View Full Version : Gutted

legitimatic
26 Apr 2008, 01:55
Just got home and am absolutely gutted, we took it right up to the top team tonight, and to their credit came back twice, but I have rarely seen such a shocking display of umpiring, I thought the same rules applied to both teams?

Pav missing the winning goal by the width of a hair, I can honestly say the boys played their hearts out tonight and to come away with a loss is gutting.

Loudest crowd I've ever been involved with too almost, incredible atmosphere.

I hate Geelong.

Yello Mit
26 Apr 2008, 01:57
When Pavlich just missed that shot at goal with about 25-30 seconds to go, my head was in my hands.

We were sooooo close to ending Geelong unbeliveable winning streak.

NiGHTFuRY
26 Apr 2008, 01:59
The umpiring was a kick in the guts...

Yello Mit
26 Apr 2008, 02:00
Tell me about it.

That free to Ablett against Carr was an absolute joke. Ablett milked that love-tap as much as he possibly could.

And one point, I wasn't even sure if Carr touched him.

Cameron_K
26 Apr 2008, 02:03
I have never been so gutted ever, I think half of me died tonight. We took it up to the top side, threw everything we had at them and still got beaten.

The season is officially shot, its over :(

numchuks
26 Apr 2008, 02:05
The umpire stuffed up by recalling your last kick.

That shaved about 15 seconds off the clock.

Very stiff. Thought you were robbed in the end.

pinkus maximus
26 Apr 2008, 02:06
we are now 1-5 and virtually out of the race for the 8

that hurts more

Haydos

That shaved off about 15 seconds off the clock.

Yeah that was very dodgy. Was easy 15s lost at the end there. It wouldnt have mattered in the end as Geelong took the mark and would have wasted that 15s easily.

Was still very dodgy timekeeping though.

PapaJ
Tell me about it.

That free to Ablett against Carr was an absolute joke. Ablett milked that love-tap as much as he possibly could.

And one point, I wasn't even sure if Carr touched him.

If you're talking the second 1/4, I think it was Crowley?

But what an effort by the boys - the better side for 3/4 of the game, but Geelong showed us why they are the top team. Their 1/4 (late in the 2nd and early in the 4th) was just so skillful and damaging that it was enough to give them the lead. But we still had the game with just a never-say die surge at the end, and Pav with the kick that could have won it - bit like Didak last week, you would back it to go in nearly every time (though Pavs was way harder). Arrrrgh!!

Rob
The umpiring wasn't that bad. They tended to let it go most times, although we did seem to be on the wrong end of a lot more 50-50's. That Ablett dive was downright pathetic, but we shouldn't have given him the excuse to dive in the first place. 2 off the ball free kicks wew gave away in the 2nd quarter that were completely unneccesary - and they changed the momentum in the game.
And by ____ I felt like shit when the siren went.

TOA.
26 Apr 2008, 02:07

That shaved about 15 seconds off the clock.

It was 8 seconds apparantly but Taylor took the mark so its probably not relevant. Should never have happened though.

(this is my last post on the Freo board tonight, dont get to antsy guys)

pinkus maximus
26 Apr 2008, 02:08
just imagine what pav will be feeling

his kick never looked like missing until the last 5 or so metres

Yello Mit
26 Apr 2008, 02:09
If you're talking the second 1/4, I think it was Crowley?
Nah, it was Carr. Crowley was near0by, but he was about a metre or so away, so he couldn't reach Ablett.

I think Carr threw a tiny little elbow into the side of Ablett's ribs, but Ablett acted like he got shot.

chook2734
26 Apr 2008, 02:12
we are now 1-5 and virtually out of the race for the 8

that hurts more

We've had a pretty tough draw so far. The next month is a little less brutal. If we can take the good bits out of tonight and continue on, we will win more than we lose.

The turn around in attitude from the Richmond game has been impressive. We just need to keep it up and we will snare a win sooner rather than later.

Crowley is back. He is at his best when he is in someone's face all day. Sandilands is playing like we all hoped he one day could.
Ibbotson is superb.
Headland back in, along with a fit Black or O'Brien and we are not looking too bad.

Pyro666
26 Apr 2008, 02:13
I have never been so gutted ever, I think half of me died tonight. We took it up to the top side, threw everything we had at them and still got beaten.

The season is officially shot, its over :(Keep your faith, champ! If you ask me, your season has only just started. Tonight's performance may have shown some glimpses of what is yet to come. There would be a lot of belief in the playing and coaching group after tonight's defeat. If the players know that they can take it to the best team in the competition, I reckon it might have a positive effect.

Hang in there! Still 16 rounds for you to make a dash towards the finals.

PapaJ
26 Apr 2008, 02:18
Nah, it was Carr. Crowley was near0by, but he was about a metre or so away, so he couldn't reach Ablett.

I think Carr threw a tiny little elbow into the side of Ablett's ribs, but Ablett acted like he got shot.

Yea, actually think you're right. Saw it on the box. Bloody hell, for such a champion player that was the weakest dive I think I've seen.

Definitely got reported too. Will be interesting to see if what happens with it because it was soft as p_____, but it was there nonetheless, and it is golden boy Garry.

Jetau
26 Apr 2008, 02:20
Hang in there! Still 16 rounds for you to make a dash towards the finals.

I don't think so. We'd need to win 11 of 16 to scrape into the eight, i.e. we would need to be a top four team from now on just to finish in eighth and have an away elim final. It DOES look like things are going to get easier over the next month, but we've got games later on against Sydney in Sydney, Brisbane in Brisbane and Geelong in Geelong. :(

But I'm curiously unaffected. The season is shot, therefore we can call this a development year for the new breed of Dockers.

ImperialPurple
26 Apr 2008, 02:22
aaaaahhhhhh bugger... :( :( :(

NiGHTFuRY
26 Apr 2008, 02:24
I hate to type it.. but that could be the season killer...:(:(

Melbourne away next week - does it even matter if we beat them now?

japaljarri
26 Apr 2008, 02:24
Don't mean to intrude guys but seriously l thought you were terrific tonight. Lots of great young talent too. We were incredibly lucky to steal it. Inconsistency must be frustrating but your best is really awesome. Good luck for the rest of the year.

Cameron_K
26 Apr 2008, 02:25

Melbourne away next week

It is the season killer, there is more chance of Megan Gale dumping Andy Lee and professing her undying love for myself during the week as there is of Freo making a splash in the finals

Yello Mit
26 Apr 2008, 02:26
Thanks for the nice words japaljarri. It's good to see opposition fans with great sportsmanship like that.

campbell
26 Apr 2008, 03:07

Melbourne away next week - does it even matter if we beat them now?

You better. We are flying in to Melbourne from Qld specifically to see that match.
I want the dockers who played tonight to turn up.
U guys had grit, determination. Steely resolve.
For goodness sakes, I tuned in expecting a huge loss to you guys, and what did I see, a great game of footy. I know, its gut wrenching, but you know, you served it up to Geelong, and played some damed fine footy.

Bring it to your next game, and you will be okay from here.

Bluto
26 Apr 2008, 03:38
Absolutely gutted. And I was very glad to see the devastation in the locker room, they will either fire up like 2006 or completely fall away now. Really hoping for the former.

Whiskers
26 Apr 2008, 03:50
just imagine what pav will be feeling

his kick never looked like missing until the last 5 or so metres

Turned my back on the TV in disgust, thought it was through. People i was watchin it found it hilarious i had cracked the shits when it hit the post. We were lucky i know.

Duskfire
26 Apr 2008, 04:21
We were very lucky. Incredibly lucky. I was at the game; you guys deserved to win through and through.

dont bowl there
26 Apr 2008, 04:25
Absolutely gutted. And I was very glad to see the devastation in the locker room, they will either fire up like 2006 or completely fall away now. Really hoping for the former.

Exactly, the season isn't over if we can play like this or even close to this every week.

topjars
26 Apr 2008, 09:43
Commiserations Docker Fans.
It should shut up the nay-sayers who think that Freo are sh1t.

It wont make things any easier by reading this but I felt for yas heaps.

Great game by Sandilands

Jafa
26 Apr 2008, 12:06
Would hate to be a Dockers supporter this morning. To come so close to the number one team and have it snatched away and yet put in such a fantastic effort.

That would seriously mess with anyones heads.

campbell
26 Apr 2008, 12:17
Would hate to be a Dockers supporter this morning. To come so close to the number one team and have it snatched away and yet put in such a fantastic effort.

That would seriously mess with anyones heads.

or not. Might make those players realise how close they are to the top team, and how close they were to a win last week in Adelaide against Adelaide.

They have played themselves into some good form in the last few weeks.
How have the Eagles done in that time?

Geoff
26 Apr 2008, 12:24
aaaaahhhhhh bugger... :( :( :(

Language please IP, there maybe children reading;)

sdsdsdsd
26 Apr 2008, 12:25
Just wondering wat were some of ur reactions when Pavlich hit the most in the last 30 secs?, that would have killed

Jafa
26 Apr 2008, 12:28
or not. Might make those players realise how close they are to the top team, and how close they were to a win last week in Adelaide against Adelaide.

They have played themselves into some good form in the last few weeks.
How have the Eagles done in that time?

This has nothing to do with West Coast - why try and bring them into the thread. Hoping to see another West Coast/Dockers fracas? I didn`t even mention the players.

Are you just trying to stir the pot champ.

toenail11
26 Apr 2008, 12:33
Just wondering wat were some of ur reactions when Pavlich hit the most in the last 30 secs?, that would have killed

i thought it was through, so i was up out of m seat with my hands in the air and then i saw in the corner of my eye the ball hit the post and i think almost everyone in our block had their head in their hands.

Freo Shark
26 Apr 2008, 13:21
I'm gutted!

But sheesh we have some poorly skilled players, Macca yes you ! We ____ed that game up it was ours for the taking.

You cant blame Pav for the miss, how many goals do you want him to kick?

Waverley73
26 Apr 2008, 13:31
Hey guys, I reckon your team for 2 and a half quarters last night were brilliant. Since we got our act together early last year I've never seen a team shut us down like you guys did for a lot of last night. It was just our purple patch late in the 2nd quarter and a large part of the last quarter that got us across the line.

I know losing is shizenhousen but I reckon there were a lot of positives you guys can take out of that. Some of your young blokes were great and will only get better.

afl08
26 Apr 2008, 13:44
Well I must say I've never been more gutted after a game in my life. Maybe sounding bitter but I don't think the better team won.

burto
26 Apr 2008, 13:54
Those whining about Ablett, perhaps he wouldn't get so many frees if:

a) Crowley didn't deliberately stomp on his leg (could have done serious injury to a brilliant player)
b) Carr didn't deliberately cork him 100 metres off the ball
c) Sandilands didnt drop his knees into Gaz's face

I thought Hawthorn were the dirtiest and cheapest players, but last night Freo took that to a whole new level.

Rob
26 Apr 2008, 13:59
Those whining about Ablett, perhaps he wouldn't get so many frees if:

a) Crowley didn't deliberately stomp on his leg (could have done serious injury to a brilliant player)
b) Carr didn't deliberately cork him 100 metres off the ball
c) Sandilands didnt drop his knees into Gaz's face

I thought Hawthorn were the dirtiest and cheapest players, but last night Freo took that to a whole new level.

I'd say now that every club in the league knows that Ablett can't handle a hard tag, and now that the umpires know he's a diving girls blouse, last night is going to be the least of his problems.
Any club serious about beating Geelong is going to do exactly the same thing, and I doubt the umpires are going to be as convinced by his pathetic fall to the ground routine next week.

Bunnie
26 Apr 2008, 14:06
I'd say now that every club in the league knows that Ablett can't handle a hard tag, and now that the umpires know he's a diving girls blouse, last night is going to be the least of his problems.
Any club serious about beating Geelong is going to do exactly the same thing, and I doubt the umpires are going to be as convinced by his pathetic fall to the ground routine next week.

Watching last night's game, we decided no Ablett no Bartel = No Geelong. I'm betting a few coaches are thinking the same thing and the close checking will continue.

campbell
26 Apr 2008, 14:07

Thats up to us next week. A hard tag, to an easily rattled Ablett.

Geelong have to realise they are the hunted now, and teams will do whatever it takes to beat them.

Sandy and Cowley and co did nothing wrong last night.He just is mentally weak and has been found out, ALL the other teams were watching and taking note of how to beat Geelong. We thank you for next week. lol

YOTC
26 Apr 2008, 14:22
I'll throw this up to you Freo fans.

2004, Anzac Day. Freo vs Geelong at Subi.

Freo were flying, Geelong were lowly, sitting at 1-3. Nobody gave Geelong a chance and from the start it looked like Freo were going to run away with it. Kicking the first 5 unaswered. Geelong fought back and were down by about 3 goals at qtr time. Freo kept a lead of about 20 points to 3/4 time. Geelong fought back again and kicked 3 quick goals to be right back in the match.

Freo ran over the top to win by 20 odd points but Geelong showed a lot of guts and determination. After not making the finals since 2000 and not winning a game interstate for a long time this game really lifted my spirits about our future.

Geelong sat at 1-4 to start the season. Geelong would then go on to lose only 3 more matches for the regular season. Those 3 losses were a 4 point loss to Port Adelaide in Adelaide (with Ben Graham missing an easy shot with about 1 minute left on the clock). A 2 point loss to West Coast at subi and a 22 point loss to Adelaide in rd21. We finished top 4 and missed out on the Grand Final by a couple of kicks.

Could this be your Anzac Day revival?

ImperialPurple
26 Apr 2008, 14:28
You're a good guy YOTC. :thumbsu:

You may well be right. I hope you are. Thanks. :)

couchy555
26 Apr 2008, 14:32
You did play well Freo thats for sure, but Carr's act of kneeing ablett was a pretty dog act.

geelong_crazy26
26 Apr 2008, 14:41
Freo deserved to win,but i dont know how you can say the umpires cost you.Freo kicked 4 goals from free kicks

fryzie
26 Apr 2008, 14:43

Spot on, Geelong have a lot of stars though, I think tagging out Bartel and/or Gablett every week will not be enough to stop them completely, but will certainly slow them down! I can't believe GAblett was held so well, I'd hate it if the Eagles best player was so crap when tagged... oh wait. :o

It was great to see Freo play the way they should have been playing since round 1. Imagine if Headland and Black were playing, could have been the difference.

geelong_crazy26
26 Apr 2008, 14:44
Thats up to us next week. A hard tag, to an easily rattled Ablett.

Geelong have to realise they are the hunted now, and teams will do whatever it takes to beat them.

Sandy and Cowley and co did nothing wrong last night.He just is mentally weak and has been found out, ALL the other teams were watching and taking note of how to beat Geelong. We thank you for next week. lol

lol i think you will find that freo arent the first to try and rough up ablett.look forward to next week now that you guys have discovered the secret to beating geelong ;) .

I think last nights game showed freo are a top 6 side when they are playing well.

Rob
26 Apr 2008, 15:00
Freo deserved to win,but i dont know how you can say the umpires cost you.Freo kicked 4 goals from free kicks

Not too many of us are blaming umpires. But which of these 4 free kicks were unwarranted? Maybe the Pavlich HTB was a bit red hot, but that would get paid 6 or 7 times out of 10 anyway.

chook2734
26 Apr 2008, 15:09
Not too many of us are blaming umpires. But which of these 4 free kicks were unwarranted? Maybe the Pavlich HTB was a bit red hot, but that would get paid 6 or 7 times out of 10 anyway.

I don't get why supporters think that goals from free kicks are always unwarranted? Geelong would have had at least a couple as well. It's the way the games gone - as soon as there is a contest, the umpire blows his whistle and pays a kick. It's the same as the deliberate one, just because both teams had one each doesn't make the fact that another 2 were missed ok. If umpiring is only good when the free kick count and type are level, then Freo got screwed last night.

geelong_crazy26
26 Apr 2008, 15:09

I would have to watch the game again to get a better idea, i cant think of any free that we got that wasn't their.Some people say ablett was lucky to get that free in the center but in all honesty when crawley is playing on ablett like that how many things do you think he would of got away with that should of been frees ?

I thought freo was very good last night, start of the year I had you guys 3rd.In retrospect that was to high ,I still think tho you are a top 6 side.Freo can still make the 8.