View Full Version : Ryan Schoenmakers

Pages : [1] 2

Drummond
21 Apr 2008, 00:19
King Elvis knows his stuff. Get on board the Schoenmakers bandwagon as it'll be full very shortly.

http://www.norwoodfc.com.au/playerpics08/player52.jpg

17 years of age, he's tall, quick, athletic, has superb skills and is a member of the 2008 SANFL under 18 academy squad. Will be drafted this year, I'm prepared to say it right now. I'm going to have to head down early to a few Norwood reserves games because I want to follow this guy's career while he's still with Norwood.

Can play all over the ground and everything about him screams AFL as he's the modern day player. Adelaide Football Club, please keep an eye out for him, he'll be worth it. :thumbsu:

Campbell's Chunky
21 Apr 2008, 00:22
More info.

Possie, stats, does he play for Norwood (oh wait...):D:D?

Southerntakeover
21 Apr 2008, 00:43
Wheres he playing for Norwood?

Drummond
21 Apr 2008, 00:54
Wheres he playing for Norwood?
Kicked three goals and was named second best on his reserves debut. Kicked just the one goal last week but kicked 3 on Friday. Has been playing as a key forward but can play either end of the ground.

Southerntakeover
21 Apr 2008, 01:02
Kicked three goals and was named second best on his reserves debut. Kicked just the one goal last week but kicked 3 on Friday. Has been playing as a key forward but can play either end of the ground.

So, is he a key position prospect, or more of a utility?

Drummond
21 Apr 2008, 01:06
So, is he a key position prospect, or more of a utility?
Well, he'd probably need to grow a bit more to be a classic KPP, but to me he looks a fair bit taller than the 190cm he's listed as. So as of right now I'd say he's more of a utility but with his athletic ability he could probably hold down a key post at either end.

King Elvis
21 Apr 2008, 01:20
I'm 6 foot 2, and he's taller than I am.

His dad/uncle/grandad are all over 6ft4, he's definitely still got some growing left to do.

Has been playing CHF/CHB and, from time to time, on the wing. He is very committed and has excellent endurance for a guy his size, as Drum said, great skills; can kick beautifully on either foot.

He's being moved back and forward a bit at the moment, but he's definitely showing a lot. Obviously he's got to find his feet at the moment; if he was kicking straight for goal, and if goal assists are tracked in the Reserves, then he'd be doing exceptionally well.

He's a great young kid from a good family - whose Mum is not looking forward to the possibility of him moving interstate :)

Campbell's Chunky
21 Apr 2008, 01:22
Actually, now I've done the research, I was impressed by number 52 and had to remind myself to take a squizz on Norwood's website to see who he was.

Now that I've found out it's him, I'm in agreeance Drummy.

King Elvis
21 Apr 2008, 01:49
Just trying to think of who he plays like - maybe a Nick Gill (with better skills :))

Markthirtytwo
21 Apr 2008, 09:57
Just what we need, another good looking blonde lad. :p

Redline
21 Apr 2008, 10:30
He is a good player and I'd expect him to go in the Draft. Hopefully to us.:thumbsu:

Porps_is_HOT_loz
21 Apr 2008, 10:41
No no no brunettes are better looking then blondes:p
Eg; Porps;)

Sounds like a good player! How do you pronounce that last name SCH-OEN-MAKERS hmmm:confused::p

RangaInTeal
21 Apr 2008, 10:51
looks like he may have spent a little too much time in the salairum, would go alright at ParaHills!:D

King Elvis
21 Apr 2008, 11:21
looks like he may have spent a little too much time in the salairum, would go alright at ParaHills!:D

No time on one mate - he's a dutchy, but his Mum is of mediteranean (sp) descent, and quite olive skinned.

Pronounced Shoe-en-makers.

Jars458
21 Apr 2008, 11:50
Imagine if we don't draft him and take a Victorian instead, Drummond will need medical assistance!

Coopers
21 Apr 2008, 12:31
VinceVanMcSchoenwin!

RoosterLad
21 Apr 2008, 13:27
I guess it was only a matter of time until we had a "we must draft this Norwood player" thread from Drum.

Crow-mo
21 Apr 2008, 19:02
King Elvis knows his stuff. Get on board the Schoenmakers bandwagon as it'll be full very shortly.

http://www.norwoodfc.com.au/playerpics08/player52.jpg

17 years of age, he's tall, quick, athletic, has superb skills and is a member of the 2008 SANFL under 18 academy squad. Will be drafted this year, I'm prepared to say it right now. I'm going to have to head down early to a few Norwood reserves games because I want to follow this guy's career while he's still with Norwood.

Can play all over the ground and everything about him screams AFL as he's the modern day player. Adelaide Football Club, please keep an eye out for him, he'll be worth it. :thumbsu:

help me out Drummond, that guernsey... which club is that again? :p

King Elvis
21 Apr 2008, 19:30
I guess it was only a matter of time until we had a "we must draft this Norwood player" thread from Drum.

To be fair, we generally all pump up the tires of the guys we know.

Last year it was me with Salter or Petrenko because they're good Torrens boys, and I saw a bit of them.

Norwood have another Friday Night game at the Parade this week, I'm thinking of going down to have a look at Taylor Walker, will probably rock up and watch the twos as well.

RoosterLad
21 Apr 2008, 19:54
It's a bit of a disgrace that there are two ANZAC matches this week. Norwood and... South is it?

The big one is at Adelaide Oval, pity the Dogs will win comfortably.

starskyCrow87
21 Apr 2008, 21:57
Hey Drum...

Speaking of Norwood reserves players, i know a young lad by the name of Matt Hill who has played games for them. How's he been playing lately? Any chance he might be drafted this year?

I havent seen him play in a long time, chat to him when i see him from time to time, used to be the grade above him in junior footy when we were younger, great bloke but i was just wanting to get a perspective from someone who'd probably seen him play on how his footy's goin.

Thanx in advance mate:thumbsu:

pjcrows
21 Apr 2008, 23:11
You sure it's not just Pfeiffer with a hairy?

ams4crows
21 Apr 2008, 23:18
I've seen the kid play and he definately caught my eye when I've gone to see the norwood ressies I had to keep asking who's that kid he's pretty good all the time!

King Elvis
21 Apr 2008, 23:20
You sure it's not just Pfeiffer with a hairy?

Definitely not :)

Blue Red and Gold
22 Apr 2008, 11:31
I'm 6 foot 2, and he's taller than I am.

His dad/uncle/grandad are all over 6ft4, he's definitely still got some growing left to do.

Has been playing CHF/CHB and, from time to time, on the wing. He is very committed and has excellent endurance for a guy his size, as Drum said, great skills; can kick beautifully on either foot.

He's being moved back and forward a bit at the moment, but he's definitely showing a lot. Obviously he's got to find his feet at the moment; if he was kicking straight for goal, and if goal assists are tracked in the Reserves, then he'd be doing exceptionally well.

He's a great young kid from a good family - whose Mum is not looking forward to the possibility of him moving interstate :)
Cousin?

King Elvis
22 Apr 2008, 13:47
Good family friends.

Campbell's Chunky
22 Apr 2008, 13:51
Good family friends.
Crows supporter?

King Elvis
22 Apr 2008, 16:38
Crows supporter?

Absolutely.

His old man played a few games for the Reserves at Torrens, so he hates Port.

His dad is the General Manager of our Company, so we've known them forever.

meh
22 Apr 2008, 17:40
Went to primary school with this guy and played against through the ages as he played for Tea Tree Gully..cant believe he's being touted as AFL potential.

Either he's gotten ridiculously good very quickly or the AFL standard has dropped significantly. He always had good hands, but was never big enough to play KP, but since he has size of his side now he may be a different player.

Campbell's Chunky
22 Apr 2008, 17:43
Went to primary school with this guy and played against through the ages as he played for Tea Tree Gully..cant believe he's being touted as AFL potential.

Either he's gotten ridiculously good very quickly or the AFL standard has dropped significantly. He always had good hands, but was never big enough to play KP, but since he has size of his side now he may be a different player.
Some people develop late, and grow some extra cm's from 15-18 years old. See Taylor Walker, went from 186-193 in a little over a year. See also Warren Tredrea. He was a wingman before he slipped on some high heels.

He certainly looked the goods last Friday night.

King Elvis
22 Apr 2008, 20:20

As you said, good hands, and his skills are very good.

He's grown a lot in the last couple of years.

But, again, attitude - just spoke to his old man; apparently on Sunday Night the Academy Squad was sent a message that they'd have a 3.5km time trial at 7am on Monday morning; only 6 guys bothered to turn up, Ryan being one of them.

Crowman32
26 Apr 2008, 01:48
I saw the last quarter of the reserves tonight and he looked quite impressive plaing across half forward. He kicked one goal in the last quarter and one thing i noticed is he has a beautiful kick on him - a long left footer.

King Elvis
5 May 2008, 22:14
Pretty sure he made the SA U/19 Side.

jo172
5 May 2008, 22:29
Pretty sure he made the SA U/19 Side.

Would suggest you mean U18 side and it hasn't been officially named yet but you're in all likelihood correct:thumbsu:

RooDog
5 May 2008, 22:49
Would suggest you mean U18 side and it hasn't been officially named yet but you're in all likelihood correct:thumbsu:
there is a 42?? i think man squad

King Elvis
5 May 2008, 23:02

Sorry - you're right.

I'll check and confirm tommorow :)

cmndstab
6 May 2008, 00:15
May I be the first to suggest the nickname "Cobbler"?

Drummond
6 May 2008, 01:53
Ryan Schoenmakers has indeed made the SA U/18 squad. :thumbsu:

http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/225/

Along with Speight, ams will be happy about that.

ams4crows
6 May 2008, 17:18
Ryan Schoenmakers has indeed made the SA U/18 squad. :thumbsu:

http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/225/

Along with Speight, ams will be happy about that.
I absolutley am! just had his 18th he was a good boy and did get trashed Norwood even had the bye the weekend of his birthday! but he said he has to respect his body so good on him!

cmndstab
7 May 2008, 02:41
Did or didn't get trashed?

King Elvis
7 May 2008, 11:32
Didn't.

ams4crows
7 May 2008, 14:41
opps yeah I ment didn't

Alberton_Magpie
7 May 2008, 14:48
I played on him in the 2006 Grand Final (GG vs TTG) and he didnt kick a goal on me and im no Darryl Wakelin. He will be a servicable SANFL player at best but I think AFL is farfetched.

Campbell's Chunky
7 May 2008, 17:36
I played on him in the 2006 Grand Final (GG vs TTG) and he didnt kick a goal on me and im no Darryl Wakelin. He will be a servicable SANFL player at best but I think AFL is farfetched.
I've seen this new recruit flying around for Golden Grove.

He's tall, strong and posts on BigFooty. Played on some absolute guns in his time and has never had a goal kicked on him in his time. Let's draft him.

Sparno17
7 May 2008, 19:55
I've seen this new recruit flying around for Golden Grove.

He's tall, strong and posts on BigFooty. Played on some absolute guns in his time and has never had a goal kicked on him in his time. Let's draft him.

You must be talking about me CC :p
Ill claim ive tagged monfries out of a juniour game and kicked a couple on Beau Waters but im a bit passed it now :D:D

Dont be dissin GG. Besides a slip on the weekend, we are lookin alright. ;)

Campbell's Chunky
7 May 2008, 19:57
Ill claim ive tagged monfries out of a juniour game and kicked a couple on Beau Waters but im a bit passed it now :D:D

Hugh Minson kicked 4 on me. :(

And he never played an AFL game to justify that pisspoor performance. :(:(

Sparno17
7 May 2008, 20:03

Dont worry, Lindsay Thomas towled me up one day as well. Kicked three on me as a direct opponent and ended up with 6 for the day. Very wet and sorry day at alberton that was lol

Markthirtytwo
7 May 2008, 21:42

That must have been Ozkick, I mean you being female and all. :eek:

Campbell's Chunky
7 May 2008, 21:55
That must have been Ozkick, I mean you being female and all. :eek:
Yeh, back in year 4, when Minson was 197cm and I was merely 145. :(

Actually, just on Minson, he kicked 4 on me in the first half. Then I worked him out. He was massively one sided (his natural left), and I was always used to anticipating for a right footer, so I just cornered him so he couldn't get on his left and he didn't kick one on me after.

Rave Slave
7 May 2008, 22:11

Filth!

TTG ftw

King Elvis
7 May 2008, 23:45
Kookaburras > *

bus24
7 May 2008, 23:55
GGFC :thumbsu:

Campbell's Chunky
8 May 2008, 00:00
Paocfc

Sparno17
8 May 2008, 00:05
Filth!

TTG ftw

Filth?? GG???
:rolleyes:

Dont get me started on TTG. Oh how i hate them. Can proudly say my side never lost to them growing up.

GGFC :thumbsu:

Seems im amongst friends here

Anywho, back on topic

Southerntakeover
8 May 2008, 02:14

Did the Walkerville team thrash you?

Some damn good players on that team. Atleast three that have gone on to AFL games, and a few more in the year below that played with them once or twice i think.

Sparno17
8 May 2008, 16:54
Did the Walkerville team thrash you?

Some damn good players on that team. Atleast three that have gone on to AFL games, and a few more in the year below that played with them once or twice i think.

They were a better side but at the same time we beat them enough times for it not to be a fluke.

I was in the modbury side they beat in three grand finals.
We got done by 8 goals in u/13, 4 in u/14 and should have won the u/15's game. Lost by 4-8points after being up going into the last.

Essentially they recruited huge to beat us around u/13's as we as only lost 3 games from u/8 through to u/12 with to flags on the way. They had the nickname 'the dream team' at that stage. They brought in the lower twins, a few more from PAC as well as bringing across a kid called Hatswell from athelstone. At that stage he was clearly better than monfries. Not many kids played up (assuming your reffering to wundke and wright and co). They had McIntyre as well who was a rookie with the crows last year and a at least two more who are still floating in league/reserves lists. Pretty good side just for juniour footy.

Was always weird to have 300+ to a juniour game but thats what happened whenever we played.

jo172
8 May 2008, 16:56
They brought in the lower twins, a few more from PAC as well as bringing across a kid called Hatswell from athelstone.

Not Adam Hatswell by any chance?

Rave Slave
8 May 2008, 16:56
Paocfc

How's the life partner?

Campbell's Chunky
8 May 2008, 16:59
How's the life partner?
Undefeated in all grades m8y.

We will pump Portland into oblivion this weekend.

Sparno17
8 May 2008, 17:05
Not Adam Hatswell by any chance?

That would be the one

Rave Slave
8 May 2008, 17:06
Undefeated in all grades m8y.

We will pump Portland into oblivion this weekend.

Impressive.

Still TTGFC >>>>> PAOCFC >>>>>>> Golden Girls

Alberton_Magpie
12 May 2008, 20:48

Yeah too bad that wanker #17 took my number :mad:

Alberton_Magpie
12 May 2008, 20:50
Impressive.

Still TTGFC >>>>> PAOCFC >>>>>>> Golden Girls

TTGFC are the collingwood of the SAAFL

Campbell's Chunky
12 May 2008, 20:53
Yeah too bad that wanker #17 took my number :mad:
I was wearing #17 and booted five goals.

Great weekends for 17's all round.

Alberton_Magpie
12 May 2008, 20:55

I wore 17 from U12s-U16s, took the year off came back to U18s and they dont have a 17 in the set of Guersneys so I had to settle for #7 but SPARNO17 has stolen my 17 for senior footy next year :o

jo172
12 May 2008, 20:58
I wore 17 from U12s-U16s, took the year off came back to U18s and they dont have a 17 in the set of Guersneys so I had to settle for #7 but SPARNO17 has stolen my 17 for senior footy next year :o

Dude, same thing with me and #6!:mad:

So i've started wearing #22 as some kind of bizarre homage to Ian Perrie or something:o

Sparno17
12 May 2008, 22:41

You should no they look after there superstar players first young magpie ;)
Ive worn it just as long as you mate. Did you wear it in 1st XVIII after i finished school or was the jumper retired along in respect of my greatness :p:p

Anywho.....We should probably stick to the topic of the thread....

How did young Schoey play on the weekend??? Saw he kicked a goal. Anyone have any reports on his game??? Did u catch the reserves drum?

-CG-
12 May 2008, 23:30

Or was it 4......... :D

seababoon
12 May 2008, 23:42
isnt will minson right footed..?

one of my mates originally from south australia, now manager of a pub over here in perth, reckons he played on brad otten once and he got 6 kicked on him in a quarter.. he reckons he tried everything, tried punching his arms, in the kidneys, but he kept marking it.. of course i dont know if this is true or not

Gets!
12 May 2008, 23:49
Seaton Ramblers. Get on board.

Campbell's Chunky
13 May 2008, 00:05
Or was it 4......... :D
Officially I kicked 5. :) That's all that matters.

King Elvis
13 May 2008, 00:43
At least the Goodwood Saints lost.

Alberton_Magpie
14 May 2008, 12:56
You should no they look after there superstar players first young magpie ;)
Ive worn it just as long as you mate. Did you wear it in 1st XVIII after i finished school or was the jumper retired along in respect of my greatness :p:p

Anywho.....We should probably stick to the topic of the thread....

How did young Schoey play on the weekend??? Saw he kicked a goal. Anyone have any reports on his game??? Did u catch the reserves drum?

By all reports he got his pants pulled down by Port Adelaides Matthew Lobbe

Alberton_Magpie
14 May 2008, 12:56
And if you want to talk about embarrasing efforts on the field one of the Wundke boys kicked 8 on me.

Southerntakeover
15 May 2008, 02:52
And if you want to talk about embarrasing efforts on the field one of the Wundke boys kicked 8 on me.

Must've been James. Mikes now on the Kangaroos rookie list.

viva the general
15 May 2008, 11:38
james wundke is so over-rated.

RangaInTeal
15 May 2008, 14:33
They were a better side but at the same time we beat them enough times for it not to be a fluke.

I was in the modbury side they beat in three grand finals.
We got done by 8 goals in u/13, 4 in u/14 and should have won the u/15's game. Lost by 4-8points after being up going into the last.

Essentially they recruited huge to beat us around u/13's as we as only lost 3 games from u/8 through to u/12 with to flags on the way. They had the nickname 'the dream team' at that stage. They brought in the lower twins, a few more from PAC as well as bringing across a kid called Hatswell from athelstone. At that stage he was clearly better than monfries. Not many kids played up (assuming your reffering to wundke and wright and co). They had McIntyre as well who was a rookie with the crows last year and a at least two more who are still floating in league/reserves lists. Pretty good side just for juniour footy.

Was always weird to have 300+ to a juniour game but thats what happened whenever we played.

Yeah well my claim to fame is I played agisnt all of them, North Pines, You would have smashed us a few times!

jo172
15 May 2008, 22:42
Yeah well my claim to fame is I played agisnt all of them, North Pines, You would have smashed us a few times!

You don't still happen to play for North Pines do you (in seniors)?

King Elvis
8 Jun 2008, 20:52
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11300921&postcount=333

:)

Alberton_Magpie
8 Jun 2008, 20:56
Must've been James. Mikes now on the Kangaroos rookie list.

Nah this was about 3 or 4 years ago.

Gets!
8 Jun 2008, 21:21
Chris Yarran. Let's draft this bloke.

seababoon
8 Jun 2008, 21:33
yep he's a gun, id say equally as impressive as palmer would have been this time last year.. goal kicking midfielder/small forward.. also hayden ballaytine would be a good draft prospect, small forward that kicks lots of goals, medhurst like just round the time he got drafted

Rave Slave
8 Jun 2008, 21:38
Chris Yarran. Let's draft this bloke.

Be gone by our pick. Sadly :(

Campbell's Chunky
8 Jun 2008, 21:49
Be gone by our pick. Sadly :(
Does Jim have a brother?

He would be a good choice IMO.

Drummond
10 Jun 2008, 19:23
Schoenmakers will be in my 2009 AFL Dream Team.

Gun.

Rave Slave
11 Jun 2008, 17:16
Does Jim have a brother?

He would be a good choice IMO.

agree m8y

disappointing effort on J1ms parents, the Sellars could be the new Motlops only with talent and ticker.

RangaInTeal
12 Jun 2008, 12:51
A scout was sitting in front of us at the footy, Ryan was one of the lads he was looking at, first quater he had writen down good desision maker, shows versitility, playing today at full back. last quater had written down, not one of his better games, would rather Jackson(?IIRC?) number 24.... So, that was only one scout though!

Rave Slave
9 Jul 2008, 22:40
Bump bump bumpity bump!

Out: Rendell

In: King Elvis/Drummond ;)

If you watched the champs today you would've seen the footy brain on this kid. Moves around the field beautifully for a bloke of his size and just pulls in everything that comes his way. The thing that impressed me most was his ability to spot up the perfect option everytime after taking the ball at CHF. Set up countless scoring shots for SA today.

Draft priority :thumbsu:

Porps_is_HOT_loz
9 Jul 2008, 23:04
Was about to bump this thread:D

Would be a great 2nd rounder for us!!

King Elvis
9 Jul 2008, 23:04
6 months ago, I thought he might go late in the draft based on his size/speed/endurance, as a bit of a project player that could be moulded.

I watched the game they played at Adelaide Oval - he didn't dominate, but when he got his hands on the ball, he used it very, very well. Second half he got put on the Tas kid who was carving up in the first half, and shut him down very effectively.

Now, I'm thinking he could go late second/early third round.

All reports are he had a very, very good Champs. Was involved in a lot himself, but also used and brought his team mates into play a lot.

Hope he stays in SA, but not Port.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
9 Jul 2008, 23:07
Schoenmakers will be in my 2009 AFL Dream Team.

Gun.
Snap!

List of youngsters who will be in my DT!

Dangerfield, Walker, Schoenmakers, Natuni, Watts, Rich and more!!

Rave Slave
9 Jul 2008, 23:11
Snap!

List of youngsters who will be in my DT!

Dangerfield, Walker, Schoenmakers, Natuni, Watts, Rich and more!!

Watts may not even nominate for the draft this year as (IMO) he's being a little bitch and trying to manipulate the system and stay in Victoria (though he claims it's to complete his year 12). He conveniently also managed to slip in that he absolutely loves living in Victoria and doesn't particularly want to leave the state.

Something about the name Watts ;)

betterthanu
9 Jul 2008, 23:11
^^Hartlett wont take long to settle in

Edit @loz

Vic Crow
9 Jul 2008, 23:43
6 months ago, I thought he might go late in the draft based on his size/speed/endurance, as a bit of a project player that could be moulded.

I watched the game they played at Adelaide Oval - he didn't dominate, but when he got his hands on the ball, he used it very, very well. Second half he got put on the Tas kid who was carving up in the first half, and shut him down very effectively.

Now, I'm thinking he could go late second/early third round.
Great athleticism and brain. Combined with his size and versatility that makes a good package. The only thing pushing him that far back would be the sheer awesomeness of the early part of this draft. I reckon he'll be gone by the third round.

cmndstab
10 Jul 2008, 02:10
If we get him second round and Sidebottom first round I will personally send Rendell a thank you card.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Jul 2008, 12:00
Watts may not even nominate for the draft this year as (IMO) he's being a little bitch and trying to manipulate the system and stay in Victoria (though he claims it's to complete his year 12). He conveniently also managed to slip in that he absolutely loves living in Victoria and doesn't particularly want to leave the state.

Something about the name Watts ;)
Hahaha!

I guess Wattsey wont be in my DT then :D

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Jul 2008, 12:00
^^Hartlett wont take long to settle in

Edit @loz
Oops yeah I forgot. Hartlett is my favourite out of the players in the championships so he will be in there:thumbsu:

Gets!
10 Jul 2008, 12:21
Any chance Hartlett could slide to our first pick?

Vic Crow
10 Jul 2008, 12:28
Any chance Hartlett could slide to our first pick?
No..

Gets!
10 Jul 2008, 12:33
Here's hoping....

Yarran will do then.