View Full Version : Bulldogs and draws
Bulldog Brent
21 Apr 2008, 13:10
I may be wrong, but haven't we played in more draws than any other club (per 100 games statistically)? If not, then certainly in the last 10-15 years.
Yesterday reminded me of the draw against the Eagles in 2003 - 13 up and drawing - yesterday 19 down.
Over the last 15-odd years I recall draws against the Pies, Hawks, Saints, Eagles, Tigers, Bombers, Swans .... any others?
I hate the feeling as the siren goes!
barkly st.
21 Apr 2008, 13:29
The last 2 bulldog games I've been too have been draws. Yesterday and Saints last year.
Also was at the essendon game in 200??? (Lloyd missed from 35 out after the siren)
recall draws againts the eagles (we were 2 goals up with minutes to play), Collingwood (Joyces first game as coach??? - we kicked a number of points in a row in the last quarter)
I'm sure there are others in the recent past.
cammo78
21 Apr 2008, 13:34
The last 2 bulldog games I've been too have been draws. Yesterday and Saints last year.
Also was at the essendon game in 200??? (Lloyd missed from 35 out after the siren)
recall draws againts the eagles (we were 2 goals up with minutes to play), Collingwood (Joyces first game as coach??? - we kicked a number of points in a row in the last quarter)
I'm sure there are others in the recent past.
we lost by a point in Joyce's first game...to the Pies.
always right
21 Apr 2008, 13:49
I may be wrong, but haven't we played in more draws than any other club (per 100 games statistically)? If not, then certainly in the last 10-15 years.
Yesterday reminded me of the draw against the Eagles in 2003 - 13 up and drawing - yesterday 19 down.
Over the last 15-odd years I recall draws against the Pies, Hawks, Saints, Eagles, Tigers, Bombers, Swans .... any others?
I hate the feeling as the siren goes!
Loved hearing that siren yesterday as the tigers entered their forward 50. We had left at about the 28 minute mark, 19 points down with me muttering something about not wanting to be inside the ground when they start singing the theme song. As we were walking down the ramps I could hear some cheering but simply thought the tigers had scored a couple more goals....remember stating in earshot of some tiger supporters...."fancy losing to that scum".
Got to the bridge to find all these bulldogs people watching the screen...."masochists" is what I initially thought. Looked up at the screen to find us 6 points down. WTF! Briefly considered that the footage was on delay before seeing Lake taking that ripper mark from about 12 deep. State of confusion until I realised that Lake was up forward!
Confusion reigned as they work out who is going to take the kick. When I see big Will walking back with the ball, I turn to the bloke beside me with a look of resignation...."he'll push it right like he often does" I declare. My 14 year old is beside herself. Big Will is her favourite and she wears his number with pride. Bulldog supporters racing back into the stadium to catch a glimpse. Will comes in and it doesn't look like missing....a draw!...I'll take it.
One last moment of anxiety as a BS free is pulled out the middle and as the ball goes into the forward 50, I'm relieved it's Dale Morris who is there to make sure Judas Brown doesn't become the hero. Even sweeter when Brown reacts as if they've won before realising what a tool he's made of himself.
Surreal feeling as it sinks in we've salvaged a draw. Richmond faithful come pouring out of the ground...amazing range of emotions amongst them. Some with faces like thunder, others seemingly in a state of shock, and some ridiculing their team for losing the unloseable......the joys of barracking for Richmond:D. I ask some of them what happened. How the hell did we get to the point where Minson was even kicking to draw the game? "Who kicked the other goals?" I kept asking. None of them could tell me what happened. One bloke kept muttering something about Lake and Minson, whilst his mate looked as though he was going to explode at any moment. I thought it wise not to push him any further.
I can honestly say that is the first draw I've seen that felt like a win. If you had told me before the game that we would draw with the tigers I would have been livid. But to be outplayed for the majority of the game and look like going down in a screaming heap.....to end up getting two points put me in high spirits all the way back to the car. Incredible to see the two teams sharing the points yet bulldogs supporters left with smiles on their faces whilst the tigers faithful walked in stony silence.
Yes...we dodged a bullet...again. If we can bring our A game to the table next week, we should account for the weagles....or have we used up our allocation of luck? With everything that's happened to us over the years, I reckon it's reasonable to think we have a bit more still in the bank.
always right
21 Apr 2008, 16:03
I should also add that I normally never leave the game early. This episode has taught me a salient lesson.
bulldogrob
21 Apr 2008, 18:14
I was about to leave when they were 19 points up aswell as i don't think i could stand hearing that stupid Tigerland song:rolleyes:
Call it a blind faith but i just had a feeling we still weren't out of the game, just like i did against the crows
Dogs 13
21 Apr 2008, 18:28
Never, ever leave early. "Beating the traffic" is such an ordinary excuse.
And you have to put up with being taunted by the opposition supporters as you leave. Didn't you love giving it to the Collingwood supporters who were leaving early in 2006 !!
Slash_LP
21 Apr 2008, 18:32
Got to the bridge to find all these bulldogs people watching the screen...."masochists" is what I initially thought. Looked up at the screen to find us 6 points down.
Hehe got there about 5 seconds before me.
addorable
21 Apr 2008, 18:38
I should also add that I normally never leave the game early. This episode has taught me a salient lesson.
i'm normally the same have sat through many floggings all the ones at the end of last year, but the St kilda game last year got to much we were crap they play shit footy so left at 3/4 time,
yesterday wasn't in the mood to listen to yellow and black yeld in my ear so left 25minutes into last 1/4 heard all the cheers as i was wa;lking to the crowd but thought richmond finishing us off.
have learnt a big lesson
thank god i had foxtel to watch the replay
stmookeyj
21 Apr 2008, 19:09
6th of July 2002, my 18th Birthday.
Then there's 1996 in the Whitten Mud when Darrin Pritchard dribbled through a point for Hawthorn to draw with us, there's a youtube of the 1999 draw we had at Princes Park again with Hawthorn.
stmookeyj
21 Apr 2008, 19:12
Collingwood (Joyces first game as coach??? - we kicked a number of points in a row in the last quarter)
That was actually Round 14 1995 when we lead at 3/4 time. It was their 2nd draw of the season following Anzac Day (very topical), and pretty much started a run for us to sneak into the 8.
GetDimmaBack
22 Apr 2008, 12:54
My son declared he'd had enough with 5 mins to go and left.
Got a shock when ha came back and sat down again as Minson was lining up for goal.
Said he got to the gate to find hundreds of Dogs supporters watching the screen. Came back in just in case...
He's done it before.
He went back to the car at Geelong one day - Dogs 50 points down and playing like they didn't want to be there. Wouldn't even listen to it! Missed one of the epic home & away games.
Also wanted to go to the movies in about 2001 vs Kangaroos (42 down in 3rd q.). I made him stay that day...
Wouldn't you reckon he'd have learned his lesson by now?
Allan Shorty
22 Apr 2008, 13:09
My son declared he'd had enough with 5 mins to go and left.
Got a shock when ha came back and sat down again as Minson was lining up for goal.
Said he got to the gate to find hundreds of Dogs supporters watching the screen. Came back in just in case...
He's done it before.
He went back to the car at Geelong one day - Dogs 50 points down and playing like they didn't want to be there. Wouldn't even listen to it! Missed one of the epic home & away games.
Also wanted to go to the movies in about 2001 vs Kangaroos (42 down in 3rd q.). I made him stay that day...
Wouldn't you reckon he'd have learned his lesson by now?
Ahh.. that is in my top 5 days at the footy of all time. A great day at KP.
Red,White and Blue
22 Apr 2008, 18:48
well ill admit i was too early no sunday to think we had lost. i took off my scarf, hat, membership and guernsey at about the 27 minute mark so it just looked like io was neutral. wanted to leave but didnt. i was quik to put that guernsey back on
Bruce_Duperouzel
22 Apr 2008, 19:38
well ill admit i was too early no sunday to think we had lost. i took off my scarf, hat, membership and guernsey at about the 27 minute mark so it just looked like io was neutral. wanted to leave but didnt. i was quik to put that guernsey back on
Wanker! Win, lose or draw wear ur colors with pride. Dont want fairweather supporters like that.
Went to that Eagles game when Sampi kicked a goal after the siren.
Was absolutely gutted, but in the long run it worked out better for us.
The Coon Dog
22 Apr 2008, 20:35
Here are our drawn games since 1970.
Sure to jog a few memories.
R8, 1973 - WB 8.8.56 v North Melb 8.8.56 - AS
R8, 1974 - WB 9.12.66 v Carlton 9.12.66 - PP
R22, 1976 - WB 15.17.107 v Carlton 15.17.107 - PP
R5, 1977 - WB 17.14.116 v St.Kilda 17.14.116 - WO
R4, 1979 - WB 20.8.128 v Essendon 19.14.128 - WO
R20, 1987 - WB 18.17.125 v North Melb 18.17.125 - MCG
R16, 1989 - WB 6.10.46 v Carlton 6.10.46 - WO
R12, 1991 - WB 4.11.35 v Sydney 5.5.35 - WO
R12, 1995 - WB 10.11.71 v Collingwood 10.11.71 - WAV
R4, 1996 - WB 8.9.57 v Hawthorn 8.9.57 - WO
R11, 1999 - WB 10.16.76 v Hawthorn 11.10.76 - OO
R14, 2002 - WB 18.10.118 v Essendon 17.16.118 - TD
R11, 2003 - WB 19.10.124 v West Coast 19.10.124 - SU
R18, 2007 - WB 12.13.85 v St.Kilda 12.12.85 - TD
R5, 2008 - WB 19.18.130 v Richmond 20.10.130 - TD
Red,White and Blue
22 Apr 2008, 22:00
wow 15 in 35 years. thats heaps.
oh yeah and i only took off my guernsey because i was thinking shi* were gonna lose to richmond. at least i didnt leave like some people
Then there's 1996 in the Whitten Mud when Darrin Pritchard dribbled through a point for Hawthorn to draw with us, there's a youtube of the 1999 draw we had at Princes Park again with Hawthorn.
Haha I remember being at that game, standing on one of the first steps at the scoreboard end and laughing hysterically after Pritchard missed that goal...he was probably only 15 metres out.
Muddy, scrappy day but hey that's what all the good Whitten Oval memories are like!
That Collingwood draw at Waverley was another old memory, watching Dermott Brereton playing in the black & white
Dogs 13
23 Apr 2008, 11:17
Here are our drawn games since 1970.
Sure to jog a few memories.
R8, 1973 - WB 8.8.56 v North Melb 8.8.56 - AS
R8, 1974 - WB 9.12.66 v Carlton 9.12.66 - PP
R22, 1976 - WB 15.17.107 v Carlton 15.17.107 - PP
R5, 1977 - WB 17.14.116 v St.Kilda 17.14.116 - WO
R4, 1979 - WB 20.8.128 v Essendon 19.14.128 - WO
R20, 1987 - WB 18.17.125 v North Melb 18.17.125 - MCG
R16, 1989 - WB 6.10.46 v Carlton 6.10.46 - WO
R12, 1991 - WB 4.11.35 v Sydney 5.5.35 - WO
R12, 1995 - WB 10.11.71 v Collingwood 10.11.71 - WAV
R4, 1996 - WB 8.9.57 v Hawthorn 8.9.57 - WO
R11, 1999 - WB 10.16.76 v Hawthorn 11.10.76 - OO
R14, 2002 - WB 18.10.118 v Essendon 17.16.118 - TD
R11, 2003 - WB 19.10.124 v West Coast 19.10.124 - SU
R18, 2007 - WB 12.13.85 v St.Kilda 12.12.85 - TD
R5, 2008 - WB 19.18.130 v Richmond 20.10.130 - TD
I've been to all of these except the one at Subiaco and the Saints last year (I was sick, truely).
The 1976 draw against Carlton kept us in the five and stopped Melbourne taking our finals spot. We were all dumbstruck at the draw and then realised that the 2 pts was enough to stop Melbourne taking our place and the celebrations started.
The draw against North in 1987 was when Super kicked the goal after the siren.
boydsno1
23 Apr 2008, 11:58
i remember watch that game against the eagles. though we were home when browny kicked his 7th of the game.
#1 Dogs Fan
23 Apr 2008, 22:56
oh yeah and i only took off my guernsey because i was thinking shi* were gonna lose to richmond. at least i didnt leave like some people
That is still weak. I wear my jumper regardless if we lose or win every game and against anyone.
Leaving games just means you are not happy with the team but taking off your jumper just means you are ashamed of your club. :thumbsd:
flamethrower
23 Apr 2008, 23:02
I've been to all of these except the one at Subiaco and the Saints last year (I was sick, truely).
The 1976 draw against Carlton kept us in the five and stopped Melbourne taking our finals spot. We were all dumbstruck at the draw and then realised that the 2 pts was enough to stop Melbourne taking our place and the celebrations started.
The draw against North in 1987 was when Super kicked the goal after the siren.
I was there that day...that was a draw that really felt like a win. I saw a replay of that game on Foxtel a while back.
bulldogman
23 Apr 2008, 23:10
remember the goal after the siren against North in 87 and Super would be the only player to rescue two draws on the last kick of the match i remember the game in 91 against Sydney in the slop at the western oval when he sharked the ball off the pack barkly street end and threw it on his boot for it to scramble through for a point
Bulldog Brent
24 Apr 2008, 13:01
The Age today reported that Brad Johnson has played in the most draws ever - 7, shares that record with Hutchinson and Davis (Essendon). 7 - that's a lot!!
I remember the 1987 draw - but I wasn't there. I was a boy and was at Princes Park with dad - watching Swans play Hawks (those were the days the Hawks played at Princes Park!) - and after game we were in the car and heard on the radio Macpherson had drawn the game for us.
The Swans draw - was there, and it was an ugly game - I remember Glenn Coleman playing ... for us? Wasn't he a Swan too? For some reason he stands out from that match.
Just looking at the list of draws above brings back a lot of memories! Good old Western Oval .... good old Footscray!
ClaudeGriffin
24 Apr 2008, 14:33
I was at the 87 draw, Super was about 40 metres out on an 45 degree angle (I think, I was 13 at the time!).
I was at the 96 game too. I remember the last quarter going for about 40 minutes! Was anyone else there?
With the 95 game, I think I was at that too, was Dermie playing for Collingwood that year? I think they came back and Rocca might have kicked the equaliser. Could be wrong though.
I was at the 87 draw, Super was about 40 metres out on an 45 degree angle (I think, I was 13 at the time!).
I was at the 96 game too. I remember the last quarter going for about 40 minutes! Was anyone else there?
With the 95 game, I think I was at that too, was Dermie playing for Collingwood that year? I think they came back and Rocca might have kicked the equaliser. Could be wrong though.
We stopped dead against both Hawthorn in '96 and Collingwood in '95 - we were 27 points up against the Hawks in the last qtr and 35 points up against the Pies at 3/4 time - in both games, the opposition came home with a strong wind. In the Collingwood game, there were also 2 contentious scoring decisions, a point that was given as a goal to Collingwood and an out-of-bounds that was given as a point to the Dogs (Richard Osborne). In the time-honoured tradition of the Dogs making very average footballers look like millionaires, Mark Orchard had the ball on a string in the last qtr and kicked a couple of crucial goals.
The Hawthron draw in '99 was when Kretiuk somehow stopped the ball from going through for a rushed behind to Hawthorn in the last minute of play - Ken Judge was livid in the coaches box and thought the ball crossed the line. It was also Granty's 200th game from memory.
Against the Swans in '91, we were goalless after half time but still managed to hold on for a draw. Ground conditions were shocking that day (no surprise really), and there was vintage footage of Libba getting a face full of Western Oval mud in the centre square that also went in his eyes.
Looking at Dogs 13's list (and I can only remember '79 onwards), the only draws that truly felt like wins were '87 against North and Sunday's game against Richmond.
Still reckon it was one of the worst posts I've read.