View Full Version : No Bombers in Vic team or Allstars.
Don Gibson
6 May 2008, 15:59
I'm in 2 minds.
1. We definately won't get any more injuries. gives the club a chance to regroup.
2. Disapointed that none of our players who are fit are considered in the elite bracket.
Thoughts?
I lean towards point 1.
S.C[BANKS]
6 May 2008, 16:01
Wasn't Hille and Davey selected?
Johnnyprinias
6 May 2008, 16:09
Hardly surprising
The_Young_Gun
6 May 2008, 16:19
Hile was dropped by the selecters this week and Davey's Injured!!!
None of our players deserve to be in the Vic's or Allstar teams anyway.
BTW, anyone going to the match? I got tickets a while back and just wondering if its gonna be a full house or not???
Hile was dropped by the selecters this week and Davey's Injured!!!
BTW, anyone going to the match? I got tickets a while back and just wondering if its gonna be a full house or not???
They're expecting 60,000 people.
The_Young_Gun
6 May 2008, 16:37
I would have thought it'd be a bit more packed than that, knowing its probably the last time we'll see the Vic's again in action for a while....
Please AFL, bring back State of Origin Footy!!!
DonMania#5
6 May 2008, 17:06
Both Fletcher and Davey probably would have been in the team if not for injury. Also, Mcveigh and Lucas were contenders.
bombersno1
6 May 2008, 17:16
Please AFL, bring back State of Origin Footy!!!
No thanks, just another match where our players will get injured:thumbsd:
Yeah, i'm going. Though with the recent outs, it won't be as good as i hoped it to be. Should be a great spectacle though.
thebigboy
6 May 2008, 17:41
It will be a good 75,000+ crowd.
Personally, im quite happy we haven't got a player in it. Knowing our luck, we'd get another injury.
donsman4eva
6 May 2008, 18:43
Hille should have been in. He has had a heaps better season that Josh Fraser :mad:
I wish I wasnt working on saturday, otherwise I'd bethere for sure. So disappointed.
PaintItRedAndBlack
6 May 2008, 18:46
Fletch, Hille, Lloydy and Stants were contenders for the Vics and Davey was a contender for the Dream team. I'm pretty sure I saw Ryder in the initial 50 too. At first I was a bit disappointed none of them got selected but there's no point risking more injuries.
I don't think the crowd will be as big as predicted since a few star players are in doubt/have been ruled out due to injuries but it will still be a great game :thumbsu:
Hille should have been in. He has had a heaps better season that Josh Fraser :mad:
I wish I wasnt working on saturday, otherwise I'd bethere for sure. So disappointed.
I was going to say the same thing R.E Hille and Fraser.
But like wahts been said, it gives our boys a chance to refresh and get their bodies free of niggles which they may have carried into an exibition game.
Here_we_come
7 May 2008, 13:11
My heart would have loved to see Lloyd in the team, as I believe he could kick a bag with good delivery to him inside 50. My brain is glad noone is playing with the unnecessary risk of further injuries to key players. Will still be a good game though!
greysong
7 May 2008, 13:26
i would have thought lloydy would be disappointed not to be picked. i was looking forward to seeing him in action too i must say. i reckon he would have turned it on.
S.C[BANKS]
7 May 2008, 19:51
i would have thought lloydy would be disappointed not to be picked. i was looking forward to seeing him in action too i must say. i reckon he would have turned it on.
With that midefeild, I reckon he can too.
I'm glad he isn't, the way our luck is going, he'd be the only player to get a season ending injury. :(
THEBLOODS85
7 May 2008, 19:58
For what its worth from a Blues supporter, I agree that Lloyd should have got a gig.....not sure if he has played for the Vics, but his form and absolute class over a long period of time warranted a Big V game.
Some of the blokes who will get a gig, will probably not hold the prestige of playing as dearly as what Lloydy would have!:thumbsu:
This is awesome news. It's not a real game anyway. Just a marketing ploy. I'm extatic that none of our players will be at risk getting injured playing in this tripe.
donsman4eva
7 May 2008, 20:22
For what its worth from a Blues supporter, I agree that Lloyd should have got a gig.....not sure if he has played for the Vics, but his form and absolute class over a long period of time warranted a Big V game.
Some of the blokes who will get a gig, will probably not hold the prestige of playing as dearly as what Lloydy would have!:thumbsu:
Lloyd has played for the vics before, i think 1998 or 1999, or maybe both. I remember him lining up next to plugger.
THEBLOODS85
7 May 2008, 20:47
Lloyd has played for the vics before, i think 1998 or 1999, or maybe both. I remember him lining up next to plugger.
OK fair enough then!:thumbsu:
this may be spiritually wrong but i reckon knights would be the happiest coach in the afl that none of his players have an increased chance of getting injured this week (i say increased as our players still get injured at training!).
as for the game - i loved state of origin footy back in the 80s and 90s but i don't think we get the same appeal any more. we see the best players in the land every week on tv these days - back then there were gun players in wa and sa who we'd only see in these events. i think victoria vs the rest is not the best concept either but probably the best/only choice given only one match can realistically take place - only other option would be east (vic,nsw(act),qld,tas) v west (sa,nt,wa).
donsman4eva
7 May 2008, 21:51
I liekd the old carnival atmosphere with WA, SA, Vic and the All stars. Realistically, I think thats fair seeing as though the WAFL, SANFL and VFL are still pretty big competitions, so those states should be represented by a single team, not a combined one. The all stars could still field a pretty competitive lineup.
It's good all of our players are getting a rest.
McVeigh, Lucas, Davey would of all made it if it wasn't for injury.
Giggidy Giggidy
8 May 2008, 14:04
Of those selected in the initial squads Lloyd; Hille & Stanton are the only ones not currently injured.
I'm suprised at the ommission of both Hille & Lloydy to be honest. Definitely thought at least one would get a game, as I had assumed that the AFL would ensure at least 1 player from each team plays so as to maximise viewer interest. Wonder if any other team missed out (haven't seen the final Dream Team squad yet)?
Hille has been much better than Fraser IMO, and probably also better than Simmonds too (especially when considering they selected the teams with an emphasis on 2007 form too & Simmonds missed half of the season). I wonder whether Hille pulled out with his injury woes?
Thought Lloyd would be necessary in that forward line. We've all seen how useless Fev can be when he's beaten and loses interest (which is probably about 20% of the time - but more likely on Saturdsay night given the quality of opponent), & with Brown clearly not 100%, Lloydy could have provided an invaluable third option.
loopy_cam
8 May 2008, 15:33
McVeigh, Fletcher, Lucas and Davey would've played.
bombersno1
8 May 2008, 15:48
Fletcher maybe, the others wouldn't
loopy_cam
8 May 2008, 16:03
Fletcher maybe, the others wouldn't
Lucas > Bradshaw, R. Murphy, Roughead
McVeigh > Enright, Cooney
Davey > Davis, Stokes
retroparty
8 May 2008, 16:34
I don't know what other forwards are available to the DT but how the hell did Cam Monney make that squad?
I think Lloydy should play because even if he's not in form with a great midfield he could have an off day and kick 4 goals. He does great with a mediocre Essendon midfield and has done even better with a middle ranked midield of yesteryear. Imagine what he could do in the Vics at FF.
bombersno1
8 May 2008, 16:41
Davey > Davis, Stokes
On form all those forwards are just as good as Lucas, and to be honest as much as Davey is fantastic for us, is there anything he does that Davis and Stokes don't do? Not really. As I said, great player for us, but probably behind Stokes and Davis for that position. Mcveigh is nowhere near Enright or Cooney, and most people would agree, especially Conney. Has McVeigh EVER had a 5 goal 30 possession game like Cooney had last week?
Can't believe a hack such as Josh Fraser made it into the Victorian side.
David Hille>Josh Fraser
Giggidy Giggidy
8 May 2008, 16:53
Davey > Davis, Stokes
On form all those forwards are just as good as Lucas, and to be honest as much as Davey is fantastic for us, is there anything he does that Davis and Stokes don't do? Not really. As I said, great player for us, but probably behind Stokes and Davis for that position. Mcveigh is nowhere near Enright or Cooney, and most people would agree, especially Conney. Has McVeigh EVER had a 5 goal 30 possession game like Cooney had last week?
Have to agree with Lucas > Bradshaw, R. Murphy, Roughead. Quite comfortably in fact.
Lucas has a hell of a lot of runs on the board with 432 goals from CHF/CHB inc. 180 goals in the last 3 seasons; club B & Fs at both ends of the ground; a proven match-winner with 17 5+ goal games; and works a hell of lot harder than most tall forwards to be constantly presenting (which many people are only realising now that he is not there).
McVeigh, Cooney & Enright are all very different players so hard to compare. Definitely merit in suggesting McVeigh > Enright given McVeigh's leadership of late & the armchair ride Enright gets from having other quality mids, but Cooney > McVeigh ATM.
Davey's defensive pressure > Davis; Stokes defensive pressure
Otherwise
Davey = Davis = Stokes IMO
On form all those forwards are just as good as Lucas
You'd reckon it would be :confused:
loopy_cam
8 May 2008, 22:01
Otherwise
Then wouldn't that mean Davey is better. :confused:
Giggidy Giggidy
9 May 2008, 09:03
Then wouldn't that mean Davey is better. :confused:
Yes, I was agreeing..... although given he's only played 19 games he needs greater longevity to prove his consistency.
Can't believe a hack such as Josh Fraser made it into the Victorian side.
David Hille>Josh Fraser
based on this year's form, yeah Hille was stiff.
HighettBomber
11 May 2008, 13:18
Mcveigh is nowhere near Enright or Cooney, and most people would agree
McVeigh is considerably better than Enright. Cooney is a better midfielder but not as good if played on a flank (back or forward). I thought Hille, Ryder and Lovett would all have been better choices than some of those who played, but really we didn't need an opportunity for any more injuries.
hateitorlovett13
11 May 2008, 14:00
Have to agree with Lucas > Bradshaw, R. Murphy, Roughead. Quite comfortably in fact.
Lucas has a hell of a lot of runs on the board with 432 goals from CHF/CHB inc. 180 goals in the last 3 seasons; club B & Fs at both ends of the ground; a proven match-winner with 17 5+ goal games; and works a hell of lot harder than most tall forwards to be constantly presenting (which many people are only realising now that he is not there).
McVeigh, Cooney & Enright are all very different players so hard to compare. Definitely merit in suggesting McVeigh > Enright given McVeigh's leadership of late & the armchair ride Enright gets from having other quality mids, but Cooney > McVeigh ATM.
Otherwise
More like Stokes > Davey >>>>> Davis.
Davis is a little soft hack who nobody would rate if it wasn't for the likes of Robert "____wit" Walls sucking his dick every game and making him look like the next Chris Judd.
loopy_cam
11 May 2008, 14:11
Imagine if this game was last year and Hird was playing for the DreamTeam.
Would've been weird barracking against Jimmy.