14 Aug 2002, 21:04
High Voltage.
Yours ?
Chris_23
14 Aug 2002, 21:52
Originally posted by windyhill
High Voltage.
Yours ?
Excellent choice. I haven't heard Brian sing that one much, it's definitely a better Bon song.
'Highway To Hell' or 'Shot Down in Flames' for me.
Hotel California, Kashmir, My Sharona... all very different, all great songs.
My personal favourite is the Scorpions' "Catch Your Train". Structured like a normal 4 minute rock song with a couple of verses and choruses, but has more guitar w@nking squeezed into it than any other 4 minutes of music I've heard.
you_idiot
14 Aug 2002, 23:52
One song springs to mind off the top of my head... "Stairway to Heaven".
But having said that, we all could likely think of another half-dozen Led Zeppelin classics that could fall in line here...
Great thread. I could be brainstorming on this one all night...
Cheers,
William
Grendel
15 Aug 2002, 00:40
Rock'n'Roll High School - Ramones
Despite the fact that I have heard it, sang it, played it, air-guitared it, air-drummed it, burped it and played it on a comb with tissue paper a million times, Stairway to Heaven is the greatest rock song ever!
Rusty Brookes
15 Aug 2002, 09:54
Well I think Jumping Jack Flash would have to go close. My favourite though is Search and Destroy by the Stooges.
Geez very tough call to make. Paradise City is a personal favourite and Back in Black always gets the attention.
Hank Jones
15 Aug 2002, 10:48
Alcohol by 'Gang Green'
favourite traditional rock song is probably.................
Smells Like Teen Spirit, by 'Nirvana'
I Wanna Rock - Twisted Sister!
you_idiot
15 Aug 2002, 11:17
Originally posted by roofus
White Room - Cream
And as long as we're involving Eric Clapton in all of this...
"White Room" is good, yet not the best one that Slow Hand's ever done...
How could anyone ignore "Layla"? :eek:
Those opening guitar licks still get to me in a good way. And the late Duane Allman was the perfect foil for Clapton on that entire album!
Cheers,
William
Possumisagun
15 Aug 2002, 11:38
Up and Down and Back Again by Powderfinger
Foxtrot
15 Aug 2002, 12:07
One of these
1. I Love Rock And Roll - Joan Jett & The Blackhearts
2. Highway To Hell - AC/DC
3. Bop Till You Drop - The Ramones
4. Something off Appetite For Destruction - Guns N Roses
5. Wildflower - The Cult
Dogwatcher
15 Aug 2002, 17:20
Here's one probably a little out of left field
Sister Havana by Urge Overkill.
They were gonna be huge then they got sucked under by the vortex that was Nirvana.
I guess Smells Like Teen Spirit or more likley Lithium rates for me too.
Bulls on Parade by Rage Against the Machine is cool too.
The name says it all:
Cum on Feel the Noize - Slade
A Day in the Life - Beatles.
Satisfaction - Stones.
Stairway to Heaven - Led Zep.
Black Girl - Long John Baldry.
Savatage
15 Aug 2002, 18:12
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
Here's one probably a little out of left field
Sister Havana by Urge Overkill.
They were gonna be huge then they got sucked under by the vortex that was Nirvana.
I
I must admit, I'm into the power metal & thrash type metal but that song is a ****ing ripper!
Originally posted by you_idiot
And as long as we're involving Eric Clapton in all of this...
"White Room" is good, yet not the best one that Slow Hand's ever done...
How could anyone ignore "Layla"? :eek:
Those opening guitar licks still get to me in a good way. And the late Duane Allman was the perfect foil for Clapton on that entire album!
Cheers,
William
Each to his own, Cream was Clapton's zenith and the Wheels of Fire double album presented Cream at their height. Cream is my favourite band of all time.
oh_my_hat
15 Aug 2002, 22:40
Rock Bottom - KISS. http://www.atozconcepts.com/vBulletin/images/smilies/ylsuper.gif http://www.atozconcepts.com/vBulletin/images/smilies/rock_band.gif
Dogwatcher
15 Aug 2002, 23:34
A Day in the Life - It's a flippin awesome tune. I listened to it just last night. Had the lights off and shut my eyes when the spiralling music came on - just brilliant. It's the closest I've come to beign stoned without taking a puff.
Another song I thought of:
Bring Da Noize - Public Enemy and Anthrax.
As far as I can tell it's the best hip hop rock cross over ever.
Just brilliant. Chuck Dee's lyrics and Anthrax thrashing it out - leaves Walk THis way for dead.Bring Da Noize - Public Enemy and Anthrax
Appears on Apocalypse 91 - the enemy strikes black, follow up to Fear of a Black Planet.
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 07:57
More Than A Feeling - Boston
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Pretty fair call that.
Ohhhh, that reminds me:
Can I Borrow A Feeling - Kirk Van Houten
Mcchawk
16 Aug 2002, 10:35
Groovy kind of love- Phil Collins
Does anyone have the words to this song? If they could post them it would be great.
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 10:40
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Ohhhh, that reminds me:
Can I Borrow A Feeling - Kirk Van Houten http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/smilie/rotfl.gif
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 10:42
Originally posted by Mcchawk
Does anyone have the words to this song? If they could post them it would be great. I really should do some work. I should, but I'm not going to.
When I'm feeling blue, all I have to do is take a look at you and then I'm not so blue. When you're close to me, I can feel your heart beat; I can hear you breathing in my ear.
Wouldn't you agree baby? You and me got a groovy kind of love.
Any time you want to, you can turn me onto anything you want to, anytime at all. When I kiss your lips, ooh I start to shiver; can't control the quivering inside.
When I'm feeling blue, all I have to do is take a look at you and then I'm not so blue. When I'm in your arms nothing seems to matter - my whole world could shatter, I don't care.
Kirk_VanHouten
16 Aug 2002, 10:45
http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/smilie/rotfl.gif
I sleep in a racing car, what about you?
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 10:47
You should be in a hovercar, Kirk baby! :D
Hank Jones
16 Aug 2002, 11:11
Another song I thought of:
Bring Da Noize - Public Enemy and Anthrax.
As far as I can tell it's the best hip hop rock cross over ever.
Just brilliant. Chuck Dee's lyrics and Anthrax thrashing it out - leaves Walk THis way for dead.Bring Da Noize - Public Enemy and Anthrax
Appears on Apocalypse 91 - the enemy strikes black, follow up to Fear of a Black Planet.
Take a listen to some 'Downset' if you like that song.
Hank Jones
16 Aug 2002, 11:12
Originally posted by Kirk_VanHouten
'I sleep on a big pile of cash with many beautiful ladies'
Hank Jones
16 Aug 2002, 11:13
What about 'Takin Care of Business' by BTO?
Mcchawk
16 Aug 2002, 11:32
I really should do some work. I should, but I'm not going to.
When I'm feeling blue, all I have to do is take a look at you and then I'm not so blue. When you're close to me, I can feel your heart beat; I can hear you breathing in my ear.
Any time you want to, you can turn me onto anything you want to, anytime at all. When I kiss your lips, ooh I start to shiver; can't control the quivering inside.
When I'm feeling blue, all I have to do is take a look at you and then I'm not so blue. When I'm in your arms nothing seems to matter - my whole world could shatter, I don't care.
DCFC you are a legend mate
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 11:33
Yes. Yes I am.
Mcchawk
16 Aug 2002, 11:51
Yes. Yes I am.
Ok Yoda
you_idiot
16 Aug 2002, 11:57
Originally posted by roofus
Each to his own, Cream was Clapton's zenith and the Wheels of Fire double album presented Cream at their height. Cream is my favourite band of all time.
Point well taken-- but for my money, "White Room" isn't even Cream's best tune. For me, it's "Sunshine of Your Love"... like with any great guitar rock classic, the opening licks hook you in....
Cheers,
William
Ok Yoda
Yoda is slang for retard(noun) in Hungarian. ;)
Mcchawk
16 Aug 2002, 12:36
Originally posted by Darky
Yoda is slang for retard(noun) in Hungarian. ;)
Yeah I was just waiting for someone to pick that up :p
Originally posted by Kirk_VanHouten
Holy divorce Batman :eek:...there is someone here registered as Kirk Van Houten!
Give us a rendition Kirk and we can all sing along:
(Follow the imaginary bouncing ball)
Can I borrow a feeling
Could you lend me a jar of love
hurt hearts need some healing
Take my hand with this glove of love!
Originally posted by FIGJAM
...Take my hand with this glove of love!
Thats so right in so many ways!! :o
Hawkforce
16 Aug 2002, 12:57
Yes. Yes I am.
If only the question had been - "Are you going to stop bleating about your computer and bloody update Hawkheadquarters?!"
:mad: ;)
Grendel
16 Aug 2002, 13:35
Yes. Yes I am.
Legend// noun 1. a non-historical or unverifiable story handed down by tradition from earlier times and popularly accepted as historical. 2. matter of this kind. 3. an inscription, especially on a coin, a coat of arms, a monument, or under a picture, or the like. 4. explanatory matter in a table or the like forming part of an illustration. 5. an account of the life of a saint. 6. a collection of stories of any admirable person. 7. a person who has achieved fame or notoriety in a particular field: a sporting legend. 8. Also, ledge. Colloquial a person who is well-regarded, especially for excellence in a particular field or activity: mate, you're a legend! [Middle English, from Old French, from Medieval Latin: things to be read]
--legendary, adjective
Hmm, they left the 'ant' of off 'account'.
You closet St.Kilda supporter you!
Grendel
16 Aug 2002, 13:38
Originally posted by Hawkforce
If only the question had been - "Are you going to stop bleating about your computer and bloody update Hawkheadquarters?!"
:mad: ;)
Didn't you see his earlier post of "I should do some work, really I should"?
You got no hope Hawkforce.
Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Aug 2002, 14:01
Two friggin match reports last night! Two! Tough crowd.
Originally posted by Hank Jones
What about 'Takin Care of Business' by BTO?
You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet.
rednugget
16 Aug 2002, 16:15
Sweet Child 'O' Mine without a doubt!!!
Docker_Brat
16 Aug 2002, 16:30
Good call!!!
Met a girl Sat night and back at her place she says "do you like Boston?' and puts that on.. brilliant song.
Docker_Brat
16 Aug 2002, 16:32
Rock Rock Til You Drop - Def Leppard.
you_idiot
16 Aug 2002, 21:02
This thread's gonna reach 20 pages, easy. :D
Sticking with Def Leppard... "Rock of Ages".
Cheers,
William
NakedDeadGuy
16 Aug 2002, 21:23
A couple of faves:
Turn Up Your Radio - Masters Apprentices
She's So Fine - Easybeats
Breakout - Foo Fighters
Jailbreak - ACDC
Docker_Brat
16 Aug 2002, 21:28
Originally posted by you_idiot
This thread's gonna reach 20 pages, easy. :D
Sticking with Def Leppard... "Rock of Ages".
Cheers,
William
I'd rate Photograph ahead of that... just
Kiddies think Rock of Ages is a cheap ripoff of 'Pretty Fly for a White Guy'
Hank Jones
16 Aug 2002, 21:34
Def Leppard in a 'greatest song ever' thread is just plain wrong.
;)
Docker_Brat
16 Aug 2002, 21:36
Def Leppard in a 'greatest song ever' thread is just plain wrong.
;)
I was waiting for a comment :)
As much as I like their earlier work, I'm still baffled how they were ever classed as 'heavy metal'.
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I was waiting for a comment :)
As much as I like their earlier work, I'm still baffled how they were ever classed as 'heavy metal'.
great band tho'
The Hippie
17 Aug 2002, 00:50
Bat Out Of Hell - Meatloaf
Originally posted by The Hippie
Bat Out Of Hell - Meatloaf
EASILY!
The sirens are screaming and the fires are howling
Way down in the valley tonight
There's a man in the shadows with a gun in his eye
And a blade shining oh so bright
There's evil in the air and there's thunder in the sky
And a killer's on the bloodshot streets
Oh and down in the tunnel where the deadly are rising
Oh I swear I saw a young boy
Down in the gutter
He was starting to foam in the heat
Oh Baby, you're the only thing in this whole world
That's pure and good and right
And wherever you are and wherever you go
There's always gonna be some light
But I gotta get out, I gotta break it out now
Before the final crack of dawn
So we gotta make the most of our one night together
When it's over you know, we'll both be so alone
Like a bat out of hell
I'll be gone when the morning comes
When the night is over
Like a bat out of hell I'll be gone gone gone
Like a bat out of hell I'll be gone when the morning comes
But when the day is done
And the sun goes down
And moonlight's shining through
Then like a sinner before the gates of heaven
I'll come crawling on back to you
I'm gonna hit the highway like a battering ram
On a silver black phantom bike
When the metal is hot and the engine is hungry
And we're all about to see the light
Nothing ever grows in this rotting old hole
Everything is stunted and lost
And nothing really rocks
And nothing really rolls
And nothing's ever worth the cost
And I know that I'm damned if I never get out
And maybe I'm damned if I do
But with every other beat I got left in my heart
You know I'd rather be damned with you
If I gotta be damned you know I wanna be damned
Dancing through the night with you
Gotta be damned you know I wanna be damned
Dancing through the night
Dancing through the night with you
I can see myself tearing up the road
Faster than any other boy has ever gone
And my skin is raw but my soul is ripe
No one's gonna stop me now
I gotta make my escape
But I can't stop thinking of you
And I never see the sudden curve until it's way too late
I never see the sudden curve till it's way too late
Then I'm dying at the bottom of a pit in the blazing sun
Torn and twisted at the foot of a burning bike
And I think somebody somewhere must be tolling a bell
And the last thing I see is my heart
Still beating
Breaking out of my body
And flying away
Like a bat out of hell
How good are those lyrics????
Black Majesty
17 Aug 2002, 10:07
If I could walk one thousand miles - the proclaimers
how thick are those glasses!! legends!
you_idiot
17 Aug 2002, 11:27
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I'd rate Photograph ahead of that... just
Kiddies think Rock of Ages is a cheap ripoff of 'Pretty Fly for a White Guy'
Case in point why our music will always be better than theirs. :D
I'll try and come up with some more ideas tonight, after I get back from the footy.
Cheers,
William
NICK THE PIE MAN
17 Aug 2002, 12:15
Guys, guys!
'Stairway to Heaven'- Led Zepplin.
The Rock Anthem. All get on your knees and heil it. :D
Special mention to 'Iron Man'- Black Sabbath.
"Has he lost his mind? Can he see or is he blind?"
Rock on Ozzy!
Meatloaf? Ugh!
Here are some other gems:
Big Guns - Skid Row
Dr Feelgood - Motely Crue
Anything by Guns and Roses
Layla - Derrek and the Dominoes
Hey Hey, My My - Neil Young
One - Metallica
clucas91
17 Aug 2002, 13:51
I Love Rock'n'Roll, the Britney Spears rendition. :o :p
Serious, I can't go past LaGrange by ZZ Top. :cool:
jane said - jane's addiction
smells like teen spirit, lithium - nirvana
ship song - nick cave
d'yer maker, over the hills and far away, black dog - led zeppelin
you_idiot
17 Aug 2002, 18:01
Originally posted by M29
Meatloaf? Ugh!
Here are some other gems:
Hey Hey, My My - Neil Young
Or even...
"Cowgirl in the Sand", also by the esteemed Mr. Young, who lives nearby my old neck of the woods in California. :)
Cheers,
William
Hank Jones
17 Aug 2002, 18:43
'Anarchy in the UK' by the Sex Pistols. great rawk 'n' roll song!
blurton
17 Aug 2002, 19:14
Baba O'Reilly - The Who
Out here in the fields
I fight for my meals
I get my back into my living
I don't need to fight
To prove I'm right
I don't need to be forgiven
Don't cry
Don't raise your eye
It's only teenage wasteland
Sally ,take my hand
Travel south crossland
Put out the fire
Don't look past my shoulder
The exodus is here
The happy ones are near
Let's get together
Before we get much older
Teenage wasteland
It's only teenage wasteland
Teenage wasteland
Oh, oh
Teenage wasteland
They're all wasted!
Dogwatcher
17 Aug 2002, 19:29
Someone had the Ship Song by Nick
Cave on theirt list. As much as I adore the song, Iwouldn't say its rock.
Anyway:
These songs are for my fiancee.
Hot Chilli Woman - Noiseworks
Run to Paradise - Choirboys
Khe Sanh
Docker_Brat
17 Aug 2002, 20:32
Someone had the Ship Song by Nick
Cave on theirt list. As much as I adore the song, Iwouldn't say its rock.
Anyway:
These songs are for my fiancee.
Hot Chilli Woman - Noiseworks
Run to Paradise - Choirboys
Khe Sanh
Didn't we have a bogan anthem thread? ;)
GhostofJimJess
18 Aug 2002, 17:28
1. "Three days" by Janes Addiction
and then, in no particular order, my desert island compilation tape would include ...
"Aloha Steve & Danno" by Radio Birdman
"Search & Destroy" by The Stooges
"Gimme Shelter" by The Rolling Stones
"Ziggy Stardust" by Bowie
"Free Bird" by Lynyrd Skynyrd
"Second Coming" by Alice Cooper
"Electavision Mantra" by Celibate Rifles
"Kashmir" by Led Zeppelin
"Know Your Product" by The Saints
"Pretty Vacant" by The Sex Pistols
"Don't Wanna Know If You Are Lonely" by Husker Du
"Holiday In Cambodia" by Dead Kennedys
"Powderworks" by Midnight Oil
I better stop now ....
Pieman7
18 Aug 2002, 18:20
'Anarchy in the UK' by the Sex Pistols. great rawk 'n' roll song!
Agreed, "London Calling" by the Clash is another classic.
It's always a song I've rated highly but after last night's Dictators gig, anyone in future will have a hard time convincing me 'Two Tub Man" ain't the greatest rock song of all time!
Grendel
19 Aug 2002, 02:45
Im reading a lot of great songs in this thread but 'rock songs'?
Rock was about a genre just like Punks a genre, raps a genre, Heavy Metal, grunge, etc etc. Maybe they all stem from the same source (in this case R&B and real R&B black music from the twenties). Yet for real rock I guess I think more for a three minute song with a riff and some grunt to it. No indulgence of Led Zep, no AOR bto, certainly not plain agro like Punk.
I was thinking of other songs like 'Whole lotta Shakin' and 'Jumpin Jack Flash' but still reckon Rock'n'roll High School is the best sample of a great and simple rock song.
Docker_Brat
19 Aug 2002, 03:12
Originally posted by Grendel
I was thinking of other songs like 'Whole lotta Shakin' and 'Jumpin Jack Flash' but still reckon Rock'n'roll High School is the best sample of a great and simple rock song.
Rock n Roll High School is a great song.. ironically it comes from a punk band.
How about 'Twist and Shout' as a great rock song.
The Hitman
19 Aug 2002, 11:23
Welcome To The Jungle - Guns n Roses.
How about Take On Me by Aha? :D
The Hitman
To hard to name one, there just too many so i'll name my top 10
10 - Eric Clapton - Tears in Heaven
9 - Live - Lightning Crashes
8 - John Lennon - Imagine
7 - AC/DC - Shook Me All Night Long
6 - Semisonic - Closing Time
5 - Cold Chisel - Khe Sahn
4 - Queen - Bohemain Rhapsody
3 - Guns n Roses - Sweet Child O' Mine
2 - Led Zeppelin - Stairway to Heaven
1 - Guns n Roses - November Rain
Originally posted by Grendel
Im reading a lot of great songs in this thread but 'rock songs'?
Rock was about a genre just like Punks a genre, raps a genre, Heavy Metal, grunge, etc etc. Maybe they all stem from the same source (in this case R&B and real R&B black music from the twenties). Yet for real rock I guess I think more for a three minute song with a riff and some grunt to it. No indulgence of Led Zep, no AOR bto, certainly not plain agro like Punk.
I know there are a lot of MMM haters here, and i do reckon its gone downhill (how the **** is fat boy slim rock :confused: :mad: ) but about 3 years ago it was good, and i pretty much consider anything that they played to be rock back then. Now, well their gonna be playing Kylie Minogue on there soon :mad:
Dogwatcher
19 Aug 2002, 12:31
Johnny B Goode the first and the greatest.
Chuck Berry, featuring a young Jimi Hendrix on back up guitar.
Dogwatcher
19 Aug 2002, 12:34
By the way, fans of Back To the Future should not write to me and tell me that Berry stole Johnny B Goode off Marty McFly.
you_idiot
19 Aug 2002, 13:52
By the way, fans of Back To the Future should not write to me and tell me that Berry stole Johnny B Goode off Marty McFly.
Thank you for saying that. Seriously.
Whenever one of my favourite songs is being played on the radio or being hawked on TV, the little kid in my wife yells out, "Shrek!!" Seriously, that makes me cringe, to ruin some of my most cherished memories around the tunes like that. :confused:
Getting back to the point of the thread, now that my rant is over... "Start Me Up" by the Rolling Stones always gets me going. And no one's mentioned "Purple Haze" or "All Along the Watchtower" by Jimi Hendrix yet?
Hmmmmmm... seems we have a list as deep as the day is long here... :D
Cheers,
William
Mooster7
19 Aug 2002, 20:09
Do as you wish Dogwatcher. I for one will not go through life in denial of what I've seen with my own eyes and heard with my own ears.
As it turns out, Chuck was tipped the song by his cousin Marvin, who in turn stole it from Marty McFly.
Chuck Berry has a live music bar in St. Louis. Take it from me, if you're ever there, don't try to "get to the bottom of this McFly business." They won't take to it kindly. Peace,
Mr Eagle
20 Aug 2002, 14:22
'Alive' / 'Black' - Pearl Jam
'Smells Like Teen Spirit' - Nirvana
'My Sharona' - The Knack
'Orange Crush' - R.E.M.
NYPomme
22 Aug 2002, 07:12
Does anyone have the words to this song? If they could post them it would be great.
You have to be taking the pi$$!!!!!!!!!! :eek:
For me (and not all are strictly Rock) the best of all are:
Strawberry Fields Forever - The Beatles
All along the Watchtower - Jimmi Hendrix
Space Oddity - David Bowie
Midnight train to Georgia - Gladys Knight and Pips
Son of a Preacher - Dusty Springfield
Imagine - John Lennon
Many Rivers to Cross - Jimmy Cliff
Jammin' - Bob Marley
What's Goin' On - Marvin Gaye
Try a little Tenderness - Otis Redding
Jeffers
23 Aug 2002, 21:40
for me my top 5 rock songs of all time (in order)
1. Dreams- Van Halen
2. Khe Sahn- Cold Chisel
3. Stairway to Heaven-Led Zeppelin
4. November Rain- Guns & Roses
5. Alive- Pearl Jam
PrideofSA
25 Aug 2002, 21:38
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Under The Bridge
Goo Goo Dolls - Iris
Eagles - Hotel California
Jimi Hendrix - Hey Joe
Beatles - Let it Be
Paul McCartney - Live and Let Die
Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody
Live - Lightning Crashes
Led Zep - Stairway!
Beatles - A Day in the Life
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Soul to Squeeze
windyhill
26 Aug 2002, 23:00
People, I said one.
PrideofSA
27 Aug 2002, 13:58
People, I said one.
well pick one of mine above, any one!
Briedis
27 Aug 2002, 16:44
Stairway to Heaven
No question about it.
People, I said one.
its too hard just to name one :D
i can't believe no ones put down smoke on the water. it contains perhaps the greatest riff ever made/put to music
anyway here are tops
deep purple - smoke on the water/highway star
led zepplin - stairway to heaven
metallica - enter sandman
nirvana - smells like teen spirit/lithium
pearl jam - jeremy
the doors - roadhouse blues/light my fire
black sabbath - paranoid/sabbath bloody sabbath
pink floyd - money/time
eric clapton - layla
red hot chilli peppers - under the bridge/scar tissue
jimi hendrix - voodoo child
guns n' roses - sweet child o' mine
ac/dc - thunderstruck
cold chisel - khe sahn
others to numerous to mention
SonOfScray
29 Aug 2002, 19:35
Bohemian Rhapsody.
that was the no. 1 rock song of all time in a recently conducted vote (overseas) wasn't it?
manutd/dogs
30 Aug 2002, 16:21
Let's just do Top 10s.
1. Guns n' Roses - November Rain
2. Nirvana - Smells Like Teen Spirit
3. Live - Lightning Crashes
4. Silverchair - Tomorrow
5. Jimi Hendrix - All Along the Watchtower
6. Led Zepplin - Stairway To Heaven
7. Eric Clapton - Layla
8. Aerosmith - Dude Looks Like a Lady
9. Lenny Kravitz - Are You Gonna Go My Way
10. Blue Oyster Cult - Don't Fear the Reaper
Noteable exceptions:
Jimi Hendrix - Purple Haze
Bon Jovi - Livin' On a Prayer
Nirvana - Lithium
The Who - My Generation
Anything by AC/DC
The Rolling Stones - Satisfaction
Most of the stuff by Pearl Jam
etc
etc
Woodson
31 Aug 2002, 00:49
Originally posted by SonOfScray
Bohemian Rhapsody.
that was the no. 1 rock song of all time in a recently conducted vote (overseas) wasn't it?
Well said SonofScray.
I think everyone has merit on thier choice.
Can't believe 'WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS' hasn't been mentioned.
When you feel on 'Top of the World' (VH), you can't stop lovin'
the moment and think that Queen's WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS deserves first dibbs. (forget the rest)
It packs with emotion and lets off the steam that creates some personal euphoria.....hellalulah '96 & '99 remain fresh!
LionsForever
31 Aug 2002, 11:55
Gimme Chili Peppers anyday.
Possumisagun
31 Aug 2002, 22:06
Originally posted by SonOfScray
Bohemian Rhapsody.
Tragedy by Steps and Wannabe by Spice Girls also featured in that poll. Not a very reliable source I don't think.
PrideofSA
1 Sep 2002, 23:14
Originally posted by LionsForever
hell yeah they rock!
Originally posted by LionsForever
I agree.
Chilli Peppers is the greatest rock song ever.
PrideofSA
3 Sep 2002, 11:42
Originally posted by hotpie
I agree.
Chilli Peppers is the greatest rock song ever.
Under The Bridge, Soul to Squeeze etc...take you pic, plus all the newer ones like from the Californication and By the Way albums!
Paul McCartney
3 Sep 2002, 19:40
Ob-la-di ob-la-da
Originally posted by PrideofSA
Under The Bridge, Soul to Squeeze etc...take you pic, plus all the newer ones like from the Californication and By the Way albums!
Indecisive little man aren't you? If you can't choose one song I suggest you Give It Away.