View Full Version : Female AFL Players?

Eel_storm
26 Apr 2008, 14:18
Dale Thomas is basically a girl anyway, so why not? If they're good enough they're good enough.

Richo is God
26 Apr 2008, 23:13
they wont be able to cope with the physical aspect of the game.

matera_goal
26 Apr 2008, 23:26
If they are good enough and can cope with the physicality of the game, why not?

hawka187
26 Apr 2008, 23:28
the AFL is soft nowdays anywayz, so let em play lol

nah joking, should be for men only, womens have their own competition, imagine Barry Hall throwing a punch at a chick.....IMAGINE the headlines :eek:

Eel_storm
27 Apr 2008, 11:07
they have a higher threshold for pain, so the physicality of the game isn't an issue.

Last Line Hero
27 Apr 2008, 14:01
they have a higher threshold for pain, so the physicality of the game isn't an issue.

Piss off.

Physicality not an issue? How many females out there do you think are carrying say 188cm and 85kg frames (what I would call the average footballer) with impeccable athletic ability and great skills to boot? None.

The two best female footballers in the country played in the EJ Whitten legends game last year and couldn't get near the thing against a bunch of old, unfit, out of shape former players, they just ran up and down th field following the play they had no clue what they were doing it was horrible to watch, and also they were completely dwarfed by them.

And you reckon they'd be able to cope in the AFL? Your'e clearly an idiot.

TBH, if I ever saw a women out on the field playing in the AFL, I'd hope she gets polaxed so we can see how inept they would be and put an end to this rediculous debate once and for all. Harsh, but women can never and will never be able to play in the AFL.

ams4crows
27 Apr 2008, 15:58

best sentence on Big footy!

however true it may be it'll never happen could you imagine the Headlines if a female won BOG or took out barry hall!

Eel_storm
27 Apr 2008, 17:26
Piss off.

Physicality not an issue? How many females out there do you think are carrying say 188cm and 85kg frames (what I would call the average footballer) with impeccable athletic ability and great skills to boot? None.

The two best female footballers in the country played in the EJ Whitten legends game last year and couldn't get near the thing against a bunch of old, unfit, out of shape former players, they just ran up and down th field following the play they had no clue what they were doing it was horrible to watch, and also they were completely dwarfed by them.

TBH, if I ever saw a women out on the field playing in the AFL, I'd hope she gets polaxed so we can see how inept they would be and put an end to this rediculous debate once and for all. Harsh, but women can never and will never be able to play in the AFL.

I think the best female footballers would be able to compete in the AFL, depending on what type they are. Whatever you said about the Whitten game, that was one game, and i don't think they would be that bad that they couldn't get a kick against a bunch of 40+men . . . obvioiusly something else was going on there.

Your last paragraph smacks of intolerance.

Alatna
27 Apr 2008, 17:59

You know men can get polaxed too. It's not an indication of being inept. And it is a scientific fact that women have higher pain thresholds. They have to. They give birth. It's a purposeful design of nature.

We have players who are 5'8 and 70kg running around and contributing.

If a female player comes along and has the skills, fitness and aggression to play at AFL level, then her gender alone is not a reason to overlook her.

However, I don't think we have seen one yet who's up to the standard.

Certainly they should not be included simply for the sake of having women in the AFL.

Power King
27 Apr 2008, 18:07
It's a catch 22, you lose or you lose.

If a man has to hip and shoulder a player which may knock someone out, in order to provide a genuine advantage to his team, a significant;y large proportion of men are not going to do this to a woman because of their morality, regardless of whether the afl allows it. This compromises the integrity of the game.

If a man does indeed decide to do it because it's in the rules, and the woman is knockout cold, the headlines will be unbelievably immense, as though world war III has broken out.

Women has no place playing with men in the AFL.

I can't understand why people would want it to happen either. Seems extremely stupid to me.

edit: also saying women have a higher threshold of pain compared to men is ridiculous. They are unable to put on as much muscle/bulk as men, generally speaking. If you are considering birth, that may very well be true when it comes to their genital region, but you must consider that men do not have vaginas. Also, genital threshold os pain is absolutely different to pain inflicted on the torso, back, head, ribs etc

seriously, people who are dead serious in considering this are downright cooked in the head

Last Line Hero
27 Apr 2008, 18:24
I think the best female footballers would be able to compete in the AFL, depending on what type they are. Whatever you said about the Whitten game, that was one game, and i don't think they would be that bad that they couldn't get a kick against a bunch of 40+men . . . obvioiusly something else was going on there.

Your last paragraph smacks of intolerance.

Well mate, they didn't get near it. They were utterly useless. What, do you think they received this great opportunity and were told not to sniff leather? Please tell me you aren't that stupid!!!

And they were the best female footballers and failed to compete against past stars.

Have you ever been and watched a game of womens football?

You know men can get polaxed too. It's not an indication of being inept. And it is a scientific fact that women have higher pain thresholds. They have to. They give birth. It's a purposeful design of nature.

We have players who are 5'8 and 70kg running around and contributing.

If a female player comes along and has the skills, fitness and aggression to play at AFL level, then her gender alone is not a reason to overlook her.

However, I don't think we have seen one yet who's up to the standard.

Certainly they should not be included simply for the sake of having women in the AFL.

I know it's a fact women have higher pain thresholds than men, but if a 5'8 70kg women gets hit in a pack or hip and shouldered by the average male footballer she is going down and going down hard, as they simply do not have the physical attributes to compete. Plain and simple. And the AFL would never allow it due to the risks involved and as Power King said the social 'stigma' that would arise around 'men hitting women.'

The best female athletes in the world physically are basketballers, they are as close as you will ever get in terms of women who could play AFL, and none of them have anywhere near the neccessary strength, size, running capability, endurance that male footballers do.

So unless superwomen comes along, and/or violence against women is advocated, give it up now, it will never happen.

Port_Magic
27 Apr 2008, 18:39
well i think there should be the AFLW or something, like a womens league of AFL with all the AFL teams that are competeing in the AFL. Not that Women can't play AFL its just, would a bloke want to go full pelt at a woman and nearly knock her out with a good ol hip and shoulder

deeps
27 Apr 2008, 19:10
They should have their own womens comp.

No other sport has women and men competing together (well, very few sports), so why would the AFL do it

siamang
27 Apr 2008, 19:13
How is anyone even considering the idea? Women will never rival men for strength or height, it's simply biological fact. This means they could never play against men in a contact sport.

mattdwyer
27 Apr 2008, 19:15
the last 3 number 1 draft picks have all been female havent they ??

Alatna
28 Apr 2008, 01:04
edit: also saying women have a higher threshold of pain compared to men is ridiculous. They are unable to put on as much muscle/bulk as men, generally speaking. If you are considering birth, that may very well be true when it comes to their genital region, but you must consider that men do not have vaginas. Also, genital threshold os pain is absolutely different to pain inflicted on the torso, back, head, ribs etc

Lol! Pain is pain, dude. You (clearly) have never given birth.

Pegman
28 Apr 2008, 01:55
When i played a few years back, we had a girl in our team. Never blinked twice over the fact she was a chick, she came second in our best and fairest. Believe me, she was as hard as any of the dudes in the league, she actually put fear into the other blokes in our division!

Of course, this was under 16's-18's. Guys bulk up a heap after this period. But still, saying that they can't compete isn't true. Honestly, i reckon there will come a time when a girl does show she can match it with the guys, both mentally and physically. And all credit to her! :thumbsu:

gytre
28 Apr 2008, 07:47
Piss off.

A superb summary. Take a bow. :thumbsu:

legitimatic
28 Apr 2008, 08:04
Wtf at this thread?

Coughlan
28 Apr 2008, 10:43
No, its a mans competetion, I don't care how painful childbirth is, its got nothing to do with, they simply aren't strong enough, big enough or fast enough to compete.
Their is no way they could take a hit from your average AFL player and get back into it straight away.
They would be nothing more then a passenger.
Besides what other major sporting league has men and women competing in the same comp?

thebigboy
28 Apr 2008, 11:45
the last 3 number 1 draft picks have all been female havent they ??

4 if you include Delideo;)

Catfish Alley
28 Apr 2008, 15:21
Sure, men on average are much bigger and stronger than women but it's not always the case. For example, Lauren Jackson would clean-up somebody like Josh Thurgood if she ran through him.

Eel_storm
28 Apr 2008, 15:30
It's a catch 22, you lose or you lose.

If a man has to hip and shoulder a player which may knock someone out, in order to provide a genuine advantage to his team, a significant;y large proportion of men are not going to do this to a woman because of their morality, regardless of whether the afl allows it. This compromises the integrity of the game.

why would it be immoral to hipnshoulder a female if it's on the field?

gytre
28 Apr 2008, 15:31
Sure, men on average are much bigger and stronger than women but it's not always the case. For example, Lauren Jackson would clean-up somebody like Josh Thurgood if she ran through him.
Haha. Except she'd lack the speed to play a decent level of Aussie Rules and she'd be too small to be a ruckman... err woman. :D

Catfish Alley
28 Apr 2008, 15:40
Haha. Except she'd lack the speed to play a decent level of Aussie Rules and she'd be too small to be a ruckman... err woman. :D

At 196cm she'd be tall enough but probably need to bulk up. I'm just saying women can be bigger, faster and stronger than some men.

gytre
28 Apr 2008, 15:46
At 196cm she'd be tall enough but probably need to bulk up. I'm just saying women can be bigger, faster and stronger than some men.
She wouldn't be faster than Josh Thurgood.

DockersMad
28 Apr 2008, 16:09
No. Period.

Catfish Alley
28 Apr 2008, 16:09
She wouldn't be faster than Josh Thurgood.

Maybe not. But there would be women that are faster than a lot of AFL players. Greg Williams wasn't fast, Tony Shaw couldn't kick far, David Mensch sucked etc :p Players have different attributes and a women could potentially have the physical attributes and skill to play.

Sanecow
28 Apr 2008, 16:16
I'm all for it;Harvey couldn't grab a woman by the nuts.

Nardz
28 Apr 2008, 16:25
would the father-daughter rule then take effect?

How about when a coach instructs a player to "take her out". is that player then gonna turn up with flowers and chocolates?

:D

Feerits Elf
28 Apr 2008, 16:47
No. Period.No period. You raise a good point. :thumbsu:

Feerits Elf
28 Apr 2008, 16:51
How about when a coach instructs a player to "take her out". is that player then gonna turn up with flowers and chocolates?:DWhat if the player was told to "pick her up"?
Or worse still, a key defender was told to "go down on the full-forward"?
Could a female defender play a "loose woman" role?

The possibilities are endless. :D

Coughlan
28 Apr 2008, 17:07
Maybe not. But there would be women that are faster than a lot of AFL players. Greg Williams wasn't fast, Tony Shaw couldn't kick far, David Mensch sucked etc :p Players have different attributes and a women could potentially have the physical attributes and skill to play.
No they couldn't.
Im sorry, just not a chance

Catfish Alley
28 Apr 2008, 17:13
No they couldn't.
Im sorry, just not a chance

Personally, I can't see a female playing AFL in the near future. But there are guys playing now that are under 180cm and under 75kg.