View Full Version : SEN's Mark Doran: Needs to do his homework ....

Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 22:02
Does the afternoon shift on SEN 12-4 and he's apparently commentating games now . . . on Saturday night he was going on about how there was no way Buddy would kick a goal from the left pocket cos he's a left footer so he should just pass it off . . . the first goal Buddy missed from there, and Doran was like 'i told ya' and then he kicked the next two from the left pocket and that seemed to shut him up . . . point is he needs to actually do his homework if he's going to commentate on football. He's clearly only got the job there cos he works for SEN . . . he's a dud commentator, and if he watched just one hawks game last year he'd know buddy nails those more often than not.

macdaddio
22 Apr 2008, 22:04
Does the afternoon shift on SEN 12-4 and he's apparently commentating games now . . . on Saturday night he was going on about how there was no way Buddy would kick a goal from the left pocket cos he's a left footer so he should just pass it off . . . the first goal Buddy missed from there, and Doran was like 'i told ya' and then he kicked the next two from the left pocket and that seemed to shut him up . . . point is he needs to actually do his homework if he's going to commentate on football. He's clearly only got the job there cos he works for SEN . . . he's a dud commentator, and if he watched just one hawks game last year he'd know buddy nails those more often than not.

most of them on sen do the footy, marks show is pretty good i like his mondays with robo........

Eel_storm
22 Apr 2008, 22:05
most of them on sen do the footy, marks show is pretty good i like his mondays with robo........

it's jobs for the boys, it's better this year that they got eddie in there, last year they had billy brownless commentating ffs.

Adelaide Hawk
9 Jul 2008, 09:34
He's clearly only got the job there cos he works for SEN . . . he's a dud commentator.

He's a dud human being. The question isn't how he got his job as a footy caller, it's how he manages to make a living in the media. He has no idea whatsover on any subject. The moment he comes on air, I switch off because I hate wasting my time listening to his dribble.

Mervyn Beasley
9 Jul 2008, 09:56
He's a dud human being. The question isn't how he got his job as a footy caller, it's how he manages to make a living in the media. He has no idea whatsover on any subject. The moment he comes on air, I switch off because I hate wasting my time listening to his dribble.
I've known Mark for about 27 years.
Whilst i'm not a big fan of his work due to him being a bit sensational and dramatic, I can vouch that he is not a dud human being.
In his defence it must be difficult filling those 4 hours every day without being sensational.
He certainly went into bat for Buddy recently over the nightclub hoo ha!

lethalselbow
9 Jul 2008, 11:09
I've known Mark for about 27 years.
Whilst i'm not a big fan of his work due to him being a bit sensational and dramatic, I can vouch that he is not a dud human being.
In his defence it must be difficult filling those 4 hours every day without being sensational.
He certainly went into bat for Buddy recently over the nightclub hoo ha!

Well said! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Mark Doran is fantastic!! Great to listen to and is great to listen to calling the football. Stiff bickies if he made a mistake in calling. At least he had the guts to call before the play happened unlike some commentators.

If you want to hear some of the funniest football/radio tune into SEN on Friday's from 12-2pm. Daniel Harford (sometimes Ben Dixon) , Ripper Rita Panahi and Mark Doran.

You know what really gets me going is that most people come on here just to bag commentators. So easy to sit back and bag someone.

And, as for you Eel_storm, I'm not sure why you're allowed back into the Hawthorn Forum, but you're one to talk. You've been banned from this forum for quite a while for being anti-social and a dud. Why don't you try to come in here and talk up some positives instead of coming in here slinging mud at people.

kevieyang
9 Jul 2008, 11:26
Went into bat for Franklin? He went on with his headline "Bad Boy Buddy". But he does have a mancrush on Buddy and John Stephenson.

Doran has no clue with sport and life.

When interviewing Andrew Gaze about the charity walk along the Great Wall, Gaze said Joan Rivers was walking too. Doran: "Whose Joan Rivers?" There's more examples of "Whose [insert name]?"

When Wimbledon was coming up, a caller rang in saying he thought Marat Safin may be his dark horse for the title. Doran dismissed his call and said Safin isn't even playing.

Every Friday he takes calls for stating the case for all 8 underdogs for the weekend AFL round. For Essendon vs West Coast @ Dome, a caller stating a case for the Eagles said that they have the bigger bodies which will suit the wet conditions and that Essendon were due for a loss. Doran's response: "I hear what your saying. I like your case."

Anyway, the SEN thread will give you an indication how listeners feel about him being a presenter. Eel_storm, he doesn't do homework before his daily show either!

fishbowl
9 Jul 2008, 11:42
I like him, just barracks for a dud team.

Hodgepodge
9 Jul 2008, 12:55
eel storm isn't even a hawthorn supporter, he's a rugby league troll, i'll hand it to him, he's going to a lot of effort, but that may be more of an indication as to where his life's at at the moment.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
9 Jul 2008, 13:19
I can't think of one commentator who hasn't had a shot at Buddy when he lines up from 50+ outside the boundary in the left pocket only to shake their head in amazement when he dobs it off five steps.

By now people should be starting to realise it's his signature shot - he rarely misses.

Perhaps that is why there is such a misconception that Buddy is selfish.

I would much rather have a weeks pay riding on that shot than Buddy 20 out directly in front.

Unique
9 Jul 2008, 23:36
I did work ex. at SEN with Mark Doran. Top bloke.

andrew coombs
10 Jul 2008, 00:27
Doran is a pratt with an embarrasingly shallow sporting knowledge and a complete personality bypass. I put him in the same league as Tony Jones who must have the most punchable head in Australian Television.

Unique
10 Jul 2008, 00:28
Doran is a pratt with an embarrasingly shallow sporting knowledge and a complete personality bypass. I put him in the same league as Tony Jones who must have the most punchable head in Australian Television.

You could only wish to be in his position mate.

I'd like to see you do a better job.

Terrible
10 Jul 2008, 00:47
Doritto is the King! I hang to listen to him everyday. Probably the best interviewer I have ever had the pleasure to listen to. I'm a HUGE, HUGE fan.
Bad Boy Buddy? If you actually listened to that properly you would have heard that he was on buddys side. He was being sarcastic when he said bad boy buddy.

Cant say a whole lot for KB though. The single worst presenter i have ever heard. Just listen to him ummm and errrr and arrr. It makes me want to just tell him to shit the eff up!!

shotta
10 Jul 2008, 09:24
Funny how we all have our own totally different views on callers/commentators. I'm always surprised when somebody loves who I cannot stand or vice versa. I would gladly line up to throw rocks at Tony Shaw, Danny Frawley or Quartermain, whereas I reckon Walls, Cometti and Bartlett are guns. Thats the thing, I would bet no one would agree with me on these 6. So who is right and who is wrong?

Hodgepodge
10 Jul 2008, 11:53
Doran flirts like the nerd he is with that 'rita' hag every friday afternoon, they're a couple of horny dweebs those two. Luckily harfs there to hose them down as required.