View Full Version : Vale LIDGE

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

pharro
22 Apr 2008, 15:27
No easy way to say this...

Our dear friend and Moderator Shane "Lidge" Lidgerwood passed away unexpectedly early today.

As you all know, Lidge was the most passionate Shinboner to the end, and a fearless and tireless soldier in the battle to keep the club in Melbourne last year. There was no-one I felt more honoured to stand alongside, whether that was fighting the good fight in the Roosistence movement, or screaming from the stands at Feral Park in Adelaide during a Prelim Final.

Words escape me... I am going to miss you big fella. And when you get to where you're going, don't rest in peace... party on dude!

CrazyQ
22 Apr 2008, 15:30
Dont do this Pharro.

Cant be right.

Ryz
22 Apr 2008, 15:31
:(

Speachless.

R.I.P buddy.

Fles
22 Apr 2008, 15:31
surely not....

gokangas
22 Apr 2008, 15:32
Thanks for making the announcement Pharro - has been hard to know how to handle this news.
What can you say at such a time?
Lidge was a proud and passionate NMFC member and a good all round bloke.
I am pleased I got to know him a long the way, espcially during the WANM and Roosistence efforts to save our club, and will miss him.
Deepest condolences to Abi and all of his family.
RIP mate.

flukeyluke
Wow. How bad do I feel? He and I crossed paths on Bay 13 just last night.

Condolonces to his family and friends.:(

The Teflon Dean
Speechless.

Wasn't he a young man?

This is very hard to fathom.

RoyalBlue
22 Apr 2008, 15:33
Got to watch the game and enjoy the win with him on Saturday night, and might have even slipped in a bear hug when we hit the sealer.

Larger than life guy and I still cannot comprehend this.

Seeya mate.

gokangas
22 Apr 2008, 15:34
Shane was about 40 - way too young.

the_big_h
Forgive my skepticism Pharro, but u cant help but wonder if ur telling the truth when there's "Bigfooty Jackass" printed next to ur name. Did Lidge really pass away? :confused:

CrazyQ
R.I.P Lidge.

You were our soldier.

Fles
22 Apr 2008, 15:35
Absolute tragedy, condolences to his family.

RIP Lidge, your contribution to our great club should never be forgotten.

gokangas
22 Apr 2008, 15:35
Forgive my skepticism Pharro, but u cant help but wonder if ur telling the truth when there's "Bigfooty Jackass" printed next to ur name. Did Lidge really pass away? :confused:

Sadly it is too true. Wish it was a tasteless joke but it isn't.

Rowie09
22 Apr 2008, 15:36
Best poster on the Roos board by a stretch.

Condolences to all the roos blokes who were close to him.

I call a Bay 13 ceasefire out of respect.

Manbearpig
22 Apr 2008, 15:36
Holy *&%$!

RIP, and commiserations to his family.

I am in complete shock.

The Zebra
22 Apr 2008, 15:37
God. I can't believe it.
Only met him once - at the Roo-sistence concert - where he stood proud about what he had a achieved and made everyone even slightly connected to North feel totally welcome.

His radio ads, his guide to fighting North relocation myths, his many calls to radio stations - his contribution to saving our club will ensure his name lives forever with the North Melbourne Football Club.

This is ____ing terrible.

Rest in Peace Gatto.

JD-Roo
22 Apr 2008, 15:38
One of the handful of people I've actually met from here.

Condolences to his family, especially his great kids.

Gonna miss ya Big Fella!

Laz1521
22 Apr 2008, 15:38
Wow, that's inconceivable! Only recently got to know Lidge and share a few beers with him. Terrific bloke who will be missed by many.

Lawman13
22 Apr 2008, 15:39
Never met the guy (that i know of), an excellent poster.

RIP.

BIGBEZ
22 Apr 2008, 15:41
Lidge has a link for us South supporters on our board, to come and chat on the North board ith you guys, seemed like a very passionate, genuine good bloke, my condolences!

Marstermind
22 Apr 2008, 15:41
Thoughts go out to a fellow pasionate Roo and BigFooty regular and his friends and family. :(

Can we rename the weekly Bigfooty votes the "Lidge Memorial Award"

scottywiper
22 Apr 2008, 15:42
A true Shinboner and will be sadly missed.
Was fortunate, actually privileged, enough to meet Lidge over here last year and discuss all things North - a great man taken too soon.
This is terribly sad news and my condolences to all his family and many friends.
He will also be sadly missed on here, but his contribution to the club, and this forum, won't be forgotten.

Rick18
Geez, so suddenly.

RIP Lidge, condolences to the family.

That's about all I can muster up at the moment.

gokangas
Thoughts go out to a fellow pasionate Roo and BigFooty regular and his friends and family. :(

Got my vote. :thumbsu:

Bren
WOW... Thats terrible news.

RIP big fella

Has anyone got any details of what happened??

PM me if its a sensitive issue

scottywiper

Was going to suggest the same thing.

footy55
R.i.p

Manbearpig
22 Apr 2008, 15:43
This board will never be the same again.

He was certainly one that a lot of us looked to late last year when the AFL and media were scaring the crap out of us over the GC issue.

Groggyk
22 Apr 2008, 15:44
Felt sick when I read this.

Didn't know Lidge personally but always came across as an intelligent and passionate North man who always had me laughing & saying to myself, "I wish I'd thought of that."

Will be sadly missed and commiserations to his family and close friends.

Paulkanga2000
22 Apr 2008, 15:45
I'm shock!

This is very sudden

Was he ill?

I meet him a the roo-sistence concert and the bbq and he was great passionate north melbourne guy

Paul

Fles
This board will never be the same again.

He was certainly one that a lot of us looked to late last year when the AFL and media were scaring the crap out of us over the GC issue.

that certainly speaks for me MBP, couldn't agree more.

jazz
Ah sh*t!

Been crossing swords on Bay 13 - I'm going to leave it alone for a while out of respect.

CrazyQ
22 Apr 2008, 15:46
This is not good at all. Met Lidge, with a few other posters at the Roo-sistence gig, then a couple of times later, and besides his hate for hip hop, was a very good man. Way too early and was a massive contributor to our stay in Melbourne when no one wanted to do it besides a few on BigFooty.

Jesus, still cant believe it, tragic, tragic news as someone said, this board has lost a huge man and my condolences to his family and friends.

Rest In Peace, my man.

Urmoe
22 Apr 2008, 15:47
Total shock. 'twas an honour.

Rest in peace big fella.

Kangalicious
22 Apr 2008, 15:48
I didn't believe it when I took the phone call.

I didn't believe it even as I rang others to tell them.

I still don't believe it now.

Lidge - larger than life, one of the heroes of Roo-sistence, I have been proud to know you and work with you and drink with you and barrack with you. And I am STILL waiting for the phone call to assure me that this is a mistake.
:(:(:(

The Ardent Army
22 Apr 2008, 15:49
A true North man if there ever was.
We are forever indebtted to him for his efforts to help save our great club.
RIP

rb214
Terrible just terrible.

I had met Lidge randomly a couple of times and a great man and supporter of North.

He was also a leader over the past year in his efforts to keep north south.

I really am saddened to hear this news.

God bless him and his family.

I hope the club is informed of this and black armbands are worn for him over the weekend.

Binxy
Just shattered.

From the little I knew of him, a great bloke with a quick wit.

My thoughts go out to his friends, family and to all you Shinboners who obviously knew him more intimately than me.

A sad day for BF.

Ripper
22 Apr 2008, 15:50
Condolences.

The world will be a lesser place.

trevagreene
22 Apr 2008, 15:51
sad news.
im speechless.
never met him, but got the sense of his true Shinboner spirit through BF and his adds during our time of need.
RIP Lidge.
Condelenses to the family.

ben.carbonaro
22 Apr 2008, 15:52
Dont do this Pharro.

Cant be right.

Yeah I am confused.

What happened?

Hawks1523
:(..

Loved his efforts on bay13, even those against us. Never knew much more of him then that, but enjoyed everything he's contributed to bay13. From everybodies comments here, sounded like an awesome bloke, condolences to his friends, family and everybody here who met him.

As Binxy said, very sad day. :(

Woodson
Shock. Very sad to hear and will forever be missed. Such a dissappointment I never got around in meeting him in person. RIP Lidge. :(

Hawkk
22 Apr 2008, 15:53
Shattered.

One of the best posters on Bigfooty, always entertaining with and good for a laugh

RIP

Hearts to hearts
22 Apr 2008, 15:54
Oh God.

This news is unbelievable, dreadful for his family and his many friends, and we'll all be thinking of you with great sadness, and great appreciation for having shared him with us.

It's also shattering for all of us who just know Lidge as a sensational fellow supporter, fellow poster and warrior for the North Melbourne Football Club. It's been an honour and a pleasure.

Too_many_talls
22 Apr 2008, 15:54
Just terrible news. Didn't know Lidge, but felt like he was one of my mates.

Commiserations to family from Rooby_Tuesday and me.

rooboy_88
22 Apr 2008, 15:58
Jus was speaking to GR and thought no way this is BS.

Had the pleasure of meeting him at the roosistence gig and always thought he was easily in the top 2-3 posters on this board.

R.I.P mate and condolences to the family.

Thewlis Dish
22 Apr 2008, 15:58
Absolutely gutted.

At least he went out with a win against Collingwood, and at least I got to share a beer with him afterwards.

Sincerest condolences to his wife, children and family. :(

Roos4eva
22 Apr 2008, 16:01
No, no, no!!

I never met him, but I'm absolutely stunned, absolutely shocked, seriously. :(

RIP Lidge, jeez, cannot believe this.

danj
Shocking news, Lidge was an inspiration to all who knew him to get behind NMFC and keep us in Melbourne. Always friendly, passionate and smart, condolences to the family, Vale Lidge :(

Contra Mundum
No easy way to say this...

Our dear friend and Moderator Shane "Lidge" Lidgerwood passed away unexpectedly early today.

As you all know, Lidge was the most passionate Shinboner to the end, and a fearless and tireless soldier in the battle to keep the club in Melbourne last year. There was no-one I felt more honoured to stand alongside, whether that was fighting the good fight in the Roosistence movement, or screaming from the stands at Feral Park in Adelaide during a Prelim Final.

Words escape me... I am going to miss you big fella. And when you get to where you're going, don't rest in peace... party on dude!

Jesus - Gone to the Arden Street in the Sky where the Roos win the premiership every year. There is such a thing as a virtual community on here and it feels like I have lost a friend even though I did not know him outside of BigFooty

rb214
22 Apr 2008, 16:04
Has the club been informed?

gokangas
22 Apr 2008, 16:06

Yes.

Kangalicious
22 Apr 2008, 16:06

Yes.

pharro
22 Apr 2008, 16:07

SECONDED. Bloody good idea.

CrazyQ
22 Apr 2008, 16:07
Hopefully.

gokangas
22 Apr 2008, 16:09
I would be pleased to arrange a death notice in the Herald Sun on behalf of BF posters and flowers for the funeral. What say you all?

I'll start a seperate thread for those who would like to contribute.

rooboy_90
22 Apr 2008, 16:09
I just don't know what to say. Never met the man but have spoken to him personally before. What he did with those advertisments/gig organisation etc just loved the club more than anyone. He will be sadly missed. I think the club should do something for him on Sunday. It would mean a lot to Lidge knowing he would be getting recognition from the club he fought so hard to keep. I just feel absolutely gutted. Thoughts go out to his family and friends. It really makes you aware just how precious our time can be.

samira
22 Apr 2008, 16:10
i'm in shock, didn't know the guy but feel like i do. my fav bf poster.
love u mate and going to miss u heaps.
condolenses to his loved ones and friends. sad day 4 bf

pharro
22 Apr 2008, 16:13
I hope the club is informed of this and black armbands are worn for him over the weekend.

The club is aware at the highest level due to Shane's status in warding off relocation and his generosity towards the club both personally and through lining up potential major sponsors.

The family would be very happy to see Shane honoured in some way involving the club and supporters, particularly for the sake of his 4 children who are keen Shinboners themselves, so that they may become aware of how highly we as a club regarded the big fella. Any suggestions?

Arden
22 Apr 2008, 16:15
Devastated.

Lost for words. Cannot comprehend how shit like this can happen to great people.

Champion bloke who will be sorely missed. Glad I got to catch up with him after the Essendon game, but am gutted I didn't come down for the Collingwood game now.

Thoughts are with his wife and kids.

Perspective. I just gained a whole lot more.

rooboy_90
22 Apr 2008, 16:16
I would ring the Cheersquad. Maybe get them to give some recognition on the banner before the boys run out on Sunday.

Boner
22 Apr 2008, 16:16
Heartbreaking. So unexpected and so sad. Shared another night of Shane's irrepressible wit and candour at the London Tavern after the Richmond win with some friends who had been asking me to introduce them to him as his writing,posting and presence at games had left them in awe. As it did me. , Met Shane through the mighty T.O.Dean at a round table discussion pre-empting Roosistence along with 'licious and Pharro.The ideas and passion and blistering intellegence of the man hit me immediately. The quickfire humour revealed itself shortly after.He was, as many have said here, a larger than lifer, who has a beautiful family, and a stadium full of admirers.
Gorbless you Shane. You will be monumentally missed.

Rick18
22 Apr 2008, 16:18
The club is aware at the highest level due to Shane's status in warding off relocation and his generosity towards the club both personally and through lining up potential major sponsors.

The family would be very happy to see Shane honoured in some way involving the club and supporters, particularly for the sake of his 4 children who are keen Shinboners themselves, so that they may become aware of how highly we as a club regarded the big fella. Any suggestions?

As RB_90 said, something on the banner would be nice if they can organise it in time. They maybe could make a sign in the cheer squad to hold up if they couldn't put it on the banner.

Apart from that, I assume black armbands would be the way to go?

Moti
My thoughts go out to him and his family.

Been posting with him for about 7 or 8 years and he was always a great guy and even PM'd me with support during some more colourful debates.

Can't believe it, he will be missed.

dyertribe
Ah, just terrible.

RIP.

see see
22 Apr 2008, 16:19
Felt sick when I read this.

Didn't know Lidge personally but always came across as an intelligent and passionate North man who always had me laughing & saying to myself, "I wish I'd thought of that."

Will be sadly missed and commiserations to his family and close friends.

Ditto.

Absolute tragedy.

BW
22 Apr 2008, 16:19
True legend of the NMFC. RIP.

scottywiper
22 Apr 2008, 16:22
Perspective. I just gained a whole lot more.

To quote Spinal Tap - "it's too much bloody perspective".:(

rooboy_88
22 Apr 2008, 16:23
Black armbands would be a nice gesture.

Even on BF a thread dedicated to some of his best work.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
22 Apr 2008, 16:25
Sincere condolences to Lidge's family and friends, the NM BF board and all of the North Melbourne family.

Tremendous wit, passion, intelligence and motivation.

I watched your board quite regularly in the weeks leading up to the Gold Coast vote and was constantly amazed at his contributions both personal and in his efforts to galvanise the troops.

Truly inspirational.

Fles
22 Apr 2008, 16:25
I think black armbands is a good idea. I am over for the match this weekend, a simple way to honour a real shinboner.

kimbopen
22 Apr 2008, 16:26
Sad news indeed.

RIP Lidge.

philhawk
22 Apr 2008, 16:26
I can't believe it.

Felt sick in my stomach when I read this.

What an absolute tragedy ...

RIP

munsonned
22 Apr 2008, 16:27
SH!T

Completely blown away.:(

For years i have read his posts wondering if "Lidge" was the Shane Lidgerwood who worked for me in the 90's at a now long gone IT company. I always assumed (and somehow actually knew) that it was because of how articulate his posts were. This was definitely a strength of his. He has always been a great NMFC supporter and even back then we would spend the first part of Monday just going over details of the game on the weekend. We didn't always agree on the topics we were discussing but one thing is for sure, he knew what he was talking about, and could always put forward a very strong case to argue his opinion (usually throwing in a wry smile that made me think he may have just been yanking my chain).

I am shocked to find out in this manner that "yes it was he", and know that there will be many ex colleagues who will be immensely saddened to hear the news.

R.I.P.

MinerBoy
22 Apr 2008, 16:28
Sorry guys. Really shocking news.

A truly quality member of BF. His posts were always witty but never personal. Enjoyed his contributions immensely and had the pleasure of butting heads with (and being busted by) him at the poker table last week.

Deepest condolences to his family, friends and his Kangaroo BF Brothers.

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
22 Apr 2008, 16:29
Thanks Lidge

Sitting at my computer :( sadder that a great Shinboner has been taken too soon.

Best wishes to his family at such a terrible time.

JHD

HFC082
____. I'm Speechless.

RIP Brother.

SonOfReep
Absolute tragedy, he was a top bloke.

Vale Lidge, RIP.

Lance Uppercut
22 Apr 2008, 16:30
holy shit :( you've lost a good man Shinboners. What a sad day

Twinkletoes
I've been busy today, and just logged on to see the banter I've been missing and I read THIS!

I am absolutely ____ing speechless, to say the least. A tragedy, no less, especially for his wife and kids.

I, like you all, cannot believe it!

I first met Lidge as a schoolboy, and rival, on the footy field. We're the same age and we were to cross paths for years in many Marcellin v Assumption battles. Many years later I joined this beloved board, to discover the great man was not only a former rival, but a fellow lover of the mighty North Melbourne. We've been friends through the site ever since, joking often of our "good ole days".

This guy had the biggest heart of all.................and the deepest of deep loves for our club, and for this board which brings us all together.

Thanks for the memories big fella. I'll miss you sincerely mate :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: You'll be in our thoughts forever.

Again also, my deepest condolences and thoughts to the whole family.

T'toes

CaptainDavey
Tragic news, sincerest condolences to his family and those who knew him.

Now he's got the best seat in the house to watch his beloved North. I tip my glass to Lidge:(

Frankston Rover
As a regular on B13 it was always entertaining to cross swords with such a proud and spirited clubman.

He will be sadly missed.

My most sincere condolances to his family and the North Melbourne FC community.

Mojo
22 Apr 2008, 16:32
That's unbelievable.

Sincere condolences to his family, friends and the NM board!

RIP.

GeordieRoo
22 Apr 2008, 16:32
A club and a supporter base like ours is built on people like Lidge.

A leader for all of us here in BF during the dark days last November and one who deserved so much credit for what was achieved.

RIP a true Shinboner.

mellowyellow
22 Apr 2008, 16:34
Very sad to hear the passing away of Lidge

I really enjoyed his valuable contributions to BF and love for the Kangaroo's

Sincere condolences to his Family and friends.

Anthony_
22 Apr 2008, 16:35
RIP Lidge and condolences to the friends and family.

seanoff
22 Apr 2008, 16:35
As an occassional contributor here

Rest in Peace Lidge

My heart felt condolences to his family (especially the 4 kids :(:(), friends, the wider NMFC community and all the people here.

The Majestic
22 Apr 2008, 16:36
I never knew him, read his posts and he was a good poster, read the thread on Bay13 and had to see what the deal was. RIP.

Condolences to his family and friends.

CaptainDavey
I suggest a minutes silence on BigFooty prior to the bounce at the Roos game this week. I'm not sure what the logistics are in disabling posting website-wide for a period of time, but I think that would be appropriate:thumbsu:

Archer_11
The most reliable, articulate poster I've seen in any forum, period. The man was a rock and even just knowing him from his posts, I am gutted. What a ____ing tragedy - his poor family.

Keyser Soze
22 Apr 2008, 16:39
Terribly sad news, condolences to Lidge's family and no doubt many friends.

He was a quality poster on BF and obviously did a huge amount of work to keep the Kangaroos where they belong.

RIP.

Lunchlady Doris
22 Apr 2008, 16:39
Terrible, terrible news.

Always knew to step wearily when exchanging banter with Lidge, obviously a man of great wit and intellect. A credit to the club he loved.

My condolences to all who knew him.

Kerrby
22 Apr 2008, 16:40
Very very sad. R.I.P. I hope that this isn't true, it's sad to see a BF member go.

shintemaster
22 Apr 2008, 16:41
Unbelievable and just heartbreaking for his family and kids as well as all who got to know him even a little through this board and the club. Our loss is huge yet would pale compared to his nearest. Personally hard to believe and immensely sad. Rest in peace Lidge.

mantis
22 Apr 2008, 16:41
Bloody hell it's true. :(

I saw the thread on Bay 13 & thought someone was being an idiot, so before I had a go at them, thought I'd check this board out first.

I am in total shock, Lidge was a great contributor to BF & the NMFC & will be missed terribly.

Condolences to his wife, children, family & friends.

RIP Lidge.

Stewie Griffin
22 Apr 2008, 16:42
Very sad to hear about this.

Although our supporters don't see eye to eye at the end of the day we are all just passionate fans. He was one of the most passionate kangas that's for sure.

Ron
22 Apr 2008, 16:42
Damn shame.
Seemed like a top bloke, will be a big loss.

Zvim
22 Apr 2008, 16:44
Very sad news, I feel for his family to lose him so young. Rest in peace.

~PC~
22 Apr 2008, 16:45
Horrible news to come on and read.

My sincerest sympathies to all who knew him and his family.