View Full Version : Whats in your cd player
Dogwatcher
14 Aug 2002, 13:20
Just interested to see.
As I'm currently listening to my CDs in alphabetical order (going backwards) I'm listening to my Blur CDs.
Alphabetical order is slightly neurotic yes, but It's the only way that I can find them, and listening in order is the only way I will get to hear them all - otherwise I'd listen to all of the same ones.
Does anyone else file their cds alphabeticaly?
In my car's 6 stacker i have
1. Third Eye Blind's self titled debut
2. By The Way - Chili's
3. S.C.I.E.N.C.E - Incubus
4. IOWA - SlipKnot
5. Songs to fan the Flame's of discontent - Refused
6. System of a Down''s self titled debut
At home currently have Fear Factory's Concrete on pretty heavy rotaion along with SlipKnot's self titled and Down II.
Have Crazy Penis and An Englishman in Ibiza in my MP3 player.
NorthBhoy
14 Aug 2002, 13:40
Originally posted by Carlos
In my car's 6 stacker i have
1. Third Eye Blind's self titled debut
Really?
Monkey ****.
Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Really?
Monkey ****.
Its one of those albums i bought ages ago, listened to half of it and put it away and forgot i had it. Was cataloging my collection recently and came across it and thought i'd give it another burl. So far i wouldnt really disagree with you, but there are a coupla decent tunes on it.
Blues_Girl
14 Aug 2002, 14:17
Sitting in my cd player right now is :
Westlife - World of our own
Gareth Gates - Unchained Melody
Will Young - Anything is possible/Evergreen
Westlife - Coast to Coast
*sits back and waits for abuse from Hitman*
NorthBhoy
14 Aug 2002, 14:18
Originally posted by Carlos
Its one of those albums i bought ages ago, listened to half of it and put it away and forgot i had it. Was cataloging my collection recently and came across it and thought i'd give it another burl. So far i wouldnt really disagree with you, but there are a coupla decent tunes on it.
I just got the impression it was a favourite.
All that banging away at mindless covers has warped your brain.
How many Creed songs can one man play, before a murderous rage engulfs him?
Dogwatcher
14 Aug 2002, 15:43
Westlife - World of our own
Gareth Gates - Unchained Melody
Will Young - Anything is possible/Evergreen
Westlife - Coast to Coast
To quote Northbhoy: "monkey ****"
gPhonque
14 Aug 2002, 15:49
Ridge Racer 4 soundtrack
Ridge Racer 5 soundtrack
Frank Zappa - Cheap Thrills
Shinboners
14 Aug 2002, 16:07
"Homesick and Happy To Be Here" by Aberdeen
"Champagne And Magazines" by Charming
"Songs About F*cking" by Big Black
"Filles In the Garage" - French 60s Girlie pop compilation
"Giant" by the Boo Radleys
"Get Happy!!!" by Elvis Costello and the Attractions
NorthBhoy
14 Aug 2002, 16:43
Originally posted by Shinboners
"Homesick and Happy To Be Here" by Aberdeen
"Champagne And Magazines" by Charming
"Songs About F*cking" by Big Black
"Filles In the Garage" - French 60s Girlie pop compilation
"Giant" by the Boo Radleys
"Get Happy!!!" by Elvis Costello and the Attractions
Mate
I read this and thought of being homesick without champagne, while f*cking happy giants in a garage!!
I am anything but a music head, but am I so far out of touch that I have not heard of any of these bands?
Except EC of course.
CowboyFromHell
14 Aug 2002, 17:04
"Use Once and Destroy" by SuperJoint Ritual
Can't get enough of it! :D
Been driving around a bit today, so had a tape playing in the car, with Uli Jon Roth on one side and Pegazus on the other.
Since I've been home, I've put on a mixed CD (which has Everclear, Georgia Satellites, Gary Moore and a few other rockin' bands), and I'm currently listening to Helloween's "Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part 2". Can't find my Black Sabbath "Heaven And Hell" CD, otherwise it would have got a bit of a spin today too.
Mate
I read this and thought of being homesick without champagne, while f*cking happy giants in a garage!!
I am anything but a music head, but am I so far out of touch that I have not heard of any of these bands?
Except EC of course.
Shinners has great taste in music. Normally, if he's listening to it, it's worth buying :) I have learnt this!!
Macca19
14 Aug 2002, 17:39
came home from work and chucked in Hatebreed 'Perseverance'
NorthBhoy
14 Aug 2002, 17:46
Originally posted by -PC28-
Shinners has great taste in music. Normally, if he's listening to it, it's worth buying :) I have learnt this!!
He is a very sophisticated man, so I wouldn't doubt this for a second.
Right now I've got Placebo "Black Market Music" p issing off my neighbours! :)
mellowyellow
14 Aug 2002, 19:18
Jeff Buckley- Sketches for my sweetheart the drunk .
Jackson Browne- Late for the sky.
Rickie Lee Jones- naked Songs
Bruce C o c kburn -Breakfast in New Orleans dinner in Timbuktu
Kim Salmon's new CD - "Earnest" is getting a fair run at the moment. It's good fun, but it's almost nothing like he has ever done before.
Jerome
pedrothelioness
14 Aug 2002, 22:48
The supersuckers doing covers of madonna songs
Poison the well
The Locust
Le Shok
Whiskeytown
Shinboners
14 Aug 2002, 23:04
Originally posted by -PC28-
He is a very sophisticated man, so I wouldn't doubt this for a second.
Thanks PC and NorthBhoy, but one listen to Big Black's "Songs About F*cking" will probably make you want to reconsider your statements. ;)
THE POWER OF INDEPENDENT TRUCKING - BIG BLACK
only got a 3-disc player..
right now its
yeah yeah yeahs - 'yeah yeah yeahs'
guided by voices - 'universal truths and cycles'
crybaby soundtrack
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
Just interested to see.
As I'm currently listening to my CDs in alphabetical order (going backwards) I'm listening to my Blur CDs.
Alphabetical order is slightly neurotic yes, but It's the only way that I can find them, and listening in order is the only way I will get to hear them all - otherwise I'd listen to all of the same ones.
Does anyone else file their cds alphabeticaly?
oi !
blur are the best... you're a champ..
and yes, i file them in alphabetical order... and then the albums in also alphabetical order too! :D
Dogwatcher
15 Aug 2002, 09:46
In my quest to listen to my Cds in reverse alphabetical order I've run through
Blur - the best of
Blur Great Escape
Blur Modern Life is Rubbish
Blur Leisure
The Beatles One
The Beatles Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
Currently listening to The Best of Beethoven
Then on to the Beastie Boys.
Not far to go now and I've achieved my aim. I might then place my cds in the order that they were released and listen to them from there. Strange but it relieves the boredom of having the same cds. It helps to quench the thirst for more sort of.
BTW Coxon, your name is a reference to Blur is it not?
True_Roo
15 Aug 2002, 09:58
Some records I've been listening to and enjoying are:
Vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot - Sparklehorse
Tigermilk - Belle and Sebastian
either or - Elliot Smith
Emperor Tomato Ketchup - Sterolab
Realistic - Ivy
It's a Wonderful Life - Sparklehorse
Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea - P J Harvey
Shinboners
15 Aug 2002, 10:11
Originally posted by True_Roo
Some records I've been listening to and enjoying are:
Vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot - Sparklehorse
Tigermilk - Belle and Sebastian
either or - Elliot Smith
Emperor Tomato Ketchup - Sterolab
Realistic - Ivy
It's a Wonderful Life - Sparklehorse
Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea - P J Harvey
Nice. Very nice.
Rusty Brookes
15 Aug 2002, 10:42
New York Dolls -Lipstick Killers: Mercer St Sessions (first demos of seminal glam punk legends)
The Seeds -Self Titled and A Web of Sound Double CD (excellent 60s garage punk)
The Pagans -Everybody Hates You (Killer compilation of 80s Cleveland punk rockers)
In my quest to listen to my Cds in reverse alphabetical order I've run through
Blur - the best of
Blur Great Escape
Blur Modern Life is Rubbish
Blur Leisure
BTW Coxon, your name is a reference to Blur is it not?
ah, of course it is mate...
u dont have 'parklife' and 'blur' ?
'13' is probably the blur cd i play the least...
Dogwatcher
15 Aug 2002, 16:30
I would love to get Parklife, great album when it was released.
Blur - so so.
!3 didnt really like.
Problem is there are so many cds I want, these will all be at the back of the pack now.
Your men Supergrass are great too.
I can also go a little further with the Blur connections - I have an Elastica album too.
Hank Jones
15 Aug 2002, 17:33
Currently, my CD stacker has albums by:
Ensign (can't believe I'm going to miss them tonight)
Earth Crisis
Madball
Ten Foot Pole
Strife
59 Times the Pain
Listened to Famous monsters by The Misfits on the bus today.
Rusty Brookes
16 Aug 2002, 09:23
Originally posted by Squeak
Listened to Famous monsters by The Misfits on the bus today.
I just realised I own that album and I haven't listened to it yet! Is it any good?
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 14:05
I've only got a single CD player in the car. Triple J Hot 100, second disc from 1997. The bloody thing's stuck and I'm stuck with the radio.
If I could get the bastard out, New Jersey would be going in.
Mcchawk
16 Aug 2002, 14:26
On the way to work this morning I listened to Highway to Hell. Got to work bouncing off walls then realised I'm here for another 8 hours.:mad:
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
I just realised I own that album and I haven't listened to it yet! Is it any good?
If one is into ghoulish modern-sounding harcore punk, then yes.
If one is a fan of The Misfits from the Danzig days, then probably not but worth a listen.
gPhonque
16 Aug 2002, 18:19
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
I've only got a single CD player in the car. Triple J Hot 100, second disc from 1997. The bloody thing's stuck and I'm stuck with the radio.
If I could get the bastard out, New Jersey would be going in.
Haha. I had that same thing happen to me a couple of years ago. I had to drive around listening to Fiona Apple's 'Tidal' for about a month. I understand how people can become suicidal now.
(still a good album though)
Not really my cd/dvd player. Heres an MP3 list of some stuff:
The Stone Roses - I wanna be adored
ACDC - Back in Black
Spiderbait - Outa my head
Supergrass - Far away
Oasis - Stop Crying Your Heart Out
T Rex - Get it on
SydneyBomber
17 Aug 2002, 10:29
Originally posted by Squeak
If one is into ghoulish modern-sounding harcore punk, then yes.
If one is a fan of The Misfits from the Danzig days, then probably not but worth a listen.
:) :) :)
Well done Squeak - the Misfits rule!
Did you see them when they came out a few years ago?
In my CD stacker in the car:
Misfits - Walk Among US/Earth AD CD
Dead Kennedys - Bedtime for Democracy
Dimmu Borgir - Enthrone Darkness Trimuphant
Athiest - Unquestionable Presence
Emperor - Anthems
Coroner - Punishment for Decadence/No More Colour
happy_in_hell
17 Aug 2002, 11:06
Yesterday i listened to Peter Andre. (i know, i need help!) I never realised until now how much he sounded like michael Jackson!
Funky Junky wouldbe great as a rock track! IMO
TheSheik
18 Aug 2002, 16:22
As I've started a new job at a new radio station, I'm spending a $hitload of time on the road & hence I'm changing the CD's nearly twice a week now.
Currently in there is :
Very Best of Supertramp
Pretenders - S/T
Best Of The Pogues
The Sports - This Is Really Something (anthology)
Thievery Corporation - Sounds From Thievery Hi-Fi
The Clash - London Calling
Models - Collection
Toots & The Maytals - Reggae greats
Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels On A Gravel Road
Simple Minds - Glittering Prize
Looks like I'm having a bit of a 'Best of' fest at the moment !! Need to do another change over in the next day or two, can't play them that many times.
Dogwatcher
20 Aug 2002, 13:38
I've moved through the Beastie Boys part of my collection and am now listening to Jimmy Barnes - Heat.
An interesting album, which in my hectic office at this time and strangely finding very therapuitc
I've moved through the Beastie Boys part of my collection and am now listening to Jimmy Barnes - Heat.
An interesting album, which in my hectic office at this time and strangely finding very therapuitc
No offence intended Dogwatcher, but there seems something just so wrong about mentioning the Beastie Boys and Jimmy Barnes in the same sentence.
Dogwatcher
20 Aug 2002, 15:19
It's okay Carlos, I understand what you mean.
I'm stupidly listening to my large cd collection in reverse alphabetical order. BTW I won the Barnes cd, would never have bought it otherwise.
I've changed cds now too - Bad Religion's cracking 1994 album Stranger Than Fiction. Pure magic.
Originally posted by happy_in_hell
Yesterday i listened to Peter Andre. (i know, i need help!) I never realised until now how much he sounded like michael Jackson!
Funky Junky wouldbe great as a rock track! IMO
God, hang your head happy. :p
GOALden Hawk
20 Aug 2002, 16:04
Originally posted by Hank Jones
59 Times the Pain
Another of Burning Heart's finest!!!
Currently I have in my dodgy 3 stacker stereo:
All ages by Bad Religion
Best of Blur
Sticks and Stones by No Use for a Name
Blink 182 - Enema Of The State.
Black Majesty
20 Aug 2002, 21:45
great to see youre keeping up with the times Hoggy! lol
oh_my_hat
20 Aug 2002, 21:46
Made In Japan - Deep Purple.
Hey hatman, how's that Black Sabbath collection going?
SonOfScray
21 Aug 2002, 16:06
dust...........
seven dust that is, animosity is a fair album.
New Pacifier AKA Shihad. Excellent album.
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
21 Aug 2002, 18:32
Black Sabbath Reunion...after pinching Darky's for like 5 months finally bought me own the other day and actually rate the rest of the cd now that i have taken paranoid off constant repeat. Goes quite well on the new discman in the car and the double cd case thingy makes for very good changing at the traffic lights :)
Rupert Holmes
21 Aug 2002, 19:59
all the following on heavy rotation.....
The Vines - Highly Evolved
New Bomb Turks - At Rope's End
New Bomb Turks - Nightmare Scenario
The Mark Of Cain - This Is This ...
The Wipers - Best Of
Grinspoon - New Detention
Husker Du - New Day Rising
Do The Pop - '80s Oz best of
Mudhoney - March To Fuzz
The Church - After Everything Now This
Stiff Little Fingers - All The Best
RATM - Battle of Los Angeles
PS.....had to include Church to give the ears a rest!
:)
Dictators - Go Girl Crazy.
I'm addicted.
NYPomme
22 Aug 2002, 06:48
Originally posted by Darky
Hey hatman, how's that Black Sabbath collection going?
Man - forget Black Sabbath. Isn't your avatar the cover of a Manowar album?
Busted ...... :D
As im typing this im listening to Garbage - Beautiful Garbage.
Garbage rule.
Dogwatcher
22 Aug 2002, 10:52
Dictators sound good.
Could someone contact me so that I can organise to get a disc burnt and sent to me.
Currently listening to B52s Good Stuff.
Originally posted by NYPomme
Man - forget Black Sabbath. Isn't your avatar the cover of a Manowar album?
Busted ...... :D
Yep, "KINGS OF METAL"... and they ARE!
Dictators sound good.
Could someone contact me so that I can organise to get a disc burnt and sent to me.
PM me some details for postage, and I'll fire one off to ya.
Dogwatcher
22 Aug 2002, 13:20
cheers darky, you're a gem.
TheSheik
22 Aug 2002, 19:06
Just changed over the contents of my CD carousel in the car to :
Nils Lofgren - Night After Night
Garland Jeffreys - Wild In The Streets
J.Geils Band - Ladies Invited
Transglobal Underground - Psychic Karaoke
That Petrol Emotion - Babble
Salmonella Dub - Inside the Dub Plates
Ramones - Mania
Matt Taylor - Straight As A Die
XTC - The Compact XTC (The Singles 1978-85)
Magazine - Magazine ..... (Where The Power Is)
pedrothelioness
22 Aug 2002, 20:32
all the following on heavy rotation.....
The Vines - Highly Evolved
New Bomb Turks - At Rope's End
New Bomb Turks - Nightmare Scenario
The Mark Of Cain - This Is This ...
The Wipers - Best Of
Grinspoon - New Detention
Husker Du - New Day Rising
Do The Pop - '80s Oz best of
Mudhoney - March To Fuzz
The Church - After Everything Now This
Stiff Little Fingers - All The Best
RATM - Battle of Los Angeles
New Bomb turks and husker du! Someone with taste!
Add a little turbo negro and It would be all fantastic
Rupert Holmes
22 Aug 2002, 22:28
Pedro,
Reckon Husker Du have to be the most under-appreciated band of all time. Got everything they did, plus Sugar, Bob Mould etc. Still think New Day Rising, Metal Circus and Zen Arcade are three of my all-time favourite records.
Only got onto New Bomb Turks recently, bloody sensational! Really ballsy sound for a punk band, don't you think?
Also just taken delivery of Wipers boxed set .... speaking of under-appreciated. Only knew about them because Nirvana covered one of their songs.
Cheers
Rupert
pedrothelioness
22 Aug 2002, 22:46
Husker du are my fav band ever, have a hd tattoo, the symbol of zen arcade on my lower back, amongst many others :D
Rupert Holmes
23 Aug 2002, 01:43
Pedro,
Admire the dedication! Afraid I'm not that brave!
What else is in your collection? ...... guess that means CDs and tatts!
Rupert
Rusty Brookes
23 Aug 2002, 09:38
Originally posted by pedrothelioness
Add a little turbo negro and It would be all fantastic
Apocalypse Dudes is one of my fave records of the past 10 years. Amazing Stuff. And Do the Pop (Australian Garage Rock Compilation) is close to my favourite CD of all time.
Black Majesty
23 Aug 2002, 10:33
TNT - tell no tales
travis2327
23 Aug 2002, 12:57
1). Faith No More - Angeldust
2). Custard - Loverama
3). Stone Temple Pilots - No.4
fitzmantle
24 Aug 2002, 02:11
I thought I saw a couple of Church albums,
I did, I did see a couple of Church albums.
My Bloody Valentine(always)
Shinboners
24 Aug 2002, 09:49
Originally posted by fitzmantle
My Bloody Valentine(always)
What a co-incidence. I'm listing to MBV's "Ecstacy And Wine" right now. :)
BomberGal
24 Aug 2002, 21:35
My CDs are sorted in the order that I bought/got them.
At the moment, it's the Motor Ace single "Keeping Secrets", but the album I'm listening to at the moment would be 100% Hits Best of 1997, because all of a sudden I am having an obsession with "Semi-Charmed Life" by Third Eye Blind, "Down Again" by the Superjesus and "If You Could Only See" by Tonic. And Lifehouse is always being played too.
Today I have been listening to:
-a beatles cd I put together of my favourite songs
-doves - lost souls
-lucksmiths - self titled
-Elliot Smith - X0
-augie march - sunset studies
-simon and garfunkel - bookends
They all suited (or at least complimented) my mood, me being so very, very mellow today.
LionsForever
25 Aug 2002, 17:24
Red Hot Chili Peppers- By the Way