View Full Version : Be honest what did you think we would be at Round 5?
HODGEYROAD
23 Apr 2008, 14:39
I thought we would be 3-2. With our suspension troubles I did not expect us to bolt out. I thought we would still beat Melbourne, Win one of our interstate games at most. Get revenge on North and a 50-50 against the Crows...
LoneStar
23 Apr 2008, 14:59
3 up & 2 down. Losses at Subiaco & the Gabba. Surprise...surprise...surprise!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
3-2
Wins against Melbourne, Nth Melbourne and Brisbane
Losses to Fremantle and Adelaide
Eel_storm
23 Apr 2008, 15:06
Losses at Fremantle and maybe Kangaroos . . .
3 wins, 1 loss, 1 draw . . . .
MuzzHawk
23 Apr 2008, 15:26
4-1
Expected a loss to Bris
The Cryptkeeper
23 Apr 2008, 15:41
2-3.
I actualy commented on here that I thought a 4-3 start going into the break would be ideal given our early season suspensions. I will now be shattered if we are not 7-0.
Expected to be 3-2, Losses to Freo at Subi, and Adelaide even though it was in Tassie...
3-2 with away losses. Happy days so far.:thumbsu:
I thought either 3-2 or 2-3 with injury and suspension being the main concern. Looks like we have good depth for the first time in 10 -15 years.
Old Hawk
23 Apr 2008, 16:15
I looked at our draw before the start of the season and thought that the first 7 rounds would test us and if we could be 3/2 after the first 5 rounds I would be quite happy. I did hope for a 4/1 result but with our suspenions and injuries at the start I didn't really think it was possible. Now at 5/0 what else can say but "WOW" and may the ride continue! Can I hope for 7/0 at the break? Why the Hell not!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Glorious couch life
23 Apr 2008, 17:01
6 and 0. We're that good.
wce4premiership
23 Apr 2008, 17:23
I picked hawthorn for top 4 this year. So far so good :thumbsu:
2-3 or at best 3-2
was hoping for 5-0 but didnt expect it.
i thought 3-2 but knew we could go 4-0 with our best footy.
Didn't expect to beat Brisbane at the GABBA.
cschreuder61
23 Apr 2008, 18:11
I was hoping for 3-2.
I thought we'd peak later in the year once we got our full group back.
I still think we aren't playing our best footy, once our midfield group gets settled, and learn how best to use Williams, Roughead and Franklin, I still we can get better still.
We've won, but at times against North, Freo and Brisbane, I thought we could have played better football, we still won which is a good sign, but I don't think we played at well at certain times, so there is certainly room for improvement.
Our draw is good from now on, so we really need to make the most of the opportunity this year and try to get a top 2 finish if possible, but there is a long long way to go yet.
FriarTuck
23 Apr 2008, 18:26
Freo was unexpected but they have been crap. Brissy was a great get. I had us at 3 - 2.
macdaddio
23 Apr 2008, 19:35
2-3.
I actualy commented on here that I thought a 4-3 start going into the break would be ideal given our early season suspensions. I will now be shattered if we are not 7-0.
last season we were 5-2 after round 7 and 7-3 after round 10, and we are playing a lot better now so i think we should most definately be 7-0 after round 7 but by saying that our danger game is the pies........
noosa hawk mad
23 Apr 2008, 19:53
3 and 2 would of been rapted:thumbsu: To win interstate where we have really struggled over the last few years shows how far we have come!
moginie
23 Apr 2008, 20:19
4-1
Expected a loss to Bris
Same as me.
Carn Hawkas
23 Apr 2008, 20:19
2-3
Thought we would lose all the interstate games, but i'm glad i'm wrong.
Mervyn Beasley
24 Apr 2008, 13:28
I was hoping for 4-1, thought 3-2 was more realistic due to travel, suspensions etc.
Now I reckon 8 zip is very attainable
skipjack
24 Apr 2008, 13:29
Great question btw. My thoughts, once the draw had been released and without seeing one minute of football...
I seriously thought we would be 2-3, and hoped to go 3-2, but there was a very real chance of 1-4.
We had massive outs in game one against Melbourne, but still thought we would win.
Freo at Freo is a tough trip usually - we weren't to know how badly they were to start the year.
After that we had North - who seem to have been a bogy side of ours, but with our improvements still looked a 50/50 to me.
Adelaide have shown the ability to shut us down in the past. I expected us to lose a low scoring one here.
And Brisbane at the Gabba... I thought this was a really tough ask.
But add some real defensive pressure in our forward line, some beautiful link up play, improved disposal and the return of Willo to even further improve our forward line, and I ended up tipping the Hawks the past 5 weeks.
That's deliberate
24 Apr 2008, 13:32
Re: Be honest what did you think we would be at Round 5?
Ok if im being honest I thought for a moment it would be nice if we were a tree but im glad we are still a footy club..:p
Mitchell Madness
24 Apr 2008, 13:50
Realisticly, i thought that the players would have dropped off after such a good year last yr and begin around 1-4.
Stoked hwo well we are doing. 2009 will be our year though
Collins-Langford-Ayres
24 Apr 2008, 14:30
4-1. I thought we ran out of legs against freo last year and shold have won and thought we would this team. Thought we'd also win in Tassie, belt Melbourne but by 6 - 8 goals and have a narrow revenge victory over the Roos, but felt we'd struggle against the Lions. Then again, I thought we'd only lose 4 games this year to Brissie in round 5, Adelaide in round 12, Saints in round 16 and Geelong in round 17.