View Full Version : Andrew Lovett Incident
Frankencow
23 Apr 2008, 18:31
I've been sticking to the Regional Footy boards lately, wins will generally keep me content enough not to come on the Saints board and vent my frustration at a few players (mainly Raph Clarke, who deserves it), but has this issue been discussed on the Saints boards at all? From what I've read it seems it was Riewoldt that made the "You bash your f--king missus" sledge, but it seems to have come from nowhere. Could the fact that Essendon have wanted to keep it very quiet and move on indicate that something was said before this and not picked up by the Umpire's mic? Perhaps something relating to Montagna's past problems with the law and the female gender?
Squizzy1970
23 Apr 2008, 19:08
Lovett probably feels that he doesn't want the issue discussed further.
Regardless as to whether the comment was true, don't think Roo should have said it, but also don't think we need to go there.
I've been sticking to the Regional Footy boards lately, wins will generally keep me content enough not to come on the Saints board and vent my frustration at a few players (mainly Raph Clarke, who deserves it), but has this issue been discussed on the Saints boards at all? From what I've read it seems it was Riewoldt that made the "You bash your f--king missus" sledge, but it seems to have come from nowhere. Could the fact that Essendon have wanted to keep it very quiet and move on indicate that something was said before this and not picked up by the Umpire's mic? Perhaps something relating to Montagna's past problems with the law and the female gender?
Lovett and Montagna are mates.
Montagna said he and Lovett were only having a push and shove because he knew they wouldn't really try and hurt each other, and it might gee the other boys up.
So neither would have said anything to each other about their respective poor track records with the fairer sex.
Frankencow
23 Apr 2008, 19:18
Lovett and Montagna are mates.
Montagna said he and Lovett were only having a push and shove because he knew they wouldn't really try and hurt each other, and it might gee the other boys up.
So neither would have said anything to each other about their respective poor track records with the fairer sex.
I know, I don't think it would have come from Lovett, just as the Lovett remark didn't come from Montagna. There were a lot more people in there by that stage though.
GETSOMENUTS
23 Apr 2008, 19:23
It amazed me on FC how Caro kept banging on about it that the AFL should take it further, blah, blah. Fact is the powers that be have to let some sledging occur and as mentioned previously, Montagna and Lovett are mates from their northern knights playing days, so whats the problem?
If sledges of this nature arent allowed then the game really has become too girly.
Frankencow
23 Apr 2008, 19:59
I agree. Racism, Religious vilification and violence are the things you can't do, the rest should be fine. I know it may be an unpopular point of view, but regardless of what Selwood said last year (outside the areas mentioned above) Headland should have gone for belting him.
GETSOMENUTS
23 Apr 2008, 20:13
I agree. Racism, Religious vilification and violence are the things you can't do, the rest should be fine. I know it may be an unpopular point of view, but regardless of what Selwood said last year (outside the areas mentioned above) Headland should have gone for belting him.
I whole heartedly agree. If headland is that stupid to fall for a ill thought out and quite frankly, s**thouse sledge then he is a goose. The AFL stuffed up big time in that case as either headland had to cop weeks or Selwood had to. Too damn wishy washy on that one.
yeah i am also confused about this, shouldnt the alledged stkilda player who said what was said been taken to the tribunal while everyone called him a ____ing dog?
oh wait, there werent children involved. move along.
Karl Pilkington
23 Apr 2008, 20:50
Um,m Lovett did bash his missus so what's wrong with bringing it up to get in his head?
I suppose wife beaters should be allowed to love their lives without being criticised for their "lifestyle choice" ???
Strewth, normally I don't like Riewoldt at all, but I reckon it's fair game. Stuff him.
35Harvs
23 Apr 2008, 21:39
meh, heat of the moment ... it wasn't a lie & within the rules (racial/religious) ... fair game I say.
Karl Pilkington
23 Apr 2008, 22:13
meh, heat of the moment ... it wasn't a lie & within the rules (racial/religious) ... fair game I say.
Exactly.
Like I said, I'm no fan of Riewoldt, but hearing all these squares like Andy Maher and such paying out on him over it - they quite obviously don't understand that analysing someone's comments from the heat of the game, will NEVER look good.
Here's a better idea, take the mics off the umps.
Yeah, should take the mics off, it's good for explanations n shiz...but I really don't wanna hear 'knock it out, knock it out, knock it out...my ball' 'play on! play on! play on!'
____ its annoying, specially when they just dont shuttup.
And its a stupid argument, if the umps were never micced up, no one would know what Roo said, and it probs happens every game, it's just we never hear it cos the umps usually aren't within distance for the mics to pick up.
Monty Burns
24 Apr 2008, 11:14
Um,m Lovett did bash his missus so what's wrong with bringing it up to get in his head?
I suppose wife beaters should be allowed to love their lives without being criticised for their "lifestyle choice" ???
Exactly right.
Regardless of who sledged him - it was all fair and square because it was something he actually did.
I can't comprehend Caroline Wilson wanting the AFL to take it further.
In fact - through the sledge - isn't Lovett being criticised for his disgraceful past actions?
Rough_Edges
24 Apr 2008, 17:27
But HE does bash his wife.
Simply was stating the truth.
A non issue.
Welldone Roo for showing some leadership and getting a bit knarcky.
WASaintsFan08
24 Apr 2008, 17:32
andrew loves it!!!!
thats all i can say... so what if he and his mrs are a bit kinky... arent we all
why does the media get upset when nick riewoldt asks for some tips on how to be more dominant in the bedroom
shame on the media.. just because he owns the footy field doesnt mean hes the worlds best lover too
good too see you being kind too your opp capt =D keep it up
SaintsSeptember
24 Apr 2008, 20:59
But HE does bash his wife.
Simply was stating the truth.
A non issue.
Welldone Roo for showing some leadership and getting a bit knarcky.
If he wanted a good comeback he could have mentioned what Nick's GF wore to the logies a couple of years back.:D
sauce_head
25 Apr 2008, 00:47
Absolute horse sh!t.
You chose violence and religion, so you have a choice regarding consequence.
You do not chose race or personal appearance (to a certain degree) so they should be ruled out.
Harden the ____ up everybody. It is a footy field, who cares?
Frankencow
25 Apr 2008, 01:27
Absolute horse sh!t.
You chose violence and religion, so you have a choice regarding consequence.
You do not chose race or personal appearance (to a certain degree) so they should be ruled out.
Harden the ____ up everybody. It is a footy field, who cares?
The nickname suggests it's a pretty personal issue. :D
Exactly right.
Regardless of who sledged him - it was all fair and square because it was something he actually did.
I can't comprehend Caroline Wilson wanting the AFL to take it further.
In fact - through the sledge - isn't Lovett being criticised for his disgraceful past actions?
Can you get weeks for belting your missus behind play !!!!!