View Full Version : No-one's bagging Russell yet

Jezza U Beauty
20 Apr 2008, 21:28
I thought he was again a bit better today.

RiCHii
20 Apr 2008, 21:31
You think ? i dont think he did, he is a soft little girl. Seriously he cannot be picked next week

BLue_Bloys
20 Apr 2008, 21:34
While Russel hasn't had fantastic games, he hasn't done anything wrong either.

Today he improved on his chasing, tacking and spoiling. Unless someone from the bullants is tearing it up, keep him in I say.

Gozz
I've just learnt to accept that despite Russell's poor showings week in week out he will not get dropped. The Carlton coaches love him, plus every team must have at least one dud playing, so ours might as well be Russell.

BlueFan4
Yeh I hate when he gets the ball cause u know he wont use it. He was the worst player in carltons 22 today IMO.

Alpha1
20 Apr 2008, 21:35
Well sorry to say to all you JR fans but I don't think he has a future at Carlton, he is soft, too many mistakes etc the list is long. The sad thing is that he has had a few chances and I think he will get a few more before they decide, but I don't think he will be a Carlton next season.

Gozz

Today he improved on his chasing, tacking and spoiling. Unless someone from the bullants is tearing it up, keep him in I say.
Yeah he is improving but still not up to the grade and probably never will be.

RiCHii
He was the worst player on the field today, including Melbournes team. Seriously if he isnt delisted come seasons end...

EddieBettsIsAChamp
20 Apr 2008, 21:37
He was a little bit better today, i'll admit that. What I don't like about him is the way he takes his marks, he places his hands around the ball and moves his hands about to give it a 'freestyle' sort of appearance, too 'show pony' for me.

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 21:38
Better than he was in the first few games, though still borderline. No one really pushing for selection in the VFL who would replace him - unless both Gibbs and Houlihan are right to come back, he should line up next week.

BLue_Bloys
20 Apr 2008, 21:39
Yeah he is improving but still not up to the grade and probably never will be.

I never said he was, but who are you going to bring in for him? Wiggins? Who obviously has no future in our side.

It's all well and good for all you heroes to yell for someone's head, but how about thinking what the reaction / inclusion of that might be..hmm?

RiCHii
20 Apr 2008, 21:41
At the moment i would rather Wiggins in the team instead of Russell

Mr.Kennedy
20 Apr 2008, 21:43
When Houlihan,Gibbs and Walker are all fit we will see the last of him,so just hang tight until then

RiCHii
20 Apr 2008, 21:44
Speaking of Walker, how long till hes back ?

sherb
20 Apr 2008, 21:45
You only had to start this thread to get people bagging him. :p

I thought he was okay today as well.

BLue_Bloys
20 Apr 2008, 21:48

Round 10 I think

gandaal
20 Apr 2008, 21:49
He wasn't great but he wasn't a shocker either. Will be replaced by Walker eventually but at the minute he's all we've got for the role he plays. Reminds me of a less suicidal, highly skilled version of Wiggins in many ways.

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 21:51

He's supposedly ahead of the projected return of round 12. Round 10 at the earliest, you would think, though hopefully he isn't played until 100%.

BBSK
20 Apr 2008, 21:55
man i want tex back!!!!!!

Blue Dimension
20 Apr 2008, 21:59
He wasn't great but he wasn't a shocker either. Will be replaced by Walker eventually but at the minute he's all we've got for the role he plays. Reminds me of a less suicidal, highely skilled version of Wiggins in many ways.

He is a reincarnation of Wiggins. Only Russell has all the ability and can't use it, while Wiggins tries but just isn't good enough.

WeAreHatedAgain
20 Apr 2008, 22:08
Jordan Russell had a big chance to intercept the pass from James Frawley to James McDonald today that led to their first goal

Pulled out because he feared body contact

Jezza U Beauty
20 Apr 2008, 22:10
You only had to start this thread to get people bagging him. :p

I thought he was okay today as well.

Yeah I know - wasn't my intention of course.:o

I think that when people have decided they don't like/rate a player they only see the bad things they do and don't notice any of their work, and that's definitely happening with a lot of the above posters.

Saying JR was worst afield today is just plain dumb.

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:11
He is a reincarnation of Wiggins. Only Russell has all the ability and can't use it, while Wiggins tries but just isn't good enough.

He actually reminds me a bit of Trent Sporn.

down_with_rangas
20 Apr 2008, 22:12

hmm... ahh.. hmm...

YOU CAN LEAVE. what do you mean he hasn't done anything wrong. he makes turnovers at almost every opportunity, and the only reason he's still in the squad is because he maintains a poor but acceptable disposal count.

and on the count of if someone from bullants is tearing it up, as a matter of fact someone is. adam bentick. he played the match against melbourne, but he was on an off day. he'll be dropped, but if i was a selector for the navy's, he'd be in the squad over russel any day of the week.

Gozz
20 Apr 2008, 22:14
Yeah he gets just enough possies to avoid getting dropped.

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:15
hmm... ahh.. hmm...

YOU CAN LEAVE. what do you mean he hasn't done anything wrong. he makes turnovers at almost every opportunity, and the only reason he's still in the squad is because he maintains a poor but acceptable disposal count.

and on the count of if someone from bullants is tearing it up, as a matter of fact someone is. adam bentick. he played the match against melbourne, but he was on an off day. he'll be dropped, but if i was a selector for the navy's, he'd be in the squad over russel any day of the week.

Completely different type of players. I'm guessing you'd want Bentick in over O'hAilpin as well?

Team structure.

gandaal
20 Apr 2008, 22:16

Sporn was slower, skinnier and more laconic than Russell. Russell looks like the perfect prototype of an AFL midfielder.

Pred_ator
20 Apr 2008, 22:22
Did Russell contribute towards our win today? The answer must be yes. He had 13 disposals at an efficiency rate of 77%-acceptable and above AFL average.
He had 3 entries into our forward 50. I witnessed on multiple occasions Russell blocking, shepharding and bumping the opposition. Was Aaron Davey effective today? No, Russell's job done and he contributed towards a win. Not every player/ first round draft pick will be a star or play 200 games but I can see Jordan contributing to more Carlton victories in the future. Had Aaron Davey scored any goals at all he could well of been the fuse to spark Melbourne into action as he excites the crowd and lifts his team mates when on song.

TheGeneral
20 Apr 2008, 22:25
A cross between Simon Fletcher and Adam White maybe.

Fletcher's looks and White's athleticism. :)

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:29
Sporn was slower, skinnier and more laconic than Russell. Russell looks like the perfect prototype of an AFL midfielder.

Not so much the way he plays, more so the quality. Doing just enough to avoid the axe, though not enough to cement a place.

legendtofski
20 Apr 2008, 22:30
The Rusller was sort-kinda ok today, but he wasn't as bad as Betnick or Setanta.

I reckon ,as we win more games, Rusell, o'hailpin and houla won't be needed in the side

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 22:33
The Rusller was sort-kinda ok today, but he wasn't as bad as Betnick or Setanta.

I reckon ,as we win more games, Rusell, o'hailpin and houla won't be needed in the side

Houlihan is definitely in our best 22, though I'm sure you're one to disagree.

AlecDuncan
20 Apr 2008, 22:35
Did Russell contribute towards our win today? The answer must be yes. He had 13 disposals at an efficiency rate of 77%-acceptable and above AFL average.
Please, don't spoil this thread with common sense.

Captain Judd
20 Apr 2008, 22:37
You guys should relax. JR played a tagging role on Davey, which to me Davey didn't have a much of an impact on the game. So JR done his job. I reckon with abit of confidence he will be good. But by rd10, if he hasnt had a awesome game then he should be dropped, and in comes Walker, and i dont think he will ever be back into the team...

Mentallo
20 Apr 2008, 22:37
After his plethora of 1%ers (maybe 2) i have dubbed him Jordan Muscles.
Knows how to lay a bump and shephard that Jordan Muscles.

Korn
20 Apr 2008, 22:51
is there something wrong with his groin? he cannot make any quick sharp turns without doing those little small steps.

BLue_Bloys
20 Apr 2008, 22:56
hmm... ahh.. hmm...

HMmm don't you love posters with no knowledge or comprehension of the game.

First point. If you think Russel turns it over every time he has the ball then you haven't watched the last 2 weeks have you. He did an acceptable job today.

Second point if you think Bentick should be brought in to replace Russell then you have fundamental problems about knowing what the hell Russell does in our team, which leads me to think that you have NFI....

I am not an advocate for Russell, but FFS who is going to replace him at this point in time? All you dimwits that seem to Still be bagging him, are using fairly old excuses, which haven't been displayed in the past two games.

blues4flag
20 Apr 2008, 23:06
I am not an advocate for Russell, but FFS who is going to replace him at this point in time? All you dimwits that seem to Still be bagging him, are using fairly old excuses, which haven't been displayed in the past two games.

Extremely common - people form an opinion of a player, and spout it out ad nausem. A perfect example was Ryan Houlihan a couple of seasons back, where a new thread bagging Houlihan would pop up weekly.

thylacine60
20 Apr 2008, 23:08
Davey tagged himself out of the game today.

Mike_blues
20 Apr 2008, 23:17
russell is not a ball magnet
hes a tagger and alot of the time wins is battle
hes only 20ish
hes still learning give him a chance'ive watched him each game this yr and i think hes deserved his spot
has turned it over a but but has done some really good things to

chelsworthgale
20 Apr 2008, 23:19

i would happily give armfield a game over Russell... at least the 2nd and 3rd efforts are constant and you know he will always give a good honest contest and will chase and chase hard...

russell has been ok, and i stress ok, the last couple of weeks but his place in the team is dispensable as he is not an essential cog to our game plan...

Blue Bawls
20 Apr 2008, 23:37
I thoguht Russell was pretty good today - kept Davey quiet, hit his targets with at least two good kicks that I remember, and was at the ball. I don't see any logic at all in shitcanning him the way a lot of you have been.

Dima
21 Apr 2008, 00:12
I thought Russell had a pretty good day today. Could have done better in terms of his kicking on a couple of occasions, but generally was OK by foot. I was watching him closely and he did a fair bit of running to present an option when we were stuck coming out of half back, and always made the effort to lay a shepherd (good ones at that) when he had the opportunity. Would have had a very nice day had that kick for goal not just missed.

branedotorg
21 Apr 2008, 00:20
he has the body now & even the skills, i think the performance gap is all mental.
he needs a game where he scores say three goals & hopefully it'll start a cascade.
his off the ball efforts & team play is far better than last season but his time is running out to make the mark

Bentick's My Man.
21 Apr 2008, 00:47

That's GOLD!!

ParaBellum
21 Apr 2008, 01:56
Extremely common - people form an opinion of a player, and spout it out ad nausem. A perfect example was Ryan Houlihan a couple of seasons back, where a new thread bagging Houlihan would pop up weekly.
Nowadays they're only every second week.

Salt Lake Cities
21 Apr 2008, 02:20
At the moment i would rather Wiggins in the team instead of Russell
:eek::eek::eek::eek:

thylacine60
21 Apr 2008, 02:31
:eek::eek::eek::eek:

To be fair he played a great game in the twos on Saturday.

Blue Bawls
21 Apr 2008, 02:34
Watched the replay and paid special attention to Russell. He was very good - his disposal was much better than last week, he looked more composed, went in hard for the ball, and he was near the play for much of the game.

I'm mystified why people continue this ridiculous crusade against him. I thought he was a little ordinary earlier on, but not enough to warrant this kind of vindictiveness, and now that he's had a good game people still won't cut him some slack.

I thought Grigg was wasteful, Scotland again sent up hospital passes, Bentick lacklustre and Bannister got most of his 12 kicks from 10 uncontested marks. Yet it's Russell who gets villified. :cool:

Sublime
21 Apr 2008, 09:55
Russell was good yet again. Does lots of little things such as blocks and shepherds that not many people are obviously seeing. Also backing into the pack in Melbournes forward line in i think the 4th quarter.

Everyone is tossing off over Judd (with good reason) yet nothing was said about the complete lack of shepherd for Betts in out forward line in the third quarter resulting in a smother.

Fact is its a team game and he is doing the team things and i think its great to see. Keep it up Russ.

Ole Gill
21 Apr 2008, 10:36

I disagree.

In the 3rd quarter (I think), deep in the defensive pocket, JR went back with the flight of the ball to cut of a Melbourne kick. He had ample (and I mean ample) time to take the grab. He had so much time that if the leading forward had hit him, it would have been 50.

But JR heard footsteps and LITERALLY ducked his head, shelled the ball and Melbourne had another crack.

That kind of stuff is just too soft for an AFL footballer. I hope he proves me wrong but the signs aren't good.

Gilly1972
21 Apr 2008, 11:39
If you break down every players game you will witness contests where they "should" have done something differently. Not every bloke in the side can pick up 20+ possessions. I agree JR is on the fringes of senior selection. I'm sure he is aware he is under some pressure to perform each week, but nobody is knocking down the door and demanding selection in the Ants. So meanwhile it makes sense to persevere with JR and let him make small improvements week in week out....as people have pointed out, he has the tools to be part of an AFL midfield rotation, I believe his weaknesses can be minimised with game time and some confidence from being part of a winning team for a change. God knows I wouldn't have wanted to be a skinny midfielder thrown to the wolves in the '05 - '07 Carlton midfield.

Truthatlast
21 Apr 2008, 11:49
I thought his performance was fair - certainly not enough to justify his permanent inclusion. As for his replacement I would much rather see Ryan Jackson play. He is young, quick and has a bit of class about him. I think he should in the side permanently as he has shown a bit each time he has been given a chance.

koutamarto
21 Apr 2008, 11:51
I though today was one of JR's better games 4 the blues he did some good things. He seemed to be runningout of the backhalf rather than HFF. I would prefere wiggins in the side. He is underated and is a good marking option going forward he played some good gaes for uss last year. maybe he could even be a leading CHF sort of like brad miller was a few years back.

Gilly1972
21 Apr 2008, 12:03
I though today was one of JR's better games 4 the blues he did some good things. He seemed to be runningout of the backhalf rather than HFF. I would prefere wiggins in the side. He is underated and is a good marking option going forward he played some good gaes for uss last year. maybe he could even be a leading CHF sort of like brad miller was a few years back.

I really don't understand the call to play Wiggins. Problem with playing Wiggins is he isn't going to be part of our long term future.....why get games into Wiggins unless he and Loudy are planning on spawning a large number of male offspring.

Even Wiggins when interviewed after the Ants game was sounding like a permanent Bullants player.

koutamarto
21 Apr 2008, 12:07
I really don't understand the call to play Wiggins. Problem with playing Wiggins is he isn't going to be part of our long term future.....why get games into Wiggins unless he and Loudy are planning on spawning a large number of male offspring.

Even Wiggins when interviewed after the Ants game was sounding like a permanent Bullants player.

Totally agree he is probably getting to old and will be delisted at the end of the season but i always thought he was extremely unlucky, just when he started to show glimpses he did his hammy or something again. And he is tasmanian.

THEBLOODS85
21 Apr 2008, 12:13
You guys should relax. JR played a tagging role on Davey, which to me Davey didn't have a much of an impact on the game. So JR done his job. I reckon with abit of confidence he will be good. But by rd10, if he hasnt had a awesome game then he should be dropped, and in comes Walker, and i dont think he will ever be back into the team...
How can you say he 'done a job' on a highly skilled player like Davey in one sentence......then in your next say when Walker is right he will 'never be back in the team after Rd 10 if he has not had an 'awesome' game.

Gee that makes a lot of sense....not.....if he can fill that role once on such a high quality player, why can't he do it again?

Some of the shit on here just makes you laugh!

Yes I know, like most know he has deficiencies and struggles in lots of areas......but FFS give the kid some reasonable chance......his baptism in the AFL has been in one of the histories worst teams ever going around over the last few years.

Funny how when we start winning a few games and the ball goes our way that Russell looks a little more comfortable......maybe time and a better team to 'work' in will see him improve more.

FFS every great team has players that are 'outside' types......this is probably his last chance season wise......I hope for our sake he develops into a great transistion player over and above the likes of Houlihan who we bag as well, but drool over when he does the 'magic' things that most dream of.

THEBLOODS85
21 Apr 2008, 12:24
:confused::eek::confused::eek::confused:

Juddy08
21 Apr 2008, 13:43
I disagree.

In the 3rd quarter (I think), deep in the defensive pocket, JR went back with the flight of the ball to cut of a Melbourne kick. He had ample (and I mean ample) time to take the grab. He had so much time that if the leading forward had hit him, it would have been 50.

But JR heard footsteps and LITERALLY ducked his head, shelled the ball and Melbourne had another crack.

That kind of stuff is just too soft for an AFL footballer. I hope he proves me wrong but the signs aren't good.

It was in the 2nd quarter and i'm glad someone else noticed his lack of courage......unlike Pfieffer who puts his head over the ball 100% of the time.

For a bloke that's playing for his career he should be doing what pfieffer has done since day one!!

BLue_Bloys
21 Apr 2008, 14:45
It was in the 2nd quarter and i'm glad someone else noticed his lack of courage......unlike Pfieffer who puts his head over the ball 100% of the time.

For a bloke that's playing for his career he should be doing what pfieffer has done since day one!!

Kruezer did that about 3-5 times vs Essendon. Where were you then?

Why is it that none of you are bagging Grigg? Grigg has had far less impact than Russell has had, he has been wasteful with the ball too. Yet for some reason his name hasn't come up?

eppa
21 Apr 2008, 15:03
Another win and more improvement shown by the side including Russell who I think is slowly building up his confidence and will get better with time. I cant wait til round 10-12 when Walker comes in and the "bag Walker" crew start sledging him about his poor disposal etc etc. Seems to me that there are a lot of yesterdays hero's on this forum who never made a mistake when they played u10's footy! Must live in glass houses as well

thylacine60
21 Apr 2008, 15:15
Walker will struggle to get back. Poor delivery and just panics too much. :D

eppa
21 Apr 2008, 15:19
Sh*******t Thylacine 60 dont go jumping the gun. Be patient your time will come soon enough :)

wdgann
21 Apr 2008, 16:51
Walker will struggle to get back. Poor delivery and just panics too much. :D

I agree, I would almost put russell ahead of walker. russell will be a solid player - glad rats is persisting with him

one_twelve112
21 Apr 2008, 17:08
^^^^ Couldn't agree more. Craig Bradley wouldv'e struggled to get a game ahead of JR had our young superstar run the wings in the 80's and 90's.

Juddy08
21 Apr 2008, 19:48

Why is it that none of you are bagging Grigg? Grigg has had far less impact than Russell has had, he has been wasteful with the ball too. Yet for some reason his name hasn't come up?

Hey moron.

KRUEZER never sherks a contest.

What about on the weekend when he put his head over the ball and knew he was gonna cop it????

What about against ESSENDON when in his FIRST game he took a mark and had to wait, it was in the 3rd quarter then copped another knock but just got up???

How about when he backed back in the NAB cup and Brown crunched him from behind and was suspended???

Yet all of this has come from a FIRST year player......

What games are you watching???:mad:

blues4flag
21 Apr 2008, 20:27
I agree, I would almost put russell ahead of walker. russell will be a solid player - glad rats is persisting with him

The scary thing is, I think he's being serious. :eek:

chelsworthgale
21 Apr 2008, 20:55
The scary thing is, I think he's being serious. :eek:

of course he is... he also thinks Thornton is a dud...

From Sydney, surprised he knows what AFL is...

in other words his opinion is not really considered/acknowledged/"heard" on this board as there isn't a shred of accuracy! :rolleyes:

BLue_Bloys
22 Apr 2008, 00:31
Hey moron.

KRUEZER never sherks a contest.

What about on the weekend when he put his head over the ball and knew he was gonna cop it????

What about against ESSENDON when in his FIRST game he took a mark and had to wait, it was in the 3rd quarter then copped another knock but just got up???

How about when he backed back in the NAB cup and Brown crunched him from behind and was suspended???

Yet all of this has come from a FIRST year player......

What games are you watching???:mad:

Before you call me a moron I suggest you review Kruezer's game against Essendon.

Just in case you can't be bothered here is some proof from a fellow Carlton poster....

In his first game, I wont be too critical, considering he was awesome, and chipped in with two goals at the other end, one which he roved like he was 175cm, not 200cm... but, if he continues to pull out of contests which he clearly (as the ruckman 'in the hole' as they say, should be going up for), I'll be worried

I'll accept my apology here thank you ________________

one eyed bluey
22 Apr 2008, 00:50
Before you call me a moron I suggest you review Kruezer's game against Essendon.

Just in case you can't be bothered here is some proof from a fellow Carlton poster....

mate it was kreuzers FIRST GAME FFS! russels been on the list for what 3-4 years? Still has yet to show any real sign of making the grade. He has improved ill admit that but is still below par, the only reason his getting a game is because ratts and co want to see if this pee heart of a player can produce something to save his afl career.

Ill accept your shithouse knowledge of afl football here.......................

sherb
22 Apr 2008, 00:58
From Sydney, surprised he knows what AFL is...

What's this AFL to which you refer?

(Well, I do live in Sydney after all).

:p

BLue_Bloys
22 Apr 2008, 00:58
mate it was kreuzers FIRST GAME FFS! russels been on the list for what 3-4 years? Still has yet to show any real sign of making the grade. He has improved ill admit that but is still below par, the only reason his getting a game is because ratts and co want to see if this pee heart of a player can produce something to save his afl career.

Ill accept your shithouse knowledge of afl football here.......................

OK I don't care whether Russell makes it or not, If you look through my posts I said about 3 weeks ago that he should be dropped, and is no more than a depth player.

Upon his last couple of games, he has not been the worst and made some good moves. My point on the shirking contest of Kruezer was that you cannot single out things in the match without taking the whole match into consideration.

This guy stated that Russell dodged the contests , and didn't mention any of the good things he did which included putting his body on the line for the benefit of teammates.

When Kruezer had an awesome debut why wasn't this guy stating that he dodged a few marking contests?

This is in no way a go at Kruezer check the post I quoted and you will see my response so I'm not posting it here.

one eyed bluey
22 Apr 2008, 01:12
OK I don't care whether Russell makes it or not, If you look through my posts I said about 3 weeks ago that he should be dropped, and is no more than a depth player.

Upon his last couple of games, he has not been the worst and made some good moves. My point on the shirking contest of Kruezer was that you cannot single out things in the match without taking the whole match into consideration.

This guy stated that Russell dodged the contests , and didn't mention any of the good things he did which included putting his body on the line for the benefit of teammates.

When Kruezer had an awesome debut why wasn't this guy stating that he dodged a few marking contests?

This is in no way a go at Kruezer check the post I quoted and you will see my response so I'm not posting it here.

Mate do the math...Kreuzer first game against dons....russell been on the list 3-4 years....different expectations for players who have been on the list that long which makes it even worse that russel shirks tough contests.

I dont want to start a big argument here, but to have a crack at kreuzer in anyway seem ridiculuous in his first year and kreuzer want shirk many tough contests in years to come we can already see that.

Russel has improved slightly but come on put it into perspective.
We were playing against the dees, he seems to panic everytime he touches the footy, his skills are inconsistent and quite ordinary at times, needs to toughen up but he does have some pace i suppose :rolleyes:

BLue_Bloys
22 Apr 2008, 01:20
Mate do the math...Kreuzer first game against dons....russell been on the list 3-4 years....different expectations for players who have been on the list that long which makes it even worse that russel shirks tough contests.

I dont want to start a big argument here, but to have a crack at kreuzer in anyway seem ridiculuous in his first year and kreuzer want shirk many tough contests in years to come we can already see that.

Russel has improved slightly but come on put it into perspective.
We were playing against the dees, he seems to panic everytime he touches the footy, his skills are inconsistent and quite ordinary at times, needs to toughen up but he does have some pace i suppose :rolleyes:

Hmmm you seem to have disregarded what I said and talked anyway.

I'll recap my points.

1. I don't rate Russell, my problem is with idiots bagging him after he has been far from our worst ( see last 2 games)

2. Check the quote from Kruezer my post which followed indicates that it was Kruezer's first game and not to worry ( I think I said I'd be shitting myself too if <player> was behind me

Russell's past 2 games haven't been great but also haven't been bad. If there was someone from the bullants who was pressing for selection then great drop Russell but atm nobody is setting the world on fire.

I don't think you will find me posting anywhere fighting for Russell's inclusion in the side, so I really don't see what you're getting all incensed about

WeninRome
22 Apr 2008, 01:26
meow

one eyed bluey
22 Apr 2008, 01:36
Hmmm you seem to have disregarded what I said and talked anyway.

I'll recap my points.

1. I don't rate Russell, my problem is with idiots bagging him after he has been far from our worst ( see last 2 games)

2. Check the quote from Kruezer my post which followed indicates that it was Kruezer's first game and not to worry ( I think I said I'd be shitting myself too if <player> was behind me

Russell's past 2 games haven't been great but also haven't been bad. If there was someone from the bullants who was pressing for selection then great drop Russell but atm nobody is setting the world on fire.

I don't think you will find me posting anywhere fighting for Russell's inclusion in the side, so I really don't see what you're getting all incensed about

1. who was worse than russel last week?Sentanta maybe thats bout it.. His shit and you need to realise there are better players with more potential in the VFL who should be getting a game. The only reason as I mentioned was the coaching panel want to see if he can show anything to suggest we should keep him on the list.
I would be giving some afl experience to the likes of armfield, browne, ellard, benjamin, Anderson...etc, plenty of young players which in the senior squad could flourish.
To be honest this decision to play russel no matter what is just stupid. What other team does that honestly? Its just because his pick 9 and they dont want to look like fools for recruiting him....load of shizer if you ask me.

2. I dont have time to check your quote.

3. Having JR playing everyweek will incense most blues fans:cool:

BLue_Bloys
22 Apr 2008, 01:45
1. who was worse than russel last week?Sentanta maybe thats bout it.. His shit and you need to realise there are better players with more potential in the VFL who should be getting a game. The only reason as I mentioned was the coaching panel want to see if he can show anything to suggest we should keep him on the list.
I would be giving some afl experience to the likes of armfield, browne, ellard, benjamin, Anderson...etc, plenty of young players which in the senior squad could flourish.
To be honest this decision to play russel no matter what is just stupid. What other team does that honestly? Its just because his pick 9 and they dont want to look like fools for recruiting him....load of shizer if you ask me.

That's fair it's your opinion, I agree that he is being included in the side to test whether he is up to the cut. but do we want to include the other guys given they haven't shown anything to indicate they are up to AFL standard?

In the past we have been forced to play our young players which most haven't had that great an impact for some time.

the players I thought were worse than Russell on the weekend were,

Bentick, Setanta, Grigg

players who I thought played similar type of output game include

Pfeiffer, Betts

Anyway this is all I'll post on this we are just going around in circles

one eyed bluey
22 Apr 2008, 01:48
russel on par with betts!?:eek:I think we better stop!:D

P.S. Russel out your wrong

chelsworthgale
22 Apr 2008, 08:53
BB I think your opinion of Freddie is a little off the mark. Consider that Russell has played about 50 games and is supposed to have an AFL hardened body. Freddie was playing his first real game not a mickey mouse game and I think overall his "toughness" and commitment towards putting his body on the line was excellent. Consider the fact that he had one of the biggest thugs of the game cannon into his back in his first mickey mouse game, then stood tall and waited and took the grab to kick his first goal against Essendon.

His confidence is rising each week and that was proven on the weekend when he knew he was going to cop the hit and he took it fair on the chin.

At the end of the day Russell is expected to put his body on the line but sticking his forearm into a bloke to "sheperd" when the player with the ball is 20m away and the chasing player is about to stop is not putting his body on the line. I agree grigg and bentick were worse than him on the weekend but setanta is doing fine. He is providing a contest and is another marking option up forward. He is still learning and I think we have found his spot. He runs and chases and loves the physical side of things so you cant ask anymore from him as a forward. With a little refining he will plug our hole at CHF... I think you'll notice a stark difference between round 1 and 2,3,4... or forward line is working much better and setanta has played in 2 of those 3 better matches and has contributed.

As for you comparison with betts and pfieffers games, that couldn't be further off the mark! Pfieffer game I thought was very very servicable. Was not a stand out but his agression and commitment towards the hard ball is fantastic. Betts had a bit of an off week but due to the flooding and the tight confides he was often inches away from some magic. He often stood up in tackles and broke some lines and did some great things... he is an opportunist player and when there is such a flood of players those type of players tend to get swallowed up.

I have a strong conviction against players who dont go in hard (as I personally was an extractor type player) I would much rather see someone like armfield getting a game than Russell... his 2nd and 3rd efforts, chasing and general "toughness" is amazing and I would rather see him busting a gut than watching russell prancing down a wing.

Gilly1972
22 Apr 2008, 11:24

This sort of mindset is ridiculous....mount a football argument, but don't say he's our worst therefore is no good and should be dropped......last time i checked 22 doesn't fit into 1. :rolleyes:

sweet17
22 Apr 2008, 11:41
I disagree.

I saw at incident and agree, it was very ordinary. Russell puts in at least one of those per game. His disposal is the worst in the side and he can't read the play. The kick that went to Judd in the dying seconds was a shocker, Judd made it look easy to collect and spear the pass to Fev, but it wasn't.

That kick for a 21 year old should be his bread and butter - not good enough.

When we play teams like Hawthorn, Geelong, Adelaide and even the Kangas - they will make us pay for shit disposal like that.

Jezza U Beauty
22 Apr 2008, 12:59
I saw at incident and agree, it was very ordinary. Russell puts in at least one of those per game. His disposal is the worst in the side and he can't read the play. The kick that went to Judd in the dying seconds was a shocker, Judd made it look easy to collect and spear the pass to Fev, but it wasn't.

That kick for a 21 year old should be his bread and butter - not good enough.

When we play teams like Hawthorn, Geelong, Adelaide and even the Kangas - they will make us pay for shit disposal like that.

I don't think any of the people saying get off Russell's back are of the opinion that he is a gun, but simply that he's nowhere near as bad as some make him out to be. And if you actually watch him play rather than just freak out every time he makes a stuff-up, you notice that he's steadily improving.

His foot passing last weekend was the best it's been, and one that comes to mind was a 50M pass off his left foot from the backline to Simmo on the wing. His kicks in the fwd line were noticeably harder and flatter which makes me think that he's working on his game after maybe some coaching input that his attempted little delicate kicks are the ones that miss the target.

Some have been saying drop him for Bentick, but when he was given a run on sunday Bentick's game was nothing special, and his contribution was less than JR's.

So, whilst there's no-one knocking the door down with dominant performances in the VFL and JR's getting a bit better every week, what would you gain by dumping him ?

Juddy08
22 Apr 2008, 14:18

Listen pal i will say this once......

Don't show me some stupid quote from someone who may have been there or not.

I was there live and have watched the replay and Kreuzer did NOT pull out or sherk any contests in his FIRST AFL game.

So either tell me what you veiwed with your OWN eyes and at what time in the game it was and i'll shut up.

And you can stick your apology where it fits.:mad:

HBF
22 Apr 2008, 14:28
Much to my surprise, JR has steadily improved over the past 3 weeks, and I cannot recall any real brain explosions from the Melbourne game. Looks to have a little bit of confidence as well with his game.

Well done JR, I didn't think you had it in you.

:thumbsu:

gandaal
22 Apr 2008, 16:22
Much to my surprise, JR has steadily improved over the past 3 weeks, and I cannot recall any real brain explosions from the Melbourne game. Looks to have a little bit of confidence as well with his game.

Well done JR, I didn't think you had it in you.

:thumbsu:
He did duck his head once but its seems he's become a bit more confortable at the highest level. He's no longer a kid and he doesn't play like one.

berisha
22 Apr 2008, 17:27
Every time he gets the ball, I feel nervous, that he'll turn it over. Most of the time he does. Not good enough.

gandaal
22 Apr 2008, 17:43
Every time he gets the ball, I feel nervous, that he'll turn it over. Most of the time he does. Not good enough.
:confused:

Not really. Russell rarely turns it over these days.

Pamam
22 Apr 2008, 17:44

yeah you actually have to get the ball to turn it over!!!

berisha
22 Apr 2008, 17:59

I can think of quite a few times where he has turned it over recently.
mainly against Essendon and C'Wood. he wasn't AS BAD against melbourne.
I noticed several players chose to ignore the Russel option when he was in space last weekend. Good option. :thumbsu: I also think his marking technique is a cause for concern. I don't hate Russel. I just wish he played for the Bullants.

Blue Bawls
22 Apr 2008, 20:55

Scroll up half a page from this post... ;)

BLue_Bloys
22 Apr 2008, 22:30
Scroll up half a page from this post... ;)

haha sorry mate didn't see that.

Listen pal i will say this once......

Don't show me some stupid quote from someone who may have been there or not.

I was there live and have watched the replay and Kreuzer did NOT pull out or sherk any contests in his FIRST AFL game.

So either tell me what you veiwed with your OWN eyes and at what time in the game it was and i'll shut up.

And you can stick your apology where it fits.:mad:

I viewed it in my own eyes that when filling the hole as ruckmen do he would pull out of the contest late (happened 2 times that I can remember, 1 was with Lloyd taking as easy mark and I think the other was Hille). It was no biggy and I don't really care he did it as you said it was his first game. He hasn't done it again and I doubt he will, just that when other players do it nobody cares only when Russell or Houlihan do it.

chelsworthgale
22 Apr 2008, 23:28
I viewed it in my own eyes that when filling the hole as ruckmen do he would pull out of the contest late (happened 2 times that I can remember, 1 was with Lloyd taking as easy mark and I think the other was Hille). It was no biggy and I don't really care he did it as you said it was his first game. He hasn't done it again and I doubt he will, just that when other players do it nobody cares only when Russell or Houlihan do it.

correct... this is because they are repeat offenders!

Freddie you can understand he pulled out late and on the back of the brown incident against Hawthorn you can understand why...

but look at the 2:00 mark of this video... http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=yNGL2-5D0Ic

he knew the hit was coming and he proceeded... he has learnt a lot from the brown and the first game incidents and he is becoming confident and taking the hits in his 4th game... russell and houlihan constantly do it