View Full Version : Andy Otten
Drummond
19 Apr 2008, 23:24
Andy Otten was taken with the 27th pick in the last years draft so obviously the Crows rate him very highly. However I ask this question with no malice intended, what are considered to be his strengths? He’s had a great start to his SANFL career as he’s been a big ball winner in each of his 4 games but there’s been nothing that has stood out in his game.
Now before people come in here and start taking shots at me left, right and centre, I know he’s a teenage interstate recruit who is still thin and is adapting to his new surroundings. However you normally get a pretty good feel for someone after watching them in action and on the 3 occasions I’ve happened to see him play, there’s nothing that has got me overly impressed. You’ve got to give him credit for his obvious ball winning abilities but I ask legitimately, what are the stand out features in his game that caused us to take him in the second round?
He’s a tall midfielder who doesn’t come across as being particularly quick, and he seems to just lumber around the ground. He finished 6th in the draft camp last year for agility so he’s obviously nimble enough but it doesn’t come across that way. His disposal isn’t flash and he doesn’t appear to be overly damaging. So once again, I’m not sniping the guy, I want everyone on our list to be superstars but as of right now, even at such a short time into his career, I’m not overly enthused. And before I get the customary, “Meesen’s a dud” comments, I agree. Towards the end of his time with Norwood even I knew he wasn’t going anywhere but I kind of dug such an enormous hole that even I couldn’t get out of. :p
But getting back to my point, for those that have seen him, what do you consider being his strengths because I’m struggling to pin-point anything that could be of real damage to the opposition. Normally there’s at least one feature that stands out and makes you realise why he was identified by the club as being a must have talent, but I’m still trying to locate what they are.
Stiffy_18
19 Apr 2008, 23:29
His ball winning ability
His football smarts
His versatility
His sticky fingers - quite a good mark
He is going to be a good player.
crows98
19 Apr 2008, 23:42
It really doesn’t matter what his strengths or weaknesses are right now because every aspect of his overall game will be stripped back and rebuilt. He will have to work and continue to work on every part of his game if he wants to make it at that level. In 3, 4 or 5 year’s time the strengths he has now will have little impact.
Andy Otten was taken with the 27th pick in the last years draft so obviously the Crows rate him very highly. However I ask this question with no malice intended, what are considered to be his strengths? He’s had a great start to his SANFL career as he’s been a big ball winner in each of his 4 games but there’s been nothing that has stood out in his game.
Now before people come in here and start taking shots at me left, right and centre, I know he’s a teenage interstate recruit who is still thin and is adapting to his new surroundings. However you normally get a pretty good feel for someone after watching them in action and on the 3 occasions I’ve happened to see him play, there’s nothing that has got me overly impressed. You’ve got to give him credit for his obvious ball winning abilities but I ask legitimately, what are the stand out features in his game that caused us to take him in the second round?
He’s a tall midfielder who doesn’t come across as being particularly quick, and he seems to just lumber around the ground. He finished 6th in the draft camp last year for agility so he’s obviously nimble enough but it doesn’t come across that way. His disposal isn’t flash and he doesn’t appear to be overly damaging. So once again, I’m not sniping the guy, I want everyone on our list to be superstars but as of right now, even at such a short time into his career, I’m not overly enthused. And before I get the customary, “Meesen’s a dud” comments, I agree. Towards the end of his time with Norwood even I knew he wasn’t going anywhere but I kind of dug such an enormous hole that even I couldn’t get out of. :p
But getting back to my point, for those that have seen him, what do you consider being his strengths because I’m struggling to pin-point anything that could be of real damage to the opposition. Normally there’s at least one feature that stands out and makes you realise why he was identified by the club as being a must have talent, but I’m still trying to locate what they are.
He is a good player Drummond.
A very, very good player.
He will show you how and why when he gets an opportunity and some experience.
Campbell's Chunky
19 Apr 2008, 23:47
He is a good player Drummond.
A very, very good player.
He will show you how and why when he gets an opportunity and some experience.
The recruiting kiss of death/success has spoken.
Not sure if you taking the pissy out of me Chunky but I will stand on my record - Doughty, the Mattner train, Vince, Douglas, Knights, Tippett, Walker just to name a few etc.
Pfeiffer was one that let me down.
Campbell's Chunky
20 Apr 2008, 00:04
Not sure if you taking the pissy out of me Chunky but I will stand on my record - Doughty, the Mattner train, Vince, Douglas, Knights, Tippett, Walker just to name a few etc.
Pfeiffer was one that let me down.
No piss taking whatsoever mate.
You are the legendary recruitment machine.
One dud out of 8 selections is a recruiters dream.
Fair question.
Without knowing what we know now, if you went back to 96 and described a young Simon Goodwin I suspect we'd see something similar.
Last Line Hero
20 Apr 2008, 01:12
Know him personally. Best mate of a cousin.
Scott Pendleburyesque. If I were to make a comparison.
Basketball background, was a top notch player here in Melbourne for the Blackburn Vikings before opting to play AFL.
STRENGTHS:
Great endurance; can run all day.
Great athletic ability.
Versatile. Played all of CHF, CHB, R and RR for Oakleigh Chargers and dominated in each.
Barracks for Hawthorn.
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 01:12
Your first paragraph showed the stupidity of this question.
You admit hes had a good start, and has been a big ball winner, but then ask if hes got any strengths?
Moronic.
Basketball background, was a top notch player here in Melbourne for the Blackburn Vikings before opting to play AFL. Great athlete.
Barracks for Hawthorn.
You mean used to, right? :eek::p
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 01:18
*remembers fergus watts greatest football memory...... 2005 qualifying final*
Last Line Hero
20 Apr 2008, 01:20
Ofcourse:D:thumbsu:
fightingdreamer88
20 Apr 2008, 01:22
His ball winning ability is the standout feature.
hey shorty
20 Apr 2008, 01:28
The guy is a gun no question. Drummy not everyone in our side can be a hard-ball winner all the time, we do need guys on the outside who can deliver, which this guy is. Had a dirty day today but didnt they all ??:D
Drummond
20 Apr 2008, 02:52
Basketball background, was a top notch player here in Melbourne for the Blackburn Vikings before opting to play AFL.
STRENGTHS:
Great endurance; can run all day.
Great athletic ability.
Versatile. Played all of CHF, CHB, R and RR for Oakleigh Chargers and dominated in each.
Barracks for Hawthorn.
Thanks for posting. :thumbsu: Yeh I thought his endurance might have been one of his strengths because I can't recall him coming off once in the three games I've seen him play.
Your first paragraph showed the stupidity of this question.
You admit hes had a good start, and has been a big ball winner, but then ask if hes got any strengths?
Moronic.
ST, grow up and stop looking for a fight all the time.
He's a big ball winner, so what, David Gallagher was a big ball winner and where did that ever get him? He can find the ball but what's the use if your skills aren't up to scratch?
And by the way, getting off to a good start isn't a strength.
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 02:58
ST, grow up and stop looking for a fight all the time.
He's a big ball winner, so what, David Gallagher was a big ball winner and where did that ever get him? He can find the ball but what's the use if your skills aren't up to scratch?
And by the way, getting off to a good start isn't a strength.
I could more than likely tell you to grow up and stop looking for a bitch all the time.
The ability to find the ball is certainly a line in the 'pro' column. Comparisons to Gallagher are dumb, and you know it. I wont even glorify that with a response.
Drummond
20 Apr 2008, 03:05
I could more than likely tell you to grow up and stop looking for a bitch all the time.
The ability to find the ball is certainly a line in the 'pro' column. Comparisons to Gallagher are dumb, and you know it. I wont even glorify that with a response.
I identified the fact that he can win the ball, but otherwise there are no standout features of his game like pace, athletic ability, tackling ect. But you want to continue having a crack go ahead, nothing I’m not used to from you by now.
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 03:10
I identified the fact that he can win the ball, but otherwise there are no standout features of his game like pace, athletic ability, tackling ect. But you want to continue having a crack go ahead, nothing I’m not used to from you by now.
You've also now conceeded endurance, so i think theres a bit more to it than you're putting forward.
Ball winning is a standout feature.
'Nothing im not used to from you by now'. Now thats a bit funny. I dont mind us going back and forth a bit Drummy, because its interesting and we can usually have some decent discussions, but its a bit rich for you to take the victims complex.
Wayne's-World
20 Apr 2008, 11:19
Your right Drummond .......there's nothing that instantly hits you about his game .....
But having seen him play a number of times I can tell you he just keeps getting the ball and he id deceptively a very very good mark for his size.
Not a leaper .....but reads the ball in the air very well and has what people call sticky fingers
He WILL BE a good player for us
Macca19
20 Apr 2008, 11:43
He’s a tall midfielder who doesn’t come across as being particularly quick, and he seems to just lumber around the ground.
Seemed pretty quick to me :confused:
Probably not Embley quick (trying to compare similar heights), but Id say hes Chad Cornes quick. Hes got an awkward loping running style but he is quick. I cant see him playing a KP at AFL level, but I reckon he'd be perfect running off half back.
Ive seen him twice now, but from an outsiders view id say:
Strengths - long kick, pace, disposal accumulator
Weaknesses - Disp efficiency, attack on the contest
James_37
20 Apr 2008, 11:46
Seemed pretty quick to me :confused:
Probably not Embley quick (trying to compare similar heights), but Id say hes Chad Cornes quick. Hes got an awkward loping running style but he is quick. I cant see him playing a KP at AFL level, but I reckon he'd be perfect running off half back.
Ive seen him twice now, but from an outsiders view id say:
Strengths - long kick, pace, disposal accumulator
Weaknesses - Disp efficiency, attack on the contest
Probably very similar to a Chris Knights in his first year, but with the added bonus of extra height, which, in this day and age, in a midfielder seems to be coming more sought after.
pjcrows
20 Apr 2008, 12:17
Here's my take.
Drummond has been a member of Big Footy since mid-2005, so obviously you would think he knows a bit about football. However I ask this question with no malice intended, what are considered to be his strengths? He is a Crows fan and seems to have a reasonable grasp of the English language, but there’s been nothing that has stood out in his posts.
Now before people come in here and start taking shots at me left, right and centre, I know he’s a Norwood fan. However you normally get a pretty good feel for someone after watching them in action and during the 3 years I’ve happened to see him post, there’s nothing that has got me overly impressed. You’ve got to give him credit for his obvious passion but I ask legitimately, what are the stand out features in his posts that help him avoid a Red Card?
He’s a frequent poster who doesn’t come across as being particularly smart, and he seems to just use random stats to back up his arguments. He constantly gets bagged for his idiotic whinging so he’s obviously observant enough but it doesn’t come across that way. His basis for argument isn’t flash and he doesn’t appear to be overly damaging. So once again, I’m not sniping the guy, I want everyone on the Crows Board to be superstars but as of right now, I’m not overly enthused. And before I get the customary “Drummond's a dud” comments, it is good that he has finally admitted that Meesen is a complete hack.
But getting back to my point, for those that have seen him, what do you consider being his strengths because I’m struggling to pin-point anything that could be of real intelligence. Normally there’s at least one feature that stands out and makes you realise why he was identified by the Crows Board as being a must have talent, but I’m still trying to locate what they are.
fightingdreamer88
20 Apr 2008, 12:35
Bloody hell Drummond, you're right about ST!! I just looked at the order of posts here. :eek:
Watch your back...:p
macca23
20 Apr 2008, 12:51
Here's my take.
Drummond has been a member of Big Footy since mid-2005, so obviously you would think he knows a bit about football. However I ask this question with no malice intended, what are considered to be his strengths? He is a Crows fan and seems to have a reasonable grasp of the English language, but there’s been nothing that has stood out in his posts.
Now before people come in here and start taking shots at me left, right and centre, I know he’s a Norwood fan. However you normally get a pretty good feel for someone after watching them in action and during the 3 years I’ve happened to see him post, there’s nothing that has got me overly impressed. You’ve got to give him credit for his obvious passion but I ask legitimately, what are the stand out features in his posts that help him avoid a Red Card?
He’s a frequent poster who doesn’t come across as being particularly smart, and he seems to just use random stats to back up his arguments. He constantly gets bagged for his idiotic whinging so he’s obviously observant enough but it doesn’t come across that way. His basis for argument isn’t flash and he doesn’t appear to be overly damaging. So once again, I’m not sniping the guy, I want everyone on the Crows Board to be superstars but as of right now, I’m not overly enthused. And before I get the customary “Drummond's a dud” comments, it is good that he has finally admitted that Meesen is a complete hack.
But getting back to my point, for those that have seen him, what do you consider being his strengths because I’m struggling to pin-point anything that could be of real intelligence. Normally there’s at least one feature that stands out and makes you realise why he was identified by the Crows Board as being a must have talent, but I’m still trying to locate what they are.
Amusing post without any real malice. :thumbsu:
The obvious feature that stands out with Drummond for me is Consistency.
He always firmly and unwaveringly believes that once any draftee put on a Norwood guernsey, the magic flows through the guernsey and they become superstars.
Their 3 possession games are reported faithfully in great detail as ball tearers which demand instant inclusion in the Crows team,even if that means dropping a McLeod or a Goodwin. ;)
To even suggest that a draftee from another club might be included in lieu of any such red-legged superman justifiably sends Drummond into hissy fits as he correctly points out that the 30 possession game by this threat had really nothing to recommend it.
Drummond, for your consistency we salute you !! ;) :)
Southerntakeover
20 Apr 2008, 15:41
Bloody hell Drummond, you're right about ST!! I just looked at the order of posts here. :eek:
Watch your back...:p
Feel the need to fufill your jackass quota for the week did you?
Vic Crow
20 Apr 2008, 22:38
Andy Otten is a good football player. He's not a superb athlete, but as has been noted he has good endurance and he's also good mover in traffic. His hands are good and he has a knack of getting the ball.
His game is well rounded. That's his strength. It might come across as harsh (I don't mean it that way at all) but I guess you could say he's more like a jack of all trades, master of none. That brings fantastic versatility and I've heard a rumour that our coach is a big fan of that in a player. I was very glad when we read his name out (especially because I listed him as someone I'd like to see us take in the second round). :p
Campbell's Chunky
20 Apr 2008, 23:19
Andy Otten is a good football player. He's not a superb athlete, but as has been noted he has good endurance and he's also good mover in traffic. His hands are good and he has a knack of getting the ball.
His game is well rounded. That's his strength. It might come across as harsh (I don't mean it that way at all) but I guess you could say he's more like a jack of all trades, master of none. That brings fantastic versatility and I've heard a rumour that our coach is a big fan of that in a player. I was very glad when we read his name out (especially because I listed him as someone I'd like to see us take in the second round). :pWhich makes choosing Dangerfield over Ebert sensible. Otten offsets it.
As I've previously said, you can find Ebert's type in the 2nd round and even 3rd round (see Van Berlo for another example).
Meesen’s a dud.
johnnypanther
21 Apr 2008, 20:20
I would suggest that Otten is actually quite quick and has in fact very good acceleration of the mark. However, i think that he does not use this asset to his advantage currently - in this regards he reminds me of Chris Knights when he started (he used to run like a "plodder") - he possessed quick acceleration but didnt use it. I'm sure the coaching staff would identify that and develop that aspect of his game (similar to the way Knighta now uses his explosive acceleration).
lincsPJ
21 Apr 2008, 21:12
Here's my take.
haha thats gold.
we all know that if otten was gettin 30 touches at the parade, he'd be a gun.
good to see drumm finally acknowledge that meesen is garbage... as president of the "meesen is a hack" club, i say "welcome".
pjcrows
21 Apr 2008, 21:14
haha thats gold.
we all know that if otten was gettin 30 touches at the parade, he'd be a gun.
good to see drumm finally acknowledge that meesen is garbage... as president of the "meesen is a hack" club, i say "welcome".
Ah the good ol' MIAHC - Meesen Is A Hack Club - Established mid-2005.
darcytiger
21 Apr 2008, 21:24
He captained me last year at school footy so I rekon i'd be able to have a fair crack at his strengths.
- LEADERSHIP --- Not just saying this coz he captained me, but this guy was the best skipper ive ever played under, and was a great leader around the school, everyone looked up to him. you never know, he could be the future captain of adelaide.
- Marking - For a midfielder he is an excellent contested mark, has a good leap and uses his height to absoulutely dominate other midfielders around the ground
and as many of you have pointed out, knows where to find the footy, always just seems to be in the right place at the right time
fryingpan
21 Apr 2008, 21:30
God Drummond, I know you're allowed to question a player's strengths/weaknesses but golly, have you ever said anything positive about the AFC in your life? (It's obvious that you made this thread because you don't think he's that good - comparing him to Gallagher was just the icing on the cake)
All you do is bitch and moan. The AFC and everyone involved with the AFC has to do everything 100% to your liking otherwise you go apeshit.
I'm not telling you to agree with everything the AFC does but some positive posts/threads wouldn't hurt instead of being a pessimist 24/7.
Southerntakeover
21 Apr 2008, 21:32
He captained me last year at school footy so I rekon i'd be able to have a fair crack at his strengths.
- LEADERSHIP --- Not just saying this coz he captained me, but this guy was the best skipper ive ever played under, and was a great leader around the school, everyone looked up to him. you never know, he could be the future captain of adelaide.
- Marking - For a midfielder he is an excellent contested mark, has a good leap and uses his height to absoulutely dominate other midfielders around the ground
and as many of you have pointed out, knows where to find the footy, always just seems to be in the right place at the right time
Thanks for that :):thumbsu:. Good to get first hand accounts.
macca23
21 Apr 2008, 21:40
Ditto from me. :thumbsu:
That's good inside information based on fact - beats the living shitter out of Drummond's baseless criticism. :thumbsu:
Drummond
22 Apr 2008, 00:10
Ditto from me. :thumbsu:
That's good inside information based on fact - beats the living shitter out of Drummond's baseless criticism. :thumbsu:
:rolleyes:
Baseless criticism? I've seen him play 3 times and each time haven't been overly impressed, haven't seen a spark in his game.
Poor form macca.
macca23
22 Apr 2008, 10:40
Baseless criticism? I've seen him play 3 times and each time haven't been overly impressed, haven't seen a spark in his game.
Poor form macca.
Rubbish Drummond. Absolute rubbish.
I've seen him the same number of times as you and think that he's doing a damn good job for a young lad fresh out of U/18's.
IMO he'll definitely make an AFL player, which is more than can be said for that useless lump Meesen which you used to go into favourable histrionics about each week.
Otten's made the best players in every game he's played for South but you obviously know better than their hierarchy. But then again he hasn't been wearing the magical red and blue guernsey which passes on supernatural powers to its wearers. :rolleyes:
How about lifting your game and dropping your current role as the king of negativity??
Sparno17
22 Apr 2008, 11:47
Otten will be a very good player for us for a long time. He is the draft pick i am most excited about, dangerfield and texas ranger buzz aside.
He has some a long list of pros and a very short list of cons.
You can kick goals from anywhere, be fast, be fit be strong but if cant find your own ball your pretty useless.
He knows how to find lots of the footy. The only things that need to improve are abot 5-7kg bulk up and better decision making and execution of the ball in a faster paced game.
This will come with time and exposure in the AFL. He is earning his stripes well thus far and has not done anything wrong.
Once we feel we can, i would love to give this kid 3-5games straight in the tri-colours. That small exposure will do him wonders when he goes back to South. He wil feel he has more time and space and less pressure. His next goal is then to take a step beyond solid contributer and start to take a game apart. Become a player opposition teams need to think about.
Lets face it, once you ass his height and athleticism to a solid football package, he will be a player that causes many headaches.
boris danes
22 Apr 2008, 12:09
yeah bit of arrogance about his game, likes to run forward and kick a goal, booming kick... saw a few comparisons to embley or cornes style in his pace, i think he is a bit like des headland was (and ill see early in his career when he was more of a star)... would think he will line up on a forward flank rather than a back flank intially - good endurance and a great mark, loves to move forward of the ball and finish.
kind of player that demands a player who is defensively minded as he is a great reader of the play - hence why i think he would play a hff, works well defensively.. tagged a fair bit in his first year at the chargers but on the rebound will run most half backs ragged around the ground and can get in down one on one in the goal square too. just knows how to use his length
Freddy Bassett
22 Apr 2008, 18:42
Poor form macca.
What 3 games have you watched him play Drummond? Let me guess,
1)Norwood trial at the Parade in which by reports he did some good things.
2) Port at Alberton on your tv in which we got 20 plus touches but didnt attack the ball hard enough like a Norwood lad would, Meesen, Jericho, Gibson etc
3) Last weeks slaughtering vs Sturt also from the comfort of your lounge suite, in which he again was named in Souths best.
So you have ventured out to watch him play once. That being versus Norwood, I think its fair to say guns like Gibson would of stolen your attention. Im sick to death of defending Otten but he hasnt had a game under 20 possesions yet and he is playing for South dont forget. As for his strengths from the 3 games I have seen him play plus one on the tv Id say obviously his knack to find the ball, his great size and he never looks like he is running flat out yet rarely gets caught or shown up for lack of pace. His disposal is good and bag him from your armchair all you want but his 2nd a 3rd efforts are very promising for a rookie. Look forward to seeing Andy smash the legs this round:thumbsu: And another thing, speak to some South players and ask them what they think of Andy, very very highly regarded kid that players look for! Good trait to have at 18, but you dont notice that on TV
Drummond
22 Apr 2008, 18:48
What 3 games have you watched him play Drummond? Let me guess,
1)Norwood trial at the Parade in which by reports he did some good things.
2) Port at Alberton on your tv in which we got 20 plus touches but didnt attack the ball hard enough like a Norwood lad would, Meesen, Jericho, Gibson etc
3) Last weeks slaughtering vs Sturt also from the comfort of your lounge suite, in which he again was named in Souths best.
So you have ventured out to watch him play once. That being versus Norwood, I think its fair to say guns like Gibson would of stolen your attention. Im sick to death of defending Otten but he hasnt had a game under 20 possesions yet and he is playing for South dont forget. As for his strengths from the 3 games I have seen him play plus one on the tv Id say obviously his knack to find the ball, his great size and he never looks like he is running flat out yet rarely gets caught or shown up for lack of pace. His disposal is good and bag him from your armchair all you want but his 2nd a 3rd efforts are very promising for a rookie. Look forward to seeing Andy smash the legs this round:thumbsu:
Yeah, I’m going to travel 70 minutes down to Noarlunga to see Otten play, even though it’s not my team and even though it’s on TV. :rolleyes: Get real.
That’s the opinion I’ve got on Otten, I love it how you make it seem as though I want him delisted and how that would satisfy me. He’s shown some good signs and he’s only very young, but my I’m allowed to form my own opinion.
And yeah, I'm looking forward to the Legs continue to send the Panthers back down to Earth.
Freddy Bassett
22 Apr 2008, 18:58
Yeah, I’m going to travel 70 minutes down to Noarlunga to see Otten play, even though it’s not my team and even though it’s on TV. :rolleyes: Get real.
That’s the opinion I’ve got on Otten, I love it how you make it seem as though I want him delisted and how that would satisfy me. He’s shown some good signs and he’s only very young, but my I’m allowed to form my own opinion.
And yeah, I'm looking forward to the Legs continue to send the Panthers back down to Earth.
I will bet you a Coopers we smash you and Otten gets 20 plus touches for the 5th week in a row! And even though it will be hard to not watch Walker, glimpse over at Otten every now and then.
Freddy Bassett
26 Apr 2008, 01:15
BUMP!
Drummond
26 Apr 2008, 01:17
BUMP!
See my post in the SANFL thread. Was exceptional tonight, BOG by a fair way.
Freddy Bassett
26 Apr 2008, 01:24
See my post in the SANFL thread. Was exceptional tonight, BOG by a fair way.
Just stirring mate. As a Crows supporter I couldnt be any more pumped with how our lads went tonight.
As for Otten tonight that is how he has been every game Ive been to this year but without the big grabs up forward. It was by no means his best tonight and Im sure you would agree he could do a lot better in coming weeks. But, Norwood showed him no respect at all and will be interesting to see how he goes when teams man up on him. He may be playing a bit up forward from now on aswell.
Andy Otten is a fkn gun, doenst just dominate football, he dominates life, GO RICK!
Freddy Bassett
27 Apr 2008, 14:24
Andy Otten is a fkn gun, doenst just dominate football, he dominates life, GO RICK!
Tell us, whats so special abut Andy?
seababoon
29 Apr 2008, 17:29
"Otten was Oakleigh's B&F winner in the 2007 TAC Cup season and was also a member of its 2006 premiership side. He was a prolific ball winner in the 2007 season averaging 26 disposals while averaging the second-most contested possessions in the competition. Standing at 191cm he was used as a midfielder and was just as good overhead as he was at ground-level, grabbing the equal fourth-most contested marks while averaging 10 groundball-gets per game."
seems pretty hard at the ball judging by that player profile..
betterthanu
29 Apr 2008, 17:30
"Otten was Oakleigh's B&F winner in the 2007 TAC Cup season and was also a member of its 2006 premiership side. He was a prolific ball winner in the 2007 season averaging 26 disposals while averaging the second-most contested possessions in the competition. Standing at 191cm he was used as a midfielder and was just as good overhead as he was at ground-level, grabbing the equal fourth-most contested marks while averaging 10 groundball-gets per game."
seems pretty hard at the ball judging by that player profile..
jack of all trades, master of many
Eastern Crow
29 Apr 2008, 21:23
As reported on afc.com
Andy Otten’s versatility was underlined by his influential four-goal effort for South Adelaide in the SANFL on Anzac Day.
The 18-year-old midfielder, who has averaged 24 possessions per game this season, helped turned the match with four second half goals in South’s revival against Norwood on Friday night. The game finished in a draw after South trailed by five goals at half-time.
Shifted to centre half-forward, Otten took some contested marks in the attacking area and still finished with 28 possessions.
Kicks: 19
Handballs: 5
Marks: 13
Goals: 4.2
how many senior sanfl games has Andy played, 4?
I am amazed that people question this lads ability, Andy has walked in from U/18's footy and is delivering these types performances
During pre-season I compared Andy Otten with Embly, many thought the kid may lack the capability to push forward and kick goals, obviously not
Memo to Andy
Lad you are a gun in the making, hope you debut this week :thumbsu:
Stephen2
29 Apr 2008, 21:34
finished with 28 possessions.
Eh? 28 or 24?
Anyway, what a game by Otten.. With Danger, Otten & Walker, I KNOW we got at least 3 guns last year. :thumbsu:
Here's hoping the others we picked up are just as good!
hippyhippy
29 Apr 2008, 21:36
As reported on afc.com
Andy Otten’s versatility was underlined by his influential four-goal effort for South Adelaide in the SANFL on Anzac Day.
The 18-year-old midfielder, who has averaged 24 possessions per game this season, helped turned the match with four second half goals in South’s revival against Norwood on Friday night. The game finished in a draw after South trailed by five goals at half-time.
Shifted to centre half-forward, Otten took some contested marks in the attacking area and still finished with 28 possessions.
Marks: 13
Goals: 4.2
how many senior sanfl games has Andy played, 4?
I am amazed that people question this lads ability, Andy has walked in from U/18's footy and is delivering these types performances
During pre-season I compared Andy Otten with Embly, many thought the kid may lack the capability to push forward and kick goals, obviously not
Memo to Andy
Lad you are a gun in the making, hope you debut this week :thumbsu:
Please someone tell Craigy about this guy ... thats a superstar performance ... just demands attention! who said he couldnt play kpp??
seababoon
29 Apr 2008, 21:47
who will craig take out of the team if he puts him in though..?.. obviously he wont come into the team to play in a key position.. so he wont replace mcgregor.. and i doubt they'd drop shirley, cause he's craig's love child, and he is also doing some what of a role at the moment.. can only think of mackay having a rest for otten to come in.. and then eventually reilly will come into the team.. therefore taking mackay's position.. there might not even be a spot for him this year.. and mackay may lose his
hm i hope that all made sense.. i wrote it in a rush due to dinner being on the table
who will craig take out of the team if he puts him in though..?.. obviously he wont come into the team to play in a key position.. so he wont replace mcgregor.. and i doubt they'd drop shirley, cause he's craig's love child, and he is also doing some what of a role at the moment.. can only think of mackay having a rest for otten to come in.. and then eventually reilly will come into the team.. therefore taking mackay's position.. there might not even be a spot for him this year.. and mackay may lose his
hm i hope that all made sense.. i wrote it in a rush due to dinner being on the table
Mackay is the obvious candidate. His R5 & R6 performance haven't had the same sparkle as R1-4, so he's probably due for a run in the SANFL to freshen up.
Even so, Otten would want to have an outstanding debut or he'll only last one game - with Reilly due back after the break. Then again, odds are we'll lose someone else to injury so that might open up another slot.
seababoon
29 Apr 2008, 21:58
hm true.. mind you mackay only played 52 mins against carlton, and had 9 possesions or so, so i guess he's being eased into afl, so a rest wouldnt be out of the question.. at least its good to know our recruiting looks good this year, possibly best draft picks we've ever had?.. as in potential for the future
Vic Crow
29 Apr 2008, 22:09
I would like to see Otten come in for Mackay. Nothing against D-Mac. He's shown us all a lot, but I reckon it's time for a run in the SANFL. He can make way for his former Oakleigh Chargers team mate. :)
hm true.. mind you mackay only played 52 mins against carlton, and had 9 possesions or so, so i guess he's being eased into afl, so a rest wouldnt be out of the question.. at least its good to know our recruiting looks good this year, possibly best draft picks we've ever had?.. as in potential for the future
Lets not be too hasty on the "greatest draft ever" claims. Worth remembering that Jacky is the ONLY player from our 2007 draft crop to have made their debut yet. Looks good for now, but lets wait a year or two before passing judgement.
Right now I'm pretty happy with the 2006 draft. Tippett & Mackay both look like being something truly special. Gill was drafted for a purpose and is definitely AFL standard in ability - though his body lets him down. Sellar is the ONLY one who has not yet made his debut from this draft.
seababoon
29 Apr 2008, 22:20
i like the looks of sellar actually, even if his sanfl form hasnt been too crash hot.. as someone said in another post before, he seems like the type of player that would rise to the occasion if given the chance at afl level..
as for jacky.. hm.. i dunno.. im not that much of a fan from what ive seen..
Drummond
29 Apr 2008, 23:30
i like the looks of sellar actually, even if his sanfl form hasnt been too crash hot.. as someone said in another post before, he seems like the type of player that would rise to the occasion if given the chance at afl level..
No offence, but I think EVERY single youngster on our list has had the exact same thing said about them. Kind of lost all meaning by now.
And as for Jacky, I tend to agree.
seababoon
29 Apr 2008, 23:38
no offense taken.. but i am new to this board as of today, so i havent really read every single opinion, only certain things.. i just agree with who-ever it was that said that about sellar
Johnny Rutten
30 Apr 2008, 02:06
THE most impressive thing about Andy Otten is that I can't ever remember a young Crows' recruit ever performing better in his first month of SANFL footy as he has.
He's been in the best players every week... and, he has seemingly effortlessly made the transition from playing against boys to playing against men.
Must surely, at least be an emergency this week.
Freddy Bassett
30 Apr 2008, 02:24
THE most impressive thing about Andy Otten is that I can't ever remember a young Crows' recruit ever performing better in his first month of SANFL footy as he has.
He's been in the best players every week... and, he has seemingly effortlessly made the transition from playing against boys to playing against men.
Must surely, at least be an emergency this week.
Very true Johnny. Ive been lucky enough to see him four times in the flesh and each time I left excited. I watched him closely on Friday and I can assure you one thing, he had a lot more touches than 24 that he was given credit for. Id be surprised if he didnt get closer to thirty. Im mates with the South statatician who thought he got 28.
fightingdreamer88
30 Apr 2008, 02:28
oceanic baboon, don't worry about Jacky. He'll be a very good player in time. :thumbsu:
Crow-mo
30 Apr 2008, 02:28
No offence, but I think EVERY single youngster on our list has had the exact same thing said about them. Kind of lost all meaning by now.
no offense but no they haven't ;)
doppelganger47
30 Apr 2008, 02:54
wouldn't mind seeing him debut by mid-season. he deserves it, but not sure if they'd be able to squeeze him into the squad.
Thunderstruck
30 Apr 2008, 12:04
I'd love to see him get a few games just to strut his stuff. Is already progressing at the speed Knights did and adjusted to SANFL footy very well. Carving it with possies and importantly goals which is pleasing. Needs to look a bit more polished at times but good times ahead with Otten in our midfield.
Vince Van Mackay
30 Apr 2008, 12:25
no offense but no they haven't ;)
I gotta ask Crow-mo, do receive royalties from smiley use on this forum? In nearly every one of your posts you include a smiley, are you not convinced of the content of your post standing on its own?
I'm curious, does it add something extra that you feel your posts are missing, a certain obviousness?
Anyway on topic, I didn't see Andy Otten's game in person but I did listen to it on the radio, and from the sounds of it was a very good game, and I would not be upset if he did debut this week, after that performance and previous consistent performances in the SANFL.
Coopers
30 Apr 2008, 13:32
So, can someone give a good description of Andy Otten?
Not having seen him, I'm wondering:
Is he an outside/inside midfielder or KPP? Tall enough to be the next Sea-Bass?
Has he got the big shoulders of the potential humungous Roo-like muscle man?
What style is his play? Where will he fit in best? In the SANFL he seems to kick goals - is he a leading half forward, or a midfielder who slips forward? Will we turn him into a running half back?
What's the go?
Stephen2
30 Apr 2008, 13:32
I gotta ask Crow-mo, do receive royalties from smiley use on this forum? In nearly every one of your posts you include a smiley, are you not convinced of the content of your post standing on its own?
I'm curious, does it add something extra that you feel your posts are missing, a certain obviousness?
Mate, good post, but it needs a smiley :thumbsu::):thumbsu::D:p
Coopers
30 Apr 2008, 13:34
Yes, it should in fact.
Smileys are 5 years ago. They are now emoticons.
Emoticons now exist to add tone to a statement.
You're supposed to imagine you are looking someone in the eye who is speaking and the Emoticons now compliment the words to add body language.
Vince Van Mackay
30 Apr 2008, 15:30
Yes, it should in fact.
Smileys are 5 years ago. They are now emoticons.
You're supposed to imagine you are looking someone in the eye who is speaking and the Emoticons now compliment the words to add body language.
Are they for people who lack the capability to insert meaning or intent into the things they write?
For instance, if you going to be sarcastic, I don't see the point of inserting a smiley, or emoticon as you say into a post to make it obvious, it defeats the whole purpose of making a joke or being sarcastic.
RichosGuns
30 Apr 2008, 15:36
And who said it was a shit draft?
macca23
30 Apr 2008, 16:55
And you'd be right Drummond. :) :thumbsu:
Just on Otten, Reid was on 5AA last night and started talking about Otten. He got as far as saying that he cannot remember any other young draftee coming into the SANFL and making such an immediate impact.
He was going to talk further about Otten but bucket mouth Cunningham talked right over the top of him on some totally irrelevant subject and the topic was lost.
Needless to say, it's obvious that the club rates Otten very highly, so he will almost certainly get a game this year when the opportunity presents itself.
Markthirtytwo
30 Apr 2008, 17:56
Yes, it should in fact.
Smileys are 5 years ago. They are now emoticons. :confused::eek::mad:
Political correctness is now about whether a smiley is now called a emoticon?
FFS what next. :(:rolleyes::thumbsd:
Crow-mo
30 Apr 2008, 18:38
Yes I do. don't you? maybe you need a better agent :)
they make them more noticeable. like you for instance, who obviously follows every one of my posts closely, notices the finer details and is clearly worried they might miss one.
would you like a signed copy of my little red book: Thoughts of Chairman Mo? :thumbsu:
Freddy Bassett
30 Apr 2008, 18:54
So, can someone give a good description of Andy Otten?
Not having seen him, I'm wondering:
Is he an outside/inside midfielder or KPP? Tall enough to be the next Sea-Bass?
Has he got the big shoulders of the potential humungous Roo-like muscle man?
What style is his play? Where will he fit in best? In the SANFL he seems to kick goals - is he a leading half forward, or a midfielder who slips forward? Will we turn him into a running half back?
What's the go?
Ive only seen Andy play 4 times but from what Ive seen...
He certainly isnt an outside midfielder who holds on to the ball and breaks lines with pace. He never looks like he is running at 100%, but always looks like he has plenty of time and rarely gets caught with the ball.Has great hands and just has that knack of reading the play and knowing where to go. But in saying that he isnt the kind of bloke you would expect to crash packs or to be on the bottom of packs all day long. A lot of people have compared him to Andrew Embley. Im not so sure. If I had to compare him to anyone in the AFL Id compare him to Adam Goodes in that he plays as a midfielder for Souths, is as tall as a KPP ( in the SANFL) and is well built for his age without being solid.He isnt overly fast but certainly isnt slow. He is the perfect modern day player sizewise. Sure he doesnt have the Goodes x-factor genius but he is only young .
Definately could be the next 'seabass' as you call him. But I think he will be better suited to the other end of the ground. He seems to have very very good hands and will be a hard guy to match up on as most guys who can stay with him will struggle in the air to compete with him. From what Ive seen runs hard all day long.
As for being the next Roo with big shoulders, no. If you went out and watched StPeters or PAC old collegians play this weekend you will see a dozen Andy Ottens on each side looks wise and attitude wise. Not saying he is soft but he certainly doesnt go to bed at night dreaming about knocking blokes out. In other words he is no tear away fast bowler, he would be a classy batsman! Cant see him getting into too many pub brawls! He would hang out with Douglas not Pfeiffer!:D
In the SANFL he has only played limited time up forward but with great success. He generally plays as a true centreman, rarely leaving the centre square. The South boys look for him at all costs ,they hold him in the highest regard. Admittedly he has been shown no respect by oppositions so far. Will be great to see him get tagged soon to see how he copes with it.In time he may get this role in the AFL but obviously as a rookie he will need to cut his teeth in a less prominent position. I havent seen him play as a defender yet but Im sure he would go ok. I would love to see him play as a mobile half forward flank who could drift forward and hurt teams with his height. On Friday vs Norwood his grabs up forward were strong contested marks I can only dream that we will start seeing Sellar produce. Not bad for his 5th game versus men. He finished off with ease.
The three positions you have asked whether he could play are the three possibilities for him IMO. As a midfielder who pushes forward would be where he is best suited but not an easy spot for a kid to get. So i could imagine him in his early days playing as a half forward flanker and who knows NC may want to turn him into a running defender.
Vince Van Mackay
30 Apr 2008, 18:54
Yes I do. don't you? maybe you need a better agent :)
they make them more noticeable. like you for instance, who obviously follows every one of my posts closely, notices the finer details and is clearly worried they might miss one.
would you like a signed copy of my little red book: Thoughts of Chairman Mo? :thumbsu:
Sorry, I suggest you increase this posts smiley inclusion by atleast 15%.
Crow-mo
30 Apr 2008, 19:28
Sorry, I suggest you increase this posts smiley inclusion by atleast 15%.
who do I make the inscription out to?
I wouldn't want it to be too difficult for you to understand. :cool:
Campbell's Chunky
30 Apr 2008, 19:33
As for being the next Roo with big shoulders, no. If you went out and watched StPeters or PAC old collegians play this weekend you will see a dozen Andy Ottens on each side looks wise and attitude wise. Get off it mate.
Hardest football club in the league.
Undefeated in all grades.
Look out for some more goals to come to Chunky in the near future too.
fightingdreamer88
30 Apr 2008, 20:56
Get off it mate.
Hardest football club in the league.
Undefeated in all grades.
Look out for some more goals to come to Chunky in the near future too.
The only truly undefeatable football club is FD88's, known as the Fighting Friends. We fight, but we're also friends. With FD88's explosive pace, agility and freak goal kicking ability, and....the other players....this team could quite easily account for any club that has a chunky can of soup involved. :D
vinnie_vegas69
30 Apr 2008, 21:43
Please someone tell Craigy about this guy ... thats a superstar performance ... just demands attention! who said he couldnt play kpp??
He's still not a KP - What he is is a wingman/centreman that is capable of utilising his size and overhead ability to pinch hit in the forward line.
I had Otten in my Top 10 in last year's draft - Needless to say, I'm a huge fan of his. Has an uncanny knack for finding the ball, particularly for a player of his size. Could become a Chad Cornes type, and while you Crows fans might hate the Power b**tard, you have to admit he's a pretty handy player.
Crowman32
30 Apr 2008, 21:47
Very true Johnny. Ive been lucky enough to see him four times in the flesh and each time I left excited. I watched him closely on Friday and I can assure you one thing, he had a lot more touches than 24 that he was given credit for. Id be surprised if he didnt get closer to thirty. Im mates with the South statatician who thought he got 28.
I was at the game as well and I thought Otten had more than 24 possessions, it seemed like at least 30. He just seemed to be involved in everything whether that was linking up in the play or taking a mark up forward. On the AFC website they accredited him with 28 possessions as well. Ever who was at the norwood/south game last Friday wouldve been pretty excited with what Otten showed.
Capitalist
1 May 2008, 18:18
would surely be pissed
Drummond
1 May 2008, 18:21
would surely be pissed
Why does the AFC love Jacky so much? 6 possessions and a goal last week, while spending large periods of the time on the bench. Not to mention he just came back from his AFL debut that wasn’t warranted.
Jacky is named an emergency after 6 possessions, Otten had 25 possessions and 4 goals and can't even crack the emergency list.
ams4crows
1 May 2008, 18:21
would surely be pissed
absolutley! as am I a little bit but even more pissed would be Maric carves it up in the SANFL last couple of weeks then the AFC goes for the 6 posession getter!
IddyBiddy
1 May 2008, 18:22
would surely be pissed
Got to agree. Not even the tokenistic emergency placement? It's hard to understand, but it appears its a direct forward for forward swap this week. If DMac lost his place it would have been to Otten.
Southerntakeover
1 May 2008, 18:48
absolutley! as am I a little bit but even more pissed would be Maric carves it up in the SANFL last couple of weeks then the AFC goes for the 6 posession getter!
You're actually mad that Jimmy's debuting? :eek:
As glad as I am to see Jimmy debuting, am a little disappointed to not see Otten. Think he has done enough to get a look in, maybe for D- Mac, would imagine Otten is getting a tad frustrated, could have been named emergency at least.
Why does the AFC love Jacky so much? 6 possessions and a goal last week, while spending large periods of the time on the bench. Not to mention he just came back from his AFL debut that wasn’t warranted.
Jacky is named an emergency after 6 possessions, Otten had 25 possessions and 4 goals and can't even crack the emergency list.
Jeez Drumm, with that kind of talk Jacky's going to come out and kick six this week:o
cmndstab
2 May 2008, 13:49
Now that Symes has been dropped and Jacky is in the main squad, Otten has made the emergency list for the first time (right?) - hopefully he's not far away from debut!
I don't think they replace emergencies? If anyone else goes down I think Maric or McGregor has to come in?:confused:
Otten was listed as an emergency for the R5 game (vs Fremantle).
I don't think they replace emergencies? If anyone else goes down I think Maric or McGregor has to come in?:confused:
This (http://www.afc.com.au/tabid/4417/Default.aspx?newsid=58883) article on afc.com.au would tend to indicate otherwise.
Otten has been promoted to the emergency list to replace Jacky, joining McGregor and ruckman Ivan Maric.
I guess they're allowed to do it, provided they do it early enough.
Otten was listed as an emergency for the R5 game (vs Fremantle).
This (http://www.afc.com.au/tabid/4417/Default.aspx?newsid=58883) article on afc.com.au would tend to indicate otherwise.
I guess they're allowed to do it, provided they do it early enough.
If you're going to replace emergencies it seems to defeat the purpose:o
Drummond
2 May 2008, 14:59
If you're going to replace emergencies it seems to defeat the purpose:o
So what do you suggest they do, only have 2 emergencies? Lets say Bock, Bassett and van Berlo are late withdrawals, sorry, you can only replace two of them.
Think about it.
So what do you suggest they do, only have 2 emergencies? Lets say Bock, Bassett and van Berlo are late withdrawals, sorry, you can only replace two of them.
Think about it.
By the same logic what if Bock, Bassett, Van Berlo and Knights are late withdrawls? Then you can only replace 3 of them;)
I get what you're saying, it just seems a little weird.
Drummond
2 May 2008, 15:12
By the same logic what if Bock, Bassett, Van Berlo and Knights are late withdrawls? Then you can only replace 3 of them;)
I get what you're saying, it just seems a little weird.
No, you bring in another.
My understanding was that clubs have till 24 hours before game time to make a change to the 25 man squad without penalty, so taking Symes out of the squad, promoting Jacky and making Otten an emergency is OK.
Within 24 hours of the game, I think any changes to the 25 are met with a fine from the AFL - theoretically, half a team could eat dodgy prawns at the pre-match dinner, or something.
cmndstab
2 May 2008, 15:41
Yes, I believe what marvin says is correct. In much the same way that you can change your 22 a day before gameday if you like, you can also change your emergencies before gameday as well. The whole "emergencies getting subbed in" thing really only occurs on gameday itself.
You can do it at any stage if you are willing to pay the fine I thought which isn't much for the AFC.
Otten very unlucky in my view.