View Full Version : Carlton vs Adelaide
MurphyBettsGibbs
20 Apr 2008, 19:27
Just back from the 'G'. A solid performance from the boys today. In the first quarter the way we were able to switch the play and create run from the backline was immense. We didn't really make the most of this but what a feeling sitting 6 goals up at half time. (and 50 at 3/4 time).
Was a little disappointed we didn't go for the kill in the last quarter, but it seemed that that's what the players were instructed to do. Get through the game, no injuries and prepare for a massive challenge against the Crows.
Changes for this week for mind would be
IN Gibbs, Hartlett
OUT O'Hailpin, Bentick
Hartlett was impressive for the Ants, seemed desperate in his forward line pressure, tackling and would be a better support for Fev at the moment.
O'Hailpin needs some games in the twos. Play in the forward line and get some touch, looks lost at times. Does do some good things but is not really a threat to the opposition. Has all the tools, but probably just needs some time playing forward. He seems a bit re-active just now
Bentick looked slow and had no impact. Hopefully he can break back into the side and is not our equivalent to Woewodin. Great in the twos but no impact in the seniors. Our midfield this year looks very good and getting better every week. For the first time in years our players can afford to run ahead of the packs, confident of winning the stoppage.
On another note, from the Bullants game. Ellard was impressive, his disposal needs work, but he seems to have that ability to burst open the game. Would be worth a try to team up with Eddie in the forward line.
Armfield's pressure is good, but had a quiet game overall...
Back to next weeks game, I think we have very good chance to keep this winning form going. The backline is playing with confidence and with Judd, Murphy, Stevens and co feeding Fev and Hartlett I'm confident we can create enough opportunities.
GO Blues!!
blue gunslinger
20 Apr 2008, 19:29
Agree with you 100%
Hope Ellard gets a chance soon!
marcmurphy3
20 Apr 2008, 19:33
Yep agree with everything you said.
Also I can see our backline matchups looking like.
Jamo on Goodwin at FB
Waite on McGreggor at CHB
Thornton/Bower on Burton
Marc Shmurf 3
20 Apr 2008, 19:44
massive chance this week
Ins Gibbs & Hartlett
Outs O'hAilpin & Pfeiffer
massive chance this week
Ins Gibbs & Hartlett
Really...is he injuried.. because i thought he played well today.???
I'm just hoping Thornton doesn't get rubbed out! Or else that would see the return of Saddington.
CarltonFan
20 Apr 2008, 19:56
I'm just hoping Thornton doesn't get rubbed out! Or else that would see the return of Saddington.
they would switch O'hAilpin back to defence if this eventuated.
and i think saddington was injured and didnt play yesterday.
cfc_4_ever
20 Apr 2008, 20:00
I like Darren, but he really annoyed me when he had that shot at from 50 out. I think it was the 3rd or maybe early 4th quarter. Stevens was still running and nothing about the kick was to the advantage of any of the forwards. But I hope that they persist with him.
Just Gibbs and Bentick for me
blue gunslinger
20 Apr 2008, 20:06
No way is that worth a week!
FevolasFox
20 Apr 2008, 20:12
We are safe there brother! :thumbsu:
I hope so.. cos I wouldn't put it past Vlad to try anyway to unbalance our team this week...
Wait for a Caro article saying that Thornton's little whack was the worst thing she's ever seen on a football field, and that she's had comments from mothers saying how sick they felt seeing that.
cfc_4_ever
20 Apr 2008, 20:16
No way is that worth a week!
Does he have any lingering points??? He dosent have the best record. I mean is there any chance that it will be pushed to a week??? I have been rattling my brain but I cant think of any points that he might have in the bag. Does anyone know for sure??
blue gunslinger
20 Apr 2008, 20:21
Regardless it was so soft. He didn't exactly elbow a guy in the face when he had him pinned to the ground. Match review will have bigger fish to fry!
Azzurri Blues
20 Apr 2008, 20:24
I like Darren, but he really annoyed me when he had that shot at from 50 out. I think it was the 3rd or maybe early 4th quarter. Stevens was still running and nothing about the kick was to the advantage of any of the forwards. But I hope that they persist with him.
Just Gibbs and Bentick for me
i saw that too... fevs was dirty with him too...
Marc Shmurf 3
20 Apr 2008, 20:32
O'hAilpin is sadly out of form and we need another forwar option = Enter Hartlett
Gibbs was a late withdrawal = Pfeiffer was ok both last week and this week but i dont think he has done enough to keep his position. Bentick especially the way Adelaide play a hard in and under game will be more beneficial for us. thats my justification in keeping bentick rather than Pfeiffer
Blueinblood
20 Apr 2008, 20:34
Reports say Bannister has a hamstring injury
Can someone please tell me where Houlihan is?
(http://www.carltonfc.com.au/TheClub/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/7854/Default.aspx?playerid=14045&typeid=2)
Reports say Bannister has a hamstring injury
That's bad news, because he's been a rock.
AlecDuncan
20 Apr 2008, 20:39
On another note, from the Bullants game. Ellard was impressive, his disposal needs work, but he seems to have that ability to burst open the game. Would be worth a try to team up with Eddie in the forward line.
I watched the game on ABC, and both Ellard and Joseph were pretty good.
Bentick deserves another chance against Crows, they have given Russell heaps of chances so I think Bentick deserves at least one more.
Out: Russell
In: Gibbs
Lebron-23
20 Apr 2008, 21:39
Just back from the 'G'. A solid performance from the boys today. In the first quarter the way we were able to switch the play and create run from the backline was immense. We didn't really make the most of this but what a feeling sitting 6 goals up at half time. (and 50 at 3/4 time).
Was a little disappointed we didn't go for the kill in the last quarter, but it seemed that that's what the players were instructed to do. Get through the game, no injuries and prepare for a massive challenge against the Crows.
Changes for this week for mind would be
IN Gibbs, Hartlett
OUT O'Hailpin, Bentick
Hartlett was impressive for the Ants, seemed desperate in his forward line pressure, tackling and would be a better support for Fev at the moment.
O'Hailpin needs some games in the twos. Play in the forward line and get some touch, looks lost at times. Does do some good things but is not really a threat to the opposition. Has all the tools, but probably just needs some time playing forward. He seems a bit re-active just now
Bentick looked slow and had no impact. Hopefully he can break back into the side and is not our equivalent to Woewodin. Great in the twos but no impact in the seniors. Our midfield this year looks very good and getting better every week. For the first time in years our players can afford to run ahead of the packs, confident of winning the stoppage.
Armfield's pressure is good, but had a quiet game overall...
Back to next weeks game, I think we have very good chance to keep this winning form going. The backline is playing with confidence and with Judd, Murphy, Stevens and co feeding Fev and Hartlett I'm confident we can create enough opportunities.
GO Blues!!
Thinkin ya bein a bit hard on AB there, played well under half the game and seemed a hell of alot quicker than normal.. Also a few times there was about 4 blokes hangin onto him and he managed to get the hands out to our players.. Did ya see who got the awesome hard ball get to give to scotland to give to Judd for his amazing running goal?:thumbsu:
a1118374
20 Apr 2008, 21:52
Thinkin ya bein a bit hard on AB there, played well under half the game and seemed a hell of alot quicker than normal.. Also a few times there was about 4 blokes hangin onto him and he managed to get the hands out to our players.. Did ya see who got the awesome hard ball get to give to scotland to give to Judd for his amazing running goal?:thumbsu:
maybe he his, but i still think he has to be first to go. like pfeiffer. esp vs old team
Thornton should be ok. Just reckless. Nothing in it at all. What a pity it would be if Banno missed due to injury. He's been awesome this year, and most certainly would have gotten a job vs Adelaide. In fact, reckon he might have gotten the job on Goodwin.
Blue Dimension
20 Apr 2008, 21:58
In: Hartlett, Gibbs
Out: O'hAilpin, Grigg/Russell
Don't understand how people can justify Pfeiffer being dropped ahead of Grigg. Pfeiffer puts his body in each and every time. Grigg seems to be a weak link along with Russel and Irish at this point in time.
I would like to see the Ratt-meister unleash Pfeiffer in the middy against the Crows and let them now what they're missing out on. Crows midfield is weak and he would carve up against his old club.
Banga19
20 Apr 2008, 22:01
In: Hartlett, Gibbs
Out: O'hAilpin, Grigg/Russell
Don't understand how people can justify Pfeiffer being dropped ahead of Grigg. Pfeiffer puts his body in each and every time. Grigg seems to be a weak link along with Russel and Irish at this point in time.
Thoguht he had a good first half but faded. I agree that Pfeiffer shouldn't be dropped but I'm happy to be giving Grigg a go. He is significantly younger than Russ or Setanta and probably already showing more, so I'm happy for him to remain.
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:02
O'hAilpin is sadly out of form and we need another forwar option = Enter Hartlett
Gibbs was a late withdrawal = Pfeiffer was ok both last week and this week but i dont think he has done enough to keep his position. Bentick especially the way Adelaide play a hard in and under game will be more beneficial for us. thats my justification in keeping bentick rather than Pfeiffer
Agree on the Setanta call, but Pfeiffer would be very stiff. I like his attack on the ball, and I'd have both Bentick and Russell on the chopping block before him. Bentick was very ordinary, and with Judd and Hadley particularly good in tight, I'm not so sure if he's needed.
OUTS: O'hAilpin, Bentick (if Gibbs fit), Russell (if Houla fit)
INS: Hartlett, Gibbs (if fit), Houlihan (if fit)
EDIT: And reading above, I'd currently have Pfeiffer ahead of Grigg, as well.
massive chance this week
Ins Gibbs & Hartlett
fyfe out?! no way! he's been solid this year definitely keep him in.
bannister hurt his hammy apparently so he will be out.. so..
OUT: Bannister, Bentick, O'hAilpin
IN: Gibbs, Hampson, Houlihan (if fit).
That's what I'd like to see anyway.. but Hartlett will probably get the nod before Hampson.
Grigg could also get dropped because he was pretty quiet today too.
carltonfan43
20 Apr 2008, 22:13
Out: O'hAilpin, Russell, Bannister (apparently injured)
In: Hartlett, Gibbs, Houlihan (If Fit)
Give Bentick another chance this week. Hartlett looks like he could be the CHF we need.
Hayashi_62
20 Apr 2008, 22:18
I agree about getting Hartlett in and Setanta out as much as it pains me.
Why are people getting so excited about Hartlett, has he been awesome in the twos? Last year he couldn't take a mark.
DaveyBlues
20 Apr 2008, 22:22
What's the most Hartletts kicked in the VFL? I heard about Mitch Morton kicking 7 which earnt him his Richmond selection and made me think what does it take for a forward to get a gig in the seniors. He did play like a champion the the bullants tho, awsome on the lead. would definately have him in for Setant.
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 22:34
I would like to see the Ratt-meister unleash Pfeiffer in the middy against the Crows and let them now what they're missing out on. Crows midfield is weak and he would carve up against his old club.
Crows midfield is weak :confused:
McCleod, Goodwin, Edwards, Thompson, Proplyzia, Van Berlo supported by
Symes, 28 touches this week
Doughty, 28 touches this week
Vince, won showdown medal 2 weeks ago in the local derby
Douglas, averaging 20 touches per game and kicking goals
Not to mention Kights may return this week
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:42
Crows midfield is weak :confused:
McCleod, Goodwin, Edwards, Thompson, Proplyzia, Van Berlo supported by
Symes, 28 touches this week
Doughty, 28 touches this week
Vince, won showdown medal 2 weeks ago in the local derby
Douglas, averaging 20 touches per game and kicking goals
Not to mention Kights may return this week
Like most interstate sides, Crows players don't get much of a mention down here. you'd barely hear Welsh mentioned once he was with the Crows - not so anymore.
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 22:50
Like most interstate sides, Crows players don't get much of a mention down here. you'd barely hear Welsh mentioned once he was with the Crows - not so anymore.
Guys
Have a good look at Proplyzia, he is a gun, below his knees he is as good as G Ablett jnr
He is the Crows next big thing along with Tippett
Also Dangerfield may be a selection smokey, he is our 2007 1st round pick, however he is staying in Geelong to finish his year 12, he kicked 8 goals on the w/end playing in the midfield for the Geelong Falcons
IMO this kid is a Judd clone, 6ft, explosive and excellent at the stoppages
If Bannister is out I think Bentick may keep his place.
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:58
Guys
Have a good look at Proplyzia, he is a gun, below his knees he is as good as G Ablett jnr
Shirley will be shutting down, not doing the shutting down. I'd have thought Scott Thompson a much more important tagger target, plus Porplyzia is also good around the stoppages.
:)
Definitely rate him as a player.
He is the Crows next big thing along with Tippett
Tippet is a fckng dud he is one of the worst players I have ever seen and has never got more than like 40 points in Dream Team, it's just the crows have nobody else that's big to get excited about.
Unlike Carlton who have Kreuzer.
Also Dangerfield may be a selection smokey, he is our 2007 1st round pick, however he is staying in Geelong to finish his year 12, he kicked 8 goals on the w/end playing in the midfield for the Geelong Falcons
IMO this kid is a Judd clone, 6ft, explosive and excellent at the stoppages
Yeah I like the looks of Dangerfield but to call him a Judd clone... GET OUT!!! - NOW!!!
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 23:03
Tippet is a fckng dud he is one of the worst players I have ever seen and has never got more than like 40 points in Dream Team, it's just the crows have nobody else that's big to get excited about.
*facepalm*
Please, do not use DT points as an indicator of a player's ability. It might interest you to know Fev averaged 4 DT points in his first couple games, and then 45 in the season after that.
Tippett is a very good young forward prospect for the Crows - one of the few good talls they've had in recent memory (apart from Henschtel, who was decent before getting injured).
BLue_Bloys
20 Apr 2008, 23:04
Bahaha Queue Thylacine.....
down_with_rangas
20 Apr 2008, 23:06
Yeah I like the looks of Dangerfield but to call him a Judd clone... GET OUT!!! - NOW!!!
i concur in aabsolute. except the 'i like the looks of dangerfield' bit. i read the fitness analysis for him and apparently, he has aquired every possible retardation there is, and also a few more that have never been seen before.
good name though
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:09
Calm Down
Judd Clone in terms of a young Judd and similar physical qualities, his explosive speed and his ability to break from stoppages
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:11
Gozz
you have no idea, so you rate players by DT points - you idiot
Waite_30
20 Apr 2008, 23:12
Adelaide also play tempo footy so it could be a high possession game. Fev might find it hard against Rutten, Bock and Stevens, with the latter 2 protecting the spaces in front of Fev. Will be a massive challenge for our boys.
Drummond
20 Apr 2008, 23:16
What a joke. Why would it have been to the advantage of the forwards; he was taking a shot on goal. He can kick it 55 metres and that’s where he took the shot from, he had EVERY right to go back and take a shot.
And Fev spewing at him for not passing? Yeah, Fev’s one to talk. :rolleyes:
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 23:19
Adelaide also play tempo footy so it could be a high possession game. Fev might find it hard against Rutten, Bock and Stevens, with the latter 2 protecting the spaces in front of Fev. Will be a massive challenge for our boys.
Found it tough today against the Melbourne flood, but give him half a chance and he'll hurt you. But we do need our other forwards to stand up - get Harts him and throw him at CHF, because he's much more dangerous than Setanta. Also has a huge kick on him - we got the ball around 50/55 on a few occasions today, but couldn't penetrate deeper - give Harts the ball in that situation and he'll roost it home (though accuracy and distance are too completely different things).
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 23:20
What a joke. Why would it have been to the advantage of the forwards; he was taking a shot on goal. He can kick it 55 metres and that’s where he took the shot from, he had EVERY right to go back and take a shot.
Good to see you've lost none of your love for Pfeiffer. :thumbsu:
jarmanagic
20 Apr 2008, 23:20
I think it will be an interesting game. Adelaide midfield is a bit thin as a result of injury and needing to put Goodwin forward. However can I point out to you gentleman that we are likely to be harder to beat than Melbourne and also that whilst I dont doubt your young talent (+ Judd/Fevola ...most of the time) there are still some big holes in your side
Waite_30
20 Apr 2008, 23:21
Just in case some of you guys didn't know, this is Pfeiffer's debut season. He's been very good and handy for us thus far, he adds that toughness, and goes into contests really hard, something we've been lacking over the past few years.
Decision making isn't flash atm, but with experience, that will improve.
blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 23:22
I think it will be an interesting game. Adelaide midfield is a bit thin as a result of injury and needing to put Godwin forward. However can I point out to you gentleman that we are likely to be harder to beat than Melbourne and also that whilst I dont doubt your young talent (+ Judd/Fevola ...most of the time) there are still some big holes in your side
Playing at the 'G is a big positive for us, though - we (and particularly Fev) love playing there, Adelaide not so much. Agree that Adelaide will be tough to beat and we'll have to perform better than what we did today if we're to get over the line.
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:22
actually we have only played tempo footy twice this year, in the dying minutes of this weeks game and the dying minutes against Port, approximately for the same amount of time that you guys did against Melb today in the last few minutes, however you were 5 goals up
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:26
I think it will be an interesting game. Adelaide midfield is a bit thin as a result of injury and needing to put Godwin forward. However can I point out to you gentleman that we are likely to be harder to beat than Melbourne and also that whilst I dont doubt your young talent (+ Judd/Fevola ...most of the time) there are still some big holes in your side
Carlton will need to play 4 qtrs, if they put in 1 qtr like the last against Melb it could be game over
Blue Bawls
20 Apr 2008, 23:27
Big holes?? Where? Have a listen to malthouse had to say about Carlton - he pretty much said we are a complete team, and I agree. Cloke in ruck is gold with Kruezer excellent back up, our midfield one of the best in the comp, our forward structure is sound, and our backline continues to impress. Where are these holes?
jarmanagic
20 Apr 2008, 23:29
Big holes?? Where? Have a listen to malthouse had to say about Carlton - he pretty much said we are a complete team, and I agree. Cloke in ruck is gold with Kruezer excellent back up, our midfield one of the best in the comp, our forward structure is sound, and our backline continues to impress. Where are these holes?
Serious question? Do you want me to answer it?
Waite_30
20 Apr 2008, 23:30
We've got a young backline and with that comes inconsistency. We all saw them at their best against the Pies, but there is that factor of consistency.
Blue Bawls
20 Apr 2008, 23:30
Yes, Fev is one to talk and rightly so - he's a recognised goal kicker and is instructed to kick within is 60metre range. The spray at goal we saw today was wasteful when there were other options open.
gouldy_34
20 Apr 2008, 23:31
im thinking Hartlett, Ellard and Edwards... thought they all played pretty well against tassie. even young o'hailpin is looking better, still looks like a giant ape tho.. god he is a big unit!
Blue Bawls
Serious question? Do you want me to answer it?
Yes please. I really don't know where these "big holes" are.
Mike_blues
there are little holes in our defence but not big ones like it once was
our midfield is 2nd best behind geelongs :)
gouldy_34
20 Apr 2008, 23:34
Found it tough today against the Melbourne flood, but give him half a chance and he'll hurt you. But we do need our other forwards to stand up - get Harts him and throw him at CHF, because he's much more dangerous than Setanta. Also has a huge kick on him - we got the ball around 50/55 on a few occasions today, but couldn't penetrate deeper - give Harts the ball in that situation and he'll roost it home (though accuracy and distance are too completely different things).
haha u were coming home pretty strong there.. but then began to fish tail a bit
Waite_30
20 Apr 2008, 23:34
Big call.
Arguably top 5, IMO. Geelong, Hawks, Port and Dogs have better midfielders but with the emergence of Gibbs, Murphy and Walker, we'll soon be first.:)
gouldy_34
20 Apr 2008, 23:39
Big call.
Arguably top 5, IMO. Geelong, Hawks, Port and Dogs have better midfielders but with the emergence of Gibbs, Murphy and Walker, we'll soon be first.:)
should that have been "big call:" ?? :)
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:40
I will answer it
Back 6, today was one of the rare occassions your side has not conceded more than 100pts since the beginning of 2007, and lets be honest Melb are the worse side we have seen for a couple of seasons, however in the last qtr they were able to put on a score on the board
Rucks, Kruzer will develop into an elite player and Cloke is playing his role, however, they will also struggle at times
CHF, I certainly believe against good sides you need another option at CHF, especially at the MCG
jarmanagic
20 Apr 2008, 23:41
well you did lose 13 or 14 games in a row before 1 good win and 1 win versus the worst side in the comp, so you might think the rebuild not quite complete
ok
1. You have about 9-10 guys currently proven to be AFL level players. Now some of your young ones will develop no doubt and you will argue over some, but
Judd/Stevens/Fevola/Scotland/Murphy/Waite/Carazzo/Thornton maybe Simpson or Fisher, Walker if not injured
Kreuzer/Gibbs on the verge, not yet for mine proven AFL level players. Kreuzer going pretty quickly though
2. Ruck, I dont care how good Kreuzer will be he has played 3 games, not ready to lead a ruck week in week out. And before you mention Cloke.... or Ackland....
3. Backline. Big holes. Big. You leak goals most weeks.
Never mind the losing habits/culture that seep into a club struggling for a long time
This is not to say that you can't win this week, nor did I say we have a complete side, but.... more complete. I think everyone would agree, unless you had 13 unlucky defeats in a row
Blue Bawls
20 Apr 2008, 23:42
I watched the Adelaide game yesterday and it was an even worse spectacle than our game today. I hope we bounce back after our wobbly win and get back into the form we showed against Collingwood for the Crows just to be comfortable that we'll get over the line by a reasonable margin. But either way, I think we can win this match - I saw nothing in the Adelaide make-up or excecution that made me wonder how we might beat them.
King Elvis
20 Apr 2008, 23:45
I watched the Adelaide game yesterday and it was an even worse spectacle than our game today. I hope we bounce back after our wobbly win and get back into the form we showed against Collingwood for the Crows just to be comfortable that we'll get over the line by a reasonable margin. But either way, I think we can win this match - I saw nothing in the Adelaide make-up or excecution that made me wonder how we might beat them.
We played like shit yesterday, but we did enough - all we needed to do.
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:48
with Judd and 3 x #1 draft picks in your midfield their is no doubt that your on ball division is stacked with young potential
however
before you can stake such a claim, lets see players like Murphy and Gibbs deliver week in week out at the same level as other elite midfielders over a long journey
you obviously do not rate Hawthorn's midfield with Hodge, Sewell, Mitchell, Crawford, Lewis
If your midfield was ranked #2 tou would be in the top 4 right now
Blue Bawls
20 Apr 2008, 23:48
well you did lose 13 or 14 games in a row before 1 good win and 1 win versus the worst side in the comp, so you might think the rebuild not quite complete
ok
1. You have about 9-10 guys currently proven to be AFL level players. Now some of your young ones will develop no doubt and you will argue over some, but
Judd/Stevens/Fevola/Scotland/Murphy/Waite/Carazzo/Thornton maybe Simpson or Fisher, Walker if not injured
Kreuzer/Gibbs on the verge, not yet for mine proven AFL level players. Kreuzer going pretty quickly though
2. Ruck, I dont care how good Kreuzer will be he has played 3 games, not ready to lead a ruck week in week out. And before you mention Cloke.... or Ackland....
Never mind the losing habits/culture that seep into a club struggling for a long time
This is not to say that you can't win this week, nor did I say we have a complete side, but.... more complete. I think everyone would agree, unless you had 13 unlucky defeats in a row
I said Cloke was our main ruck with Kruezer back-up and we do pretty good in the centre.
But anyway, these big holes in the backline have since been filled or greatly reduced. We're still young there, but Jamison had another top game, Thornton and Waite are class, Scotland one of our major posession winners.
I think the mistake you're making is looking at Carlton of last year and you probably haven't watched the team close enough to see how we've improved week on week culminating in these two wins. But go ahead and underestimate us, it makes the wins all the more sweet. ;)
Carson_Kressley
20 Apr 2008, 23:50
hope we can make it 3 in a row
Eastern Crow
20 Apr 2008, 23:50
agree, we were ordinary this week, however we were able to win ugly
my question, has Carlton been able to play ordinary and win, except against a bottom side
jarmanagic
20 Apr 2008, 23:52
I said Cloke was our main ruck with Kruezer back-up and we do pretty good in the centre.
But anyway, these big holes in the backline have since been filled or greatly reduced. We're still young there, but Jamison had another top game, Thornton and Waite are class, Scotland one of our major posession winners.
I think the mistake you're making is looking at Carlton of last year and you probably haven't watched the team close enough to see how we've improved week on week culminating in these two wins. But go ahead and underestimate us, it makes the wins all the more sweet. ;)
No, I've seen a bit of you, and yes your best is excellent, but sustaining it.... ???Y ou've lost comfortably to Richmond and Essendon this month you know. And the Collingwood victory was good, but they are hardly going great
This game likely to be close, I'd have the line to Adelaide about 10 points, we are only going ok and have about 8 of our top 25 out but you might want to keep a lid on your flag chances just yet
Eastern Crow
21 Apr 2008, 00:00
No, I've seen a bit of you, and yes your best is excellent, but sustaining it.... ???Y ou've lost comfortably to Richmond and Essendon this month you know. And the Collingwood victory was good, but they are hardly going great
This game likely to be close, I'd have the line to Adelaide about 10 points, we are only going ok and have about 8 of our top 25 out but you might want to keep a lid on your flag chances just yet
you hit the nail on the head
Carlton will need a full 4 qtr effort, even today they were unable to sustain 4 qtr's against a very poor footy side
Carlton need all their stars to play well to win
this week, Burton, Edwards, Goodwin, Proplyzia, Thompson all had below par games and we were able to win, they rarely play 2 average games in a row
mediumsizered
21 Apr 2008, 00:01
I will answer it
Back 6, today was one of the rare occassions your side has not conceded more than 100pts since the beginning of 2007, and lets be honest Melb are the worse side we have seen for a couple of seasons, however in the last qtr they were able to put on a score on the board
Rucks, Kruzer will develop into an elite player and Cloke is playing his role, however, they will also struggle at times
CHF, I certainly believe against good sides you need another option at CHF, especially at the MCG
Actually today was the second week in a row we didn't concede 100 points. Sure Melbourne are struggling, but the Collingwood forward line of Rocca, Cloke, Medhurst, Thomas, Davis was apparently going to be too good for our inexperienced defence, but they only managed 88 points, a final score that was inflated by 2 goals in junk time. Our defence is still a work in progress, but they are only going to get better in the coming weeks/months, not worse.
CHF has almost become a non-existant position on the field. Even your own team don't have a true CHF (don't even mention McGregor or Burton). Nowadays teams are more inclined to have one high quality KP forward & then rotate ruckmen & HFFs across the HF line, pushing up towards the wing.
Mike_blues
21 Apr 2008, 00:05
ok
no houlihan?
Mike_blues
21 Apr 2008, 00:06
ok
hadley? eddie betts?
Eastern Crow
21 Apr 2008, 00:07
Actually today was the second week in a row we didn't concede 100 points. Sure Melbourne are struggling, but the Collingwood forward line of Rocca, Cloke, Medhurst, Thomas, Davis was apparently going to be too good for our inexperienced defence, but they only managed 88 points, a final score that was inflated by 2 goals in junk time. Our defence is still a work in progress, but they are only going to get better in the coming weeks/months, not worse.
CHF has almost become a non-existant position on the field. Even your own team don't have a true CHF (don't even mention McGregor or Burton). Nowadays teams are more inclined to have one high quality KP forward & then rotate ruckmen & HFFs across the HF line, pushing up towards the wing.
2 games out of 27 congratulations :thumbsu:
CHF, not so much an issue at TD, however, IMO a must at the MCG against quality opposition
The reason we have no CHF at present is because both Gill and Hentchel are either injured or returning from injury
the issue your tram faces without a quality CHF is Bock will run and collect possessions at will, Macca and Johncock will work off Bock all day :)
Mike_blues
21 Apr 2008, 00:08
with Judd and 3 x #1 draft picks in your midfield their is no doubt that your on ball division is stacked with young potential
however
before you can stake such a claim, lets see players like Murphy and Gibbs deliver week in week out at the same level as other elite midfielders over a long journey
you obviously do not rate Hawthorn's midfield with Hodge, Sewell, Mitchell, Crawford, Lewis
If your midfield was ranked #2 tou would be in the top 4 right now
yes hawthorn's is superb 4got about them :)
Eastern Crow
21 Apr 2008, 00:10
hadley? eddie betts?
lets be honest Hadley and Betts need to do it over the journey, a couple of innings do not make a career
Mike_blues
21 Apr 2008, 00:11
lets be honest Hadley and Betts need to do it over the journey, a couple of innings do not make a career
hadley is a premiership player with brisbane and played 50= games :) fantastic effort coming bak from 2 knee recos
Eastern Crow
21 Apr 2008, 00:13
hadley is a premiership player with brisbane and played 50= games :) fantastic effort coming bak from 2 knee recos
I am not doubting that, all I am saying, he is yet to play consistently ar a high level over the journey for one reason or another
a1118374
21 Apr 2008, 16:20
I am not doubting that, all I am saying, he is yet to play consistently ar a high level over the journey for one reason or another
the way crows fans pump up the likes of van berlo etc. hadley is easily as good. i'd rate him better.
this whole discussion about our team, and our holes at ruck and CHF, ignores the crows deficiencies. Rucks are average, probably a nil all draw there. and your forwards are average. If we stop goodwin we can win. If not.. we'll lose.
HoTPowER
21 Apr 2008, 16:51
2 games out of 27 congratulations :thumbsu:
CHF, not so much an issue at TD, however, IMO a must at the MCG against quality opposition
The reason we have no CHF at present is because both Gill and Hentchel are either injured or returning from injury
the issue your tram faces without a quality CHF is Bock will run and collect possessions at will, Macca and Johncock will work off Bock all day :)
There will be plenty of passengers in your team this weekend so we won't need to worry too much about Blockhead et al.
Blues by 3 goals for me.
jonoman89
21 Apr 2008, 17:25
really looking forward to this match. should be a good indicator of how much better we've gotten since round 1 (which i think is a fair bit).
Adelaide's defence is great, but with Fev on fire and Fish hopefully lifting his output along with Harts at CHF we should have a crack hopefully.
Our defence has once again got to standup and deliver like the last 2 games.
I think we have the midfield covered - Adelaide's rucks are on par with us if im not mistaken. Stevens and Carrazzo need to lift their game though.
fryingpan
21 Apr 2008, 18:10
Wow you're still creaming your pants over Pfieffer and defending him at every opportunity? He's not at Norwood anymore mate - get over it.
FWIW I agree with the Carlton fans it was stupid by Darren.
As for the game .. if we stop Fev, we'll win fairly easily .. if not, it could go either way.
... As for the game .. if we stop Fev, we'll win fairly easily .. if not, it could go either way.
More like if you stop Fev it'll go either way, if not you'll get blown away. I agree Fev has been dominating the goal kicking, but as a FF that's his job. The Crows don't have any KP forward within 3 light years of Fevs talent. The Blues midfield is lot stronger, and our defense has tightened up a lot. The Crows might not have much list talent, but their preparation, and ultra-disciplined gameplan is their strength. Blues by 40-50 points. :)
jarmanagic
21 Apr 2008, 19:18
More like if you stop Fev it'll go either way, if not you'll get blown away. I agree Fev has been dominating the goal kicking, but as a FF that's his job. The Crows don't have any KP forward within 3 light years of Fevs talent. The Blues midfield is lot stronger, and our defense has tightened up a lot. The Crows might not have much list talent, but their preparation, and ultra-disciplined gameplan is their strength. Blues by 40-50 points. :)
of course you might be right with the result, although why you cant beat Richmond/Essendon and beat Melbourne by 4 goals but flog us is a little unclear to me.
Goodwin not a true key forward of course but a clearly superior overall player than Fevola I'm sure you'd agree
Not much list talent, really?? Just because we havent had access to 30 top 2 picks doesnt mean we cant find and develop talent. You cannot by the way (Carazzo one exception)
because I think
Mcleod, Goodwin, Edwards, Thompson, Rutten, Bock, Johncock, Bassett, Burton can occ play an ok game
questions
1. If your team is so good why 5 wins from last 28 games? Just foxing?
2. Has Fevola played 4 good games in a row in his career?
3. Do you really think your midfield is stronger than ours? Ours runs a lot deeper. Judd clearly the pick of both sides, but we've got
Thompson, Goodwin, Edwards, Porps, Knights, Van Berlo, Doughty, Vince, Douglas (Reilly injured)
Not all champions but extends to 10 players. Mcleod can pop in there if needed, he goes ok. Nearly the equal of Eddie Betts actually
If your midfield is so good, and your forward line so great, perhaps the last 6 years have just been an aberration? I'm sure the tide is turning at Carlton but.....This quickly? Is everybody that beats the mighty Dees by 28 points automatically a great side, or just very good?
serenityNow
21 Apr 2008, 19:20
Out Ohailpin,Bentick
In, Hartlett,Gibbs
JR (has been getting better)
Fyfe (has been looking ok)
Grigg (was good against pies,just needs more matches into him)
are all safe
I think we will win this one by 3-4 goals.
questions
3. Do you really think your midfield is stronger than ours? Ours runs a lot deeper. Judd clearly the pick of both sides, but we've got
New team, new coach this year. Last year is irrelevant. IMO ALL of our games this year have been well below our capability, and hence disappointing. We should be 5 wins, 0 losses. But we're improving nicely. Fev played a whole good season in a row and won the Coleman - start watching footy. Your midfield is average. Comparing your midfield to the Blues midfield talent is pointless and a waste of time. The Crows H&A "success" has relied on sport-science techniques and a disciplined, albeit boring gameplan, to offset a lack of list talent. An effective strategy for the H&A, but keeps getting exposed at finals time when only talent matters. :)
fryingpan
21 Apr 2008, 19:45
keeps getting exposed at finals time when only talent matters. :)
At least we're consistently playing finals mate.
40-50 win? Are you serious? Apart from last week when was your last 5 goal+ win?
At least we're consistently playing finals mate.40-50 win? Are you serious? ..
40-50 points easily, if not more. We have an impressive midfield, the best FF in the AFL, and a hugely under-rated defensive unit. We're also learning to counter Crows-type ultraflooding tactics. Plus we like playing at the G. :)
Kramer1
21 Apr 2008, 19:53
*facepalm*
Please, do not use DT points as an indicator of a player's ability. It might interest you to know Fev averaged 4 DT points in his first couple games, and then 45 in the season after that.
Tippett is a very good young forward prospect for the Crows - one of the few good talls they've had in recent memory (apart from Henschtel, who was decent before getting injured).
Beat me to it...
Fev loves the open spaces at the 'G, and is some red hot form. Judd is getting back to his best, and Waite is killing them off half back.
I agree that we need some presence off half back, and would like to see Hartlett bought back into the team for this very reason. Carlos is sadly out of form, and needs some time in the 2's to recapture his touch.
If Carlton can somehow limit Mcleods effectiveness across HB, this will go along way in Carlton collecting the 4 points.
Murph_The_Smurf
21 Apr 2008, 20:05
of course you might be right with the result, although why you cant beat Richmond/Essendon and beat Melbourne by 4 goals but flog us is a little unclear to me.
Goodwin not a true key forward of course but a clearly superior overall player than Fevola I'm sure you'd agree
Not much list talent, really?? Just because we havent had access to 30 top 2 picks doesnt mean we cant find and develop talent. You cannot by the way (Carazzo one exception)
because I think
Mcleod, Goodwin, Edwards, Thompson, Rutten, Bock, Johncock, Bassett, Burton can occ play an ok game
questions
Thompson, Goodwin, Edwards, Porps, Knights, Van Berlo, Doughty, Vince, Douglas (Reilly injured)
Not all champions but extends to 10 players. Mcleod can pop in there if needed, he goes ok. Nearly the equal of Eddie Betts actually
If your midfield is so good, and your forward line so great, perhaps the last 6 years have just been an aberration? I'm sure the tide is turning at Carlton but.....This quickly? Is everybody that beats the mighty Dees by 28 points automatically a great side, or just very good?
Dont remember the game at Aami were fev kicked that sealer on the 50 meter line right on the boundy ? we cant beat you;s even with that side we had 2 years ago from memory were a much stronger unit now then than
TheGeneral
21 Apr 2008, 20:18
At least we're consistently playing finals mate.
40-50 win? Are you serious?
LOL.
Apart from last week when was your last 5 goal+ win?
The 39 point defeat of Port Adelaide in round eleven.
Jeremias
21 Apr 2008, 21:10
A winnable game no doubt but we really need to get our backline on top of their forwards from the beginning of the game, and no lapses in concentration.
In: Gibbs, Hartlett
Out: Bentick, O'hAilpin
Gibbs is a no-brainer, and Bentick will make way. Either he's not fit or the club just doesn't think he's up to it at the moment because he played something like 44% of the game yesterday.
Setanta, whilst putting in an improved effort on the weekend, still seems to be a way off his best. Harts dominated in the first half for the Bullants and has been very solid the last few weeks. Will give us a nice, strong option on the half forward line.
Would be extremely disappointing to see Banno out of the team due to injury. He has been very good this season, and is really confident with his game and it would be a huge shame for him to lose that. If he is out, not really sure who would come in to replace him. We could see Jackson brought in to play as a tagger, or we could see the introduction of someone like Browne. If Bannister plays I wouldn't mind him lining up on Goodwin :thumbsu:
There is no need to bring Hampson in to the side. I wouldn't exactly call Adelaide's rucks a strong point of theirs at the moment, so Kreuzer and Cloke should be able to compete with them, and probably beat them. No harm in bringing Hammo back through the Bullants.
Jeremias
21 Apr 2008, 21:17
Fev loves the open spaces at the 'G, and is some red hot form. Judd is getting back to his best, and Waite is killing them off half back.
That's true. But we can't forget that this week he's coming up against one of, if not the best defensive group in the AFL. Not sure on their previous duals, but Rutten is a great defender and will provide Fev with a lot stronger competition than someone like Harry O'Brien and Nathan Carroll. Having said that, with the form Fev is in at the moment, I guess anything is possible.
I agree that we need some presence off half back, and would like to see Hartlett bought back into the team for this very reason. Carlos is sadly out of form, and needs some time in the 2's to recapture his touch.
I agree that Carlos is out of form and Harts should come in for him, but it would be ridiculous if he was played down back. Harts has been excellent over the last few weeks up forward for the Bullants so if we bring him in it will be to provide us with another option up forward, not to steady us down back.
If Carlton can somehow limit Mcleods effectiveness across HB, this will go along way in Carlton collecting the 4 points.
McLeod is no doubt one of the keys to Adelaide's potency. A brilliant rebounder out of defense, we really need to keep a close eye on him. If Houlihan was fit I would have no hesitation in saying that he would go straight to McLeod, because he has been very effective at times playing as a defensive half forward. After the job that he did on Heath Shaw 2 weeks ago, it wouldn't surprise me if we put Grigg on McLeod. Dangerous, obviously, but it would be interesting to see if Grigga can back up his good performance.
We also need to be very mindful of Johncock who can easily step up a level or two if McLeod is being well held. I'd like to see Carrots go to him from the start of the match.
bigfoot20
21 Apr 2008, 21:20
The key to the blues winning this game will be a defence if it can keep ADE to under 100 points they have done there job.
For the midfield it will be Judd, Murphy, Scotland and i reckon Simpson on the wing.
Fev needs support from Fisher and Betts just simply because fev is playin on a good FB in Rutten, so if Fisher can kick 3-4 and Betts 2-3 the blues should win for my mind
jarmanagic
21 Apr 2008, 21:29
Dont remember the game at Aami were fev kicked that sealer on the 50 meter line right on the boundy ? we cant beat you;s even with that side we had 2 years ago from memory were a much stronger unit now then than
so 1 game 4 years ago sudenly is an example of why you can win? Why not add your 81 GF team to the discussion, they are about equally relevant. Do you think Mike Fitzpatrick will win the ruck? What about the wins we've had over you in 02,03,05X 2, 06 07 then?
By the way that was a great result for us. We were stagnant under Ayres, led to his sacking, come on in Craigy. God bless you Fev, your next beer (probably tomorrow night) is on me
XXX KINGS
21 Apr 2008, 21:34
People judging us on our past few seasons, please take into account:
Judd
Stevens
Hadley
Jamison
Bower
Pfeiffer
Gibbs' improvement
Murphy's improvement
Grigg
Kreuzer
Cloke
Waite permanent CHB
This is a totally different team, we are starting from fresh.
We have a totally different game plan, totally different starting 22, as well as factoring in continued development over the preseason from young guns like Murph and Gibbs.
Any team with Chris Judd and Brendan Fevola will be a chance to beat anyone.
fryingpan
21 Apr 2008, 21:38
Any team with Chris Judd and Brendan Fevola will be a chance to beat anyone.
Stupid post.
That's just like saying any team with McLeod & Goodwin will be a chance to beat anyone. Or Cornes & Tredrea ... Bell & Pavlich ... Cox & Kerr .. the list goes on.
Fev is a gun but it's only round 5 - this form has only been going a few weeks, and to be honest, even though he kicked 7 goals, don't think he was in Carlton's top 5 players on Sunday.