View Full Version : Changes V Melbourne

The Gerbil King
26 Apr 2008, 11:28
A sad loss but very good signs. Assuming the injuries to Grover and Dodd will keep em out and J Carr will be outed :

Out

McManus ( not up to it anymore )
Grover ( inj )
Dodd ( inj )
Carr ( susp )

In

O'Brien (replace Mcmanus)
Warnock (allow Gilmour )to move down back
Head (replace dodd)
Headland (replace Carr)

rowdy3012
26 Apr 2008, 11:38
Id like to see Mayne back if he is right, probably for Hinkley. Not that Hinkley has done anything all that wrong just might be good for him to get a few kicks in the WAFL and then be brought back in a couple of weeks.

toenail11
26 Apr 2008, 12:24
didnt hayden get an injury to?

Bradesmaen
26 Apr 2008, 13:00
How did Josh Carr get reported? I didnt see him move and Ablett goes down... next thing you know Carr is reported?!?! And same with Crowley, didnt see him do anything.

Freo Shark
26 Apr 2008, 13:01
Out:

McManus for good, cost us the game!
Dodd (inj)?
Hayden (inj)?
Grover (inj)?
Carr (susp)

In:

Headland
Mayne
Head
Brock
Foster.

Rob
26 Apr 2008, 13:36
See what comes out of the injured list first, but you'd expect Macca to get the royal arse and Headland to come back in if fit.
Mayne's now missed a couple - i'm not sure how he's been training, but it might be worth bringing him back through the WAFL.

FREO81
26 Apr 2008, 14:42
OUT
Macca(Retire)
Thornton(Learn how to kick)
Gilmore(Cost us the game in 2nd quarter)
Grover(inj)
Dodd(inj)
Hayden(inj)

IN
Foster
Head
Warnok
Obrein
Mayne
Headland

chook2734
26 Apr 2008, 14:53
Could be a tough week for the selectors. If there's a few out with injuries (and perhaps suspensions :( )I can't see too many additional changes. Would like to see Gilmore and McManus out though - too many errors and they keep making the same ones week in week out. Gilmore particularly with his ability to completely stuff it up when he's under no pressure at all. :mad:

Headland to come straight back in if fit - lets see how we go with Palmer, Ibbo, Des and Sandi working together.

My buddy MaJ could be in line for a call up - played very well for Perth yesterday with 3 goals and about 20 possessions. :thumbsu:

There's no excuses for the WAFL players this week - Black and Head in particular could stitch up a spot if Grover, Hayden or Dodd miss.

E Shed
26 Apr 2008, 14:58
I feel like I'm taking crazy pills.
We haven't had the injury reports or the match review panel and people have half the team out?
And wanting to drop Thornton????????
FFS we should have beaten the best team in the comp and you want to dump people?

rgauci
26 Apr 2008, 15:06
OUT: Hinkley
IN: Headland

If there's no injuries.

Grover (inj) - IN: Warnock. Shift Gilmore to key position defender and Warnock to backup ruck.

Dodd (inj) - IN: Head. Same position.

Hayden (inj) IN: O'Brien

It all depends on injuries and possible suspensions. WAFL form would be nice to gauge.

tijn01
26 Apr 2008, 15:36
I feel like I'm taking crazy pills.
We haven't had the injury reports or the match review panel and people have half the team out?
And wanting to drop Thornton????????
FFS we should have beaten the best team in the comp and you want to dump people?

Couldn't agree more, never change a 'almost' winning combination. No point talking about if's. Would expect Des to find spot back in team.

chook2734
26 Apr 2008, 15:48
Couldn't agree more, never change a 'almost' winning combination. No point talking about if's. Would expect Des to find spot back in team.

Don't agree here. There were players out there last night who have had multiple opportunities this year and continue to make the same mistakes over and over. If there are players performing in the WAFL we need to reward them. The only way to improve is to keep replacing those who are not up to it.

Avid_Avenger
26 Apr 2008, 17:33
Don't agree here. There were players out there last night who have had multiple opportunities this year and continue to make the same mistakes over and over. If there are players performing in the WAFL we need to reward them. The only way to improve is to keep replacing those who are not up to it.

Totally agree.

Two years ago, Macca runs onto an open ball gets free on his left and fails to even score against St. Kilda in the dying minutes and we lose by a point.

Two years on - deja vu.

Macca gets clear on his left, the most time a forward had all night, lines up with his left and kicks the ball eight metres and fails to even score. We lost by a point.

We can't carry blokes anymore simply based on endeavour. Schammer is in the same boat - his disposal is hopeless, constantly turns it over or puts his teammates under pressure or gets knocked off the ball.

Definite OUTS: Macca, Schammer.

Definite INS: Des, Brock.

Other possible ins: Mayne, Head, Warnock, MaJ, Taz.

Other possible outs: Grover (inj.), Dodd (inj.), Hayden (inj.), Josh (susp.), Hinkley (development and team balance).

I doubt all injured players will miss though due to the 9 day break. Grover would probably be most doubtful for mine.

FootyEater
26 Apr 2008, 19:02
GILMORE!!!!!!!!!!!! is an absolute disgrace to our jumper. wouldnt have him playing for south mandurah under 14's. if this dud gets another game im writing to harvs personally, not that it will do any good. FFS no heart, no brain, no ability. the worst player in the AFL by a country mile

mcmanus should be dropped

hinkley while i really like the kid, he just looked a little out of his depth at the moment, will be a great player one day though.

Shadow Man
26 Apr 2008, 19:19
GILMORE!!!!!!!!!!!! is an absolute disgrace to our jumper. wouldnt have him playing for south mandurah under 14's. if this dud gets another game im writing to harvs personally, not that it will do any good. FFS no heart, no brain, no ability. the worst player in the AFL by a country mile

mcmanus should be dropped

hinkley while i really like the kid, he just looked a little out of his depth at the moment, will be a great player one day though.

So your Happy's buddy?

NiGHTFuRY
26 Apr 2008, 19:21
With the likelihood of some defenders out I reckon the Head and the Brockinator may be in with a chance to get a game...

wehavethepassion
26 Apr 2008, 19:24
Totally agree.

Two years ago, Macca runs onto an open ball gets free on his left and fails to even score against St. Kilda in the dying minutes and we lose by a point.

Two years on - deja vu.

Macca gets clear on his left, the most time a forward had all night, lines up with his left and kicks the ball eight metres and fails to even score. We lost by a point.

We can't carry blokes anymore simply based on endeavour. Schammer is in the same boat - his disposal is hopeless, constantly turns it over or puts his teammates under pressure or gets knocked off the ball.

Other possible outs: Grover (inj.), Dodd (inj.), Hayden (inj.), Josh (susp.), Hinkley (development and team balance).

I doubt all injured players will miss though due to the 9 day break. Grover would probably be most doubtful for mine.

Hang on you can't drop Byron he's macca's apprentice. Freo have always had at least one player in the side(since inception) that butchers the ball everygame.

Ripper
26 Apr 2008, 19:56
Totally agree.

Two years on - deja vu.

That one point cost us a finals berth as did the three games Macca went a big way to losing us in 2007.

Muffed two shots at goal in the 1st Qtr as well as coughing up the ball from which the Cats scored their last goal.

We would have been better off with Brock , Fossie , Dunn or even Smith.

I have come to the conclusion that Macca puts more pressure on our other mids as He is the only one that will never drag a tag.

If you were an opposition coach you would want him to get the ball heaps.

Heart and determination mean little when you cough it up to the opposition repeatedly.

Kenny_01
26 Apr 2008, 19:59
McManus should just retire and let the kids play.

In: Head, Headland, Mayne, Tarrant
OUT: McManus, Hinkley, Grover (inj), Dodd (inj)

kp junior
26 Apr 2008, 22:42
Add Warnock for Gilmore and you're bang on Kenny

pinkus maximus
26 Apr 2008, 22:44
whats really staggering is that harvs had to convince macca to play on!

hoss
26 Apr 2008, 22:51
Umm Macca's on thin ice, Murphy did nothing and lacked urgency *surprise so Tarrant will be in for him. Des is a certain starter, and Mayne will be in, Hinkley out.

Thornton took his chance, did Spud???

DOCKER MAN
26 Apr 2008, 23:08
In:
Headland
Obrien
Mayne
Foster (Was good around the ball today won't be named in best soley due to fact was put in the forward line when they were getting pumped)
Head/Browne (depending on form and injuries)

Out:
McManus
Grover?
Dodd?
Hayden?
Hinkley

Watched Tarrant today was good but nowhere near good enough for a call up, did some good things but only did the easy things, was beaten in one on one marking contests and didn't do as well as he should when it went to ground. However his kicking has improved out of site couldn't believe how much better it looked, but at AFL level his yips could be to do with the pressure and may come back. IMO give him 2 more weeks in the WAFL requiring 2 more good games to get back in.

DOCKER MAN
26 Apr 2008, 23:12
Umm Macca's on thin ice, Murphy did nothing and lacked urgency *surprise so Tarrant will be in for him. Des is a certain starter, and Mayne will be in, Hinkley out.

Thornton took his chance, did Spud???
IMO yes he did some good things, good chase downs and a few spoils etc... knowing Tarrant he wouldn't of been near as good as Murphy in a high pressure game like that

hoss
27 Apr 2008, 01:07
IMO yes he did some good things, good chase downs and a few spoils etc... knowing Tarrant he wouldn't of been near as good as Murphy in a high pressure game like that

Well we shall agree to disagree then :)

ImperialPurple
27 Apr 2008, 02:25
whats really staggering is that harvs had to convince macca to play on!

I thought the story was that Macca was keen to play on, and decided to definitely go around again when harvey told him he was a required player. I don't think he needed "convincing".

Avid_Avenger
27 Apr 2008, 04:33
That one point cost us a finals berth as did the three games Macca went a big way to losing us in 2007.

Muffed two shots at goal in the 1st Qtr as well as coughing up the ball from which the Cats scored their last goal.

We would have been better off with Brock , Fossie , Dunn or even Smith.

I have come to the conclusion that Macca puts more pressure on our other mids as He is the only one that will never drag a tag.

If you were an opposition coach you would want him to get the ball heaps.

Heart and determination mean little when you cough it up to the opposition repeatedly.

Exactly Rip. Even when he doesn't directly turn the ball over he puts his teammates under the pump by having his kicks land at their feet or handballing to guys about to get tackled or making the forward stop and prop or fumbling the ball and holding up a forward movement or giving away lazy free kicks when he falls into an opponents back or tackles them around their head etc etc etc etc.

IMO Schammer is worse on some occassions due to the fact he's so easily knocked off his feet in a contest.

These guys simply just have to go. We can't carry guys anymore becoz the games are so evenly balanced that their inability to perform simple skills cost us games.

I'll go as far as saying we would have won on friday night if Brock had have been playing in place of Macca or Schammer.

Perservering with crap players is the difference between us being 1-5 and
2-4. Maybe even 3-3 due to the closeness of the Hawks, Crows games.

I thought the story was that Macca was keen to play on, and decided to definitely go around again when harvey told him he was a required player. I don't think he needed "convincing".

I certainly hope not!

I hope Harvs said that he was required with the thought Macca would only play 10 games at most and be a handy depth player in case of injuries.

VolgaBoatman
27 Apr 2008, 11:29
I don't have the same opinion on Macca and Schammer some have you seem to have, though I expect Macca to miss out this week.

My guesses:
Out Macca and Hinkley, in Headland and Black.

Some others who might come in include:
Mayne and Tarrant (though not both of them).

footyfix
27 Apr 2008, 12:59
Dropping Hinkley after 1 game is what CC would have done. Give him a few to get his feet, also alot of you wanted Ibbo dropped after his first this year (second game over all) and look how he has worked out. Unless they have a total shocker I don't think you should drop a first gamer right away it will totaly undermind their confidence where as backing them in for a while can set up a whole season.We played the best team in the comp and he didn't look bad.

Plugga
27 Apr 2008, 13:13
From paper today...Dodd & Grover likely to be okay...Hayden unlikely...

I reckon...

OUT:
Hayden (inj)
Carr (nothing in it...but it's Josh Carr - susp)
Hinkley (dropped)
McManus (dropped)

IN:
Headland (Hinko replacement)
O'Brien (Hayden replacement)
Mayne (McAnus replacement)
Foster (Carr replacement)

Tarrant misses out - Murphy did okay.

ImperialPurple
27 Apr 2008, 15:15
Dropping Hinkley after 1 game is what CC would have done. Give him a few to get his feet, also alot of you wanted Ibbo dropped after his first this year (second game over all) and look how he has worked out. Unless they have a total shocker I don't think you should drop a first gamer right away it will totaly undermind their confidence where as backing them in for a while can set up a whole season.We played the best team in the comp and he didn't look bad.

It was actually his second game (he played against Adelaide), but I hope they keep him in to play on the MCG next week. But I reckon he might get sent back to the WAFL for a few games - all part of his development.

I hope they send Macca back - and I also hope that despite MaJ's decent return for Perth, they make him play a few games there.

Blackie is still injured and then will need a couple of WAFL games to get some fitness back, so he's out of the question.

It's a big ask to have a 3 gamer in Mayne come straight back in after two games out with injury, so he might have to spend a week or two with Perth.

Des will come in if fit.

There's also Brock, Foster, Head and Duffield with good WAFL form behind them, although they have indicated they will keep Fossie in the WAFL till after the first break.

A lot depends on how the injured defensive trio pull up this week, and how the MRP looks at Josh.

Very difficult to predict what they might do with regards to selection.

chook2734
27 Apr 2008, 15:35
There's also Brock, Foster, Head and Duffield with good WAFL form behind them, although they have indicated they will keep Fossie in the WAFL till after the first break.

I listened to the East Freo game yesterday IP and it seemed that Foster was played up forward most of the day - not sure if it was due to fitness or not, but you would hope Freo have some say in where he's played.

dockers_bengals
27 Apr 2008, 16:23

Sounds about right,will play on as long as he can get a contract and won't retire until he can't and fair enough.If he is dropped again like carr I can't see him getting back in a hurry without dominating in the WAFL for a few weeks

dominguez
27 Apr 2008, 17:11
There's certainly no excuses next week, not only have Melbourne been very poor this season but we are coming off a nine day break and they have just finished a game in hot conditions against Brisbane. The Demons have only won 3 of 24 quarters this season. :eek:

Macca has to go, and Matt Carr had seven goals kicked on him yesterday so it's unlikely we'll see either of them any time soon. :thumbsu:

Scott Thornton had a good game on paper but I watched the tape this morning and most of his disposals were by hand to a team mate in a worse position than himself. Gilmore also cost us a few goals so if Hayden, Grover and Dodd are fit I'd drop them both.

Out - McManus, Gilmore, Hayden/Thornton
In - Headland, Warnock, Head.

O'Brien or Foster to come in for Carr if he gets suspended.

Latro
27 Apr 2008, 17:24
On the footy show this morning Larrkins said that Hayden will miss and Dodd is getting assessed for ligament damage. Grover should be okay though.

freoextra
27 Apr 2008, 19:52
From paper today...Dodd & Grover likely to be okay...Hayden unlikely...

I reckon...

OUT:
Hayden (inj)
Carr (nothing in it...but it's Josh Carr - susp)
Hinkley (dropped)
McManus (dropped)

IN:
Headland (Hinko replacement)
O'Brien (Hayden replacement)
Mayne (McAnus replacement)
Foster (Carr replacement)

Tarrant misses out - Murphy did okay.

Was the derogatory use of Macca's name necessary???
You now look like utter scum, can't believe a supporter of our team can reach such a pathetic level.

One of the true highlights for my year will be Macca's final game for the club when he will receive the standing ovation he so richly deserves (there will not be a dry eye in the house). Just shaking my head at the moment.

Plugga
27 Apr 2008, 21:40
Was the derogatory use of Macca's name necessary???
You now look like utter scum, can't believe a supporter of our team can reach such a pathetic level.

One of the true highlights for my year will be Macca's final game for the club when he will receive the standing ovation he so richly deserves (there will not be a dry eye in the house). Just shaking my head at the moment.

Typo :D

rotto
27 Apr 2008, 22:06
Avid_Avenger, I was totally thinking same about Schammer. Gets knocked off the ball and doesnt hit targets.

Also, he gets sucked into the ball alot and leaves his man wide open. His spacing is horrible and seems to in the way of people.

The guy has quickness and heart. But at the end of the day if you make it harder for your teamates THEN HE SHOULDNT BE IN THE TEAM.

masai
27 Apr 2008, 23:24
On the footy show this morning Larrkins said that Hayden will miss and Dodd is getting assessed for ligament damage. Grover should be okay though.

Ok, take that as our starting point.

Hayden is probably out, replace with a running / negating backman.

Dodd, maybe out. Similar replacement to Hayden.

There will need to be 2 proper ruckman, so Warnock must come in.

They are the forced changes, so I can see Warnock, Head and Des ( not my favourite player !!!! ) coming in. Gimore to shuffle down back or Solli.

I respect Macca for all he has done, maybe he has already handed the baton over to Palmer, Ibbo and Mayne. Maybe his time has come, but I will still hold him in the highest regard for what he has done unflinchingly.

If Macca has to go, Mayne or O'Brien would appropriate replacements.

Just my thoughts.

kranger
28 Apr 2008, 03:00
Out:
Hayden (inj)
Dodd (inj)
McManus
Gilmore
Carr (susp)

In:
O'Brien
Mayne
Duffield
Warnock
Headland/Foster/Head (can't decide which)

dockers_bengals
28 Apr 2008, 11:03
Going on Warnocks game in the WAFL I would be surprised if he gets picked unless they think he is vital,would expect Gilmore to back up as he did last week til we needed defenders.
After seeing Harvey go off at Schammer giving away a free in the centre and having a bad one he might get dropped but I think it will also depend on whos available.
Hinkley looked a long way off, looked lost and was very poor.

Cisco Kid
28 Apr 2008, 13:25

Totally agree let him get a game against the bottom teams which normally allows headland and other non performers against the better sides get there 30 odd possessions... we are in development mode and the more games we get into the young guys the better off we will be...

There probably will be forced changes and murphy even though was very laconic needs to have another game and try and see if the 3-4 years weve put into him has got him anywhere....

Im not against headland but bring in Foster , OBrien , Warnock , Mayne and get these young guys in who will be the futture of the club getting to know each others game style....

Leave Hinkley in let him start or give him a role and DEVELOP the kid on the MCG where it all happens...

Frigate
28 Apr 2008, 15:58
For me :
OUT :
Hinkley - He did not want to kick that goal and gave it to someone in a worse position than him. Dropped an easy chest mark on the wing.
Let him get some confidence up n the WAFL and come back in. He will continue to develop.
Gilmore - Kicking, he looks lost at times.
McManas - many better options available
Murphy - 2 marks and 1 goal for a key forward is not enough.
JC - suspened
hopefully no injuries but allow for one.

IN :
Tarrant. 2 good games in a row now in WAFL. (Named 3rd best with 3 goals in a close game)
Headland
Mayne
O'Brien
Foster
Warnock

Polly
28 Apr 2008, 17:19
Im assuming Blackie is unavailable!

Out:
Mcmanus (Dropped)
Hinkley (Dropped)
JCarr (will get done by the MRP)
Grover (Inj)
Hayden (Inj)
Dodd (Inj)

Ins:
Obrien
Mayne
Foster
Headland
Warnock
Tarrant/Bradley

Im not sure what the forward structure was against the Cats but Murphy was spending alot of time floating between CHF and the Centre Square. If that was Coaches instructions fine but he is a leading forward and he will get a hell of a lot more kicks leading from the goal square. Keep him in and play to position.

I think playing Hinkley cost us on Friday night, not providing a strong enough contest in the forward line on a couple of occassions provided good rebound for the Cats in the late stages of the game. Good young kid just a bit light on at the moment. Mind you I sit in a forward pocket so it's hard to get a good grasp on his midfield play.

I reckon we're still in this season!

Plugga
28 Apr 2008, 21:42
2 days on...wholesale changes have to occur unfortunately

OUT:
JCarr (susp)
Grover (inj)
Dodd (inj)
Hayden (inj)
McManus (form)
Hinkley (form)

IN:
Mayne
Headland
O'Brien
Tarrant
Head
Black

Not a bad team though still...:thumbsu:

RUCK: Sandilands/Crowley/Bell > all in form
FOR: Farmer/Pavlich/Murphy > all good here
HFOR: Solomon/Tarrant/Mayne > like Mayne at the "G"
CEN: Ibbotson/Palmer/Headland > Ibbo & Palmer to step up at "G"
HBCK: Mundy/Johnson/Head > Mundy drops back to h/b
BCK: Thornton/McPharlin/Drum > all good here

BENCH: O'Brien/Schammer/Gilmore/Black

rgauci
28 Apr 2008, 22:06
OUT:
J.Carr (susp.)
Hayden (inj)
Grover (inj)
Dodd (inj)
Murphy (omitted)
Hinkley (omitted)

IN:
Des Headland
Mark Johnson
Josh Head
Chris Tarrant
Brock O'Brien
Robert Warnock

Warnock as our 2nd ruckman allowing Gilmore to play Key position defender. Des replaces Josh Carr as a midfielder. Mark Johnson and Brock O'Brien both capable of filling a back pocket and both in good form. Tarrant in better form than Murphy.

Thornton McPHarlin MiJohnson
Head Gilmore Drum
Ibbotson Headland Mundy
McManus Tarrant Bell
Farmer Pavlich Solomon
R: Sandilands Crowley Palmer

Int: Warnock Schammer Ma.Johnson O'Brien

Massive changes, 4 forced, 2 on form.

dominguez
28 Apr 2008, 22:35
Surprised rgauci that you'd retain Macca who was very poor IMO, but drop Murphy who I thought was okay. A fine day is forecast for Melbourne on Sunday so I'd be tempted to play Murphy and Tarrant.

chook2734
28 Apr 2008, 22:45
Surprised rgauci that you'd retain Macca who was very poor IMO, but drop Murphy who I thought was okay. A fine day is forecast for Melbourne on Sunday so I'd be tempted to play Murphy and Tarrant.

I think the idiot on peeearrrrrrgggghhh might have bought Macca another game or two now. It's an interesting one for Harvs - hopefully he continues on weeding out those who aren't up to it and rewarding those showing good form in the WAFL.

dont bowl there
28 Apr 2008, 22:59
How some people would want Thornton and Gilmore to be dropped amazes me.

Latro
28 Apr 2008, 23:44
Totally agree let him get a game against the bottom teams which normally allows headland and other non performers against the better sides get there 30 odd possessions... we are in development mode and the more games we get into the young guys the better off we will be...

Im not against headland but bring in Foster , OBrien , Warnock , Mayne and get these young guys in who will be the futture of the club getting to know each others game style....

So you say Headland only plays well against bad teams, did you watch our first 2 games? He was one of our best players in both games.

masai
29 Apr 2008, 00:25
Just thinking aloud to myself, with the suspension and the injuries, is it good for the team to make more changes ?.

Yes some may not be in A1 form, but will dropping those players outweigh bringing in another couple, after 3 - 4 already have gone due to suspension / injury ?. Team unity ?.

rgauci
29 Apr 2008, 00:33

He made some costly errors but overall his game was OK. He definately contributed to the overall pressure across the field. Was chasing, tackling and providing pressure.

Pressuring Melbourne is super important, it will create turnovers, which we will need to capitilize on. Macca is actually a clever half forward who in the last 2 years has been able to hit a leading forward on the chest much to my surprise.

You can't deny his kicking skills have improved out of sight over the last few years. On his preferred foot under little pressure he will hit a target. Having someone like him roaming at half forward, will be beneficial against Melbourne.

The problem with playing Murphy and Tarrant is you don't give Sandilands much chop out. It was a balancing act including Warnock. Sandilands will be targetted after last weeks performance, White and Jamar are a different proposition to Blake and Mumford. We can afford to sacrifice a tall forward in that situation.

The other thing that swayed my decision, McManus can contribute to the midfield, Murphy can't.

Sman-21
29 Apr 2008, 00:53
Hinkley can stay for melbourne game alot of the guys in that team arent much bigger than him so he wont be so easily pushed around an scared out of contests.

After that he needs to go back to wafl as he is not ready for AFL yet

Mcmanus is worth keeping just to show youngsters type of effort required each week
imagine a team full of youngsters putting in his effort but with their skills.

masai
29 Apr 2008, 09:53
Mcmanus is worth keeping just to show youngsters type of effort required each week
imagine a team full of youngsters putting in his effort but with their skills.

I'll add to that, "imagine a team full of players putting in his effort but with skills".

Sman you are thinking along similar lines as me, you still need old heads alongside the youngsters.

dominguez
29 Apr 2008, 11:02
He made some costly errors but overall his game was OK. He definately contributed to the overall pressure across the field. Was chasing, tackling and providing pressure.

Pressuring Melbourne is super important, it will create turnovers, which we will need to capitilize on. Macca is actually a clever half forward who in the last 2 years has been able to hit a leading forward on the chest much to my surprise.

You can't deny his kicking skills have improved out of sight over the last few years. On his preferred foot under little pressure he will hit a target. Having someone like him roaming at half forward, will be beneficial against Melbourne.

The problem with playing Murphy and Tarrant is you don't give Sandilands much chop out. It was a balancing act including Warnock. Sandilands will be targetted after last weeks performance, White and Jamar are a different proposition to Blake and Mumford. We can afford to sacrifice a tall forward in that situation.

The other thing that swayed my decision, McManus can contribute to the midfield, Murphy can't.

Fair enough. :thumbsu:

dominguez
29 Apr 2008, 11:07
How some people would want Thornton and Gilmore to be dropped amazes me.

Both stay in because of our injuries.

But...
I watched the tape yesterday and most of Thornton's disposals were by hand and many were to players in a worse position than himself. What's the point tearing through the middle at a million miles an hour then handballing to a team mate who is stationary with an opponent next to him? Just terrible decision making. Get the ball on the back fifty, run 20 then kick to half forward. Don't **** about.

Gilmore cost us atleast 2 possibly 3 goals directly from errors. He's on thin ice.

Frigate
29 Apr 2008, 12:32
RGauci has a good point on Macca that a lot of people don't see him contributing. You can add all the skilled players you want, but if they can't tackle and pressure the ball carrier you are in trouble.

Carr had 9 tackles, Hayden had 6 tackles last week.
Macca had 7 tackles the week before. So with two of our highest defensive mids going out (Hayden has played more in the midfield of late), who is going to step up and give us 6+ more tackles.
Crowley will, but we need more than that. Maybe Ma Johnson? Macca will certainly contribute in this area.

On Thornton, atleast he was breaking the lines and making things happen. How many of his possessions resulted in a score at the other end. It wrong footed their defence, and he took the game on, instead of kicking out to the wing and hugging the boundary for a stoppage 50/50.

Gilmore probably deserves more credit than I give him. I just don't think he has the vision or skills a lot of the time, but he does have good pace and he can break a tackle. With so many out he will start.

Belnakor
29 Apr 2008, 12:51
Theres tackles, and then there is tackles. We are looking for effective tackles.

Archimedes
29 Apr 2008, 12:52
OUT:
J.Carr (susp.)
Hayden (inj)
Grover (inj)
Dodd (inj)

IN:
Des Headland
Josh Head
Chris Tarrant
Robert Warnock

Team Formation

Thornton McPHarlin MiJohnson
Head Drum Gilmore
Ibbotson Palmer Mundy
Headland Tarrant Bell
Farmer Pavlich Murphy
R: Sandilands Crowley McManus
Int: Warnock Schammer Soloman Hinkley

O'Brien and Foster need at least another week in the WAFL.

Need to start playing Warnock, we look really fragile when Sandi is not rucking and have Mi Johnson/Gilmore rucking.

If we play Ma Johnson, M Carr etc we are going backwards.

Mayne needs to play at least 1 to 2 WAFL games before coming back in.

If Murphy doesn't perform than replace him the week after with Bradley. If we don't play him, then why recruit him. His WAFL form has been ok and he deserves at least 1 shot at the 3rd tall position.