View Full Version : VFL: Geelong vs Box Hill Hawks

jess_555
9 May 2008, 16:47
Box Hill Hawks vs Geelong
Saturday 10th May
Box Hill City Oval at 2:00 PM

Match Preview (http://www.gfc.com.au/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsid=56051)
Listen to the game on: 3WBC 94.1 fm

B Bedford Kangars Laidler
HB D. Johnson S.Simpson Tenace
C Davenport Byrne Byrnes
HF Hogan Lonergan Moles
F Djerrkura D.Simpson McKenna
R West Prismall Varcoe
Int: McGuane, Urie, Stavenuiter, Firman, Donohue, Cheep, Simpkin, Hollmer

Box Hill Hawks

B McQueen-Miscamble Dawson Markovic
HB Neville Thorp Whitecross
C Moss Kennedy Clarke
HF Kenna Morrell MortonF Stokes Dowler Pedersen
R Renouf Tuck Batsanis
Int: Gibson, Shore, Neil, Marcius, Hunter, Cross, S.Daniher, Grima

* AFL Primary and Rookie Listed Players are in bold

Check out all those AFL listed player we have! Strong side in this week for the cats, I hope we can really show the Hawks what we got. Watch out for Byrnes and Prismall... I hear they are gonna bring it on with a career best performance (no pressure boys). ;) GO CATS!

"As part of the AFL’s community football weekend to commemorate 150 years of football, Box Hill is organising a family day. Fans are strongly encouraged to attend the match, with jumping castles and face painting for the kids, as well as a visit from Half Cat".

rizzo
9 May 2008, 17:02
easy win for the boys. Box Hill are rubbish.

cats by 15 goals, SS to kick 6

JUBJUB
9 May 2008, 17:46
McQueen-Miscamble
What an odd surname

Claude Balls
9 May 2008, 17:58
I may be going, and will attempt to pay enough attention to write it up later if I do. Unfortunately Box Hill are a dog's breakfast at the moment, so we will be unable to get carried away if Simpson kicks another 8...

rizzo
9 May 2008, 18:02
I may be going, and will attempt to pay enough attention to write it up later if I do. Unfortunately Box Hill are a dog's breakfast at the moment, so we will be unable to get carried away if Simpson kicks another 8...

The same doubters will always be around. If SS kicks another bag hopefully some people will realise this kid has talent.

Claude Balls
9 May 2008, 18:10
The same doubters will always be around. If SS kicks another bag hopefully some people will realise this kid has talent.

I'm certainly not doubting him. I got a whiff on draft day that he was regarded as a bargain at pick 44 or so, and have been hoping ever since that Wells has done it again. 17 goals in 4 games from a 6'5" 18 year old can't be laughed at. Hopefully he'll be controlling the forward half with aplomb in conjunction with Hawkins in 5 years time.

rizzo
9 May 2008, 18:23
I'm certainly not doubting him. I got a whiff on draft day that he was regarded as a bargain at pick 44 or so, and have been hoping ever since that Wells has done it again. 17 goals in 4 games from a 6'5" 18 year old can't be laughed at. Hopefully he'll be controlling the forward half with aplomb in conjunction with Hawkins in 5 years time.

Sorry, i wasn't referring to you. Other posters just seem to be overly negative towards the kid.

Interesting to see SS named at CHB. Maybe they want him to work on his defensive game?

We have an exciting bunch of rookies this year as well. Mummy has already played senior footy, while Laidler and Moles look like they can handle AFL Footy. Kangas is a long shot and will need 2 years. While i think Bedford needs to improve a lot to get a gig next year.

Claude Balls
9 May 2008, 18:31
Sorry, i wasn't referring to you. Other posters just seem to be overly negative towards the kid.

Interesting to see SS named at CHB. Maybe they want him to work on his defensive game?

We have an exciting bunch of rookies this year as well. Mummy has already played senior footy, while Laidler and Moles look like they can handle AFL Footy. Kangas is a long shot and will need 2 years. While i think Bedford needs to improve a lot to get a gig next year.

That's ok, I know you weren't referring to me... I have seen the doubters, and I have seen you strive to clear poor Simpson's name, in light of such perplexing negativity!

I think the club recruited particularly well last year, considering that their first pick in the draft was #17. Between Mumford, D. Simpson, S. Simpson and McKenna, I'd be hoping we end up with another quality tall to go with Taylor. Simpson looks a better than 50% chance at this stage, and I'd love for his namesake to become a good player as well. A 206cm quality ruckman would be a real asset in light of today's leviathans (Sandilands, Cox, McIntosh etc) We are set for quality midfielders for the next 5 years, given that Bartel and Ablett are only 24, and Selwood is only 19.

rizzo
9 May 2008, 18:42
I think the club recruited particularly well last year, considering that their first pick in the draft was #17. Between Mumford, D. Simpson, S. Simpson and McKenna, I'd be hoping we end up with another quality tall to go with Taylor.

SS looks the most likely to go on. While Mumford and Mckenna look great prospects. The bonus with Dawson is he can take as long as he likes to mature. West Mumford Blake can all have the title as second ruckman until DS is ready to rock and roll. He looks like the player who will be kept on ice until he is 21 - 22.

McKenna i can see being molded into a Milburn type defender.

re cat
9 May 2008, 18:57
Is it on the net?

re cat
10 May 2008, 14:24
http://3wbc.org.au/

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:06
Boxies with the first.

Diggers Morrell lining up for their second.... Goal.

14-0.

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:17
easy win for the boys. Box Hill are rubbish.

cats by 15 goals, SS to kick 6
Not looking like it just yet.

4 goals to zip. They have had all the play.

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:21
Pris first goal.

26 pts in it now.

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:25
Davenport goal.

And another.

5-3-33 to 3-1-19 late last qtr.

re cat
10 May 2008, 15:26
33 -13 goal to Davenport

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:41
Trav kicks the first of the second.

"Made it look easy."

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:47
MOLESY! Walks one in.

Down by just 8 now.

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:51
Kano lining up... behind. Getting on top now, Byrnes dominating.

re cat
10 May 2008, 15:55
Kano lining up... behind. Getting on top now, Byrnes dominating.

Eliiiiza will be happy:)

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 15:56
Varcoe is firing up. I hope he can get it a bit more consistent, he adds a bit to the team if we have an injury.

re cat
10 May 2008, 16:02
Vegas who got injured?
It's dropping out a lot of the time.

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 16:04
I'm having the same problems. Unsure. Bedford went off earlier but came back on.

Goal to them.

Fire up catters.

Vegas 15
10 May 2008, 16:05
Half time. Box Hill 7-8 50 Cats 5-4 34.

winty
10 May 2008, 16:25
If we stick with them in the third quarter, we should overrun them in the last quarter.

Does anyone know if 1/2 cat won his race against the Hawk at half time? :D

fishman
10 May 2008, 17:33
All done

Geelong 16 8 104
Box Hill 13 12 90

Awesome timing by the fishman in turning in the footy on the radio - just as the siren went.

The rabbi
10 May 2008, 17:37
Does anyone have any imformation on goal kickers and best players?

It would be appreciated.

Whiskers
10 May 2008, 17:53
Supposedly Varcoe was very good kicking 3, while Byrnes tore it up. Prismall went alright 2.

re cat
10 May 2008, 18:29
According to the coach, Lonergan made the difference when he went back into defence.

Claude Balls
10 May 2008, 18:55
I went down to have a look, however couldn't make out as much as I would have liked, given that I don't instantly recognise all the players. Anyway, here are my observations:

Honorable mentions:

Varcoe - didn't have a ton of the ball, though he did create some nice passages of play, including some that resulted in goals. It is clear that he is fundamentally better than players such as Tenace and Byrnes, in terms of his natural footballing ability.

S. Simpson - IIRC he didn't kick any goals, though he did take a few good marks and did a few canny things with the ball by hand, that conveyed a great dexterousness and manouvreability for someone his size. He definately has talent, and I would be surprised if he doesn't make a good senior player in a few years. His upper body is basically ready to go in terms of AFL, though he needs to work on his legs.

Priss - had a quiet first quarter, and looked to be a bit slow/lazy. He came into the game though, and had quite a few touches, including contributing to a few goals. He's obviously better than VFL standard, though based on what I saw, I'd much rather have Kelly etc in the seniors. Priss is just a little bit cumbersome at times, and doesn't seem to be able to change direction with enough energy. If I were to base my opinion of him solely on today, I would have no issue with him never being selected to play 1's.

Dishonerable Mentions:

Tenace - whoah, this guy is a shocker. His ability to turn the ball over is unsurpassed (that includes Byrnes), and as the game went on it became almost comical. Has pace, but doesn't use it. Can't kick, and is even worse at handballing. How he ever went at 7 in an AFL National Draft is beyond me. I reckon he's worse than when he came to the club.

...that's about it for the dihonorable mentions

'Other' Mentions:

Byrnes - he won BOG honours, but he didn't win any admirers with his magical ability to put a team mate under pressure with a bad handball! He's quick, and gets quite a bit of it, but he's good at running into trouble, and no good at making decisions. Brendan McCartney gave him a real serve at quarter time, and he played a bit better afterward.

Djerkurra - had less of it than Varcoe, though when he did touch it, the outcome was positive more often than it was negative. Second game back from injury, and did well considering.

Lonergan - didn't really take much notice of things he did, but apparently he played quite well, and I did notice a good things from him in the last quarter.

Moles - appears to have a good kick on him, slotting a nice one from a long way out

Laidler - again, has a good kick, slotting a nice goal in the last from 50.

D. Simpson - huge unit; blackbelt in Karate apparently. Has a crack - tried to make a few players feel his tackles. Got quite a few hitouts, though was in the ruck for less time than West. Was in a position to take a contested mark on two or more occasions but he couldn't do it... not quite coordinated enough.

Hogan - did a few good things.

Catdog
10 May 2008, 19:07
I went down to have a look, however couldn't make out as much as I would have liked, given that I don't instantly recognise all the players. Anyway, here are my observations:

Honorable mentions:

Varcoe - didn't have a ton of the ball, though he did create some nice passages of play, including some that resulted in goals. It is clear that he is fundamentally better than players such as Tenace and Byrnes, in terms of his natural footballing ability.

S. Simpson - IIRC he didn't kick any goals, though he did take a few good marks and did a few canny things with the ball by hand, that conveyed a great dexterousness and manouvreability for someone his size. He definately has talent, and I would be surprised if he doesn't make a good senior player in a few years. His upper body is basically ready to go in terms of AFL, though he needs to work on his legs.

Priss - had a quiet first quarter, and looked to be a bit slow/lazy. He came into the game though, and had quite a few touches, including contributing to a few goals. He's obviously better than VFL standard, though based on what I saw, I'd much rather have Kelly etc in the seniors. Priss is just a little bit cumbersome at times, and doesn't seem to be able to change direction with enough energy. If I were to base my opinion of him solely on today, I would have no issue with him never being selected to play 1's.

Dishonerable Mentions:

Tenace - whoah, this guy is a shocker. His ability to turn the ball over is unsurpassed (that includes Byrnes), and as the game went on it became almost comical. Has pace, but doesn't use it. Can't kick, and is even worse at handballing. How he ever went at 7 in an AFL National Draft is beyond me. I reckon he's worse than when he came to the club.

...that's about it for the dihonorable mentions

'Other' Mentions:

Byrnes - he won BOG honours, but he didn't win any admirers with his magical ability to put a team mate under pressure with a bad handball! He's quick, and gets quite a bit of it, but he's good at running into trouble, and no good at making decisions. Brendan McCartney gave him a real serve at quarter time, and he played a bit better afterward.

Djerkurra - had less of it than Varcoe, though when he did touch it, the outcome was positive more often than it was negative. Second game back from injury, and did well considering.

Lonergan - didn't really take much notice of things he did, but apparently he played quite well, and I did notice a good things from him in the last quarter.

Moles - appears to have a good kick on him, slotting a nice one from a long way out

Laidler - again, has a good kick, slotting a nice goal in the last from 50.

D. Simpson - huge unit; blackbelt in Karate apparently. Has a crack - tried to make a few players feel his tackles. Got quite a few hitouts, though was in the ruck for less time than West. Was in a position to take a contested mark on two or more occasions but he couldn't do it... not quite coordinated enough.

Hogan - did a few good things.

Mate thats a top effort....:):):)

I Thank you kindly for that report keeps me in touch....sorta
love all match reports on the Catters top post...

Claude Balls
10 May 2008, 19:12
Mate thats a top effort....:):):)

I Thank you kindly for that report keeps me in touch....sorta
love all match reports on the Catters top post...

Thanks, am more than happy to post my observations, given I am usually relying on someone else to do it for me.

cats2rise
10 May 2008, 22:31
Basic scores from the website:

Box Hill Hawks 5.4 7.8 8.11 13.12 (90)
Geelong 3.1 5.4 10.6 16.8 (104)

GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Moss 3 Clarke 2 Morrell 2 Stokes 2 Shore Kenna Gibson Dowler
Geelong: Varcoe 3 Byrnes 2 Davenport 2 Moles 2 Laidler Firman Hogan Donohue McKenna Simpson Prismall

BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Kenna Renouf Dawson Kennedy Clarke Stokes
Geelong: Varcoe Byrnes Prismall Johnson Tenace Firman

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: C. Pedersen (Box Hill Hawks) for Charging M. Firman (Geelong) during the 4th Quarter.
Geelong: Nil

Turkey Tom
11 May 2008, 00:30
kane tenace were brilliant in defense.

Tenace was very average. Got a bit of the ball but continually turned it over, and on several occassions BH scored goals from his turnovers.

Hairy Cat Mooney
11 May 2008, 01:56
Varcoe in for Stokes perhaps?

forrrestGump
11 May 2008, 14:00

no

that is crap

mooney is in worse form, stokes has done his job exceptionally well

blake and moons are the out of formers

year of the cat
11 May 2008, 14:11
no

that is crap

Stokes has been suspended for one week.

OldStyle2007
11 May 2008, 14:12
no

that is crap

it's not crap stokes is suspended for the next match. Varcoe is a good replacement

keen cats fella
11 May 2008, 15:03
no

that is crap

Shutdown haha

rdhopkins2
11 May 2008, 15:07
Well done on the win.:D

Also well done to the Cats supporter gracious in winning on the train:thumbsu:

Good luck for the rest of the season (see you Rd 17 anyway!):cool:

jess_555
11 May 2008, 17:35
Went down and watched the game yesterday, I thought the guys could do with some support playing away and all. Geelong got off to a slow slow slow start and it really wasn't looking very good at all during the first quarter. We were getting smashed, not chasing players or providing contests. With Prissa kicking the first goal for Geelong we managed to get back into it.

Geelong were playing catch up until midway through the 3rd quarter when we finally snatched the lead. The win was up for grabs for either side as it was basically goal for goal at each end of the ground. Luckily our boys piled on a few near the end to steal the victory and upset the locals. :)

I noticed Davvers looked maybe sick or injured (???) during the game... not sure if I'm right but I didn't think he was his usual self.

Varcoe was awesome! His attack on the ball was fantastic. He looked so eager and was always chasing down players and tackling really hard. One of the best games I reckon I've seen him play. If he keeps it up he will really be in the mix for the seniors.

Lonners didn't get much of the ball. Didn't really do a lot up forward this week.

Byrnes was BOG for the cats (well he won a medal for it). He got plenty of the ball and used it well most of the time. Keep it up Shannon.

Prissa was as good as always. He was NOT lazy! He was chasing and tackling and always provided players a target to kick too. Kicked an impressive first goal goal and set up a few others.

Molesy put in an impressive performance. He looks like his got what it takes to make it but thats a big call when I've only seen him play a few games.

Jezza Laidler also showed some great footy. A bit patchy at the moment but showed some really promising signs. Give the guy some time to adjust and he will be great for our VFL team. I think he will really improve a lot during this year as I have already seen big improvements.

Can't really think of many other players that stood out, it's pretty hard working out who is who at the moment with all these new guys. I'd also like to add that I was kicking the footy after the game and kicked a huge Torp... I'm pretty proud (if you can't tell). haha

sarah.13
11 May 2008, 17:53
Thanks for the report Jess. That "lazy" comment really got to you aye? :)
How did Djerrkura play?

jess_555
11 May 2008, 21:20
Thanks for the report Jess. That "lazy" comment really got to you aye? :)
How did Djerrkura play?

It sure did coz I know Pris is NOT lazy!!! :mad:

Djerrkura played alright. He got more of the ball in the second half I think. Wasn't overly influential on the game or anything but was involved in some nice bits of play. Not ready for seniors just yet IMO, like most of the guys he needs to be more consistent and work hard for the full 4/4.

ciaobella
11 May 2008, 22:27

My thoughts exactly. If they bring in Byrnes I will do a fuse!

jess_555
11 May 2008, 23:46
his only playing about 60 percent of the game i rekon coming back from injury and when his on his forward so its hard for him to do much atm

Ohhh that makes more sense now. I forgot he was injured for so long. Thanks salsa.

forrrestGump
12 May 2008, 01:08
byrnes is playing ace football

varcoe is in the 2s till he is not

c0ze
12 May 2008, 01:50
byrnes is playing ace football

varcoe is in the 2s till he is not

Byrnes has had ample opportunity. Time to give Varcoe another crack.

catempire
12 May 2008, 06:02
Good to hear that Varcoe is finding form. There were some troubling reports about his form a month or so ago.

I read with interest in The Mission that on Grand Final day Bomber saw Varcoe and told him that although he had ran out of steam in 2007 Bomber wanted to see him in the side in 2008.

I think Varcoe's interrupted pre-season delayed those plans, but that comment from the book makes me think Varcoe will get a chance sooner rather than later.

winty
13 May 2008, 00:04

Shhh. Don't want this to be confused for another Byrnes bashing thread, and get Eliiiza off-side, then have her boyfriend come in and either defend her honour or try to earn brownie points, as has happened in other threads on this board. :p

The Pivotonian
13 May 2008, 00:06
Shhh. Don't want this to be confused for another Byrnes bashing thread, and get Eliiiza off-side, then have her boyfriend come in and either defend her honour or try to earn brownie points, as has happened in other threads on this board. :p

Must...not...respond...:D

forrrestGump
13 May 2008, 00:14
Byrnes has had ample opportunity. Time to give Varcoe another crack.

yep, and drop who

byrnes is in the vfl, and stokes will be out for one week with prissa in for him

eliiiiza
13 May 2008, 00:15
Oh please, we are waaayyy past the brownie point earning stage.

winty
13 May 2008, 00:18

So he's here to defend your honour. Thanks for clarifying that for us. :thumbsu:

eliiiiza
13 May 2008, 00:20
So he's here to defend your honour. Thanks for clarifying that for us. :thumbsu:
I can defend myself fine, thank you very much.

forrrestGump
13 May 2008, 00:21

are you two timing byrnes

eliiiiza
13 May 2008, 00:23
are you two timing byrnes
Shhhh, don't tell him!