View Full Version : Rain / Hail on Sunday
superstar
23 Apr 2008, 15:09
A big disadvantage to us with Franklin in such red hot form.
Perhaps the big guy upstairs is getting a little sick of all the Buddy hype. How to stop him? Pray for rain.
hawkstars
23 Apr 2008, 15:15
I think this is the only thing that will help Richmond.
The Dice Man
23 Apr 2008, 15:16
I disagree. I think the rain will help your stronger and bigger bodied players. May slightly nulify Buddy's influence but I dont sit here thinking 'Gee whiz we're a real shot' just because it rains.
Just hoping for a tough, aggressive and close game.
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 15:18
Well I guess this will let Krakour have a huge game....oh wait thats right.....
Hopefully we bring Stoker in
mighty_fighting
23 Apr 2008, 16:05
I think it will be another good test for us in the wet - can't wait!!!!
Haven't been for 2 weeks and I'm getting MCG withdrawals
Rail/Hail or Shine I will be there - under cover thank god!!
hawks forever
23 Apr 2008, 16:17
here we go again a little talk of rain and the doom sayers come out and believe that we will do no good yes rain will bring a challenge but i feel we have a structure that allows us to play in any weather type. tell me what team is structured to play in wet weather and has the exp in the wet other than brisbane?:D
richo1982
23 Apr 2008, 16:25
the rain will suit hawthorn really, Richmond are a much faster team and we won't be able to run u off your legs if its raining. U guys have bigger bodies across the board and just because it won't suit buddy doesn't mean it wont suit your team as a whole. Look for Jake King to tear u guys a new one if its wet!
Maybloom madness
23 Apr 2008, 16:47
Willo has played really well for us in the past in the wet. Expect him to shine on Sunday.
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 16:51
the rain will suit hawthorn really, Richmond are a much faster team and we won't be able to run u off your legs if its raining. U guys have bigger bodies across the board and just because it won't suit buddy doesn't mean it wont suit your team as a whole. Look for Jake King to tear u guys a new one if its wet!
Come on now you lost to the Roos and the Magpies, and faded against the dogs? Who are you seriously running of their legs? You defeated a one paced Fremantle outfit and a poor Carlton in round 1. You may be fast, but you wont be able to match us on endurance. Last year we were the number 1 team in 4th quarter scores and we have only got fitter mate.
Maybe it's not a bad thing.
It's another test and a chance to prepare for possible games in the future that will be played in wet conditions.. and because it's against Richmond we are still guaranteed victory.
flyby hawk
23 Apr 2008, 17:17
Never, I repeat NEVER, are we guaranteed victory.
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 17:17
It's another test and a chance to prepare for possible games in the future that will be played in wet conditions.. and because it's against Richmond we are still guaranteed victory.
Wasnt there some rain that came down during the game in Brisbane? It may not have been a full down pour but the boys were able to play with a slick footy all game.
Never, I repeat NEVER, are we guaranteed victory.
Mate, it's Richmond.. lol.
superstar
23 Apr 2008, 17:23
here we go again a little talk of rain and the doom sayers come out and believe that we will do no good yes rain will bring a challenge but i feel we have a structure that allows us to play in any weather type. tell me what team is structured to play in wet weather and has the exp in the wet other than brisbane?:D
Hardly doomsaying, I reckon we'll win comfortably. But when you've got Buddy in the side, it's always disappointing if conditions don't suit the most entertaining brand of footy. With Richmond playing 3 guys on him, expect Willo to do his rain dance.
Who says we aren't suited to wet weather footy?
Mitchell, Sewell, Lewis, Hodge, Brown all hard nuts.
richo1982
23 Apr 2008, 18:01
Attitudes like that is why u will probably lose
hawker11
23 Apr 2008, 18:17
Bit early on the weather prediction aren't we?? :)
Attitudes like that is why u will probably lose
I agree. The attitudes of Hawthorn supporters at Bigfooty will determine who wins and loses.:thumbsu:
Wet weather is annoying for the spectacle only as it may restrict the Buddy Love factor. But our midfield is alot tougher than their band of stick insects so all up it would favour us.
TylerDurden
23 Apr 2008, 18:30
Stokes has to come in....
Line in the Sand
23 Apr 2008, 18:43
THE ONLY THING IT IS GOING TO BE RAINING IS GOALS!!!!!
sweet sweet goals....
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 18:46
Stokes has to come in....
Agreed!
I disagree with bringing in Stokes.
Why bring him in when is he going to be dropped the following week (Dew)?
Let him get some good solid games at Box Hill under his belt, let him find some routine.
I am unaware of anyone being injured?
Keep Clarke in.
Let him get some good solid games at Box Hill under his belt, let him find some routine.
I am unaware of anyone being injured?
Keep Clarke in.
Murphy, 2 - 3 weeks according to the club website.
I think we'll go in unchanged, although I wouldn't mind McGlynn playing some time soon.
Bojangles17
23 Apr 2008, 19:07
[QUOTE=Roughie;10774994]Come on now you lost to the Roos and the Magpies, and faded against the dogs? Who are you seriously running of their legs? You defeated a one paced Fremantle outfit QUOTE]
hmmm, by about 10 goals more than the Hawks did:rolleyes:
Murphy, 2 - 3 weeks according to the club website.
I think we'll go in unchanged, although I wouldn't mind McGlynn playing some time soon.
LOL. I meant from last week's game.
Should be unchanged then.
Roughie
23 Apr 2008, 19:18
[QUOTE=Roughie;10774994]Come on now you lost to the Roos and the Magpies, and faded against the dogs? Who are you seriously running of their legs? You defeated a one paced Fremantle outfit QUOTE]
hmmm, by about 10 goals more than the Hawks did:rolleyes:
That must equate to an automatic win for the tigers :rolleyes:. Fremantles momentum coming into our game and yours was different, and our past issues of travelling were things we had to overcome. If you think defeating Fremantle after their past losses and media scrutiny is a big win then you must fail to recognize the mental part of football.
The truth is we will beat you, I am more confident in beating your team then I have been with Melbourne in round 1.
Milkman_Joe
23 Apr 2008, 19:21
I think this is a perfect opportunity for mighty mouse McGlynn to return to the side.
He has had a couple games at Box Hill to work on his match fitness, was bog for Box Hill last week and you would say he is a type of player that would relish in the wet weather conditions.
hawks_legends
23 Apr 2008, 19:23
I think we play well in the rain. But I hope it doesn't rain because then I will have to move under cover at the G and not be able to sit front row!
Flamin Joe
23 Apr 2008, 20:30
Wasnt there some rain that came down during the game in Brisbane? It may not have been a full down pour but the boys were able to play with a slick footy all game.
I wouldn't call it rain it was more a light shower that barely lasted a minute or two. I didn't even know there was any shower until someone pointed out to me you could see it in the lights, that's how light it was.
croady_fan24
23 Apr 2008, 21:08
We will win with or without rain. :)
TylerDurden
23 Apr 2008, 21:30
Coz when the ball is wet, you need guys with skills when the ball hits the deck. It might mean Roughy spends more time on the bench.
A no-brainer for mine...
phillm1
23 Apr 2008, 22:08
I disagree. I think the rain will help your stronger and bigger bodied players. May slightly nulify Buddy's influence but I dont sit here thinking 'Gee whiz we're a real shot' just because it rains.
Just hoping for a tough, aggressive and close game.
Nah I think rain will help you coz it stops our run and carry game, how do the tigers go in the rain anway ?
GAMBLER
23 Apr 2008, 22:11
Nah Richmond rely more heavily on a run and carry game then us.
I agree with Dice Man, the rain should give us the advantage, especially through the middle
Hawks1523
23 Apr 2008, 22:13
What's with all you pussies going under cover when it rains? Will I be alone sitting behind the goals in the rain enjoying it all? :p
Coz when the ball is wet, you need guys with skills when the ball hits the deck. It might mean Roughy spends more time on the bench.
A no-brainer for mine...
I actually think Roughy and most of our forwards are skilled when the ball hits the ground.
TylerDurden
23 Apr 2008, 22:19
I actually think Roughy and most of our forwards are skilled when the ball hits the ground.
As much as i like Roughy, he ain't got the ground-skills that Stokesy does...
phillm1
23 Apr 2008, 22:25
Nah Richmond rely more heavily on a run and carry game then us.
I agree with Dice Man, the rain should give us the advantage, especially through the middledont know but the crows game last year when they pumped us by 12 goals , when is the last time we won in the rain with clarko ?
GAMBLER
23 Apr 2008, 22:26
Essendon last year (twice)
Adelaide beat us because they had much bigger bodies then us. The roles have reversed and we've got bigger bodies then the Richmond players
Madtiger2006
23 Apr 2008, 22:26
Come on now you lost to the Roos and the Magpies, and faded against the dogs? Who are you seriously running of their legs? You defeated a one paced Fremantle outfit and a poor Carlton in round 1. You may be fast, but you wont be able to match us on endurance. Last year we were the number 1 team in 4th quarter scores and we have only got fitter mate.
There's a major difference in our last 2 games. We played Richo on the wing. That is automatically a 5 goal better goal scoring side because the forward line isn't crowded anymore. We also don't have as many goals scored on the rebound either. You need to be a Tiger supporter to understand this and I don't want it to rain on Sunday because I think we are a good chance :thumbsu:
philhawk
23 Apr 2008, 22:30
As TDM said in this thread, rain can only help out cause.
As it stands, we have much better skills than Richmond. Playing in the wet can only be a better indicator of this.
Yer i agree with that we have Rioli playing anyway so he can crumb away up forward. Benny McGlynn will love the conditions and get lots of hard footy.
phillm1
23 Apr 2008, 22:32
Essendon last year (twice)
Adelaide beat us because they had much bigger bodies then us. The roles have reversed and we've got bigger bodies then the Richmond players
oh yeah i forgot about those games,
Bur I do think though rain hail or shine the hawks are very very hungry, I watched the lions game and I dont think a tornado wouldve stopped the hawks from wanting to win.
cheers
Hawks1523
23 Apr 2008, 22:33
Don't underestimate the wet weather skills of this man.
0klImRyEgrE
There's a major difference in our last 2 games. We played Richo on the wing. That is automatically a 5 goal better goal scoring side because the forward line isn't crowded anymore. We also don't have as many goals scored on the rebound either. You need to be a Tiger supporter to understand this and I don't want it to rain on Sunday because I think we are a good chance :thumbsu:
But you still play uncontested, running football which is breed and butter for the Hawks.
The way to beat Hawthorn is to play contested football and apply heaps of pressure on the ball carriers and capitalise on the break, Richmond have improved alot but they are play more and more the way the Hawks like to play.
Carlton also played good attacking football until they came up against us last year
Madtiger2006
23 Apr 2008, 22:47
But you still play uncontested, running football which is breed and butter for the Hawks.
The way to beat Hawthorn is to play contested football and apply heaps of pressure on the ball carriers and capitalise on the break, Richmond have improved alot but they are play more and more the way the Hawks like to play.
Carlton also played good attacking football until they came up against us last year
I honestly think the Blues are a team you match up very well on. Every team seems to have an opposition team who they always dominate no matter where they sit on the ladder. I definately don't think you guys have that dominance over us. We've had some strange games over the last 10 years between Richmond and Hawthorn. Last year you beat us by 9 goals but we don't have a brick wall of a forward line now so we'll be more efficient up forward for sure this time. The game will be won on who is more desperate to win imo
Agree, which is why I think the weather will play a factor.
With that said, Hawthorn won't give you the same free ball the Bulldogs and Fremantle did, for this reason it'll be interesting to see how the younger players handle the step up in intensity.
Without sounding arrogant I reckon the Hawks are a cut above the Bulldogs.
The big test for Richmond will come over the next 3 weeks, if you can get out of it with 4-3 or even 3-4 record, youve got a pretty could launching pad to attack a finals position
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 01:00
Agree, which is why I think the weather will play a factor.
With that said, Hawthorn won't give you the same free ball the Bulldogs and Fremantle did, for this reason it'll be interesting to see how the younger players handle the step up in intensity.
Without sounding arrogant I reckon the Hawks are a cut above the Bulldogs.
The big test for Richmond will come over the next 3 weeks, if you can get out of it with 4-3 or even 3-4 record, youve got a pretty could launching pad to attack a finals position
Get no arguments from me, I still don't really rate the Doggies.
I am hoping for rain and mud and all that stuff just so I can see how our young blokes go in trying conditions. Can't recall any matches over the past 3 years where we have had to play in more than 5 minutes of rain. I'm hoping to be pleasently surprised, and I think I will be, but to be honest I'd say wet conditions would tip the balance into your favour even more.