View Full Version : "Where has this West Coast been?"

Crimson King
20 Apr 2008, 20:09
Call of the day.:thumbsu:

Playing like Geelong atm, where the ____ have they been for the last 3 quarters?

Masten, Kerr, Cox dominating.:cool:

weagles_fan
20 Apr 2008, 20:12
Port resting their players might have something to do with it....but yeah still wtf was that bullshit? hopefully they play like this the whole game next week. Would get very close to winning if they do.

Looking For 4th
20 Apr 2008, 20:13
Amazing what happens when you go direct... (even if it is in junk time)

But lets hope they actually learn something from this...

Crimson King
20 Apr 2008, 20:15
I reckon we have just been given a glimpse of the new breed. I like it.:thumbsu:

SOSBenny
20 Apr 2008, 20:16
Amazing what happens when you go direct... (even if it is in junk time)

But lets hope they actually learn something from this...

Indeed, very good for McKinley and Mastens confidence. Will start to make them feel very secure in the team :)

Prem87
20 Apr 2008, 20:20
Port slowed down. Still good to see some character...bit too late though.

Spangher, Masten & McKinley - Great signs.

MaxHunt
20 Apr 2008, 20:20
Thats the thing, when you have young players the best tactic is to go direct. they dont have the bodies or skills yet to over play the ball.

sdb4884
20 Apr 2008, 20:21
Yeah Spangher, Masten and McKinley good signs.

Makka
20 Apr 2008, 20:22
Belief is a wonderful thing. It's what we had in spades the last few years that seems to have vanished so far this season. If they take anything out of this game then I hope it's that belief that they found in that last quarter! We can only hope!

anti.
20 Apr 2008, 20:22
while it was good to show something in the end it was quite 'dockerlike' to pile on some goals at the end to make the score look respectable where in reality, we sucked and were never in that game.

Kempie
20 Apr 2008, 20:27
Thats the thing, when you have young players the best tactic is to go direct. they dont have the bodies or skills yet to over play the ball.

You got it ! :thumbsu:

JKCeagle
20 Apr 2008, 20:44
Port resting their players might have something to do with it....but yeah still wtf was that bullshit? hopefully they play like this the whole game next week. Would get very close to winning if they do.

Resting who? I'm pretty sure that Cornes x 2, Burgoyne x 2 and Lade were all on the ground late in the last term.

But yes...if they'd started the run about 7-10 minutes earlier we would likely have run Port down :(

Stenglein's a Champ!
20 Apr 2008, 20:57
I fell asleep at 3/4 time :rolleyes:

Crimson King
20 Apr 2008, 21:07
The two goals we conceded late 3rd quarter and early 4th quarter were costly. In all likelyhood, we would have won if they werent kicked.:(

MaxHunt
20 Apr 2008, 21:08
The two goals we conceded late 3rd quarter and early 4th quarter were costly. In all likelyhood, we would have won if they werent kicked.:(

Ahh sorry mate cont agree there. Port wouldve stepped up i would think.

wce_all_da_way
20 Apr 2008, 21:08
Just got back from the game. Whilst it was encouraging at the end, Port stopped dead. Masten, McKinley and Spangher hold your heads high. Spangher toughed out a couple of injuries today.

Cuzz09
20 Apr 2008, 21:11
Ahh sorry mate cont agree there. Port wouldve stepped up i would think.

Yeah no doubt.

Just was dissapointing those goals were from our mistakes.

Prem87
20 Apr 2008, 21:15
At least 10 of Port's goals were from stupid errors, poor skills. We were such a skillful side, how can we lose it so quickly?

greennick
20 Apr 2008, 21:31
At least 10 of Port's goals were from stupid errors, poor skills. We were such a skillful side, how can we lose it so quickly?
Confidence can go pretty quickly.

beatlesmith
20 Apr 2008, 21:40
I also thought rosa was really good today. He always gets bagged for his disposal and judgement but i thought he was good today. Good things will come with time.

Mighty Eagles
20 Apr 2008, 21:48
Great young kids coming through!

Juddism
20 Apr 2008, 21:58
well it was a mix of Port Adelaide dropping off and WCE brains switching on..its not that the skills have vanished & the boys have forgotten how to play footy (well they have for the time being) but more a case of what's going on between the ears.

great to see Masten, McKinley & Spangher put in solid effort today..

sydney eagle
20 Apr 2008, 22:22
I also thought rosa was really good today. He always gets bagged for his disposal and judgement but i thought he was good today. Good things will come with time. You can't say things like THAT ! Geez, who will be the team scapegoat if Rosa plays well and we don't have Rowan Jones anymore ?:p

chrsco
20 Apr 2008, 22:32
while it was good to show something in the end it was quite 'dockerlike' to pile on some goals at the end to make the score look respectable where in reality, we sucked and were never in that game.

Don't disagree we sucked but at the 13 minute mark, or thereabouts, of the second quarter Carlisle was tackled by Rosa I believe, taken to ground, puts the ball on the ground (dead set incorrect disposal) and then Bones gives away a too high free kick (very touchy, but....), they kick the ball to the goal square and Lade or Brogan goals. The score had been 27 to 34, then became 27 to 40, momentum immediately turns ports way and put down your glasses. My point being, whilst we were playing bad we were in the game at that time.

sTeeL
20 Apr 2008, 23:02
Really missing Priddis in the middle at the moment. Need him back toi help out Kerry.

Smell the Beanz
20 Apr 2008, 23:03
The young guys were great today and should stay in the side!

Masten- by the second half of the season will be really switched on with the pace of the game.

McKinlay- is a shining light.

Cjones- was a better target than Hansen.

2 names Nicoski and Fletcher!! How many goal assists did they have for PA?
Did Nicoski spend the whole game on the ground? If so why?

could Braun play down back like a chick type drive out of the back hard at the ball nut?

Has to be a better option than Nicoski!

PA is a bit of a fade out team also.. But good to see them have a dip even if it was for 15 min! :eek:

shoe
21 Apr 2008, 00:34
I think the 5 unanswered at the start of the 2nd were FAR more costly. We were pretty much neck and neck till then.

Cost the team the confidence in thier skills going into the rest of the game.

Edit: exactly what chrsco just said.

Cuzz09
21 Apr 2008, 00:39
THats the thing we have struggled with a bit.

Even when we were going alright teams would kick lots of goals in a row against us in a quarter.

Even in 05 and 06 this would happen.

I dont know if the coaches are quick to recognise there is a run or they are too stubborn to drop players back?

greatwhiteshark
21 Apr 2008, 12:15
Really like the look of Mckinley and Masten both doing a great job. As for the pile of goals at the end well don't get carried away to much with that.
We got flogged on our home ground and had 16 premiership players on the ground. We were not even competitve. We are not accountable which was once Woosha's trademark, no structure or systems.

Not looking forward to watching us this week against the Doggies.

Prem87
21 Apr 2008, 12:37
One of the Fox commentators made a great point yesterday about Braun. While he might not have the pace anymore to be playing on the wing, why don't we put him into the centre square. He knows how to win the ball, has strength to break tackles and has enough pace to run away from congestion. Im all for it.

McKinley did look great leading out from the goalsquare. Bring back Kennedy in for Chad Jones and keep in the team all year.

anti.
21 Apr 2008, 12:44
i thought nico had one of his better games for the year, considering hes been pretty down i think its a step forwards.

the turnovers while being a result of the ball carrier are also the fault of players around him either not giving options or providing shepards. we didnt do the team things very well yesterday.

Underdog
21 Apr 2008, 12:50
I also thought rosa was really good today. He always gets bagged for his disposal and judgement but i thought he was good today. Good things will come with time.

He kicked drop punts at least. Unfortunately they were still loopy hospital kicks :o