View Full Version : Box Hill V Coburg
FriarTuck
24 Apr 2008, 12:28
Who is going tomorrow? I have been to Coburg once that was when Polo played on Buddy. Things have changed a bit since then.
Seeing there is a two day break will be interesting if the Hawks keep one of the emergencys off the park.
Will probably see the addition of Boyle and Tuck. McEntee must come up as last week the relief ruck was about 5 foot 8. Suckling may also make a cameo appearance.
if I am nice to the missus she may give me a leave pass.
kimbopen
24 Apr 2008, 12:35
I'll end up going, after attending the Anzac Day Service at my local RSL.
I know HAWKS HEROES will be there, as well as a few other Hawk supporting friends of mine.
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 12:41
Hate to be a pain in the arse, but if one of you guys could give a report on how young Trent Cotchin goes I'd be very, very appreciative. I'd just like to get a report on him from an unbiased point of view rather than a one eyed tiger.
So yeah if you could help me out I'd be stoked :thumbsu:
Mitchell Madness
24 Apr 2008, 12:44
I only attend the Box Hill Home matches (and occassionly Sandy vs BHH at sandy) as they are the easiest to get to by public transport.... when I finally get my p's (whenever a spot open up) i might go to a few more
I was gonna go, but the prospect of another 100 point hiding will prevent me from going.
That's deliberate
24 Apr 2008, 13:39
Who is going tomorrow? I have been to Coburg once that was when Polo played on Buddy. Things have changed a bit since then.
Seeing there is a two day break will be interesting if the Hawks keep one of the emergencys off the park.
Will probably see the addition of Boyle and Tuck. McEntee must come up as last week the relief ruck was about 5 foot 8. Suckling may also make a cameo appearance.
if I am nice to the missus she may give me a leave pass.
What time is the game on?..
FriarTuck
24 Apr 2008, 13:46
2.00pm kick off. Coburg is not a bad ground to watch the footy.
What number is Cotchin?
Deledio2Tambling
24 Apr 2008, 13:48
2.00pm kick off. Coburg is not a bad ground to watch the footy.
What number is Cotchin?
He is #9 at Richmond, I'm not sure if he is the same at Coburg. Sorry not much help am I?
keefriffhard
24 Apr 2008, 13:57
I was gonna go, but the prospect of another 100 point hiding will prevent me from going.
I'm thinking of going too.
The confidence is a little dented after last week though, and I really don't look forward to hearing about it from Tigers supporters. I sort of like them in the corner that we have them at the moment. ;)
That's deliberate
24 Apr 2008, 15:38
I will be there
richo1982
24 Apr 2008, 16:59
This game is shaping up as being very very lopsided. Bowden (if he plays), pettifer and cotchin will tear u to pieces. U will probably win the seniors though unless your inferior leg speed lets u down
dude, you sound like a broken record.
Its football not running...
stemline
24 Apr 2008, 17:45
Anyone seen the sides for tomorrow's game?
Please post them if you can.
Arrian Stubbs
24 Apr 2008, 18:24
Whatever Richo1982, you clearly no nothing about footy if you think its about speed, its about how they use the ball not how they run with it!
PAOKTSIS
24 Apr 2008, 20:24
Where is Coburgs home ground exactly?? (and yes, im assuming it would be somewhere in Coburg...but some more specific directions will be greatly appreciated!). Thanks in advance! :)
Dawson & Grima back in, no Thorp.
Box Hill Hawks
B McQueen-Miscamble Dawson Markovic
HB Ellis Renouf Neville
C Morton Kennedy Clarke
HF Kenna Morrell Dowler
F Stokes Pedersen Osborne
R Taylor McGlynn Gibson
Int Shore Angelopoulos Grima Neil Marcius Hunter Cross
S. Daniher O'Sullivan Papaluca Warby Batsanis
flyby hawk
24 Apr 2008, 20:44
Coburg ground located - Melways 29 J 1 (City Oval) - Buddy kick from Coburg Station
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2008, 20:53
No Thorp, McEntee, Whitecross, Renouf, Dew, Murphy, Moss, Tuck & Boyle.!! That's quite a few injuries!
At least four of those players will have to turn out for Hawthorn on Sunday too. Those players will probably be Taylor (leaving only Dawson to ruck!), Clarke, Ellis and Osborne.
Possibly one of the worst sides fielded by Box Hill for some time (but well win it anyway!)
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2008, 20:55
I forgot! Alister Neville is out too.
lethalselbow
Looking forward to hearing how Dawson, Kennedy and Dowler go.
How does Dawson go in the ruck, anyway?
flyby hawk
Scout - if this is the team - plenty of surprises.
Taylor, Osborne & Clarke in the 2's !!!!
Rudi Gilham
24 Apr 2008, 21:16
Scout - if this is the team - plenty of surprises.
Taylor, Osborne & Clarke in the 2's !!!!
Sorry, Renouf & Neville are in. My bad.
Taylor, Ossie and Clarke will all most likely play in the seniors, not Box Hill.
It's a little misleading with the entire Hawthorn bench named in the Box Hill squad, but that's how they like to do it.
Radio coverage from 1.30pm on Casey 3SER 97.7 fm. http://http://www.3ser.org.au/
Coathanger
24 Apr 2008, 23:22
Sorry, but got to change the light bulb in my fridge.:)
tommyk72
25 Apr 2008, 02:18
Sorry - saw someone had already provided the radio link!
philhawk
25 Apr 2008, 04:52
I thought there were four players named in the FB flank, then I realised McQueen-Miscamble was one name. :o
Could anyone provide a run-down?
Goals, best players, score. Cheers.
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 15:36
1/4 time BH 33 COB 20.
Dowler causing Pattison a few probs up fwd.
Johnny_Segment
25 Apr 2008, 15:39
Is that the first time this year we have been up at 1/4 time? Is it to good to be true or are we a chance of winning one?
1/4 time BH 33 COB 20.
Dowler causing Pattison a few probs up fwd.
Thank GM, good effort by us. If we lose by under 5 goals, I'll be stoked.
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 16:06
Is that the first time this year we have been up at 1/4 time? Is it to good to be true or are we a chance of winning one?
Screw 1/4 time...
BH 51 COB 36 1/2 time!
Gotta consolidate with the breeze in 3rd Q.
Good signs but dont hold your breath.
Screw 1/4 time...
BH 51 COB 36 1/2 time!
Gotta consolidate with the breeze in 3rd Q.
Good signs but dont hold your breath.
Half a chance you reckon Gold Member?
Has Dowler kicked many?
BuddyHawkers
25 Apr 2008, 16:35
Who kick the goals for Boxhill Hawks?
moginie
25 Apr 2008, 16:40
BH 9.4
Cob 6.3
halfway through 3rd quarter
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 16:44
Half a chance you reckon Gold Member?
Has Dowler kicked many?
Not sounding good. COB pressing hard but can't convert. Kris Shore(sp?) has 3.1 not sure Dowls. J Kennedy has 1.
Broadcast just lost transmission. Still 2 and bit goals up maybe 16-18min into 3rd.
Heropsychodreamer
25 Apr 2008, 16:47
They said at half time that e were sharing possession around, that Kennedy had 12 possessions and was playing ok. Dowler has dropped a few this 3rd Q, and not received a big free kick. Awaiting on goal kickers or more stats
Cheeseman
25 Apr 2008, 16:51
Kennedy actually had 2 goals up until halftime.
moginie
25 Apr 2008, 16:54
3/4 time
BH 9.6
Cob 7.8
Roger Rogerson
25 Apr 2008, 16:56
Go Box Hill!!!!!
Really hope they get over the line to get a bit of belief back into the group.
Are Morton, McGlynn or Stokes playing?
Cheeseman
25 Apr 2008, 16:58
No RR, Stoker and Morts are, but Clarke is also, Hoopy isn't, seems a late change is in order.
HODGEYROAD
25 Apr 2008, 17:00
Jeez were in with s shot. I expected to get belted.
No RR, Stoker and Morts are, but Clarke is, and Hoopy isn't, seems a late change is in order.
???
:confused:
Cheeseman
25 Apr 2008, 17:02
???
Are you asking a question, or just fiddling with emotes? :confused: :eek::p
Hoopy is Ben McGlynn. ;)
???
Guess its McGlynn mate. Not sure why tho?
Benny mac in for Clarke?
I called that one. Good choice imo
moginie
25 Apr 2008, 17:05
Coburg kick the first of the last quarter. BHH up by 4 points.
Were done. They have the momentum.
Goal to J Bowden
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 17:07
Bowden goal COB 62 BH 60.
BH only 1 goal in 2nd half. :(
dp_ramas
25 Apr 2008, 17:08
Is Ellis playing for Box Hill?
There's a rumour going around that he isn't playing on Sunday.
Hodgie_15
25 Apr 2008, 17:11
Guess its McGlynn mate. Not sure why tho?
Hoopy as in jockey, in reference to his diminutive size.
Bit of a worry now score wise, however having said that I was pleasantly surprised to see how we were going when I just logged on.
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 17:11
Pettifer goal COB 68 BH 60 10 mins into last.
Roger Rogerson
25 Apr 2008, 17:12
So looks like Hawks bench on sunday is Ellis, Taylor, Osborne and McGlynn.
Bit of in and under from Hoopy in the wet on Sunday perhaps. Love him and very happy to see him back in.
Thanks Cheesey.
moginie
25 Apr 2008, 17:12
Coburg kick another one
BHH 9.6
Cob 10.8
Roger Rogerson
25 Apr 2008, 17:13
SShhhiiittttt.
Come on Box Hill!!!!
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 17:25
Morton goal COB by 4pts
Gold Member
25 Apr 2008, 17:27
Pettifer goal COB 78 BH 67 25 mins last Q
Goldhawk
25 Apr 2008, 17:46
Heard we lost but Box Hill's best effort so far for this season
Rudi Gilham
25 Apr 2008, 18:14
Coburg Tigers 3.2 5.6 7.8 11.13 (79)
Box Hill Hawks 5.3 8.3 9.6 10.7 (67)
GOALS:
Coburg Tigers: Pettifer 3 Bowden 2 Hughes Carrick Jackson Casserly Tivendale Carnell
Box Hill Hawks: Shore 3 Kennedy 2 Pedersen 2 Daniher Kenna Morton
BEST:
Coburg Tigers: Carnell Silvester Shelton Jackson Tivendale Bowden
Box Hill Hawks: Kenna Kennedy Markovic Morton Shore Clarke
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Coburg Tigers: nil
Box Hill Hawks: Zac Dawson (26) reported for charging Travis Casserly (37)
No goals from Dowler. Seems to be struggling a bit. Maybe needs a run with BH reserves for some confidence?
Pessimistic
25 Apr 2008, 18:22
Dowler looked like he couldnt get into it or into position last week.
Is it time to give him an extended period in defence ?
bigbol069
25 Apr 2008, 18:23
Just lost on the scoreboard but played poorly and lost all momentum in the second half. Tricky breeze in the 3rd quarter that we kicked with and despite having most of the ball we did nothing up forward. Last quarter we were very ordinary and gave the game up with poor disposal and being 2nd to the ball on a day of contested footy rather than free flow.
Hawthorn listed players,
Clarke plenty of ball, let himself down with disposal, as usual but to be fair he was not alone.
Stokes, dirty day, did bugger all, moved on to the ball for the whole last quarter but was physically unable to assert himself in the packs despite positioning himself well, kept on getting tackled and just couldn't find space, good learning experience.
Kennedy kicked a few goals and got a fair bit of ball, needs a yard of pace but could be a very good asset around better skilled team mates.
Dowler led hard, jumped high but couldn't hold a mark and despite his efforts and few chest marks didn't have an influence. Needs to learn to run into space rather than where the loose man is stationed and position himself better in general. Starting to have my doubts as to whether he can make it, don't know, the difference could come just from holding the high grabs he attempts and always gets hands on.
Morton, worked hard and justified his emergency selection at Hawthorn.
Dawson played well down back but his decision making is still a mixed bag.
Renouf, played ruck, I love this guys guts and work ethic but still a bit of a way to go to AFL level.
Box Hill is a forwards' graveyard.
Dowler and Thorp must come up to get touch, as BHH are killing their careers.
bigbol069
25 Apr 2008, 18:39
No Thorp again today. No Tuck either, but both were at the ground. Also saw Terry Wallet getting interviewed by Phil Cleary, looked like he's eased up on the fake tan!
Have to agree, if is easier for Thorp to play at AFL level than VFL level. This is only going on the judgement of one match I sa wthis year against the Dragons.
In Dowler's case, he doesn't show initiative. He could do alot more, maybe not possesions wise, but the way he goes about it, I tell you, I would love to trade him for a Pick 10-14. Hopefully the Pelchen can suck someone in. :(
Rudi Gilham
25 Apr 2008, 19:10
Beau Dowler is young and has had injury concerns but he really must start kicking goals. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that, aside from a
7 goal haul down at Frankston last season, he's never kicked more than
3 goals in a match for Hawthorn/Box Hill.
Not a great result from a player who is essentially a forward. Then again, he does play for Box Hill.......
Beau Dowler is young and has had injury concerns but he really must start kicking goals. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that, aside from a
7 goal haul down at Frankston last season, he's never kicked more than
3 goals in a match for Hawthorn/Box Hill.
Not a great result from a player who is essentially a forward. Then again, he does play for Box Hill.......
He is very close to being written off in my mind. He is one of the most mentally soft players I have ever seen in any sport.
hodge = gun
25 Apr 2008, 19:31
Can anyone remember Tim Boyle dominating at Box Hill?? he then walks into the firsts and has a 40 goal season, you guys really should ease up he's still young and just gathering confidence, seriously boys just give him time!
PAOKTSIS
25 Apr 2008, 19:31
I saw most of the game today...i cant really fault Dowler all that much. His endeavour was there, had a few decent marks, tackled when the ball went to his opponent...basically, i never questioned his willingness.
Im definitely one of those supporters that will always gives the youngsters the benefit of the doubt, but no one can really be dissapointed Beaus game (and im referring only to todays game bc its the only one i have seen this tear). Reason being, and now I finally understand what some of the other posters have been alluding to, is that NO forward can really develop at BH.
I honestly couldnt see much of a strategy going forward, as it is basically a "get it and boot it forward" type of mentality
I trully believe that if we plonk Dowler into our forward line with Buddy & Roughie next to him, his development will increase ten fold!
All i can say from todays game alone is that i walked away thinking that Dowler (he has all the tools to be a good/gun forward, trust me people!), Kennedy (big big unit who can find and demands the ball), Renouf (doesnt shirk the contest, good disposal and mark...just needs to work on his timing at the ruck - took a big pack mark in the 3rd qtr) and Morton (i dont know what the stats say, but i saw him everywhere today...good mark on him, and his disposal was decent) will definitely be apart of Hawthorn's future. (Stokesy had a bad game, but we all know what he is capable of - another example of where bad performances at VFL doesnt correlate to similar performances at AFL level).
Can anyone remember Tim Boyle dominating at Box Hill?? he then walks into the firsts and has a 40 goal season, you guys really should ease up he's still young and just gathering confidence, seriously boys just give him time!
2006 he played very well at Box Hill. It's not about goals though in my mind, it's the way he conducts himself. For exampple, Thorp hasn't done a lot,but bookmart it right now, he will be a very very good player, maybe a star in 2010 onwards.
Mitchell Madness
25 Apr 2008, 19:41
Wasn't a blow out, so i am happy.
Guys, It isnt the HFC listed players, they perform well consistently, it is the other players.
Box Hill is one team seen as a step-up to AFL, and the players who do not make it, often move on, leave gaping holes in the structure of the team.
If Box hill can manage to keep the same, or simmilar list together for 2-3 years, they will dominate.
Rudi Gilham
25 Apr 2008, 19:47
Interesting to note that of the first five games Box Hill have played in 2008, Josh Kennedy & Jarryd Morton have been named in the best four times each. The only time they missed was when the went interstate with Hawthorn as emergencies. Probably theonly two kids seriously pushing up at the moment.
Don't fancy their chances weith the way our seniors are playing at the minute though!
That's deliberate
25 Apr 2008, 20:14
My thought's : Only stayed to half time...had some other engagements to attend.
Dowler: Good first quarter, took 4 or 5 grabs, led well passed off 2 goals and kicked one (banana) himslelf at the end of the 1st quarter which was given a behind but was actually a goal.. Big, good size and would make a significant difference in output in a senior side with good disposal. Excellent prospect and given another 12 months in the magoos will develop nicely. If he kept up the 1st qtr effort would have been a great game.
Things to work on: Sideways movement, to up and down chasing and defencive skills, is no backman at this stage.
Kennedy: Excellent first half, 2nd qtr all class...mark it down this kid will make it without a shadow of a doubt...is far too smart a footballer, brilliant team player, includes other players in play, runs on, exellent kick and hands are sensational. Kicked 2 goals, the second typified what this kid is about..Won the ball was involved in a series of handballs in the middle, running towards the forward 50 layed off another handball sideways ran on received the ball again from a kick turned around and slammed it through from 40...i had seen enough by then from Josh...no question will make it.
Things to work on: Tackling and pressure off the ball, is a big solid lad in the mould of a Watson. in my view a better Jobe Watson, josh's kicking is much better, endurance looks good seems to have a decent tank wasn't blowing at all and i was right there next to him when he was being rotated..not overly blessed with pace but no big deal for josh, he knows where to go to get it and goes and gets it.
Morton: I like the boy - good shape, excellent Tank, the boy can run and was everywhere in the 1st qtr..He along with Josh are by far head and shoulders the best prospects we have coming through and ready to play AFL...Jaryd just needs an opportunity for mine and may get it before Josh as he can play a number of positions...
For me Morton needs to be developed into a stopper, can go with anyone, huge tank, has speed and size, ideal match up for a Goodes/Cornes type player that we lack because he is also good overhead...Will definately make it No question...there's also another lad we can groom for this role...keep reading.
Renouf - nothing special for me and way way off AFL standard, needs plenty of work on everything.
Lucas Markovic - Better prospect then Renouf, moves alot smoother across the ground, is better below the knees and has some mongrel but needs just as much work..i rate him higher then Renouf.
Stokes - only afew touches in the 1st and 2nd qtr but just goes to show that some players lift when playing senior AFL football, his work rate wasn't as high but the boy is quick when he wants to run as evidenced coming on and off the ground a number of times...:p
Good to see
Hodge - lose the pink T shirt - love the bloke - Smooooooth:thumbsu:
Mcglynn(he is Jockey size and i almost squashed him)
Sewell
Taylor - very well liked by the girlies.
Dew(needs to be in the seniors, excellent size, forget this crap about beeing overweight, perfect solid size, no way a Mcglynn or anyone for that matter could make a tackle stick on this bloke...definate starter in 22 no argument.
Tucky - i like the boy, great size don't know why he isn't playing - he is not injured...or so he said
Boyler - needs a shaver but a good lad - again could have played not injured.
and finally
Muston......Now whilst he wasn't playing he is probably our best prospect...Physically he is in superb shape and is clearly the BEST ATHLETE at the club..Stading amongst the above senior boys he is head and shoulders the best "put together'' athlete.
Talking to afew "'people'' on the way out about Musto and they all said what a wonderful kid he is and how he has all the qualities you want physically and mentally - just needs some luck...his knee is A ok no complications and forget all talk of trading...WILL NEVER HAPPEN..
there you go got afew more insights but dinner is on the table...:p
for what its worth..Cotchin is an absolute beauty....G Ablett will need to look over his shoulder soon...same replica model.....didn't do much but the kid is a born footballer....great shape what he did was all class, tough as nails.
This kid is good to go..Richmond finally picked a ripper.
Deledio2Tambling
25 Apr 2008, 20:35
for what its worth..Cotchin is an absolute beauty....G Ablett will need to look over his shoulder soon...same replica model.....didn't do much but the kid is a born footballer....great shape what he did was all class, tough as nails.
Thanks so much for the report delib :)
Good to hear he showed some signs in his 3rd game :thumbsu:, and great to hear it from an unbiased standpoint.
BTW Hawks fans, give Dowler a couple more years yet, by the sounds of it he sounds like he is going through what Cleve Hughes is going through at the moment. Just needs a bit of confidence thats all.
FriarTuck
25 Apr 2008, 21:17
Got there late so missed the first quarter. Richmond supporters in Coburg and I had no heroin to sell. What a wasted opportunity.
kicking into a gusty wind helped us as in the second as we were far more patient with the footy. When we had the wind in the third we panicked and bombed long.
Suzie - a lone hand in the ruck against Cartledge. A good game from the big fella. Took a nice pack mark and did some good link work down back.
K3 - On the ball and across HFF. Good with the footy. Deserves a run in the ones. AFL class. He didn't dominate but showed more class than most.
Clarkey - Got it, burnt it. Will need injuries to get back in.
Zac - Played FB on Cleve Hughes. Shut hughes down in most contests.
Stokesy - A heap of bench time. Just going.
Grima - HFF. Did bits but looked comfortable at the level.
Morto - played off a wing and ran where ever he liked. The tagger role is a good call as he seems to give the opposition the $h#ts on a consistent basis.
Dowler - He got up a few times and looked strong but spilt the marks.
Thorp - no show, so his super star status will be even further advanced.
No Tuck, Boiler, Murph, Dew, McEntee, Suckling, Walsh, Sandilands
Markovic - Best game I have seen him play. Played Back pocket and laid a couple of beautiful hits in the 3rd. Very impressive with the footy and his defensive efforts were first class. His AFL career is not dead.
Batsanis was also very busy.
They had Bowden, Tiv, Pettifer, Jackson, Polo and a few others. None of whom will be decent AFL standard. They had AFL pre seasons and were always going to run over the top of us.
TheWiseOne
25 Apr 2008, 22:22
Thorp - no show, so his super star status will be even further advanced.
lol i like that :D:thumbsu:
Big Ronnie
25 Apr 2008, 23:14
He is very close to being written off in my mind. He is one of the most mentally soft players I have ever seen in any sport.Danny J that is a stupid stupid comment:thumbsd:
My thought's : Only stayed to half time...had some other engagements to attend.
Dowler: Good first quarter, took 4 or 5 grabs, led well passed off 2 goals and kicked one (banana) himslelf at the end of the 1st quarter which was given a behind but was actually a goal.. Big, good size and would make a significant difference in output in a senior side with good disposal. Excellent prospect and given another 12 months in the magoos will develop nicely. If he kept up the 1st qtr effort would have been a great game.
Things to work on: Sideways movement, to up and down chasing and defencive skills, is no backman at this stage.
Kennedy: Excellent first half, 2nd qtr all class...mark it down this kid will make it without a shadow of a doubt...is far too smart a footballer, brilliant team player, includes other players in play, runs on, exellent kick and hands are sensational. Kicked 2 goals, the second typified what this kid is about..Won the ball was involved in a series of handballs in the middle, running towards the forward 50 layed off another handball sideways ran on received the ball again from a kick turned around and slammed it through from 40...i had seen enough by then from Josh...no question will make it.
Things to work on: Tackling and pressure off the ball, is a big solid lad in the mould of a Watson. in my view a better Jobe Watson, josh's kicking is much better, endurance looks good seems to have a decent tank wasn't blowing at all and i was right there next to him when he was being rotated..not overly blessed with pace but no big deal for josh, he knows where to go to get it and goes and gets it.
Morton: I like the boy - good shape, excellent Tank, the boy can run and was everywhere in the 1st qtr..He along with Josh are by far head and shoulders the best prospects we have coming through and ready to play AFL...Jaryd just needs an opportunity for mine and may get it before Josh as he can play a number of positions...
For me Morton needs to be developed into a stopper, can go with anyone, huge tank, has speed and size, ideal match up for a Goodes/Cornes type player that we lack because he is also good overhead...Will definately make it No question...there's also another lad we can groom for this role...keep reading.
Renouf - nothing special for me and way way off AFL standard, needs plenty of work on everything.
Lucas Markovic - Better prospect then Renouf, moves alot smoother across the ground, is better below the knees and has some mongrel but needs just as much work..i rate him higher then Renouf.
Stokes - only afew touches in the 1st and 2nd qtr but just goes to show that some players lift when playing senior AFL football, his work rate wasn't as high but the boy is quick when he wants to run as evidenced coming on and off the ground a number of times...:p
Good to see
Hodge - lose the pink T shirt - love the bloke - Smooooooth:thumbsu:
Mcglynn(he is Jockey size and i almost squashed him)
Sewell
Taylor - very well liked by the girlies.
Dew(needs to be in the seniors, excellent size, forget this crap about beeing overweight, perfect solid size, no way a Mcglynn or anyone for that matter could make a tackle stick on this bloke...definate starter in 22 no argument.
Tucky - i like the boy, great size don't know why he isn't playing - he is not injured...or so he said
Boyler - needs a shaver but a good lad - again could have played not injured.
and finally
Muston......Now whilst he wasn't playing he is probably our best prospect...Physically he is in superb shape and is clearly the BEST ATHLETE at the club..Stading amongst the above senior boys he is head and shoulders the best "put together'' athlete.
Talking to afew "'people'' on the way out about Musto and they all said what a wonderful kid he is and how he has all the qualities you want physically and mentally - just needs some luck...his knee is A ok no complications and forget all talk of trading...WILL NEVER HAPPEN..
there you go got afew more insights but dinner is on the table...
THat's deliberate that is one of the best match reviews I have ever read on bigfooty:thumbsu: and you only stayed for half:eek:
Thanks so much for the report delib :)
Good to hear he showed some signs in his 3rd game :thumbsu:, and great to hear it from an unbiased standpoint.
BTW Hawks fans, give Dowler a couple more years yet, by the sounds of it he sounds like he is going through what Cleve Hughes is going through at the moment. Just needs a bit of confidence thats all.Yes but you have Tambling in your name?
Thanks for the view on Cotchin. Good to hear, just need him to be match-fit now. :thumbsu:
Also hope Thorp is up and going soon for you guys.
Yes but you have Tambling in your name?
Good spot, nice to see you can read his name, this must be a big step for you. :)
Deledio2Tambling
27 Apr 2008, 00:01
Yes but you have Tambling in your name?
Uncalled for. I come on here prasing Delib for a great report and a nice one on Cotchin, I give a comment on Dowler which clearly had no malice whatsoever in fact it was helpful criticism and I get that. :thumbsd:
FriarTuck
27 Apr 2008, 12:09
D to T. Cotchin was number 50. Played mainly on ball. Jimeoin (Barry Mitchell) did not tag him. I noticed a few times he was running hard to make position forward of the ball. Tiv and the like only go sideways so I'd promote Cotchin now before he picks up too many bad habits.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
27 Apr 2008, 12:32
Thanks for the reports guys. Much appreciated.
Nice to hear Morton and Kennedy are making the grade. I thought they both showed enough in the pre-season and was hoping they'd get some game time this year.
Renouf seems very raw and from what you guys have said, is probably 2+ years away from being where he needs to be.
Love the call on Musto, Delib. Would love him to come in and make a career of it at the Hawks. Injuries go away please.
Rudi Gilham
27 Apr 2008, 17:23
While Box Hil's recruiting was reasonably strong, only Steven Kenna has stood up so far this season. Digby Morrell, Sam Gibson & Alister Neville have all struggled.
Does anybody remember this thread a few weeks back:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=430534
Date 7/4/08
How quickly do people change their tune.
Once again the hecklers come in strong. I thought that the game that gave an enthusastic response was what we wanted to see from him in his third year, yet I never thought that he warranted selection.
People really should get some perspective.
There is much more of the season left for him to make his mark, and given that the Box Hil side is extremely inconsistent, it is going to be difficult for him to stamp himself on games.
I actually think Thorp is another concern with injury problems continuing. If they can't get on top of them, we may not see the player that most here think can be an influential player at the top level.
I think this situation with Box Hill has gone out of control and some serious decision should've been made, and now we're seeing the result. Must make changes at the end of the year unless they become more consistent in their competitiveness.
I'm not expecting us to necessarily be a premiership threat, but just to be competitve most weeks.