View Full Version : Kennett: Future of Tasmania games in question

Hawkk
23 Apr 2008, 10:37
Hawks boss fears for Tassie games

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23585255-3462,00.html

HAWTHORN Football Club president Jeff Kennett believes a Tasmanian-based AFL team could co-exist with Hawthorn.

But he has warned that Tasmania could face having no AFL connection if Hawthorn was not sponsored after 2011.

Hawthorn plays four roster games and a pre-season cup game at Aurora Stadium every season under a five-year agreement with the State Government.

Kennett said he believed there would be enough support and infrastructure for two AFL teams.

But he said he did not think a decision on a future AFL team for Tasmania would be made in the short term.

"I just don't know whether that is going to happen (a Tasmanian team)in the foreseeable future," Kennett said.

"You can still advocate the case, but I do not think you want to lose sight of the immediate to short term and how do you get the best benefit, how do you get a piece of the action and we would like to think it is through the Hawthorn Football Club. If you lose Hawthorn, then the option might be that you end up with no AFL connection at all.

"You had St Kilda and they did not want to be here, and we did want to be here."

He said that the Hawthorn option would be cheap compared with having a Tasmanian team.

"If the Tasmanian Government had to stump up the majority of a new club's financial contribution, the minimum has got to be $30 million a year, so over five years it would be $150 million," Kennett said.

"Now there is no way the people of Tasmania would agree to that scenario."

The Tasmanian Government sponsorship of Hawthorn costs $16.4 million over five years.

"We hope the Hawthorn option is a very good second best for the people of Tassie," Kennett said.

He said he hoped the club would remain in Tasmania after 2011, and said discussions on renewal of the sponsorship probably would not occur until year four of the agreement in 2010.

The next state election is in 2010.

"We did not enter into this to come down for three or four years and disappear in a whiff of smoke," Kennett said.

"Our commitment as a club is hopefully long term and we hope we will be supported whoever forms Government."

Premier Paul Lennon said he had not started any discussions about the future of the sponsorship of the Hawthorn Football Club after 2011.

"I spoke to Jeff about our intention to approach the AFL to get them to agree to take a submission from us before I finalised our position on that," Mr Lennon said.

Gary Shadforth
23 Apr 2008, 11:20

Thanks for the article, Hawkk.

So it will reboot all those who believe our club is destined to move to Tassie to come onto this thread, boots and all.

This article to my way of thinking is all the more reason why we will be headquarted at Waverley for evermore. We are becoming one of the most financial Victorian clubs and there is every possibility that we will surpass tired old clubs like Collingwood and Essendon as to having the largest supporter base.

So fear not those who fear the move, it will never happen.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002PeterCasserly-2.jpg

Binxy
23 Apr 2008, 11:23
I'd still rather have ALL my home games at the G

Frankston Rover
23 Apr 2008, 12:45
The good thing about this type of sponsorship is it exposes us to a new market.

Hopefully, young kids in Tasmania grow up to follow the Hawks purely on the fact that we play games in their home state.

Also, the ground down there suits us and our style of play. Over the next few years hopefully we can establish a second home down there and give the locals a reason to follow us.

Considering our financial situation and the large sponsorship/advertising we get for each game, it would have to be a damn good deal that makes us leave - and I doubt the Tassie Government would walk away after only 5 years. If they can make this work successfully it would certainly enhance their propects of getting their own team down the track.

Hawks1523
23 Apr 2008, 12:51
I'd still rather have ALL my home games at the G

Makes two of us.

Sure the Tassie sponsorship brings in dollars, but I'd rather have those 4 games at the MCG.

Hawk0373
23 Apr 2008, 13:18
Expect Kennett to ask for a $25mill 5 year extension.

So far we have approx 3,000 Tas members (correct me if I'm wrong) with packages ranging from $50 to $140 for singles and $190 to $365 for families. Apparently the demand for the Gunn's stand access ($140) is growing.

It's then fair to assume that the club will make around $300k this year from Tas memberships alone.

This equates to 2,000 x 11 game ($150) Vic based memberships.

If things continue at the current rate and given...

We smashed our membership record
Tas membership demand is growing
The "opportunity cost" (supposed "disgruntled" Vic member's lost) is looking like being offset.
Tas Govt's return on investment is significantly greater than forcasted.
Our bargaining power for the next round of discussions (should the Tas gov't elected in 2010 agrees to talk) will be strengthened.
There's a v good chance of renewal.

Would love all home games at the G but by 2011 I'd be content with 3 Tas games in a 24 round H&A season.

Bombermania
23 Apr 2008, 13:27
Hawthorn is an enigma for you go out to the North Eastern suburbs and bascially everyone goes for Essendon or Western Bulldogs, yet if I go out to the Eastern Suburbs the largest supported club appears to be teams like Carlton and Essendon, is there a reason why Hawthorn appears to have such a low supporter base

GAMBLER
23 Apr 2008, 13:51
Hawthorn is an enigma for you go out to the North Eastern suburbs and bascially everyone goes for Essendon or Western Bulldogs, yet if I go out to the Eastern Suburbs the largest supported club appears to be teams like Carlton and Essendon, is there a reason why Hawthorn appears to have such a low supporter base

3rd largest membership in Victoria is small?

Hawkas_01
23 Apr 2008, 13:51

Let me guess you came to this conclusion because your nan lives in Ringwood and she barracks for Essendon.

:rolleyes:

Hawkk
23 Apr 2008, 14:04

Because Hawthorn clearly struggles for supporters :rolleyes:

Bombermania
23 Apr 2008, 14:31
Let me guess you came to this conclusion because your nan lives in Ringwood and she barracks for Essendon.

Because Hawthorn clearly struggles for supporters :rolleyes:

I was curious for I have lived in the South Eastern suburbs for over 30 years and I don't know many Hawthorn supporters while if I go to Brunswick every seems to go for Carlton, if I go out Essendon way everyone seems to support Essendon etc

budf23
23 Apr 2008, 14:34

Gun call

Bombermania
23 Apr 2008, 14:38
Gun call

I don't think so for she doesn't live in Ringwood

Hawk0373
23 Apr 2008, 14:50
I was curious for I have lived in the South Eastern suburbs for over 30 years and I don't know many Hawthorn supporters while if I go to Brunswick every seems to go for Carlton, if I go out Essendon way everyone seems to support Essendon etc

Do you ask people on the street?

At my work in Dandenong there are only more Pie supporters than Hawks out of 250 staff, most live in the eastern suburbs.

hodgeysleftfoot
23 Apr 2008, 15:35
Happy with the Tassie sponsorship but the crowds are a worry
Considering we have a headline act in Buddy , you would think more would turn up

Frankston Rover
23 Apr 2008, 16:16
Considering we play teams like Brisbane, West Coast and the Kangaroos - who would drag our attendances down in Melbourne anyway - 600k per game is a healthy returns for games that we'd be lucky to make 10k on at the Dome.

Tasmaniac
23 Apr 2008, 16:22
Happy with the Tassie sponsorship but the crowds are a worry
Considering we have a headline act in Buddy , you would think more would turn up

Tassie is a state with a tiny, decentralised population.

Most tassie people think 1 hr travel in a car is a long way.

So 2hrs+ is just way too far for many.

Plus most footy supporters in Tassie go for Vic based teams, so when Hawks play Crows, it was about 14 k Hawks/Tassie people and only (say) 1 k Crows.

If you really want to pack the stadium out, get the AFL to roster Carlton/Collingwood. (Not that it would happen). Tickets would be sold out very quickly.

Give us a break! Tasweigians are awesome....there's just not very many of us.:thumbsu:

play2win
23 Apr 2008, 16:38
i don't know much about this at all, but as far as the sponsorship renewal goes i thought it was a politically sensitive issue. meaning that the election in 2010 could have a large bearing as to whether the sponsorship will be renewed.

even though it is rational for the tasmanian government to renew the sponsorship (ie. because the net benefit to the State far outweighed the cost), the politics of the situation may not allow for a rational outcome. the HFC is exposed to political risk - who would have thought.

either way, it would be prudent to explore other sponsorship opportunities, as i am sure the board/management are already at least thinking about.

Carn Hawkas
23 Apr 2008, 16:45
Makes two of us.

Sure the Tassie sponsorship brings in dollars, but I'd rather have those 4 games at the MCG.
Agreed.
Even if we do sign another deal in 2011, it should only be a minor deal and play 2 games there instead of 4.

Arrian Stubbs
23 Apr 2008, 17:21
I disagree playing in Tasmania is a HUGE advantage as it is like an away game for both interstate and Victorian teams. If we played against Victorian teams at the MCG instead of Tasmania it wouldn't really be a Home advantage, thats why Tasmania is heaps awesome! Plus were really familiar with the ground and it always gets televasted on Channel Seven on Sunday Nights!!!

hawker11
23 Apr 2008, 17:25
Plus were really familiar with the ground and it always gets televasted on Channel Seven on Sunday Nights!!!

Because 10:30PM is the time that our sponsors are after exposure. :rolleyes:

Boyler_Room
23 Apr 2008, 19:05
Bombermania

I think that you'll find Essendon supporters are happy/stuck in Essendon. (sorry couldn't help having a crack) Hawthorn is an inner eastern suburb with higher middle class that are probably not strong or outspoken about AFL or the club they follow.

There are so many factors of demographic and areas that they are way to complicated and if commented on would only be under speculation.

If you had the membership database, that I'm sure all clubs collect, you would be more aware of supporter distribution and all that stuff.

m0nty
23 Apr 2008, 19:54
Hawthorn's membership is higher than Essendon's. Enough said.

Bombermania
23 Apr 2008, 20:51
Bombermania

I think that you'll find Essendon supporters are happy/stuck in Essendon. (sorry couldn't help having a crack) Hawthorn is an inner eastern suburb with higher middle class that are probably not strong or outspoken about AFL or the club they follow.

There are so many factors of demographic and areas that they are way to complicated and if commented on would only be under speculation.

If you had the membership database, that I'm sure all clubs collect, you would be more aware of supporter distribution and all that stuff.

Thank you for that for I'm often wondered why Hawthorn supporters seemed to be fewer than the membership level says.

I know the suburb of Hawthorn very well and my experiance is the AFL side seems somewhat low key, I recall there was a large billboard that stood for about a year under the Glenferrie Rd Train bridge promoting shoes and the guy in the picture was Chris Judd in an Eagle jumper!

During last years finals series there was no great out pouring of the club colours, maybe a Grand Final would change that.

GAMBLER
23 Apr 2008, 21:47
So you live in the North West, spent 30 years living in the South East and know the suburb of Hawthorn 'well' :rolleyes:

Gene Simmons
23 Apr 2008, 23:27

LoL..couldn't have said that better myself :thumbsu:

Bombermania
24 Apr 2008, 00:32
So you live in the North West, spent 30 years living in the South East and know the suburb of Hawthorn 'well' :rolleyes:

I'm over 30, apart for two years I have always lived in the South and Eastern suburbs and I know the suburb of Hawthorn very well!

medusala
24 Apr 2008, 04:59
Tassie is a state with a tiny, decentralised population.

Most tassie people think 1 hr travel in a car is a long way.

So 2hrs+ is just way too far for many.

Which is precisely why talk of getting a heap of members out of Hobart is a pipe dream

medusala
24 Apr 2008, 05:01
The "opportunity cost" (supposed "disgruntled" Vic member's lost) is looking like being offset.

Is it? On what basis?

Gary Shadforth
24 Apr 2008, 09:10

An absolute rubbish thread.

Apearance to whom? You!

Go and do some research and come up with facts from a reliable source.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002PeterCasserly-2.jpg

Consumed
24 Apr 2008, 14:30
I'm over 30, apart for two years I have always lived in the South and Eastern suburbs and I know the suburb of Hawthorn very well!
And on weekends, I like to hang out in the north-eastern suburbs with, what I like to call, my type of people.:o