View Full Version : Richmond to NOT double team Buddy
philhawk
22 Apr 2008, 21:45
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23582480-23211,00.html
AFL
Franklin's good but one will do
April 22, 2008
RICHMOND will attempt to inflict Hawthorn's first loss this AFL season by backing one defender on Lance Franklin and resisting the urge to double-team the red-hot forward.
Tigers coach Terry Wallace was naturally wary of stopping Franklin - who leads the league goal kicking with 29 goals after five rounds - on Sunday night at the MCG, but conceded there was a danger of becoming too obsessive.
North Melbourne were the last side to curb Franklin, Josh Gibson receiving support from teammates in ganging up on the Hawk in last year's semi-final, but Wallace said Richmond could not become too conscious of one player.
"Fremantle were very wary of him a couple of weeks ago and Jarryd Roughead jumps in and starts kicking goals," he said.
"The last time we played them (Hawthorn, last season), Jarryd had four goals at halftime (five for the game).
"If you put all your eggs in one basket, somebody else is going to get out, so you've got to be wary of that and trusting of whoever gets the job, whether that's one or multiple."
That doesn't mean Wallace will gain any more sleep plotting Hawthorn's downfall, as he rated the rangy Franklin the most athletically-gifted player he had seen in 30 years in the game.
"In my time in the competition I haven't seen a player who's athletically that far advanced and superior to the others that he's playing on," said Wallace, who twice overlooked Franklin in the 2004 national draft.
AAP
Buddy to kick 20.
Rowie09
22 Apr 2008, 21:47
Yep.
I dont see which one defender is going to curb franklin to under 6 goals?
Buddy will go silly on sunday.
Carn Hawkas
22 Apr 2008, 21:48
Gonna be like christmas has come for Buddy. If Wallet is true to his word, Buddy is going to have a very very good afternoon at the office.
MightyFighting
22 Apr 2008, 21:52
Famous last words. :o
BuddyHawkers
22 Apr 2008, 21:53
Yep.
I really reckon he is going to kick his 10 goals plus on sunday.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu ::thumbsu:
Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 22:10
I'm going to take the UncleAl route and say 'as long as he pulls his weight and plays as part of the 22 i'm happy, we need all our players firing and lance is one of those players but i'm looking for a big game from jarryd this week'
Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 22:11
By the way, i think Jarryd will kick a few this game . . .
philhawk
22 Apr 2008, 22:20
I rate Thursfield, but I just dont think he has the agility or speed to go with Buddy.
JezzHawk
22 Apr 2008, 22:22
Buddy to kick 10+.
There is a reason why he is doubled team. He wins games.
Cherry picking for the taking if not double teamed.
Seriously bring popcorn.
Hawks by 60+.
Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 22:24
Buddy should have a picnic if he has a 'clean' game . . . and i think this year he's definitely having more of these, so 9 goals for Buddy.
Flamin Joe
22 Apr 2008, 22:26
Got to give Wallace some credt. Sounds like he's not falling into the same trap of putting everything on Buddy and forgetting about the danger Roughead, Williams, Rioli & co can create with the extra opportunities.
Whether he actually keeps to his word on game day we'll see. Would love to see Buddy become the first Hawthorn player to kick 10 in a game since Jason Dunstall. Oh so close last year. :D
The Cryptkeeper
22 Apr 2008, 22:29
This is typical smoke and mirrors stuff from Wallace. There is no way on earth that he will be leaving his chosen defender one out on Franklin. At the very least he will be asking his closest defenders to leave their men when the ball is sent in Franklin's direction. Wallace knows that it is football suicide to allow Franklin a one on one matchup against any of his backmen. Expect to see loose men in defence for Richmond. The last thing they want to do against Hawthorn is to try and make it a shootout.
Leather Poisoning
22 Apr 2008, 22:33
We call this the "Zac Dawson" maneouver.
philhawk
22 Apr 2008, 22:35
A visual representation of how I expect the game to pan out:
o = Hawthorn Player
x = Richmond Player
B = Buddy
Hawthorn Forward Line
1st Quarter:
o x o x o x
o x B x o x
End of 2nd Quarter
o o o
x x
o x B x o
x
keefriffhard
22 Apr 2008, 22:39
Beat me to it Phil.
Wallace will have Thursfield stand Buddy for about the first 5 minutes of the quarter. After he has kicked the first 2 goals within this period of time Wallet will rethink his stategy and play stacks on.
Buddy will still kick a bag, and Roughie, Willo and Cyril will go crazy...:eek:
Hodge2Franklin
22 Apr 2008, 22:42
Of course they won't double team Buddy.
THEY ARE STUPID.
Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 22:45
Of course they won't double team Buddy.
THEY ARE STUPID.
You're stupid.
Hodge2Franklin
22 Apr 2008, 22:48
You're stupid.
Do you think they should leave Buddy one out?
Milkman_Joe
22 Apr 2008, 22:49
This is typical smoke and mirrors stuff from Wallace. There is no way on earth that he will be leaving his chosen defender one out on Franklin. At the very least he will be asking his closest defenders to leave their men when the ball is sent in Franklin's direction. Wallace knows that it is football suicide to allow Franklin a one on one matchup against any of his backmen. Expect to see loose men in defence for Richmond. The last thing they want to do against Hawthorn is to try and make it a shootout.
Spot on :thumbsu:
hawks_legends
22 Apr 2008, 22:50
Well how stupid is Richmond? I don't know
Buddy will go nuts this weekend!
keefriffhard
22 Apr 2008, 22:53
Maybe another big week possession wise for Guerra then. They will need to be up to it fitness wise to play that style of game.
Madtiger2006
22 Apr 2008, 22:59
Franklin will kick 3.3 this week. I'm glad Terry is playing 1 on 1 :thumbsu:
BuddyHawkers
22 Apr 2008, 23:03
Franklin will kick 3.3 this week. I'm glad Terry is playing 1 on 1 :thumbsu:
If Franklin does kick 3.3 then Roughy will kick 5, Williams 4, Rioli 3, hodgey 3 etc etc :p
Mitchell Madness
22 Apr 2008, 23:04
The only player who has the ability to go with Franklin in Richmond's lineup and that is Richardson.
Move him away from the Forward 50/midfield, and they lose an avenue to goal. meaning Brown becomes target 1. and deledio number 2. deledio up forward means that they lose a mid and will kill them more... they are screwed
Madtiger2006
22 Apr 2008, 23:05
If Franklin does kick 3.3 then Roughy will kick 5, Williams 4, Rioli 3, hodgey 3 etc etc :p
Nah Rough will kick 3 as well and Williams and Hodge 2 each. That's if it's a dry day :cool:
Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 23:06
Richardson will need an oxygen tank to keep up with buddy.
Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 23:06
Hodge should start playing as a RHF now, that's clearly his best position.
i think willo is due for a big game if we open up the forward line maybe even a 5 or 6 with buddy kicking around that to
Brown Blood
22 Apr 2008, 23:20
Exactly right.
wallet is the biggest BS artist of any coach (especially now sheedy has gone)and no doubt this comment is thick and chunky BS.
Probably his primary strategy at this stage is to flood flood flood - and hope to restrict the loss to 60 points.
Madtiger2006
22 Apr 2008, 23:20
The only player who has the ability to go with Franklin in Richmond's lineup and that is Richardson.
Move him away from the Forward 50/midfield, and they lose an avenue to goal. meaning Brown becomes target 1. and deledio number 2. deledio up forward means that they lose a mid and will kill them more... they are screwed
Richo will line up at the corner of the square at half back like he did the last 2 weeks. I reckon he'll cut off alot of delivery to Franklin because he has the speed, height and athleticism to run back into contests and take big marks. I think Roughhead will be more of a danger this game. Schultz will go to him, Thursfield to Franklin, Moore to Williams and King to Rioli. We'll have a small forward line apart from Reiwoldt. Brown, Deledio, Morton, Edwards, Hyde. Sounds like the Bulldog setup. Newman, White, Foley, Tuck, Johnson, Deledio, King will be the main midfielders. I hope it doesn't rain and I hope we play 1 on 1 :thumbsu:
bak2bak8889
22 Apr 2008, 23:42
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23582480-23211,00.html
Buddy to kick 20.
the best line is right at the end.. where it quotes wallet .....blah blah blah " said Wallace who TWICE overlooked Franklin in the national draft.. GOLD:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: I predict a massive flood of tigers in our forward line...
thatswhatimtalkinabout
23 Apr 2008, 00:05
Gourdis is the word on SEN - apparently Wallet has been saving him up as his secret weapon to obliterate Buddy in his first ever game and one of their supporters rings in to let the whole world know.;););)
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 00:27
This article will be thrown out the window by half time
It's clear that those solarium rays have fried the last brain particles left in that shrivelled up prune of a head. Terry Tan the degenerate has finally lost the plot.
And i wanted this guy to coach our club :D
B&YBlood
23 Apr 2008, 01:18
Richo will line up at the corner of the square at half back like he did the last 2 weeks. I reckon he'll cut off alot of delivery to Franklin because he has the speed, height and athleticism to run back into contests and take big marks. I think Roughhead will be more of a danger this game. Schultz will go to him, Thursfield to Franklin, Moore to Williams and King to Rioli. We'll have a small forward line apart from Reiwoldt. Brown, Deledio, Morton, Edwards, Hyde. Sounds like the Bulldog setup. Newman, White, Foley, Tuck, Johnson, Deledio, King will be the main midfielders. I hope it doesn't rain and I hope we play 1 on 1 :thumbsu:
Got a feeling if it's 1 on 1 you will get severely carved up my friend, right across the field!
FieryNayta
23 Apr 2008, 01:29
Sounds like Custers last stand to me
Hawks1523
23 Apr 2008, 02:48
Being completely honest, and unbiased. I can't see a way Richmond can win this game. :confused: We can lose it, but I don't think Richmond can player better football and beat us.
That doesn't mean Wallace will gain any more sleep plotting Hawthorn's downfall, as he rated the rangy Franklin the most athletically-gifted player he had seen in 30 years in the game.
"In my time in the competition I haven't seen a player who's athletically that far advanced and superior to the others that he's playing on," said Wallace, who twice overlooked Franklin in the 2004 national draft.
If only he'd thought that 3 and a bit years ago :thumbsu:
kimbopen
23 Apr 2008, 10:40
This article will be thrown out the window by half time
I'll be less generous, and give it till quarter time!
In all seriousness its probably the best way to play us.
If your going to go in with a defensive mindset against us, you've already lost the battle. We're still vulnerable in defence, win the majority of ball in the centre and take us on
carn tigez
23 Apr 2008, 12:59
Have you seen how much running Richo does? If that's what you think then I doubt you have ever seen a Richmond game in your life. He ran 17km in the game against Freo-I doubt Buddy has every done that
Deledio2Tambling
23 Apr 2008, 13:05
Ummm....what?
Anyways, even though TW is saying he won't be doubled team, I'm sure we will have a loose man back helping out. So, although it's not technically "double teaming", I'm sure Thursfield will get a fair bit of help.
To be honest I'm more worried about Roughead than Buddy, reckon he could really fire up on Sunday.
Hmmm. So you're expecting King to be one of your main midfielders AND mind Rioli on the Forward/Half Forward line. He must be pretty special...Rioli will surely tear him a new one.
Madtiger2006
23 Apr 2008, 14:14
Hmmm. So you're expecting King to be one of your main midfielders AND mind Rioli on the Forward/Half Forward line. He must be pretty special...Rioli will surely tear him a new one.
it's called rotations. King is too good to allow rioli to dominate. King was only beaten when playing on taller players who can outmark him
Madtiger2006
23 Apr 2008, 14:15
Got a feeling if it's 1 on 1 you will get severely carved up my friend, right across the field!
I have confidence in our 22. If we were playing 1 on 1 on Geelong then i would understand your comment :)
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 14:26
Ummm....what?
Anyways, even though TW is saying he won't be doubled team, I'm sure we will have a loose man back helping out. So, although it's not technically "double teaming", I'm sure Thursfield will get a fair bit of help.
To be honest I'm more worried about Roughead than Buddy, reckon he could really fire up on Sunday.
Your a smart man D-To-The-T Roughie has been very handy with limited supply this season. He is a guy who can kick a bag if given the oppurtunity. I am sure we will go straight to Buddy in the first quarter to test your defence, but I am sure Roughie will leave the game with atleast three goals.
it's called rotations. King is too good to allow rioli to dominate. King was only beaten when playing on taller players who can outmark him
So, who plays on Rioli while King is obliterating everyone in the midfield?
Beckers
23 Apr 2008, 14:27
Yep.
The only thing that will curb buddy is the weather. Forcast is for 16 and rain:eek: Unfortunetly Buddy won't get near 6 if that is the case! Maybe Rioli will get 6 instead:thumbsu:
Eel_storm
23 Apr 2008, 14:28
If hate that prick caller on SEN who barracks for Richmond and talks crap and sounds like he's drowning in his own saliva.
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 14:29
Oh so an AA Back Pocket should be in hand for King? Last time I checked he is more renowned for his hard running out of defence then his shut down abilities. We will see how he goes, I wouldnt mind see Osbourne shit stirr that little rodent and see his little man syndrome kick into full drive.
Eel_storm
23 Apr 2008, 14:29
Your a smart man D-To-The-T Roughie has been very handy with limited supply this season. He is a guy who can kick a bag if given the oppurtunity. I am sure we will go straight to Buddy in the first quarter to test your defence, but I am sure Roughie will leave the game with atleast three goals.
Hawks should deliberately kick it to Roughie just to take some of the defence off Buddy imo . . .
Madtiger2006
23 Apr 2008, 14:30
So, who plays on Rioli while King is obliterating everyone in the midfield?
white. He has extreme pace and very competitive
Hawk0373
23 Apr 2008, 14:41
If I were Wallet I'd just have Richo roam the defensive 50 and push fwd when the Tiges have the ball.
white. He has extreme pace and very competitive
White? He's layed 6 tackles all year and I've never heard of him (had to go and check he existed). Yeah, chuck him on Cyril. Please.
If I were Wallet I'd just have Richo roam the defensive 50 and push fwd when the Tiges have the ball.
...and that way, when they butcher the thing around the half forward line, we can run it back into our forward line unimpeded.
Madtiger2006
23 Apr 2008, 15:04
he will :D
Hawk0373
23 Apr 2008, 15:06
...and that way, when they butcher the thing around the half forward line, we can run it back into our forward line unimpeded.
Sssshhhhh ;)
Leather Poisoning
23 Apr 2008, 15:43
If hate that prick caller on SEN who barracks for Richmond and talks crap and sounds like he's drowning in his own saliva.
That's KB. Only he's not a caller, he's actually hosting the show :eek:
Deledio2Tambling
23 Apr 2008, 18:31
Thanks mate, I think so too :D
Although I am a little disappointed by your avatar :(
BTW, is that really you on the myspace page in your sig? If so, top stuff :thumbsu:
FriarTuck
23 Apr 2008, 18:37
I love the way the writer describes wallets as the man who twice overlooked Buddy. What a great way to stick it to him.
Roughie hardly touched the footy last week, why would you worry about him?
I'd like to see us use Buddy less but that wont happen if he is 1 on 1.
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 18:57
Thanks mate, I think so too :D
Although I am a little disappointed by your avatar :(
BTW, is that really you on the myspace page in your sig? If so, top stuff :thumbsu:
Hahah the avatar is just a bit of shit stirring.
Yeah it is me in the myspace, and thanks for the kind words mate I guess there had to be atleast one nice Richmond fan, you sure your not a closet Hawk supporter?
Eel_storm
23 Apr 2008, 19:13
They're double-teaming Hodge already.
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 00:38
Hahah the avatar is just a bit of shit stirring.
Yeah it is me in the myspace, and thanks for the kind words mate I guess there had to be atleast one nice Richmond fan, you sure your not a closet Hawk supporter?
Quite sure ;)
Nah I love watching you blokes play, I don't buy into all the Franklin/Tambling rubbish, as what's done is done, so I will support Richie for as long as he is at the club. Franklin is the most exciting player I think I have ever seen. It must be fantastic to have someone so young, so good at your club. This must be how we felt when Richo came on the scene.
You guys have a deadset legend in the making here :thumbsu:
Hodge2Franklin
24 Apr 2008, 00:40
Quite sure ;)
Nah I love watching you blokes play, I don't buy into all the Franklin/Tambling rubbish, as what's done is done, so I will support Richie for as long as he is at the club. Franklin is the most exciting player I think I have ever seen. It must be fantastic to have someone so young, so good at your club. This must be how we felt when Richo came on the scene.
You are gun poster D2T ... :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 00:42
You are gun poster D2T ... :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Cheers mate :), and without turning this thread into a love-in, guess how I came up with my name? From you of course lol
Roughie
24 Apr 2008, 00:59
Quite sure ;)
Being from Darwin I really do have a soft spot for any footballer drafted from here and I do honestly hope Tambling can keep his form up this year so people can get off his back a bit. I just hope he has a shit game against us haha
Hodge2Franklin
24 Apr 2008, 01:04
Cheers mate :), and without turning this thread into a love-in, guess how I came up with my name? From you of course lol
Thanks mate ... It makes it hard with RT, Bojangles and yourself to keep stirring up the Tigers... You know deep down I hope they rise up for you guys.
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 01:05
Being from Darwin I really do have a soft spot for any footballer drafted from here and I do honestly hope Tambling can keep his form up this year so people can get off his back a bit. I just hope he has a shit game against us haha
Yeah I have been known in the past to bump heads with Hawks fans over the whole debate, but usually only to defend Tambling. I don't like it when people flat out abuse him, calling him a dud etc. when to be truthful, I think he has been quite good for us and has shown steady improvement every year which is all you can ask of him really.
If people have a crack at Miller and Wallace for the drafting of Tambling well I'm fine with that, but yeah I find it hard to sit by and not say anything if someone is being unfair to Bling when really, its not his fault he was drafted before Lance.
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 01:07
Thanks mate ... It makes it hard with RT, Bojangles and yourself to keep stirring up the Tigers... You know deep down I hope they rise up for you guys.
Haha yeah look hard enough and there are supporters on the Richmond board with unbiased opinions believe it or not, its the Benny Furs of the world (love his optimism, god bless him) that can at times give us a bad name.
BuddyTwoThree
25 Apr 2008, 01:42
A visual representation of how I expect the game to pan out:
o = Hawthorn Player
x = Richmond Player
B = Buddy
Hawthorn Forward Line
1st Quarter:
o x o x o x
o x B x o x
End of 2nd Quarter
o o o