View Full Version : Gene Simmons

Dippers Donuts
6 Aug 2002, 21:28
Any one else read his autobiography (of sorts) "Kiss and makeup"?

Very funny (not always intentionally) and naturally fairly raunchy.

He claims to have screwed over 4600 women and has polaroids of all of them to boot.

Absolutely pays out big time on Ace Frehley and Peter Criss; dismissing them as no hoper, drugged out, alcoholics who can no longer remember how to play their own songs.

Not the smartest guy but always seemed to have the marketing knack (I've still got my kiss lunchbox somewhere).

Good read.

oh_my_hat
6 Aug 2002, 22:09
You're the first person that I seen that said it is worth a read DD, most opinions I have seen thought that it was a load of hogwash.

I am a big KISS fan but I don't believe half of the tripe that comes of of GENE $IMMON$ mouth. It's all for the almighty buck.

Savatage
6 Aug 2002, 22:54
He's a fat ****, the book was interesting in parts. Some was contradictory.

Sell out ****.

NICK THE PIE MAN
7 Aug 2002, 20:02
Nope,
but im currently reading Ozzy Osbourne's unofficial autobiograpghy, "Ozzy Unauthorised" that my parents gave me for my birthday.

A great look at his life. How that man stayed alive I will never know!

Darky
8 Aug 2002, 00:34
I'm reading David Lee Roth's "Crazy From The Heat" auto-biog (still) :P

On very good terms with himself is Diamond Dave, but it's a great read.

Savatage
9 Aug 2002, 00:47
Darky- finished DLR's book. Brilliant read.

Currently just finished Bruce Campbell's (mr Evil Dead himself) autobiography. Great read.

Rusty Brookes
9 Aug 2002, 11:06
Originally posted by Savatage
Darky- finished DLR's book. Brilliant read.

Currently just finished Bruce Campbell's (mr Evil Dead himself) autobiography. Great read.

Sav, where did you score the Bruce Campbell autobiography? I'd love to score a copy of that myself.

Hank Jones
9 Aug 2002, 11:51
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Sav, where did you score the Bruce Campbell autobiography? I'd love to score a copy of that myself.

Ditto!

Savatage
9 Aug 2002, 14:30
It's a ripper guys! Bruce is a ****ing legend!

Rusty - I've seen them in Boarders bookshops, maybe check that out first. Otherwise guys, try www.amazon.com - a couple of weeks later I had my copy.

Hail to the king baby!

Rusty Brookes
9 Aug 2002, 15:12
Originally posted by Savatage
It's a ripper guys! Bruce is a ****ing legend!

Rusty - I've seen them in Boarders bookshops, maybe check that out first. Otherwise guys, try www.amazon.com - a couple of weeks later I had my copy.

Hail to the king baby!

Cheers, Savatage. Can't wait to read it.

windyhill
10 Aug 2002, 01:10
I have Gene`s book, good in parts, boring in others. He does love the $$$$, painfully obvious, but good luck to him. I reckon ace`s would be a better read if he could remember half the stuff he got up to. Simmons seems a very straight sort of bloke.
Ace and Peter seemed to have more fun.

mandy
11 Aug 2002, 16:50
Originally posted by Dippers Donuts
Any one else read his autobiography (of sorts) "Kiss and makeup"?

I read it the other weekend. Wasn't bad. I don't think there were any great surprises.

Black Majesty
11 Aug 2002, 16:57
any of you going along to his talk show in melb.

windyhill
11 Aug 2002, 20:36
Originally posted by Black Majesty
A mates interested, maybe.....just filling his coffers wouldn`t you think ?

Black Majesty
12 Aug 2002, 11:00
well he spells his name with a capital $ - lining his pockets...you betchya!

kristin5
12 Aug 2002, 14:46
Yeah, I've read it - not too bad, but I wish he himself got up to a lot more, like Motley Crue did! I read their book the other day (called 'The Dirt') and thought it was a very interesting read - they got into heaps of stuff!

Black Majesty
12 Aug 2002, 17:16
The Dirt is probably the best rock book out there. Excellent

mandy
12 Aug 2002, 23:38
Originally posted by Black Majesty

OK. Call me a ****. I just paid $145 to go.

Black Majesty
13 Aug 2002, 16:43
exellent..lol

Docker_Brat
13 Aug 2002, 16:55
Originally posted by mandy5

OK. Call me a ****. I just paid $145 to go.
Sweet merciful crap!!!! The concert was cheaper.

mandy
14 Aug 2002, 19:12
Originally posted by Docker_Brat

Sweet merciful crap!!!! The concert was cheaper.

Tell me about it. And these tickets were "middle of the road" types. Some people are paying a lot more than me.

Black Majesty
15 Aug 2002, 09:48
Gene deserves your money..give til it hurts...you will love it