View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 2)
~afterhours~
15th April 2008, 20:19
[ Continues from part 1: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/inlinemod.php?threadid=226715 - Chief]
b edwards should kill it this year for ky he has no fear
umm it doesnt matter if he has no fear he has to be able to use the ball well..:thumbsd:
Doggies#8
15th April 2008, 20:51
See benalla went down by 10 goals or so to the lions on the w/e. Is it fair to say that the saints only have a few shining lights this year, with the rest being shithouse??
footy_rulz
15th April 2008, 21:22
zac betson awesome game. ran and read the ball well
Yeah he's good. Played against him a few times in the Murray League. Reads the play well.
scottwestjr
15th April 2008, 21:33
umm it doesnt matter if he has no fear he has to be able to use the ball well..:thumbsd:
he is a good user of the ball too. he played seniors and played well. he took a hanger and kicked a goal from 60 fair effort that.
da goodes
16th April 2008, 10:18
did finnen play for swans? or did he play seniors?
swans2008
16th April 2008, 14:01
did finnen play for swans? or did he play seniors?
played 3rds at centre half back and on the ball... seniors are too strong but are lookin for 3rds players i believe to get games through out the season but not for a bit into season
tigers09
16th April 2008, 16:48
how does everyone think the swans boys will go against mooroopna this sunday?
~afterhours~
16th April 2008, 16:58
he is a good user of the ball too. he played seniors and played well. he took a hanger and kicked a goal from 60 fair effort that.
yup fair enough how old is he? will he play seniours all year?
scottwestjr
16th April 2008, 17:59
yup fair enough how old is he? will he play seniours all year?
yer he will be 18 this year. he will play some games in the seniors not all i wouldnt think.
Demons4ever
16th April 2008, 21:48
played 3rds at centre half back and on the ball... seniors are too strong but are lookin for 3rds players i believe to get games through out the season but not for a bit into season
Will be hard for any thirds player at swans to play seniors this year espicially when the senior squad is at full strenght. Dash might be the exception when he is available. Afraid there will not be a lot of opportunities for the boys this year unless there is a bad run of injuries.
Demons4ever
16th April 2008, 21:51
how does everyone think the swans boys will go against mooroopna this sunday?
Tough game, swans are in good form (1 win) and Mooroopna have a good squad. I'm tipping the cats by 5 goals but that doesn't mean much as I got most of the AFL tips wrong on the weekend. If the cats play up to their potential they should win. But they need to shut down Betson, Preece, Grant and Finnen. Close them down and they win.
juddy wce
18th April 2008, 14:25
The GVFL is trying to become the AFL with all these Sunday games and Saturday night games. What happen to just playing on Saturday morning/Arvo?
ECHUCABOY
18th April 2008, 16:15
If the Swans were a descent Club they'd blood the youngster, instead of sticking with the old blokes. Thats the difference between Shepparton Clubs and Echuca and Rochy. Thats why they don't win flags and have sustained success.
They rely on coin rather than producing quality senior footballers who will be loyal to the Club
barrasi31
20th April 2008, 10:26
If the Swans were a descent Club they'd blood the youngster, instead of sticking with the old blokes. Thats the difference between Shepparton Clubs and Echuca and Rochy. Thats why they don't win flags and have sustained success.
They rely on coin rather than producing quality senior footballers who will be loyal to the Club
swans were unlucky last year in the seniors, did make the grand final and finished third on the ladder.
they had no real development in there thirds last year, but have a heap of bottom age kids this year. no doubt that some thirds will be blooded into the senior league.
jaggo
20th April 2008, 11:33
Did anyone see the Ky / Echuca match?
Interested to hear views re Echuca and who played well for Ky?
mr.smith
21st April 2008, 10:24
Did anyone see the Ky / Echuca match?
Interested to hear views re Echuca and who played well for Ky?
How the hell did united lose to mansfield???????
The String
21st April 2008, 12:37
when the siren went mansfield were in front and therefore united lose
bennyc
21st April 2008, 15:42
mansfield where tougher on the ball and united players didnt man up. mansfield played well
bread and butter
21st April 2008, 16:33
mansfield where tougher on the ball and united players didnt man up. mansfield played well
well then i would say kyabram are going to be the team to beat this year.
barrasi31
21st April 2008, 16:50
yeh, seems like it. Ky will be pretty strong this year.
united started slowly and it cost them in the end.
4 goals to one in the first quarter, plus they were a bit inaccurate.
valley man
21st April 2008, 20:21
dont get to excited. doubt Mansfield will be a force in thirds so not a hard win and Echuca was not at full strength. Ky will be good but its still early days.
valley man
21st April 2008, 20:24
have u seen him play to comment on his skills????
bread and butter
21st April 2008, 20:39
have u seen him play to comment on his skills????
i have seen him play and his skills are well above average to say the least
scottwestjr
21st April 2008, 21:12
dont get to excited. doubt Mansfield will be a force in thirds so not a hard win and Echuca was not at full strength. Ky will be good but its still early days.
yeah but its still safe to say they will be in the top half of the ladder this year
giant
22nd April 2008, 11:44
j. wright should be playing alot more. also trent doyle. this is how united lost.
giant
22nd April 2008, 11:50
yeah but its still safe to say they will be in the top half of the ladder this year
gee blake knaggs can play footy. hes been under cooked this year to date but hopefully will blossom later in the year.
jaggo
22nd April 2008, 13:17
If you doubt that Mansfield will a force this year where does it leave United? Credit where credit is due, well done to the Mansfield boys.Perhaps United aren't nearly as good as they were talking themselves up to be.
juddy#03
22nd April 2008, 15:00
:thumbsu:Jonny Caldow for Tatura has had a really good preseason and it is starting to pay dividens. he has an enormous engine, Totally dominated against Euroa with 37 quality touches. On the verge for senior selection
Demons4ever
23rd April 2008, 10:58
j. wright should be playing alot more. also trent doyle. this is how united lost.
Jacko has been injured and Doyley struggled a bit on saturday.
Demons4ever
23rd April 2008, 10:59
If you doubt that Mansfield will a force this year where does it leave United? Credit where credit is due, well done to the Mansfield boys.Perhaps United aren't nearly as good as they were talking themselves up to be.
Mansfield played basic footy and won. United did get ahead of themselves and everyone one had a shocker on the day.
Demons4ever
23rd April 2008, 11:05
Worse game yet to watch. Scrabbly footy full of mistakes from both sides with Mansfield being able to make the most of their opportunities. United had too many players down, too many turnovers, too many missed targets, too many too manys. Well done Mansfield, better side on the day but United will never play that poorly again (I hope).
valley man
23rd April 2008, 17:55
watchin mansfield first round if they play or make it far in finals i would say the standard from last year has dropped a bit. United might not have played up to their standard or had players out i dont know didnt see??
valley man
23rd April 2008, 18:03
:thumbsu:Jonny Caldow for Tatura has had a really good preseason and it is starting to pay dividens. he has an enormous engine, Totally dominated against Euroa with 37 quality touches. On the verge for senior selection
only on the verge of playing tat ones. if he was any good should have started in ones. and i know he wouldn't make ones at any other club, have payed against him and is average player at best
scottwestjr
23rd April 2008, 18:10
only on the verge of playing tat ones. if he was any good should have started in ones. and i know he wouldn't make ones at any other club, have payed against him and is average player at best
thats right if he was any good he would have already been in the seniors
hawks69
23rd April 2008, 21:26
how do ppl rekon benalla will go this year?
mercedes230
24th April 2008, 07:50
Worse game yet to watch. Scrabbly footy full of mistakes from both sides with Mansfield being able to make the most of their opportunities. United had too many players down, too many turnovers, too many missed targets, too many too manys. Well done Mansfield, better side on the day but United will never play that poorly again (I hope).
Agree, saw the game. Spoken like a true Coach!
juddy wce
24th April 2008, 14:35
I wouldnt start pumping this gut up until he totally dominates against a good side. euroa werent much last year and seem to be the same this year. I have played against him and i dont think he would get a game in any other senior side in most leagues, let alone GV.
Bucket #18
26th April 2008, 14:15
Seymour beat eurora in a tight game, eurora just ran out of legs in the last quarter, eurora played good footy with Brad Cunningham, Ash Hobbs, Brad Gleeson and Sammy Wright all playing well! But seymour were just to good and ran out the 4 quarters, Seymour ended up winning by 5 goals.
..........GO LIONS
lovemefooty08
27th April 2008, 20:31
Ky played pretty well, were up by 13 points with about 15 minuts left. To the swans credit came back and won. Ky played pretty well considering Butler and Deledio were missing. Balraj was well held, Paulo on fire, Withers showed sum impressive patches of play.
mate i think you've got the wrong thread! :confused:
giant
29th April 2008, 10:42
any people here ever rate tat???
at full strength they look good n would be the team to beat IMO
scottwestjr
29th April 2008, 17:37
any people here ever rate tat???
at full strength they look good n would be the team to beat IMO
have you seen kyabrams team at full strength? they would be the team to beat.
bomberbandit99
29th April 2008, 17:40
gday
does anyone know how nathan barolli is going for the swans?
lovemefooty08
29th April 2008, 18:56
gday
does anyone know how nathan barolli is going for the swans?
hes a freak
bog every game
walshy 4
29th April 2008, 23:20
WE HAVE ONLY HAD THREE ROUNDS THE COMPETITION IS PRETTY EVEN . TEAMS CAN IMPROVE AND TEAMS CAN GO DOWNHILL... NO TEAM SHOULD GET CARRIED AWAY YET,
walshy 4
29th April 2008, 23:29
The GVFL is trying to become the AFL with all these Sunday games and Saturday night games. What happen to just playing on Saturday morning/Arvo?
HAHA PULL UR HEAD IN WADY, ITS SO YOU LANKY BLOKES CAN FINISH YOUR BOYS GAME THEN COME TO THE REC JUST IN TIME TO WATCH A MANS GAME Haha you still playing 4 heathcote next season haha just putting it out there mate
tigers09
30th April 2008, 14:26
hes a freak
bog every game
tom preece is a freak
hes bog every week
valley man
30th April 2008, 16:50
tom preece is a freak
hes bog every week
watched em play satdy. Neither are even near freak status i can tell ya that.
tigers09
30th April 2008, 17:56
who are there standout players then big nuts?
valley man
30th April 2008, 22:04
who are there standout players then big nuts?
never said they didn't stand out for their team. but wouldn't be hard in that side. easily the worst game the ky thirds has played yet. and these "freaks" should stand up and win their team the game when its in the balance
Thought Ky were ordinary though Preece was quiet due to injury. He and oggie had a good duel.
tigers09
2nd May 2008, 14:50
preece still got in the best players and so did barolli, they played good solid games all day.
and yes preece and ogden was a good match up, thought they broke even at the end of the day?
what are your thoughts?
mr.smith
2nd May 2008, 15:04
Thought Ky were ordinary though Preece was quiet due to injury. He and oggie had a good duel.
Look wanker.....last a check a win is a win! at the end of the day everyone is playing for the points and Ky won them!
tigers09
2nd May 2008, 17:41
Look wanker.....last a check a win is a win! at the end of the day everyone is playing for the points and Ky won them!
oi, pull up alright.
bennyc
3rd May 2008, 01:07
preece still got in the best players and so did barolli, they played good solid games all day.
and yes preece and ogden was a good match up, thought they broke even at the end of the day?
what are your thoughts?
t preece is a freakshow
juddy wce
4th May 2008, 13:16
Ky thirds would have to be the team to beat this year now. Good wins against Echuca and Mooroopna show this.
cambruce32
4th May 2008, 19:14
And today?. Too many individuals I reckon.
its game on
4th May 2008, 19:41
Did Cam Hall ruck in the game against Echuca?
footballer2008
5th May 2008, 13:03
And today?. Too many individuals I reckon.
must admit i watched the game today too and they werent playing as a team, with a few of them doing stupid things at the wrong time giving away stupid free kicks, thought there backline did very well, united's goalkicking will need a bit of work this week with heaps of easy misses in the last quarter,but the swannies boys played a great game n deserved to win.
lovemefooty08
5th May 2008, 18:15
must admit i watched the game today too and they werent playing as a team, with a few of them doing stupid things at the wrong time giving away stupid free kicks, thought there backline did very well, united's goalkicking will need a bit of work this week with heaps of easy misses in the last quarter,but the swannies boys played a great game n deserved to win.
f u c king oath
swans2008
5th May 2008, 19:01
amuse me and tell me who is freak status for you
swans2008
5th May 2008, 19:04
What team would they have to play in to not stand out... last time i checked it takes more then individuals to win a game.. when individuals begin to play serious football there team goes down hill
The String
5th May 2008, 20:16
What team would they have to play in to not stand out... last time i checked it takes more then individuals to win a game.. when individuals begin to play serious football there team goes down hill
Individuals playing well can only benefit a side, its a lot better then putting forward a poor performance. Also shouldn't everybody who steps onto the ground be playing "serious football". If you dont take it seriously your kidding yourself
valley man
5th May 2008, 23:02
u are a total idiot mate
valley man
5th May 2008, 23:07
[quote=swans2008;10927079]amuse me and tell me who is freak status for you[/quote
no one from swans side i can tell ya that. probably no one in the thirds comp to tell you the truth. freak is used too often to describe players who are average at best. so for me freak status is the likes of Jim Hird and chris judd not some pussys that run around in an average swans unit.
lovemefooty08
6th May 2008, 12:58
[quote=swans2008;10927079]amuse me and tell me who is freak status for you[/quote
no one from swans side i can tell ya that. probably no one in the thirds comp to tell you the truth. freak is used too often to describe players who are average at best. so for me freak status is the likes of Jim Hird and chris judd not some pussys that run around in an average swans unit.
i agree the term freak gets thrown around alot these days...
king of footy
6th May 2008, 15:12
Michael Pryde has had a very good start to the 08' season. What do people think bout him:thumbsu:
scottwestjr
6th May 2008, 16:45
Michael Pryde has had a very good start to the 08' season. What do people think bout him:thumbsu:
top class player. loves the physical stuff.
Dyson_is_da_best
6th May 2008, 17:08
top class player. loves the physical stuff.
plays loose in the backline!i dnt rate him at all!
higgins69
6th May 2008, 18:26
See benalla went down by 10 goals or so to the lions on the w/e. Is it fair to say that the saints only have a few shining lights this year, with the rest being shithouse??
nah i dont reckon that will be the case. i rekon that benalla wont have many shining lights at all. but alot of average hard working players. expect them to probly scrape into the 6
its game on
6th May 2008, 20:18
[quote=valley man;10930403]
i agree the term freak gets thrown around alot these days...
Only 2 genuine freaks in GVFL/GV other surrounding leagues.
Saad Saad and Steele Sidebottom.
Must have something to with SS initials.:D
valley man
6th May 2008, 20:30
plays loose in the backline!i dnt rate him at all!
played majority of the games on ball or in backline (not loose ). But he played the loose man role for a couple of quarters against cats. so try slag of about him some other way mate!
swans2008
6th May 2008, 21:21
u are a total idiot mate
well go on and tell me how you win a game of footy.. by individuals or a team
swans2008
6th May 2008, 21:28
played majority of the games on ball or in backline (not loose ). But he played the loose man role for a couple of quarters against cats. so try slag of about him some other way mate!
No he plays as a loose man. has done it for a little while and will do it for a while longer.. likes the easy kick
bread and butter
7th May 2008, 16:20
No he plays as a loose man. has done it for a little while and will do it for a while longer.. likes the easy kick
do you play with him everyweek do ya mate? im pretty sure you dont so how would you know where he plays?
tigers09
7th May 2008, 17:23
please enlighten me to why the swans are an average unit?
from what i last heard they had a very comprehensive win over the much fancied united on the weekend?
Dyson_is_da_best
7th May 2008, 18:33
Agreed mate! haha
lovemefooty08
7th May 2008, 18:46
that average swans side beat united last week
and almost knocked off the undeafted ky 2 weeks ago..
imagine if swans had've beaten ky!! who'd be the aveage unit then??
u arrogant ____
valley man
7th May 2008, 19:36
u arrogant ____
Haha key word "imagine". And that game against swans was the worst we have played all year.
valley man
7th May 2008, 19:40
well go on and tell me how you win a game of footy.. by individuals or a team
i didn't say individuals will win games for ya. u still have to have good side across the board. But individuals (good players) playing well will only benefit the side and good players will bring lesser players into the game
~afterhours~
7th May 2008, 19:51
any1 got ny news on the interleague squad names for 2008.
bradrowe#32
7th May 2008, 20:01
any1 got ny news on the interleague squad names for 2008.
6-5-2008 - By GVFL Media Release
GVFL Announces U/18 Championship Squad
The GVFL has named an initial 67 player squad for the Pool A VCFL Country Championships to be held in Shepparton on the weekend of 31 May.
The squad, to be coached by by Seymour's 2007 U/18s premiership coach, Carl Ure, will have 6 training sessions before the Championships, starting at Tatura this Sunday.
The squad is as follows : -
BENALLA: Al Jacka, Callan Firth. Ben Kunkel, Richard Dennis, Josh Mellington, Farran Priest.
ECHUCA: Marcus Joyner, Daniel Morris, Phil Hubbard, David Tonini, Jake Wilkinson.
EUROA: Brad Gleeson, Ash Hobbs, James Ivill, Harley Parkinson, Marcus Varley.
KYABRAM: Nathan Beck, Brad Orr, Wade Demasi, Brad Edwards, Ty Guiney.
MANSFIELD: Travis Leitch, Ross Brown, Mitch Wareham, Tom Clarke, Brant Anselmi.
MOOROOPNA: Brenton Campbell, Jake Kyle, Shaun Wilson, Bradley Orr, Luke O'Brien, Joel Child.
ROCHESTER: Nick Hyden, Sam Latter, Sam Driscoll, Tim Letcher.
SEYMOUR: Jason Cole, Daniel Belsten, Jake Loraine, Jack Williams, Corey Meloury.
SHEPPARTON: Brad Ridings, Simon Thorsen, Adrian Crawford, Josh Dunne, Brendan McMullen, Braden Pullen.
SHEPPARTON SWANS: Jacob Crow, Jesse Finnen, Tom Preece, Nathan Barolli, Chris Grant, Dylan King.
SHEPPARTON UNITED: James Cullum, Matthew Friedlieb, Josh Gribben, Daniel Hewlett, Josh Tetley, Sam Muggleton.
TATURA: Anthony Poppa, Jayce O'Neill, Josh Harris, James Walters, Adam MacGibbon, Billy Lovel, Simon Fraser, Josh Sullivan.
footballer2008
7th May 2008, 20:12
The GVFL has named an initial 67 player squad for the Pool A VCFL Country Championships to be held in Shepparton on the weekend of 31 May.
who was unlucky to miss out i wuld imagine jai warren from united was and liam kirkman for swans
valley man
7th May 2008, 20:14
The squad, to be coached by by Seymour's 2007 U/18s premiership coach, Carl Ure, will have 6 training sessions before the Championships, starting at Tatura this Sunday.
BENALLA: Al Jacka, Callan Firth. Ben Kunkel, Richard Dennis, Josh Mellington, Farran Priest.
ECHUCA: Marcus Joyner, Daniel Morris, Phil Hubbard, David Tonini, Jake Wilkinson.
MOOROOPNA: Brenton Campbell, Jake Kyle, Shaun Wilson, Bradley Orr, Luke O'Brien, Joel Child.
SEYMOUR: Jason Cole, Daniel Belsten, Jake Loraine, Jack Williams, Corey Meloury.
SHEPPARTON: Brad Ridings, Simon Thorsen, Adrian Crawford, Josh Dunne, Brendan McMullen, Braden Pullen.
SHEPPARTON SWANS: Jacob Crow, Jesse Finnen, Tom Preece, Nathan Barolli, Chris Grant, Dylan King.
SHEPPARTON UNITED: James Cullum, Matthew Friedlieb, Josh Gribben, Daniel Hewlett, Josh Tetley, Sam Muggleton.
TATURA: Anthony Poppa, Jayce O'Neill, Josh Harris, James Walters, Adam MacGibbon, Billy Lovel, Simon Fraser, Josh Sullivan.
Anyone wanna have a crack at picking a side?? too hard for me dont know the blokes from seymour, mansfield, euroa, benalla
swans2008
7th May 2008, 20:54
Haha key word "imagine". And that game against swans was the worst we have played all year.
its always good to imagine... After the game kyabram coach approached swans and said Quote; that was the HARDEST game of footy we have played. You put alot of pressure on us.. So i dont think it was the worst ky have played i think it was the only game they had competition to compete against
valley man
7th May 2008, 21:06
its always good to imagine... After the game kyabram coach approached swans and said Quote; that was the HARDEST game of footy we have played. You put alot of pressure on us.. So i dont think it was the worst ky have played i think it was the only game they had competition to compete against
it may have been hard and we have been challenged by every team we have played so far. but it was still probably the worst we have played. unforced skill errors and in general play and at goals that has nothing to do with the swans side and was brought about by ky having a bad game
rjslcM
7th May 2008, 21:38
Dyson_is_da_best
7th May 2008, 22:38
Out of that group who do people think would be the ruckman for this side??no real big name ruckman that i know of listed??
I rate the Swans highly and think they will finish top 6. The big surprise is how United are travelling, alot of hype pre season but to date little to get enthused about. The United boys could struggle to play finals. Interesting to see that Ky only nominated top age players for the GV squad and omitted a number of their high performing lower age players.
snoopdiggitydog
8th May 2008, 12:41
I rate the Swans highly and think they will finish top 6. The big surprise is how United are travelling, alot of hype pre season but to date little to get enthused about. The United boys could struggle to play finals. Interesting to see that Ky only nominated top age players for the GV squad and omitted a number of their high performing lower age players.
does anyone know who shepp united were missing on the weekend? i didnt see the game and was just wondering wtf happened?
snoopdiggitydog
8th May 2008, 12:49
looking the squad these are the players that i think will be picked but im unsure bout a few players from benalla, mansfield and rochi so unsure to comment on them i got 33 down anyone else know much bout all these fellas?
maybe do a possible line up?
Demons4ever
8th May 2008, 13:55
Also interesting to note that Tatura have 8 in the squad, they must be travelling ok. I agree with your comments about United. They have Mooroopna and Ky coming up. Two more loses and finals are slipping away.
Demons4ever
8th May 2008, 14:01
does anyone know who shepp united were missing on the weekend? i didnt see the game and was just wondering wtf happened?
Swans were harder and played a team game. United made too many errors and played crap. Some of the mistakes they did were ridiculous. Pretty sure they had Muggles, Freezer, Gribbo and Jimmy Cullum in the seniors and Swans had Finnen in the Seniors. Shaw was out and will miss most of the season. Other then that I think they missed Burness and Donovan. But no excuses all clubs have players in the seniors and others out injured. They were not good enough on the day.
footballer2008
8th May 2008, 14:42
Swans were harder and played a team game. United made too many errors and played crap. Some of the mistakes they did were ridiculous. Pretty sure they had Muggles, Freezer, Gribbo and Jimmy Cullum in the seniors and Swans had Finnen in the Seniors. Shaw was out and will miss most of the season. Other then that I think they missed Burness and Donovan. But no excuses all clubs have players in the seniors and others out injured. They were not good enough on the day.
how come donovan didnt play? u think united would of had him in when they knew swans had a big forward line.
u arrogant ____
now settle down tommy. lets not get too fired up :) nah the swans are a good unit. dont muck with them or ant will eat ya :D
Out of that group who do people think would be the ruckman for this side??no real big name ruckman that i know of listed??
simon fraser and jacob crow could both do the ruck work in that team. :thumbsu:
mercedes230
8th May 2008, 21:19
Quote:
Originally Posted by valley man http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10398719#post10398719)
big call seeing u wouldnt no who i am. played against them last year and will this year. who are the 8 u think would play?? Say in ky seniors because their list isn't strong, so might give em a chance
first of all the list of swans 3rds is about 10 times better than it was last year and i would say these 8 would be able to play GV seniors at maybe Tat, Ky, Bears, and maybe United..
Ant Tutala
Finnen
Ben Timothee
Parris
Poustie
Barolli
Grant
Preece
Haha key word "imagine". And that game against swans was the worst we have played all year.[/quote]
Mate what do you say now? Two of em have played or are about to play seniors!!
You got a gig yet in the ones?:cool:
sliden
8th May 2008, 21:29
[quote] first of all the list of swans 3rds is about 10 times better than it was last year and i would say these 8 would be able to play GV seniors at maybe Tat, Ky, Bears, and maybe United..
Ant Tutala
Finnen
Ben Timothee
Parris
Poustie
Barolli
Grant
Preece [quote]
i disagree, the bolded players i doubt are up to gvfl senior level, in any team.. ant tutala is big, but not quality, ben timothee is lazy as a footballer, chris grant is bout the size of my little toe and would get murdered by any player, needs to develop.. and tom preece is an excellent player but once again, needs to develop alot more as a man first.
cambruce32
8th May 2008, 21:43
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovemefooty08 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10560058#post10560058)
was at the game between united and bears today at deakin. united belted the bears but bears had a few out inclluding ridings, thorsen, bucktin, woodcock and pullen. bears really didnt have many stand outs on the day but up forward lowden provided a good optiion with his limited opportunities, other better players for the bears including dunne and mcmullan. United were a dominant force and look set for a massive year. They out muscled their smaller bear opponents with plenty of big bodies in the side. Gribben had a great game and kicked a bag whilst Mellington had a solid day in the ruck. Liam Ryan took a great hanger in the goal square and was solid all day. Their smaller players in doyle and burness provided the united forwards with good options all day and ran ragged all day. Overall not bad brand of footy and both sides look forward to a exciting year of footy.
I agree that United were impressive but lets not get carried away, the opposition wasn't that strong on the day. All the boys that have been mentioned performed well. I was interested in some of the lesser known players. I was really impressed with the games of Doyle and Burness who seemed to pick up a lot of possessions by smart running and crumbing, I think they will both develop into handy players. ODwyer and Jack OSullivan were tough and really hurt some people with solid tackles. However I was most impressed with Tetley and Collins who played in a number of positions throughout the day and completey dominated and caused a lot of damage. I'm looking forward to the next few weeks with the team playing Mansfield, Echuca, Swans, Mooroopna and Kyabram. All sides that have been identified as being stronger or improved from last year. If they can win more then they lose over the next 5 rounds then they might just be serious contenders. It would have been good to have played Seymour as well early on to get a measurement against last years premiers but they don't play them until round eleven. And back to last weeks game, I spoke to Coach and Ass Coach who were still not entireley happy with some of the errors that the boys made. They mast be tough taskmasters as I thought the boys played a sensational game.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=10593000) Reckon things have changed a bit and they are not as dominant as we all thought they may have been. Still plenty of time to regroup though and they have a good coach who will ensure his charges lift. Doyle looked like he hurt his back again and he may miss a fair bit. Has a history with this injury. O'Sullivan is limited and never handballs, lacks skill and goes the man too much. Collins is selfish and has an ego problem. I drove up to watch em last week and there argued amongst themselves and played individual football.
cambruce32
8th May 2008, 21:55
[quote] first of all the list of swans 3rds is about 10 times better than it was last year and i would say these 8 would be able to play GV seniors at maybe Tat, Ky, Bears, and maybe United..
Ant Tutala
Finnen
Ben Timothee
Parris
Poustie
Barolli
Grant
Preece [quote]
i disagree, the bolded players i doubt are up to gvfl senior level, in any team.. ant tutala is big, but not quality, ben timothee is lazy as a footballer, chris grant is bout the size of my little toe and would get murdered by any player, needs to develop.. and tom preece is an excellent player but once again, needs to develop alot more as a man first.
and when did you play against them last? Preece and Grant made Interleague squad didnt they, as did Finnen and Barolli. They are all bottom age too mate!!
lovemefooty08
8th May 2008, 22:33
Let me know when u play seniors in a team that played in the GF last year as a bottom age...
Just let me know ok...;)