View Full Version : Freak of Naita excites Demons
Pjkimber
25 Apr 2008, 18:53
From todays Sun,
OUT: Neita. In: Naita. David Neitz may be on his last legs, but Melbourne fans could soon be welcoming Nicholas Naitanui.
The Demons are odds-on to win the wooden spoon and Naitanui is odds-on to be this year's No. 1 draft pick.
One look at the vertical leap of Naitanui in action for Swan Districts in the WAFL might be enough to convince Melbourne fans a season of pain is worth it.
Naitanui has already signed with Paul Connors, the player agent who manages Chris Judd.
AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan, known more for cautious praise than outlandish comparisons, could not contain his enthusiasm for the 17-year-old's athletic prowess.
"He's a panther," Sheehan said yesterday.
Naitanui is a 196cm ruckman who can mix it with midfielders at ground level and break games open with devastating run and carry.
Not only is he the ideal replacement for an ageing Jeff White, but the Fijian-born Naitanui would also add marketability to a Demons team often criticised for lacking personality and being too beige.
Sheehan is already preparing for Naitanui to break long-standing records at this year's draft camp.
It is considered almost a given that Jared Brennan's benchmark of 102cm for the running vertical jump set in 2002 will be beaten.
Trent Croad's record of 83cm for the standing vertical jump set in 1997 also appears certain to be obliterated.
Testers at last year's AIS screening could not gauge Naitanui's running leap.
"They didn't have enough extensions to put on to the testing equipment," respected former North Melbourne recruiting manager Neville Stibbard said.
"He could jump over the moon and take a mark."
There is also a chance Naitanui will challenge speed records.
"His speed over the ground is freakish. He gets to ground balls you don't expect big blokes to get to because he is super-quick," Sheehan said.
Naitanui has already been named best player in Swan Districts seniors once this year.
Last year he went head-to-head with Matthew Kreuzer in the ruck in the under-18 national championships and some said he was the winner on points.
Carlton last year went as far as confirming Naitanui would have been its No. 1 pick last year if eligible.
"People won't believe how much money they will pay to go through the gates to watch him play. I've never seen anything like it," Carlton recruiting manager Wayne Hughes said at the time.
The only query on Naitanui is his footy smarts, given he has only been playing seriously for a year.
But everyone agrees the upside is massive.
"It's all au natural. He's had no coaching yet," Stibbard said.
New Melbourne recruiting manager Barry Prendergast has the brief to rebuild the Demons' list.
If the Demons finish last and get their hands on pick No. 1, Prendergast will no doubt also consider another West Australian, Daniel Rich, who was good enough to be best-on-ground in a WAFL senior final last year.
But it will take a brave man to pass Naitanui up.
Thoughts anyone? I thought pick number 1 was a priority pick which we will not be eligible for because we won more than 4 games last year, can somone clarify if i am incorrect?
demonfan9
25 Apr 2008, 19:09
If we finish last, and Richmond/Carlton win more than 4.5 games, we will get Pick 1.
If we win less than 4.5 games, we will also get a priority pick around the 17-18 mark.
macca69
25 Apr 2008, 19:17
Didn't Gaertner break Croad's vertical leap record last year?
CowboyFromHell
25 Apr 2008, 20:26
Didn't Gaertner break Croad's vertical leap record last year?
No idea but Naita will smash it anyway.
Eel_storm
25 Apr 2008, 20:42
Sounds awesome. About the same height as Buddy.
malodeez
25 Apr 2008, 21:34
No idea but Naita will smash it anyway.
just in case you didnt read the other thread. sorry everyone this is between CFH and myself.
down III - over the under. is that the one your talkin about chief. ah i actually have it and down II and nola. out of all the other projects down would be the shittest band that any member of pantera have done. i actually dont hate anselmo, i saw them in 96 at the great southern trendkill tour at the glasshouse when i was 19 so u work out my age buddy and you'll realise im not some silly little emo. but gentle rock like down, please, don't insult me. superjoint ritual is heaps better than that down shit. your probably stuck in the mid 90's pantera era who think that one day they'll get back together. sorry it aint gonna happen, so just go and put on ya far beyond driven cd and reflect on the old days. if ya need any new material to broaden ya mind with just ask and i'll reel a few bands for ya
master bate
25 Apr 2008, 23:17
just in case you didnt read the other thread. sorry everyone this is between CFH and myself.
down III - over the under. is that the one your talkin about chief. ah i actually have it and down II and nola. out of all the other projects down would be the shittest band that any member of pantera have done. i actually dont hate anselmo, i saw them in 96 at the great southern trendkill tour at the glasshouse when i was 19 so u work out my age buddy and you'll realise im not some silly little emo. but gentle rock like down, please, don't insult me. superjoint ritual is heaps better than that down shit. your probably stuck in the mid 90's pantera era who think that one day they'll get back together. sorry it aint gonna happen, so just go and put on ya far beyond driven cd and reflect on the old days. if ya need any new material to broaden ya mind with just ask and i'll reel a few bands for yaAnd on the 5th day Chief invented personal messaging.
This guy sounds bloody awesome, especially as we are crying out for a genuine superstar ruckman/forward. I would imagine he would be fantastic re marketability as well.
But as good as he sounds, i am extremely sad to be talking about him after round 5. Our season has already ended and it's April. :(
CowboyFromHell
26 Apr 2008, 00:39
down III - over the under. is that the one your talkin about chief. ah i actually have it and down II and nola. out of all the other projects down would be the shittest band that any member of pantera have done. i actually dont hate anselmo, i saw them in 96 at the great southern trendkill tour at the glasshouse when i was 19 so u work out my age buddy and you'll realise im not some silly little emo. but gentle rock like down, please, don't insult me. superjoint ritual is heaps better than that down shit. your probably stuck in the mid 90's pantera era who think that one day they'll get back together. sorry it aint gonna happen, so just go and put on ya far beyond driven cd and reflect on the old days. if ya need any new material to broaden ya mind with just ask and i'll reel a few bands for ya
I got to you. Argument over. :)
Ricky_15
26 Apr 2008, 00:43
Are we a lock to get this guy?
and is he definetly entering the draft?
i think its safe to say we have the spoon wrapped up and that carlton and the tigers are playing much better footy then we are.
i dont like talking like this in round 6 but sadly its the reality.
melbourne150
26 Apr 2008, 01:04
I'm a little sad we are talking about this so early in the season....But
http://media.foxsports.com.au/images/naitanui180.jpg
...I can see him wearing number 4....(Sorry Holland but it's time to go.)
(P.S...Feel free to edit this picture and put him in a melbourne jumper.:D)
chopper41
26 Apr 2008, 06:38
It's not too early to get excited about this guy. We've got nothing else so why not.
http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn159/ozskin/naitanui180copy.jpg
Does anyone know where i can get some footage of Naitanui? I've read so many great things, i wanna see him in action.
bloodpumpsRnB
26 Apr 2008, 07:27
Sounds awesome. About the same height as Buddy.
Buddy...?
chopper41
26 Apr 2008, 08:34
Buddy...?
Buddy is that arogant wanker that plays for the Tasmanian Bandwagon (AKA- Lance Franklin for Hawthorn).
Lynch takes a mark
26 Apr 2008, 10:49
Think of his as a taller, far more athletic (of thats possible) Goodes circa 03 with a bit of Kerr thrown in.
He influences games like few can, every thing he does at the moment is on instinct.
He is as raw as a draftee can be and will probably play defined patterns in his first few years, just wait until he has played his 100 games, is up to 100kg's and has the tank to go with it.
Genuine star in the making along with Rich
Demons 21
26 Apr 2008, 11:56
Heres some footage of him, he looks very impresive.
http://ten.com.au/ten/ten_video.html?channel=WHATS+NEW&clipid=1427_wf_ep23b_030907_sh&format=flash&bitrate=300
TelkoTheGreat
26 Apr 2008, 12:46
He looked good last year in the under 18 champs
How has he been for Swan Districts ?
cannons
26 Apr 2008, 12:57
He looked good last year in the under 18 champs
How has he been for Swan Districts ?
Apparently he's been the best on ground once so far this year.
Deenamite
26 Apr 2008, 17:50
Very, very marketable.
festa1234
26 Apr 2008, 20:00
this is the only time i will ever say this but GO BLUES GO TIGERS WIN WIN
gotta win over 4 and a half games each lol otherwise we wont see the naita
Supermercado
26 Apr 2008, 21:54
I'm all for Carlton and Richmond winning games if we MUST finish last, but I'll be ____ed if I want us to keep losing just to get picks.
malodeez
27 Apr 2008, 00:45
I'm all for Carlton and Richmond winning games if we MUST finish last, but I'll be ____ed if I want us to keep losing just to get picks.
why? i do
Supermercado
27 Apr 2008, 01:43
What a joke. The day you start hoping your team loses is the day you may as well give up following sports.
TURKEY92
27 Apr 2008, 01:52
pretty impressive from this pic
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m175/ryan416/l_9aa1714a531dcf1a8d4a40df209b35ea.jpg
TURKEY92
27 Apr 2008, 01:53
also this 1.
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m175/ryan416/l_cb7b14c9bc26cf4758bf958365b869ff.jpg
festa1234
27 Apr 2008, 04:28
pretty impressive from this pic
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m175/ryan416/l_9aa1714a531dcf1a8d4a40df209b35ea.jpg
is that real???????????? my god if it is he is superman lol
chopper41
27 Apr 2008, 06:25
What a joke. The day you start hoping your team loses is the day you may as well give up following sports.
Nobody is really hoping we lose, alot people (myself included) just no that we will lose and because of this we will get Naitanui.
TURKEY92
27 Apr 2008, 11:37
is that real???????????? my god if it is he is superman lol
sure is.
direct from his myspace.
Supermercado
27 Apr 2008, 12:15
Nobody is really hoping we lose, alot people (myself included) just no that we will lose and because of this we will get Naitanui.
I think you'll find in a few weeks that we'll start getting the clown Carlton type people demanding that we lose. It's ok now that we look abysmal, but wait until we - god forbid - show a bit of a form and watch it.
I'm with you Merc, I'm gonna lose my head if I hear so-called Melbourne supporters cheering for us to lose. Granted we suck at the moment, but to start cheering against your own side is unforgivable. I hope everyone who wishes their team to lose dies a slow, painful, horrible death.
demonfan9
27 Apr 2008, 12:48
I want us to play well, win, and get Natanui at the same time.
Is that too much to ask for?
crusader36
27 Apr 2008, 12:59
I want us to win as well, but realistically our list needs a superstar in the making like this guy if we are to go foward
The Flash
27 Apr 2008, 15:09
Just a hypothetical.
Melbourne finish last and WCE finich 15th.
WCE are desperate to get Rich, so we come out and say thats who we want at #1. If WCE want him bad enough how about trade #1 for #2 and our first 2nd round pick for Kerr as he apparently wants out anyway.
So we end up with Naitanui and Kerr.
Gotta play hard ball.
malodeez
27 Apr 2008, 18:07
spot on chop. only one here with any visions :thumbsu:
Lynch takes a mark
27 Apr 2008, 20:03
Just a hypothetical.
WCE are desperate to get Rich, so we come out and say thats who we want at #1. If WCE want him bad enough how about trade #1 for #2 and our first 2nd round pick for Kerr as he apparently wants out anyway.
Gotta play hard ball.
Not much difference between the top 3 this year overall so I highly doubt that would come off.
Deefolt
27 Apr 2008, 20:31
Just a hypothetical.
Gotta play hard ball.
good play man, i like your thinking if my theory works (with warnock) we can have warnock and kerr in this draft while sacrificing not a lot imo
Only powermetal and CFH are real, all other dimebag/anselmo work can suck a fat one
malodeez
27 Apr 2008, 21:54
Only powermetal and CFH are real, all other dimebag/anselmo work can suck a fat one
HA HA. mate I'd rather listen to cowboyfromhell's commercial stuff than listen to ya so called high pitched, fast, keyboard synthesized 80's so called power metal. they sound like women. i'll have to thank you one day for making crack up with laughter. Oh yeah give me a bit of iced earth or dragonforce or even some nightwish. didn't think u essendon supporters were this funny
Lyyynnnchy
1 May 2008, 15:35
Just a hypothetical.
Gotta play hard ball.
haha you really have to be kidding mate
And that picture of Naitanui is from a ruck contest not a mark!!!!!