View Full Version : ANZAC Day Analysis

PieLebo87
25 Apr 2008, 18:58
That was a convincing victory. Any 12 goal win is convincing and one of the major positives, I saw in today's game, is that we won every quarter. I think thats a first in a long time, so its a good step forward to see a 4 quarter performance.

Suprisingly, Dale Thomas (along with Cam Wood) was the only Pie to not reach double figures in disposals although both, along with every single Magpie today, contributed and will be making it very difficult for MM and the committee to ring any changes this week.

Although Medhurst got BOG with 6 goals, 8 marks and 17 possessions, we shouldnt forget the even contribution from across the board with Pendlebury coming close to BOG with 33 possessions, 11 marks and 7 tackles who is back in form, Cloke managing 14 marks and 5 goals, 4 behinds.

Heath Shaw was BOG for the first 3 quarters and managed 24 possessions, 10 marks and O'Bree was reasonable with 26 possessions and 5 tackles.

Other quality midfielders today were R Shaw who ran and ran all day long and got 19 possessions and 10 marks, Swan and Johnson got 22 possessions each, Cook got 18 and Wellingham and Davis (3 goals) got 17 possessions each.

I found it strange the way MM played Lockyer, and it made me think that maybe he was one of the injuried Pies this week because he barely left the forward 50 but still managed a great game with 3 goals.

Nathan Brown, although struggled early, was his usual quality self and played a very good defensive role with great support and reliability from Wakelin and O'Brien.

It'd be fair to say that Marty Clarke has worked himself into a bit of form. He wasn't sublime or superb, but he was back to his usual damaging self and did some good things all over the ground. It was good to see him back himself a few times.

My favourite, Alan Didak, although went missing in patches, managed 21 kicks and 4 handballs, 11 marks and a great goal. Same as Fraser, who is really in form after the last 2 weeks where he has just dominated the ruck around the grounds.

Goldsack was moved to spark the forward line in the 2nd quarter and it was the move of the quarter, if not the game, because it definitely changed the course of the game and got the Pies flowing in more freely.

Finally, there was Maxwell, I dunno what to say really. He wasn't great, but didnt do too badly. Although I noticed a few mistakes, he doesnt seem to fit into the side. We need his hardness and courage, but he didnt look a part of it today.

Again, let me just point out, we won all 4 quarters today and won by 73 points so lets look at the positives of today's game, but not get too ahead of ourselves please. Ya'll need to behaviour yourselves this week on here!

Collingwood: 23 / 16 / 154
Essendon: 12 / 9 / 81

Medhurst 6, Cloke 5, Davis 3, Lockyer 3
Singles to;
Didak, Goldsack, Johnson, Swan, Thomas, Wood

Mars II
25 Apr 2008, 19:05
good job mate. lots of positives to take out of that game wellingham did really well for his 1st game in front of a big crowd. it was a good win but was that because of our oposition?

what i want to know is wheres that fu.ker who said that we would lose by ten goals.

mdc
25 Apr 2008, 19:36
Suprisingly, Dale Thomas (along with Cam Wood) was the only Pie to not reach double figures in disposals although both, along with every single Magpie today, contributed and will be making it very difficult for MM and the committee to ring any changes this week.

Dale Thomas is really worrying me, looks like he could use a rest.

There was one period in the 2nd quarter where he literally couldn't move, he was that tired. And his kicking goes to shit when he's out of breath. I think he needs to conserve his energy a little better, and not chase everything.

Although Medhurst got BOG with 6 goals, 8 marks and 17 possessions, we shouldnt forget the even contribution from across the board with Pendlebury coming close to BOG with 33 possessions, 11 marks and 7 tackles who is back in form, Cloke managing 14 marks and 5 goals, 4 behinds.

Should also mention Pendles had 7 clearances, and O'Bree had 6, which is fantastic from both of them.

Heath Shaw was BOG for the first 3 quarters

Really? I thought he butchered the ball heaps and was far from his best.

It'd be fair to say that Marty Clarke has worked himself into a bit of form. He wasn't sublime or superb, but he was back to his usual damaging self and did some good things all over the ground. It was good to see him back himself a few times.

That pretty much echoes my thoughts as well. Looked good in spurts. :thumbsu:

Finally, there was Maxwell, I dunno what to say really. He wasn't great, but didnt do too badly. Although I noticed a few mistakes, he doesnt seem to fit into the side. We need his hardness and courage, but he didnt look a part of it today.

Him and Thomas have really struggled in their last 2 games for some reason. Both, when in form, give us a huge lift, so let's hope they turn it around.

Otherwise, I thought all the guys did really well.

M-Train
25 Apr 2008, 19:46
Let's be frank here, we didn't beat ANYTHING today..... Essendon were terrible! The game was over in the 2nd quarter!

Although it was a very good performance today, and well done to the boys but I am still not over losing to Carlton!!!

CENTERMAN
25 Apr 2008, 19:58
Of the more quiet achievers.

-I thought O'Bree with 26 possies, 5 tackles ,6 clearances, "hitting targets" and on the bottom of every pack, was back on track today.
-Rhyce was still able to manage 19 touches while tagging lovitt. Good effort.

PieLebo87
26 Apr 2008, 19:27
Let's be frank here, we didn't beat ANYTHING today..... Essendon were terrible! The game was over in the 2nd quarter!

Although it was a very good performance today, and well done to the boys but I am still not over losing to Carlton!!!

I agree, we didnt beat a proper side today, but lets not take anything away from the boys, it WAS a SEVENTY-THREE point win and that doesnt come easily in the AFL.

Credit where credit is due, Knights said that was the Bombers worst performance of the year, so credit to the Pies for forcing a side to play so negatively.

Also, the only way to move forward is to make amends for our performance against Carlton, not dwell on it. You need to get over it and support the boys through these next 3 rounds because what happened can't be changed, and whats going to happen in the next 3 rounds will define the Magpie season.

Subtemperate
26 Apr 2008, 20:21
How can Pendlebury be close to BOG with 33 touches, with Heath Shaw best player for the first three.... when Pendles got 31 of those in the first 3 quarters. What was so special about those last 2 touches? lol

PieLebo87
26 Apr 2008, 22:13
How can Pendlebury be close to BOG with 33 touches, with Heath Shaw best player for the first three.... when Pendles got 31 of those in the first 3 quarters. What was so special about those last 2 touches? lol

Its about quality, not quantity, mate. As for Pendles, he managed 16 possessions in the third quarter, so thats half his possession count. He was prolific in the first half but Heath Shaw's rebound out of half back in the first half was very damaging and had him as BOG at that stage of the game.

Medhurst was the deserving winner of the medal because he put in a match-winning performance with his presence up forward in the absence of Anthony Rocca. We may've won by 73 points and Medhurst only kicked 6 but he deserved BOG because he chimed in with a few assists and was a very good presence up forward, always creating/providing an option.

MagpieGlory
26 Apr 2008, 23:43
Medhurst was the deserving winner of the medal because he put in a match-winning performance with his presence up forward in the absence of Anthony Rocca.

I thought that Travis Cloke stood up also in Rocca's absence. He was looked at a lot more inside 50 and seemed to play closer to goal. Still needs some work on his accuracy though.

hellfire
26 Apr 2008, 23:51
The deeper you look at Scotty Pendlebury's stats, the better they look.

He had 33 disposals, 10 of which were contested, plus 11 marks. He had 82% effectiveness with those disposals, with ZERO clangers. He also had 7 clearances, 3 inside 50s, 7 tackles, 3 assists with only 78% time on ground.

Brilliant Scotty.

olmate
27 Apr 2008, 02:25

He had 33 disposals, 10 of which were contested, plus 11 marks. He had 82% effectiveness with those disposals, with ZERO clangers. He also had 7 clearances, 3 inside 50s, 7 tackles, 3 assists with only 78% time on ground.

Brilliant Scotty.

Scotty was the man !!!! what shits me is that hes not that good

hellfire
27 Apr 2008, 02:28
Scotty was the man !!!! what shits me is that hes not that good

I see.... I certainly hope he can break a tag better than Dal Santo. Time will tell.

Subtemperate
27 Apr 2008, 02:43
Its about quality, not quantity, mate.

Obviously I was looking at a mirage that looked like Heath Shaw giving the ball straight to essendon a couple of times... My bad lol

OniAu
27 Apr 2008, 03:13
I see.... I certainly hope he can break a tag better than Dal Santo. Time will tell.

well played sir

magpies42
27 Apr 2008, 03:19
i disagree with you on cloke being your second best vote getter. he did his best work in junk time, when the game was over. he has yet to hit form, should be better when anf gets back...

Footy guru
27 Apr 2008, 11:40

Brilliant Scotty.

he had many of those disposals in the third quarter when he was on his own on the MCC members wing he possessed the ball four times before kicking it down field where swan had been leading prior to the four possessions - i wonder if he knew then he was in line for the medal - these were four cheap possessions - he also had no-one on him in last quarter as many didnt because game was already lost this is when cloke went crazy - essendon were spend physically and emotionally. Can't wait to see how we go against a good side in Hawthorn - the only players who got guarded was didak and swan by slattery - pendles had johns at the beg. silly match up.

hellfire
27 Apr 2008, 12:25
he had many of those disposals in the third quarter when he was on his own on the MCC members wing he possessed the ball four times before kicking it down field where swan had been leading prior to the four possessions - i wonder if he knew then he was in line for the medal - these were four cheap possessions - he also had no-one on him in last quarter as many didnt because game was already lost this is when cloke went crazy - essendon were spend physically and emotionally. Can't wait to see how we go against a good side in Hawthorn - the only players who got guarded was didak and swan by slattery - pendles had johns at the beg. silly match up.

That doesn't change the fact that he had 7 clearances, the highest ont he ground, nor that he made 0 clangers, despite 10 touches being contested. I wonder if they count possessions as uncontested when he weaves out of traffic and easilly disposes it? I don't know how the Herald Sun determine what is contested.

Anyway, you can argue that stuff all day. How often do you see players like Chad Cornes, or Joel Corey get the easy uncontested touches? All the time. Corey obviously never gets attention, but Chad does seems to get away. It doesn't change the fact that they're GUNS just because every touch doesn't come from a hardball get.

mwalker
27 Apr 2008, 13:36
Its about quality, not quantity, mate. As for Pendles, he managed 16 possessions in the third quarter, so thats half his possession count. He was prolific in the first half but Heath Shaw's rebound out of half back in the first half was very damaging and had him as BOG at that stage of the game.

Really? I thought he butchered the ball heaps and was far from his best.

Obviously I was looking at a mirage that looked like Heath Shaw giving the ball straight to essendon a couple of times... My bad lol

I agree. Go back and watch the first quarter and the start of the second quarter when the game was still in the balance. Heath turned it over several times. There was a stage there I grimaced whenever he got the ball. Doesn't happen often for him and after half time he was back to his best.

PieLebo87
27 Apr 2008, 18:28
Guys, if his disposal is that bad, then he wouldnt have had Rama on him playing a defensive forward role, trying to take him out of the play. He was BOG in the first half. If he wasnt, then who was?

luvlicca
27 Apr 2008, 18:35
I thought we actually had a very good structure up forward after the first quarter. Having Rocca missing, didnt really hurt us in a sense, although I think we did miss his big body in patches. Things look good for the future I think when he does eventually retire!!

Kirby
27 Apr 2008, 19:05
[/B]

I agree. Go back and watch the first quarter and the start of the second quarter when the game was still in the balance. Heath turned it over several times. There was a stage there I grimaced whenever he got the ball. Doesn't happen often for him and after half time he was back to his best.

He turned it over directly on 2 occaisions, once by hands and once by foot. The one by hands I think was a case of mistaken identity the one by foot was a skill error. They were his only errors and he was otherwise excellent.

Btw, watching the replay Johnson barely hit a target and his kicking was as poor as usual. He didn't turn it directly over but he wastes so much.

Footy guru
27 Apr 2008, 19:46
Guys, if his disposal is that bad, then he wouldnt have had Rama on him playing a defensive forward role, trying to take him out of the play. He was BOG in the first half. If he wasnt, then who was?

His disposals were bad and he did kick it a few times straight to opposition just like he did against north last week in the goal square. I remember cringing with my mates as we had in our supercoach team we stated we are probably minus 8 by now when it was half time yes it had 16 possessions but some were ineffective then. An essendon supporter near us said it was swan who killed them in the second quarter he had 10 disposals and cleared the ball out of the centre a couple of times that resulted in goals - he had 22 possessions for 58% game time not bad going. He was the difference as when he was on something was happening. No wonder they kept him for rest next week as he will probably get tagged by sewell. I believe there was a cloud over him during the week too. By far he was best i would have to agree after watching replay with the essendon supporter near me. How many poss. would he have got if he played 80% of the game?

mdc
27 Apr 2008, 19:51
He turned it over directly on 2 occaisions, once by hands and once by foot. The one by hands I think was a case of mistaken identity the one by foot was a skill error. They were his only errors and he was otherwise excellent.

Btw, watching the replay Johnson barely hit a target and his kicking was as poor as usual. He didn't turn it directly over but he wastes so much.

It was more than that - there were two handballs in a row that I remember resulting in TOs. Champion Data has him down for 5 "clangers" I think, fwiw.