View Full Version : Is Gumby our Ryan Fitzgerald?

kelvin_sheedy
1 May 2008, 19:26
Both highly talented kids.

Both tall, bean pole types and athletic.

Both constantly injured.

Are their bodies cut out for AFL football?

Will Gumby ever fill out enough and have the required size for AFL?

Does 2 years of zero development mean Gumby will never reach the heights of a No. 2 pick?

Should we trade him at the end of the year when his value is still high?

Which gun footballers were constantly injured in their first 2 years?

Ludwig van Bertstare
1 May 2008, 19:33

Both constantly injured.

Does 2 years of zero development mean Gumby will never reach the heights of a No. 2 pick?

James Hird?

bomber69
1 May 2008, 19:39
Nick Riewoldt has been plagued by injury for alot of his career, now look at him.

The Dustbin
1 May 2008, 19:39

Both constantly injured.

Are their bodies cut out for AFL football? Yes

Will Gumby ever fill out enough and have the required size for AFL? Yes

Does 2 years of zero development mean Gumby will never reach the heights of a No. 2 pick? No

Should we trade him at the end of the year when his value is still high? No

Luke Hodge
Nick Riewoldt
James Hird

aaronm46
1 May 2008, 21:01
big brother contestant in a few years then aye?

SirJimi05
1 May 2008, 21:11

Both constantly injured.

And you reckon i'm clueless. :D:thumbsu:

kelvin_sheedy
1 May 2008, 21:27
And you reckon i'm clueless. :D:thumbsu:

And another reply that illustrates your cluelessness. :D :thumbsu:

I've posed a few questions to discuss. Not sure if I subscribe to any. I just got thinking about Gumby's body shape and it reminded me of Fitzy for some unknown reason.

thebigboy
1 May 2008, 21:35
Our Gumby has already played more games than Fitzgerald hasn't he?

I don't think theres a lot to it apart from walking under a few ladders.

GoDons
1 May 2008, 23:09
Fitzgerald's knees were shot. He lost his burst of pace and his leap and didn't really have anything to offer.

Gumbleton hasn't lost that yet, and till he does, he won't be a thing like Fitzgerald except in stature.

Ludwig van Bertstare
2 May 2008, 00:00
It's not like Gumby has wrecked his knees like Fitzgerald did anyway, Gumby's problems are due to his growing and this latest injury was just plain bad luck.

tribey
2 May 2008, 02:35
Nick Riewoldt has been plagued by injury for alot of his career, now look at him.

Couldn't be any further from the truth.

2001 - 6/22 games (Skinny 18 year old in his rookie year)
2002 - 22/22 games (AFL Rising Star, St. Kilda B&F)
2003 - 22/22 games
2004 - 25/25 games (AFLPA MVP, St. Kilda B&F, AA HFF)
2005 - 16/24 games (Broken collarbone R1 @ Gabba)
2006 - 23/23 games (St. Kilda B&F, AA HFF)
2007 - 20/22 games (St. Kilda B&F)
2008 - 6/6 games

Turns 26 in October and already has 140 games under his belt. Well on target for 300.

pinkus maximus
2 May 2008, 05:12
It's not like Gumby has wrecked his knees like Fitzgerald did anyway, Gumby's problems are due to his growing and this latest injury was just plain bad luck.
that is correct

when luke mcpharlin moved to freo he had heaps of back related hamstring problems because he was still growing

hasn't had a problem for 2 years now

Smyth94
2 May 2008, 07:52
Regarding his development - yeah it doesn't help that he's not playing footy but seriously when you compare him to his first round KPP peers of the '06 draft it puts things back into perspective as they haven't done much at all this year and just highlights how long it takes for KPP's with the body of Hansen and Gumbleton to develop

daffo
2 May 2008, 08:17
I have my doubts with Gumby, just coz i know that hammys are hard to shake. He'll play a lot of games for Essendon, BUT he will have constant hammy troubles his career. i'm thinking he'll miss with hammies once every couple of years.

eastaugh36
3 May 2008, 17:33
I'd like to think Gumbleton has more brains than that moron.

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2008, 17:39
Luke Hodge
Nick Riewoldt
James Hird

Add Kosi to that list. Mind you, he is still running into everything on the fieald, but he is showing why he was rated.

lemon chicken
3 May 2008, 23:35
James Hird?

Injuries really only affected his last season of U/18, hence the late draft pick and his first season. Spent most of his second season playing reserves under Pagan and we won the flag. Difference is Hird had a history and strong desire to play for the club, rumours have suggested for a while Gumby would rather be elsewhere.

Jex
3 May 2008, 23:52
He'll have to start calling everybody maaayte.

bOmBeR_BoY1
3 May 2008, 23:53
I love the title of this thread.

And fingers and toes crossed for our sake, hopefully NOT.

Lynch takes a mark
4 May 2008, 11:23
Could be the next Ash Hansen...

has missed 8+ games every year through injuries

25 years old and would have barely played 50 games

kelvin_sheedy
24 Mar 2009, 14:13
Looking more and more likely by the day.

ant555
24 Mar 2009, 14:22
I was going to say he is our Tim Boyle but Boyle has actually played close to a full season once.

It is a worry. Noithing more than bad luck but still a worry that we may not get anything out of him.

Daytripper
24 Mar 2009, 14:47
He'll miss the 6 weeks, don't worry about that - will probably be longer. Then another 3-4 weeks at Bendigo.

Round 10 maybe at best in my opinion.

At best am hoping for a Drew Petrie type career. Thats being really optimistic too.

Sick of hearing words about potential and all that crap with him. Has never done anything and is perenially injured. Not his fault I know but lets face it now, we f**ked up this draft selection.

You draft a player in the top 5 to have a 12 year career. Well the first three years will have gone without a blip and being a KPP the last two years at ages 29/30 could be dodgy as well. So we might get 7 years from him.

Terrific.

FrankGrimes
24 Mar 2009, 14:54
Injuries really only affected his last season of U/18, hence the late draft pick and his first season. Spent most of his second season playing reserves under Pagan and we won the flag. Difference is Hird had a history and strong desire to play for the club, rumours have suggested for a while Gumby would rather be elsewhere.

what would these be? the fact that he signed a 2 year contract?

daffo
24 Mar 2009, 14:58
He'll miss the 6 weeks, don't worry about that - will probably be longer. Then another 3-4 weeks at Bendigo.

You know something that I don't? Care to share?

Daytripper
24 Mar 2009, 15:00
You know something that I don't? Care to share?

I know history.

If its 4-6 weeks with him, then add 2 weeks to the latter figure.

ant555
24 Mar 2009, 15:21

At best am hoping for a Drew Petrie type career. Thats being really optimistic too.

Sick of hearing words about potential and all that crap with him. Has never done anything and is perenially injured. Not his fault I know but lets face it now, we f**ked up this draft selection.

You draft a player in the top 5 to have a 12 year career. Well the first three years will have gone without a blip and being a KPP the last two years at ages 29/30 could be dodgy as well. So we might get 7 years from him.

Terrific.

I don't agree that you can say we ****ed up the draft selection.
Gumby had no history of injuries before we drafted him. It is simply bad luck.
There was no way to predict that he would blow out a hammy and then dislocate a shoulder.
You can not say we should be getting a 10 year player and come out and say we ****ed it up when the bloke gets injuries.

As far as him showing nothing , well you may wan't to rephrase that. He has shown nothing in games you have seen him play.
He showed planty at under 18 level. I know that does not mean squat when it comes to AFL level but he was one of the better players in that draft.
It is just too bad that injury has ment we have been unable to see if he can transfer that ability across.

There is one thing i will comment on. A close friend had lunch with Quinn at the end of last season and Quinn's comment on Gumby was he was still 2 years away development wise.

I will tell you one thing and that is if he takes another two years but we do get a Drew Petrie performance from him i will be happy.
I have rated Petrie for ages. I think he would have been close to a star performer a while ago if he was not continually used to plug gaps all over the ground.

Daytripper
24 Mar 2009, 15:27
I don't agree that you can say we ****ed up the draft selection.
Gumby had no history of injuries before we drafted him. It is simply bad luck.
There was no way to predict that he would blow out a hammy and then dislocate a shoulder.
You can not say we should be getting a 10 year player and come out and say we ****ed it up when the bloke gets injuries.

As far as him showing nothing , well you may wan't to rephrase that. He has shown nothing in games you have seen him play.
He showed planty at under 18 level. I know that does not mean squat when it comes to AFL level but he was one of the better players in that draft.
It is just too bad that injury has ment we have been unable to see if he can transfer that ability across.

There is one thing i will comment on. A close friend had lunch with Quinn at the end of last season and Quinn's comment on Gumby was he was still 2 years away development wise.

I will tell you one thing and that is if he takes another two years but we do get a Drew Petrie performance from him i will be happy.
I have rated Petrie for ages. I think he would have been close to a star performer a while ago if he was not continually used to plug gaps all over the ground.

I rate Petrie too thats why I'm being wildly optimistic.

windyhill
24 Mar 2009, 15:43
It`s just a bloody nightmare, god knows what the boy himself is going through.

Wahooti Fandango
24 Mar 2009, 16:12
I am slowly losing confidence that he will ever play consistent football and I am an optimist.

stay true
24 Mar 2009, 16:32
He's only 20. I know it's frustrating seeing him injured all the time but in all honesty he's just had a run of bad luck.

If you put it in perspective he could have copped it alot worse. Could have had 3 knee reco's in 3 years.

The optimist in me says he'll bounce back.:)

Wahooti Fandango
24 Mar 2009, 16:37
He's only 20. I know it's frustrating seeing him injured all the time but in all honesty he's just had a run of bad luck.

If you put it in perspective he could have copped it alot worse. Could have had 3 knee reco's in 3 years.

The optimist in me says he'll bounce back.:)

Is it bad luck or is there an underlying cause that may prove troublesome for some time?

stay true
24 Mar 2009, 16:39
We'll see when he stops growing.

efcboy
24 Mar 2009, 18:07
to those saying they mucked up the selection...as ant pointed out he had no major issues at the time...it all comes down to a bit of luck really...at the time if the club had selected joel selwood with a bung knee at the time all the doomsayers would have been out saying we've recruited an injury prone little bloke etc. only nostradamus could have predicted it would turn out this way.

i still think they picked the right bloke at the time given the need to replace lloyd, lucas but we've just a truckload of bad luck thus far.

Lance Uppercut
24 Mar 2009, 19:01
alright, that's it. I've had enough. This shit makes me sick to my stomach. I think I'm gonna have not bother visiting this board if I have to read this kind of tripe. I could just post on BB if I wanted to be served up lashings of that pungent manure.

I am so sick of Chicken Littles who, on the strength of NAB cup performances, write off the team, the coach, the players with less than 10 games, the recruiting team, the board and the club in general.

Seriously, go support Richmond or something.

The myopic simpleton's who simply can't see the bigger picture are intensely tiresome.

**** me, in 5 years time when Gumbleton is in his pomp & dominating the competition will you all be eating humble pie? Or when Myers is playing a Hodge like quaterback role, will you all still be wishing you had that workmanlike guy who can't kick but once won a Rising Star award?

Injuries happen. Young players take time to develop. You play the hand your given, and you do it to the best of your ability. You don't just sook because you don't get pocket aces every ****ing hand.

Matthew Knights, whatever you think about him, is executing a plan. He is NOT just copying the current fad, like some other tanned coaches I could name. He is working within the confines of a system designed to equalise, and attempting to innovate.

He's been in the job for 2 minutes - what, do you think he's Jesus ****ing Christ?

Hawthorn were ****ing shithouse for the first few years of Clarkson's reign. I bet I could dig up posts where the Hawthorn version of the current Essendon "supporters" were calling for his head because he wasn't doing what everyone else was doing.

In 2 years time, when every other team is playing a full rolling zone, we'll be cutting it to shreds with fast, exciting football, efficiently moving the ball via a strong spine, with quick handballs, fast running play, and long kicks to out dominant tall forwards.

Will you doubters be lining up to apologise?

I ****ing doubt it :rolleyes:

Anyone who writes off a young player before they've played 20 games, injury or not, is in my opinion, an absolute cretin.

Essendon and it's administrators and coaching staff are far from perfect. But I'll tell you this for free. They are more talented, intelligent, and know far more about the art of building a football team than any of you.

Funny how the few people on this board, like Ant55 and Longy, who actually have ties with the club, aren't the ones wringing their hands with this pathetic self-hating pessimistic bullshit.

Take a good hard look at yourselves.

By all means, constructively critique the club. But don't give me this inane, endless doom and gloom bullshit, when all you know & read are media articles and misinformed BF bullshit, because otherwise you're a complete cretin.

Have some ****ing faith and support your ****ing club!

Uppercut out!

[/rant]

Skeeta Olly
24 Mar 2009, 19:27
Have some ****ing faith and support your ****ing club!

'We are Essendon'

I'm with you Lance.

Daytripper
24 Mar 2009, 19:27
^^^^^
Lance, normally I'm an optimist but maybe all these injuries are getting to me.

We've got to be realists though. Gumbleton will never be Wayne Carey as much as we hope he could.

And the Myers comparision to Hodge just puts too much pressure on the kid. He's not Hodge and never will be.

By the way, I have no problems with Knights as coach and like what he's done so far.

Lance Uppercut
24 Mar 2009, 19:39
^^^^^
Lance, normally I'm an optimist but maybe all these injuries are getting to me.

We've got to be realists though. Gumbleton will never be Wayne Carey as much as we hope he could.

And the Myers comparision to Hodge just puts too much pressure on the kid. He's not Hodge and never will be.

By the way, I have no problems with Knights as coach and like what he's done so far.

they're getting to me too. But let's be honest. No-one has waved the bone at us.

You're right, Gumby will never be Carey, and Myers will never be Hodge.

Gumby will be Gumby, and Myers will be Myers.

I just think that, despite the set-backs, both these guys are unbelievable talents; and it's my opinion that they will create their own legacy for others to live up to.

Hird had a career dogged by injuries. I don't think anyone would be unhappy with the way that turned out.

All I'm saying is, let's give the team, the young players, the coaching staff and the club the courtesy of judging them on their merits - not on the day to day fluctuations of form and injury.

I know you're usually an optimist, and I know you're an intelligent and realistic supporter. You know I respect that.

But ffs, Wallet is in the fifth year of his Grand Plan, and they've been through the ****ing wringer.

Yet now they all think their team are finals bound, and they see the results of the plan.

And what plan is that? Bloody hell, it's getting other teams discarded champs, using medicority to gain priority picks, and in a final ironic twist, blatantly copying the game-plan that is the current fad of the day!

I mean, WTF?!

Surely, surely?!! we aren't so fickle as to think that a few pre-season hiccups are symptomatic of an underlying malaise so virulent that all our best laid plans should be discarded in the pursuit of short-term gains? Surely we can see the bigger picture??! (btw, I am NOT directing that at you! :p )

stay true
24 Mar 2009, 19:45
Fkn ay to that Lance!:thumbsu:

kelvin_sheedy
24 Mar 2009, 19:47
By all means, constructively critique the club.

And what's the problem with the latest constructive criticism.

Aren't we supposed to speculate? He's injured again and he's always been. We aren't making stuff up. We are highlighting our concerns in a way which evolves some discussion.

We are not writing Gumby off. Most have said they have hopes of him becoming a Drew Petrie type. Is that so hard for people to take. Chances are he won't be Franklin or Roughead or Pav or Reiwoldt. People are getting pissed off because it looks less likely he'll be the Jonathon Brown that all had hoped for.

We don't live in a Ned Flanders world.

I've said it before and I'll say it again I'm optimistic about our season and I've tipped us to play finals. I'm optimistic about the guys that get bashed here a lot - Watson, Stanton, Lovett, Ryder, Jetta.

Gumby is surplus to requirements this year anyway. I just want to see the kid string 10-15 games on the trot at VFL level. My expectations are of him taking Lucas role next year after getting 10 or so games under his belt.

I don't have pipe dreams that all our kids will become superstars like the consensus around here. It wasn't log ago that we were hailing our 06 draft as one of our best ever. Hislop is now gone and Gumby is on the sidelines.

Just trying to be a realist.

Lance Uppercut
24 Mar 2009, 19:59
And what's the problem with the latest constructive criticism.

Aren't we supposed to speculate? He's injured again and he's always been. We aren't making stuff up. We are highlighting our concerns in a way which evolves some discussion.

We are not writing Gumby off. Most have said they have hopes of him becoming a Drew Petrie type. Is that so hard for people to take. Chances are he won't be Franklin or Roughead or Pav or Reiwoldt. People are getting pissed off because it looks less likely he'll be the Jonathon Brown that all had hoped for.

We don't live in a Ned Flanders world.

I've said it before and I'll say it again I'm optimistic about our season and I've tipped us to play finals. I'm optimistic about the guys that get bashed here a lot - Watson, Stanton, Lovett, Ryder, Jetta.

Gumby is surplus to requirements this year anyway. I just want to see the kid string 10-15 games on the trot at VFL level. My expectations are of him taking Lucas role next year after getting 10 or so games under his belt.

I don't have pipe dreams that all our kids will become superstars like the consensus around here. It wasn't log ago that we were hailing our 06 draft as one of our best ever. Hislop is now gone and Gumby is on the sidelines.

Just trying to be a realist.

believe it or not Kelvin, I've been a big supporter of yours over the journey, & I respect you call it as you see it. I think you often make very relevant and incisive posts.

But I do believe you've fallen into the trap of tunnel vision.

FFS, you said the other day Gumby wouldn't play 10 games. **** me, I'll give you some serious odds on that if you really want to make it interesting... ;)

Essendon falls at the semi-finals stage of the pre-season comp. Yet all of a sudden that illuminates these underlying, structural, insurmountable problems that we have?

Sorry, but I'm not buying that.

I have no problems with constructive criticism. I don't believe all our players will be guns.

But I think you've lost the plot a little bit lately. Sheeds had to go. **** me, you've advocated that Mal Michael should still be playing.

I'm sorry... but that's so ridiculous I sometimes wonder if you're not a sleeper troll. That's unfair, because I know you have a passion for Essendon - and yes, you are an optimist in some cases; I've been a touch scathing about you there - but **** me dead, let's wait until the season starts.

We are NOT going to become irrelevant or boring because the pre-season hasn't been perfect. Sheeds, as good as he was - and I loved the old bastard - had to go. Knights is planning for the future.

All I'm saying, is let's look at the bigger picture; and if that's not possible, let's wait for the season proper to start before we pour boiling oil on our own troops

Sigmund
24 Mar 2009, 21:21
Love the post Lance -- so many negative comments going around. Not saying KS OP did not make some valid points, but for me, this is the time of the year for optimism. Can we at least have that until proven otherwise

Sir James
24 Mar 2009, 22:11
Give Gumby a chance to play a few games before you guys give it to him.
He is more than likely feeling like crap due to not getting out there.
Club will stick with him as should we , the supporters.
Im happy to wait, ARE YOU?

ImperialPurple
24 Mar 2009, 22:17
I'd like to think Gumbleton has more brains than that moron.

Well he used to barrack for Freo prior to being drafted, so he is obviously a highly intelligent and most discerning human being! ;)

loopy_cam
24 Mar 2009, 22:23
Well he used to barrack for Freo prior to being drafted, so he is obviously a highly intelligent and most discerning human being! ;)

So that's his problem. Explains alot.

stay true
24 Mar 2009, 22:28
So that's his problem. Explains alot.
Exactly what I was thinking.

bombersno1
25 Mar 2009, 13:14
I swear he better do something soon as we could have had Selwood for crying out loud!

Lance Uppercut
25 Mar 2009, 13:25
I swear he better do something soon as we could have had Selwood for crying out loud!

pfft, but which one dresses better? :rolleyes:

Ludwig van Bertstare
25 Mar 2009, 13:26

Well you wanted Leuenberger so this "we could have had Selwood" talk just makes you look silly. If you needed anything more to do that.

Skeeta Olly
25 Mar 2009, 14:35
Sheedy was always going with Gumbleton.

Sigmund
25 Mar 2009, 20:56
Footy Show just announced that Gumby has bulging disc in back. Conservative approach would be 3+ weeks rest, or surgery and out for min 12.. :(:(

The_Young_Gun
25 Mar 2009, 20:59
Hamstring, Colarbone, now Buldging Disk!!! WTF NEXT!!!!

This is becoming total bulls__t, if it wasn't already!

Pevers-Legend
25 Mar 2009, 21:32
Wellman had a bulging disc when he was younger - didn't stop him from having a great career. Hamstrings play a big part in pain management for this as the tighter they are the more it puts strain on your back. Surgery is no sure thing - as it is noramlly with all back injuries.

And it is not that hard to miss an injury like that. I have the same condition. Had no problems with my back and then one day, I went for run and my back started to hurt. Shrugged it off as a niggle - but that was that. My sporting career was dead at 18.

It is a bugger to handle unless you are in a prof environment with the best doctors physio etc. and that is what Gumny has and Wellman had. So he'll be alright - but I feel sorry for the poor bloke.

lmaohelp
26 Mar 2009, 00:41
he wont play again for essendon, mark my words

my mate is friends with our physio down at bomber land or something and yeh thats the news

SirJimi05
26 Mar 2009, 01:24
he wont play again for essendon, mark my words

my mate is friends with our physio down at bomber land or something and yeh thats the news

Your story sounds so believable especially the "or something" bit. hahahah

You are full of shite. :rolleyes:

stay true
26 Mar 2009, 01:29
Is this similar to Winderlich's back problem last year?

ChisBlues
26 Mar 2009, 06:43
Footy Show just announced that Gumby has bulging disc in back. Conservative approach would be 3+ weeks rest, or surgery and out for min 12.. :(:(
Had him in my supercoach team hoping for a good season from him but now traded.
Poor kid can't seem to have any luck. Deserves better & hopefully he gets himself right before Essendon cut him from the list.

daffo
26 Mar 2009, 07:55
I know we already have an injury list thread but I thought that this was worth it's own due to the importance we have put on him this year on the board.

Gumby has a buldging disk in his back. Essendon FC have two options, rest if for a month and see how he pulls up or put him in for an operation which will see him sidelinded for MIN 12 WEEKS!

If he goes for the operation then i'm guessing with a couple of weeks recovery + bendigo games we won't see him at Essendon until round 16.

I remember on draft day thinking 'Gee I wished we picked Selwood'. I'm feeling that again.

Strike Swiftly
26 Mar 2009, 08:08
Don't mean to sound like an arse, but why created another thread on this? There are already two in existence.

ant555
26 Mar 2009, 08:20
Hmm crying over split milk and creating another bloody thread to do it in :thumbsd:

Thread merged.

didaka
26 Mar 2009, 14:16
My father in law had this surgery, and has bounced back well and he is in his 40's and has had a lot of problems and degenerative discs.

Gumbleton will be absolutely fine. Small set back in reality and look forward to seeing him bounce back.

Let's hope this is the end of his bad luck.

EVERLAST
26 Mar 2009, 15:16
I know 2 people that have had this problem and have both bounced back fine, one went to go on and play basketball in the feeder league beneath the NBL.

Let's not forget he has time on his side and as his body matures, it will strengthen and adapt as the best the human body can. The only concern is how HIS body reacts to more surgery as every case is different and should be judged on its own merits.

He'll be fine come 2010 - just another setback, but not career threatening all the same.

XFactor1979
26 Mar 2009, 20:37
hey, i wanted fitzy to win big brother for his hard luck story

mind you its at Dream world :P

maybe fitzy shouldve played cricket instead

lemon chicken
27 Mar 2009, 01:38
what would these be? the fact that he signed a 2 year contract?

Read the dates Einstein this threads almost a year old.