View Full Version : Rocca?

careyrips(I)
25 Apr 2008, 19:31
Does collingwood perform potentially more consistently without him? thoughts.

Chappy 35
25 Apr 2008, 19:34
I just posted about this in another thred :D

I think the fowardline looked Heaps better without him today, Looked very dangerous, and there is alot there to work with. :thumbsu:

careyrips(I)
25 Apr 2008, 19:35
yeh i think it will be interesting to see how the pies play next week if they dont hav him in the team again.

Dundalis
25 Apr 2008, 19:41
Rubbish. We played Essendon. Rocca would have kicked 6+ today against that defense. If Rocca isn't playing against Hawthorn they will have a field day against us.

smiddaz123
25 Apr 2008, 19:43
I actually thought we lacked another tall today. I would have liked him in there.

Just because we done doesn't mean people should be callin for him to get ____ed.

one_eye_pie
25 Apr 2008, 19:45
Same question ive been asking myself since the first quarter

last two games ive noticed we had no space in our forward 50.
Today all of a sudden, we could lead, we presented, we marked, we kicked goals.

We looked like a team for some reason, don't know if it was Rocca but last few weeks we have been falling down on the HF line and today we werent.

We shouldn't play him again, but it wont happen.

steviewonder36
25 Apr 2008, 19:48
Same question ive been asking myself since the first quarter

last two games ive noticed we had no space in our forward 50.
Today all of a sudden, we could lead, we presented, we marked, we kicked goals.

We looked like a team for some reason, don't know if it was Rocca but last few weeks we have been falling down on the HF line and today we werent.

We shouldn't play him again, but it wont happen.

We had space in our fwd line, because we played a rather poor Essendon.

It was a great win, but some perspective please.

Doctor Moffet
25 Apr 2008, 19:53
Absolute imbeciles. We couldn't take a mark inside 50 in the first quarter and a half. We only played well when the game opened up because Essendon apply no pressure. Play a decent side and you need a strong body in the forward 50 to at least bring the ball to ground. Our major problem is our delivery into 50 which only improved today because there was a lack of pressure from the opposition.

Krueger
25 Apr 2008, 19:54
Rocca can get ****ed.

Have out look at our past record when Rocca has not played and maybe you will retract that statetment you fool.

MagpieGirl_13
25 Apr 2008, 19:55
Not every team's defense is like Essendon's, most aren't that sh*t.
So if we don't play Rocca next week, when the defense is proably a lot better than Essendon's, I think some of our smaller forwards might struggle. That is where we need the bigger bodies.
One of the commentators made a comment during the game that with Rocca, he creates a contest & is able to get it down to our crumming players like Leon, Daisy etc. Where as Cloke isn't as good in the air as Rocca becuase Cloke is better on the lead.

With 2 big bodied forwards, Cloke on the lead running up the ground, then Rocca back closer to goals, it is a perfect combination. When they both fire, it is a great forward line. :thumbsu:

ralu
25 Apr 2008, 19:56
some very ignorant responses here. there were times today when rocca was needed to stand in the contest and create something. he is still crucial to us.

BUT....

having said this he can have his bad days. if this is the case i would throw him in the ruck for 5-6min bursts and play fraser on a wing or across a half forward flank. could be a good move if used.

Swanny36
25 Apr 2008, 20:08
some very ignorant responses here. there were times today when rocca was needed to stand in the contest and create something. he is still crucial to us.

BUT....

having said this he can have his bad days. if this is the case i would throw him in the ruck for 5-6min bursts and play fraser on a wing or across a half forward flank. could be a good move if used.
yeh thats my view on this particular subject, there were times when it was better without him and times where we needed him to crash the packs so daisy can get into the game more because he needs roccas crumbs to get his possessions which are so valuable to the team because he can do extroardinary things with the sherrin!!

PieLebo87
25 Apr 2008, 20:16
Rocca can get ****ed.

Mate, thats a disgraceful comment.

He will be a welcome return next week.

Ron
25 Apr 2008, 20:23
We looked lost without for a while there, thankfully we were playing a shit team so it didn't matter.

We will need him next week against the Hawks.

FadeAway
25 Apr 2008, 20:25
Anyone who bags Rocca should be ashamed of themselves!!!!!! We played a team that has not played in finals since 2003!!!!!!!

Rocca has kicked over 100 goals in the past 2 seasons!!! 10 goals in the finals last year!! GET OFF HIS BLOODY BACK!!!!! When we have a player that has kicked more than him over his career then we can start talking!!!!!

We are a better team with him, END OF STORY! Go back to the stats and check how many games we have lost and won without him!

He has been a great servent of our club!!! Ever since he did his achillies in 2005 he was never the same type of player...

daicos21
25 Apr 2008, 20:27
Rocca can get ****ed.
He won't hear u here,u can go to training and say it in his face.

MagpieGirl_13
25 Apr 2008, 20:30
He won't hear u here,u can go to training and say it in his face.

lol, & Rocca will put him on his @rse quick smart....:p:D

Snag Breac
25 Apr 2008, 20:59
lol, & Rocca will put him on his @rse quick smart....:p:D

No Maggie, I'll have to throw Rocca out of my way to get at the tosser.

Does anyone know if Rocca was out for form or for fitness?

Dundalis
25 Apr 2008, 21:04
I'm glad there are some intelligent people here. I'm sick of all the Rocca bashing. The Hawks will probably kill us next week anyway, but they will have a far easier time of it if Rocca is not playing.

Dundalis
25 Apr 2008, 21:05
No Maggie, I'll have to throw Rocca out of my way to get at the tosser.

Does anyone know if Rocca was out for form or for fitness?
Fitness

Gymnorhina tibic
25 Apr 2008, 21:19
It was a comfortable win without Pebs but I would put he margin down to Bombers missing Lucas, Davey and McVeigh and the Pies finally waking up - there were still too many times the forwards received the ball on the boundary line which is low % and something that is in our game less if Pebs plays.

Ickirus
25 Apr 2008, 21:21
I don't agree with all the Rocca bashing but I think we are more dangerous at the moment with a small forward line with Cloke and Medhurst as the main focus.

While he takes the best opposition back, that doesn't mean thats always a good thing.The problem with Rocca is he gets pantsied by any good full back and has no defensive pressure. He also calls for it far too much deep in the 50 when he has 2 opposition players on him, and while he lead in contested marks last year the amount of rebounds out of 50 by the opposition because we bomb it into him would be huge.

Though its up to the people delivering the ball to make the decision who to kick it to, they need to restain themselves from just bombing it to him every time.

Ron
25 Apr 2008, 21:24
I'm glad there are some intelligent people here. I'm sick of all the Rocca bashing. The Hawks will probably kill us next week anyway, but they will have a far easier time of it if Rocca is not playing.

I'm confident against the Hawks, we usually play well against them, and being at the G will help us, rather than at that other horrible place.

We'll need Harry O to have a big game though if we want to win, he will be the one on Franklin.

DJ Black @ White Blood
25 Apr 2008, 21:38
Rocca can get ****ed.
You are a ________, Take it back or ____ off and support another team. In my entire 41 years of life i have never heard a more discracfull comment from a so called supporter of this great club. Go get a mirror and have a good look at yourself

Paul.
25 Apr 2008, 21:48
Rocca can get ****ed.

mate, you're a peanut.

Pie eyed
25 Apr 2008, 22:31
"STANDARDISED ROCCA KNOCKA THREAD"

Guy can't cut a break....gets canned when he doesn't even play.

As posted by others....F**k off to another club more deserving of your lack of both footy smarts and loyalty.

Optimax
25 Apr 2008, 22:46
Rocca can get ****ed.
On behalf of big ant and real collingwood supporters.

You can get ____ed. hand back your memebership if you have one (doubtful) and go barrack for someone else you little un grateful prick.

Now collingwood great shoudl be told to go and get ____ed especially not by a ____ wit like you

Smoky
25 Apr 2008, 23:34
At CHF kicking goals from 60+ is where he should play. Leave the rest of the structure as it was today and Big Anf be a target on the end of the centre square.

Gymnorhina tibic
25 Apr 2008, 23:44
At CHF kicking goals from 60+ is where he should play. Leave the rest of the structure as it was today and Big Anf be a target on the end of the centre square.
Cloke's bomb from inside the square was a beauty

Gyroscope_182
26 Apr 2008, 00:38
Rocca is so vital to the structure and team balance, as well as giving leadership and experience by just sitting in the square.

What we now know, with Rusling injured and Reid failing in his first attempt, is that Rocca still isn't safe. Rusling's injury gave Rocca that importance, and key forward depth a shake. But we know, against a heavy tall defence (which Essendon had, in Michael, Fletcher and Ryder), small players are more than handy.

Paul Medhurst is clean in contested situations to dominate out of the square. Gary Ablett did it with similar size. Dale Thomas, Alan Didak, Leon Davis can all take good solid marks as they all have good hands or have a good leap, therefore, one asset to play tall.

kevind
26 Apr 2008, 01:21
Rocca can get ****ed.

Mate that is a highly offensive post. Anthony has worked his butt off for the team and was our only real physical presence for at least 8 years. Yeah, he's been out of form and it may be his last year now that the pace of the game has gone up again but if you want to critisize him at least try and make it relevant and intelligent.

And be thankful he played for the mighty black and white.

Vampire013
26 Apr 2008, 01:40
I have a feeling that Rocca has been carrying an injury for a few weeks.
He was awesome in first few games and then went missing.
Problem is that no one at club wants to acknowledge that.
They play him even when he is unfit and he has bad games.
As a result of these shockers he puts in, he gets flamed by everyone.
If Rocca is 100% fit he is hard to stop.
Let's just hope we have in the side fully fit against Hawthorn and Geelong.
He can be the difference b/w winning and losing.
I agree forward line looked OK today and lots of space.
That is due to Essendon being unaccountable.

Jabso
26 Apr 2008, 01:51

No.

It went alright today, but then again so did everything else. As soon as the midfield delivery goes bad and their confidence is shot, it's the likes of Rocca that straighten us up. Small forwards just cannot keep up this sort of form. We had dream matchups too. Fletcher is able to play on small players as well as tall players and should have been used in the backline. Essendon, no offense to these players, have a bunch of downhill skiiers as small defenders, even the only guy who did a great shutdown job today in Lovett-Murray, his best attribute is his ability to get the ball and rebound. We are not going to get a dream run like this again.

kemosabe
26 Apr 2008, 04:28
I have a feeling that Rocca has been carrying an injury for a few weeks.

I recall watching the replay of the North Melbourne game and Rocca really grimaced when landing after a marking attempt. I expected the cameras to focus on him during the next pause in play as it was very noticable....but it wasn't to be.
I'll have to dig it out and have another look at it (much as I hate to)

Perhaps, Rocca is still troubled by stress fractures that he had late last year (was operated on Grand Final Day)

WakeUpTaz
26 Apr 2008, 10:41
our forwards played well without rocca but like someone said it was essendon and our forwards aren't ready yet for life without Rocca, going into a match with Cloke as your only tall is suicide against good team, at least Rocca can draw a Rutten/Glass type player
even if he stands around and does nothing, he might end up with a couple of goals

CENTERMAN
26 Apr 2008, 11:24
You would never go in without him. There's nothing wrong with Rocca on the bench if you want to try a smaller option, but never leave him out. It's a simple answer, you can have the best of both worlds.

pillager
26 Apr 2008, 11:47
There is nothing wrong with Rocca. Today's win did illustrate something though...

When the spearhead is missing we use the best option up forward instead of just bombing long to Rocca.

Geelong are so successfull because they have more than 8 or 9 goalkickers every game, something to think about.

pongo_3931
26 Apr 2008, 11:48
You would never go in without him. There's nothing wrong with Rocca on the bench if you want to try a smaller option, but never leave him out. It's a simple answer, you can have the best of both worlds.

Good call.

I think one of the benefits of Rocca is that he normally sucks up a couple of defenders leaving other players to play loose.

The down side is that our midfeilders seem to aim for him in the forward line when better options are present.

I'm a Rocca fan but would like to see a few more games without him. The day where he wont be in our line up will come soon and I'm interested to see how we miss the big fella over a few games.

CENTERMAN
26 Apr 2008, 11:56
Good call.

I think one of the benefits of Rocca is that he normally sucks up a couple of defenders leaving other players to play loose.

The down side is that our midfeilders seem to aim for him in the forward line when better options are present.

I'm a Rocca fan but would like to see a few more games without him. The day where he wont be in our line up will come soon and I'm interested to see how we miss the big fella over a few games.

It is something to think about sooner than later. We need to throw the cheque book at J.Brown again.

PieLebo87
26 Apr 2008, 12:59
It is something to think about sooner than later. We need to throw the cheque book at J.Brown again.

.....or we can maintain over 3-4 good players who will chime in with 3+ goals a game for an even contribution.

Like the great teams do. Eg. Geelong, Lions, WCE, Swans. Notice a pattern? No need to throw the cheque book at anyone. Im not interested in offering 1/4 of my salary cap to a 26yo.

sharpie
26 Apr 2008, 17:32

That's funny - i was thinking I might come onto the pies board and pose the same question.

i think given the speed of thr game - rocca may be being left behind

terrific servant to the club - but not sure he will be in your best 22 going forward

Smoky
26 Apr 2008, 17:36
That's funny - i was thinking I might come onto the pies board and pose the same question.

terrific servant to the club - but not sure he will be in your best 22 going forward

Fully fit he is easily. I think Collingwood has relied on him too much in the past and made him play when he's not 100%. I think Collingwood need to have the faith in the other options when he has niggling injuries and let Rocca recover from these injuries properly. I dont think this has been done in the past and when your not 100% nowdays no matter who you are the game is just too quick for you.

Frederlick
26 Apr 2008, 21:14
A lot of people on here have decided that the fact that Rocca didn't play is why we won. They don't have a smick! Essendons' defence was absolutely disfriigensgraceful, and the fact that Rocca didn't play did not contribute 0.0000000000000000001% to the way our forwards did what they wanted. Trav Cloke has been our worst performing KPP this year, until yesterday, why is that do you think? Don't have to be Jock McHale to work out that given Essendon's diabolical propensity to overuse the footy it finally gave our followers a chance to actually put the ball to where it is supposed to be, the fwd line. If Trav had been injured yesterday and not played would people be calling for him to be dropped? BTW Rocca is the highest contested ball winning fwd in the comp, ahead of even overhyped 'hard men' like Jonathan Brown, so drop him at your peril against teams like Sydney and Hawthorn.

People, one of the best FBs of this generation started in Essendons' fwd line FFS! Did anyone actually notice the abortion that was Essendons' kick ins from FB? Hellooooo, all this was caused by Rocca's abscence was it? Wait till we play a team with some fast monster backs and a mid field that is delivering. How long will smaller bitch forwards with less than 50 games and a chest like Rove McManus' last without a gorilla like Rocca to knock some heads do you think?

Snag Breac
26 Apr 2008, 21:25
I recall watching the replay of the North Melbourne game and Rocca really grimaced when landing after a marking attempt. I expected the cameras to focus on him during the next pause in play as it was very noticable....but it wasn't to be.
I'll have to dig it out and have another look at it (much as I hate to)

Perhaps, Rocca is still troubled by stress fractures that he had late last year (was operated on Grand Final Day)

I was at that game and he was clearly limping for part of the time. Why won't the club just say what's wrong with him and let him just rest?

Anth_5
26 Apr 2008, 21:31
I think rocca must play if he is fit,
in saying that i think he will play at CHF and not deep in the square.
I thought Cloke looked more at home playing deeper, and for him to developed more he needs to be played there.
so in saying that i'd only bring in Rocca if he is 100% fit
Stop knocking Rocca, he is still very much needed in our team
one game against a shit opposition and your calling for rocca's head?
not on :mad:

MagpieGirl_13
26 Apr 2008, 23:12
I think that now Rocca has missed a game, when he is back & 100% fit again, he should fire!
He knows what it's like on the other side of the fence & I can imagine that his desire to come back and play will burn deep. He should fire when he's back and fit!! :thumbsu:

Frederlick
27 Apr 2008, 12:25

Funny Sharpie, I too was thinking.... what useless little jellyfish that nearly everybody who plays in West Coasts fwd line are now that they aren't being spoon fed by a good mid field. Noone would be in our best fwd line, thats right, not one. In fact Tarrant would come back in before anyone from that bunch of disorganised tail gunners was given a role at Pie land! :thumbsu:

Couldn't be aresd going on your crap site to post it though. Thanks for coming here, take the message back, everybody is laughing at WC as your whole disease ridden carcass of a club club is left behind to rot on the bitter vine that is Perth. The 'great servants' of your club snorted their future away, and will be reviled forever as having driven one of the great modern players from Perth and left you afloat in a sea of sheizen, so how about you worry about that instead of weak little snipes on here at Rocca disguised as some sort of input? :D:D

da_ilks
27 Apr 2008, 16:00
Geez he has a couple of bad games and misses one and idiots are already calling for him not to be picked again?

I'd rather Rocca was in to take the best defender and provide more crumbing opportunities for our small forwards, but, I do hope our midfielders learnt a lesson from Friday and instead of just bombing it into Rocca like they normally do when he plays, try to pinpoint the best option available. Worked a treat on Friday. If none is found, then bomb it in long.

Pie eyed
27 Apr 2008, 16:36
ROCCA

As long as he can take contested marks and kick goals for Collingwood I will be a Rocca fan.

We were far too quick to let Sav go....period.

Making the same mistake with Pebs would be criminal.

Rocca=Collingwood=success

The Royal Sampler
27 Apr 2008, 18:09
Our record without Rocca in the past 12 months;

2 wins, 1 loss. The loss was to Hawthorn last year, the wins to St. Kilda last year and now Essendon.

Maybe he isn't as crucial to the side as he used to be? :confused:

Axl the great
27 Apr 2008, 18:51
I would think he is still crucial for sure as Essendon were that bad we could have had our backline in the forward line and they would have kicked a winning score. Good sides will be a whole different kettle of fish. However we do have to plan for life without him but when do you bite the bullet and change it, Now? and upset the team balance for this year or later when it will take time to gell definetly a hard call.

Kirby
27 Apr 2008, 19:00

2 wins, 1 loss. The loss was to Hawthorn last year, the wins to St. Kilda last year and now Essendon.

He clearly isn't and thank God for that!

Our supporters need to accept reality and that is that the game is leaving players like Anthony behind. You can no longer carry players that have no second efforts and no defensive pressure.

He has been a great servant of the club but his time is close to up. We have a better, more mobile gorilla who goes by the name of Cloke and he is the one our future depends upon.

I'm not saying Rocca should never play or anything like that, and he'll probably still kick a few bags, but his time is nearly up.

Optimax
27 Apr 2008, 20:21

One win was in rain pissign down all day, so big forwards were useless
second win against a side that provided no pressure through the midfield, rocca would have played well with that service as well.

Our only loss against a strong bodied well drilled hawthorn side, whom we come up against this week. I have no doubt that if rocca is injured it helps the hawks more than us, Croad gets trav and we have a real defensive team to deal with our smalls.

Rocca will play if it, all this proves is we dont need him to play at 50% any more

the_fresh
27 Apr 2008, 20:36
I think we moved the ball into the 50 better without him.
The thing with Rocca is, if he doesn't get hit up early on the lead he cracks the sh!ts and stands 15 out from goal calling it long.
That then stuffs up Cloke, Medders, Didak, Davis & co.

We looked bloody great on friday without him. The thing tha really got me was when we didn't have the ball, every player were able to chase and that stopped their run, they tried to handball out of trouble but we were everywhere.

Teams like Geelong trouble us with the run out of the backline, Rocca brings us down against them and I say we don't play him then, it'll make their back 6 accountable.

Rocca IMO is too slow for the game today, he can't go from lead up to chase quick enough which costs us too many times.

Pie eyed
27 Apr 2008, 20:37

Hardly damning statistics. If it was 5-1 either way you could take something from it possibly.

What is our win/loss like over the last 6 years without Rocca?
That's how long he has been on his way out.

Subtemperate
27 Apr 2008, 21:18
...Still seems to be out performing Nathan Thompson though...

Typhoon
27 Apr 2008, 21:40
If we are going to be a serious finals contender Rocca has to play. Essendon put no pressure on our forwards last Friday after 1/4 time and I reckon anyone could have kicked 20+ goals against them. You have to have at least two big strong forwards and we do with Rocca and Cloke. When the Lions won their 3 premierships they had both Lynch and Brown playing in the same side and if you look at Geelong last year they had both Mooney and Johnson causing grief for everyone.

Subtemperate
27 Apr 2008, 22:02
Ahuh.... genius you beat us by 7 points, and we handed it to you. Don't get too carried away with yourself. If you beat us by 100 points then maybe you would have something there.

Should note Rocca did stuff all in that match and we still only lost by 7 points.

Barwick17
27 Apr 2008, 22:10
Rocca can be both great and sh1t. I think its simple -

Rocca must never play injured as that when he just stands in the goalsquare and tries to out wrestle his opponent (ie kangaroos 5 free kicks against, carlton = pathetic and examples at end of year last year)

Having him just stand in the goal square does not work. If injured, rest him and bring in another forward unitl he is right. Showed against bombers that it works, although their quality is questionable