View Full Version : DOCKERS are now in for a new era

GO EAGLES
26 Apr 2008, 02:41
yep, today they were the toughest ever (apart from against the Eagles).

Last 2 weeks they have shown a genuine hardness, a real Mark Harvey attitude.
I,m tellin ya, they will physically get stronger from now on and look steely.

Getting Mark Harvey will be the most important decision they've made.
He might actually smash the inconsistency out of them.

Cameron_K
26 Apr 2008, 02:57
It's too late this year :(

NiGHTFuRY
26 Apr 2008, 03:01
Thank you Go Eagles..
One can only hope Mark Harvey is going to lead us to glory. Signs are promising...

Bender571
26 Apr 2008, 03:18
It's too late this year :(

IF we continue to play like we did tonight it won't be too late. Our next 4 are Melbourne @ MCG, Bulldogs @ Subi, Calton @ Telstra Dome, and Port @ Subi. IF we play to our best we should win all those putting us at 5-5 and very much still in the season.

But those are some very big IF's

London Docker
26 Apr 2008, 04:48
1-5 = new era...you have to be kidding

i don't care how good geelong are, if you are 25 points up at 3/4 time you should win...how does that show toughness?

we have to get rid of a lot of dead wood before we have a new era...anyone involved in the tarrant trade should have their footy nous seriously questioned...if we still had medhurst we could have got rid of jeffrey farmer (as much as i hate to admit it, his best is well past him) and we wouldn't have sad tarrant hanging around.

my prediction 25/4/08 - no premiership until at least 2011

London Docker
26 Apr 2008, 04:51
and while i am venting.....does anyone else think it is more than a coincidence that shawn mcmanus is still at the dockers and we are still losing...

i cannot see the day that the words shawn mcmanus and premiership player will ever be mentioned in the same sentence

MAG87
26 Apr 2008, 08:01
you lost to geelong by one point. you should hold your heads up high and be proud. i do hope for your sake that this is a massive turning point. unbelievable tonight and was really hoping you guys beat geelong to shut the arrogant ____s up.

catswhiskers
26 Apr 2008, 08:36
I commented to friends during this game that the dockers must think they are playing the eagles.

Thats when all your players get up and all have a "red hot go". And you win.
You have heaps of talent and if you can retain this hardness you can win the next four and get back into the race.

Watching geelong capitulate in 2006 and then barnstorm in 2007 has confirmed for me that 90% of footy is played between the ears.

We were lucky yesterday you were stiff in the end.

wozzie
26 Apr 2008, 09:25
I am a foundation member since day one. I have seen all the highs and lows over the seasons, it comes with the territory of being a Dockers supporter, but last night while being devastated at the ONE point loss, I was so proud of each and every one of our players. Geelongs song says it all, they really are a great TEAM, they play as a team, they run as a team, they back each other up as a team, and so did we last night. We finally showed the mental and physical toughness to compete with the best.
Yes we lost by one point after leading for the whole game, but the guys gave their all, and once again we clapped and cheered our losing team off the ground. Some people may think we're weird, but win or lose, all we expect is they have a red hot go, a 100% effort. Now please for some consistency boys, we know you can do it.
Sandi, best effort ever, Solly another tough game, the young boys Drummy, Ibbo, Palmer, Hinkley the future looks good. Hopefully some of the critics will get off the teams back and let Harvs get down to developing a team for the future.

Zarko
26 Apr 2008, 09:37
It was the sort of Fremantle that I expected to see from the start of the year, and grab a possie from 3rd-6th on the ladder... Harvs was always going to be an improvementr... If either team in the West is going to fly the WA flag in the finals, its going to be Fremantle...

If only Sandilands played like that every week... I would rate him with Cox... Very effective game to say the least :thumbsu:

malpaso
26 Apr 2008, 10:07
I am a foundation member since day one. I have seen all the highs and lows over the seasons, it comes with the territory of being a Dockers supporter, but last night while being devastated at the ONE point loss, I was so proud of each and every one of our players. Geelongs song says it all, they really are a great TEAM, they play as a team, they run as a team, they back each other up as a team, and so did we last night. We finally showed the mental and physical toughness to compete with the best.
Yes we lost by one point after leading for the whole game, but the guys gave their all, and once again we clapped and cheered our losing team off the ground. Some people may think we're weird, but win or lose, all we expect is they have a red hot go, a 100% effort. Now please for some consistency boys, we know you can do it.
Sandi, best effort ever, Solly another tough game, the young boys Drummy, Ibbo, Palmer, Hinkley the future looks good. Hopefully some of the critics will get off the teams back and let Harvs get down to developing a team for the future.

Well said Woz. Completely agree.

salim malik
26 Apr 2008, 10:32
1-5 = new era...you have to be kidding

i don't care how good geelong are, if you are 25 points up at 3/4 time you should win...how does that show toughness?

we have to get rid of a lot of dead wood before we have a new era...anyone involved in the tarrant trade should have their footy nous seriously questioned...if we still had medhurst we could have got rid of jeffrey farmer (as much as i hate to admit it, his best is well past him) and we wouldn't have sad tarrant hanging around.

my prediction 25/4/08 - no premiership until at least 2011

You give the term dorker a new meaning,please enjoy London ,but stay there

docker_azza
26 Apr 2008, 11:18
History shows that at 1-5 our season is over, however that shopuldn't be the mindset from the team (far from it).

They have shown last night that if they keep that level of intensity up they will beat most teams, including Bulldogs and Hawthorn. But they have to keep that intensity up, and not dwell on how great last night was then drop their heads (which we have seen too often from them). They have to take all the positives out of last night and build on them.

The jurys still out on their midfield, the one thing that will always hold them back from further success then preliminary finals (when they are in top form) until they can get that right. It is still important that they giving the youngsters plenty of games this year.

Frigate
26 Apr 2008, 11:35

Yep :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Frigate
26 Apr 2008, 11:43
and while i am venting.....does anyone else think it is more than a coincidence that shawn mcmanus is still at the dockers and we are still losing...

i cannot see the day that the words shawn mcmanus and premiership player will ever be mentioned in the same sentence

You are an ass clown. 2 pathetic posts from you.

I gather you are a 17 year old troll which probably follows another team not doing so well.

If you did support Freo you would know how to spell our foundation player, once-captain, big hearted, fearless, courageous team player.

A million times the person and athlete you will ever be.

heals
26 Apr 2008, 11:59
You guys played really well tonight, and had quite a bit of money on you and well yeh im also upset.

But you took the game right up to them and if you keep playing like that , the finals wont be out of the question.

Geoff
26 Apr 2008, 12:16

LD tell us how you monitored the game via the ears or the eyes? If it was via the ears I'll give you some advice. Don't believe all hear especially if it's out of the mouths of Eagles Radio(6PR) or Glen "I Know Everything" Mitchell(ABC). Macca's Stats = TD 13, K 6, HB 7, M 3, I50 5, TKL 2, CE 1, CL 2, TOG% 74. Not our worst performer.

Freo Shark
26 Apr 2008, 13:29
Sorry Geoff, his disposals were poor and lacking the necessary depth and execution. He has heart and passion for the club but his time has come to depart!

You cannot demand the ball and run into the goals from 40 and miss by that much, nor can you sky a kick and pick out a Cat in space in the dying moments.

chrsco
26 Apr 2008, 14:33
Yep, play like that week in week out and you'll go a fair way into the finals. Huge effort when most thought a big margin was there for Geelong's taking. Liked the intensity and pressure maintained for most of the game. Would have to be the best defensive, shut down effort by Freo, or close to. Hopefully the players and club say, right, this is how we need to play and maintain that all year.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Geoff
26 Apr 2008, 14:38
Sorry Geoff, his disposals were poor and lacking the necessary depth and execution. He has heart and passion for the club but his time has come to depart!

You cannot demand the ball and run into the goals from 40 and miss by that much, nor can you sky a kick and pick out a Cat in space in the dying moments.

I won't defend his skills. They have always been sus but his endevour can not be questioned. Everyone knows this will be his last year as will be Bellies. There needs to be a period where the Kids are eased in and Macca has a role during this period. As I said he was not our worst. I am sure Macca knows he is on the fringe moving through this his last season.

petmax
26 Apr 2008, 15:40
Yep, play like that week in week out and you'll go a fair way into the finals. Huge effort when most thought a big margin was there for Geelong's taking. Liked the intensity and pressure maintained for most of the game. Would have to be the best defensive, shut down effort by Freo, or close to. Hopefully the players and club say, right, this is how we need to play and maintain that all year.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Good post :thumbsu:

Yep that is what we hope, that finally Freo will start to show some consistancy.

I cant believe I was watching the same team that got touched up by Richmond a few weeks ago :confused: I think this why the crowd clapped them off, because they can see the rapid improvement from a few weeks ago.

tijn01
26 Apr 2008, 15:59
Some people may think we're weird, but win or lose, all we expect is they have a red hot go, a 100% effort. Now please for some consistency boys, we know you can do it.

couldn't agree more. I wasn't there from the start, was still living on the other side of the globe, but fell for the Dockers in 06. Just give a 100% each week, and we can compete with the best!
If we show the same intensity next week against the Demons, the signs are good, if not...... I would be very disapointed.

GO FREO

London Docker
26 Apr 2008, 17:23
"[quote=Frigate;10807267]You are an ass clown. 2 pathetic posts from you.

why thank you, allow me to retort...... what was wrong with my first post? do you think the tarrant trade was a wise decision?

I gather you are a 17 year old troll which probably follows another team not doing so well.

there is not gong to be too many 17 year old dockers fans in london trolling big footy. been a season ticket holder since 1999, lived in melbourne since 2003 where i had a away season member. i have seen more bad things from shaun in this time than i care to remember,

If you did support Freo you would know how to spell our foundation player, once-captain, big hearted, fearless, courageous team player.

So I put a w instead of a u ........

no-one is doubting his courage, just his disposals and decision making...coincidence that when he was captain we were at our lowest?

and Now i spelt it right, do you my friend ever see the the words shaUn mcmanus and premiership player in the same sentence ever occurring.

A million times the person and athlete you will ever be.'

Thats a very big call

geoff...listened to SEN on net, and used my knowledge of Shaun over the years to make my judgement.

super coach (i know it is not the be all and end all)
shaun - 13 disposals - 31% effective

next lowest disposal % was soloman - 52%

thats a big difference in class between supershaun and the rest of the team

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6005950,00.jpg

couchy555
26 Apr 2008, 18:47
New era for Dockers? heard that one before.

theGav56
27 Apr 2008, 12:42
...anyone involved in the tarrant trade should have their footy nous seriously questioned...

You don't support Harvey?

theGav56
27 Apr 2008, 12:50
New era for Dockers? heard that one before.

Yeah Cats supporters would have heard a lot between their flags. Many, many times until a massive advantage came your way via the F/S rule.

Rhino5
27 Apr 2008, 12:58
IF we continue to play like we did tonight it won't be too late. Our next 4 are Melbourne @ MCG, Bulldogs @ Subi, Calton @ Telstra Dome, and Port @ Subi. IF we play to our best we should win all those putting us at 5-5 and very much still in the season.

But those are some very big IF's

They are indeed. You guys were mighty impressive for most of the Geelong game, but there's a big difference between lifting a notch against the undefeated premiers in front of your home crowd and following it up against mid-level teams you are expected to have a good shot at beating. Not to say it can't be done, but I'd be very surprised if you went 4-0 over the next four.

You have a couple of good young kids though - Ibbotson in particular was fantastic the other night.

Freo Shark
27 Apr 2008, 13:07
We have some good kids coming along, but they will be up and down in performance. Its not just the kids its the so-called 23\24\25yo who have got to extract their digit and play as well. We will be lucky to win 2 of the next 4 I reckon.

London Docker
27 Apr 2008, 19:23
You don't support Harvey?
i definately support harvey,
but...blind freddy could have seen the tarrant deal would not work out. just like the croad one, i wouldnt be surprised if we give tarrant back to collingwood for a very low pick in the draft in the next 2 years.

is/was harvey involved in recruiting?

Goat 53
27 Apr 2008, 20:51
Freo would flog everyone else in the comp playing like they did on Friday.