View Full Version : How's Thorp coming along?
philhawk
24 Apr 2008, 15:57
He seems to be injured alot for Box Hill/not being named in the best.
Has he fully recovered from his injuries?
He seems to be injured alot for Box Hill/not being named in the best.
Has he fully recovered from his injuries?
A pretty obvious presumption there PH......maybe he's just not coming along?
Might have been reading too much of his own press???
philhawk
24 Apr 2008, 16:12
A pretty obvious presumption there PH......maybe he's just not coming along?
Might have been reading too much of his own press???
Let's hope that isn't the case, Scribe.
I'd like to think that it's just a matter of his injuries getting the better of him this year ... :o
That's deliberate
24 Apr 2008, 16:12
oh dear you went there......now where's that lovely bottle of red i had stashed away here in my office
...ahhhhh there it is....
this will be interesting....
..ummm.....play on.
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 16:22
Some girl he knew asked him " i thought you would be playing today, Why arent you"? The response of Mitch was " Its a long story" Who knows what that could mean.
mattie55
24 Apr 2008, 16:40
Yes thats the $400 000 Dollar Question isnt it!!!
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 16:43
Some girl he knew asked him " i thought you would be playing today, Why arent you"? The response of Mitch was " Its a long story" Who knows what that could mean.
That was on Sunday at box Hill just before the Sandy game. Maybe he stepped outta line and Clarko aint happy!
hodgeysleftfoot
24 Apr 2008, 16:46
Whats so good about Thorp , why is he mentioned all the time?
He's done nothing at Box Hill
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 16:52
Whats so good about Thorp , why is he mentioned all the time?
He's done nothing at Box Hill
has the potential to be a star. His development has been very slow over the last 12 months. He has probably only played 10 games for Box Hill in his life, Did kick 6 goals against Tom harley on Debut. We need him to be our 3rd forward and lead up link player in a year or 2.
Dannerz
24 Apr 2008, 16:53
That was on Sunday at box Hill just before the Sandy game. Maybe he stepped outta line and Clarko aint happy!
He picked up a couple of knocks against Casey, and was very proppy after half time, and sat out the last quarter, so I would imagine he missed last weeks game because of that.
"It's a long story" was probably just his excuse so he didnt have to talk to some bird!
Roughie
24 Apr 2008, 16:56
Well lets hope he gets his body right
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 16:59
He picked up a couple of knocks against Casey, and was very proppy after half time, and sat out the last quarter, so I would imagine he missed last weeks game because of that.
"It's a long story" was probably just his excuse so he didnt have to talk to some bird!
haha Good point. But the bird was mint so mitch should have been getting stuck in!
That's deliberate
24 Apr 2008, 17:00
has the potential to be a star. His development has been very slow over the last 12 months. He has probably only played 10 games for Box Hill in his life, Did kick 6 goals against Tom harley on Debut. We need him to be our 3rd forward and lead up link player in a year or 2.
Daniel Metropolis also kicked 6 on debut in the AFL for WC Eagles and i don't ever recall him being a star...
Scott Cummins booted 8 for the scum or was it 12 on debut and he was no star..
He is just a Kid in our system with plenty of work to do ...PLENTY...lucky for him he also has plenty of time to do it in.
Please no more reference to STAR or GUN...he is neither..
Simply put just a kid in our system...nufink more.
Carry on
hodgeysleftfoot
24 Apr 2008, 17:05
Daniel Metropolis also kicked 6 on debut in the AFL for WC Eagles and i don't ever recall him being a star...
He is just a Kid in our system with plenty of work to do ...PLENTY...lucky for him he also has plenty of time to do it in.
Carry on
Good call
He had an impressive debut but nothing since
Potential means nothing unless they work hard
He doesnt look close to getting a game
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 17:13
Carry on
When did I say he is a star? I said has The POTENTIAL to be a star! Yes I agree he has a lot of work to do like playing reguarly for Box Hill for a start.
mattie55
24 Apr 2008, 17:25
Thats the problem, he thinks he is the best thing to ever walk the earth but isnt willing to put in the hard work to reach his potential...
Waste of talent unfortunately, i have known this from day one seen him play/played against him down here in tassie!
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 17:28
Thats the problem, he thinks he is the best thing to ever walk the earth but isnt willing to put in the hard work to reach his potential...
Waste of talent unfortunately, i have known this from day one seen him play/played against him down here in tassie!
Yeh I have noticed that with Mitch he has the big head of a Buddy Franklin but he aint no Buddy Franklin.
wolvesjr34
24 Apr 2008, 17:32
maybe someone needs to print out this thread and tape it to his locker so he realises he needs to get a wriggle on. You won't get in this team if you don't work for it, because that's what's making this team so good atm, they are workign for each other.
That's deliberate
24 Apr 2008, 17:33
When did I say he is a star? I said has The POTENTIAL to be a star! Yes I agree he has a lot of work to do like playing reguarly for Box Hill for a start.
I hearsya Hodgey...i hearsya...very very true...it is an ugly word that potential...
Everyone on gods earth has the potential to do anyfink really dont they.
When they put the work in and have a relentless pursuit to get there...relentless...no excuses...im going over there and that's it type of relentlessness...is there such a word?..they usually get there with a little luck.
If it pleases the court i'd like to present exhibit 'A' your honour
B Sewell - please step forward.
If only we could bottle what he has in his detemination to make it, to get to the next contest , to prepare himself, the whole bloody thing that he's got, that work ethic and say to the group as a whole...here have some of this stuff..
really super stuff that............so is this bloody wine........i'm getting another bottle....
What the hell anyone within 5 kms of the cbd who wants to get on the turps PM me im buying...im heading out...
.......super stuff this ......really super stuff.....:cool::thumbsu::p:D
mattie55
24 Apr 2008, 17:35
Its a real shame cause like i said he does have the potential...
Like previously posted i think everyone needs to forget about him for 12 months, not talk him up, not put pressure on him and see if he is willing to put in the hard yards and make himself fit and a chance to make it at AFL level..
The upside is he is only 19 and fair enough he has had few injuries but knowing what he is like it just pisses me off that he struts round thinking he is a superstar when he is so far away at this point..
I wish he was picked up at pick 30 instead of pick 6 and made to make his own reputation instead of the reputation that follwed him at pick 6..
Aside from all this i really do hope he puts his head down and does become a good player
Think 2008 is gone for Thorp. Hope he gets his body right over the year and can put in a full pre season and see how he fares in 2009
Why is 2008 gone for Thorp?
He's 19 for Christ's sake - and it's not like he's done a knee or something. Blokes 15 years older than him, having copped 15 years of hard knocks at AFL level are still running around - so what's his problem?
If he wants it bad enough, and IF he's good enough, then he'll make it. I've seen absolutely nothing to convince me he has a God given right to make our senior 22, and he's nothing special at VFL level, let alone AFL.
Someone convince me otherwise......:mad:
hodgeysleftfoot
24 Apr 2008, 18:13
Miles away from getting a game in the seniors,whats he done?
Would he be a walk up start for Box Hill if not for his POTENTIAL?
Same for Dowler , they both need to lift and do something
HODGEYROAD
24 Apr 2008, 18:22
Mate I would be a walk up start for Box Hill, even Rhys O sullivan gets a game for Box Hill.
I have never been quite sure what the big fuss is with Thorp.
Sure, he was our 1st round draft pick a couple of years ago. That doesn't mean he is automatically a star. Watching a few games he has played (mainly last year) at Box Hill he wasn't particularly spectacular nor was he disappointing. But then I was simply viewing him as a young kid, playing against men and in the very early days of trying to establish himself as a key position player.
Given time he MAY or MAY NOT be up to scratch but in my opinion it is too early to make that call and clearly there are injury issues to consider here as well.
The way we are travelling, I suggest, we could afford to keep him on our list for another couple of years before having to worry.
I seem to recall HFC having a lot of faith in Tim Boyle, after all the injury setbacks he encountered.
Tim did show quite a bit of promise though.
hodgeysleftfoot
24 Apr 2008, 18:44
Mate I would be a walk up start for Box Hill, even Rhys O sullivan gets a game for Box Hill.
Thats the part i dont get
If these players have massive potential why then cant they show some consistent effort and output in the lower leagues against other wannabes and hacks
macdaddio
24 Apr 2008, 18:53
ive heard this all year last season and i seen him play one game againts the tigers, he looked good, but very cocky..
i doubt he will play another game at hawthorn he will be picked up by another club, the pies will be chasing another forward now that rocca is almost finished and the bombers will be chasing another forward with lloyd almost finished too..
i hope he gets his body and mind right wether he plays for us or another club i just want to see how good he can be.......
macdaddio
24 Apr 2008, 18:55
do something, dont think do.......
Heropsychodreamer
24 Apr 2008, 19:10
I dont know why we have such a problem with him... he is so young and a KPP... no KPP can prove themselves straight away, even roughie was dropped and struggling until last yr vs carlton!
I've spoken to the bro of one of the box hill players... says thorp is a star, that he has a lot of confidence in his own ability, but isnt a 'me over the team' kinda guy... just a 'i believe in myself' kinda guy.
He will spend most of this season getting his body right, play a few games, have a good pre season and sometime next yr will cement his spot.
But lets not doubt him yet. I've got no doubt that he has the passion to get to where we all want him to be, he just needs to get his body right for the toughest game on earth!!! (yes, bit dramatic there... lol)
cschreuder61
24 Apr 2008, 19:15
People need to relax and wait for development.
People here were worried about Roughead a few years back, and that was when he was getting games, and doing a job.
Thorp hasn't had a full pre-season, has struggled to over-come injury, and has a lot more competition for spots than we had a few years back when players got gifted games.
He's extremely talented, and will push for selection hard at some point no doubt, but just because people on these boards over-hype young players, then they don't turn out to be superstars after 1 season and 5 games in, doesn't mean they should suffer unfairly because posters aren't patient enough to wait for the players to develop.
He's a gem talent, be patient and wait.
Heropsychodreamer
24 Apr 2008, 19:19
Not only Roughie... but i remember there was concern that Buddy was playing poorly (and people were questioning him) at the start of his second season when he was in the reserves. thorp may be one of those players who can lift a few levels at the big stage.
hardway
24 Apr 2008, 19:24
Should seriously think about grooming him as a key defender now.. The forward line is set for the next decade.
Heropsychodreamer
24 Apr 2008, 19:55
I have thought of that as well... he has played before as a KP backman. I have a feeling the coaching staff have big plans for him as a fwd. Maybe its him and Roughie the big mountains, with buddy and willow moving up the ground??? really got no idea. Wonder how they fit Dowler in as well. I think they arewaiting for one of dowler and thorp to pinch Boyles possie though, and then they will throw the other one back
No doubt Thorp and Dowler are constantly on the coaches minds!
Roughie
24 Apr 2008, 19:59
People need to relax and wait for development.
People here were worried about Roughead a few years back, and that was when he was getting games, and doing a job.
Thorp hasn't had a full pre-season, has struggled to over-come injury, and has a lot more competition for spots than we had a few years back when players got gifted games.
He's extremely talented, and will push for selection hard at some point no doubt, but just because people on these boards over-hype young players, then they don't turn out to be superstars after 1 season and 5 games in, doesn't mean they should suffer unfairly because posters aren't patient enough to wait for the players to develop.
He's a gem talent, be patient and wait.
I remember when Roughie got dropped to Box Hill, he turned around kicked a bag and was named the next day to play in Tazzie.
But he still has plenty of years left, I dont even expect him to play this year.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
24 Apr 2008, 20:30
I still can't understand why the match committee hasn't decided to groom one of Dowler or Thorp as a key defender. Perhaps Ben Kennedy is the missing link?!?!
lethalselbow
24 Apr 2008, 20:51
Lots of the great forwards have ego's the size planets and it looks like Thorp is no exception.
It sounds like he expected to be an instant success, but might be having a tough time being in the Magoo's. I'm sure Clarko and team will groom him correctly and he'll be a cracker when he arrives on the scene. All good things take time... :thumbsu:
Hawkie_McHawkHawk
24 Apr 2008, 21:06
I think alot of people are getting annoyed with the fact he has a big ego, yet hasn't delivered on what hes capable of.
Truth is, we dont really know if he really has injury issues or he just doesnt put in, so the best thing to do is wait and see what pans out.
flukeyluke
24 Apr 2008, 21:30
If he is good enough, he will make it.
Would be bloody hard to break into our squad atm anyway so I suspect he has time still.
Roughie
25 Apr 2008, 01:52
I still can't understand why the match committee hasn't decided to groom one of Dowler or Thorp as a key defender. Perhaps Ben Kennedy is the missing link?!?!
I doubt we are throwing all our eggs in the basket of Kennedy. I think Sandilands and Renouf are getting groomed at the moment.
play2win
25 Apr 2008, 09:41
the type of player that thorp is requires a hard strong matured body to compete at afl level. with the injuries he has and the type of player he is, his body is not going to be developed enough until 21-22 yrs old. any games he sneaks in up to this age is a bonus. in all fairness to the kid we supporters shouldn't really be judging 'on-field' performance until he is at least 21 and be happy to let the club monitor and manage his development in the interim.
what's the rush, do we need another key forward option at the moment? NO
hodgeysleftfoot
25 Apr 2008, 11:38
Yes you're right we dont need him at the moment but when top picks are used in the draft on players,you expect those players to at least be knocking on the door for selection
Do any of them look close?
B&YBlood
25 Apr 2008, 13:25
How does everyone know he has a big ego? Do u all know him, do u all know someone who knows him or someone at the football department?
For some reason there is a lot of speculation about this KID? Yes he is confident, but you should be if you want to play AFL. I can't judge if he has a big ego or not I have not seen anywhere enough of him to make that assumption. But if someone knows this for sure.... and it isn't just speculation then please enlighten me!
He is a high draft pick, and seems injury prone this EARLY in his career, and plenty seem to be labeling him due to high expectations.
What I can't understand is, why not just let the kid get himself right, trust in the football department grooming him to whatever position they feel he best suits, they know him better than all of us.
I can't understand the frustration in some of the posts at why he isn't showing much in Box Hill yet? Really who cares, in my opinion everyone is a little to focused on seeing greatness strait away. It's his second year FFS. Pressure from fans isn't gonna make him come on any quicker at this stage, it will hinder him more than anything.
I'm being totally supported and letting the chips fall where they may, we are a good side at the moment and are in a position we have not been in in a long time. And the beauty of it is we can afford to be patient with the guys who take a little longer to develop or work through injury eg: Dowler, Thorp, Muston, Bailey etc, because we are playing well with what is on the park at the moment.
I love the kids but it needs to be remembered they are still kids playing a mans game, let them become men in there own time.
Go Thorp!
Go Hawks!
Big Ronnie
25 Apr 2008, 14:24
I'll save the jumpin around for those that cant access Hawk Talk, becasue I saw that it is now listed in media.
I spoke to him at Box Hill v Sandy and he has a problem with his left knee. I didn't ask to much to put him on the spot, and he was sitting with Beau Muston who is his best mate at Hawks (they room and travel everywhere together)
At present I look at the forward line in pecking order as such
Buddy
Roughy
Cyriol
Boiler
Willo
Bateman/McGlynn/Crawf bit players
Stokesy
Dowler
Josh Kennedy
Thorp
Now everyone is giving it to Timmy but he is way further at the front of the buffet Q!:rolleyes:
bigbol069
25 Apr 2008, 14:47
I'm going to Coburg now to hopefully watch him have a big one! I'll report later.
Beckers
25 Apr 2008, 16:14
I've seen absolutely nothing to convince me he has a God given right to make our senior 22, and he's nothing special at VFL level, let alone AFL.
Someone convince me otherwise......:mad:
Everytime i say that i get shot down by Hawk posters making excuses for him. Even on here someone said he kicked 6 down at Box Hill once upon a time.......6!!!!!! WTF!!!!!!:rolleyes:, Podsy kicked 6 every week over at Werribee and never made it at AFL level!!!!!! Saw him kick 10 in a half of footy to beat Box Hill off his own boot.......that is dominating in the 2's!!!
Beckers
25 Apr 2008, 16:19
I can't understand the frustration in some of the posts at why he isn't showing much in Box Hill yet? Really who cares, in my opinion everyone is a little to focused on seeing greatness strait away. It's his second year FFS.
GREATNESS??? All people are saying is that the times he has played in the VFL, he hasn't done much at all. I have only seen him play a couple of times and to say that he did FA was an understatement. Generally you see glimpses in the VFL like whenever Roughy, Clarky even Nick Ries were dropped back to the 2's they would dominate.
Can someone please provide us with his stats in the VFL because i'm not having much luck finding them online.
cschreuder61
25 Apr 2008, 16:22
GREATNESS??? All people are saying is that the times he has played in the VFL, he hasn't done much at all. I have only seen him play a couple of times and to say that he did FA was an understatement. Generally you see glimpses in the VFL like whenever Roughy, Clarky even Nick Ries were dropped back to the 2's they would dominate.
Can someone please provide us with his stats in the VFL because i'm not having much luck finding them online.
He kicked a big of 7 last year didn't he?
And 6?
And 4?
Its hard for forwards to completely dominate in our side with the terrible midfield, even Williams didn't set the world on fire when he went back.
The focus is too great on young players, if they aren't dominating the twos people write them off, even when Thorp is obviously severely battling to get his body right.
B&YBlood
25 Apr 2008, 17:03
He kicked a big of 7 last year didn't he?
And 6?
And 4?
Its hard for forwards to completely dominate in our side with the terrible midfield, even Williams didn't set the world on fire when he went back.
The focus is too great on young players, if they aren't dominating the twos people write them off, even when Thorp is obviously severely battling to get his body right.
Yay, someone I agree with!
B&YBlood
25 Apr 2008, 17:12
Nick Ries??? How he ever managed to play a senior game surprises me. Plenty of players dominate at VFL, doesn't make them guns in the AFL.
Roughy was put in straight away as he was injury free and we had no one else to play his position, the club had no choice to play these guys. Now, we do have choices, so we can afford to nurse them until the time when they are READY to play.
Clarke dominates in VFL coz of his fitness, but never gonna be a gun in the league that counts.
You can expect more from Thorp but the fact is until his body is right, and he has done a full pre season you won't see him anywhere near his best.
Like I said give him a chance.
Glad your not the coach, or no players would have time to develop, and Ries would still be in the side! :(
Go Hawks!
Beckers
26 Apr 2008, 09:14
Nick Ries??? How he ever managed to play a senior game surprises me. Plenty of players dominate at VFL, doesn't make them guns in the AFL.
Roughy was put in straight away as he was injury free and we had no one else to play his position, the club had no choice to play these guys. Now, we do have choices, so we can afford to nurse them until the time when they are READY to play.
Clarke dominates in VFL coz of his fitness, but never gonna be a gun in the league that counts.
You can expect more from Thorp but the fact is until his body is right, and he has done a full pre season you won't see him anywhere near his best.
Like I said give him a chance.
Glad your not the coach, or no players would have time to develop, and Ries would still be in the side! :(
Go Hawks!
That's not what i am saying B&Y! I am saying that he has such big wraps but he hasn't lived up to them yet. Whether it be injuries or attitude, i think that fans are building him up bigger than what he currently has shown.
I agree, give him time, but some fans need to be realistic and stop calling for him to get a game when he doesn't deserve it!
.....and i was NEVER a Nick Ries fan....please read my previous posts on the subject!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I agree, give him time, but some fans need to be realistic and stop calling for him to get a game when he doesn't deserve it!
Thank you - my point exactly.
He's miles away - and at this point will never make it, whether its through injuries attitude or simply not being good enough in adult football.
The sooner we stop whacking on about him being some gem talent who simply needs to be fostered for the next 15 years, the better.
I'm done.
Brown Blood
27 Apr 2008, 00:03
Thank you - my point exactly.
He's miles away - and at this point will never make it, whether its through injuries attitude or simply not being good enough in adult football.
The sooner we stop whacking on about him being some gem talent who simply needs to be fostered for the next 15 years, the better.
I'm done.
Frankly the only thing we know is he has had a series of injuries including a hip injury that has been quite complex and that has resulted in a number of operations that has hampered his progress including his latest pre-season.
But he is still young and despite what some would like to admit when he has been able to play has shown he can kick goals at BH level - further our coaching staff saw enough POTENTIAL in him to use pick 6 in the 2006 draft to recruit him.
So while we would ALL love him to be fit and pushing for selection he clearly isn't in that position yet as it seems he hasn't fully recovered from his last operation.
So forget the hysterical reactions regarding his progress and whether he is a dud or alternatively jesus - for all it shows is how little understanding some posters have.
There is still plenty of time for thorp.
Hawk0373
27 Apr 2008, 01:00
be good to see both Dowler & Thorp on the end of some decent/more frequent delivery - by the sounds of it thus far they've been getting bugger all.
Loyal Hawk
27 Apr 2008, 10:27
Seriously people bagging out Thorp and his performances at Box Hill should be ashamed of themselves. He has not done a decent preseason due to injury and if you ask any player in the afl and they will tell you that you can't play afl today with out a decent fitness base. Thorp is also a player that relies on his fitness and his ability to make position. He plays in a similar style to John Barker as a lead up hardworking forward. Unfortunately his injuries has restricted him to play in this manner. How did Barker play when he wasn't fit?
I have seen him live against Geelong and Sandringham last year and he has tons of class and footy smarts. Against Geelong he played mainly on Playfair and a little bit on Harly and took them to the cleaners, he kicked 6 but missed some easy shots on goal, so it could have been more. In one passage of play he showed awesome hands on the lead, it was a similar mark to what Buddy took against the lions in the last quarter last week when he was falling to the ground. So don't question his natural ability.
Let us be patient and let him get his body right before judging him. It seems that when we are playing well and carrying no passengers in the senior side some idiots on here want to bag our younger players, who largely though injury and youth are not dominating in the 1's. You should go and barrack for Richmond!
Dixie Flatline
27 Apr 2008, 11:57
be good to see both Dowler & Thorp on the end of some decent/more frequent delivery - by the sounds of it thus far they've been getting bugger all.
Yep, it's pretty hard to star in the Box Hill forward line when the midfielders play like headless chooks.