View Full Version : Clint Benjamin: Not too far to go now
EddieBettsIsAChamp
19 Apr 2008, 20:11
I couldn't make it down to Princes Park this afternoon, but I did manage to catch the second half of the Bullants/Tassie game this arvo, and from what I saw of Clinton Benjamin, he looks as though he could be in the senior team in as little as 3 weeks! He was creating contests, attacking players, attacking the ball, going in at contests, the whole shebang!
I reckon' this bloke is the future of Carlton's defence if he keeps up performances like todays and keeps persisting the way he has, mark my words.
Thoughts? I'd like to hear some comments about those who got to the game today about his ground coverage and his first half.
thylacine60
19 Apr 2008, 20:20
Can't kick.
walshy93
19 Apr 2008, 20:21
Watched a bit of the gam, agree with thylaine, but has promise, maybe next season?
gandaal
19 Apr 2008, 20:34
I must've been watching the other game played today, the game where Clinton looked miles from the standard and led me to the conclusion that if he wasn't on the Carlton's list he wouldn't be getting a game in the VFL.
TheGeneral
19 Apr 2008, 20:44
He needs to improve his kicking, but he's a long term project and has the potential to be a bit like Walker after seeing a few glimpses of promise.
Benjamin took a brave chest mark backing back with the flight. :thumbsu:
I wonder if they're playing Benjamin down back to teach him to be accountable and develop a footy brain by watching the midfielders and forwards play footy.
I didn't see any of his alleged pace today.
gandaal
19 Apr 2008, 20:54
He needs to improve his kicking, but he's a long term project and has the potential to be a bit like Walker after seeing a few glimpses of promise.
Benjamin took a brave chest mark backing back with the flight. :thumbsu:
I wonder if they're playing Benjamin down back to teach him to be accountable and develop a footy brain by watching the midfielders and forwards play footy.
I didn't see any of his alleged pace today.
For a guy who's supposed to be able to run 100m in under 11 seconds it was dissapointing to see him getting caught with the ball mid dash wasn't it?
CarltonFan
19 Apr 2008, 21:01
what? was pants today unforetunately.
why have the coaches decided to play him in a defensive role?
it would been awesome to have him at HFF, running the wings and also getting forward causing havoc. doesnt seem like a defensive kind of player to me???
EddieBettsIsAChamp
19 Apr 2008, 21:26
Well, I guess I made the wrong call here!:p
EddieBettsIsAChamp
19 Apr 2008, 21:27
what? was pants today unforetunately.
why have the coaches decided to play him in a defensive role?
it would been awesome to have him at HFF, running the wings and also getting forward causing havoc. doesnt seem like a defensive kind of player to me???
Probably because of his leap and his size, those two qualities are teams need in defenders.
CarltonFan
19 Apr 2008, 22:32
Probably because of his leap and his size, those two qualities are teams need in defenders.
well its a shame he's not short and cant jump, cause then he could've played forward....
thats what you were getting at yeh?
EddieBettsIsAChamp
19 Apr 2008, 22:35
well its a shame he's not short and cant jump, cause then he could've played forward....
thats what you were getting at yeh?
Far from it, my friend.
I think this change with him in the backline is playing out like a 'Waite in Carlton' kind of thing for the Bullants. I really can't see what was so bad about him today.
Give him the rest of the season to develop, and we'll see how we are then. At the time of the draft, most of the posters on here that had seem a bit of him in colts footy thought he would take a while to develop.
Jeremias
20 Apr 2008, 00:32
Load of crap, EBIAC.
Was very average, and on today's showing, is a fair way off playing senior football.
Apparently he's been pretty good in the preseason prior to injury and earlier this season so I'm hoping it was just one bad game.
Gibbsrightboot
20 Apr 2008, 00:44
I couldn't make it down to Princes Park this afternoon, but I did manage to catch the second half of the Bullants/Tassie game this arvo, and from what I saw of Clinton Benjamin, he looks as though he could be in the senior team in as little as 3 weeks! He was creating contests, attacking players, attacking the ball, going in at contests, the whole shebang!
I reckon' this bloke is the future of Carlton's defence if he keeps up performances like todays and keeps persisting the way he has, mark my words.
Thoughts? I'd like to hear some comments about those who got to the game today about his ground coverage and his first half.
you really know your football EBIAC
TheGeneral
20 Apr 2008, 01:32
Give him the rest of the season to develop, and we'll see how we are then. At the time of the draft, most of the posters on here that had seem a bit of him in colts footy thought he would take a while to develop.
Alwyn Davey and his older brother didn't debut until they were 23 and 21 years of age.
Benjamin is ahead of them after being drafted as an 18 year old and has more upside.
Playing him as a defender will naturally teach him alot about defensive pressure and will make him a better player when he plays on the wing or forward at AFL level.
He was regarded as a good get for pick 57.
[ToTTi]
20 Apr 2008, 01:47
AFAIC he is not what we need. We need players to hit targets. We need players with good footskills. Until he can hit targets regularly I don't give a ____ how fast he is.
gandaal
20 Apr 2008, 02:07
;10730556']AFAIC he is not what we need. We need players to hit targets. We need players with good footskills. Until he can hit targets regularly I don't give a ____ how fast he is.
You're wrong Totti. Benjamin is potentially exactly what we need. Extreme pace is something we lack and Benjamin has that in spades... even if that wasn't entirely obvious against Tassie. We beat Collingwood but they also lack pacy mids. It's when he come up against the faster teams in the league that we get shown up and our defensive pressure crumbles. With a hard working, chasing, strong tackling Benjamin in our side we wouldn't be leaking nearly as many goals as we have of late.
disconorman
20 Apr 2008, 02:41
Benji was fairly ordinary today I thought. Aisake was probably worse. Even Ackland played better footy.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
20 Apr 2008, 02:52
you really know your football EBIAC
I stand by my comment.
Hey, I said Eddie Betts would turn out a star for us!:p
EddieBettsIsAChamp
20 Apr 2008, 02:56
Benji was fairly ordinary today I thought. Aisake was probably worse. Even Ackland played better footy.
Ackland was playing 'show pony' all day, going for silly marks and things alike. He's experienced, he should know better.
thylacine60
20 Apr 2008, 03:01
I stand by my comment.
Hey, I said Eddie Betts would turn out a star for us!:p
Stick to your guns, Eddie :thumbsu:.
And go to beddie.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
20 Apr 2008, 03:29
Stick to your guns, Eddie :thumbsu:.
And go to beddie.
Oh, you can rhyme thylacine:p.
Uhm.... Err.... I'm going to go eat a pie-lacine:D.
Marc Shmurf 3
20 Apr 2008, 04:10
Clint Benjamin will never play regular footy at Carlton. I watched his game today and every time he got his hands on the footy i had to close my eyes. His kicking action is far from fluent and, he doesnt seem to have football smarts and generally his foot skills are horrible. Our game plan is to hold onto the football and its imperitive to not turn over the football, so if you dont have good foot skills you dont fit into the team.
Anderson on the other hand is something we can work on and personally id have Armfield, Browne and Anderson ahead of Benjamin, so he has a $hit load of work and improving to do.
disconorman
20 Apr 2008, 12:35
Ackland was playing 'show pony' all day, going for silly marks and things alike. He's experienced, he should know better.
That says something about Benji's game then if Ackland was 'show pony'ing and was still a better player (I agree that Ackland was bad too, not saying he was good!).
I made the call during pre-season that he wouldn't make it after watching him train, his lack of coordination in a simple handball drill was apalling.
saw him yesterday, he doesn't look that quick at all.
TheGeneral
20 Apr 2008, 16:06
saw him yesterday, he doesn't look that quick at all.
Benji's groin injury and interrupted pre-season would explain his lack of pace.
The_Groscz
20 Apr 2008, 17:35
Watched a bit of the gam, agree with thylaine, but has promise, maybe next season?
You have the best avatar I have ever seen!
DirkDiggler
20 Apr 2008, 17:40
Those of you excited by him need a rethink. No use having explosive pace on the track but not being able to use it on match day. Got run down by Paul Koulouriotis whilst running in for goal. Seriously lacks intesity. Does not know how to get the ball does not know how to use it proprely. IF we are prepared to give him an extended development program over say 3 more years, keep him, otherwise we need to cut our losses. With the slow pace of the VFL he should be dominating. Has yet to do so. Put him on as a leading half forward because he is not a backman. At least he leads well. Too bad as he has an excellent physique for a footballer. If we could instil Ellard's footy brain in him he would be a star.
Got this one wrong IMO EBIAC. Must have been watching a different game. Benjamin looked a mile off. Only one that looked close to senior footy was Hartlett. Best player for the ants (out of our list) was the rookie Ellard
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 17:48
You're wrong Totti. Benjamin is potentially exactly what we need. Extreme pace is something we lack and Benjamin has that in spades... even if that wasn't entirely obvious against Tassie. We beat Collingwood but they also lack pacy mids. It's when he come up against the faster teams in the league that we get shown up and our defensive pressure crumbles. With a hard working, chasing, strong tackling Benjamin in our side we wouldn't be leaking nearly as many goals as we have of late.
The thing that disappoints me most, is that for someone with his supposed pace, he does place anywhere near enough defensive pressure.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
20 Apr 2008, 18:00
I had a breif chat with Clint after the game today, and I asked him about his flaws in the game. He said he felt his disposal let him down more than anything.
thylacine60
20 Apr 2008, 19:30
Those of you excited by him need a rethink. No use having explosive pace on the track but not being able to use it on match day. Got run down by Paul Koulouriotis whilst running in for goal. Seriously lacks intesity. Does not know how to get the ball does not know how to use it proprely. IF we are prepared to give him an extended development program over say 3 more years, keep him, otherwise we need to cut our losses. With the slow pace of the VFL he should be dominating. Has yet to do so. Put him on as a leading half forward because he is not a backman. At least he leads well. Too bad as he has an excellent physique for a footballer. If we could instil Ellard's footy brain in him he would be a star.
Would Ellard be okay with that? Intriguing concept.