View Full Version : deledio Vs Griffen
I love DELEDIO
23 Apr 2008, 17:14
These 2 lads where taken in the same draft who do we think has progressed better and who wood you rather at your club
Gilo_22
23 Apr 2008, 17:25
Griffen could turn a game around and deledio hasn't shown that yet
Carn Hawkas
24 Apr 2008, 15:18
Griffen, he's a gun.
one_twelve112
24 Apr 2008, 15:21
Griffen for me. Deledio has been a little dissappointing IMO.
Anthony_
24 Apr 2008, 15:24
While Deledio plays as small marking forward he will not show the same match winning potential Griffen does.
Marc Shmurf 3
24 Apr 2008, 15:31
Griffen by that far its not funny.
Lynch takes a mark
24 Apr 2008, 16:06
Griffen
Don't need to use a #1 draft pick on a mid sized Full Forward, can get Mckinley/LeCras types to kick 40+ each with late 2nd round picks.
Claude Balls
24 Apr 2008, 16:12
Whilst Griffen has largely failed to elaborate consistently on his debut year, he has still shown he has the potential to turn a match. Deledio is an interesting case... I hear lots about him, and he appears to posses of the right athletic qualities to be a standout modern footballer, though I can't understand why he is played in the forward line... if he was any good, he'd play in the middle. He just doesn't seem to have an impact, and is therefore disappointing in my opinion.
benny_furs
24 Apr 2008, 16:42
Last week both of their teams played against each other and it was clear that Deledio is superior. Lids is underrated because he is seen as a flashy outside type instead of the contested-style player he really is.
Lids got the full 10 votes by both coaches after the match. Unanimous BOG.
Anyway I'm just glad we ended up with one of these players :thumbsu: In reality they're pretty even so the reaction so far in this thread means that Lids is pretty underrated on here.
Agree.
Blueboys7
24 Apr 2008, 17:40
Griffen is showing us what he can do this year and with more time in the middle he will develop further. Havn't seen deledio really have huge impacts on the game yet but he seems like he has the ability just hasnt shown it yet.
Griffen leads atm imo
BABYBOMBERS2007
24 Apr 2008, 18:38
Griffen has shown heaps and is much better.
flamethrower
24 Apr 2008, 22:59
Last week both of their teams played against each other and it was clear that Deledio is superior. Lids is underrated because he is seen as a flashy outside type instead of the contested-style player he really is.
Lids got the full 10 votes by both coaches after the match. Unanimous BOG.
That is only because Griff's opponent was cheating by holding Ryan at every stoppage. The lack of protection afforded Ryan by the umpires was disgraceful. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
While Deledio plays as small marking forward he will not show the same match winning potential Griffen does.
Did you see Deledio as a small marking forward against your mob last weekend?
No, he tore you guys apart in the midfield, Griffen on the other hand...
That is only because Griff's opponent was cheating by holding Ryan at every stoppage. The lack of protection afforded Ryan by the umpires was disgraceful. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Get over it dude, every tagger does this, watch the Kangas match against us and see how Brady Rawlings applied the tag on Foley, then again watch every match the Ling, Rawlings and the better taggers in the game plays, it is the exact same.
richcogs
26 Apr 2008, 13:02
Griffen was HORRIBLE last week against us (4 infringements), while Deledio was voted by the coaches best a field!
Coughlan
26 Apr 2008, 20:57
LMAO at how ignorant some people are in their assesment of Deledio:rolleyes:
If you are going to judge a player, watch them, don't read about them, clearly most of you havent seen him except for the first week.
Griffen has shown the potential to turn a match, Deledio has turned a couple of matches. He has had a better career thus far
The_Flying_Egg
27 Apr 2008, 21:42
LMAO at how ignorant some people are in their assesment of Deledio:rolleyes:
If you are going to judge a player, watch them, don't read about them, clearly most of you havent seen him except for the first week.
A couple of Tiger fans seem happy to rate the two based purely on last weeks game :rolleyes:
footy4ever
27 Apr 2008, 21:55
Griffen - equal to, if not better skills than Delidio, but has more body strength.
darcytiger
27 Apr 2008, 22:05
more body strength, are you joking me?
brett deledio bench's the most at richmond, 150kg IIRC
krustyman
27 Apr 2008, 22:19
griffen really needs a hair cut, he has sported the beetle look since he started, cooney has cut his.
Deledio was good again, while Griffen struggled.
footy4ever
27 Apr 2008, 22:31
more body strength, are you joking me?
brett deledio bench's the most at richmond, 150kg IIRC
He can press the most ham for all I care, he doesnt play as strong on the field.
scrimma
27 Apr 2008, 22:42
oh god griffen by a long shot
camstars
28 Apr 2008, 02:03
griffen really needs a hair cut, he has sported the beetle look since he started, cooney has cut his.
you have obviously followed his carreer close to say he has had this hair style since starting.He had short hair when he started for a year.
Griffen has definately had better carreer so far and I would definately not swap.Seems like most people agree on this post.I am sure Richmond supporters will disagree.
camstars
28 Apr 2008, 02:04
Deledio was good again, while Griffen struggled.
yes but Deledio has struggled for last 2 years.:eek:
Really? Well gee Griffin must have REALLY struggled as well then.:cool:
Because last I checked Deledio averaged more disposals, marks and goals than Griffin averaged over the 2006 and 2007 season.
Oh and he won the rising star in 2005 if you want to go back another year remember? :)
Hmmmmm that's your theory out the window or Griffin was a massive struggler. ;) Which one is it?
beaver fever
28 Apr 2008, 14:11
Both great players, but going on this year's form, Deledio wins out so far.
The Grover
28 Apr 2008, 14:11
I like Griffin & have expected him to become a star, but something is missing.
I'll go with Deledio just.
tony_montana
28 Apr 2008, 18:56
oh god griffen by a long shot
and u base that on what exactly?
you make it out as if Deledio is a spud which he must be bc Griffen hasnt done much at all apart from the odd cameo where hes shown his genuine class.
get ur hand of it
Coughlan
28 Apr 2008, 20:31
He hasn't struggled, he hasn't been a superstar, but he been as good as you could expect from somebody 19/20 years.
Struggled, yet he has contributed more then Griffen has, and started this season better as well
Richo88
29 Apr 2008, 10:02
Get over it dude, every tagger does this, watch the Kangas match against us and see how Brady Rawlings applied the tag on Foley, then again watch every match the Ling, Rawlings and the better taggers in the game plays, it is the exact same.
Just watch your own game lovely clean game by Boyd wasn't it.
scrimma
30 Apr 2008, 02:11
and u base that on what exactly?
you make it out as if Deledio is a spud which he must be bc Griffen hasnt done much at all apart from the odd cameo where hes shown his genuine class.
get ur hand of it
griffen has the ability to turn a game on its head, he is very punishing with the ball, his body strength is phenonemol, deledio hasnt lived up to his expectations i beleive, dont get me me wrong he is a good player. griffens better and will improve alott more.
mattdwyer
30 Apr 2008, 10:13
griffen has the ability to turn a game on its head, he is very punishing with the ball, his body strength is phenonemol, deledio hasnt lived up to his expectations i beleive, dont get me me wrong he is a good player. griffens better and will improve alott more.
griffin has no engine !! can run for a 10 minute period .. and then goes on smoko .. Deledio is averaging 104 supercoach points this year compared to 79 points by griffin .. you all only rate griffin because the dogs haven't lost yet !! ... if richmond had won all of our games then you would all be saying "deledio has turned games and griffin hasnt" ....
deledio is clearly better, been better 1 st year, 2nd year and started off alot better this year ..
gilly111
30 Apr 2008, 11:26
Tough decision, obviously being a dogs fan I love griff and wouldn't go back on that selection. But in consistant performances etc I'd put Deledio just ahead a few more noteworthy performances, although I think in the next 12 months Griffen will over take him. He has that ability to really turn games, atm I think he's trying to do too much with the ball when he gets it and feels he needs to break a tackle everytime for it to be an effective disposal.
benny_furs
30 Apr 2008, 12:16
Deledio has been dominating last quarters this year.
Take last week:
Possies:
Q1 - 5,
Q2 -10,
Q3 - 5,
Q4 - 10
He is also officially the strongest player at the club and equal fastest.
While he's getting 30 possies in matches and kicking goals every week anyone who says Griffen is "clearly" better clearly have no idea.
There is not a huge gap between the players.
But if anything Deledio has been better so far. Potential is in the eye of the beholder, but surely the fastest and strongest player at Richmond who is racking up 25-30 possessions and kicking goals every week must be given a little more respect? :p
mattdwyer
30 Apr 2008, 12:50
plus as well .. he is a year younger than griffin .. and has played more games and kicked more goals ...
Anthony_
30 Apr 2008, 13:03
plus as well .. he is a year younger than griffin .. and has played more games and kicked more goals ...
One less ACL season ending injury your stats mean nothing.
mattdwyer
30 Apr 2008, 13:56
One less ACL season ending injury your stats mean nothing.
dont forget deledio also missed a month with a broken hand last year .. griffin did his knee round 12 .. so he missed 10 games .. deledio missed 4 .. so 6 games difference .. in 6 games griffin couldnt kick 24 goals
Anthony_
30 Apr 2008, 17:34
dont forget deledio also missed a month with a broken hand last year .. griffin did his knee round 12 .. so he missed 10 games .. deledio missed 4 .. so 6 games difference .. in 6 games griffin couldnt kick 24 goals
Again your stats mean nothing, if you're talking goal kicking. Griffen started out in the back line.
Sad to say, but Griff has been sensational this season. One of the Woofers best............
mattdwyer
30 Apr 2008, 17:59
Sad to say, but Griff has been sensational this season. One of the Woofers best............
hasnt been as consistent as deledio though !!
mattdwyer
30 Apr 2008, 18:00
Again your stats mean nothing, if you're talking goal kicking. Griffen started out in the back line.
again, deledio spent most of last year across half back as well ..
As for what they've achieved so far, I'd say they're roughly on a par. As for future potential, I have Griffen miles ahead. I think future AFL superstars, I think Ryan Griffen. I agree with Aker. This kid "could be anything". He has some fantastic attributes - he's big, strong, exceptionally quick and he kicks the footy 60+ metres.
Griffen's starting to show this season that he could be a very good inside midfielder. He can win the hard footy. Mark my words, he's going to be very, very special. I just hope one day he gets homesick for Adelaide and decides to join the Power. :D
As for what they've achieved so far, I'd say they're roughly on a par. As for future potential, I have Griffen miles ahead. I think future AFL superstars, I think Ryan Griffen. I agree with Aker. This kid "could be anything". He has some fantastic attributes - he's big, strong, exceptionally quick and he kicks the footy 60+ metres.
Griffen's starting to show this season that he could be a very good inside midfielder. He can win the hard footy. Mark my words, he's going to be very, very special. I just hope one day he gets homesick for Adelaide and decides to join the Power. :D
Hopefully after he has won back-to-back flags with the dogs and wants to settle down in the "back-water" being Adelaide. ;):D
I'll never forget when he ran down Gary Ablett jnr at Docklands a couple of years ago. Ablett, who is of course extremely quick himself, thought he could take Griffen on. He tucked it under his arm and took off at blistering speed. But Griffen wasn't having any of that. He took off right after Ablett and just put on the afterburners. Ran him down and got him holding-the-ball. Honestly, it was like a cheetah after a gazelle. It was beautiful. :thumbsu:
always right
1 May 2008, 15:34
I like Deledio. Imagine him in a top side (no disrespect intended).
You can produce all the statistics you like but sometimes you can just look at a player and know they have something special. He has some way to go but I get that feeling with Griffen. It's different to how I see Deledio.....obvious bias considered.
To me it's a little like comparing Ablett and Bartel. Both will have their supporters but in my mind Ablett has a touch more magic about him.....that ability to create something out of nothing.
Tiger Fury #3
8 May 2008, 20:23
whilst both are going to be incredibly good player, stats dont lie and lids has averaged more possesions a game every yr since they were drafted. Kicks more goals, and when he starts to back himself more and run he while be on a par with adam cooney.
blues4flag
9 May 2008, 16:16
Lids for mine.
I like Deledio. Imagine him in a top side (no disrespect intended).
You can produce all the statistics you like but sometimes you can just look at a player and know they have something special. He has some way to go but I get that feeling with Griffen. It's different to how I see Deledio.....obvious bias considered.
To me it's a little like comparing Ablett and Bartel. Both will have their supporters but in my mind Ablett has a touch more magic about him.....that ability to create something out of nothing.
i wonder if you have had that feeling in the last 3 games he has played. i grant you he was really good in his first two games this year, but he has struggled bigtime since you guys played the tigers. i watch griffen very closely every week, he works extremely well running forward, but shows no application to his game when without the ball.
Bulldog1954
9 May 2008, 21:49
At the moment Deledio is better. I have no dount Griff will be a star but at the moment Deledio's performances stack up better then Griffens. Griffen shouldn't be in the all stars
Kenny_01
10 May 2008, 13:41
Some people on this thread have no idea.
Deledio is all class.... everytime he touches the ball, he does something with it. When he leads out, he has very very good hands and is great below his knees... the number of times you see him pick up the ball and handball in one motion is amazing. His kicking skills are excellent as are his marking skills. Has great body strengths in contests and when he learns to impose himself more on games, will be one of the best players in the competition.
Deledio for mine.
At the moment Deledio is better. I have no dount Griff will be a star but at the moment Deledio's performances stack up better then Griffens. Griffen shouldn't be in the all stars
spot on.
How Griffen is above lids in this poll is beyond me.
Lids has been absolutely outstanding this year
Tiger Fury #3
12 May 2008, 20:24
Some people on this thread have no idea.
Deledio is all class.... everytime he touches the ball, he does something with it. When he leads out, he has very very good hands and is great below his knees... the number of times you see him pick up the ball and handball in one motion is amazing. His kicking skills are excellent as are his marking skills. Has great body strengths in contests and when he learns to impose himself more on games, will be one of the best players in the competition.
Deledio for mine.
Every word is true. Is better than griffin in every aspect of the game that i can think of. Ticks all theboxes. Will be an absolute star.
murphy's twin
13 May 2008, 19:11
Griffen isnt playing to his ability just yet. He has come back from a knee injury last year, so he hasn't got the tank yet to have extensive roles in the middle. Once he builds that aspect of his game up to say what cooney is right now, you will then see how devastatingly dangerous he will be for the opposition.
One thing which really stands out with Griffen is how many meters he covers when he has the ball and kicks it. Opposition teams have already cotton on to that and have recently started putting a heavy tag on him week in week out. Once he learns how to cope with it better, he is gonna dominate the midfield.
His kicking action is also up there with the best. He really swoops on to the ball, so it then spears into someones advantage. Scot Clayton has rated him as the best in the world regarding his kicking.
You can just tell with Griffen that he has the extra pizazz about him. He is defenetly something special.
While i really do rate deledio, and the richmond supporters are right when they say that he is the better player. BUT thats how it stands at the moment. Lets visit this thread in one years time and i think we will truly see why i am raving on about the GRIFF!!!
richcogs
15 May 2008, 10:32
Deledio's improving all the time to! Averaging the 24 possies this year and is along with N. Brown and C. Newman (before this year) our most skilled player! both are good players, but so far Deledio has done more.
Cyborg_
15 May 2008, 11:33
Every word is true. Is better than griffin in every aspect of the game that i can think of. Ticks all theboxes. Will be an absolute star.
Griffen is better at the stoppages.
richo1982
15 May 2008, 11:53
Griffen isnt playing to his ability just yet. He has come back from a knee injury last year, so he hasn't got the tank yet to have extensive roles in the middle. Once he builds that aspect of his game up to say what cooney is right now, you will then see how devastatingly dangerous he will be for the opposition.
One thing which really stands out with Griffen is how many meters he covers when he has the ball and kicks it. Opposition teams have already cotton on to that and have recently started putting a heavy tag on him week in week out. Once he learns how to cope with it better, he is gonna dominate the midfield.
His kicking action is also up there with the best. He really swoops on to the ball, so it then spears into someones advantage. Scot Clayton has rated him as the best in the world regarding his kicking.
You can just tell with Griffen that he has the extra pizazz about him. He is defenetly something special.
While i really do rate deledio, and the richmond supporters are right when they say that he is the better player. BUT thats how it stands at the moment. Lets visit this thread in one years time and i think we will truly see why i am raving on about the GRIFF!!!
Thats a very good answer by a doggies supporter, griffen MAY become a better player but there is NO WAY hes been a better player to date in any season. Those people who say griffen by a mile obviously never watch lids or just morons
kirbatron
15 May 2008, 17:46
Deledio has done more at this stage but imo Griffen is the more gifted footballer.
If i had to pick either one for my side it'd be Griff.
Deledio is a champ but there's just something about the Griff (he looks like a bird)
richoatthedisco
15 May 2008, 20:22
I really like Griffin (note spelling). He and Cooney will be a dynamic duo for the next decade. But Lids is ahead and could be anything. First time I saw him play he reminded me of Judd, just as quick, but a better mark and a better kick.:eek:
Captain_Judd
15 May 2008, 21:06
I really like Griffin (note spelling). He and Cooney will be a dynamic duo for the next decade. But Lids is ahead and could be anything. First time I saw him play he reminded me of Judd, just as quick, but a better mark and a better kick.:eek:
I LOLed :D
richoatthedisco
15 May 2008, 23:00
I LOLed :D
I didn't say he was a better player than Judd; he's not. But he is a better mark and a better kick.
LOL, it's actually Griffen.;)
richoatthedisco
16 May 2008, 11:58
LOL, it's actually Griffen.;)
My bad.:o
Schmick
17 May 2008, 10:05
I'd rather Griffin. He looks like an exceptional talent, would absolutely love him at our club.
beaver fever
4 Sep 2008, 15:43
So anyone left that still thinks Griffen is within 1 mile of Deledio?
Coughlan
4 Sep 2008, 15:58
I am happy with my opinion that Deldio is better then Griffen in pretty much every single aspect of the game.
Some people look bloody stupid though:)
Deledio2Tambling
4 Sep 2008, 16:02
Amazing isn't it?
I never would have swapped Deledio for Griffen at any stage of their short careers thus far.
Anthony_
4 Sep 2008, 16:18
Amazing isn't it?
I never would have swapped Deledio for Griffen at any stage of their short careers thus far.
I'd say the same thing.
Deledio2Tambling
4 Sep 2008, 16:18
I'd say the same thing.
Ouch for you then.
Anthony_
4 Sep 2008, 16:27
Ouch for you then.
Yep would so rather want to be in Richmond's position with Deledio. :rolleyes:
So anyone left that still thinks Griffen is within 1 mile of Deledio?
Yes.
Deledio has pushed ahead in the second half of this season, but Griffen will be the better player by career's end, I believe.
i havent seen griffen of late but from what i seen of him he is a freak and will be a great player.
in sayin that i also think deledio is a machine and cant find a flaw in his game. i thought the defensive side of his game was weak but he proved me wrong on the weekend with the chase and tackle which led to a goal. so now i believe its his least strongest attribute:D
Deledio now, Deledio in the future(fingers crossed):thumbsu:
beaver fever
4 Sep 2008, 22:11
Yes.
Deledio has pushed ahead in the second half of this season, but Griffen will be the better player by career's end, I believe.
I guess you don't use talent as an indicator.
Anthony_
5 Sep 2008, 10:24
I guess you don't use talent as an indicator.
Lol and you do with your "1 Mile" shite :rolleyes:
Top_4_Tiger
5 Sep 2008, 11:08
All these constant comparisons to Deledio are proof that he is the most underrated player in the AFL.