View Full Version : Silly Medhurst Rumour

M-Train
25 Apr 2008, 19:58
Everyone..... thought I let you with some information;

On the bus ride home, I was speaking to some off Medhurst's friends from WA, as they were here for today's game. They got tickets off Medhurst and they said this is Medhurst's final year at Collingwood!!!!!!! (i was like WTF)

Back when the Tarrant trade was done, He was only signed for 2 years with Collingwood and part of the deal was when this contract was done, that after the 2 years he would be traded back to WA.......

I severely hope this is not the case!!! MEDHURST IS A STAR!!!

Swanny36
25 Apr 2008, 20:02

On the bus ride home, I was speaking to some off Medhurst's friends from WA, as they were here for today's game. They got tickets off Medhurst and they said this is Medhurst's final year at Collingwood!!!!!!! (i was like WTF)

Back when the Tarrant trade was done, He was only signed for 2 years with Collingwood and part of the deal was when this contract was done, that after the 2 years he would be traded back to WA.......

seriously mate why bullshit!! do you honestly reckon he will get traded at the end of the year after today?
he will never want to miss an ANZAC day match again he LOVED it!!

vinnie_vegas69
25 Apr 2008, 20:06
That's so ridiculous... Why would he possibly want to leave?

I can't imagine he'd even ACCEPT a trade back to Fremantle, and why would he want to go to West Coast? He's playing the best, most consistent footy of his career, and he's becoming one of the most popular players at the club.

This rumour has as much legitimacy as Al Capone's used furniture business.

Lockyer24
25 Apr 2008, 20:08
Sounds like some muppets winding you up pal

mdc
25 Apr 2008, 20:12
It's more concerning that you believed them.

Smoky
25 Apr 2008, 20:15
Why didnt he ask for a one year contract? or ask to get traded at the end of last year?

M-Train
25 Apr 2008, 20:19
Im not winding up anyone.... i'm just as bemused as you guys!!

Just giving you information I received of Paul Medhurst's mates!

FadeAway
25 Apr 2008, 20:22
It's more concerning that you believed them.

Agree!!! Total rubbish!

Paddywackers
25 Apr 2008, 20:22

LOL some of the stuff I read on bigfooty. Medhurst will resign even if that is the truth. Why would he leave Collingwood when he is so loved. LOL :thumbsu:

Smoky
25 Apr 2008, 20:29
The funny thing is Freo would probably try to trade Tarrant back to us for Medhurst!

They threw him in as a last minute set of steak knives and they wouldnt be able to give us Tarrant back!!!

kevind
25 Apr 2008, 20:38

Ok, if we have to..... we'll trade him for Pavlich and Palmer. Seriously though, I have heard that he misses WA, but after the last couple of weeks and particularly today......why would he want to leave and go back to either of two clubs in dissarray.

Chase the Ace
25 Apr 2008, 20:42
Im not winding up anyone.... i'm just as bemused as you guys!!

Just giving you information I received of Paul Medhurst's mates!

Yes, but the other part of it is that they have to give us Pavlich when Medders goes back.
Relax its all part of the grand plan

Dead Eye Didak
25 Apr 2008, 20:42
This is the biggest heap of shite l have heard this year so far. These people on the bus came up to you, started speaking to you and said we're Paul Medhursts friends......you must be very gullable..........

Anyway on the Tarrant trade, there is word he is keen to be traded back to Victoria and he wants back at Collingwood. Now do we take him back ?My thoughts go back to Croad, when he got off loaded to Freo, and came back to the Hawks a much better player. Do we use that as a guideline when Taz is up for trade.

smiddaz123
25 Apr 2008, 20:44
Why is this still open?

Smoky
25 Apr 2008, 20:46
This is the biggest heap of shite l have heard this year so far. These people on the bus came up to you, started speaking to you and said we're Paul Medhursts friends......you must be very gullable..........

Anyway on the Tarrant trade, there is word he is keen to be traded back to Victoria and he wants back at Collingwood. Now do we take him back ?My thoughts go back to Croad, when he got off loaded to Freo, and came back to the Hawks a much better player. Do we use that as a guideline when Taz is up for trade.

He's a worse player now... Please do not take him back.

25 Apr 2008, 20:50
/close

OniAu
25 Apr 2008, 20:51
i still love tarrant, and still would love to see him as a collingwood boy. but i dont think we should or would take him back.

heart says yes, brain says no

Invigoration
25 Apr 2008, 20:52
Medders loves the black and white, simple as that

Dundalis
25 Apr 2008, 21:00
Fine let's trade him back to Freo. He's worth far more now than he was back then. Palmer and Mundy thanks.

OniAu
25 Apr 2008, 21:14
id honestly be sad if medders got traded away from the pies

DJ Black @ White Blood
25 Apr 2008, 21:16
That's so ridiculous... Why would he possibly want to leave?

I can't imagine he'd even ACCEPT a trade back to Fremantle, and why would he want to go to West Coast? He's playing the best, most consistent footy of his career, and he's becoming one of the most popular players at the club.

This rumour has as much legitimacy as Al Capone's used furniture business.
Now im spewing, i brought a table and set of chairs of Al Capones used furniture store a few weeks ago. He said it was well worth the 2 thousand dollars i paid for it.

Bay Pie
25 Apr 2008, 21:18
Now im spewing, i brought a table and set of chairs of Al Capones used furniture store a few weeks ago. He said it was well worth the 2 thousand dollars i paid for it.

LOL:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Medders may have said that when he was initially traded. I'd be surprised if he still felt that way though.

MagpieGirl_13
25 Apr 2008, 21:25
Yeah, nah..... I can't see him going anywhere soon....
http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/3726/picture47uj7.png (http://imageshack.us)

twoforjoy
25 Apr 2008, 21:37
can't see it happening, the bloke is in career best form, loves the big stage, seems to love playing for the pies and has won over even the most anti-medhurst trade pies supporters. has gone from being a maligned nobody in a under-peforming club to cementing an in the best 10 possie in the best club in the land and is on target for AA form. one of my favourites for turning his game around. im sure we will chuck a few more $$$ his way and they will be $$$ well spent and well deserved.

Pie eyed
25 Apr 2008, 21:40
I heard from a friend of Paul Medhurst's 2nd Grade PE teacher that Medhurst has been traded to a Gaelic Football side for a dozen Marty Clarke clones and a Penny Black stamp. :eek::eek::eek: Go figure?

I am sure it is true because my source was not very drunk yet. I can't recollect if I was.

Thommo 42
25 Apr 2008, 21:47
I'd take Taz back if he was free

Paul.
25 Apr 2008, 21:49

Pigs were caught flying this morning, and I'm the queen of England.

Gymnorhina tibic
25 Apr 2008, 21:51
He looked happy to be there today and his team-mates seemed to have genuine respect when his name was announced. If your rumor is true he may have changed his tune since then ut we are willing to talk now his value has increased.

kevind
25 Apr 2008, 21:52

Oh NO!!!! You too.........I bought the dining table and lovely little settee

adzarani
25 Apr 2008, 21:53

Oh well i guess we could do with pavlich..... Medhurst will be worth more than him by the end of the season if he keeps going the way he's going

kevind
25 Apr 2008, 21:54

A KEY forward who has only ever averaged 1 goal a game. NO THANKS!!!!

Thommo 42
25 Apr 2008, 21:55
A KEY forward who has only ever averaged 1 goal a game. NO THANKS!!!!
He's not a key forward, and never was. We just played him there because our list was thin.

Would be happy to give an injury free Taz a run on half-foward or up on the wing.

kevind
25 Apr 2008, 22:04
He's not a key forward, and never was. We just played him there because our list was thin.

Would be happy to give an injury free Taz a run on half-foward or up on the wing.

I think is should be club policy to not recruit anyone who is a poor kick. If you played him on a wing, I would hate to be a forward.

Thommo 42
25 Apr 2008, 22:08
until recently, his field kicking was generally at a reasonable standard, he just has the yips in front of goals.

Just like Cloke last year was a solid field kick, until you put him in front of the big sticks.

rand corp
25 Apr 2008, 22:30
I've got a mate who reckons he knows God, he told me that Medhurst thanks God every night for getting him outta Freo and getting him to Collingwood.

1eye
25 Apr 2008, 23:09
The funny thing is Freo would probably try to trade Tarrant back to us for Medhurst!

They threw him in as a last minute set of steak knives and they wouldnt be able to give us Tarrant back!!!

Throw in pavlich and I'll take it. Tarrant in the ressie's though!:)

Smoky
25 Apr 2008, 23:30
I wouldnt want Tarrant back under any circumstance. He walked out of a club that bent over backwards for him. He is a negative force.

Medhurst will play for us for another 6 or 7 seasons. Medhurst has seen how the other side lives now, he could never go back to play for Freo.

Gyroscope_182
26 Apr 2008, 00:32
Were they wearing Essendon scarfs?

Ibbotson, Palmer and Tarrant for Medhurst

scrimma
26 Apr 2008, 00:38
yeah and chris judds nephews best friends brother told me judd is going to gold coast at the end of this year..

Subtemperate
26 Apr 2008, 00:50
I heard from my fathers sisters postmans doorman that Medhurst actually is hoping to be traded to the Atlanta Falcons just to get away from stupid rumours....

Jabso
26 Apr 2008, 01:56
until recently, his field kicking was generally at a reasonable standard, he just has the yips in front of goals.

Just like Cloke last year was a solid field kick, until you put him in front of the big sticks.

Tarrant's field kicking especially into the 50 is well above AFL standard, it's actually very good.

Thommo 42
26 Apr 2008, 11:02
I wouldnt want Tarrant back under any circumstance. He walked out of a club that bent over backwards for him. He is a negative force.

Medhurst will play for us for another 6 or 7 seasons. Medhurst has seen how the other side lives now, he could never go back to play for Freo.

Not sure he walked out mate, I think it was most likely a mutual split.

Tarrant's field kicking especially into the 50 is well above AFL standard, it's actually very good.
I agree, but I couldn't be bothered arguing with the trolls.

CENTERMAN
26 Apr 2008, 11:07

Couldn't agree more. I don't have stats on his assists (by foot ) at collingwood, but he was deadly at hitting targets inside 50. Terrible in front of goal though.

Somebody
26 Apr 2008, 11:17
Yeah, nah..... I can't see him going anywhere soon....
http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/3726/picture47uj7.png (http://imageshack.us)
Nice one MG brat!

EVO8Gold
26 Apr 2008, 11:31

Not even for free. I wouldn’t have Taz back even if his only responsibility was doorman at the Lexus Centre - He would probably end up mooning the supporters when returning to the Lexus Centre after a win.

For all the support and faith both the club and supports gave Taz, all we got in return was a loner who showed rare signs of brilliance, poor team spirit and a lack of discipline.

We need Taz back like a hole in the head:thumbsd:

Thommo 42
26 Apr 2008, 11:35
Supporters gave him no support, which was half the problem. He played on one leg in 04/05 and we expected AA form.

EVO8Gold
26 Apr 2008, 11:50
Supporters gave him no support, which was half the problem. He played on one leg in 04/05 and we expected AA form.

I have been to enough games to think differently.

We were never going to get get AA performance from a guy with C- application.

Smoky
26 Apr 2008, 11:54
Not even for free. I wouldn’t have Taz back even if his only responsibility was doorman at the Lexus Centre - He would probably end up mooning the supporters when returning to the Lexus Centre after a win.

For all the support and faith both the club and supports gave Taz, all we got in return was a loner who showed rare signs of brilliance, poor team spirit and a lack of discipline.

We need Taz back like a hole in the head:thumbsd:

Well said.

The support that was shown to him during adverse times was second to none and he obviously thought he could be treated even better at Freo. Dont tell me he went to a WA to get away from the press... that is a joke. He a spoilt brat who has now realized how good he had it at Collingwood and would expect the same treatment. He has done nothing to desreve the treatment he expects, that treatment should be saved to those who appreciate it and more importantly have the mental capacity actually pay the club back for it.

Smoky
26 Apr 2008, 11:59

Averages 1 goal a game! Excuses, excuses, excuses... Dont tell us he got no support, how many damn times I watched that guy line up for goals and kick points, lose his cool, play undisciplined football... he was "our great white Hope" - he is mentally weak and couldnt handle massive amount of faith that was put in him.

AWESOMENESSDUDENSS
26 Apr 2008, 12:04
Agreed.

EVO8Gold
26 Apr 2008, 13:16
Averages 1 goal a game! Excuses, excuses, excuses... Dont tell us he got no support, how many damn times I watched that guy line up for goals and kick points, lose his cool, play undisciplined football... he was "our great white Hope" - he is mentally weak and couldnt handle massive amount of faith that was put in him.

110% Spot On

Daicos Mullets
26 Apr 2008, 19:03
Medders has said a few times that he misses his family, he's made no secret of it. I can't see him wanting to leave the Pies though. He's playing career best footy & has earned the respect of Malthouse, his fellow players & Pies fans alike.

Bonuspoints
26 Apr 2008, 20:03
Its probably a case of him saying that he'd come back to WA after his career is wrapped up. At that stage he probably wasn't confident that he had much time left. Well done to him for turning it around playing some killer footy.

Pie eyed
27 Apr 2008, 00:39
Medhurst was interviewed on ABC before the Carlton debacle.
He spoke well and was pretty frank about missing his family(the only negative in his words). He was very humble about his Medal and his personal performance yesterday.
He was fairly explicit in his comments that he was very happy at Collingwood now after some early homesickness last season.
He said he was really getting on with the other players now and felt part of a tight knit group which is very even and which plays for each other.

Despite the fact he was asked several times to nominate how Fremantle's culture differed from that at Collingwood he had only good words for Freo which I think shows the character of the man. He would be entitled to have a bit of a swipe but did not even entertain the thought.

It, the interview, only served to increase my liking for Medhurst.

Kirby
27 Apr 2008, 13:40
Yes, he comes across as a very humble, intelligent and considered man. It's hard not to like him.

I heard from inside the club last year that he is popular amongst the players. I'm told that most of the time that the players have no idea what he is talking about!

Medders_7
27 Apr 2008, 19:44

As a relative of Paul Medhurst, I can say YOU are full of SHIT my friend.
Paul is going nowhere.

Magnus the Magpie
28 Apr 2008, 09:41
I think it's probably unlikely he'd move - would not be good for either him or us. However, you can't ever discount the 'go home' factor - particularly with WA players.

I hope you are on the money Medders 7.

jazz
28 Apr 2008, 11:43
No way the Collingwood admin, who are top notch, would let him go back if they wanted him to stay.

Watching him play, there's no way that he would want to do back. He's having fun on the field and fulfilling his potential.

M-Train
28 Apr 2008, 18:46
As a relative of Paul Medhurst, I can say YOU are full of SHIT my friend.
Paul is going nowhere.

I never said I wanted Medhurst to go.... READ the whole thing!!

Medhurst is quickly becoming one of my favourite players..... I just wanted to see if anyone knew anything about this?

I hope he stays, I reckon he is probably the inform small forward in the comp. Let's hope he continues his form as he is quickly becoming a STAR!!

4#Didak#4
28 Apr 2008, 18:56
Obviously this rumour is garbage, however I can understand if he would want to go back home.

I have no problem with trading him back just for a high draft pick (lets face it WC & Freo bothe will have these).

I have always said buy low & sell high so if we get the right price & he wants home then so be it. Draft picks will be as rare as hens teeth in a year or two so am not opposed to getting more young talent ASAP.

Koldkards
29 Apr 2008, 13:29
Obviously this rumour is garbage, however I can understand if he would want to go back home.

I have no problem with trading him back just for a high draft pick (lets face it WC & Freo bothe will have these).

I have always said buy low & sell high so if we get the right price & he wants home then so be it. Draft picks will be as rare as hens teeth in a year or two so am not opposed to getting more young talent ASAP.

Would have thought the idea of high draft picks was to get gun players... looks like Medhurst is quickly becoming a freak... trading him off for someone who might end up being average at best (see graham polak pick 4 and countless other examples) would be the height of stupidity...

Aristotel
29 Apr 2008, 19:44
I heard....Medhurst has nightmares where he wakes-up wearing a purple jumper with an anchor on the front.

:rolleyes: