View Full Version : Well done

drewie_rama
25 Apr 2008, 20:23
well played today by the pies
Apart from the first quarter, probably one of the most uninspiring anzac day games, but oh well
There was one thing that stood out for me today, just how far off essendon are from becoming a half decent side.
Collingwoods efforts and pressure when they dont have the ball is first class, essendons is abysmal
Classic example, kick ins, how much trouble did essendon have? and it wasnt due to poor kicks, it was due to collingwood being disciplined enough to stick to a tight zone and going man on man up the ground
The other way? Collingwood had loose players and bought the ball out easily every single time, just a small example which i think typifies the difference in how hard the two sides work
You get that consistent effort every week it will take you a long way. At least to another prelim, and who knows, this may be your year

Swanny36
25 Apr 2008, 20:38
Apart from the first quarter, probably one of the most uninspiring anzac day games, but oh well
There was one thing that stood out for me today, just how far off essendon are from becoming a half decent side.
Collingwoods efforts and pressure when they dont have the ball is first class, essendons is abysmal
Classic example, kick ins, how much trouble did essendon have? and it wasnt due to poor kicks, it was due to collingwood being disciplined enough to stick to a tight zone and going man on man up the ground
The other way? Collingwood had loose players and bought the ball out easily every single time, just a small example which i think typifies the difference in how hard the two sides work
You get that consistent effort every week it will take you a long way. At least to another prelim, and who knows, this may be your year
thanks mate good on you for having the balls to come on the collingwood board and congratulate us on a good win...top stuff :thumbsu:

CENTERMAN
25 Apr 2008, 20:43

Thanks here too buddy, but dont be too hard on em you had a few missing.

johncitizen
25 Apr 2008, 20:52

We looked just as bad against Carlton. Once Lucas, Mcveigh and Davey are back you will be heaps better. I didn't think Knights coaching strategy worked although at one stage early on it looked very threatening with Fletcher taking a few marks. Once the tide turned he should have put Fletcher and Michael back into defence and leave Lloyd at FF. Just my opinion :thumbsu:

Gymnorhina tibic
25 Apr 2008, 21:34
A bit passive agressive but cheers, I reckon Bombers are headed in the right direction but undermanned today and need a Plan B if their "fast game" isn't on. 'Till next year, what a great event!

Marklar_33
25 Apr 2008, 21:38
Much like the Bulldogs circa 2006, although not quite

I do see it getting worse for Essendon before it gets better, because they still rely on older KPPs, Ryder excepted, although he had a shocker hey?

Rohan25
26 Apr 2008, 01:16

It inspired me. And I bet you guys weren't calling it uninspiring when you beat us by 11 goals a few years back.

pera08
26 Apr 2008, 03:24
Thanks here too buddy, but dont be too hard on em you had a few missing.

We had a few missing as well: Rocca, Reid, Rusling, Burns
A few handy players!
Essendon did have some quality players out but it probably wasnt going to earn another 73 points!

thatday
26 Apr 2008, 12:20
Thanks, great sportsmanship to come on here and congratulate us, too bad about the players you guys had out. See you in Rd 17:):thumbsu:

Lazyboy
26 Apr 2008, 12:29
Our side was just as young if not younger than the bombers.

Thomas
Pendles
Brown
Goldsack
Wellingham
Cook
Woody
Cloke
Clarke

So its a fair effort to get over them by 70 odd.

drewie_rama
26 Apr 2008, 14:33
It inspired me. And I bet you guys weren't calling it uninspiring when you beat us by 11 goals a few years back.

difference being that the difference was about 14 points at 3/4 time in that game

Rohan25
26 Apr 2008, 17:44
difference being that the difference was about 14 points at 3/4 time in that game

25 points actually