 2008, 09:41
Attention Hawthorn

I smell fear. :thumbsu:

B&GBlood
20 Apr 2008, 11:38

If you are never wrong? Why follow Carltank?

Gilbert_Hodge
20 Apr 2008, 12:35

It was very generous of them to do so. :thumbsu:

Macquarie Eagle
20 Apr 2008, 17:39
Attention Hawthorn

Healy, when did you make a new account. Come on mate, do what you do best.

HAWKS HEROES
24 Apr 2008, 21:29
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=435215

And that's just on the first couple of pages. :rolleyes:
my one is not a negative post on geelong it was how we taught you how to win !it is not anti geelong silly person you are !