View Full Version : Round 7 vs ST.KILDA
They've had the wood over us recently. Its at the TD, so our pace should be too much for them.
I am confident for this match. If we play with the same intensity we have over the past 3 matches, we should do well. The Saints are slow, so if we can break the game open we should win. Lets hope they don't bring Gehrig back.
Thoughts?
UpTheGuts
27 Apr 2008, 22:31
If we bring the game we displayed last week to TD, we will win by 5 goals
IF....
Richo is God
27 Apr 2008, 22:32
IMO if they dont bring the g train in for this match, they've conceded defeat. g train has always played well against us
Madtiger2006
27 Apr 2008, 22:35
we'll win this game :thumbsu:
LuKe2428
27 Apr 2008, 22:40
The only Riewoldt kicking goals will be JACKY BOY he will sow is cuz how to kick;)
Grog squad and cheer squad again gunna be as load as anything:thumbsu::thumbsu:
jko'neal
28 Apr 2008, 00:03
IMO if they dont bring the g train in for this match, they've conceded defeat. g train has always played well against us
Has killed us in the past but he had a shocker on the weekend in Tassie, no doubt they will try and shut this game down.The Saints would be crazy to get into a running game with our blokes. So expect some Saint flooding come the weekend and a frustrating game.
RichosGuns
28 Apr 2008, 00:09
Can't imagine they would bring Gehrig back in, he only kicked 1 behind for the magoos this week - it would be sending the wrong long term message
I personally can't see the Saints kicking enough goals to beat us next week, I'm really confident that our speedsters can burn off the Saints one pace midfield. Their rucks aren't that great either.
With Richo up the ground, Hudgeton will be forced to play on a Riewoldt or Polak which will free up the runners in Morton and Brown. Kozi will have to play 1st ruck and Simmo should be able to beat him.
With Thursty on Riewoldt, King on Milne, Schultz on the resting ruckman, we really match-up well.
Hopefully Gehrig doesn't play, as others have said, he always tears our undersized backman a new one
i just hope the media come the heavy with them this week but they will be fired up but i give us a big chance
kizzaob
28 Apr 2008, 01:03
Can't remember the last time i've walked away from a saints game happy.
They always always always beat us!
Gave em a run for their money at the end of last year, lets go one better this satday night!
Go Tiges!
BloodOfaTiger27
28 Apr 2008, 01:22
i will be majorly dissapointed if we lose this game, we need the points if we want to be a fighting chance for the finals which i believe is a realistic goal
tigerdan
28 Apr 2008, 09:30
St Kilda should logically beat us, but...
They are not in great form and we are better than last year. If we win we're definitely heading in the right direction.
turtle27
28 Apr 2008, 11:47
we'll win this game :thumbsu:Agree, and at $2.30, there's coin to be made.
CoggaRules
28 Apr 2008, 11:49
next test for the tigers. Right now its got to the point where we are competitive against top sides, but we need to win the close ones. Especially the ones where we trail for the majority of the game and put the nose in front on the back of some heavy work.
Two dissapointing things from last nights game. We got close, without any input from Edwards and no FF, Newmo had a dirty one as well.
And we hit the front at the right time but did not hold on to the lead or consolidate it.
Saints are going to have backs to the wall, so be alert tigers. Lets break their hearts and cause them internal bleeding. It will just about ruin their season, their supporters are already bagging the Lyon game plan, so it aint all rosy down at the aints. ;)
tiger trooper
28 Apr 2008, 12:59
TIger Troopers Assesment for Round 7.
As you all know, St kilda has a midfield machine once they get rolling. Over the past few encounters, reiwoltd and gehrig have dominated us. I think to win this game our run has to be generated early, while stopping Dal-Santo.
Squad:
B: King: Thursty: Moore
HB: Bowden: Mguane: Mchman
C: Richo: Tuck: Johnson
HF: Morton: Reiwolt: Brown
F: Bling: Polak : Collins
RR: Simmo Foley Lids
I: Cotchin Patto White Jackson
Don't think this will be the squad, but thats what i would like.
Ins: Bowden - Missed his disposal efficiency, and think its time he goes into seniors.
cotchin- hope he makes his debut, would rather now then against geelong.
Collins - Same as cotchin. See wat the kids are made of.
Jackson- Bring him in for dalsanto (or any other of saints midfield)
Agree, and at $2.30, there's coin to be made.
Yeah, this lack of respect is proving lucrative.
I got off to a nice start pre season by backing us not to win the spoon when everyone seemed to think we would. Not huge $'s, but nice :)
Realistic Tiger
28 Apr 2008, 13:47
As you all know, St kilda has a midfield machine once they get rolling. Over the past few encounters, reiwoltd and gehrig have dominated us. I think to win this game our run has to be generated early, while stopping Dal-Santo.
Squad:
Ins: Bowden - Missed his disposal efficiency, and think its time he goes into seniors.
Gee, we lose a game by 12 points against an undefeated mob and you want to make 4 changes and on top of that you want to axe some of our best performers in recent weeks in Schulz & Newman. Hyde and Edwards would be candidates to be dropped but I get the feeling Hyde will keep his spot for 1 more week.
For mine heading into the Saints game I would make 2 changes: Out - Edwards(omitted) White(injured). In - Bowden Jackson. Simple reason being I think JB has got the message now that to be part of this side he has to play selfless footy and put the team goals ahead of his own goals. With Jackson I think he is the type of run with player who can also hurt the opposition going the other way. Also he is another solidly built midfielder we can bring in who can tackle and can also break through opposition tackles. So bring him in and set him for someone like Hayes who does the same type of role for the Saints.
We have played the last 2 weeks with an unchanged lineup and have come away with 2 points so while there are promising signs there, I think we need to change it up.
So with that here is the squad I would like to see us head into the Saints game with:
B: King Thursfield Moore
HB: McMahon Schulz Newman
C: Richo Johnson Hyde
HF: Morton Deledio Tambling
F: Riewoldt Polak Brown
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
I: Pattison McGuane Bowden Jackson
E: Collins Edwards Hughes
TIGER ROCKET
28 Apr 2008, 13:51
why the hell would hyde be dropped after his game on chance bateman?
tigerdan
28 Apr 2008, 13:53
Like your changes RT, but I would keep Edwards and contemplate dropping Hyde if he is to be used as a backman. As a tagger he did a good job, I will accept that. But as a defender he is prone to stop, prop and get tackled. There are better options than Hyde for the back flank I think.
CoggaRules
28 Apr 2008, 13:58
i think there are few tigerheads that need to understand something. They are giving raps to players purely because they shut down their direct opponent. When we get to the point where we give raps to such players because they shut down along with actually creating for us, then we wont have to see lop sided inside 50s. Its ok to tag, it aint ok to have 80% of your midfield trying to tag. Thats useless TW. You gotta take risks dude, work out who you have to tag and who you can afford to let have the ball, and play that player loose with one of our attacking mids. Just like all the other teams in the comp do with us.
How many disposals did Bateman have? I would bet my bottom dollar 99% of them were disposals sending the ball inside 50. i.e. Hyde was irrelevant in stemming that. ;)
tigerboyz
28 Apr 2008, 14:19
Omg it's been 5 years since we beat them.:eek:
Realistic Tiger
28 Apr 2008, 14:27
i think there are few tigerheads that need to understand something. They are giving raps to players purely because they shut down their direct opponent. When we get to the point where we give raps to such players because they shut down along with actually creating for us, then we wont have to see lop sided inside 50s. Its ok to tag, it aint ok to have 80% of your midfield trying to tag. Thats useless TW. You gotta take risks dude, work out who you have to tag and who you can afford to let have the ball, and play that player loose with one of our attacking mids. Just like all the other teams in the comp do with us.
How many disposals did Bateman have? I would bet my bottom dollar 99% of them were disposals sending the ball inside 50. i.e. Hyde was irrelevant in stemming that. ;)
You would have done you cash then Cogga. Last night Bateman had 14 possies for 2 inside F50's. Considering Bateman entered the game last night averaging 23 disposals and 5 Inside F50's. Give credit where it is due Cogga, Hyde did a very good job on a dangerous player for the Hawks which allowed us to use one of our better players in a more attacking role instead of asking them to sacrifice their game to stop him.
Realistic Tiger
28 Apr 2008, 14:32
Like your changes RT, but I would keep Edwards and contemplate dropping Hyde if he is to be used as a backman. As a tagger he did a good job, I will accept that. But as a defender he is prone to stop, prop and get tackled. There are better options than Hyde for the back flank I think.
Would keep Hyde and set him for Montagna, bring in Jackson to run with Hayes/Dal Santo than have Tuck go head to head with the other one. Leaves our better ball users to play more attacking games where they can hurt the Saints a lot more.
CoggaRules
28 Apr 2008, 14:36
You would have done you cash then Cogga. Last night Bateman had 14 possies for 2 inside F50's. Considering Bateman entered the game last night averaging 23 disposals and 5 Inside F50's. Give credit where it is due Cogga, Hyde did a very good job on a dangerous player for the Hawks which allowed us to use one of our better players in a more attacking role instead of asking them to sacrifice their game to stop him.
ok i can cop that. But cop this too. Hyde is useless when trying to create plays for us. Its the usual back track, stop, prop, have NFI what to do next etc. We need another dimension with our taggers. Stopping an opponent isnt enough nowadays. ;)
Realistic Tiger
28 Apr 2008, 14:47
ok i can cop that. But cop this too. Hyde is useless when trying to create plays for us. Its the usual back track, stop, prop, have NFI what to do next etc. We need another dimension with our taggers. Stopping an opponent isnt enough nowadays. ;)
Right with you there but at the moment with Hyde getting a game I would much rather him stopping an opposition player from getting it 25 times a game which helps us, rather than him and his opponent getting it 25 times each and they both hurt us. As a run with player he doesn't get the chance to be the link man and was only used yesterday when there was no other real option.
As I said my last post this week against the Saints I would set him the task of shutting down Montagna who is averaging 25 possies & 6 inside F50's per game. Has the ability to run with him the whole game and enough speed to match him as well. Will go a long way towards us coming out with a win if we can curb Montagna, while also stopping Hyde getting the ball as well. The other benefit is Montagna might lead Hyde to where the ball is in our F50 as he often gets back to help out the Saints backline, this might allow Hyde to jag 1-2 goals which would go down nicely.
seanoffshotgun
28 Apr 2008, 15:08
To try and establish some momentum we need to beat the saints. They're not as quick as us and I believe we can match up well against them.
This game is a must win! Saints are struggling and we're hitting some form albeit against tough sides we weren't expected to beat.
Have King mark that rodent Milne. He's always played well against us which really irks me. Hopefully not this time. Thursty on the baboon Gehrig. The young fella will fare better this year as opposed to last when he was a little light.
We need to push them, hard. We have the fitness to run them ragged.
Richo is God
28 Apr 2008, 15:41
i think he just about lost us the game last night. there was a heated couple of minutes in the last qtr where everyone was getting tackled and the ball wouldnt come out, he eventually got the ball and just stood there didnt even look for anyone and got tackled and the ball spilled out to a hawk and they got the clearance which resulted in a goal and the momentum swung their way again and they kicked 3 goals to 1 after that
tigerarmyboy
28 Apr 2008, 17:26
is this game a richmond home game ??
yeah.
carn tigez
28 Apr 2008, 17:51
its not relevant but i found it unbelievable that the Lions haven't beaten us since 2004
tiger trooper
28 Apr 2008, 19:23
RT
Forgot about Newman my apologies.
Just want cotchin, bowden to come into the squad. Cotchin to replace white,bowden to come in,
Richmond 2014
28 Apr 2008, 23:39
IMO, Terry either needs Newman getting the ball in the middle or go back to the backline to do the kick outs, every time kelvin moore/Shulz kicked it out to Polak on the Flank i almost had a heart attack. We need his class in the back line.
Chris Hyde had a great game, stayed on Chance the entire game kept him well below his best, why not put him on Montagna and put Tuck on Dal Santo
Richo doesnt have the best of Games against Saints because i think Sam Fisher and MAx Hudgton work well together so another wing appearance.
Let Reidowlt/Brown/Morton play forward and Richo float in, and we will win
Moore on N Reidwolt
Polak/McGuane on Kozi
also drop wither Matt White or Edwards, and bring in Cotchin
we need some class delivery up forward because Newman hasnt got the hang of midfield, so let Trent have a shot delivering it to Morton who will not miss a set shot
Sam Fisher, Dal Santo, Lenny Hayes are all we need to worry about, those three give run into the forward line, thats how reidwolt kicks his goals
This is the game where Deledio will explode, watch...
Great game this weekend looking forward to it..
CaptainBlood
29 Apr 2008, 00:41
i think he just about lost us the game last night. there was a heated couple of minutes in the last qtr where everyone was getting tackled and the ball wouldnt come out, he eventually got the ball and just stood there didnt even look for anyone and got tackled and the ball spilled out to a hawk and they got the clearance which resulted in a goal and the momentum swung their way again and they kicked 3 goals to 1 after that
VERY harsh call. Nearly all our players were tackled in that passage of play, including Browny.
I'm with Realistic Tiger on Montagna - he is the only Saints midfielder who can run and break lines and kick goals. If we can stop him we've got them covered. After his job on Bateman, who plays a similar style, Hyde would have to be the first option. Jackson is unlucky to be playing magoos but TW has shown he won't be dropping guys if they are playing well.
I'd love to see Bowden back, but can't see who will go out. McGuane was good yesterday and he'd be a good match-up for Kosi.
If anyone's interested I have a TIger blog at
http://blogs.news.com.au/heraldsun/afl/fanforce/index.php/heraldsun/comments/tiger_troop_surge_just_fails/
osakabull
29 Apr 2008, 00:52
Montagna always kills us along with Gehrig.This is the season breaking game IMO.If they lose forget about finals.In fact if they lose it will be as weak as piss.Its pathetic we havent beaten them in so long because they are the great pretenders.
Yeah and we have picked up two wooden spoons in that time - what did you expect.
osakabull
29 Apr 2008, 01:45
I expected them at some stage to win and stop teasing Richmond supporters.I hope its not just a tease this year.
Tag Gram as well as Montagna. Although, Dal Santo has been shit all year so we don't want him to run riot.
Bring in Joel for White if injured.
CaptainBlood
29 Apr 2008, 14:24
I reckon let Gram get it as much as he likes. All you have to do is figure out where is 55-metre helicopter kicks are going to land and pick them off. Then kill them the other way because he is the least defensive half-back in the comp.
Tiger67
29 Apr 2008, 14:29
I find it hard to believe that not once in all the posts in this thread has there been a mention of a bloke by the name of Harvey.
He has singlehandedly dismantled us on more occassions than any other player in the comp since the days when Dermie was at his best at the Hawks and he did the same thing to us.
Truetiger
29 Apr 2008, 14:47
I find it hard to believe that not once in all the posts in this thread has there been a mention of a bloke by the name of Harvey.
He has singlehandedly dismantled us on more occassions than any other player in the comp since the days when Dermie was at his best at the Hawks and he did the same thing to us.
I would like to see how harvey keeps up knowing it will be a quick game unless stkilda slow it down as per usual.
Tiger67
29 Apr 2008, 15:10
I would like to see how harvey keeps up knowing it will be a quick game unless stkilda slow it down as per usual.
I have been wondering that for 15 years.
Harvey has never been a fast mover but he is an incredibly fast thinker and he kills us with his usage of the ball all the time.
Tigerdream
29 Apr 2008, 19:37
Anyone have any contact details for Jake King.....I want to give him some cash to beat the living $hit out of Milne, most arrogant little prick I've ever seen.
Bob's ya uncle
29 Apr 2008, 19:39
Actually feeling a little confident about this one.
tigers_of_old_08
29 Apr 2008, 19:44
Last time we played against the Sainters Gehrig kicked a bagful (unlikely he'll be playing let alone he is out of form if he does), Simmo was missing, and we still managed to have the lead at Q3 time.
Very winnable this time round and yes, some coin to be made if you dont mind a friendly bet.
Go Tigers
kizzaob
29 Apr 2008, 21:22
Squad:
looks good, but newman and white deserve their spots.
Eye of the Tiger
29 Apr 2008, 21:27
Squad:
I hope Cotchin and Bowden plays. it will be interesting to see how good cotchin is
Eye of the Tiger
29 Apr 2008, 21:32
Last time we played against the Sainters Gehrig kicked a bagful (unlikely he'll be playing let alone he is out of form if he does), Simmo was missing, and we still managed to have the lead at Q3 time.
Very winnable this time round and yes, some coin to be made if you dont mind a friendly bet.
Go Tigers
Saints havent played very well recently and i reckon that the form Richmond has shown we can win this game by 5 goals.
Crumden
29 Apr 2008, 21:34
If White is fit I'd like to see him in this week. His kicking leaves a lot to be desired, but his pace was important against Freo and could also be against the similarly slow saints.
Can't imagine they would bring Gehrig back in, he only kicked 1 behind for the magoos this week - it would be sending the wrong long term message
I personally can't see the Saints kicking enough goals to beat us next week, I'm really confident that our speedsters can burn off the Saints one pace midfield. Their rucks aren't that great either.
With Richo up the ground, Hudgeton will be forced to play on a Riewoldt or Polak which will free up the runners in Morton and Brown. Kozi will have to play 1st ruck and Simmo should be able to beat him.
With Thursty on Riewoldt, King on Milne, Schultz on the resting ruckman, we really match-up well.
Hopefully Gehrig doesn't play, as others have said, he always tears our undersized backman a new one
not worried with Gehrig only kicking 1 behind on the weekend..
we all know Big Frase Never plays well in Tassie.
If our rucks aren't great, then what are yours? :eek:
King/M.Gardiner/Kosi >>>> Simmonds/Pattison :o
not worried with Gehrig only kicking 1 behind on the weekend..
we all know Big Frase Never plays well in Tassie.
If our rucks aren't great, then what are yours? :eek:
Simmo is one of the best Ruckman in the competition.
Gehrig will play IMO. Those saying the Saints will slow it down are wrong, the media are all over them about it and Riewoldt said its not their gameplan, expect them to be attacking.
Mario Speedwagon
30 Apr 2008, 02:01
Everybody's trophy cabinet >>>> St. Kilda's:o
Drunken Wookie
30 Apr 2008, 03:50
Simmonds>>>>>>King/Gardiner
Pattison>>>>>>>Kosi (as a ruckman)
tiger of old
30 Apr 2008, 09:47
LOL@ those who want Cotchin in the side this week.
He,s 3 games away from being considered.
Great 1st up game for Coburg followed up by an ok game=No fitness base.
The kid will be good but atm he would be lucky to see out 20mins at AFL level.
CoggaRules
30 Apr 2008, 10:31
gotta sneaky suspicion that the no 14 is going to make a reappearance in the 1s this week. ;)
Deledio2Tambling
30 Apr 2008, 12:28
Debut Cotchin in the DreamTime game I reckon.
If I was a betting man I'd say that's when he'd debut, we have a habit of giving youngsters their first game in that match. Eg. Polo, JON, Riewoldt etc.
Simmonds>>>>>>King/Gardiner
Pattison>>>>>>>Kosi (as a ruckman)
Kosi >>> Pattison
Any All Australians for Simmonds? No :thumbsu:
Bleeding Tiger
30 Apr 2008, 14:17
I doubt cotchin will play..... he is coming back from an injury that would not be suited to the hard surface of TD.....
Dreamtime will be the unveiling of the Cotch:thumbsu:
I beleive stkilda really only have about six mid rotating through the centre.
Whereas we would have around eight/nine.
gotta sneaky suspicion that the no 14 is going to make a reappearance in the 1s this week. ;)
Any reasons why?
Simmo shits all over King/Gardiner even though he isn't an AA Ruckmen. King and Gardiner are past AFL.
CoggaRules
30 Apr 2008, 14:51
Any reasons why?
Simmo shits all over King/Gardiner even though he isn't an AA Ruckmen. King and Gardiner are past AFL.
??? me thinks you are barking up the wrong tree there dude. ;)
Any reasons why?
What's Polo got to do with our ruck stocks?
Polo and Connors - wildcards of the RFC:thumbsu:
RichosGuns
30 Apr 2008, 15:19
The big G-Train will almost be certainly playing according to Lyon
What's Polo got to do with our ruck stocks?
I couldn't be stuffed quoting that St.Kilda fan.
Kosi >>> Pattison
Any All Australians for Simmonds? No :thumbsu:
hahahhahah
robert harvey is an all australian
are you suggesting his better than foley?
Tassie27
1 May 2008, 16:02
BTW can anyone recall when we last defeated the Saints? I often go with friends who are Saints supporters and I cannot recall the last time I left the ground happy...:(
The Dice Man
1 May 2008, 16:29
BTW can anyone recall when we last defeated the Saints? I often go with friends who are Saints supporters and I cannot recall the last time I left the ground happy...:(
Theyve beaten us the past nine encounters, but IIRC that last win was where Grant Thomas came out and said they were better than us, despite losing to us.
Guess he was kinda right really.
Drunken Wookie
1 May 2008, 17:17
TV Guide says it's on some Fox Sports Channel 518(?) live, I'll be heading to the pub to watch it (get to the game, I know, blah blah - can't) is it likely they'll have it or is it some special channel?
RichosGuns
1 May 2008, 17:21
TV Guide says it's on some Fox Sports Channel 518(?) live, I'll be heading to the pub to watch it (get to the game, I know, blah blah - can't) is it likely they'll have it or is it some special channel?
What state?
I'm going to the game, but chanel 10 have been advertising it at 7.30 all week (half hour delay)
The Dice Man
1 May 2008, 17:23
Ch 518 would be Main Event Ch but I think thats only for northern states... ie. Qld & NSW.
Drunken Wookie
1 May 2008, 17:26
Oh okay crisis averted, I see what I did there, stupid AFL site set to Northern NSW by default. I'm dumb, thanks for helping me realise that!
itsintheblood
1 May 2008, 17:44
The big G-Train will almost be certainly playing according to Lyon
Im kinda hoping he does. He aint much chop any more. His hands are a mess. Our backline will run him ragged.
Really confident this week.
The Dice Man
1 May 2008, 18:08
Oh okay crisis averted, I see what I did there, stupid AFL site set to Northern NSW by default. I'm dumb, thanks for helping me realise that!
Aint no such thing as a dumb Tiger supporter... Perhaps a drunk Tiger supporter, but never a dumb Tiger supporter.:thumbsu:
Honeymoon period is over I am sad to say
Drunken Wookie
1 May 2008, 23:27
Honeymoon period is over I am sad to say
What? You mean to say the first 6 clubs were taking it easy on us?
Gehrig is no good. He has played some sloppy games and with his arthritis, he should just retire now and go back to his retirement village. He's won't be the Gehrig that rapes us anymore.
RichosGuns
2 May 2008, 00:21
G-Train, Micheal Gardiner and Schnider are HUGE in's!
Bassically it means that they can play Gehrig, Riewoldt and Kozi/Garidiner up foward at the same time. With Schnider in aswell it gives them small options aswell. Hopefully all of their IN's have been rushed back in a knee jerk reaction and aren't fully fit
I think we will have to match-up:
McGuane Vs Riewoldt: McGuane plays better at CHB
Thursty Vs Gehrig: A little bit of a worrying match-up because Gehrig will always beat Thursty 1-on-1 but Thursty is too small play on Kozi or M Gardiner
Schultz Vs Kozi/M Gardiner: Schultz is the largest of our Key backs and should take their tall
Moore Vs Charlie Gardiner/Schnider
King Vs Milne
Newman has to play loose man in defence and has too fill out the hole in the centre.
Tigerland2007
2 May 2008, 00:52
Thursfield/Riewoltd- Best Suited matchup for thursty and we know what hes done before on nick.
Schulz/ Gehrig- Schulz is our biggest body defender, plus IMO is our mostlikely to attack from defence and actually have the ability to push forward and kick a goal or 2 and have the skills to hurt Fraser on the rebound.
McGaune- Kossie- Taller than moore and should match up better on kossie.
Moore- Charlie Gardiner- play tight on gardiner and choke them of there lead up option and this force riewoltd up the ground more often away from goals.
McMahon- Schneider/Birss- simple mcmahon goes to eiether one of those 2.
King- Milne- kingy should annoy the shit out of him right from the word go, give him nothing, he is one of those guys that will do nothing and frsurate fans for weeks on end, then come and play a blinder and kick 5 plus against us.
I guess another way they could go is Moore on GTrain, Schulz- Kossie and McGaune /C.Gardiner
and in our forward line, nothing surer than baker on brown.
Maxy will probly take Polak. Maguire- Riewoltd, not sure for the rest
tony_montana
2 May 2008, 12:55
I just want to know who the hell is going to stop that little pr.ick Milne, always seems to have a night out against us and kills us not just on the scoreboard but around the ground, very frustrating bc I don't rate him. I'm worried about playing King on Milne, King is very attacking and can be destroyed if the Saints are winning ball in midfield.
Montagna runs riot against us, will anyone sacrifice their game and hold him to 15-18 possies? I would give hyde a crack, apparently Hyde has the tank, has done some good jobs the last few weeks and bc hes useless going forward give him the sacrificial job on Montagna.
3rd Harvey, getting old but still very damaging and generally destorys us in the final quarter when our players are feeling the pinch. Must cut him out.
Contrary to previous meetings, Im more worried about their midfield/running brigade now that Ball is getting back to full fitness and Montagna is going to the next level. We beat them in midfield and our backs will do the job, Thursty, Moore, Schulz and McGuane are really going places. Also wouldnt surprise to see one of the Clarke bros bob up and kill us, these types of players usually do
tigerdan
2 May 2008, 13:35
By rights they should beat us because they have so many mature bodies to just brush most of the team out of the way. That's the way it's been the last few years. But the Saints aren't in great form and the selections could well be underdone players in the hope of getting a win.
An upset could be on the cards.
Or Gehrig can do a Buddy and kick 1.7
i reckon saints fans would just about take that at the moment:o
We all know Fraser's Bogey ground is aywhere in Tassies.
and Richmond's Bogey FF is Fraser Gehrig.
CoggaRules
2 May 2008, 20:08
saints want this one badly. I would say this is their number 1 line up. Lets ____ them tiges and make them a basket case. They are toast if they dont win this one and Lyon will be on the skids. ;)