21 Apr 2008, 16:14
CARLTON VS ADELAIDE
MCG 2.10 SAT 26TH APRIL
ODDS: Carl $2.20 Adel $1.60
LADDER POSITION
Carl: 11th W2
Adel: 5th W1
FORM
Carl: The Blues are on a 2 game winning streak. After a stirring win over Collingwood they backed up with a solid but less than convincing win against Melbourne with a scoreline of 15.11(101) to 9.14 (68). Brett Ratten was happy wiht the win but dissapointed that the Blues let their foot off the gas in the last term. The blues controlled the match in the final 2 and-a-half qaurters. Noteable performances came from Chris Judd, Brendan Fevola, Jarrod Waite, Marc Murphy and Andrew Carrazzo.
Adel: The Crows bounced back from a dissapaionting loss to the Hawks to defeat the Dockers 12.16 (88) to 10.11 (71). The Crows controlled the game for along time but the Dockers gave them a scare late but the crows had the poise to control the ball and rub out any sniff the Dockers had of winning. Noteable performances came from Andrew Mcleod, Simon Goodwin Michael Doughty and Bernie Vince.
POSSIBLE RETURN FROM INJURIES
Carl: Hampson, Gibbs and Houlihan
Adel: Massie and Knights
UNDER THE PUMP
Carl: Setanta O'hailpin and Adam Bentick
Adel: Robert Shirley, Jarhan Jacky and Ken McGregor
POSSIBLE INCLUSIONS (FORM BASED)
Carl: Ryan Jackson, Dennis Armfield and Simon Wiggins
Adel: Patrick Dangerfield and Bryce Cambell
OTHER
Trent Hentschel was in-line to make a combeack but strained a hamstring on the weekend playing in the SANFL.
The extent of Bryce Gibbs's and Ryan Houlihan's injury are unknown but both are a chance to play this week. Bryce Gibbs is almost ceratin.
KEY MATCH-UPS
Andrew Mcleod vs Jordan Bannister - Andrew Mcleod has been in superb form for the Crows this year and is dominating games like we all know he can. Jordan Bannister has been given the big jobs so far this year and looms as the man to try and curb Andrew's effect on the game
Brendan Fevola vs Ben Rutten - Fevola has kicked 22 goals in his past 3 games and along with Buddy, is the in-form forward of the AFL. Ben Rutten will get the job of the 'Shag' and if he can keep him to less than 4 goals the Crows will almost definately win.
Simon Goodwin Vs Bryce Gibbs - Simon Goodwin has been outstanding up forward and in the middle for the Crows and has been winning games off his own boot. If he lets loose on Saturday it spells bad news for the Blues. The obvious choice for a run with role for Goodwin is Bryce Gibbs. Gibbs can match Goodwin for pace up forward and can possibly curb the influece of the chief Crow
Chris Judd vs Nathan Van Berlo - The Crows may opt to go head to head with the Blues skipper and if they do Van Berlo cold be the man for the job. Nathan will try and hurt Judd going the other way and try and limit the stars influece around the middle and up forward. Judd is in awesome forward and it will be a hard job for Nathan Van Berlo.
Brett Burton vs Michael Jamison - The Bird-man is in solid form booting 3 goals for the crows on the weekend. He looks like the main danger up forward this week and the job may fall to up-and-coming defender Michael Jamison. Jamison can mach him for pace but will have to back up on the ground and up in the air if he is to stop the high-fying forward.
WHY CARLTON CAN WIN
Carlton has a great midfield with names such as Judd, Stevens , Hadley and Murphy. If they can get on top then the Blues are a real chance. Oh. and they have a bloke called Brendan Fevola up forward.
WHY ADELAIDE CAN WIN
Adelaide have great players all over the park and have some good defensive options for the Blues lesser forwards. They may have to much class for the Blues and with Simon Goodwin and Andrew Mcloed the Crows could be hard to stop.
TIP: The Crows will just have to much class for the Blues and prevail by 16
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/150/136771.jpg (http://www.gspimages.com.au/image/?image_id=136771)http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/150/136522.jpg (http://www.gspimages.com.au/image/?image_id=136522)http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/150/125175.jpg (http://www.gspimages.com.au/image/?image_id=125175)[/URL][URL="http://www.gspimages.com.au/image/?image_id=130497"]http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/150/130497.jpg (http://www.gspimages.com.au/image/?image_id=125175)
RoosterLad
21 Apr 2008, 16:18
We are 5th with 1 win? Not a bad effort that.
That's possibly a reference to wins in a row?
And FWIW I'm not sure if Carlton's youngsters will be able to raise themselves for a 3rd succesive win, I like our chances:thumbsu:
Thanks to Blueinblood for getting this one off to a quick start. Drummond will be writing the Adelaide perspective presently.
Remember folks, same rules as always - no trolling (offenders will be banned from the board until after the game has concluded).
walshy93
21 Apr 2008, 17:21
Will be a good game...I am remebering back to 2004! Ah...what memories. Good luck to both teams.
Oh, Go Blues!
WalkerTexasRanger
21 Apr 2008, 17:25
Expect good things from two laterals in Pfeiffer and Hadley!
Looking forward to this match, should be a real litmus test of where the young Carlton side is against a solid opponent and finals contender.
Expect good things from two laterals in Pfeiffer and Hadley!
Looking forward to this match, should be a real litmus test of where the young Carlton side is against a solid opponent and finals contender.
Our Walker Texas Ranger is better than yours!:p;)
Would be fascinating to watch Pfeiffer and I have always rated Hadley
SurreyBlue
21 Apr 2008, 17:30
Don't think Gibbs will get Goodwin. I would have thought more Thornton would be the one.
As for the bird man, probably Jamo unless he takes Tippet, then Bower should go to Burton. Waite to play CHB on McGregor.
I agree Bannister should run with McCleod ... everywhere he goes.
Judd, Stevens, Hadley, Simpson & Scotland through the middle is the key for mine. The game will be won or lost here. We have the ascendancy against the crows in the middle, including in the ruck (sheesh when was the last time I felt that was the case) as they are rebuilding but Edwards, Thompson, Proplezia, VanBerlo and comp. have been doing ok.
Will be interested to see how Pfeiffer reacts against his old team as well.
Campbell's Chunky
21 Apr 2008, 17:35
Good write up mate.
CarltonFan
21 Apr 2008, 17:44
Jarrod Waite will play on Burton IMO. the bird man is too athletic for young jamison. Waite vs Burton should be a great matchup to watch.
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
21 Apr 2008, 18:23
I would play Jamison on Goodwin and Waite on Burton
Asgardian
21 Apr 2008, 18:43
CARLTON VS ADELAIDE
MCG 2.10 SAT 26TH APRIL
KEY MATCH-UPS
Andrew Mcleod vs Jordan Bannister - Andrew Mcleod has been in superb form for the Crows this year and is dominating games like we all know he can. Jordan Bannister has been given the big jobs so far this year and looms as the man to try and curb Andrew's effect on the game
Brendan Fevola vs Ben Rutten - Fevola has kicked 22 goals in his past 3 games and along with Buddy, is the in-form forward of the AFL. Ben Rutten will get the job of the 'Shag' and if he can keep him to less than 4 goals the Crows will almost definately win.
TIP: The Crows will just have to much class for the Blues and prevail by 16
Two points
IMO The Blues do not have a good match up for McLeod, so I reckon he'll have a riot of a game.
Secondly I reckon Nathan Bock matches up on Fevola better than Rutten. Not to say Rutten can't do the job, just that I reckon Bock could do it better on this Blue.
Crows should win, unless that Blues midfield goes beserk, & Fevola is really switched on.
Blue Dimension
21 Apr 2008, 19:03
Would say you forgot the most probable 'in' of them all - Adam Hartlett. Has been in good form in the 2's since his suspension in round 1. I think it's very likely he'll replace O'hAilpin this week.
Rutten will get Fevola no doubt. Has a good record against Fev and usually wins the battle. To put anyone else on Fev would be suicidal.
Southerntakeover
21 Apr 2008, 19:36
Simon Goodwin Vs Bryce Gibbs - Simon Goodwin has been outstanding up forward and in the middle for the Crows and has been winning games off his own boot. If he lets loose on Saturday it spells bad news for the Blues. The obvious choice for a run with role for Goodwin is Bryce Gibbs. Gibbs can match Goodwin for pace up forward and can possibly curb the influece of the chief Crow
I will be doing backflips if i see the Blues put Gibbs on Goodwin. Goodwins far too strong overhead, and too physical a player for Gibbs at this stage of his career. Matching Goodwin for pace really isnt the biggest worry for Carlton. Goodwins never been a burn them with pace type player.
bluesforever
21 Apr 2008, 19:56
Two points
IMO The Blues do not have a good match up for McLeod, so I reckon he'll have a riot of a game.
Secondly I reckon Nathan Bock matches up on Fevola better than Rutten. Not to say Rutten can't do the job, just that I reckon Bock could do it better on this Blue.
Crows should win, unless that Blues midfield goes beserk, & Fevola is really switched on.
Fev has been very switched on the last 3 weeks, back at the G on saturday he will be confident and up and about no matter who plays on him. You guys will no doubt through a lose man to sit in front of where Fev leads... it's your only hope in stopping him kick another bag.
RoosterLad
21 Apr 2008, 19:57
If we stop the delivery then he won't kick a bag.
Eastern Crow
21 Apr 2008, 20:10
Adelaide have declared that Knights and Massie are available for selection :thumbsu::thumbsu:
bLuEbOy1984
21 Apr 2008, 20:17
its going to be a great game IMO... carlton in recent performances have shown that they have ability to pull one over the crows, but by what i have seen with the crows this season, the crows are going to hard to stop... they are great all over the ground whereas with the blues have a question mark in our backline...
the game will be won or lost in our backline.. as i belive we match the crows all over the rest of the pitch.. if the blues can handle the pressure put in by the crows midfield into their forward 50 then the blues will win... if we cant handle their forwards and leave abd let their midfield free to we will lose...
my tip Carlton by 1 point ... yes its a biased pick :P
but best of luck to both teams and lets hope its a great game of footy
TheGeneral
21 Apr 2008, 20:50
Two points
Simpson.
It will be more interesting to see who plays on Judd when he went berserk in the last quarter against Collingwood and had 14 possessions. I knew the jets were on the way back when he powered away from Pendlebury and just took off.
I don't think Blues fans have been arrogant, they're just enjoying their footy again and beating one of their biggest rivals to stop the rot. A win that might be viewed as the turning point when every one contributed to the upset of a club who had Collingw08d as their slogan.
A great wake up call for the Pies.
ok.crows
21 Apr 2008, 21:05
As I see it, the team you're playing against this week has won 2 games and lost 3.
... and the team you are playing this week has won 3 games and lost 2. The team you are playing has a reputation for having only an average forward line yet your team has a reputation for having a star full forward ... yet the points each team has actually scored is within two goals of each other.
As for defence ... the team you are playing has a reputation for having one of the very best fullbacks, who rarely has more than a couple of goals scored against him, and the defence of the team you are playing has let through 90-odd less points than your defence has.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
21 Apr 2008, 21:24
2 names. Judd and Fervola. We have to curb them both.
Pretty disgraceful to be honest.
Good on them for finally winning a couple of games but for their fans to get big heads after beating the worst side in the comp and sitting on 2-3 is arrogant and as I said quite embarrassing - it seems they're certainties this weekend with some tipping a 7-8 goal win :eek: Would be interesting if anyone had the stats - apart from last week - the last time that Carlton actually beat a team by more than 5 goals?We beat lasts years grandfinalists Port by 39 points in round 11.
Last years game against the Crows was a very close one. You got away in the last quarter thanks to scott welsh. The last time I checked he wasn't playing for you guys anymore. A guy called Ben Hudson did pretty well as well with 25 hitouts, 19 disposals and a goal. Very confident we'll win this one.
fryingpan
21 Apr 2008, 21:41
We beat lasts years grandfinalists Port by 39 points in round 11.
Last years game against the Crows was a very close one. You got away in the last quarter thanks to scott welsh. The last time I checked he wasn't playing for you guys anymore. A guy called Ben Hudson did pretty well as with 25 hitouts, 19 disposals and a goal. Very confident we'll win this one.
Last years grand finalists :D They're not even worthy of that title but very well, I remember that game. Pretty sure that margin flattered Port hey? If my memory serves me correctly you guys were 10 goals+ up at one stage?
Why are you talking about Welsh & Hudson? :confused:
Last years grand finalists :D They're not even worthy of that title but very well, I remember that game. Pretty sure that margin flattered Port hey? If my memory serves me correctly you guys were 10 goals+ up at one stage?
Why are you talking about Welsh & Hudson? :confused:Welsh slaughtered us in that game last year as to hudson. Our defence has improved since then as to our ruck department. You guys deserve to be favourites but I have a good feeling about this one.
Dangerfield and Knights in.
Shirley and Jacky out.
Wishful thinking but would love to see Maric come in for Kenny and play Tippett up forward the whole match as well.
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
21 Apr 2008, 22:25
Dangerfield and Knights in.
Shirley and Jacky out.
Wishful thinking but would love to see Maric come in for Kenny and play Tippett up forward the whole match as well.
Is Dangerfield a strong chance of playing? I actually really wanna see him play. How tall and strong is he? Because I thought he was a midfielder, but I heard he kicked 8 goals on the weekend :eek:
Campbell's Chunky
21 Apr 2008, 22:27
Is Dangerfield a strong chance of playing? I actually really wanna see him play. How tall and strong is he? Because I thought he was a midfielder, but I heard he kicked 8 goals on the weekend :eek:
Hes a 190cm, solidly built midfielder.
Runs like a hare though.
Adelaide board members need to remember that trolling of Carlton - either club, players or fans - will not be permitted and will result in being banned from this board until the conclusion of the game.
I've already deleted several such posts, so don't push your luck.
Chief Crow
21 Apr 2008, 23:25
Ok my secret is out. I will make my debut this week on the G :D
Jezza U Beauty
22 Apr 2008, 12:19
I'm looking fwd to this game mainly because it will give us more of an idea of where Carlton are at. The Crows are a genuinely good side and are well coached.
Some of our supporters are giving us too much credit for the win against the demons, but it was a good sign in terms of Carlton's psyche that they could win a game as favourites against a side that did something no side has done against us for ages - play defensively.
If everything goes to plan for the Blues we could definitely win, but it's probably more likely that Adelaide's intensity over the whole ground and ability to run and carry the ball into the F50 will see them get over the line.
writeoff
22 Apr 2008, 13:15
I'm looking forward to this game. Carlton have found some confidence and will be looking for a 3rd straight win. I don't know when they last did that - several years ago I imagine. Judd looks to be getting back into form and can still improve a fair bit (scary thought). Fev is on fire. Carlton's gifted youngsters will have enjoyed the wins of the past 2 weeks and their enthusiasm and confidence will have lifted.
Adelaide has had a solid start to the season carrying over their NAB form. However, Adelaide's last 2 games haven't been convincing as their intensity has dropped off and they lost their ability to run with the ball and handpass to a teammate in a better position.
I think the Crows' players know and execute Neil Craig's game plan better than the Carlton boys understand Brett Ratten's. I think the Crows can apply more defensive pressure all around the ground providing their intensity lifts from the last 2 weeks.
If Fevola is shut down by either Rutten or Bock where will Carlton's goals come from? Is Carton's midfield good enough to apply defensive pressure when they don't have possession of the ball?
As I see it:
Ade def > Carl for (especially if they can shut down Fevola)
Ade mids < Carl mids
Ade for > Carl def (Burton and Goodwin look to be difficult matchups for their marking ability on the lead)
My tip: Adelaide by 4 goals.
Drummond
22 Apr 2008, 13:33
Round 6 Adelaide v Carlton:
aka Adelaide v Pfeiffer
aka Neil Craig v Pfeiffer
aka Douglas v Pfeiffer
Preview:
This certainly promises to be a great game whereas just two weeks ago it would’ve been a game that didn’t appear to hold much significance. I’ve seen Carlton play a lot this year and they seem to be improving with each passing week. They are playing with a lot of confidence and have won back-to-back games, the first time in a while. The Blues will be sure to recieve huge support from a very vocal MCG crowd and the Crows will have to be at their best. Carlton has two of the best players in the competition in Judd and Fevola and these match-ups will go a long way towards determining the outcome of the game. Chris Judd, arguably the best player in the competition, appears to be hitting his best form which spells trouble for the Crows. Who do we have that can stop this explosive, goal kicking midfielder? Will Craig give Shirley, considered by many to be our best tagger, the role? IMO Judd will tear Shirley a new one and I’d be very weary of going through with his match-up. But then who gets the unenviable task, perhaps the in form Michael Doughty? He got the role on Daniel Kerr a few weeks back and did a serviceable job. van Berlo? VB isn’t in the best of form but being given such a role could bring out the best in him. Whoever is given the task will need to be at their best because Judd alone gives Carlton a chance of winning.
After winning the extremely physical Showdown in Round 3, the Crows have since been very flat. We were smashed by the Hawks and in the end were lucky to beat a very mediocre Fremantle team. The Crows appear to have lost a little bit of the run and attacking flair which was evident in the first few weeks of the season. The Blues play a very attacking and free flowing game and in doing so pose a very serious threat to Adelaide. If we don’t come out with energy and an attitude to take the game on we will find ourselves in big trouble.
Key Match-ups:
Judd v van Berlo/Doughty/Shirley. This poses the question, do you send someone out there with the sole objective of shutting him down and sacrificing their own game or do we put a Thompson or Edwards on him and let them focus on trying to have a greater influence than Judd? Personally I think we have no one capable of shutting him down so we might as well play Thommo on him and hope he gets 30 possessions himself.
Fevola v Rutten. This one promises to be a beauty; the in-form forward of the competition (along with Franklin) vs one of the best full backs in the league. Fev has kicked 22 goals over the past 3 weeks and is in the best form of his career. Fevola is strong on the lead and might have too much pace for Rutten but I think this is the only logical match-up for Adelaide. I’m sure Craig and co realise just how important Fevola is to the Blues and we'll need our best defender trying to limit his influence. Shut Fev down and you dramatically decrease the chance of the Blues kicking a winning score, so Rutten’s got a huge task this week.
Fisher v Bassett: There’s a few that could possibly go head-to-head with Fisher, but I’m picking Bassett to get the job. Fisher is one of the most underrated forwards in the game as he is one of the best contested marks in the league and he’ll bob up and kick his two goals a week. He might not be the most well known forward going around but he’s one of the most dangerous in the air.
Pfeiffer v Douglas. The match-up that I’ve been waiting for for quite some time. I doubt it will actually go ahead, but I’m hoping it does. Pick 16 v 17 in a battle which will begin to determine who was the best player Adelaide took from the 2005 draft. Pfeiffer has been playing in a variety of positions, but mainly in the midfield and across the half forward flank. He’s made a top start to his much awaited AFL career and has kicked 3 goals in 4 games. Douglas appears to be making progress and is gradually finding his feet with the Crows.
Kreuzer/Cloke v Griffin/Tippett. The ruck battle will be an interesting one to watch, and a very important one at that. I have a feeling that this could be the game Griffin makes himself known to the football world. He’s been playing reasonably well this year and has improved his output around the ground along with his amount of hit-outs but he still could go a lot more. He seems to start well but drift out of the game, possibly due to fitness. I’ve got the suspicion that at the home of football Jonathon will play a blinder. Kreuzer has made a flawless start to his AFL career and will enjoy going up against a fellow inexperienced ruckman. Griffin needs to give the Adelaide midfielders first look at centre bounces and stoppages as the Blues midfield is very strong.
In’s/Out’s:
Patrick Dangerfield, the youngster who has everyone talking, could well make his debut. It would be the most hyped up debut since Darren Pfeiffer made his one and only appearance for the Crows in the NAB Cup against the Power. In all seriousness, Dangerfield is in line to play after narrowly missing selection last week and booting 8 goals in the TAC Cup on the weekend. He could replace fellow draftee Jarrhan Jacky who at this stage simply isn’t ready to play AFL footy. Young ruckman Ivan Maric has been in great form in the SANFL and will once again press for selection. However expect him to once again miss as Craig will persist with Tippett sharing the ruck duties. Prolific ball winner Chris Knights is also not without a chance of returning whilst fringe players Kris Massie and Bryce Campbell could also return.
For the Blues, classy midfielder Bryce Gibbs missed last week due to back spasms and should return. I’m no expert on the Blues and what they consider to be their best 22 but the out of form Setanta O'hAilpin or Adam Bentick loom as the ones likely to make way.
Outcome:
Without trying to sound too arrogant, if the Crows play to their full capacity they should walk away with the 4 points. Adelaide has a poor interstate record of late and has lost a few very close games but if we produce our best football it should be enough to start another losing streak for the Blues. For whatever reason, I’m not overly confident about our chances in this game. The Showdown was always going to take its toll but it’s had more of an impact than I had envisioned. We can’t afford to be as flat as we have been over the past two weeks because Carlton plays some of more up-tempo football in the league and has the potential to hurt us. If the Crows come out flat and don’t take their chances I have no doubt the Blues will win. If we’re switched on and have more run in the legs, we’ll run out winners.
Prediction: Crows by 25 points.
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
22 Apr 2008, 14:01
Jordan Bannister, who has been surprisingly good for the Blues this year (done a few real good shut down roles), is out for 4 weeks with a ruptured tendon
Im thinking Gibbs will come in for Bentick, Hartlett in for Setanta O'Hailpin, and maybe Armfield will make his debut and replace Bannister
1eight6four
22 Apr 2008, 14:16
I expect Jackson will enter the side (as a tagger) to replace Banno. May even see Browne or Armfield debut for the likes of Joncock. Midfield, we have the talent.
One clear advantage we have is height. If the Hampster is selected, then with Setanta and the Kruze we may have 3 x 200cm versatile athletic types running about. Expect Setanta to play forward, with Kruze at half forward running along the wings. Throw in the Hampster and its real problems for Adelaide. Cant see how Adelaide can cover this.
As for Fev - he will get the usual attention and double/triple teaming. I think cutting his supply is correct but not realistic. This means we may see Eddie or Gibbs really cut loose.
We are they youngest list in the league. Maybe if our running games gets going then the old Adelaide legs may start to creak especially after their last few draining efforts.
Adelaide are vulnerable, and if our form continues - we can win.
Campbell's Chunky
22 Apr 2008, 14:23
I expect Jackson will enter the side (as a tagger) to replace Banno. May even see Browne or Armfield debut for the likes of Joncock. Midfield, we have the talent.
One clear advantage we have is height. If the Hampster is selected, then with Setanta and the Kruze we may have 3 x 200cm versatile athletic types running about. Expect Setanta to play forward, with Kruze at half forward running along the wings. Throw in the Hampster and its real problems for Adelaide. Cant see how Adelaide can cover this.
As for Fev - he will get the usual attention and double/triple teaming. I think cutting his supply is correct but not realistic. This means we may see Eddie or Gibbs really cut loose.
We are they youngest list in the league. Maybe if our running games gets going then the old Adelaide legs may start to creak especially after their last few draining efforts.
Adelaide are vulnerable, and if our form continues - we can win.Bring in Maric???
1eight6four
22 Apr 2008, 14:25
Bring in Maric???
Maric has the height.
Is he athletic enough?
The Grover
22 Apr 2008, 14:38
Carlton's biggest matchup concerns are McLeod & Goodwin.
Goodwin probably needs someone who can play defense & midfield, Bannister was probably the one (out 4 weeks with hammy), I have enormous faith in Gibbs to do this job. The other alternative is to play Jamison on him in backline & someone else in midfield.
McLeod is a freak & I don't like our chances, if McLeod was to play down back he would be more easily controlled, if he plays midfield/forward look out.
Possible options include Gibbs,Grigg,Jackson,and Browne (did a good tagging job in VFL last week).
Also think Neil Craig is a fantastic coach & will find a way to exploit our weakness's.
Jars458
22 Apr 2008, 15:11
I think Carlton will struggle to match up our forwards as Waite is their only top quality backman. With Burton Goodwin Edewards and McLeod all spending time up there they will be hard to stop.
Look forward to Pfeiffer having a good game as he is a quality palyer who will hopefully make the most of the second chance that Carlton has offerred.
Judd and Fevola our biggest problems, but the Fev is due for a quiet one.
Jezza U Beauty
22 Apr 2008, 17:22
I think Carlton will struggle to match up our forwards as Waite is their only top quality backman. With Burton Goodwin Edewards and McLeod all spending time up there they will be hard to stop.
Look forward to Pfeiffer having a good game as he is a quality palyer who will hopefully make the most of the second chance that Carlton has offerred.
Judd and Fevola our biggest problems, but the Fev is due for a quiet one.
Not having a go at you, but i get the feeling you haven't watched us much lately. Waite is the only big name backman we have, but Jamison and Thornton are top quality backs as well.
I agree though that the performances of Burton, Goody and McLeod will say a lot about who wins on the weekend.
showdownhero
22 Apr 2008, 17:36
If we play as bad as we did last week we will get done in a canter. The Crows really have to lift their game this week.
Freddy Bassett
22 Apr 2008, 18:54
We have just come off playing Sandilands and Pavlich, Buddy, Cox, Lynch, Lade and Brogan and you are wondering how we will cover Kreuzer, Hampson and O'Halpin? Are you for real? Im not trying to be disrespectful to your club but I feel you are to ours. Am I saying we are dead set certains, No Way. We need to stop your gun midfield and with Judd back to his best he could single handedly destroy us. Im not quite as worried about Fevola as we have some good options there, it Judd who scares the s*it out of me. Its interesting because I think both clubs are due for a hiccup aswell. But for me Adelaides all round class to prevail by 10 points, IF we keep Judd under 30 touches
1eight6four
22 Apr 2008, 19:35
We have just come off playing Sandilands and Pavlich, Buddy, Cox, Lynch, Lade and Brogan and you are wondering how we will cover Kreuzer, Hampson and O'Halpin? Are you for real? Im not trying to be disrespectful to your club but I feel you are to ours. Am I saying we are dead set certains, No Way. We need to stop your gun midfield and with Judd back to his best he could single handedly destroy us. Im not quite as worried about Fevola as we have some good options there, it Judd who scares the s*it out of me. Its interesting because I think both clubs are due for a hiccup aswell. But for me Adelaides all round class to prevail by 10 points, IF we keep Judd under 30 touches
Lets see, Sandilands - mopped by Hampson. Pavlich - a bit like our Cloke - yes he is another tall you must cover. Buddy - great talent - but he was the only real tall you had to contend with and you lost. Cox - a gem, Lynch good, Lade and Brogan - wise but getting slow.
My points are:
-Our talls are fast and athletic. Not like the dinosaurs of days passing. Kruezer is like a 200 cm rover. Hampson is in the top 3 fastest in our club. In the top 5% for vertical leap in the 2006 draft camp.
-We can play more than 2 if we want. This gives us options. You will be stretched matching Fev, Fisher, Cloke, Kruezer and other talls we may include. Also worth noting that not only are CFC to youngest list in the league - we also have the tallest average height.
In this respect - we have a clear advantage over Adelaide. I agree you have 'all round class'. And you will need it. While you are preocuppied with Fev and Judd, our other runners will be free~ Hadley, Scotland, Stevens, Carrazzo, Simpson, Murphy, Gibbs etc
GO BLUES
Southerntakeover
22 Apr 2008, 19:47
Lets see, Sandilands - mopped by Hampson. Pavlich - a bit like our Cloke - yes he is another tall you must cover. Buddy - great talent - but he was the only real tall you had to contend with and you lost. Cox - a gem, Lynch good, Lade and Brogan - wise but getting slow.
My points are:
-Our talls are fast and athletic. Not like the dinosaurs of days passing. Kruezer is like a 200 cm rover. Hampson is in the top 3 fastest in our club. In the top 5% for vertical leap in the 2006 draft camp.
-We can play more than 2 if we want. This gives us options. You will be stretched matching Fev, Fisher, Cloke, Kruezer and other talls we may include. Also worth noting that not only are CFC to youngest list in the league - we also have the tallest average height.
In this respect - we have a clear advantage over Adelaide. I agree you have 'all round class'. And you will need it. While you are preocuppied with Fev and Judd, our other runners will be free~ Hadley, Scotland, Stevens, Carrazzo, Simpson, Murphy, Gibbs etc
GO BLUES
Have you ever thought that maybe you're overrating your own players? The 16 game losing streak would suggest that its far from impossible to match up on your players, as you would try to suggest.
coffee man
22 Apr 2008, 20:13
Yes he is over-rating those players a bit...
I'm sorry but Hampson has been injured and probably will play in the VFL this weekend, Setanta has looked a bit lost the last couple of weeks and could do with a spell and whilst Kruezer has been super impressive the last few weeks he's still a first year ruckman :thumbsu:
ALSO it was only a 14 game losing streak thankyou very much and yes we were pathetic that last half last year... this year we've improved a tad
Freddy Bassett
22 Apr 2008, 20:28
My points are:
GO BLUES
Pavlich like your Cloke:D? Also get things in perspective, you have played 3 of the 4 worst teams of 2007, Essendon, Richmond, Melbourne...
ok.crows
22 Apr 2008, 20:35
One clear advantage we have is height.
No you don't.
If the Hampster is selected, then with Setanta and the Kruze we may have 3 x 200cm versatile athletic types running about. Expect Setanta to play forward, with Kruze at half forward running along the wings. Throw in the Hampster and its real problems for Adelaide. Cant see how Adelaide can cover this.
You think that only because you know nothing about Adelaide.
You again show you have no idea about Adelaide. Your own board says your side has adopted a shorter, chipping game this season. This gives you more possessions, apparent better statistics ... but in reality it just gives more opportunity for a side like Adelaide to put pressure on your ball movement. If you play like this against the Crows, you won't get it down to the Fev much.
We are they youngest list in the league.
= the least experienced then.
Maybe if our running games gets going then the old Adelaide legs may start to creak especially after their last few draining efforts.
Adelaide's running game is at least the equal of the Blues in pace ... but Adelaide are fitter. You aren't keeping up with what is going on if you think that Adelaide being too old and slow is a problem this year.
No game is a gimme, but really ... your form is one less win than Adelaide, about the same points for but 90 more points against.
You need to improve ... if your form continues and so does Adelaide's you would lose by about three goals.
I'm guessing 3 changes to the blues team
in - hartlett, wiggins, gibbs
out - setanta, bannister, bentick
one of armfield/browne could make their debuts if wiggins doesnt come in.
if mcleod played forward I'd love to see waite go to him though that would be highly unlikely - just think it would be an interesting match up given the form that both players are in atm :)
ok.crows
22 Apr 2008, 20:45
Maric has the height.
Is he athletic enough?
Yes. The real question would be ... are Carlton's young talls athletic enough to cover ... Adelaide's young talls Tippett, Griffin & Maric?
Carl Spackler
22 Apr 2008, 21:00
I know we have adopted (or have tried to) a more attacking game plan this season but I can see Carlton winning if the game is an open, fast running goal-fest like the Bulldogs game in Round 1. They have a few weapons at their disposal. If we can keep it a tough, hard, one-on-one contest all over the ground then I think we'll get the points.
Might throw a few dollars on Heath Scotland for most possessions though.
FORM
Carl: The Blues are on a 2 game winning streak.
Streak!
Baron Winds
23 Apr 2008, 01:41
Love how Dummond still manages to taint the face off with his bias and personal opinions :thumbsd:.. I thought it was Vic Crows turn to do it anyway?
jenny61_99
23 Apr 2008, 08:11
To all those Carlton people saying their talls are superior.... how good are they in the wet?
Carl Spackler
23 Apr 2008, 09:01
Love how Dummond still manages to taint the face off with his bias and personal opinions :thumbsd:.. I thought it was Vic Crows turn to do it anyway?
Come on.
Drummond's post was well written, humorous and he was able to poke some fun at himself and add some in-jokes in the process.
crowsup
23 Apr 2008, 09:28
Come on.
Drummond's post was well written, humorous and he was able to poke some fun at himself and add some in-jokes in the process.
That wasn't Drummond' writing:eek:! Drummond is too pessimistic to pick Adelaide to win. Unless the team is full of new draftees( especially if they play for Norwood as well).:D
If that was you Drummond, well done.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Jars458
23 Apr 2008, 10:34
Not having a go at you, but i get the feeling you haven't watched us much lately. Waite is the only big name backman we have, but Jamison and Thornton are top quality backs as well.
I agree though that the performances of Burton, Goody and McLeod will say a lot about who wins on the weekend.
Seen bits and pieces. No doubt the two you mention can play but nowhere near the level they need to be yet in my view:)
1eight6four
23 Apr 2008, 13:35
Pavlich like your Cloke:D? Also get things in perspective, you have played 3 of the 4 worst teams of 2007, Essendon, Richmond, Melbourne...
You are correct - Cloke is not in the same league as Pavlich.
My intent was to say similar size and Cloke can play CHF.
1eight6four
23 Apr 2008, 13:41
Yes he is over-rating those players a bit...
I'm sorry but Hampson has been injured and probably will play in the VFL this weekend, Setanta has looked a bit lost the last couple of weeks and could do with a spell and whilst Kruezer has been super impressive the last few weeks he's still a first year ruckman :thumbsu:
ALSO it was only a 14 game losing streak thankyou very much and yes we were pathetic that last half last year... this year we've improved a tad
You and I know I was over-rating them.
But you didnt need to tell em before they found out on the day~let me have some hope for the future please!
Spot on about Setanta to - he is likely to be dropped. Hampson is technically available for selection but will probably play for the Bullants too.
Seriously though, Hampson is a prospect and for once our ruck weakness has some futuire.
a1118374
23 Apr 2008, 19:04
but havent you have only beaten 3 of the worst of this year?
freo, port, wc. only team worse is melb?
fightingdreamer88
23 Apr 2008, 20:04
The only point I draw from that Carlton dude's hyping of his tall players is that they do have height - maybe we WILL go with the additional tall? Who knows...
RealSlimShady
24 Apr 2008, 13:34
Don't think Gibbs will get Goodwin. I would have thought more Thornton would be the one.
As for the bird man, probably Jamo unless he takes Tippet, then Bower should go to Burton. Waite to play CHB on McGregor.
I agree Bannister should run with McCleod ... everywhere he goes.
Judd, Stevens, Hadley, Simpson & Scotland through the middle is the key for mine. The game will be won or lost here. We have the ascendancy against the crows in the middle, including in the ruck (sheesh when was the last time I felt that was the case) as they are rebuilding but Edwards, Thompson, Proplezia, VanBerlo and comp. have been doing ok.
Will be interested to see how Pfeiffer reacts against his old team as well.
I have a feeling Goodwin will be used more in the middle this week to counter your midfield.
birdmanptr
24 Apr 2008, 15:01
I agree very disapointing against hawthorn despite the mask we have chosen to hide behind about the Port Power game.Watch the hawthorn game again and see what the score should have been at quarter time and 10 minutes into the last quarter.Goal kicking is awfull and again last week set shots are shocking.
The good thing for us is for the first time this year we dont give away a huge advantage in ruck if we give any away at all.
It sounds strange but after so many losses carlton are in form and playing well with a goal kicker we are not in form at all and have no goal kicker.So far this year we have kicked 73 goals to Carltons 76 and we have had the advantage of playing the WCE.Last week our return was
3-4 3-2 2-7 4-3
Good bet the Blues this week and although i am off the punt for a while i am tempted.
birdmanptr
24 Apr 2008, 15:04
Fair point i would say
a1118374
24 Apr 2008, 18:10
Fair point i would say
just sick of the shitcanning of each other (on both boards)
TheGeneral
24 Apr 2008, 18:18
Hartlett, Gibbs and the first gamer Browne are the ins for Carlton.
Bentick, O'hAilpin and Bannister are the outs.
Not sorry to see Bentick and Setanta dropped.
a1118374
24 Apr 2008, 19:18
no real surprises there, for either team. Brownes role will be interesting. Grigg for mcleod likely with jacko staying out imo
jonoman89
24 Apr 2008, 20:38
no real surprises there, for either team. Brownes role will be interesting. Grigg for mcleod likely with jacko staying out imo
either browne will do some typical freakish debut and shut down mcleod completely.....or get compeltely belted and conceede 5 goals and 30 touches....should be interesting.
we should easily win clearances with our midfield, and our rucks are pretty similar to theirs. it's their rebound which will hurt us - need to make those kicks into the F50 really count.
NikkiNoo
25 Apr 2008, 14:47
we should easily win clearances with our midfield, and our rucks are pretty similar to theirs. it's their rebound which will hurt us - need to make those kicks into the F50 really count.
David Parkin on League Teams last night begs to differ ;)
They listed the two midfields in relation to A, B and C quality.
In the A grade only two for Carlton in Judd and Stevens but four for Adelaide - Goodwin, McLeod, Edwards and Thompson.
From memory I think there was only one B grader for Carlton and two for Adelaide. Apologies that I can't remember the Carlton one but they listed Doughty (who is in outstanding form this season so far) and Porplyzia (who both Pickering and Parkin agreed is very close to being A grade.
The Adelaide C grade were then Shirley (fair enough on this year's form), van Berlo and Vince (I disagree on this as they are both solid B graders for my mind) and finally MacKay and Douglas.
They didn't list Knights from memory who is quite probably in the B list for us going on the calibre of the other players listed there.
For the Adelaide supporters reading this, I noted with interest that they listed Stenglein as a B grade for West Coast. So according to Parkin we have the A grade midfielder out of that deal! :p
Freddy Bassett
25 Apr 2008, 15:05
Yep, and lost to the 2nd best team in the AFL easily ( Hawks) and had a kickable shot after the siren to beat the 4th ranked team but missed. Your team has lost to Richmond:D and also to Essendon who I do not rate. A 40 point belting by an average club like the Saints is nothing to Crow about either. You have had one good game vs the Pies and for that well done. To beat Melbourne these days is worth getting excited about. Look forward to seeing how you go versus your easybeats in Power and W.Coast.
Freddy Bassett
25 Apr 2008, 15:07
Pretty harsh Baron.
jonoman89
25 Apr 2008, 19:00
David Parkin on League Teams last night begs to differ ;)
They listed the two midfields in relation to A, B and C quality.
In the A grade only two for Carlton in Judd and Stevens but four for Adelaide - Goodwin, McLeod, Edwards and Thompson.
The way i look at it:
midfield - carlton 8, adelaide 6.5
defence - carlton 6 (on this years form), adelaide 8.5
forwards - carlton 7, adelaide 7
carlton 21 - adelaide 22
Southerntakeover
25 Apr 2008, 19:53
The way i look at it:
midfield - carlton 8, adelaide 6.5
defence - carlton 6 (on this years form), adelaide 8.5
forwards - carlton 7, adelaide 7
carlton 21 - adelaide 22
You're severly underrating our midfield.
showdownhero
26 Apr 2008, 04:45
You're severly underrating our midfield.
excellent
Freddy Bassett
27 Apr 2008, 02:36
My points are:
GO BLUES
I was pretty sure your gun talls wouldnt hurt us too much
Drummond
27 Apr 2008, 03:02
Prediction: Crows by 25 points.
Pretty close.
fightingdreamer88
27 Apr 2008, 13:33
Pretty close.
If you'd accounted for one extra Pfeiffer turnover you would've been nearly spot on. :D