HB: Nick Maxwell, Nathan Brown, Harry O’Brien
C: Scott Pendlebury, Dane Swan, Tarkyn Lockyer
HF: Alan Didak, Anthony Rocca, Paul Medhurst
F: Cameron Wood, Travis Cloke, Dale Thomas
Foll: Josh Fraser, Shane O’Bree, Leon Davis
IC: Martin Clarke, Ben Johnson, Ryan Cook, Rhyce Shaw
EMG: Sharrod Wellingham, Chris Bryan, Shannon Cox
In: Maxwell, Cook
Out: Ben Reid (quad), Brodie Holland (ankle)

ESSENDON
B: Andrew Welsh, Mal Michael, Dustin Fletcher
HB: Bachar Houli, Patrick Ryder, Kyle Reimers
C: Angus Monfries, Jobe Watson, Ricky Dyson
HF: Henry Slattery, Adam McPhee, Andrew Lovett
F: Matthew Lloyd, David Hille, Alwyn Davey
Foll: Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Brent Stanton
I/C: Courtney Johns, Jay Nash, Tayte Pears, Adam Ramanauskas
EMG: Darcy Daniher, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Damien Peveril
In: Johns
Out: Nathan Lovett-Murray

Smoky
23 Apr 2008, 20:15
COLLINGWOOD v ESSENDON

COLLINGWOOD
B: Heath Shaw, Shane Wakelin, Tyson Goldsack
HB: Nick Maxwell, Nathan Brown, Harry O’Brien
C: Scott Pendlebury, Dane Swan, Tarkyn Lockyer
HF: Alan Didak, Anthony Rocca, Paul Medhurst
F: Cameron Wood, Travis Cloke, Dale Thomas
Foll: Josh Fraser, Shane O’Bree, Leon Davis
IC: Martin Clarke, Ben Johnson, Ryan Cook, Rhyce Shaw
EMG: Sharrod Wellingham, Chris Bryan, Shannon Cox
In: Maxwell, Cook
Out: Ben Reid (quad), Brodie Holland (ankle)

I really hope they mean this. If so Smoky called it! (Forwards thread... I should be on the selection committee!)

Optimax
23 Apr 2008, 20:18
I really hope they mean this. If so Smoky called it! (Forwards thread... I should be on the selection committee!)
been like that since rnd 1, hasnt meant that since rbd 1 either

dalethomas13
23 Apr 2008, 20:44
Yeh I think MM has got selection right based on form.

Good to see he is including young players in Cook and Sharrod (emergency) although rumoured to play.

Generally the youngsters aren't overwhelmed by big occassions as we have seen in recent years.

Hope BJ is a late omission for Sharrod.

The Royal Sampler
23 Apr 2008, 21:06
Another interesting factoid; all three emergencies have changed for this week. Last week it was Anthony/Toovey/Stanley. I wonder if that represents a change in perceived form, matchups, the horses-for-courses policy, injuries, or none of the above?

jerry springer
23 Apr 2008, 21:15
its a very young team but im happy with that

Ickirus
23 Apr 2008, 21:16
Toovey and Stanley are both injured, Toovey (shoulder) and Stanley (ankle).

Hopefully Cook can show us a bit, I'd have both Iles and Stanley in front of him but hopefully he proves me wrong.

The Royal Sampler
23 Apr 2008, 21:24
Toovey and Stanley are both injured, Toovey (shoulder) and Stanley (ankle).

Hopefully Cook can show us a bit, I'd have both Iles and Stanley in front of him but hopefully he proves me wrong.
Yeah, it would have been interesting had Collingwood VFL been fixtured for a game this weekend, Sharrod and Cookie playing AFL, and Tooves and Stanners injured. McCarthy would have to step up :)

Not an issue though as they don't play again until May 3rd now.

bennymac1
23 Apr 2008, 21:27
what's the chance's for a win this week folks........? need 1 for sure

The Octagon
23 Apr 2008, 21:59
Yeah, it would have been interesting had Collingwood VFL been fixtured for a game this weekend, Sharrod and Cookie playing AFL, and Tooves and Stanners injured. McCarthy would have to step up :)

Not an issue though as they don't play again until May 3rd now.

Just wondering TRS, do you have inside information suggesting Sharrod Wellingham is playing ANZAC Day??

I was sure he was named in the emergencies.

The Royal Sampler
23 Apr 2008, 22:04
Check the Sharr-iff of Wellingham thread, I'd be surprised if he didn't play ANZAC Day, yes.

The Octagon
23 Apr 2008, 22:07
OK no worries, ill go have a read now!

Snag Breac
23 Apr 2008, 22:11

Maybe MM really does take note of BF posts. What's your prediction for the final score?

boulos
23 Apr 2008, 22:12
For the first time this season, im very happy with the team named. It would be good to line up as named, but i wouln't mind either cox or wellingham in for cook.
Looks Great.
Carn the pies.

The Octagon
23 Apr 2008, 22:12
14.18.102 to 9.10.64

We win after a slow start (As per usual on ANZAC Day)

nick_savo
23 Apr 2008, 22:22
I thought Brodie was in, on the e-mail i got from collingwood...?

nick_savo
23 Apr 2008, 22:23
the e-mail has Holland in the centre and no Swan

boulos
23 Apr 2008, 22:23
Let's not jinx ourselves this week. How about a "touch wood" after each prediction?

aaronmx
23 Apr 2008, 23:58
Let's not jinx ourselves this week. How about a "touch wood" after each prediction?

agreed.

we need every little thing on our side this week.

with the 3 games we have after this week...this game could be make or break.

although i do think we are a real chance to beat hawthorn, st.kilda and geelong.

Jabso
23 Apr 2008, 23:59
We will win by 100 points touch wood.

kaness
24 Apr 2008, 09:45
the e-mail has Holland in the centre and no Swan

Nah no Holland, and Swan was centre in my email.

Swanny36
24 Apr 2008, 11:29
Ok im really starting to get scared now about all this with swan being injured is he not playing? is he Playing? (please let him be ok) i just want him out there....
although his kicking was bad last week i thought he played very well around the packs...
i just want a full strength side!....:(

ant22
24 Apr 2008, 12:19
Yeh I think MM has got selection right based on form.

Good to see he is including young players in Cook and Sharrod (emergency) although rumoured to play.

Generally the youngsters aren't overwhelmed by big occassions as we have seen in recent years.

Hope BJ is a late omission for Sharrod.

I cannot understand why after last weeks game people want Ben Johnson out of the side. He clearly played his best game of the year and is starting to find some form. He is one of our best runners and adds some much needed grunt. I slowed down a bit in the second half but I the first half I had him in our top 3 players on the ground. He ended up with 24 possies. Hardly reason to want him out of the side I would think

Salty Malty
24 Apr 2008, 13:44
I cannot understand why after last weeks game people want Ben Johnson out of the side. He clearly played his best game of the year and is starting to find some form. He is one of our best runners and adds some much needed grunt. I slowed down a bit in the second half but I the first half I had him in our top 3 players on the ground. He ended up with 24 possies. Hardly reason to want him out of the side I would think
So, Ben, do you often post on here?;)

joefootylover
24 Apr 2008, 14:31
rumour on hotrods that Pebs has not trained again and may not come up...

bombersno1
24 Apr 2008, 18:05
Just wanted to say best of luck. I am going to this game- flying over tonight. Should be a cracker. May the best team win. I do think you will beat us but it probably will be closer than I think. I think I may get on Thomas for the Anzac Medal though, dead set gun you have got there, and I really don't care what others say but I'd take him over Murphy and co as the one thing you cannot buy when drafting is the ability to change matches- Thomas can.

Best of luck, hope to catch a few of you at the ground.

Regards, bomberno1.

bennymac1
24 Apr 2008, 20:46
any1 no the right team for 2morro....? who's playing and who's not who's injured.....? wellingham to debut........? what's the story over their......? getting up @ 5 in the morning on live here keep me updated

Smoky
24 Apr 2008, 20:59
Maybe MM really does take note of BF posts. What's your prediction for the final score?

48 points... we'll be disappointed we didnt win by 60+

boulos
24 Apr 2008, 21:03
Just wanted to say best of luck. I am going to this game- flying over tonight. Should be a cracker. May the best team win. I do think you will beat us but it probably will be closer than I think. I think I may get on Thomas for the Anzac Medal though, dead set gun you have got there, and I really don't care what others say but I'd take him over Murphy and co as the one thing you cannot buy when drafting is the ability to change matches- Thomas can.

Best of luck, hope to catch a few of you at the ground.

Regards, bomberno1.

Cheers mate:thumbsu:

Best of luck to your mob as well, should be a cracker of a game.

boulos
24 Apr 2008, 21:04
48 points... we'll be disappointed we didnt win by 60+

wtf?

bennymac1
24 Apr 2008, 21:19
would take a win by 1 at the min

bennymac1
24 Apr 2008, 21:35
many of you going to the game 2mara...? this was the 1 i really wanted to get 2. supose it's hard to get tickets for a game like this.....?

Footy guru
24 Apr 2008, 22:25
Ok im really starting to get scared now about all this with swan being injured is he not playing? is he Playing? (please let him be ok) i just want him out there....
although his kicking was bad last week i thought he played very well around the packs...
i just want a full strength side!....:(
I also thought he was great around the packs as i said on another thread i was sitting with a former essendon player who commented on his ability to get the handball away - he only had 8 kicks and had 85 % efficiency for game thought his kicking was okay most hit the target whereas he gave handballs one to pendles and the other to didak who both got clangers straight to opposition. He seemed to me that swan seemed to want to handball more than kick last week - who knows perhaps the leg was sore after all he had padding on at training. Perhaps confidence is down. Would like to see him make Vic team so hopefully his okay let's see how he goes tomorrow.

smiddaz123
24 Apr 2008, 22:37
would take a win by 1 at the min
Another game that will go down to the last few minutes is something I can't take at the moment sadly. I've been close to a heart attack lately.

I just want a good old fashioned blow out. Richmond was close, but we let them back in it. I was pure and utter domination, like the 100+ point win we inflicted on Geelong a few years ago.

I can wish...

bennymac1
24 Apr 2008, 22:40
Another game that will go down to the last few minutes is something I can't take at the moment sadly. I've been close to a heart attack lately.

I just want a good old fashioned blow out. Richmond was close, but we let them back in it. I was pure and utter domination, like the 100+ point win we inflicted on Geelong a few years ago.

I can wish...

let's hope the heart keep's ticking smiddaz:). you from taz land...?

smiddaz123
24 Apr 2008, 22:43
let's hope the heart keep's ticking smiddaz:). you from taz land...?
Sure am.

I remember you from another forum I'm apart of as well. behind the game.

bennymac1
24 Apr 2008, 22:46
yeah thats right thought that was you..how you been...? well was over for the first 2 game's of the season some craic.

smiddaz123
24 Apr 2008, 23:02
yeah thats right thought that was you..how you been...? well was over for the first 2 game's of the season some craic.
Yeh, I remember you were planning to head over for a while. You got to experience a high and a low I guess.

How's Marty enjoying his footy? Has he mentioned any word?

bennymac1
24 Apr 2008, 23:28
he's just living the dream' he was'nt happy with himself after rd1 but he got his head down and worked hard to get himself back in' he's coming well and should be back to his best very soon... trip was great got to round 1' and 2 games then the port melbourne reserve game aswell' met a few player's aswell which was very good and which made it better they were really great lad's aswell ' we also got to train with the vfl side at the paddock which was an experince in itself great lads all of them

Smoky
25 Apr 2008, 04:49
wtf?

We will win by lots...

Go Pies!

I knew a dude at school called David Boulos who barracked for the Pies... are you him?

Floreat Pica