View Full Version : An ugly win, but we'll take it!
Not overly impressed by our peformance today especially with our goalkicking despite the great weather conditions (dry and warm = 27+ degrees). We are at times struggling under the pressure once again and lacking some confidence simmilar to last year. Must improve on that. Still lotsa work to do. Its all about pressure, thats for sure. I understand we are in a semi rebuilding phase so there is going to be some good, bad and ugly peformances throughout the year and thats how it goes. But the brilliance of McLeod in the final quarter appeared to save us the game. Not the best game, but its a win and I was impressed how we held firm down the stretch. Carlton next week is another challenge. Its good to win when you get challenged and when you're not playing at your best because we can be a much better side.
Baron Winds
19 Apr 2008, 18:41
Should have smashed them..
Four points is four points i guess.. Craigy will be disgusted
Drummond
19 Apr 2008, 18:43
We were absolutely pathetic. That chip around stuff in the last 4 minutes was shocking. :thumbsd:
Mr_Smooth
19 Apr 2008, 18:43
Should have smashed them..
Four points is four points i guess.. Craigy will be disgusted
this sums up my position on it
only gonna be watching the replay to see kurts legendary scoop (which should by my reckonning become the next toyota legendary moment :thumbsu:)
Should have lost..
But luckily for us, someone blew the umps and we fell over the line
Couldn't agree more :thumbsu:
Geez we were shit for 3 quarters and could've won the game.
Glenno23
19 Apr 2008, 18:46
If we had kicked straight it wouldn't have been so close
But 4 points be 4 points, as long as we can learn from our mistakes
We didn't play to well but we had some solid individual peformances but as for mentioned it 4 points. Now let us regroup and take it to Carlton next week
Ticktak
19 Apr 2008, 18:57
We were absolutely pathetic. That chip around stuff in the last 4 minutes was shocking. :thumbsd:
Haven't seen the game yet but just wondering how many goals Freo scored in those last 4 minutes?
Have you met wizard 9
Tundrawolf
19 Apr 2008, 19:07
If we had kicked straight it wouldn't have been so close
But 4 points be 4 points, as long as we can have those umpires for the rest of the season
Nuff said!;)
4 points are 4 points. What's better, playing a great game and losing a la Bulldogs round 1 or playing crap and winning. The big plus I guess is that the good sides manage to win when they play ordinary. We were very lucky to get away with that.
On a positive note, tippett, Tippett, Tippett...WOW Some real flashes of brilliance.
Freddy Bassett
19 Apr 2008, 19:26
Are you for real? Would you rather us play fast attacking football in the last few minutes and lose like round 1 and all last years close ones? Thankgod the Crows are finally learning to do it otherwise we would of lost the showdown and we could of been 1-4. I know what I would rather.
DockersMad
19 Apr 2008, 19:26
Yeah, it was. It was also the only thing that saved your team from being over-run.
I was screaming at our guys so hard to man up that I started to run out of air. Thank goodness I didn't starve my brain of oxygen and do it some damage or else my only career path from here on would have been as an AFL umpire.
Freddy Bassett
19 Apr 2008, 19:28
Yeah, it was. It was also the only thing that saved your team from being over-run.
I was screaming at our guys so hard to man up that I started to run out of air. Thank goodness I didn't starve my brain of oxygen and do it some damage or else my only career path from here on would have been as an AFL umpire.
spot on mate, we would of lost
Drummond
19 Apr 2008, 19:30
Are you for real? Would you rather us play fast attacking football in the last few minutes and lose like round 1 and all last years close ones? Thankgod the Crows are finally learning to do it otherwise we would of lost the showdown and we could of been 1-4. I know what I would rather.
Learning to chip it around? :confused:
Have you not watched us play over the past 4 years? Other than the Bulldogs game, we ALWAYS chip it around!
Ticktak
19 Apr 2008, 19:35
Haven't seen the game yet but just wondering how many goals Freo scored in those last 4 minutes?
I cannot remember when we played well against Fremantle in the last few years. What's our record against them?
Maybe they are just one of those sides that drag us down to their level?
Still, it's a win......Will need to do much better next week - got a horrible feeling about that.........
Freddy Bassett
19 Apr 2008, 19:40
Learning to chip it around? :confused:
Have you not watched us play over the past 4 years? Other than the Bulldogs game, we ALWAYS chip it around!
Have you not watch us continuosly lose games because we dont know what to do when we hit the front with 2 minutes to go? May of won a final last year vs Hawks if we knew how to kill of a game. I dont care what we look like in the last 4 minutes as long as we are getting the result. What would you prefer us to do? Play fast high risk footy? The result speaks for itself
bickley26
19 Apr 2008, 19:44
None
Yet you probably would be the first to criticise if we had got run over in that game. See Bulldogs game round 1 for criticism Craigy copped, the bloke can't win.
Big future
19 Apr 2008, 19:49
I cannot remember when we played well against Fremantle in the last few years. What's our record against them?
Maybe they are just one of those sides that drag us down to their level?
Still, it's a win......Will need to do much better next week - got a horrible feeling about that.........
Next week:
Out: Jacky (He will be good down the track), Shirley.
In: Massie (Good player), and whoever does well in their games this weekend, eg Ottens, Dangerfield, etc.
We had the benefit of umpiring (generally) in the first and fourth quarters, I thought, and they in the second and third.
I thought the end score reflected the game overall. While grateful for a win, we would have been stiff to lose. I'll take it!! Next week will be a challenge!
Ticktak
19 Apr 2008, 19:49
None
Huh:confused:, that's weird. Anyway, I appreciate your replying:thumbsu:
Carl Spackler
19 Apr 2008, 19:53
Hopefully it's a good sign that we can play badly and still win. Hopefully.
Drummond
19 Apr 2008, 19:57
Huh:confused:, that's weird. Anyway, I appreciate your replying:thumbsu:
Crowd of 39k. You guarantee them a victory but only if it means they play football like that, chances are they wouldn't bother attending.
In Craigy's press conference he said that Massie and Knights may be right for next week with Jericho a week away.
Ticktak
19 Apr 2008, 20:01
Crowd of 39k. You guarantee them a victory but only if it means they play football like that, chances are they wouldn't bother attending.
LOL:D
fightingdreamer88
19 Apr 2008, 20:01
That seriously felt like a loss today. Can't remember ever being so flat after a win.
Jacky showed some glimpses today, he will be a player you can see it.
Carl Spackler
19 Apr 2008, 20:05
It was the most lacklustre rendition of our club song of all time too.
TheLeftFist8
19 Apr 2008, 20:32
In Craigy's press conference he said that Massie and Knights may be right for next week with Jericho a week away.
You beauty...Shirley and Jacky out imo.
Anyone else reckon van Berlo having an average start to the year?
Vince Van Mackay
19 Apr 2008, 20:36
Umpiring decisions helped Dockers in 3rd quarter, especially when basset gave away a free for holding without ball, when the Docker tosser quite obviously played for the free when there was nothing there and consequently got a goal.
Or later on when Bell and Vince went for the ball, arrived at same time, Vince got the ball, and Umpire Mclaren or whatever paid holding the ball.
There were a couple more things that resulted in direct Fremantle goals.
Vince Van Mackay
19 Apr 2008, 20:37
No, Van Berlo is playing more of a negating role.
Thats why its seems he is having an average year.
fightingdreamer88
19 Apr 2008, 20:38
Yep. 23 possessions but I wouldn't have picked it, he isn't standing out to me.
Jarrhan will benefit now from going back to the SANFL and working hard to demand a place, got a taste for it today and has a future. Having said that it wouldn't harm him to have a second game, 8 possessions in limited game time isn't the worst debut we've ever seen from a new Adelaide player.
Is Van Berlo being ruined by Craig in smiliar fashion to Mattner?
I have been harsh on VB recently but maybe he is being told to be negative.
I want to see him start to take a game apart and be damaging offensively, kick some bloody goals.
PUT MARTY ON THE WING!!!!
Campbell's Chunky
19 Apr 2008, 22:05
Drummy, that footy won us the game mate.
As Neil said, had Fremantle pulled off a buddy franklin, then everyone would be asking 'wah wah, why the hell didnt we do this or that...Neil you need to REACT to the game situation'.
hmm, wonder what he did today. WON us the game via the coaches box.
Wayne's-World
19 Apr 2008, 22:10
Is Van Berlo being ruined by Craig in smiliar fashion to Mattner?
I have been harsh on VB recently but maybe he is being told to be negative.
I want to see him start to take a game apart and be damaging offensively, kick some bloody goals.
PUT MARTY ON THE WING!!!!
In fact Van Berlo stated at the start of the season he wanted to be MORE attacking.
I think he's just a bit below form ......not too much ....just finding it hard to run and carry the ball.
He's certainly still getting to the contested ball and getting in there to dish out ......just his work AP doesn't look particularly polished.
Stiffy_18
19 Apr 2008, 23:10
As Neil said, had Fremantle pulled off a buddy franklin, then everyone would be asking 'wah wah, why the hell didnt we do this or that...Neil you need to REACT to the game situation'.
Nail. Hammer. Head. :thumbsu:
I must admit, I am liking the way Craigy is coaching so far this year. Other than the mistmatch of Shirley on Johnson at the FB line, I think he has generally had a handle on the situation this year. Even when things aren't working (Rutten on Franklin) he is not afraid to make a change which is a sign of improvment for the great man!
Wayne's-World
19 Apr 2008, 23:16
BTW a little off topic
Franklin 8 goals tonight .....can I suggest any discussion re Massie on Franklin is ......well frankly it appears no-one can stop him or has an answer
Stiffy_18
19 Apr 2008, 23:24
BTW a little off topic
Franklin 8 goals tonight .....can I suggest any discussion re Massie on Franklin is ......well frankly it appears no-one can stop him or has an answer
Brad Moran come on down!!!! :D :p
Franklin is a freak! He is just unstoppable. If we only had pick 5 instead of pick 8 in that draft :(
Drummond
19 Apr 2008, 23:37
Gee, how pathetic were we to let them in with a chance of winning the game? And we needed to play chip footy for 5 minutes at home to a Fremantle side that's 1-3 and has their best player doing nothing? Weren't we up by two goals? Hardly needed to be done, and in doing so it almost cost us a goal as we turned it over and Schammer had a shot on goal, seems that is lost on everyone...
Rollins
19 Apr 2008, 23:42
I think we are very lucky to win that...reverting back to chip...chip crap is just so frustrating....pressure games like that can only be good for the young guys though....thank god for some black magic in the last qtr
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 00:06
even though todays performance was frustrating, somerimes you have to win ugly, in regards to the last 4 minutes of temp footy, well it certainly helped us bank the points in the end
sometimes you have to grind out a win
jenny61_99
20 Apr 2008, 00:14
It certainly was ugly, and it certainly was a win. The most pleasing thing to come out of todays game for me was the fact that under tremendous pressure we actually hung on to win. In the Port game and now against Fremantle (who've had the wood on us in recent times) they both came at us with all guns blazing and we've managed to grind a win out. Last year we would have been over-run and lost. To me sitting at 3-2 after five rounds is a LOT better than most would have had us.
The one thing that annoyed me most today was the crowd booing their own team for playing keepings off in the dying minutes. Absolutely disgraceful when minutes later they were all cheering and clapping because we'd won the game. Sometimes that style of footy is necessary - and today was one of those times.
So many are quick to complain that Craig can't win the close ones, and when we do they complain about how he won. :rolleyes: A win is a win is a win.
That's all she wrote.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
20 Apr 2008, 00:21
At the game, the last quarter was hideous...but watching the replay it didn't seem so bad. Strange that.
I just want to say it was fantastic to see the 'old' Macca today. He kicked a couple of ripper goals. Vintage McLeod.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
20 Apr 2008, 00:25
The one thing that annoyed me most today was the crowd booing their own team for playing keepings off in the dying minutes. Absolutely disgraceful when minutes later they were all cheering and clapping because we'd won the game. Sometimes that style of footy is necessary - and today was one of those times.
So many are quick to complain that Craig can't win the close ones, and when we do they complain about how he won. :rolleyes: A win is a win is a win.
They were booing at the sytle of play, which as I said earlier was hideous and could have been VERY costly had we turned the ball over. In the end we didn't and we won, but it is a risky style of play at best. It turned out ok for us today and we will take the win, but I would hate for it to become part of our game and to see that every week.
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 00:30
They were booing at the sytle of play, which as I said earlier was hideous and could have been VERY costly had we turned the ball over. In the end we didn't and we won, but it is a risky style of play at best. It turned out ok for us today and we will take the win, but I would hate for it to become part of our game and to see that every week.
NC said after the game, he hopes that there is no need to play tempo footy again this year, however it is a tool for a set purpose, if we were 5 goals up in time on their is no need to play tempo footy
lets take the win and move on :thumbsu:
jenny61_99
20 Apr 2008, 00:30
I'm sorry but if it wins us games every week, I'll take it. Booing your own team is appalling. No ands ifs or buts. It's not like we've played like that all this year in other games, but we absolutely needed to today. If fans can't see the necessity of this style - as ugly as it is - in some circumstances, they should stop going to the footy.
macca23
20 Apr 2008, 00:32
Gee, how pathetic were we to let them in with a chance of winning the game? And we needed to play chip footy for 5 minutes at home to a Fremantle side that's 1-3 and has their best player doing nothing? Weren't we up by two goals? Hardly needed to be done, and in doing so it almost cost us a goal as we turned it over and Schammer had a shot on goal, seems that is lost on everyone...
Did you hear Craig's press conference Drummond.
He explained the tactics of chipping it around for 4 and a half minutes several times in that PC - obviously for the benefit of the slow ones. :)
As he quite correctly said, we had completly lost momentum, and it all lay with Freo. He explained that if we had played attacking football at the end his opinion is that we would have certainly lost the game.
He went on to say that the club has often been criticized for losing all the close matches, and the tempo footy was to ensure that we didn't lose another close one.
We won the game, and strangely enough I thought that was the purpose of playing the game.
Weren't you happy that we won Drummond?? :)
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
20 Apr 2008, 00:36
I heard Craigy's explanation and it was quite good and as I said earlier, watching it back on TV, it wasn't nearly as bad as it was live.
Absolutely, those tactics worked today. I am glad they did and I will take the win, but I always think that attack is the best defence. I reckon you will win more that way then going totally denfensive, but hey, that is just my opinion.
Bassethound
20 Apr 2008, 01:01
Have to agree Van Berlo has been ordinary for sure.......I really expected him to move up to the elite level this year after having a good 2007.
Like most I too found todays game most frustrating and really lack-lustre.......and talk about handball happy....how many times did our players handball to a team-mate that was either standing still or manned up!!!!!
Rollins
20 Apr 2008, 01:07
I'm sorry guys/girls...even though it may win us games..thats great, but I cannot stand this type of gameplay and rued the fact sydney crept it in years ago and almost ruined the pure game of aussie rules.....watching the geelong-sydney game today the cats were 5 goals up and sydney put the brakes on....eventually the cats broke free of the shackles but its crap football...good on sydney for winning a flag with defensive football...I was certainly barraking for them but please.....wasn't seeing geelong last year produce free flowing normal football a massive breath of fresh air....and surprise, surprise teams have now reverted back to that style of play....hopefully zones and flooding are used in very small moderation and its being evolved out of our game....its bad enough we have netball rules now but from the first few crows games and bits of today we started to play good normal productive football....agree...disagree...who gives a fat rats arse but thats my opinion
pjcrows
20 Apr 2008, 01:09
Seriously Drummond, you're being a tool. The chipping around won us the match, so stop being a sooky-la-la.
We played woeful football for a lot of today and won by 3 goals. And we're 3-2. I had us starting with 0-4. Like 14 other teams, we're still so far off the peak of the competition it isn't funny, so I'm enjoying watching us develop the young blokes.
Rollins
20 Apr 2008, 01:25
Seriously Drummond, you're being a tool. The chipping around won us the match, so stop being a sooky-la-la.
We played woeful football for a lot of today and won by 3 goals. And we're 3-2. I had us starting with 0-4. Like 14 other teams, we're still so far off the peak of the competition it isn't funny, so I'm enjoying watching us develop the young blokes.
AGREE---I thought we would struggle this year but good on them....a new attacking style of footy mixed with some of the old shite has us well placed and we are blooding good young guys....
P.S....I cant help but think gary ablett jnr is going to become WAY BIGGER than his dad...what a legend...genius
fightingdreamer88
20 Apr 2008, 01:27
I thought McLeod was pretty poor with his target hitting this week which is unlike him but he offset it with some trademark dashes and crucial goals.
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 01:44
Not that you ever go anyway.
Markthirtytwo
20 Apr 2008, 02:48
It is obvious you weren't at the game otherwise you would have seen that everyone down field was covered by Freo manning up. The place they didn't man up was in the back lines. Are you suggesting that we kick it with a minute or so to go to a contest and a possibility of it being turned over?
Get real.
Markthirtytwo
20 Apr 2008, 02:50
It certainly was ugly, and it certainly was a win. The most pleasing thing to come out of todays game for me was the fact that under tremendous pressure we actually hung on to win. In the Port game and now against Fremantle (who've had the wood on us in recent times) they both came at us with all guns blazing and we've managed to grind a win out. Last year we would have been over-run and lost. To me sitting at 3-2 after five rounds is a LOT better than most would have had us.
That's all she wrote.
We put ourselves under pressure, not the opposition.
whilst I agree booing is not on, it was not only the last four minutes that we happened to play that style. Many a time the player in the back lines would look up and see nothing offering up field.
Hence we would over use the hand ball to ridiculous degrees and then the crowd would get angry and frustrated.
As many have said, we should have put them away before half time.
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 02:52
Thats certainly a fair viewpoint.
I have to say, i was reasonably impressed with Freo's resolve in the last term though... i thought we broke their backs a few times and they kicked good goals to come back.
Ticktak
20 Apr 2008, 03:19
So I take it that Freo didn't score a goal in those last minutes?
Drummond
20 Apr 2008, 03:30
Did you hear Craig's press conference Drummond.
He explained the tactics of chipping it around for 4 and a half minutes several times in that PC - obviously for the benefit of the slow ones. :)
As he quite correctly said, we had completly lost momentum, and it all lay with Freo. He explained that if we had played attacking football at the end his opinion is that we would have certainly lost the game.
He went on to say that the club has often been criticized for losing all the close matches, and the tempo footy was to ensure that we didn't lose another close one.
We won the game, and strangely enough I thought that was the purpose of playing the game.
Weren't you happy that we won Drummond?? :)
Of course I was happy with the win but it was a shocking game of football. That’s actually a bit concerning to hear him admit that if we played attacking football we would have lost. I thought we were better than that.
This game was nothing like the Western Bulldogs game so stop treating it as the same game. That game was an absolute shoot out from the get go, and today’s was a low standard, low scoring affair. Freo kicked 10 goals all up. Chances of conceding two goals in 4 minutes was very unlikely as they gave their best assault about 10 minutes prior to the tempo footy.
Not that you ever go anyway.
Local footy is more my go, better being so close. Pity not many around here value the local competition. But unfortunately I haven't been to as many games as I would've liked to lately.
So I take it that Freo didn't score a goal in those last minutes?
Why not post the same thing for a third time. :thumbsu:
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 03:35
Local footy is more my go, better being so close. Pity not many around here value the local competition. But unfortunately I haven't been to as many games as I would've liked to lately.
Sure, nothing wrong with liking the SANFL.
Not really the gameplan thats keeping you away though, is it? ;)
jenny61_99
20 Apr 2008, 09:37
whilst I agree booing is not on, it was not only the last four minutes that we happened to play that style. Many a time the player in the back lines would look up and see nothing offering up field.
Hence we would over use the hand ball to ridiculous degrees and then the crowd would get angry and frustrated.
I think you are underestimating Freo's intensity and man on man tactics. They lifted a notch after half time (no doubt a result of Mark Harvey tearing them a new one). Our level of intensity however did not lift correspondingly. Our mistakes were either caused by the pressure or "perceived" pressure Freo were now applying. Our skills became sloppy. Craig will not be happy with this aspect.
Last year - when faced with a come-back by opposition teams, we seemed to capitulate very easily and got over-run and lost the game by a kick. This year we have shown a far more steely resolve that this won't happen. This was a most pleasing aspect yesterday.
You know the players knew they'd played like dogs when you watch their lack-lustre team song.
Markthirtytwo
20 Apr 2008, 10:26
I think you are underestimating Freo's intensity and man on man tactics. They lifted a notch after half time (no doubt a result of Mark Harvey tearing them a new one). Our level of intensity however did not lift correspondingly. Our mistakes were either caused by the pressure or "perceived" pressure Freo were now applying. Our skills became sloppy. Craig will not be happy with this aspect.
Last year - when faced with a come-back by opposition teams, we seemed to capitulate very easily and got over-run and lost the game by a kick. This year we have shown a far more steely resolve that this won't happen. This was a most pleasing aspect yesterday.
You know the players knew they'd played like dogs when you watch their lack-lustre team song.
If you read my last sentence your first sentence would be irrelevant.
But with our young squad and some of our best players not playing to the best of their ability, we let them in, many times. We had them on toast.
Their game especially in the first half was so error ridden I thought we were playing the Norwood under 12s.
It was us who left the door open for them to come back at us. There was no intensity like the Showdown.
pjcrows
20 Apr 2008, 12:06
Local footy is more my go, better being so close. Pity not many around here value the local competition.
Interesting how you don't go to many Crows games, yet you so often doubt the observations of people that do actually go to the games and see it live.
Your point in this thread is that we shouldn't have stopped attacking, and that it was an ugly win. Firstly, we tried for the last 10 minutes of the 3rd quarter and first 10 minutes of the last quarter to attack. We had our normal setup. It simply wasn't working. You would be the first to whinge if we didn't change our setup and gameplan at that time - because Craig is so "stubborn" - but he sent out the instruction to close the game down. And what happened? Oh yeah, we won.
You say it's disappointing that we won like we did. We won. We had Vince, McKay, Porplyzia and Van Berlo in the middle for a lot of those difficult parts of the game. Criag made a decision, stuck with it, and got us over the line. It's not a game we'll watch over and over again because it was so good, but how can you possibly whinge?
Ticktak
20 Apr 2008, 13:20
But unfortunately I haven't been to as many games as I would've liked to lately.
Why not post the same thing for a third time. :thumbsu:
Sorry champ, just a simple question that you are yet to answer. No need to get testy.
Didn't mean to make you look like a goose for the third time:D
I agree with you 100%
I don't like the way we overuse the handball especially when the opposition applies more pressure. Its a recipe for disaster. I want to see more run and more long kicks down the middle of the ground. When Geelong comes into town later on this season, we'll need to change our game. The way Geelong played yesterday was awesome I must admit.
Good to be 3-0 at home, we're playing much better at home because our road draw is a tough one this year.
jenny61_99
21 Apr 2008, 17:25
If you read my last sentence your first sentence would be irrelevant.
But with our young squad and some of our best players not playing to the best of their ability, we let them in, many times. We had them on toast.
Their game especially in the first half was so error ridden I thought we were playing the Norwood under 12s.
It was us who left the door open for them to come back at us. There was no intensity like the Showdown.
No argument from me there. We seem to grow another leg when it comes to showdowns! In fact we were on half a leg (and almost half a team by the end) and we still managed the win.
Our game in the second half was also error ridden - mainly from the pressure being applied by a revved up Freo. Yes we could have put the game away by half time but didn't. Freo applied the heat in the second half and we almost capitulated - something we would have done time and again last year.
I agree with you 100%
I don't like the way we overuse the handball especially when the opposition applies more pressure. Its a recipe for disaster. I want to see more run and more long kicks down the middle of the ground. When Geelong comes into town later on this season, we'll need to change our game. The way Geelong played yesterday was awesome I must admit.
Good to be 3-0 at home, we're playing much better at home because our road draw is a tough one this year.
I don't mind a fair bit of handball, but not handball for handball sake. The use of handball these days is the best way to cut apart the zone defences a lot of teams set up all over the ground.
That sort of defence (midfield zone) was practically invented by Craigy and teams had no answer until West Coast unravelled late in 07 by using a lot of handball. Now almost every team uses handball in much higher numbers than they did before.
Forward of centre though there is nothing like a long kick forward.