View Full Version : Normie - Yes, that umpire.

Flawed Genius
11th May 2008, 16:44
Something not quite right about Normie?
Or maybe he just loves his footy.
What do you all reckon?

typewriter
11th May 2008, 18:31
he is a massive tripper
wot did he get upto this time???

Flawed Genius
11th May 2008, 19:16
In the rooms before the game, walks around the entire team giving them all high-tens.
Coupled with his confusing sentences when he throws the ball up:
"And the ball goes up at the Telstra Dome!"

I just reckon there's something not quite right with Normie.

borgsta2006
11th May 2008, 19:22
There's characters like him in all walks of football mate. Trust me, I know some WRFL players aren't the sharpest tools in the shed and they still get a gig. He's been around a while and does his best. And in the current umpiring climate, you have to make do with what you have.

Flawed Genius
11th May 2008, 20:15
There's characters like him in all walks of football mate. Trust me, I know some WRFL players aren't the sharpest tools in the shed and they still get a gig. He's been around a while and does his best. And in the current umpiring climate, you have to make do with what you have.

Oh mate I'm in no way questioning his umpiring ability, he goes alright - bit harsh on the 50s, though. He's a top guy, I was just wondering if there's something wrong with him. And even then, he's a great guy to chat to on the field if you're up & bored or down & don't give a stuff.

w.weapons
11th May 2008, 20:21

true true

although have seen him have some games where he tries to hard to be serious in the end i know what he is like and you dont want to get on the wrong side of normie due to the fact he might start swinging the decisions against you so i tell my boys like every ump..........borgie you would like this 1...........if u give a free kick away..........HANDS UP.........SHUT UP........simple as that if you give the 50 away seeyalater ill be out there to get you.........

plus he aint gonna change the decision...........:eek:

Flawed Genius
11th May 2008, 20:25
true true

although have seen him have some games where he tries to hard to be serious in the end i know what he is like and you dont want to get on the wrong side of normie due to the fact he might start swinging the decisions against you so i tell my boys like every ump..........borgie you would like this 1...........if u give a free kick away..........HANDS UP.........SHUT UP........simple as that if you give the 50 away seeyalater ill be out there to get you.........

plus he aint gonna change the decision...........:eek:

He's very straight up and down on his decisions, is Normie.

borgsta2006
11th May 2008, 20:32
He's very straight up and down on his decisions, is Normie.

He has a very good crack at it.

bush_tucker77
14th May 2008, 11:43
ive known normie for a fair bit now thru WRFL footy and have always got time for him, he's a funny guy both on and off the field, i dont think its a matter of he's got a screw loose or anything, rather he just sees life and football through a different light compared to the rest of us

he is also one of the fittest blokes i have ever seen, how fast he manages to run all the while wearing long cargo shorts still amazes me haha

ClubUmpire
14th May 2008, 20:33
Normie's an umpire, nuff said to say theres something not quite right

borgsta2006
19th May 2008, 07:21
Normie's an umpire, nuff said to say theres something not quite right

Club umpires are the lowest form of all umpiring, so you must be worse than normie mate. Why anyone would want to officiate for a club and attempt not to have a bias or cheat is beyond me. This could start another thread. Have never seen a game where a club umpire has not gone against the opposition for their club's gain.

stand up when it counts
19th May 2008, 17:59
Have never seen a game where a club umpire has not gone against the opposition for their club's gain.[/quote]

Yes the opinion above is 99% the case, but if you have ever seen the goose that has umpired Deer Park's 2's lately, then it throws the above theory out the window, and is very dark times for any game that he umpires.

ClubUmpire
19th May 2008, 19:59
Club umpires are the lowest form of all umpiring, so you must be worse than normie mate. Why anyone would want to officiate for a club and attempt not to have a bias or cheat is beyond me. This could start another thread. Have never seen a game where a club umpire has not gone against the opposition for their club's gain.

Club umpires are bad full stop. My name is nothing less than a joke.
I'd like to know the mindset of a person who does club umpire and would name themselves it on a forum like this, wake up plz, looks like them public schools didnt work with you

borgsta2006
19th May 2008, 22:17
I'd like to know the mindset of a person who does club umpire and would name themselves it on a forum like this, wake up plz, looks like them public schools didnt work with you

WTF???? Your name is not the joke my fellow poster.... you are I think. Read through your post man, it makes no sense......

Furthermore, I'm guessing the public schools didn't assist you with your punctuation skills now, did it?
I'm guessing by your posts that you are a junior player / supporter. How's about leaving the senior threads to the big boys and the junior threads to you and your kiddie mates eh??

ClubUmpire
20th May 2008, 21:02
WTF???? Your name is not the joke my fellow poster.... you are I think. Read through your post man, it makes no sense......

Furthermore, I'm guessing the public schools didn't assist you with your punctuation skills now, did it?
I'm guessing by your posts that you are a junior player / supporter. How's about leaving the senior threads to the big boys and the junior threads to you and your kiddie mates eh??

Mate, I'm proud of you talking it up on the net, now get back to the seconds on the back flank
TY

w.weapons
20th May 2008, 21:44

hey ive done the club umpiring for 2 years at div 2 ressies level and also a few jnr game's........and i didnt go to a public school......i thought it was great your still in the thick of the action and have a big say in how players go about it.......if they hit hard and fair play on......i dont pay deliberate out of bounds.....hands in the back and slapping of the arms is all fair the way i go about umpiring........my saying is keep it simple.......and ive even sent off players from my own club for disputing my decision swearing and carrying on.....who looks like the dill them not me........

look i pay the one's i see and i think im very fair both ways nothing more worse than umpiring with another club umpire and watch him blatently cheat.........but it happens anyways i dont do it any more some other dill is:eek:

end of the day i did it for coin and i enjoyed it.......

Heasyville
21st May 2008, 01:56
Back to Normie.
There is nothing wrong with the bloke he is just an enthusiastic guy.
He's not mentally challenged at all like you seem to think Jordan.

Just a great, enthusiastic bloke who jokes around and makes people laugh.

borgsta2006
21st May 2008, 07:28
Mate, I'm proud of you talking it up on the net, now get back to the seconds on the back flank
TY

Just shows how much of a junior you are..... I umpired 5 First Division Grand Finals in this comp. What have you done mate? You go on here having a crack at people. Worry about the kids mate, cos you won't be getting (and I doubt you are getting) a kick after that.

Really sad.

Getting back onto the topic with senior footballers. I know Normie. He's a good bloke with a good heart.

Flawed Genius
21st May 2008, 13:50
Back to Normie.
There is nothing wrong with the bloke he is just an enthusiastic guy.
He's not mentally challenged at all like you seem to think Jordan.

Just a great, enthusiastic bloke who jokes around and makes people laugh.

Back it up, I never said he was mentally challenged.
I asked if that was maybe an option.
But he does do well as an umpire, and he's great fun.
But I never said he was mentally challenged.

Heasyville
21st May 2008, 15:11
Something not right, mentally challenged, same shit different smell mate.

Flawed Genius
21st May 2008, 19:50
Yeah, but I never made the statement "Normie is not right."
I phrased it as a question, because I didn't know.

parkside.. F.C.
21st May 2008, 23:14
Normie umpired the Parkside vs Sunshine Heights seniors on the weekend..
he seemed to be in a much more serious mood than usual.
even had his hair gelled, no teddy-bear hat for the big one.

would be a good umpire if he did what weapons said and let things go alittle..
the game has got to flow, you cant pay every decision.
its almost like he tries to finesse.

Bomber041068
17th June 2008, 15:49
Hey Leave Normie alone.

What gives BORGSTA2006 the right to say"There's characters like him in all walks of football mate. Trust me, I know some WRFL players aren't the sharpest tools in the shed and they still get a gig. He's been around a while and does his best. And in the current umpiring climate, you have to make do with what you have." Normie is a great umpire he just loves his umpiring. I think BORGSTA2006 IS NOT The sharpest Tool in the shed.We should ask people what we think about BORGSTA2006. How good of a umpire is he.

thoMz#37
7th August 2008, 20:46
just thought I'd bring up this thread.
http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/mm81/thoMzez/normieeeee.png
Sexy or what?

ClubUmpire
7th August 2008, 22:03
lol'd

thoMz#37
10th August 2008, 20:02
Guessing you had him today? LOL

ClubUmpire
10th August 2008, 20:31
correct

mmmARK13
10th August 2008, 22:02
orrrrrrrr you guys didnt go hard at the ball.....

ClubUmpire
10th August 2008, 22:18
rofl, you certainly didnt